Skip to main content

Full text of "General history of Shelby County, Missouri"

See other formats


Qass 
Book 



COPYRIGHT DEPOSIT 



GENERAL HISTORY 

n 

OF 



SHELBY COUNTY 
MISSOURI 




CHICAGO 

HENRY TAYLOR & COMPANY 

1911 

HENRY TAYLOR, JR. W. H. BINGHAM 









COPYRIGHT 15111 

BY 

HENBY TAYLOR & COMPANY 



©aA283708 



FOREWORD 

History is the essence of iuminierable biographies. — CarhjJc 

The invasion and conquest of a wilderness ; the wresting of a vast domain of 
hill and valley, forest and prairie, from its nomadic and unproductive savage deni- 
zens; its transformation into an empire rich in all the elements of modern civiliza- 
tion, — basking in the smiles of pastoral abundance, resounding with the noise of 
fruitful industry, busy with a mighty volume of multiform and far-reaching com- 
merce, and bright with the luster of high mental, moral and spiritual life — the home 
of an enterprising, progressive, all-daring people, as they founded and have built it, 
is tlie theme of this volume. 

Its pages teem with biographies of many of the progressive men of Shelby 
county — 'those who laid the foundations of its greatness and those who have Iniilt 
and are building on the superstructure — and is adorned with portraits of numbers 
of them. 

It also gives a compreliensive survey of the numerous industries and lines of 
productive energy which distinguish the people of the county at the present time 
and those in which they were engaged in all past periods since the settlement of the 
region began. And so far as past history and present conditions disclose it, the work 
indicates the trend of the county's activities and the goal ■(\-hich they aim to reach. 

How trite, oft-told and well-worn seems the story herein briefly chronicled! 
And yet how full of suggestiveness, interest and incitement is it all ! It opens 
impressively to view the mighty field for earnest endeavor and successful striving 
there is in the boundless realm of opportunity that is called "The Great American 
Eepublic," and has been aptly pronounced "The last great charity of God to the 
human race." It emphasizes anew the value of courage, self-reliance, industry, 
devotion to diity and firm and sturdy manhood and womanhood. 

The story might well be taken as that of Man himself in his contest with 
Nature on a gigantic theater of action. Poetry sparkles. Heroism glows. Comedy 
gambols. Tragedy darkens in its texture, and the golden thread of sentiment runs 
brightly through its woof. It is, in all essentials, an epitome of American history, 
too. Wide gulfs of time and space are compassed in its range and made as naught. 
Since the morning hymn and the evening anthem first rose in hope from its primeval 
solitudes, distant countries have become near neighbors, the Atlantic has been 
reduced to a narrow frith across which the Old World and the New shake hands ; 
the Pacific has been bound to it with hoops of steel, and our own East and West 
have been brought so close together that they look into each other's windows. 

The life herein sketched began with the goose quill ; it continues with the type- 
writer; it came in under the tallow dip; it goes forward under the electric light; 

iii 



iv rOEEWOED 

it dwelt at first by well and springhouse; it now abides with cold storage, artificial 
ice and liquid air; it has quit the stage coach for the palace car, the sail boat for the 
ocean greyhound, the post rider for the telegraph and telephone, the saddle horse 
and the gig for the automobile. And now, condemning all more solid and sub- 
stantial elements of intercommunication, it even dares make the atmosphere its 
medium in wireless telegraphy and aerial navigation. In all this vast development 
and progress Shelby county has borne no childish, but a soldier's, part, and it is the 
aim of this work to preserve in a permanent form the record which proves that fact. 
The special thanks of the publishers are due and are warmly tendered to Mr. 
and Mrs. H. J. Simmons, of Clarence, for their masterful preparation of the general 
history of the county which enriches the volume ; to Jlr. Vernon L. Drain, of 
Shelbyville, for his excellent chapter on the "Bethel Colony'' and his sketch of the 
Shelby County Eailroad; to ^Ir. W. 0. L. Jewett for the chapter on "Shelbina"; 
to Eev. John H. AVood for as^sistanec on the history of the churches in the county; 
to Gen. J. "William Towson for help in reviewing portions of the work, and to many 
other persons whose aid is highly appreciated but who are too numerous to be men- 
tioned specifically by name. AVithout the valuable and judicious assistance of all 
these persons, those who are named and those who are not, it would have been 
impossible to comjjile a history of the completeness and high character this one is 
believed to have. The book is now submitted to the judgment of the public with 
no other voice to proclaim its worth save that of its ow-n inherent merits, whatever 

they may be. The Publishers. 



CONTENTS 
CHAPTER I. 

Page 
Discovery and Early Settlements — Log Cabin Days — Settlers of 1833 — A Sur- 
veying Party — Cholera Epidemics — The First Election — A Postoffice and 
Store Installed — Shelby County Formed and Organized and Some Events 
Which Followed — Indians — Wild Animals and Game — The Pioneer Wed- 
dings — Pioneer Ministers — First Settlements Made in Timber — Pioneers, 
Pioneer Homes and Comforts — Agricultural Implements — Fishing 1 

CHAPTER II. 

Early History — The Name — Important Dates of Public Notices — Important 
Proceedings 1836 County Court — First Circuit Court — The First Attorney 
Fisticuff in County Court — Miscellaneous News from Early Court Dock- 
ets — The First Shelby County Election — August Election, 1836 — August 
Election, 1838— August Election, 1839 21 

CHAPTER III. 

List of 1835 Settlers — Naming of the Streams — First Coroner's Inquest — A 
Lost Man — "New York" Shelby County — The New Courthouse — Pioneer 
Mills— The First Roads— "Bee Trails"— Settlers in Shelby, 1837— The 
First Bridge — The First Homicide 29 

CHAPTER IV. 

Crops in Early Forties — Chinch Bug Year — The Sixteenth Section — German 
Settlement — Change of County Line — Mail Facilities Improved — A Few 
Things that Interested the Settlers — Civilization's Sure Advance — Sec- 
ond Homicide in the County — The First County Conviction — Jefferson 
Shelton — Jonathan Michael — George Liggett — Miss Aleina Upton — Stock 
Raising and Shipping — First Jail — California Emigrants — Elections, 1840 
— Presidential Election — August Election, 1844 39 



vi CONTENTS 

CHAPTER V. 

Page 

Heterogeneous — Election of 1852 — Political Campaign of 1856 — Presidential 
Election, 1856— The "Know Nothings"— Election of 1858— Slavery Days— 
1860 Presidential Campaign — The Situation in 1860 — Stirring Times After 
the Election — Incendiary Talk 52 

CHAPTER VI. 

The County's War Record — The Mormon War — The Iowa War — The War of 
1861 — Governor Jackson Refuses to Respond — The Hunnewell Meeting — 
The Flag Raising Period — The First Federal Troops — First Union Com- 
pany Organized — Salt River Bridge Burned — Join Green's Company — 
Green Takes Shell)ina — Report of Colonel N. G. Williams, Third Iowa 
Infantry — What the Kansas Officers Said — Second Burning of Salt River 
Bridge — Shelby County Confederate Troops — Movement of Union Forces 
— General Grant in Shelby — Secession of Missouri — County Court Meeting 
— Changes in Coimty Officials 64 

CHAPTER VII. 

Missouri State Militia Organize — Bushwhacking in the County — The Bush- 
whacking Near Walkersville — Stockade Built Around Courthouse — "Spe- 
cial Order No. 30" — Several Changes in Positions — John L. Owen Killed — 
Shelby County Men Executed— The 1862 Election 84 

CHAPTER VIII. 

Many Join Porter's Command — Federals Hold the County — Bill Anderson 

Visits Shelby— Fifty-one Killed at Ceutralia, Missouri— The 1864 Election 92 

CHAPTER IX. 

Ousting the Officers — Murders and Homicides — Murder of George Queary — 
"The Dale-Phelps Tragedy" — Bruce Green Kills Calvin Wai-ren — A 
Negro Murder Case — The Robber Johnson- — The Great Benjamin Will 
Case — The Will — Indicting Rebel Preachers — Registration of Voters — 
News From Headquarters — The War is Over — The Drake Constitution — 
After the War — Robbery of the County Treasury — Politics and Election 
of 1870— Registration in 1870— Census" of 1880— Flood of 1876 102 



CONTENTS vii 

CHAPTER X. 

Page 
The Agricultural Society of Shelby County — The Shelby County Agricultural 
and Mechanical Association — The Shelbina Fair Association — Local Op- 
tion and Temperance — Transjjortation Facilities — The Hannibal & St. Joe 
Eailroad— The Building of the Shelby County Railway— The First Elec- 
tric Railroad — Chief Pursuits and Surplus Products 119 



CHAPTER XI. 

Government Surveys — Original Townships — County and Township Systems — 
Organization of Townships — Municipal Townships of Shelby County — 
Tiger Fork Township — Salt River Township — Clay Township — Taylor 
Township — Bethel Township — Jefferson Township — Black Creek Town- 
ship — North River Township — Lentner Township 136 



CHAPTER Xn. 

Newspapers of Shelby County — The Shelbyville Spectator — The Shelby 
County Weekly — The Shelby County Herald — The Shelby County Times 
—The Shelbyville Guard— The Shelbina Gazette— The Shelbina Index and 
Torchlight — The Shelbina Democrat — First Paper in Clarence — The Clar- 
ence Courier — The Clarence Republican — The Hunnewell Enterprise — The 
Hunnewell Echo — The Enterprise Resumes Publication — The Hunnewell 
Bee— The Bethel Sun— The Missouri Sun 148 



CHAPTER XIII. 

Some Shelby County Murders and Suicides — William Switzer Murdered in 1864 
■ — Pat McCarty Assassinated — The Buford Tragedy — Murder of Nicholas 
Brandt — Judge Joseph Hunolt Assassinated — A Leonard Tragedy — Shel- 
bina Mayor Dies Suddenly^M. Lloj^d Cheuvront Shot — Suicide at Clar- 
ence — The Stacy Murder and Suicide 155 



CHAPTER XIV. 

Shelby County — Census of Shelby County — Clarence — Shelbyville — Shelbina — 
Hunnewell — The Temple of Justice — Courthouse Burned — Three Clarence 
Fires — Shelby County Congressman 162 



viii COXTENTS 

CHAPTER XV. 

Page 
Schools, Colleges and Churches — Shelbina Collegiate Institute — Shelbina Pub- 
lic School — The Macon District Academy at Clarence — College at Leonard 
— The Independent Holiness School at Clarence 178 



PORTRAIT INDEX 



B Mc 

Page , Page 

Biirckhardt, John G 518 McBride, Elias A., and wife 556 ' 

Burnett, Alexander 583 ^ McCully, Dr. John M 433 ' 



c 



M 



Christine John A., and wife. . 500 ^^^^^^^^ Theodore P 309 ' 

Churchwll Francis M., and wife 510 ^^^^^. j^^^,^ ^ 548 ' 

Cooper, J. T 235 - 



Crawford, George W 487 ' 



D 



Moore, John H., and wife 433 ^ 

Morgan, David 373 . 

Morgan, John E 396 



i^ 



N 



479 



Dimmitt, Dr. Pliilip 199 

Dimmitt, Frank 371 

Dimmitt, Lee 440 Noll, Melchior. . . 

Dimmitt, Prince 319' 

Drain, Vernon L 337 '^ p 

F Parsons, S. G 379^ 

I, Phillips, Eugene C 456 

Forman, Thomas W 449 ^ Pickett, Hedgeman, and wife 464 

Freeland, Arthur L 605 ^ Pollard, Dr. Henry M 406 ' 

Funk, Henry S 526 



G 



E 



Garrison, Thomas E 503 ^eed, Thomas W. P 363 

Greenfield, Geo. W 494 ^eid, ^\llllam A 206 



H 

Hawker, Wm. M., and wife 534 

Hirrlinger, William A 565 

Holliday, James L 573 

Howell," William 600 



S 

Selsor, Hiram, and wife 541 

Siielton, Hon. N. M 387^ 

Simmons, Hon. H. Jeane 414 

Simmons, Mrs. H. J 416 



Hughes, William A 345 "■ Stribling, James 253 

Humphrey, Sen. Geo. W 355'' 

T 



Jewett, Hon. W. 0. L. 



368 



Towson, Gen. J. William 315 



W 



Lasley, Charles H 328 Will, Henry • 4*2 

Lloyd, Hon. James T 281 Wood, Eev. J. H 243 

Lvell, J E 300 "^ Woodward, Cravton 610 



IX 



INDEX OF VIEWS 

Page 
Tlie Old Mill at Walkersville (Facing) 34 "^ 

The Old Colony Church at Bethel 173 

Type of Block Hoxise Erected on Salt River 72 ' 

Eesidence of John A. Christine 593 

Home of Dr. William Keil at Bethel 176 



GENERAL INDEX 



A 

Page 

Adams, Judge Newton 257 

Alexander, Edward P 640 

AUgaier, James F 313 

Arnold, Henry 507 

Ayerg, Mort. D 430 

B 

Bailey, John T 229 

Bailey, Tilmon A 256 

Bair," Harry C 360 

Bair, Samuel J 361 

. Baker, Wesley 461 

Baker, Sanford 571 

Baker, James R 651 

Baker, Isaac N 645 

Bank of Lentner 305 

Barker, Charles S 259 

Barker, James S 470 

Barton, John S 442 

Bauer, John G 377 

Bayliss, Dr. W. M 393 

Bean, Thomas A 420 

Bethards, Kim 555 

Blackford, James G 480 

Bodwell, Forrest G 589 

Bonnel, Henry H 629 

Bostwick, William H 653 

Bower, John C 359 

Bower, August 363 

Bower, David 364 

Bower, Carl E 365 

Bower, Theodore L 366 

Bower, Walter C 374 

Browne, Sidney H., Jr 459 

Brown, John 475 

Buckman, Martin S 427 

Bue, John H 604 

Burckhardt, John G 518 

Burckhardt. John F 316 

Burnett, Alexander 582 

C 

Cadwell, Eugene M 338 

Callison, Elisha A 339 

2iii 



Page 

Calvert, Cecilius C 611 

Capp, Eobert E 611 

Carmichael, Robert L 560 

Carroll, Hansford S 498 

Carson, Dr. William 335 

Chinn, John S 513 

Christine, John A 590 

Churchwell, Francis M 510 

Citizens' Bank of Clarence 391 

Citizens' Bank of Shelby ville 322 

Clarence Savings Bank 387 

Claussen, William 516 

Cockrum. Joseph F 640 

Coe, Edward M 553 

Collier, Richard 317 

Collins, Hiram 234 

Commercial Bank of Shelbina 292 

Connaway, J. Polk 467 

Cooper, Alonzo 333 

Cooper, Jolm T 225 

Cotton. William J 613 

Cox, ilatthew M 288 

Cox, Charles T 289 

Craigmyle, Ferd 529 

Crawford, George W 487 

Crow, James F 425 

D 

Dale, John D 334 

Dale, Francis M 647 

Damrell, Edwin M 340 

Damrell, Theodore B 561 

Daniel, Dr. Joseph A 212 

Davis, John T 453 

Davis, Dr. Eli C 270 

Dempsey, Hugh 469 

Dempsey, Mark 484 

Dimmit't, Frank 271 

Dimmitt, Walter A 350 

Dimmitt, Dr. Philip 199 

Dimmitt, Lee 440 

Dimmitt, Prince 310 

Dimmitt, Marvin 627 

Douglass, Hardin 313 

Drain, Vernon L 337 



XIT 



GENERAL INDEX 



Page 

Drennan, Henry C 630 

Duncan, William L 489 

Dunlap, Andrew B 26.5 

Dunlap, Robert H 286 

Dunn, Preston, B., Sr 568 

E 

Eaton, Harrison 307 

Eaton, Henry M 311 

Echternacht,' Justus F 656 

Edelen, James 3-18 

Edwards, John D 667 

Ertel, John 485 

P 

Farmers' and Merchants' Bank of Hun- 

newell 261 

Farmers' Bank of Emden 60n 

Farmers' Bank of Leonard 635 

Farr, Fred'k M 343 

Farr, Dr. Geo. E 344 

Farrell, Judge Rufus 410 

Feelv, Theodore W 550 

Feely, Silas M 551 

Feely, Charles R 552 

Forman, Thomas W 44!1 

Forman, John 592 

Fox. William S 473 

Freeland, Arthur L 605 

Freeman, James M 335 

Frye, Edwin A 267 

Frve, John W 331 

Funk. Henry S 526 

G 

Gable. Jacob 657 

Gamble, William 443 

Garner, Charles B 504 

Garner, George B 602 

Garrison. Thomas E 503 

Gerard, Edward N. Jr., M. D 634 

Gibson, William T 547 

Gillaspy, John A 597 

(JillaspV, Richard W 603 

Gillaspy, William L 579 

Gillispio, William H 219 

Gilman. George T 422 

Glahn, Christian P 583 

Glahn, Henry F 664 

Goodwin, Richard D 609 

Gorby, Samuel 648 

Gose, John T 221 

Grant, George C 249 



Page 

Graves, Charles A 454 

Greenfield, Geo. W 494 

Griswold, Alonzo L 413 

Gunby, William K 668 

H 

Hall, Geo. W 577 

Hammond, Dr. Harry B 528 

Hamilton, James A 413 

Hamrick, Wm. L 384 

Hardy, Jesse T 246 

Harrison, James F 314 

Hart, William T 670 

Harvey, George W 663 

Hawker, Wm. M 534 

Hawkins. James W 637 

Heinze, Theodore 505 

Herron. William B 368 

Hershey, Michael 638 

Hewitt, John J 330 

Hickman, Charles A 291 

Hickman. Joseph H 393 

Hickman, Jesse H 395 

Hiles, James J 501 

Hirrlinger. William F 421 

Ilirrlinger, William A 565 

Holliday, James L 573 

Holliday, James M 563 

Hollyman, John J 615 

Hoofer, Jacob 594 

Howe, James W 455 

Howell. William 600 

Huggins, Albert F 208 

Hughes. William A 345 

Humphrey, Sen. Geo. W 355 

J 

Jackson, Robt. T 351 

Jacobs, John W 404 

Jacobs. William L 403 

Janes, William P 276 

Janes, Rov 299 

Janes. Thomas 301 

Jarrell, Jonathan 538 

.Tarrell, James Wesley 539 

Jewett, Hon. W. 0. L 368 

Johnston. Lafayette J ''--. r.'> 599 

Jones, Wade H 304 

.Ionian. Arthur E 476 

.bmlan. William A 476 

K 

Keith. John T 43G 

Keller, Peter 531 



GENERAL INDEX 



XV 



Page 

Keller, Philip, Jr 533 

Kelso, John L 515 

Kemp, Luther 587 

Kesner, W. J 643 

Kimbley, F. M 632 

Krauter, Valentine 537 



Lair, John W 278 

Laslev, Cliarlcs H 328 

Lewis, Minns H 401 

Lewis, Aaron 401 

Libbv, Harrv J 223 

Lloyd, Hon. James T 281 

Llovd. Oliver Jerre 635 

Lowman. John B 490 

Lownian, Samson B 491 

Lyell, J. E 300 

Lyell, Dr. Thomas W '211 

Mc 

McAtee, James A 280 

McBride, Elias A 556 

McCnlly, John M., M. D 423 

M 

Mas^riider, Willis J 445 

Mannel, Theodore P 309 

Martin, Charles Boggs 341 

Maupin, Hon. Rice G 235 

Maupin, William A 323 

Maupin, Marion M 439 

Maupin, John Henry 646 

Mears, Samuel H 660 

Melson, James H 305 

Merrin, Jacob H 548 

Miles, John S 338 

Miller, Henrv G 558 

Million, Burrell 395 

Mitchell, Thomas D 478 

Moore, George W 520 

Moore, John H 433 

Moran, Judge James F 572 

Morgan, J. R 396 

Morgan, David 373 

Morgan. William W 203 

Morgan, David, Jr 203 

Morgan, James H 204 

N 

Neuschafer, John 533 

Noll, Melchior 479 

Nothnagol, Valentine 519 





Page 

Oaks, Milton P 639 

O'Bryan, J. L 311 

O'Brvan, George W 447 

O'Daniel, John A 273 

O'Donnell, Richard 433 

Old Bank of Shelbina 363 

Oliver, Andrew J 636 

Orr, James C 653 

Osburn, Morris 576 



Parsons, S. G 379 

Peoples, John 585 

Peoples, William Z. T ' 635 

Perry, Judge John T 333 

Perry, Benjamin F 531 

Perry, Oliver Commodore 650 

Peterman, Lewis J 418 

Phipps, William H 514 

Phillips, Eugene C 456 

Pickett, Hedgeman 464 

Pollard. Dr. Henry M 406 

Powell, Hugo 450 

Prange, Harry H 546 

Priest, Thomas E 524 

Priest, John C 500 

Pritchard, Walter M 385 

Puckctt. Thomas L 237 



Q 



Quigley, John L. 



499 



R 

Ragsdale, James E 236 

Rtith.fen, Henry 511 

Rathjen. Harman 536 

Raines, William C . . . . .' 631 

Ray, Elmer B 620 

Reardon, Peter J 398 

Reed, Thomas W. P 362 

Reid, William A 206 

Rice, Thomas J 318 

Rickev, John C 390 

Ridge, Joseph R 232 

Ridings, Joseph L -108 

IJoff, George 244 

RofF, Thomas 355 

Roy, Dr. James E 393 

Rutter, Michael E 446 



XVI 



GENEEAL INDEX 



S 

Page 

Sass. James 509 

Schofield, Frank L 368 

Sflnvada, Henry 662 

Schwieters, Charles X 428 

Selsor, Hiram 541 

Shale, John B 397 

Shain, Edward C 381 

Shelblna National Bank 234 

Shelbv Coiint\' State Bank of Clarence 383 

Slielton, Judge Nat. M 387 

Simmons, Hon. H. Jeane 414 

Siiigletiin, Jacob H 581 

Singleton, Judge A. E 327 

Singleton, Benjamin H 330 

Smith, Dr. Jacob D 210 

Smith, Andrew J 284 

Smith, J. Sidner 417 

Smith, James A 492 

Smith, Lewis 596 

Snider, Peter A 460 

Snider, Henry F 463 

Snider, Marion F 465 

Spalding, James A 296 

Sparks, John F 434 

Spencer, James A 458 

Speyerer, Frederick G 481 

Stalcup, William 641 

Stalcup, George W 482 

Steinluu-h, William 357 

Steinliach, Albert W 358 

Stewart, George E 535 

Slover, Lewis Cass 666 

Stribling, James 253 

Swearingen, William T 248 

Swift, Byron L 466 

Swinney, Emmett D 619 



Tarbet, James H 543 

Taylor, Eobert Edgar 557 



Page 

Taylor, Reuben Lee 643 

Teachenor, Monroe 617 

Terrill, Eugene M 341 

Terrill, John M 346 

The Shelbyville Bank 570 

The Hunnewell Bank 263 

ThiehofF, William B 264 

Threlkeld, Silas 251 

Tolle, John D 371 

Towson, Gen. J. William 215 

Turner, Wm. R 353 

Turner, James William 378 

Turner, James W 616 

V 

Van Osdol, Luke 575 

Vanskike, James H 542 

Vaughn, Albert L 262 

Van Vacter. Benjamin F 586 

Von Thum, Henrv 531 

Von Thum, Jolm'G 545 

W 

Warren, William H 201 

Wav, John 437 

AVerr, John H 506 

AAHieeler, Julian A 274 

Wheeler, Lanius L 654 

Wliitbv, Marvin 622 

White', Stephen A. D 659 

Wiggins, John 488 

Wi'li; Henry 472 

Williams, Newton E 231 

Willis, H. T., M. D 239 

Wilson, Rev. James Jolly 607 

Wood, Rev. J. H 243 

Wood, Dr. A. G 302 

Wood. John M 566 

Wood, Hugh W 451 

Woodward, Crayton 610 

Wright, George A 431 

Zicgler, AVm. T 375 

Z 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



CHAPTER I. 



Discovery and Early Settlements — Log Cabin Days — Settlers of 1833 — A Sur- 
veying Party — Cholera Epidemics — The First Election — A Postoffice and 
Store Installed — Shelby County Formed and Organized and Some Events 
Which Followed — Indians — Wild Anim.als and Game — The Pioneer Wed- 
dings — Pioneer Ministers — First Settlements Made in Timber — Pioneers, 
Pioneer Homes and Comforts — Agricultural Implements — Fishing. 



DISCOVERY" AND EARLY SETTLEMENT. 

Ever since the daj- that Lot aud Abram 
divided- aud the former chose for him- 
self all the plain of Jordan, which was 
fertile and well watered, and Abram 
journeyed in the opposite direction, hath 
the son of man been looking for fertile 
plains, rich valleys and ever-flowing 
streams of pure water. Indeed, through- 
out all ages hath man endured hardships 
of every description and denied himself 
all the joys of societj' in order that he 
might find broader acres of more fertile 
land and an abundance of water. This 
desire burning in the breasts of strong 
men is what prompted them to turn their 
faces westward from the coasts of the 
Atlantic and seek new homes in the in- 
terior of the then wild and uncultivated 
portion of the United States bordering 
the great Mississippi river. Many were 
the men who traveled from Virginia and 
the Atlantic sea-coast states westward 



into the bluegrass sections of Kentucky 
and Tennessee and from thence followed 
the course of the setting sun across the 
Father of Waters into Missouri — all 
seeking fertile soil and fountains of 
living water where the toil of their hands 
would yield greater return. Thus it was 
that Missouri was placed upon the map 
and became inhabited by men and women 
of noble blood, and thus it was that 
Shelli}' county liecame a part of this 
glorious and imperial commonwealth. 

There is a dilference of opinion among 
former history writers of Shelby coimty 
as to whether or not the county was ever 
a part of Marion county. In this con- 
nection Judge James C. Hale, in writing 
the iiistorical sketch contained in the 
atlas published by Edwards Brothers 
in 1878, says : 

"We know that some of our respected 
old citizens hold to the belief that Shelby 
was once a part of Marion, but this view, 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



however, cannot be a correct one, for 
in 1826 Marion count}^ was taken from 
Ealls by legislative act and its boundary 
lines fixed. The western boundary of 
Marion was fixed where it remains today, 
on a range line between ranges 8 and 9, 
and in 1831 Monroe county was organ- 
ized from Ralls, with its northern boun- 
dary line fixed within two miles of where 
it remains today, still leaving all the 
territory between Marion, Monroe and 
the Iowa line unorganized: so we con- 
clude that Shelby was until its organi- 
zation as a distinct and separate county 
a part of Ralls. Under the old terri- 
torial organization, citizens of unorgan- 
ized territory may have been required 
to pay taxes at the nearest county seat ; 
of this we cannot speak authoritatively, 
because the records and books at our 
command furnish us no certain informa- 
tion on the subject. 

"In the early organization of this 
state into counties, the object of the 
legislature seems to have been to make 
as many counties as the population of 
the county would permit. And this may 
have been the reason for restricting 
Marion to its present limits. Be this 
as it may, however, we cannot agree 
that Shelby was ever a part of Marion 
after the organization of Marion into a 
county. ' ' 

From information at our command, 
and from as thorough an investigation 
as it is possible for us to make, we can 
agree with the judge in part only. 

The territory embraced in Shelby was 
not included by the legislative enact- 
ment creating Marion county in 1826, as 
Judge Hale says; but what was later 
and is now Shelby county was, as the 
records of Marion county show, attached 



to Marion, at some date, for military, 
civil and judicial purposes. In this con- 
nection, however, we will begin at the 
beginning and bring the history down 
from the discovery of the country to the 
organization of the county. The title to 
the soil of Missouri, including Shelby 
county, was, of course, primarily vested 
in the original occupants who inhabited 
the country prior to its discovery by 
the whites, or civilized nations. The 
aborigines, or Indians, being savages, 
possessed but few rights that civilized 
nations considered themselves bound to 
respect; so, therefore, when the white 
men found this country in the hands of 
the savages, they claimed it by right of 
discovery. The discoverer of Missouri 
was Fernando De Soto, in 1541. De Soto 
was a Spaniard. He came as far north 
as New Madrid countj' and then moved 
west across the Ozark mountains. De Soto 
died in the spring of 1542 and was buried 
in the Mississippi river. 

The Spanish, however, were not the 
first to settle Missouri. The French 
pushed westward, and in 1682 La Salle 
formally took possession of the whole 
countrj' in the name of Louis XIY and 
called the country Louisiana, in honor 
of the reigning king of France. Spain 
acquired all the territory west of the 
Mississippi by the treaty of 1763. The 
territory was, however, ceded back to 
France in 1800. The country remained 
in the possession of the French until 
April 30, 1803. This is the date of the 
memorable "Louisiana Purchase." The 
contract was made by Livingston and 
Monroe for the United States, and Napo- 
leon for France. The signing of the 
contract took ]ilace May 2, 1803, and was 
ratified by the United States senate, 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



3 



October 17tli of the same year. The eou- 
sideratioii for this vast amount of land 
was fifteen million dollars, one-fourth of 
which was remitted on accoimt of dam- 
age done to the trade of the Ohio country 
after Louisiana had l)een transferred 
from Spain to France. (For further 
information on the subject, see "Early 
History," Chapter II.) 

LOG CABIN DAYS. 

It is impossible to state definitely, 
without chance of error, who really was 
the first settler of Shelby county as its 
territory is now limited. In the primi- 
tive days of 1812 came a party of hunts- 
men from Kentucky. Edward Whaley, 
Aaron Foreman and three others entered 
the county from the west, hailing from 
Boone's Lick country, on the Missouri 
river, en route to the Mississippi. Hunt- 
ing for the head of Salt river, they be- 
came lost on North river, instead, and 
followed it to its mouth. They explored 
this country in a degree, but finally set- 
tled in Marion and Ralls county. Even 
before these came hunters and trappers 
wandering along Salt river, then called 
Auhaha, or Oahaha, finding the forest 
desolate unless they found the red man 
in his primeval home. 

As far as statistics bear witness, there 
were no permanent settlements until or 
previous to the year 1830. In 1831, log 
cabin days opened up in this country. 
A Mr. Norton crossed over from Monroe 
county in the spring of that year and 
built a cabin on Black creek, right on 
the bluff (section 33 — 57 — 9). In com- 
pany with a hireling he brought a drove 
of hogs to feed on the wild mast, which 
thrived luxuriantly in tliat early day. 
He left the attendant to care for the 



swine and he returned. His name can- 
not be learned, but it is probable that 
he had such a lovely time he forgot his 
name, if he ever had one. Close by his 
caliin he had a large hog-pen in which 
he had to shelter his stock at night to 
kee]) it from the wolves, which were in 
large numbers and very treacherous, 
sometimes attacking stock by day as well 
as night ; so the keeper also had to keep 
a close watch by day. He remained a 
year, and his cabin was later used by 
David Smallwood. 

In the fall of 1831, Maj. Obadiah 
Dickerson came over from Marion 
county and built "a cabin on the north 
side of Salt river (about the center of 
section 17 — 57 — 10), near where the 
present road from Shelbina to Shelby- 
ville crosses that stream. The year 
following he returned and brought his 
family to his new home. It is a popular 
opinion of statistics as thej^ can be gath- 
ered that Mr. Dickerson was the first 
bona fide white settler of Shelby county. 

John Thomas was another early settler 
of the county — the latter days of 1831 or 
the early spring of 1832, on a claim on 
Clear creek, where afterwards Miller's 
mill was built (section 18—58—9). Old 
Jack Thomas, as he was familiarly 
known, used to say that he was the first 
settler of Shelby county "that far up," 
meaning north, and that his house was 
the picket post of civilization when it 
was first l)uilt. A few hunters straggled 
along after Jack Thomas, but they prob- 
ably were not ])ermanent settlers, as 
nothing definite can be learned of them. 
In the fall of 1832 a cabin was built by 
Russell Moss (section 28—57—9) three 
miles northwest of Hunnewell. He came 
from Monroe countv and moved his 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



family from that locality in 1833. The 
Mosses were Kentuckians, and Mr. Moss 
was well versed in pioneer history and 
was of assistance to history writers. 

SETTLEKS OF 1833. 

Henry Sannders came to Shelby in the 
early spring of 1833 and settled one-half 
mile northeast of Lakenan (on section 
6 — 56 — 9), and to the south of him his 
brothers, Albert and Addison, settled. 

Samuel Buckner came in early spring 
and settled a mile and one-half north of 
Lakenan, west of Salt river (section 
31 — 57 — 9). Mr. Buckner was a bachelor 
of a well-known Buckner family of Ken- 
tucky, and controlled a number of slaves. 
He was a man of education and intel- 
lectual qualitications, generous and 
hospitable, but morally dissolute. 

Hon. William J. Holliday came to 
Shelby in May, 1833. He settled on 
Black creek, on the southwest (sec- 
tion 6 — 57 — 9). In the year 1876, Mr. 
Holliday wrote a series of interesting 
and valuable sketches of the early set- 
tlers which were published in the Shelby- 
ville Herald. The sketches were very 
valuable, and reliable infomiation was 
gained therefrom for the history of 
Shelby county. The sketches only went 
up to the Civil war, but as Mr. Holliday 
was a gentleman of intellectual attain- 
ment, and his mind clear and memory 
keen, his work was considered authentic 
and invaluable. According to Mr. Holli- 
day there were, to the spring of 1833, 
only twenty-six families living within 
the present limits of Shelby county, and 
these for the most part were located in 
the neighborhood of Oak Dale, in the 
southeastern ])art of the county, in the 
I)resent Jackson township. 



Others settled as follows: Thomas 
Holman lived on section 17, two miles 
south of Oak Dale ; Eussell W. Moss and 
Robert Duncan were still farther south, 
section 28; William B. Broughton was 
on section 5 and his home was called Oak 
Dale; George Pai'ker was on the north- 
west ciuarter of section 8, on Douglas's 
branch, and near by on the same section 
was Abraham Vandiver; Thomas T. 
Clements had built a cabin on the south 
part of section 21, near the present 
Hardy's school-house, four miles south- 
east of Oak Dale; Cyrus A. Saunders 
lived on section 9, nearly two miles 
southeast of Oak Dale; Levi Dyer lived 
on congress lands, west of Black creek, 
in this township and range. 

Then west of Oak Dale and nearly 
south of Shelbyville lived the following, 
in congressional township 57, range 10: 
Angus McDonald Holliday, located two 
miles west of Oak Dale, on Black creek 
(section 1); Thomas H. Bounds built 
a cabin on the west bank of Salt river, 
at the mouth of a creek and near a tine 
spring (northeast corner east one-half, 
section 23), about three and one-half 
miles northeast of the present site of 
Shelbina; and Samuel Balls lived near 
Angus i\IcDonald Holliday, live miles 
southeast of Shelbyville, in the northeast 
corner (section 1). 

John Eaton and George Eaton located 
north of Salt river, east of the road from 
Shelbina to Shellm'ille, on section 9. 
West of the Eatons a mile or two lived 
George and James Anderson, north of 
Salt river (section 8) ; on the north of 
Salt river, on the tirst fanii north of 
"long bridge," on the Shelbina-Shelby- 
ville road (section 17), was Maj. Obadiah 
Dickerson's cabin home. A little farther 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



up the river ou the same side, uorth of 
the present site of Walkersville, lived 
Peter Eoff and Nieliohis AVatkins, ou 
section 7. South of Watkins, nearer 
Walkersville, and on section 18 lived 
"King" Eaton (E. K. Eaton). South 
of Eaton lived James Blackford, on sec- 
tion ID. James Swartz lived about six 
miles northeast of Shelby ville, on North 
river, below where the road crosses the 
stream (section 12 — 58 — 10). 

Elijah Pepper lived about tive miles 
west of Shelbyville. John Thomas lived 
north of Oak Dale, on Clear creek (sec- 
tion 18). On this site Miller's mill was 
later built. Hon. William Holliday said 
in 1876 only six of these pioneer settlers 
were living: James Anderson, James 
Blackford, Nicholas Watkins, George 
Eaton, Cyrus H. Saunders, and W. H. 
Holliday. 

CHOLERA EPmEMICS. 

Everyone who has heard of the pio- 
neer days of Shelby county connects the 
year of 1833 with the cholera epidemic 
which ravaged the country, and tlfe early 
settlers were poorly provided to cope 
with so destructive a disease. It broke 
out June 3, 1833, at Palmyra, Mo., which 
was then a town of some six hundred 
inhabitants, and 105 persons died from 
the fatal malady. Palmyra was closely 
connected with Shelby at this time, and 
many fled to the rural districts for 
safety. Young William P. Matson, a 
stepson of Maj. Obadiah Dickerson, was 
in Palmyra when the cholera broke out. 
He started for the country, and when 
he reached the home of Angus McDonald 
Holliday on Black creek he found the 
stream was so high he could not ford it. 



and here he remained for the night, dur- 
ing which he was taken violently ill and 
died in great agony on the following 
morning. At his burial, his liost, Mr. 
Holliday, was taken violently ill and died 
on the following morning. The country 
was in a restless condition for some 
weeks. 

News of the fatalities of the infected 
districts was spread abroad, and fugi- 
tives from these districts sought refuge 
with their fi-iends. There was no etfort 
to quarantine against nor exjiel those in 
their midst. 

Fortunately, there were no other 
deaths, and by the middle of July the 
dread disease had disappeared. But the 
death of William P. Matson, June, 1833, 
was the first death on record in Shelby 
county. The country was new and things 
were yet in a disorganized state, but 
there remains no authenticated record 
previous. 

A SUKVEYING PARTY. 

R. T. Holliday, a United States deputy 
surveyor, began a survey for the govern- 
ment in August, 1833, of ranges 11, 12 
and 13, the districts to the west of where 
the principal settlements had been made. 
It began at the southeast corner of sec- 
tion 36 — 59 — 11. They surveyed and 
sectionized the ranges northward about 
sixty miles, to township 68, completing 
the work in the winter of 1834-35. Soon 
this new district commenced to flU up 
and improve. Addison Lair tells the 
story that it was during tliis survey, 
while they were at work on range 10, 
there occurred the famous "star 
shower" of November, 1833, and so 
frightened were they that all stopped 
work. 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



THE FIRST ELECTION. 

The first election ever held within what 
later was Shelby county was held in 
August, 1834. At this election Maj. 
Obadiah Dickerson and S. W. B. Carnegj- 
were elected to the legislature, defeating 
the two Johns — John ^McAfee and John 
Anderson. In Maj- of the same year 
Shelby county and some additional terri- 
tory was formed by the county court of 
Marion county into Black Creek town- 
ship, and it was, of course, a big com- 
pliment to have one of her citizens 
elected to this exalted position so soon 
after her creation. Major Dickerson 
was a well-infonned man and a man 
of wide acquaintance in his day. He 
was the real founder of the city of 
Palmyra, Mo., and was the town's first 
postmaster and one of the county-seat 
commissioners. In regard to the major's 
career as postmaster of Palmyra, an 
early history of Marion county contains 
the following interesting story: 

"The town (Palmyra) grew rather 
rapidly and in 1820 had 150 inhabitants. 
Those interested made efforts to increase 
the number of settlers, and in 1821 the 
first postoflfice was established, the mail 
coming, when it did come, from St. Louis, 
on horseback, by way of New London. 

"Maj. Obadiah Dickerson was the first 
postmaster. He kept the office in his hat 
a great i^ortion of the time. Being fre- 
quently absent from home, in the woods 
hunting, or attending some public gath- 
ering of the settlers, the few letters 
constituting 'the mail' were deposited 
under the lining of his huge bell-crown 
hat, often made a receptacle for jiapers, 
documents, handkerchiefs, etc., by gentle- 
men of the older times. Asked why he 



carried the office about with him in this 
way, the old major replied: 'So that if 
I meet a man who has a letter belonging 
to him I can give it to him, sir ! I meet 
more men when I travel about than come 
to the office when I stay at home.' " 

On one occasion a man from a frontier 
settlement came to Palmyra for the mail 
for himself and neighbors. Both post- 
office and postmaster were away from 
home. Going in pursuit, as it were, he 
found them over on North river. Major 
Dickerson looked over the contents of his 
office, selected half a dozen letters for 
the settler and his neighbors, and then, 
handing him two more, said: "Take 
these along with you and see if they 
belong to anyone out in your settlement. 
They have been here two weeks and no 
owner has called for them yet. I don't 
know any such men, and I don't want to 
be bothered with fliem any longer." 

As the mail at the Palmyra postoffice 
increased, the major petitioned the de- 
partment for a new and larger hat. In 
1829, on account of the accession of 
General Jackson to the presidency, 
]\rajor Dickerson, who was an Adams 
man, was removed, and ^laj. Benjamin 
Mear-s was appointed postmaster at 
Palmyra. 

THE FIRST PERMAXEXT SETTLER. 

It is claimed by some, and perhaps is 
true, that Maj. Obadiah Dickerson was 
the first permanent settler in the terri- 
tory afterwards organized into Shelby 
countj'. He settled in 1880 in sections 16 
and 17, township 57, range 10, northeast 
of AValkersville, on the north side of 
Salt river. As stated before, he came 
from Palmyra, Marion county, which 
village he founded about ten years pre- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



vious to his settlement in Shelby. He 
originallj' came from Kentucky and ar- 
rived in Missouri about 1816 or 1817, 
landing at Louisiana, Pike coimty, Mis- 
souri. He assisted in the organization 
of Pike county and also the city of 
Louisiana. In April, 1819, the first cir- 
cuit court ever held in Pike was held in 
the Major's residence. Mrs. Dickerson 
died here in 1820 and the Major moved 
on north and westward to Palmyra. 
Here he resided until 1830, at which 
time he moved over into the territory 
of Shelby. He was a member of the 
Missouri legislature in 1835 and assisted 
in the organization of the county. 

A POSTOFFICE AND STORE INSTALLED. 

It was during the cholera epidemic at 
Palmyra the supply and postoffice for the 
new dstrict were cut oft", and out of this 
experience the settlers realized a need 
of conveniences nearer at hand. These 
settlers had to go to Palmyra for gro- 
ceries, mail, and all the necessai'ies of 
life, — a distance of twenty-five miles and 
return. Breadstuffs were ground at 
Gatewood's and Massie's mills, a little 
north and west of Palmyra. During the 
winter of 1833-34, William B. Broughton 
brought on a small stock of general mer- 
chandise and opened a store in his house. 
His stock, though small, contained the 
necessaries of jirimitive life. That winter 
he secured a numerously signed petition 
asking for the establishment of a post- 
ofSce. This ijetition was graciously re- 
ceived at Washington and an office estab- 
lished at Mr. Bi'oughton's residence and 
called Oak Dale, the name that pioneer 
town bears to this day. This was the 
first postoffice in the county, and Mr. 
Broughton was the first postmaster. 
Mails came in from Palmvra once a 



week, and on that day the settlers met 
for social intercourse as well as busi- 
ness. The first store and the first post- 
office was a great step in their onward 
stride, in the life of these pioneer heroes, 
and many a long fifty-mile drive did it 
save them, so meager was their equip- 
ment for travel. 

His everyday life in the wilds of the 
new country to which he had come to 
make himself rich was such a monoto- 
nous round from day to day that indeed 
he had little to communicate to his 
friends of the South and East. Postage 
was very high, and if the early settlers 
received or sent two or three letters per 
family in a year they were indeed to be 
congratulated. Their usual way of send- 
ing or receiving tidings from their 
friends, and the news of the great world, 
from which they seemed almost entirely 
remote, was usually by the settler who 
journeyed back to his old home or by 
the mouth of the stranger coming in. 
His wants were few, and were, generally 
speaking, supplied by his rod and his 
gun, the latter being his indispensable 
weapon of defense. 

SHELBY COUNTY FORMED AND ORGANIZED, 
AND SOME EVENTS WHICH FOLLOWED. 

During 1833-34: immigration came on 
rapidly. The inconvenience of being so 
remote from the county seat. Palmyra, 
and a hope of inducing a more rapid 
settlement, prompted the pioneers to 
take steps necessary to organize their 
settlements into a new county, which was 
done in 1835 (see early history). 

The year 1835 was as deeply impressed 
on the minds of the pioneer settlers as 
the "cold year" as for the year of county 
organization. The winter was a long one 



8 



HISTOKY OF SHELBi' COUXTY 



and uncommonly severe. The new set- 
tlers were little prepared for extreme 
weather, and suffering was common 
throughout the newly settled districts. 
During February hap]iened the day long 
designated as "cold Friday." The 
spring was late, cold and wet. About 
the 12th or 13th of May came a hea\^ 
freeze, freezing the ground to the dejith 
of two feet. Buds on the fruit trees and 
bushes were swollen and all killed. Even 
some of the young forest trees were 
killed. Crops were resown and late. 

The cold spring was followed later on 
by an early, cold fall. September 16th 
there was a heavy frost and freeze, 
damaging the late corn, vegetables and 
fruits. Much sickness followed, and it 
seemed the life of the early settler was a 
continuous hardship. 

The summer of 1835, cholera again 
broke out in Palmyra. A panic ensued 
among its inhaliitants. and many fled to 
this county for safety. Some of the 
fugitives built extemporaneous cabins 
along the streams or near the springs, 
and camped until all danger had passed. 
Though the settlers were held continu- 
ously in dread of the dire disease, there 
were no cases in this county. 

Except during the "off" year, crops 
were miraculous during pioneer days, 
thus inviting immigration. Mr. Holliday 
said wheat was certain and would some- 
times yield iifty bushels ])er acre. Corn 
and oats were good return, while hemp 
was a good and valuable crop. No grain 
insect molested the country until after 
the year 1840, and then insects made 
their a])pearance by degrees. All kinds 
of stock flourished well, grazing in the 
open until June, when tlie overgrowth 
would cover up the young, fresh grass; 



but the settlers would burn off a large 
tract and the stock for miles aroimd 
would congregate and feed on the fresh, 
tender blades, which made quick growth. 
It was the best way to keep the cattle 
corralled in the early days. Cattle died 
in large numbers from bloody murrain. 

Mr. Holliday says in the early days 
tliere were no oats, clover nor bluegrass, 
and neither were there any pokeweed, 
pursley nor jimson weed. Neither were 
there any fruit trees except in the wild 
state, but every immigrant brought on 
his supply. 

July 4, 1836, was a memorable date as 
the first glorious Fourth in our county. 
About two hundred persons met at the 
spring on Clear creek, five miles east 
and a little north of Shelliyville (sec- 
tion 18 — 58 — 9), where Miller's mill was 
built and located a short distance west 
of M. Dimmitt's rabbit farm. A grand 
barbecue and free dinner was served, 
and a patriotic good time was the order 
of the day. The occasion was pronounced 
a success. 

The following year, 1837, the Fourth 
was celebrated south of Shell)yville, on 
the banks of Salt river, at Carnegy's 
spring; and so the glorious Fourth 
became an established celebration in 
Shelby county. However, at this cele- 
bration some of the more hilarious 
visited some of Shelb^-^'ille's groceries, 
which at this early day had learned to 
sell "fiery water," and a general dis- 
turbance ensued. 

In the autumn of 1838, Shelbyville 
held its first agricultural fair, and the 
contest for ])remiums offered was a 
warm one. A good premium was offered 
to the farmer raising the largest amount 
on an acre of land. The story goes that 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Charles Smith, Judge William Gooeh 
and Col. William Lewis each put in a 
sealed oath of ninety-five bushels per 
acre. Other farmers x^i'oved they had 
raised more than fifty bushels i)er acre. 
The fair continued only a few seasons. 
In January, 1838, Mr. John Dunn in 
the lead asked the county court for the 
organization of a school district of con- 
gi'essional township 58, range 11, under 
the name of Van Buren. It was done 
and itrejiarations were begam for the 
first public school. 

INDIANS. 

Very few Indians were ever seen in 
the county after its first settlement. Oc- 
casionally a hunting party, or stragg-lers, 
passed through. 1839 a band camped 
near Hager's Grove ^md caused some 
alarm. 

The old-timers can make your hair 
stand on end as they begin to tell of the 
Pottawatomie war, but it all turns to a 
false alarm and a huge joke. It occurred 
at the time the government had ordered 
the Indians to "move on" from Iowa to 
the southwest. A party of about sixty 
friendly Pottawatomie redskins, consist- 
ing of men, women and chihlreu, jtassed 
through the western part of our county 
enroute, causing widespread alarm. 
Some of the Indians, as was their custom 
while traveling, had climbed into a corn- 
field and were helping themselves to corn 
and pumpkins. Nothing was known of 
their presence in the country until they 
were discovered helping themselves to 
what they wanted. Wonderful had been 
the tales that had gone fortli of the sav- 
agery of the redskin, and the merciless 
tortures which they inflicted upon their 
prisoners. 



Their cunning and craftiness and their 
shooting from ambush had reached the 
pioneers before they turned their faces 
toward the setting sun, and now came to 
their minds all the warnings they had 
received to steer clear of the murderous, 
torturing redskin, and the settlement was 
thrown into a wild panic. They pictured 
an Indian war at hand and were totally 
unprepared. Alarm messengers were 
sent throughout the country, bidding all 
to rejjair to a certain formidable log 
house for safety. Other messengers 
were hastened to Shelbjn^ille and Pal- 
myra for re-enforcements and here and 
there for simple artillery and such 
weapons as the settlers possessed. And 
the story goes (and is vouched for) that 
the messenger reached Shelbyville with 
his eyes bulging, his hair like porcupine 
quills and his steed all afoam. The town 
was aroused to the indignities the Potta- 
watomie were about to inflict upon his 
fellowman, and a company was organ- 
ized during the evening and arrange- 
ments made to await the volunteers from 
Palmyra, unless the crj' of distress was 
heard in the meantime. Pickets were 
stationed out and the impromptu com- 
pany was ready to start at the sound of 
trumjiet. W. O. Peake was the messen- 
ger to give Palmyra the alarm and he 
played his ])art well. He rejiorted the 
Indians ravaging the western part of 
Shelby county, that the inhabitants were 
fleeing from their homes, and unless they 
were squelched at once a great amount 
of havoc would ensue and the country de- 
vastated and depopulated. A word was 
sufficient. A common sjmijiathy per- 
meated the breast of every pioneer set- 
tler and Palmyra flew to arms. In an 
hour a goodly company was organized, 



10 



HISTOIJY OF SHELBY TOUXTY 



bearing sword and musket, and was on 
way to rescue from the red savage those 
who had befriended tliose who fled to 
them during the dire cholera scourge. The 
company carried with them the dragoon 
swords and otlier arms General Benja- 
min Means had preserved from the Black 
Hawk war. Gen. David Willoek gave 
the orders. John H. Curd was their 
captain. After marching all night the 
company volunteers reached Shelbyville 
at 8 :30 the following morning. Here they 
found a goodly re-enforcement. So it 
goes that they ate and drank, then drank 
again until the companies called each 
other names, were first hot, then cold, till 
the drinks had lost effect and then they 
shook hands and made friends. Late in 
the day the companies started out to lick 
the Indians. Tliat night they camped on 
Payton's branch and continued their 
march on the following morning. But 
they were soon apprised of the fact that 
the Indians had been gone some two days 
and were by that hour some fifty miles 
away. On investigation, they found the 
Indians had taken captive some "yaller" 
pumpkins, their ponies had "cabbaged" 
some "yaller" corn and they had killed 
a wild hog, but they had molested neither 
man, woman nor child, but in turn were 
bequeathing to white man their earthly 
possession, nature's forest, and all her 
beauty and freedom. The companies 
right about and homeward turned their 
faces. The Palmyra company parted 
with the other volunteers, with sad mem- 
ories of imaginary insults and abuses 
whicU occasioned black eyes, some bloody 
noses and a few "peeled" faces. The 
Shelby County ^filitary Comjiany dis- 
banded, but not without first voting their 
thanks to the Palmyra volunteers "for 



the assistance they rendered us and the 
entertainment they furnished us." The 
Shelby settlers soon returned to their 
cabin homes, but many funny stories are 
still afloat which revert back to Shelby's 
Indian war. 

One story which the second generation 
of the old-timers have never lost sight of 
is of old Uncle Malaehi AVood. He 
lolaced his wife and child on one horse 
while he hurriedly mounted another and 
struck a "trot" for refuge. He was on 
the fastest steed and always kept in the 
lead of his loved ones. Mrs. "Wood was 
not an adept at horsemanship, and in 
trying to come up to her husband lost her 
grasp on her darling. In an hysterical 
manner she cried out: "Oh, stop, Mal- 
aehi, do stop ! I have dropped my baby ! 
Do stop, and help me save it!" AVithout 
curbing his speed or turning his head he 
shouted back, "Never mind the baby- 
Let's save the old folks. More babies 
can be had. ' ' 

Another goes that John B. Lewis lived 
in a sparsely settled country down near 
the present site of AValkersville. Mr. 
Lewis was, for that day, a man of wealth. 
He brought with him when he came 
three thousand dollars in gold, which he 
kept hid about his possessions. A son 
of John Pay ton galloped along the high- 
way calling out: "Indians! Indians! 
fly for your lives." The Lewises were 
thoroughly aroused to the sense of ap- 
pending danger. He hurriedly set Mrs. 
Lewis and three little children on one 
horse and started them to the soutli to 
the Aloore settlement, Airs. Lewis bare- 
headed and the children clothed just as 
the alarm had found them. Air. Lewis 
hurriedly buried his wealth and hurried 
to the south afoot. The Aloores had a 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



11 



good, stroug house and it refuged three 
or four neighboriug families for a couple 
of days. The home was long after known 
as Fort Moore. 

The whites had misinterpreted the 
queer actions of the Indians, knowing 
little of their superstitions. It seems 
the Indians had lost one of their number 
and several more were sick. They be- 
lieved tliat an evil spirit had infested 
their band. To kill and banish the evil 
spirit the Indians had slain a dog, sus- 
pended it in the air and formed a circle 
with arrows stuck in ground, all point- 
ing inward toward the body. When the 
settlers saw this, and the raid on their 
corn and pumpkin patch, they inferred 
it betokened death to them and posses- 
sion of their lands and property. 

WILD ANIMALS AND GAME. 

The sports and means of recreation 
were not so varied among the early set- 
tlers as at present, but they were more 
exhilarating and more gratifying than 
the sports of today. 

Ilimters nowadays would be too eager 
to find within a reasonable proximity of 
their home the favorable opportunity en- 
joyed by the early settlers, deeming it a 
rare pleasure to spend a vacation on the 
watercourse or the wild prairies at hand 
in those days. And the early settler en- 
joj'ed it, too, for he had few other sports. 
He loved his dog and his gun and he 
found wild game of almost every species 
found now in our wild western prairies. 
The woods were full of wild game and 
were a paradise for hunters. Although 
the Indians had lived and hunted much 
here, the saying goes that "wild man and 
wild beast thrive together," and so as 
the red man's ranks had been thinning. 



the wild beast had been increasing at an 
alarming degree to the safety of the set- 
tlers, and he killed not only for pleasure 
but for his safetj'. Bears, panthers and 
wolves abounded. The western and 
northwestern portion of the county was 
their principal retreat, because hunters 
from Monroe county had driven them in 
that direction. Bears were abundant in 
the northeastern portion in 1835-36. 
They were numerously killed in Tiger 
Fork and the fierce panther also existed 
here in large numbers. Manj' an early 
settler, as he sat by his hearth, with his 
family about him, felt his blood run cold 
as the piercing scream of the prowling 
panther was borne on the night wind, 
which whistled through the crevices of 
his lonely cabin. They were frequentlj' 
encountered, and many of them slain by 
hunters. Wildcats and catamounts also 
Ijrowled through the forest and were a 
menace to mankind. The early settler 
must always have his gun at hand, and 
he was in constant fear when away from 
his home for his loved one's safety, for 
the wild animals could often be shot from 
their cabins. 

As late as 1841, two large black bears 
passed Dunn's school house, west of 
Shell)\'ville, on Black creek, going west- 
ward. They caused great alarm among 
the children. Near Vienna, Macon county, 
which was only twelve miles distant, 
bears were quite numerous at that late 
date. A large bear was killed near Stice's 
mill. Bethel, 1840. 

The winter of 1835 some enormous ani- 
mals were killed. John Winnegan, a 
man of small stature, but who loved to 
hunt, lived near where the Bethel to Ne- . 
vada road crosses the Tiger fork. He 
killed two very large panthers that win- 



12 



HIST0I5Y OF SHELBY COUXTY 



ter near liis home. The neighborhood 
settlers called them tigers and christened 
the stream on which they were killed 
Tiger fork of North river, which name it 
has since borne. 

As for wolves, the county teemed with 
them. There were at least three varie- 
ties, the large black, the gray and the 
coyote or prairie wolf. The first two 
named made great depredations on the 
early settlers' flocks and herds, and it 
was difficut to raise sheep and hogs be- 
cause of their inroads. Sometimes in a 
single night a wliole herd of sheep or lit- 
ter of pigs would fall the prey of those 
vicious animals. As a rule, all stock 
would be penned at night within a high 
fence enclosure, the only way to feel any 
safety. They would snatch up a pig and 
off with it. However, the hogs often 
showed fight and sometimes was able to 
protect their young and drive away the 
marauders. 

In 1841 John B. Lewis was enroute 
southwest of Shelbyville for his home 
and was startled to hear what he thought 
was a person in distress. He hastened 
to render assistance, thinking perhaps 
some one had been assailed and waylaid, 
but found on nearing the spot whence 
came the cry that it was only the scream 
of a panther. 

In 1840 Kindred Feltz, with some as- 
sistance, killed a panther in the northern 
part of tlie county that measured nine 
feet. 

In 1845 after the county was compara- 
tively well settled, while riding throiigh 
the timber west of Shell)yville, Robert 
McAfee was attacked by a pack of gray 
wolves. The animals chased him, snap- 
ping and biting his legs and injuring his 
horse considerably. 



Deer, turkey, ducks, geese and various 
other choice game could be had for the 
killing of it. One could go out and kill 
his venison steak for breakfast if he sO' 
desired. Wild turkey and squirrels were 
too abundant to be worthy of mention. 

Fur animals existed in large numbers, 
such as otter, bear, muskrat, raccoon, 
mink, wildcat, beaver, wolf, fox and pan- 
ther. The early settlers tell of seeing 
several herds of deer in a distance of 
four miles. 

Numerous are the stories of the chase, 
hunting expeditions and adventures with 
the wild beast of the forest, which would 
be sufficient to interest the readers, but 
they would not be historic in their na- 
ture, only sufficient in detail to impress 
the reader with the condition of affairs 
during the early day of the settlers. 

Serpents everywhere abounded and of 
such enormous proportions that but for 
the abundance of testimony the stories 
seem almost incredible. Quail, rabbit 
and grouse were scarce. 

Another profitable recreation for the 
old settler was the hunting of bee trees. 
The forests along the water course were 
prolific. They were found on Salt river 
and all her tributaries and, in fact, along 
all the rivers in this and adjoining coun- 
ties. 

During the late summer, many hunters 
would go into cam]) for days at a time 
for the purpose of securing wild honey, 
which was very almndant and rich and 
commanded a good ])rice in tlio home 
market. 

Ti-ai>])ing wolves ])ecame a very ])rofit- 
able pastime after the state offered a re- 
ward for wolf scalps. The wolf became 
so daring was the reason of the boimty. 
At niij:ht thev would make the forest ring 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



13 



witli their liarks, and if clogs ventured 
out to drive them away they would lie 
driven hack by the wolves chasing them 
to the very cabin door. 

No, nmsic was cheap to the pioneers. 
They could be lulled to sleep any night 
by the screeching of the panther and 
the howling of the wolf, and deer was 
daily seen trooping over the wild prai- 
ries, a dozen or more in the drove, and 
it is said 'twas a pretty sight often seen 
when half a hundred or moi-e were graz- 
ing together. 

THE PIONEER WEDDINGS. 

The jiioueer wedding of the earh' 
period was not the display of elegance 
and planning as tlie wedding of the twen- 
tieth century. The fine points of display 
and finish were not at their command, 
and the tastes of the pioneers were plain 
and unselfish, hence no pomp nor display 
of paraphernalia was worth the while to 
consider. In those days there were few 
■"store clothes," unless it was that 
lirought in by the emigrant as he came 
in, but their clothes were for the most 
jtart homesinm. The material was prin- 
cipally cotton or flax and wool. The 
women wore linsey, cotton and buckskin 
and the men the same with some jeans 
jidded. 

A bridal outfit did not include a linen 
shower and a handkerchief and hosiery 
shower, a crystal nor a miscellaneous 
shower. Her toilet was plain, inexpen- 
sive and but little more than she other- 
wise would possess. It was all sufficient, 
it was sensible and in harmony with the 
manners and circumstances of the day, 
and she was just as sweet, as at^'able and 
as unselfi.sh as the bride of our day. And 
the groom, in his jeans or homespun linen 



trousers, his linsey shirt, Jiis jeans coat 
and his coonskin cap, was just as gallant, 
as kind and no more domineering than 
the groom, all diamond besparkling, of 
today. Though the weddings did not 
bear the pomp and display, were not such 
brilliant society events, the union was as 
fortunate and felicitous and the event as 
joyous as of modern days. There was 
always a wedding and it was for their 
friends. All the neighbors had an invi- 
tation and all ever accepted most gra- 
ciously. 

There was all sorts of fun and merry 
making during the day. You were not 
invited to come in hat and gloves, to keep 
them on. It was a day's outing. Foot- 
racing, wrestling, shooting matches and 
any other diversion was the order of the 
day and dancing extended far into the 
morning hours. True, some of tlie giiests 
came barefoot and the dancing hall was 
sometimes of the variety which had sjilit 
puncheons substituted for the wax floor, 
from wliieh the slivers had not been 
smoothed away, but the hardened sole of 
the foot was scarcely penetrable by an 
ordinary sliver. And then the wedding- 
feast is worthy the consideration of man. 
There were venison steaks and delicious 
roasts — pig, turkey, grouse and mutton ; 
there was corn pone with wild honey and 
delicious home-made maple syru]i. and 
always the good old Missouri and Ken- 
tucky whiskey, pure and unadulterated, 
such as "we'uns" never sip. The ban- 
quet was all cooked in the old "Pilgrim 
mothers' " style, toothsome and savory 
to a degree. 

And no newspaper, to which the family 
must cater, that the wedding may be 
chronicled as elegant to a degree, the 
bride the most beautiful and accom- 



14 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



plislied and the groom as possessing the 
most sterling qualities. Only the neigh- 
borhood to tell it abroad and express 
their good will. 

And the dear little babies that came 
to brighten the lonely hours, to bring 
sunshine and mvisie and mirth into the 
densest forest, the home of the bear, tJie 
wolf and the panther. True, their lay- 
ette was not as superb and as white and 
silky as today, but the babies were just 
as good, just as strong, as bright, as 
happy and as welcome as the twentieth 
century babe. Yes, it was cuddled by 
its mother, not in a little outfit bought at 
a large department store, but she did 
weave the very material and was pains- 
taking in the making thereof, while the 
proud father lulled it to sleep in a cradle 
fashioned by his own hand, with sea- 
soned hickory bows for rockers. Within 
this little trough are laid some folds of 
homespun, or some soft, hatcheled but 
unspun flax, as soft as down, and into 
this little nest is cuddled the innocent lit- 
tle darling. 

We have resurrected some of the ear- 
liest marriage dates. Doubtless the first 
marriage in Shelby county, after its or- 
ganization, was Bradford Hunsucker and 
Miss Dicy Stice. The ceremony was per- 
formed by Esquire Abraham Vandiver, 
at the residence of Peter Stice, the father 
of the bride, near the present site of 
Bethel. The date of the marriage, as 
duly recorded, was April 30, 1835. The 
next was William S. Townsend and Ede- 
na A. Mills, May 10, 1835, Esquire Wil- 
liam J.Holliday officiating. November 12, 
1835, Gilbert Edmonds and Minerva J. 
Vandiver, also Tandy Gooch and Susan 
Duncan, Rev. Richard Sharp officiating 
on both occasions. February 18, 1856, 



Charles Kilgore and Catherine Coch- 
rane, Esquire Abraham Vandiver ofiB- 
ciating; February 28, 1836, Samuel S. 
Matson and Mary Creel, Rev. Richard 
Slmrp officiating; March 31, 1836, AVil- 
liam Holliday and Elizabeth Vandiver, 
Rev. Sharp officiating; April 7, 1836, 
Fautley Rhodes and Sarah Stice, Rev. 
Sharp officiating; May 24, 1836, James 
Shaw and Eliza Beavens, Judge A. E. 
Wood officiating; October 20, 1836, Ben- 
jamin F. Firman and Sarah Rookwood, 
Rev. Henry Louthan officiating; Novem- 
l)er 17, 1836, Baptist Hardy and Martha 
Davidson, Richard Sharp officiating; De- 
cember 1, 1836, James Rhodes and Mary 
Musgrove, Rev. Sharp officiating. 

PIONEER MINISTERS. 

The lot of early settlers was accompa- 
nied by many hardships, but the lot of a 
minister on the frontier would be harder 
still if he tried to subsist on the income 
directly from his calling, but every new 
country and clime needs a minister and 
his shadow follows close upon the foot- 
print of the earliest settlers. 

They labor without money and without 
l)rice. If he atteiiijits to board, his liabil- 
ities will exceed his assets, and so he 
turns to the practical side of life and he 
toils as does his neigh])or. In that day 
there existed no fund to support minis- 
ters on the frontiers, but he felt his call, 
he knew his duty and he dodged it not be- 
cause it was hemmed in with hardships 
and strivings, with disappointments and 
with danger. They went to the front, 
they gained their substance as did their 
neighbor by their rifle and by their daily 
toil in the field and in the forest. The 
frontier preacher was an expert with the 
rifle, as was his laity. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



15 



Religious service was held in a neigh- 
bor's cabin. Notice of the service was 
promptly and widely circulated, and the 
people generally attended for protection 
and to secure game going and coming. 
The secret of a good attendance was two- 
fold — some attended worshipping their 
creator in all their simplicity, and others 
went for the social side of the occasion. 
Here they told of their hunts, the latest 
news from everywhere, who was going 
back home and who had come, bearing 
some message from their loved ones at 
home. 

In the fall of 1837, there was not a 
church nor school house in the county. 
The Methodists held a camp meeting 
during the season about a mile north of 
Oak Dale (N. W. 32—58—9.) 

A circuit had been established connect- 
ing with the southeastern portion of the 
county. Rev. Richard Sharp, a local 
preacher, who lived at Sharpsburg, Ma- 
rion county, frequently preached in this 
county. Rev. Henry Louthan, a Baptist, 
settled in this county at an early day, 
and sketches say he labored at his call- 
ing. Rev. Jeremiah Taylor, another Bap- 
tist, who lived in Marion, preached in 
this county prior to 1840, and other pio- 
neer preachers are mentioned in town- 
ship history. 

FIRST SETTLEMENTS MADE IN TIMBER. 

The early settlers always chose the 
timbered land as a necessity and con- 
venience. The emigrants almost inva- 
riably came from Kentucky and Tennes- 
see, some from New York, indirectly. 
These states in their primitive days were 
almost covered with forests, and the set- 
tlers there chose timber lands, cleared otf 
what they wanted to cultivate and al- 



ways reserved a portion which they 
called the woods, and "the woods" was 
the most important jjart of the farm, and 
wholly indispensable. AVhen he came to 
Missouri, one drawback was the bleak 
prairies, and so he always hunted out the 
wooded district. Living without the for- 
est, with the pioneer, was like living with- 
out his gun — it was a prime requisite. 
Then he must have a house to live in, 
rails for his fencing, wood for his fuel. 
In that day there was no railway to haul 
his fuel, no coal mine within reach or 
sight, and so we may little wonder at the 
prime importance of timber in that age. 
Along the various water courses which 
flowed across the country, on either side 
was a belt of timber. At certain places, 
usually near the outlets of the tributa- 
ries, the timber belt widened, forming a 
grove, and at these groves the settle- 
ments were usually made. Here started 
up the machinery which turned a wilder- 
ness, teeming with its wild animals, into 
macadamized streets and highways, 
planting here and there a seat of learn- 
ing, or a candle on the hillside which 
lighteth all about it. 

PIONEERS. 

The early pioneers of our country were 
too busy making history to stop to pre- 
serve it. Practically speaking, the early 
years of the county, her cornerstone and 
her foundations, were most important to 
her future welfare. However, historic 
events were naturally slow, the life of 
the pioneers simple and uneventful. 

The experience of one settler differed 
little from that of his neighbor. Nearly 
all of them were poor, and those who 
brought with them some riches faced 
about the same inconveniences and hard- 



16 



HlSTOIiY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



ships as his neighbor, and stood g-ener- 
ally on the same footing. It was a time 
of self-reliance and bravery, persevering 
toil, of privations endured through faith 
of a "good time coming." 

It is common to indulge in flattering 
adulations in chronicling the lives of 
early settlers. Their virtues are extolled 
immoderately, their vices seldom hinted 
at, but we must remember that they were 
human and humanity is not all grace nor 
all virtue. It is both strong and weak, 
sometimes one and both at the same time, 
and so it follows that our forerunners 
were men and women with all the virtues 
and graces and all the vices and frailties 
that you find in the human race in any 
comnumity. They may have been 
stronger in ways than their descendants, 
perchance they may even have had more 
weaknesses. They were hosi)itable and 
generous, yet they would (some of them) 
swear, get drunk and fight. Do not their 
successors do even so? 

Good works were wrought, good deeds 
rendered, but there existed also cheating 
at a "hoss swap" and betting on the 
cock fight. There was diligence and per- 
severance, but there was also laziness 
and shiftlessness, there was good and 
bad, and if they were poor they were rec- 
ompensed by being free from the burden 
of pride and vanity, free from the anx- 
iety and solicitude which always accom- 
panies the possession of wealth. Though 
they had few neighbors, they were in love 
and fellowship with those they had. 

Envy, eovetousness and strife had not 
crept in to mar their free intercourse. A 
common interest and common sympathy 
bound as one family. There was no aris- 
tocracy, no caste. In this one ])oint they 
towered above the present generation. 



though aristocracy, generally speaking, 
is comparatively foreign in our count}'. 
Our people today are plain, as was the 
simi)le frontier life of the pioneer, and in 
all, good and bad, the life of the frontier 
in 1835 was about as good and as bad as 
the inhabitants of 1911. The log cabin 
l>eople dressed plain, fed on humble fare, 
but they lived comfortably, happily, 
abundantly and justly. Many a pioneer 
declared the ha]^]nest days of his life was 
when he lived in his log cabin home, when 
eveiy man was on an equality, when aris- 
tocratic feeling was not tolerated, when 
what one had they all had. And they 
must have meant it, every word, for 
many a pioneer, when this county became 
])retty well settled, moved on west, to 
live again the pioneer life their few re- 
maining years. They were men of activ- 
ity and energy, or they would never have 
faced the ills and hardships of frontier 
life, and when their forms were bent with 
the storms they had faced, they still 
yearned for "other worlds to conquer," 
and they again turned their face toward 
the setting sun. 

PIONEER HOMES AND COMFORTS. 

The first buildings in the county were 
a cross between the "hoop cabins" and 
Indian bark huts. As soon as there were 
enough men in the county to raise a log 
cabin, they were in style. "While the 
cabins were homely, yet they could be 
made comfortable. 

A window with glass was a rarity and 
signified an aristocracy which few could 
afford. The}' often built a window open- 
ing and covered it with greased paper, 
which let in some light, but often there 
was nothing over the opening, letting in 
the air and light, but more often the crev- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



17 



ices between the logs without chiukiug or 
daubing was more than sufficient for both 
light and air. 

The doors were fastened with old-fash- 
ioned wooden latches, and for all man- 
kind passing that way "the latch-string 
hung out — thence the origination of the 
old-time hospitality and the saying "the 
latch-string hangs outward." It is no- 
ticeable the reverence with which the pio- 
neer always speaks of those log cabin 
homes, and it causes one to feel that it is 
indeed doul>tful if palaces even sheltered 
happier hearts and more gladsome days 
than the log cabin homes. They were dif- 
ferent, yea! a description may enlighten 
us on many points, and a very good one 
of the average log cabin, landmarks of 
other days, follows. This home was to be 
occupied by a bride and groom : 

"The logs were round, with notched 
corners put together, ribbed by poles and 
sheeted up with boards split from a tree. 
A puncheon floor, which was split trees, 
not smoothed down, was then laid ; a hole 
was then cut in one end and a stick chim- 
ney run up. A window two feet square is 
cut in one end, without any covering. A 
clapboard door is made with the old-time 
latch-string. The cabin is then daubed 
with mud and is ready for occupancy. ' ' 

A "one-leg" bed is moved in by the 
young people. It was made by cutting 
a stick the proper lengtli, boring holes at 
one end one and half inches in diameter 
at right angles, and the same sized holes 
corresponding with those in the logs of 
the cabin, the length and breadth desired 
for the bed, in whicli are inserted poles. 

Upon these poles the clapboards are 
laid or linn bark is woven back and forth 
from pole to i)ole. Upon this foundation 
the bed is laid. 



A cook stove was out of the question, 
but in lieu of a cook stove the cooking 
was done in pots and skillets on or about 
the fireplace. These fireplaces were usu- 
ally built in chimneys composed of mud 
and sticks or undressed stone, if any was 
near at hand. And meals thus prepared 
were both good and healthful. The out- 
door life called for a substantial diet, and 
it is said that dyspepsia was unheard of 
in that day. 

Before mills had been supplied or were 
near at hand, the early settlers used what 
was called hominy blocks for hominy and 
meal. To make these the eai'ly settlers 
selected a tree about two feet in diameter 
and felled it to the ground. If a cross- 
cut saw was in the neighborhood, the end 
was sawed off smooth, if not, it was 
smoothed down as best they could with 
sharp axes, then four or five feet was 
sawed or cut off square. When this was 
finished it was raised on end and a hol- 
low cut in the end. This was done with 
an ax — sometimes a small one used. This 
done, a fire was built in it and watched 
carefully till the jagged edges were 
burned away. When completed, it some- 
what resembled a druggist's mortar. 
Then a crusher was necessary. It was 
made from a suitable piece of timber, 
with an iron wedge attached, the large 
end down. This completed the hominy 
crusher and one usually accommodated 
the neighbors for miles about. 

And so with hominy, honey, majile 
syrup, vegetables and all kinds of game, 
they could readily satisfy inner man. 

Every settler had his truck patch, 
where he raised potatoes, corn and some 
vegetables, and if enough corn was 
raised johnny cake and maple syru]i was 
always api)etizing. 



18 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



The first farms were always oiiened 
up in the timber. This was cut down and 
utilized for cabins, fencing, and what , 
they did not need was rolled together 
and burned. The saplings and stumps 
were grubbed up and then plowing be- 
gun. Some farmers used a plow made 
from the fork of a tree, some a wooden 
mold-board with sometimes an iron 
point. 

The land in the bottoms was very mel- 
low and almost anything would answer 
for a plow there. 

Corn was the principal crop. There 
was little wheat. Flax stood among the 
first crops and was one of the necessi- 
ties. The seed was rarely sold, but the 
l)ark was used to make linsey and family 
linen. Nearly every family had their 
flax and their sheep for clothing sup- 
plies for the family. 

The style of dress was in keeping with 
the style of living. When the women 
could procure enough calico to make a 
cap for their head, they were important 
and hapi)y, or we would say today, very 
swell, and she who possessed a dress 
made entirely of store goods was the 
envy of all her sisters. They usually 
went barefoot in summer and in inclem- 
ent weather they wore on their feet shoes 
made of home-tanned leather. It is said 
when pioneer woman came into posses- 
sion of the first calfskin shoes she was 
very painstaking to preserve them, and 
when she was going to a wedding or 
cluirch on state occasions, she would 
walk barefoot vmtil almost there and 
then don her pretty shoes. 

Very often, 'tis said, the pioneer wore 
knee breeclies on other tlian state occa- 
sions. Buckskin was a favorite for pan- 
taloons, but even buckskin had its draw- 



backs. It would shrink, and so the pio- 
neer could go out in his long buckskin 
trousers, but if he got wet or had to wade 
a stream, his trousers would begin to 
climb up until they would reach his 
knees. On the following day, after they 
were dry, he would take them out and tie 
one end to the logs in his house and pull 
from the other end until he thought them 
all sufficient, and his buckskins were fully 
as good as new. 

The settlers manufactured and raised 
nearly everything they used. Once es- 
tablished, they had their own meat, milk 
and butter, ^"ery little coffee, tea or 
sugar entered into their menus. High 
livers had coffee possibly Sunday morn- 
ing for breakfast. Cattle, sheep and hogs 
lived on the wild mast, and as there was 
no market for these, they kept an abun- 
dance in the smoke house. 

There were few tools and vessels and 
articles for the household were hewn out 
of timber, and the family were just as 
content in their use as the family of to- 
day, with the multiplied modern con- 
veniences. Coffee, sugar and tea were 
high, and they used very little, some fam- 
ilies using none, while a cow would only 
bring about $10, a horse $25, a good hog 
$1.25; wheat, when they had it, 25c per 
bushel ; honey 20c per gallon and venison 
hams 25c each, and split rails 25c per 
hundred. They had to get economy down 
to the fine point, if anything was hid 
away in a savings bank for a rainy da5\ 
In the remote settlements, the neighbors 
depended on one another for help, and 
necessarily so. A house raising would 
start all the neighbors for a dozen or 
more miles around, and a new settler was 
always welcomed and a source of curios- 
ity. The host first cut his logs, hauled 



HlSTOltY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



19 



them to his claim, where he was to biiiki 
Lis home, and theu sent out his announce- 
ment of a house-raising- and date. It did 
not take long to put up a cabin, as they 
came from near and far, and the neigh- 
bor who did not come, when he had heard 
of it, gave real offense. As a rule, there 
was a jug of whiskey on hand, which, of 
course, was a requirement to steady the 
nerves. After the raising, s'ome kind of 
sport usually followed, which off-bal- 
anced all the hard licks they had been 
putting in, and such was the simple fron- 
tier life of the early pioneers. 

AGEICULTURAL IMPLEMENTS. 

For the special benefit of the youth of 
our county, an interesting comparison 
might be drawn between the modern con- 
veniences which make the life of our 
farmer boy a comparatively easy one, 
and the almost total absence of conve- 
niences of the early day. We will give a 
short description of the implements and 
accommodations possessed by the pio- 
neers as handed down to the present gen- 
eration. And yet the possession of all 
our conveniences does not silence the 
voice of complaint, indeed it seems that 
it fans it to a more consuming flame, for 
now we are never satisfied, while in "ye 
olden times" there was little complaint 
and much real appreciation. The only 
plows to till the stumpy soil that they at 
first had was what they styled "bull 
plows. ' ' The moldboards were generally 
of wood, but sometimes they were half 
wood and remaining part of iron. The 
farmer who possessed one of the last 
named had a prize and was looked upon 
as an aristocrat. 

But these old "bull plows" did the 
service, and they must share the honor 



with our pioneer forefathers of first 
turning the sod in old Shelby, as well as 
in many other counties of the state. 

The amount of money spent by the 
average farmer these days would have 
kei)t a whole neighborhood of pioneer 
fathers in farming implements for a life- 
time. He spent little money in such ' ' ex- 
travagances," because he had a small 
income, and could he have obtained our 
modern, easy riding plows, etc., they 
were not adapted to the pioneer farming 
requirements. The "bull plow" was 
probably better adapted to the stumpy, 
new land than a sulky plow would have 
been, and the old-fashioned wheat cradle 
did better work than would a modern 
harvester under their circumstances. 
The ]>rairie was seldom utilized till after 
the pioneer days, but that portion of the 
country whicli was the hardest to culti- 
vate after it was ready appealed to the 
pioneers. It is well for the country that 
siich was the case, for tlie present gener- 
ation, spoiled to the conveniences of the 
day, would hardly have cleared dense 
forests and been patient to the slow and 
trying performances of the old-time 
relics of pioneer days. 

FISHING. 

All the streams of water abounded in 
the finny tribe and a large supply of 
these could be procured on short notice 
at little expense and labor. There were 
the philanthropic settlers, who improved 
the fishing advantages of the country, 
and would never tire of relating stories 
of the delicious viands which the streams 
yielded. Sometimes camping parties, 
with their paraphernalia repaired to 
some lucrative spot — perhaps at a great 
distance. There, as one family, they 



20 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



would eat, driuk and make merry. There 
was no danger of being ordered off or ar- 
rested for trespassing. 

One of the shadowy circumstances of 
a pioneer's life was that of being lonely. 
The solitude of the primeval forest, with 
its shadows often deep, hiding the wild 



beast and perchance a crafty red man, al- 
ways oppressed them, and how gladsome 
were these days of pleasure gatherings 
and how real and how unfeigned their 
true joy and fellowship, one with an- 
other. 



CHAPTER n. 



Eably History — The Name — Important Dates or Public Notices — Important 
Proceedings 1836 County Court — First Circuit Court — The First Attorney 
Fisticuff in County Court — Miscellaneous News from Early Court 
Dockets — The First Shelby- County Election — August Election, 1836 — 
August Election, 1838 — August Election, 1839. 



EARLY history. 

October 1, 1812, Governor Clark issued 
a proclaroation by wbieh St. Charles 
county was organized and this Shelby 
county became a part thereof. Decem- 
ber 14, 1818, Pike county was organized 
and it was included in the borders there- 
of. November 16, 1820, Ralls county was 
created and Shelby was included. Then 
Marion count}' organized December 23, 
1826, and this territory was "attached 
to the said county of Marion for all mili- 
tary, civil and judicial purposes," leav- 
ing the seat of justice far from the early 
settlements. From 1831 to 1834 the pres- 
ent territory, known as Shelby county, 
was virtually a part of Warren township, 
Marion county. But in May, 1834, the 
Marion county court made the following 
order : 

"It is ordered that all that portion of 
territory formerly included in Warren 
township lying west of the range line 
dividing ranges Nos. 8 and 9; also all 
that portion of territory lying west of 
the boundary line of Marion county 
which by law remains attached to said 
county, shall compose a municipal town- 
ship, to be called and known as 'Black 
Creek Township,' and it is further or- 



dered that the clerk of this court shall 
transmit to the office of the secretary of 
state a description of said township." 

Elections in Black Creek township 
were to be held at the house of William 
B. Broughton. The first judges of elec- 
tion were Thomas H. Clements, Richard 
Gartrell and George Parker. The first 
justice of the peace was Thomas J. 
Bounds; the first constable, Julius C. 
Gartrell. 

In November, 1834, Marion coimty 
court formed out of Black Creek a new 
township, called North River, by the or- 
der which follows: 

"All territory bounded on the north 
by the Lewis county line, east by the 
range line between ranges 8 and 9, and 
south by a line drawn from a point in the 
western boundary of Warren township 
on the dividing ridge between the waters 
of Black Creek and North Two Rivers, 
to the western boundary of the county, is 
hereby created into a new municipal 
township, to be called North River Town- 
ship. ' ' 

The first justices of peace for this 
township were Alexander Buford and 
Abraham Vandiver; constable, Oliver H. 
Latimore. Thev held no elections until 



21 



22 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



tlie township was detached from Marion 
county. This part of the country grew 
very fast, the land was inviting and, as it 
took on proportion, the settlers, realizing 
that the seat of justice at Marion was too 
remote, and a demand for a newly organ- 
ized county, with justice at hand, became 
a popular idea, and in accordance, Jan- 
uary '2, 1835, their petition was granted 
and the legislature granted the county of 
Slielby. Following is the act to organize 
the county of Shelby : 

"Be it enacted by the General Assem- 
bly of the State of ^lissouri, as follows: 

"1. The territory boimded as follows: 
Beginning at the southeast corner of 
townshii) 57, of range 9 west, thence west 
with the line between townships 56 and 
57, to the range line between ranges 12 
and IH; thence north with the last men- 
tioned range line to the line between 
townships 59 and 60, thence with the last 
mentioned line, east to the range line be- 
tween ranges 8 and 9 ; thence south with 
the last mentioned range line to the place 
of beginning, shall be a distinct county, 
called Shelby county. 

"2. EliasKincheloe, of Marion county; 
James Day, of Lewis county, and Joseph 
Hardy, of Ealls county, are appointed 
commissioners for selecting the seat of 
justice for said county of Shelby; and 
they are vested with all the ]iowers 
granted to commissioners under the law 
entitled 'An act to provide for organiz- 
ing counties hereafter established,' ap- 
proved January the fourteenth, one thou- 
sand eight hundred and twenty-tive,' 
and said commissioners shall select the 
place for the county seat of said county, 
within three miles of the geogi'aphical 
center of said county. 

"3. The courts to be held in said 



county shall be held at the hou.se of Mr. 
Broughton until the county court shall 
fix on a temporary seat of justice for said 
county. 

"4. The county courts for said county 
of Shelby shall be held on the tirst ]Mon- 
days in January, April, July and Octo- 
ber. 

"5. The said county of Shelby shall be 
attached to and form a i^art of the 
twelfth senatorial district, and shall, in 
conjunction with the counties of Marion 
and Lewis, elect one senator at the gen- 
eral election in the year eighteen Imu- 
dred and thirty-six. 

"6. The governor is authorized and 
required to appoint and commission 
three persons, residents of said county, 
as judges of the county court thereof, 
and one person, also resident of said 
county, sheriff thereof, who, when so ap- 
pointed and commissioned, shall have 
full i)Ower and authority to act as such 
in their respective offices, under the ex- 
isting laws, until the next general elec- 
tion to be held in said county. 

"January 2, 1835." (See Territorial 
Laws, :\ro., 1835, ^^ol. 2, p. 426.) 

THE NAME. 

A great dramatist says there is noth- 
ing in a name, and yet in the face of the 
assertion all mankind is curious about 
a name, and it, generally si)eaking, indi- 
cates a great deal. It intimates at least 
the character of the people who settle 
the country. Names sometimes fall by 
accident, sometimes association and 
again in honor. "Whether it be a wise or 
unwise policy, the naming of counties 
after statesmen or generals, the legisla- 
ture certainly adhered to the i)ractice to 
that extent that three-fourths of the 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



23 



counties of our state were christened 
after men more or less distinguished in 
the history of our country, and it so fol- 
lows iu the naming of Shelby county. 

The county was named iu honor of 
General and ex-Gov. Isaac Shelby, Ken- 
tucky's first governor (1792), who was 
again honored in 1812 aud 1816. 

The commissioners to select the seat 
of justice were Eiias Kincheloe, of Ma- 
rion; James Day, of Lewis; Joseph 
Hardy, of Ralls. 

The governor, Daniel Dunklin, was au- 
thorized to appoint three county judges 
and a sherilT "to serve till the next gen- 
eral election." The act provided that 
the courts of the coimty should be "held 
at the house of Mr. Broughton until the 
county court shall fix on a temporary 
seat of justice." 

The county courts were ordered to be 
held on the first Mondays in January, 
April, July aud October. The county 
was made a part of the 12th senatorial 
district, Marion and Lewis being the rest 
of the district. 

FIRST COUNTY COURT. 

The first session of Shelby county 
court convened at the home of William 
B. Broughton (Mr. Broughton referred 
to in the legislative act), on Thursday, 
April 9, 1835. The following justices 
were present : James Foley, Thomas H. 
Clements and Adolphus E. Wood, who 
were appointees of the governor. Mr. 
Broughton lived at Oak Dale, Jackson 
township (sections — 57 — 9). By the or- 
der of court, James Foley was made pre- 
siding judge, Thomas J. Bounds, clerk, 
and Russell W. Moss, assessor. There 
being no further business court ad- 
journed for a week. 



I'hey reconvened April 17, all the 
judges being present. John H. Milton, 
ai)pointee to the office of sheriff, was 
present and took the oath of office. Sam- 
uel J. Parker was appointed constable of 
Black Creek township, to fill the vacancy 
caused by the resignation of J. C. Gar- 
trell. 

John II. Milton, appointee to sheriff, 
failed to give bond, and the May term of 
court recommended to the governor that 
Robert Dvmcan be appointed in his place. 

At a special term of court May 18, 
1835, Robert Duncan was ai)])ointed 
elizor until he could be commissioned 
sheriff'. 

At this special term the first roads 
were duly established : A road running 
from the county line between Shelby aud 
Monroe counties, at the termination of 
the Florida road, to intersect a road 
passing W. B. Broughton 's at his resi- 
dence. 

A road from Broughton 's "to where 
the 'Bee road' crosses Black Creek." 

A road from "the large branch nearly 
a mile east of George Anderson's house, 
to the range line between ranges Nos. 10 
and 11"; but, on the remonstrance of 
Anderson and others, the order estab- 
lishing this road was rescinded. 

Previous to the above acts, there were 
no highways in the county worthy the 
name. The Bee roads (commonly 
known) were the only highways running 
north and south. The first justices of 
court were all men that ranked high as 
gentlemen of intelligence and experience. 
A. E. Wood was a New Yorker and set- 
tled at Oak Dale. He was a brother of 
the Hon. Fernando Wood and Ben Wood, 
of New York City, the former an honor- 
able politician and statesman, the latter 



24 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



a congressman, newspaper publisher and 
capitalist. Judge Foley located two 
miles east of Bethel, hailing from Ken- 
tucky. He died at Shelbyville before the 
Civil war. Judge Clements also hailed 
from the Blue Grass country. He lived 
near Oak Dale and died in 1850. 

IMPORTANT DATES OF PUBLIC NOTICE. 

It was "W. B. Broughton's residence 
that was christened Oak Dale, in the 
spring of 1834, to establish the first post- 
office of the county, and Mr. Broughton 
was made its postmaster. Mr. Brough- 
ton got his first pointers of Mr. Obadiah 
Dickerson, who was the expert of the 
Palmyra postoffice in her early days. In 
the winter of 1834, Mr. Broughton real- 
ized the necessity of a store for the needs 
of the settlers thereabout and opened up 
a small general merchandise store in the 
room of the postoffice. 

In June, 18.3.5, Broughton and Holli- 
day received license "to retail merchan- 
dise for the period of one year" at the 
same place. 

In August, 1835, AV. B. Broughton was 
appointed treasurer and Robert Duncan 
collector. 

The county tax levy the first year of 
its existence was 12i/-> cents on the $100. 
Poll tax, 371/^ cents. Collector Duncan, 
in December, reported the delinquent tax 
to be $2.60, due from the following per- 
sons : Levi Dyer, 75 cents ; William D. B. 
Hill, $1.00; Michael Lee, 85 cents. 

In the absence of any official record on 
the subject, some idea of the amount tax- 
able property in the county this year 
may be gleaned from the fact that Rus- 
sell "W. ^loss received for his services as 
county assessor the pittance of $12.75. 

In November of the same year, a road 



was opened from the county line, near 
what was known as Lyle's mill, on North 
Fabius, in Marion county, to Peter 
Stice's place. Bethel, Shelby county, giv- 
ing the settlers in the eastern and north- 
eastern borders of the count)' "a nearer 
cut" to mill. 

In December, 1835. the plat of the seat 
of justice, which had been prepared by 
T. J. Bounds, was submitted and adopted 
by the County court, and the seat named 
Shelbyville. T. J. Bounds was ap- 
pointed county seat commissioner and 
was ordered to plat the town into blocks 
and lots as soon as possible. 

Up to July 6, 183(i, County and Circuit 
court was held at the residence of W. B. 
Broughton, Oak Dale, but on the above 
date the first session was held at Shelby- 
ville, at Abraham Vandiver's. This 
house was called the "Court House" un- 
til the completion of the court house in 
December, 1838. 

Upon the first assembling of the 
County court there was no effort at 
changing the township division first 
made by Marion county authorities, but 
left it for years with the same municipal 
division, not even sanctioning the Clarion 
County court. 

IMPORTANT PROCEEDINGS 1836 COUNTY 
COURT. 

In February Broughton and Holliday 
secured a license to keep an inn and tav- 
ern at Oak Dale for one year, on pay- 
ment of $10. In Alay, George Parker 
was appointed first administrator on the 
estate of John G. Gillis. In June, four 
free mulatto children were bound as ser- 
vants and apprentices to Samuel Buck- 
ner. These were children of Mr. Buck- 
ner by his negro mistresses. Their names 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



25 



(which always bears an interest) were 
Leannah, Chirinda, Maria and Theo- 
dorie. In June the first grocery stocks 
were installed in Shelbyville. James W. 
Eastin and Robert Duncan each secured 
a license to run a grocery store at $5 per 
annum. 

On the sixth of July the first term of 
county court that convened in Shelbyville 
was held at the house of Abraham Van- 
diver, who built the first house in Shelby- 
ville. During this term a road was es- 
tablished from Shelbyville to the Lewis 
county line in the direction of Fresh's 
mill, on the South Fabius. This mill was 
located about one mile southwest of the 
present town of Newark, Knox county. 

In the August term of court, William 
R. Ford was pronounced insane by a 
jury and James Ford was appointed his 
guardian. This was the first case of in- 
sanity in the limits of Shelby county. 

In 1836 the county expenditures were 
about $300 and delinquent taxes 
amoimted to $5.70. 

In November, Obadiah Diekerson was 
appointed superintendent of public build- 
ings, and preparations begun for the 
building of a court house. 

FIRST CIRCUIT COURTS. 

The first term of the circuit court of 
Shelby county held forth Thursday, No- 
vember 26, 1835, at the home of W. B. 
Broughton, Oak Dale. Hon. Priestly H. 
McBride, judge of the second judicial 
circuit, jDresided. 

Sheriff Robert Duncan opened court 
and Thomas J. Bounds acted as clerk. 

The following men served on the grand 
jury: William Moore, foreman; George 
Parker, George W. Gentry, William S. 



Chinn, Peter Stice, Bryant Cockrum, Jo- 
seph West, Elisha K. Eaton, Silas Boyce, 
James Blackford, Samuel Bell, Albert 
G. Smith, Josiah Bethard, Cyrus A. 
Saunders, Hill Shaw, John Thomas, Rob- 
ert Reed, Russell W. Moss, Henry Mus- 
grove, Ezekial Kennedy. The record re- 
ports ' ' twenty good and lawful men. ' ' 

The attorneys were present at this 
court, all coming from Palmyra: James 
L. Minor, John Heard and J. Quiun 
Thornton. Minor, who was appointed 
circuit attorney, later became secretary 
of state. John Ilearn became circuit at- 
torney shortly after and Thornton was a 
politician and editor, and later gained 
some state eminence as such. He edited 
papers at Palmyra and Hannibal, so the 
first circuit courts of our county were 
not lacking in legal lights. 

The grand jury reported they had no 
business before them and were duly dis- 
charged. 

The following cases were disposed of: 
"Graham Williams and sundry other 
heirs of Elisha Williams, deceased ; peti- 
tion for partition. Uriel Wright aiv 
pointed guardian ad litem for the minor 
heirs." 

"John H. Milton, assignee of Robert 
Reed vs. Silas Boyce ; petition and smn- 
mons. Motion to dismiss sustained." 

On the third day of the term, Elias 
Kincheloe, one of the county seat com- 
missioners, reported the action of the 
commissioners, and submitted the title 
]^apers for the land on which the seat of 
justice was situated. "These papers," 
says the record, "were examined and 
pronounced good and sufficient in law to 
vest the title in said county." 

On the third day court adjourned until 
' * court in course. ' ' 



26 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



The total expenditures of the term yras 
$16,871/., as follows : 

To W. B. Broughton, to house rent. . .$4.00 

To Robert Duncan, sheriff fees 9.50 

To T. J. Bounds, clerk fees S.STV-j 

The July term, 18;?6, the second term, 
was convened at Mr. Broughton 's. Hon. 
Ezra Hunt was judge; A. B. Chambers, 
circuit attorney. The new attorneys ad- 
mitted to practice before the court were 
Thomas L. Anderson and S. "W. B. Car- 
negy, both of Palmyra. 

The third term of Circuit court was 
held in the house of Thomas J. Bounds, 
in Shelbyville, December, 1836. Ezra 
Hunt was judge ; A. B. Chambers (nick- 
named the A. B. C. politician), of Pike 
county, was circuit attorney; James 
Lear was foreman of the jury, and 
William Porter was admitted to the bar. 

The house of Ezekiel Kennedy was 
the "court house" at Shelbyville for the 
March term of court, 1837. Hon. Priestly 
H. McBride presided. John Heard was 
circuit attorney. The following new law- 
yers were admitted : Uriel Wright, J. R. 
Abernathy, P. Williams and W. R. Van 
Arsdall. 

The following term met in July at the 
house of Thomas 0. and H. W. Esk- 
ridge, in Shelbyville. The Hon. Mr. 
McBride was presiding judge. Heard 
was circuit attorney, Maj. Obadiah 
Dickerson was foreman of the grand 
jury, which found the first criminal in- 
dictment in the county, against Henry 
Meadley for grand larceny. INIeadley 
was arrested, but the charge was dis- 
missed and he brought suit against 
James Lair, the prosecuting witness, for 
damages for false imprisonment. He 
could mit give securitv for costs of a 



suit, however, and had to ask a di.smissal. 
No case of consequence was tried at 
these terms. 

The March term, 1838, convened at 
Shelbyville, and a number of indictments 
were brought upon the people for gam- 
ing. This indulgence was in the form 
of amusement for dull days, but authori- 
ties looked upon it as a dangerous prac- 
tice, also as a means of "stuffing" their 
pocketbooks and creating a little stir, 
and the reform movement brought to- 
justice for gaming: 

Bryant Cockrum, George Gentry, 
William Payne, Isaac Wooley, Elijah 
Owens and Robert Joiner, "for playing 
at loo"; Joseph Holeman and Abraham 
^'andiver, "for playing seven-up"; 
Elijah Owens, John Ralls and Abraham 
Vandiver, "for playing three-up"; Wes- 
ley Hallibui'ton and Joseph Holeman 
were indicted "for permitting gaming in 
their house." Three of the jiarties were 
convicted. George Gentry was fined $2 ; 
Isaac Wooley $1, and William Payne $5. 
The others were acquitted, and 'twas 
said the indictments were resurrected 
thi-ough malice, and 'twas well proved 
that settlers only engaged in the game 
for a pastime. 

At this term Mathias Meadley was 
brought before the court as a vagrant, 
and James Sliaw was indicted for "sell- 
ing spirituous liquors to be drank in his 
home witnbut a license." His case was 
dismissed,.-. 

THE FIKST ATTOENEY FISTICUFF IN 
COUNTY COL^RT. 

The early lawyers were to back up 
their arguments if the occasion de- 
manded, but such an emergency did not 
arise in our countv until the Julv term 



TTrSTOKV OF SHELBY COUNTY 



27 



of tlie 1838 court. Samiiel T. (i lover 
was a young- lawyer auii)itious to make 
his mark, and E. G. Pratt, jealous of any 
inroads a young lawyer might gain over 
his eminence, each overzealous in his 
career, let their choler rise and came 
to blows and fought savagely until sepa- 
rated. Both lawyers hailed from Pal- 
myra. In the very i)resence of his honor, 
the presiding judge, AlcBride, did they 
l^arade their angry passion. Glover was 
fined $10 "for contempt of court in 
striking E. G. Pratt," and in turn Pratt 
was fined for "insulting lauguage and 
striking back." Then the grand jury 
took a whack at each of them. They 
were arraigned, plead guilty, and were 
fined $5 each. This did not cool their 
ardor, for Mr. Pratt was an able lawyer 
and I\Ir. Glover became i;)re-eminently 
noted throughout the state as an able, 
high-class jurist. He died in St. Louis 
in 1884. Mr. Pratt died many years 
previoiis in Palmyra. 

MISCELLANEOUS NEWS FROM EARLY COURT 
DOCKETS. 

The first term of Circuit court held 
in the court house was the March term, 
18.39. 

The first foreigner naturalized in 
Shelby county was Ole Rierson, a native 
of Norway, who took out naturalization 
papers in the March, 18.39, term of court. 

November, 1839, a grand juror was 
fined $5 for appearing in court in a state 
of intoxication. 

In July, 1842, Lucy, a slave belonging 
to George Gaines, was convicted of 
arson. Her sentence was "thirty-nine 
lashes on her bare back, to be well laid 
on by the sheriff of said Shelby county." 
She was also to be banished from the 



state of Missouri for the term of tweutj' 
years. 

THE FIRST SHELBY COUNTY ELECTION. 

August, 1835, was the date of the first 
election held in Shelby county after its 
organization. There were but two or- 
ganized townships and two voting pre- 
cincts at that date. The North River 
township i)olls were opened at the house 
of Alexander Buford; Robert Joiner, 
William Moore and William Chinn 
acting as judges. 

The Black Creek township voting 
place was at the house of William B. 
Broughton; George Parker, A\'illiam 
Ilolliday and Anthony Blackford acting 
as judges. 

There were about one hundred voters 
in the county, and the "casting up" 
aggregated eighty-five votes, so the pio- 
neers evidently had not taken to the 
modern practice of stuffing the ballot 
box. The offices to be filled were two 
members of congress, one circuit and one 
county clerk, an assessor, and surveyor. 
The will of the people was also sounded 
ou the question of holding a state con- 
stitutional convention. At that date and 
till 1846 the representatives to congress 
from Missouri were elected by the voters 
of the state at large, and not by con- 
gressional districts, as is now the case. 
All voting was the vim voce method, 
practiced in Missouri until 1863. 

(Taken from Laws of 1863, p. 17; 
Statutes of 1865, p. 61.) Following is 
the will of the county at its first election : 

Congressmen— William II. Ashley, 66; 
James H. Birch, 45 ; George F. Strother, 
30: Albert G. Harrison, 30. 

Clerk— Thomas J. Bounds, 44; Thos. 
Eskridge, 40. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



Assessor — Tbos. Holeman, 42; Abra- 
ham Yandiver, 41. 

Surveyor — William J. Holliday, 82. 

Convention — For, 34; against, 27. 

At this election nor at any other time 
were the party lines strictly drawn, but 
it seems evident that the controlling 
party in the county in 1835 were Whigs, 
or "Clay men," as General Ashley and 
Mr. Birch were Whigs, while Judge 
Harrison and General Strother were 
Democrats or "Jackson men." 

The following justices of the peace 
were chosen at this election: 

Black Creek, Montillion H. Smith and 
Josiah Abbott ; North Biver, Abraham 
Vandiver, B. F. Foreman, Samuel Coch- 
ran and Alexander Buford. 

AUGUST ELECTION, 1836. 

No record of the presidential election 
of 1836 can be resurrected in the county, 
and the state record was destroyed by 
fire in 1837. 

Governor — Lilburn W. Boggs (Dem.), 
66; William H. Ashley (W.), 39. 

Lieutenant Governor — Franklin Can- 
non (Dem.), 59; Jones (W.), 28. 

Congress — Albert G. Harrison (Dem.). 
77; John Miller (Dem.), 56; George F. 
Strother (W.), 19; James H. Birch (W.), 
19; S. C. Owens (Independent), 4. 

State Senator — William McDaniel 
(Dem.), 71; William Carson (W.), 55. 

Kepresentative — William J. Holliday, 
70; Abraham "S'^andiver, 50. 

Sheriff— Robert Duncan, 101. 

Justices County Court — Dr. E. A. 
Wood, 68 ; William* S. Chinn, 69 ; William 
B. Broughton, 6S; Anthony Blackford, 
82 ; Thomas H. Clements, 77. Two were 
to be chosen. 



Assessor — Thomas Holeman, 38; Sam- 
uel Parker, 23; Robert Blackford, 14; 
Samuel Smith, 10 ; William Moffitt, 31. 

Coroner — Silas Boyce, 81. 

There were about 125 votes cast, of 
which about 100 were from Black Creek 
township. 

AUGUST ELECTION, 1838. 

Congress — Albert G. Harrison (Dem.), 
152; John Miller (Dem.), 151; John 
Wilson (W.), 118; Beverly Allen (W.), 
116. 

State Senator — G. M. Bower (Dem.), 
157; Joshua Gentry (W.), 127. 

Representative — Elias K i n c h e 1 o e 
(Dem.), 158; James Foley (W.), 158. 

Sheriff— Robert Duncan, 201 ; Robert 
A. Moffitt, 67. 

Assessor — Joseph Holeman, 88 ; John 
J. Foster, 82 ; Robert Lair, 57. 

Circuit Attorney — James R. Aber- 
nathy, 159; S. W. B. Carnegy, 69. 

County Justice — William J. Holliday, 
164 ; John B. Lewis, 93. 

AUGUST ELECTION, 1839. 

Assessor — William Gooch, 127; Will- 
iam W. Lewis, 108. 

Surveyor — William A. Davidson, 162; 
John Bishop, 74. 

A special election was held October 28, 
] 839, to choose a member of congress to 
fill a vacancy caused by the death of 
Hon. Albert G. Harrison. The candi- 
dates wei-e John Jameson (Democrat) 
and Thornton Grimsley (Whig). Grims- 
ley was a St. Louis man, and the vote 
cast in Shelby was : Jameson, 81 ; Grims- 
ley, 67. 



CHAPTER III. 

List of 1835 Settlers — Naming of the Streams — First Coroner's Inquest — A 
Lost Man — "New York" Shelby County — The New Courthouse — Pioneer 
Mills — The First Roads — "Bee Trails "^Settlers in Shelby, 1837 — The 
First Bridge — The First Homicide. 



LIST op 1835 SETTLERS. 

The lists of early settlers wliicli have 
lieen preserved have varied somewhat, 
but as iiearl}- as can be ascertained the 
list of voters and heads of families which 
were here at the organization of the 
coimty or in the spring of 1835 follows 
in alphabetical order: Josiah Abbott, 
George Anderson, James Y. Anderson, 
Samnel Bell, James Blackford, Anthony 
Blackford, Isaac Blackford, Silas Boyce, 
Thomas J. Bounds, W. B. Broughton, 
Samuel Buckner, Alexander Buford, 
William S. Chinn, Thomas H. Clements, 
Bryant Cochrane, Charles Christian, 
AVilliam H. Davidson, Obadiah Dicker- 
son, Robert Duncan, Levi Dyer, George 
Eaton, Elisha Eaton, John Eaton, James 
Foley, Benjamine F. Forman, Julius C. 
Gartrell, Jesse Gentry, George W. Gen- 
try, James G. Glenn, AVilliam D. B. Hill, 
AVilliam J. Holliday, Thompson Holli- 
day, Elias L. Holliday, Thomas Hole- 
man, Charles A. Hollyman, Bradford 
Hunsucker, Julius C. Jackson, Robert 
Joiner, Ezekiel Kennedy, Isham Kil- 
gore, Charles Kilgore, Robert Lair, 
Addison Lair, Oliver Latimer, Michael 
Lee, Peter Looney, William T. Matson, 
J. C. Mayes, Russell W. Moss, John H. 
Milton, William Moore, S. W. Miller, 
John McAfee, Henry Musgrove, Sam- 



uel J. Parker, George Parker, W. H. 
Payne, Elijah Pepper, John Ralls, 
Robert Reed, Peter Roff, Hiram Rook- 
wood, James Shaw, Cyrus A. Saunders, 
Henry Saunders, James Swartz, Peter 
Stice, Montillion H. Smith, Hill Shaw, 
John Sparrow, William Si)arrow, Major 
Turner, William S. Townsend, John 
Thomas, Abraham A'andiver, Dr. Adol- 
phus E. Wood, Nicholas Watkins. Soon 
after the organization of the county, emi- 
grants came in and settled up faster. 
In the fall of 1835 and in 1836 came 
John Dunn, James Graham, Alexander 
Gillaspy, Lewis Gillaspy, Stephen Miller, 
James L. Peake, Samuel Bell, John 
Jacobs, Josejjh AVest, James Ford, Will- 
iam Conner, Robert R. Maffitt, William 
Moffett, Jesse A^anskike, Samuel M. 
Hewitt, Francis Leflet, Samuel S. Mat- 
son, Elisha Moore, J. T. Tingle, G. H. 
Edmonds, S. O. A'^anvactor, M. J. Priest. 
After the organization of the county, 
settlers located along the streams, and 
a good many who wanted to enjoy a lit- 
tle more civilization settled at once in 
Shelbyville. 

NAMING OF THE STREAMS 

The streams, for the most ])art, had 
been named before the real settlers 
located, but were renamed mostly by 



29 



30 



HISTOIJY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



associatiou. Salt river was originally 
called Auliaha, or Oaliaba, but was re- 
named because of the salt springs which 
lay near it in Rails county. The Marion 
county records talk of Jake's creek, the 
stream which now bears the name of 
Black creek. It was originally called 
Jake's creek from the fact that about 
the year 1820 a trapper named Jake 
built a cabin on its banks and trapped 
and fished there for some time. The 
surveyors who surveyed that country 
called it Black creek, because of the 
blackness of its water when they first 
saw it. Tiger fork was so named be- 
cause John ^^'innegan killed two very 
large panthers on its l)auks. The set- 
tlers thought they were tigers and called 
the fork Tiger fork. There was already 
two Panther creeks in that part of the 
country, named from animals frequently 
seen near their territory. North river 
was formerly spoken of as North Two 
rivers and South river in Marion county 
as South Two rivers. These streams 
unite in Marion county about half a mile 
from the Mississippi, into which they 
empty farther downstream, in the east- 
ern part of Marion. 

The small streams were often named 
for men who first located upon them, 
simply as a way to designate the stream 
intended. 

Pollard's branch, in the western part 
of Black Creek township, was named 
after Elijah Pollard; Chinn's branch 
for W. S. Chinu; Hawkins' branch for 
William Hawkins; Broughton's branch 
for W. B. Broughton; Payton's branch 
for John Payton; Bell's branch for 
Samuel Bell; Parker's branch for 
George Parker; Hohnan's branch for 
Thomas Holman ; and others the same. 



Clear creek, in the southwestern part of 
Tiger Fork township and eastward from 
Shelbyville, was so named because of its \ 
very clear water. The stream was fed 
bj' springs, beautiful clear cold water. 
Otter creek, to west and south of Clar- 
ence, not only contained many otters but 
also beavers, the former being in large 
majority and the stream named therefor. 
Board branch was so named because it 
was heavily timbered, and the turning of 
these to boards was quite an industry 
and named the stream. 

FIRST CORONEB's INQUEST. 

In the summer of 1837, John Payton, 
a settler who lived in the western part 
of the county, on Payton branch, was 
dashed against a tree while riding horse- 
back and instantly killed. All that por- 
tion of the countj' at that time did its 
trading at Shelbyville, and Payton, in 
company with his wife and brother-in- 
law had been to town, trading, and Pay- 
ton became intoxicated. "NMien they had 
gotten about five miles out of Shelby- 
ville, east of Salt river bottom, in the 
direction of Clarence, Payton became 
unruly and wanted to return to Shelby- 
ville. His wife and brother-in-law pre- 
vailed upon him to keej) on his homeward 
road; and to pass it over and hurry 
the distance on, the brother-in-law pro- 
l>osed a race with Payton and he ac- 
cei)ted the challenge and dashed on 
ahead. There was a tree leaned over 
the river road, but a i)ath had been bro- 
ken around tlie tree. It was believed 
that Payton made his outward turn all 
right, but before reaching the tree the 
horse made a lunge in and Payton was 
dashed to jiieces in the presence of his 
wife and lirnther-iii-law. Some thought 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



31 



perchance in liis intoxicated condition he 
swayed toward the tree and was dashed 
to pieces. 

The lirst inquest in the county was 
held over his body and a verdict of acci- 
dental death returned. The old black 
oak tree stood for many years and was 
a temperance sermon to the youth of 
the laud, and it was always known as 
Pay ton's tree. 

A little later there was a house-raising 
west of Shelbyville, and while raising a 
heavy log it sli])ped and instantly killed 
a slave named London. The slave be- 
longed to Capt. James Shaw. 

A LOST MAN. 

In 1839 a small colony of Norwegians 
wandering about the country decided to 
settle on the headwaters of North river. 
One named Peter Galena made a trip 
into Shelbyville and on his return there- 
from lost his bearings. His family be- 
came alarmed at his absence and a 
searching party was formed. They con- 
tinued their search for a day and a half 
and he was found wandering on the 
prairies of the northwestern portion of 
the county. He had been subjected to 
inclemency of weather, and encountered 
many wild animals. Together with the 
loss of rest, he was half dead and nearly 
demented from fright and terror. He 
was taken home to his loved ones, who 
were also in a tit of nervous prostration 
from their continued anxieties. 

"new YORK," SHELBY COUNTY. 

The fall of 18.35 was noted for the 
founding of New York, Shelby county, 
the mention of which in lier embryonic 
days would cause much merriment in a 
crowd of old pioneers. They could see 



a joke as quickly as our latter day saints, 
and perhaps we may term it unprogres- 
sive now, but they were not the kind that 
bit oiT more than they could chew. In 
the fall of 1835 a party of speculators, 
with Col. William Muldrow, of Marion 
county, at their head, entered about one- 
third of the land of this county, thou- 
sands of acres at a time. Large tracts 
were also entered in other counties. The 
money was furnished by capitalists from 
the East,— Rev. Dr. Ely, John McKee, 
Allen Gallagher and others, all of Penn- 
sylvania. Dr. Ezra Stiles Ely was a 
prominent minister of Philadelphia and 
lost in the enter]u-ise $100,000. 

The company fovmded the towns of 
West Ely, Marion College, and Philadel- 
phia, wlaich was named in honor of the 
"divine's" home burg. They sold thou- 
sands of dollars' worth of lots to eastern 
investors, many of whom were people of 
moderate circumstances and wished to 
get a start in the West. If all had come 
at once things would have seemed pros- 
]ierous, but a few came at a time and 
found the cities and towns existed only 
on paper or in the fancy of optimistic 
eastern capitalists, and so returned to 
their h o m e s without repleting their 
famished conditions. 

In 1835 Colonel Muldrow and his asso- 
ciates came over into Shelby county and 
laid out in the northwest corner the so- 
called New York. It was located on 
sections 1, 2, ]2 and 13, in township 58, 
range 11. It was well platted into blocks, 
streets and lots, and many rare induce- 
ments were offered to the ])ublic. A few 
lots were elsewhere disposed of to gul- 
lible peo])le, but "nary" a house was 
ever built in the "city of New York." 
The company soon came to grief. Other 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



investments sliared as did New York, 
and tliey soon found the westerners were 
wiser "guys" than they had anticipated. 
However, it is only fair to ]\IuIdrow to 
say he was jnst forty years ahead of the 
times. Such investments were pecuniary 
investments and would have returned 
many fold to the investors. 

THE NEW COURT HOUSE. 

We have spoken elsewhere of the first 
steps taken by the county authorities 
toward the building of a new court house, 
which was at the November, 1836, term 
of court. The time had fully come when 
the settlers realized that their public 
welfare demanded a good building, that 
their work might be done properly and 
with dispatch. 

Maj. Obadiah Dickerson was appointed 
superintendent of public buildings and 
ordered to prepare and submit a plan 
with an estimated cost of a court house. 

In 18.37, at the February term of court, 
the County court appropriated $4,000 
for the erection of a court house accord- 
ing to certain specifications. It was to 
be forty by forty feet, built of good brick, 
laid in cement and lime, with a stone 
foundation. The first story was to be 
fourteen feet high, the second eight and 
one-half feet, with good woodwork and 
first-class workmanship. The specifica- 
tions also stipulated that it was to be 
painted and oi'namented, but these pro- 
visions were later stricken out on account 
of the extra cost. 

In September, 1837, the conti'act for 
the brick work was let to Charles Smith 
for the sum of $1,870, and the wood work 
to AVait Barton for $2,175. Some ad- 
vance cash was given to each of the 
parties upon their giving bond for faith- 



ful compliance with the teiTns of the 
contract. The building went U]i slowly. 
The county was new, witli no lumber 
yards within its confines, and most of 
the material had to be obtained over- 
land from Palmyra and Hannibal. There 
was not a brick house near, and the brick 
was burned for the brick walls. It re- 
(piired more than a year to materialize 
the building, whereas nowadays it could 
be built in two months. Smith completed 
the brick portion in the summer of 1838, 
and Barton in November following. The 
County court records contained the fol- 
lowing report of Major Dickerson's : 

"To the Shelby County Court: 

"I, Obadiah Dickerson, appointed by 
Shelby County court su]ierintendent of 
the erection of the court house of said 
county, do certify that I have superin- 
tended the ]ierformance of the contract 
of Wait Barton made for the erection of 
part of said building, and that said Bar- 
ton has fully completed the work stipu- 
lated for on his contract in that behalf, 
and the work done by him as aforesaid 
is received and there is now due him the 
sum of $215, the painting left out. Given 
under my hand and seal this 9th day of 
November. A. D. 1838. 

" (L. S.) Obadiah Dickerson, 

"Supt. Public Buildings." 

The brick of which the court hou.se 
was constructed was made and burned 
near town, on the premises of Josiah 
Bethards. A j^ai't of the lumber was 
sawed at what was known as Gay's mill, 
on North river, in Clarion county, near 
the ])resent site on which Ebeneezer 
church now stands (section 18 — 58 — 8). 

And when at last it was completed all 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



33 



the county "rejoiced as cue man," for 
although very few of the average citi- 
zens ever sued, or hoped to be sued, yet 
as the one great conservator of peace, 
the final arbiter in individual or neigh- 
borhood wrangles, the court is distin- 
guished above every other institution of 
the laud, and not only the court docket 
but the iilace of convening court is a 
place of interest to the public-spirited 
man. Not only so, but the court house 
was the first public building of conse- 
quence, and its uses were general instead 
of special. Judicial, educational, relig- 
ious and social purposes kept the latch- 
string on the outside day and night. It 
was in that day a public building, and 
in many of the first court houses school 
was taught, the gospel power fully 
preached, and justice meted out to man- 
kind. Here the many travelers often 
found rest, and the money invested in 
these old .plain buildings brought larger 
returns than the thousands and millions 
which are now tied up in the stately piles 
of brick and stone and granite of more 
recent date. 

To these old court houses of the pio- 
neer days came the ministers of the 
gospel, of the different faiths, each tell- 
ing the simple story of love which 
touched the heart and brought the sin- 
ner to repentance. Here our fathers 
and mothers sang with undying fervor 
the good old songs of Zion. Here the 
little children drank from their teachers' 
lips the principles of the three Rs. 

The settlers gathered here to discuss 
their own affairs and to learn from the 
visitors the news from the outside world 
lying so remote to the south and east. 
It was a center to wliich all classes of 
people went for the purpose of business, 



loafing, gossiping, exchanging of ideas 
and news. 

PIONEER MILLS. 

Notwithstanding some of the early 
settlers were ambitious, energetic mill- 
wrights in building mills at a few of the 
many favored spots for mills, which 
abounded in this county, nevertheless, 
going to mill in those days, when there 
were no roads, no bridges, no railways, 
and ill conveniences for travel, was no 
small undertaking where so many dan- 
ger, treacherous, unknown streams, 
often swollen beyond their banks, were 
to be encountered, and storms and wild 
beasts to contend with. But even under 
such circumstances, the hardy pioneer 
left comfort and danger in the back- 
ground and, facing weather and streams, 
succeeded in his undertaking. At other 
times the streams and high waters forced 
him to a retreat until a more favorable 
season, and he was at the mercy of his 
good neighbors^yes, those were the 
days when "what is mine is thine." 

Many stories are afloat with regard 
to the danger, hardship and peril of 
being forced to go to mill under adverse 
circumstances, a long distance, which 
threatened life and limb; but the hardy, 
valiant heroes of the early days faced 
many a hardship in their efforts to civil- 
ize and establish a higher standard of 
life. There was the early day when 
there was not a worked highway in the 
county, the settlers were far apart, and 
mills and trading points were in the dis- 
tance, with primitive modes of travel. 

The jiioneers of Shelby county were 
not so badly off as some of their com- 
peers in other counties, who for a long- 
time were compelled to depend on the 



34 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



hominy block and hand mill. Hand mills 
came in with the new settlers, and water 
mills soon followed them. 

At the November (1835) term of court 
Peter Stice asked for a writ of quod 
damnum in order that there might be 
determined the propriety of building a 
water mill on North river (section 
33 — 59 — 10), the present site of the 
town of Bethel. Stice built and fur- 
nished this mill in 1836, but it was not 
a success. Aboiit this time Asa and 
Silas Boyce began a mill on Salt river, 
three and one-half miles southeast of 
Shelbyville (S. E. N. W. 10—57—10). 
The mill was completed by Anthony 
Blackford, Nehemiah Redding and oth- 
ers, and this was a well-known insti- 
tution throughout the county for years. 
John Gay, of Marion county, was its 
well-known and popular millwright, and 
it enjoyed a large patronage. 

The next mill was built by William J. 
Holliday in 1837 and was located on 
Black creek, on the west half of the 
northeast corner of section (27 — 58 — 10), 
about two and one-half miles southeast 
of Shelbyville. Mr. Holliday obtained 
his permit in March, 1837. At the same 
date, T. P. Lair, William H. Claggett 
and others made application and re- 
ceived a permit, and a mill was built on 
the South Fabius, where the Newark 
road crosses that stream (N.W. S. E. 
11 — 59 — 9), which operated for a while. 

Mr. Holliday states that the tirst mill 
in Shelb}^ county was built on Black 
creek (section 6 — 57 — 9) near Oak Dale 
by Julius A. Jackson, in 1835. It was 
a saw and grist combiuatiou and was 
of inestimable value to the people for 
some eight or ten years, when it was 



destroyed by fire. Some early settlers 
claim, however, that this mill was not 
built till the year 1837 or 1838. 

In the fall of 1837 Julius A. Jackson 
commenced a mill known as Button's 
mill, on the north fork of Salt river, 
three miles southeast of Hager's Grove 
and ten miles southwest of Shelbj'ville 
(N.E. .35—58—12), but before complet- 
ing it the dam was washed out. 

In the spring of 1838 Hill Shaw 
erected a mill on Black creek, in the 
southeastern part of the county (N.E. 
S. E. 29 — 57 — 9), two miles north and 
east of the present site of Lakenan. 

In July, 1838, leave was granted 
Adam and Michael Heckart to build 
a mill on the north fork of Salt 
river, five miles southwest of Shelby- 
ville and about three and one-half 
miles north of where Lentner now 
stands (N.E. 4 — 57 — 11); but it is not 
remembered that this mill was erver built, 
as no trace of it can be found at the 
present time. The Heckarts ran a horse 
mill for some time in this neighborhood, 
and later Heckart and Stayer operated 
the Walker mill at Walker sville. 

In the spring of 1 839 Samuel Buckner 
built a mill on North river some two 
miles below Bethel (N.E. 3—58—10). 

In the year 1838 Edwin G. and War- 
ren Pratt built a mill in the northeastern 
part of the county, on the Little Fabius, 
near the Knox county line. 

The year of 1839 Mr. Williams, of 
]\rarion county, contemplated a mill on 
the eighty-acre tract on which the mill 
at Walkersville now stands, but he died 
before his work was accomplished. Tlie 
land was sold by the administrator, and 
David 0. Walker and George AV. Barker 






H 

W 
O 

r 
o 

1—1 
f 
r 

r 

w 

?o 

<; 

I— ( 

r 
r 

w 




HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



35 



purchased it and built the mill, iu 1840, 
at the present site of Walkersville, 
which was named after Mr. Walker. 

Before the erection of these mills, 
which dotted the county, settlers were 
forced to go the long ti'ip to Gatewood's 
and Massies' mills, near Palmyra, and 
even to Hickman's mill, at Florida, for 
their grinding. The most of our home 
mills, however, were only the ordinarj' 
"corn crackers," and neither ground 
nor bolted wheat; but the corn mills 
stayed the farmers till a more convenient 
season, and so were a source of great 
accommodation. 

THE FIRST EOADS "bEE TRAILS." 

At the session of the 1836-1837 legis- 
lature that body attached to Shelby 
county, for military and civil purposes, 
all the territory of ranges 11 and 12 of 
township 60, — the present territory of 
Knox county. At that session a road 
was also established from Paris, Monroe 
county, to the mouth of the Des Moines 
river, by way of Shelbyville. The road 
opened up as far as Shelb}'\'ille the same 
year. Up to this time the only roads 
running north were the so-called "bee 
roads." There were only two of these, 
and they were little better than trails. 
They ran through the eastern and cen- 
tral portion of the county, taking a gen- 
eral northerly and southerly direction, 
and were made by the settlers of 
the older southern counties, who every 
autumn i-esorted to this territory, hunt- 
ing wild honey. "We have elaborated on 
this topic previously, and will only add 
that the woods abounded with bee trees 
and every year the honey hunters took 
home tons of the delicious sweet. "Wher- 
ever a trail crossed a ford it was called 



a "bee ford," and thus there was "Bee- 
ford" of "Otter creek." 

The Callaway hunters named one trail 
the Callaway trail, as it was the trail 
frequented by Callaway county bee 
hunters. It was trailing over the divide 
between North river and Black creek to 
a point about four miles north and east 
of Shelbyville (section 14 — 58 — 10), 
where it left the divide and crossed a 
branch in the north and west part 
of that section, where was located plenty 
of good water, and which the bee hunters 
made a general retreat and camping 
place. The branch was called Camp 
branch by the settlers and hunters who 
resorted thither. 

Then there was the Boone trail, the one 
frequented by the Boone county hunters. 
It crossed Salt river above AA^alkersville 
and Black creek southwest of Shelby- 
ville, and on up the bluff of prairie on 
which Shelbyville now stands, on north- 
east across the divide, joining the Calla- 
way trail south of North river timber, 
on through the timber, up the head- 
waters of the Fabius, on into the waters 
of the Des Moines, Iowa. 

A ferry was established in 1836 over 
the Salt river at "Beeford" by a Mr. 
Christian. The location was below War- 
renford, near the mouth of AVatkins's 
branch. It was a flat-boat navigated by 
poles. 

SETTLERS IN SHELBY, 1837. 

At this date (1837) the northwestern 
]5ortion of the county was liut sparsely 
settled, as that territory was not as yet 
placed on the market, but other portions 
had been taken up from time to time 
until tliei-e was quite a scattering 
throughout the other regions. Taking 



36 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



them by townships and ranges, they were 
recorded at that early period : 

TOWNSHIP 57, RANGE 9. 

Gabriel Davis, Harvey Eidson, Will- 
iam B. Broiighton, Eamey Dye, Cyrus A. 
Sanuders, Joel Musgrove, Eichard Gart- 
rell, two Mr. Hickmans, Peter Einks- 
ton, Eandolph Howe, Kennedy Mayes, 
George P. Mayes, Samuel Blackburn, 
George Barker, Eussell W. Moss. Font- 
leroy Dye, Elijah Moore, John Thomas, 
Henry Saunders, Hill Shaw, Eobert 
Duncan, Thomas J. Bounds, Joseph Hol- 
man, Thomas H. Clements, David Small- 
wood, Josiah Abbott, Julius C. Gartrell, 
Mrs. Desire Gooch, and a few others. 

TOWNSHIP 58, RANGE 9. 

George W. Gentry, Kindred Feltz, 
Oliver Latimer, Stephen Gupton, Mrs. 
Caroline Looney, Mrs. Temperance Gup- 
ton, Solomon W. Miller, William Mont- 
gomery, Elisha Baldwin, Edward Wilson, 
Henry Louthan, Eobert Lair, Addison 
Lair, Eobert Joiner, Anthony Minter, 
Alexander Buford, Charles N. Hollyman. 

TOWNSHIP 59, RANGE 9. 

Caleb Adduddle, Benjamin Jones, 
Mrs. Morgan, Thomas P. Lear, John 
Cadle, William White, Kemp N. Glass- 
cock, Benjamin P. Glasscock, Daniel 
Wolf, Benjamin Talbot, Thomas G. 
Turner, Perry Forsythe, Mr. Whitelock. 

TOWNSHIP 57, RANGE 10. 

Samuel Buckner, Anthony Blackford, 
James Blackford, Isaac Blackford, Dr. 
Wood, George Eaton, Jefferson Gash, 
Col. AVilliam Lewis, John Eaton, Charles 
Smith, Samuel J. Smith, Maj. Obadiah 



Dickerson, George Anderson, Peter Eoff, 
Samuel C. Smith. 

TOWNSHIP 58, RANGE 10. 

Albert G. Smith, Samuel Beal, Elijah 
Pepper, James Swartz, Mrs. Elizabeth 
Creel, Lewis H. Gillaspy, Alexander Gil- 
laspy, Abraham Vandiver, Moutilliou H. 
Smith, Joseph West, Major H. Jones, 
John Easton, Ezekiel Keunedj-, James C. 
Hawkins, Dr. Hawkins, Elijah Owens, 
E. L. Holliday, Mrs. Nancy HoUiday, 
John Lemley, Josiah Bethard, Thomas 
Davis. 

TOWNSHIP 59, RANGE 10. 

James Ford, John Ealls, Samuel Coch- 
rane, James G. Glenn, Eobert McKitchen, 
Peter Looney, Joseph Moss, James Tur- 
ner, Ferdinand Carter, John Moss, Peter 
Stice, John Serat, Lewis Kincaid, Elijah 
Hall, Hiram Eookwood, Sanford Pickett, 
James S. Pickett, William S. Chinn, 
Nathan Baker. 

TOWNSHIP 57, RANGE 11. 

David D. Walker, David Wood, Mal- 
colm Wood, William Wood, James Ca- 
rothers, William Coard, Nicholas Wat- 
kins, Perry B. Moore, Isaac W. Moore, 
Mrs. Mary Wailes, Pettyman Blizzard, 
James E. Barr, Lacy Morris, Stanford 
Drain, James Carroll, Barclay Carroll, 
John B. Lewis, James Parker, George 
Parker, Capt. B. Melson, Major Taylor, 
Eobert Brewington, Henry Brewington. 

TOWNSHIP 58, RANGE 11. 

John Thomas, John Dunn, Elijah Pol- 
lard, Philip Upton, John T. Victor, 
AVilliam A^ictor, Aaron B. Glasscock, 
Alartyn Baker, Michael See. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



37 



THE FIRST BRIDGE. 

Not until 1839 did the first bridge span 
a stream in Shelby county. It was across 
Black creek west of Shelbyville. A peti- 
tion written by Elijah G. Pollard was 
presented to the County court. It read : 

We, the undersigned petitioners, are 
subject to m;iny inconveniences for the 
want of a bridge across Black creek at 
or near the ford on the road leading 
from Shelbj'ville to Holman's cabins on 
Salt river. We pray the County court 
to take into consideration the necessity 
•of building a bridge at the above named 
place, for the benefit of the settlers living 
west of Shelbyville. We, the under- 
signed, are willing to pay one-half the 
amount the bridge may cost, as follows : 

Elijah G. Pollard $10.00 

John Dunn 15.00 

A. B. Glasgow 10.00 

Madison J. Priest 10.00 

Thomas J. McAfee 10.00 

John ]\IcAfee 10.00 

Robert McAfee 10.00 

Major H. Jones 5.00 

William Gooch 1.00 

So far as statistics and memory go, 
it is thought the county turned them 
down, but the settlers went right ahead 
and built that bridge. Two long logs 
were thrown across the stream for 
stringers, on which strong slabs were 
laid and pinned. On the ends of the 
stringers the dirt was thrown and they 
were securely stayed. The middle of 
the bridge dipped down until the water 
stood several feet over it, but the 



stringers held it firm for many years, 
and it was a source of pleasure to the 
settlers of that locality. 

THE FIRST HOMICIDE. 

The first homicide that ever occurred 
in the county was in the year 1839. John 
Bishop was shot and killed by John L. 
Faber in the brick tavern on the south- 
west corner of the public square in 
Shelbyville, which site of recent years 
has been used for a hotel. The victim 
of a mistaken idea, for so it proved, died 
against the east wall of the tavern. 

Faber was a bachelor and a trader of 
Knox county. It was said of him he 
would buy everything offered him that 
he could not trade for, and his home was 
a museum of rifles, shot pouches, and 
what not. He bought a horse of Thomas J. 
McAfee, in this county, which Faber 
claimed McAfee warranted to work, and 
when hitched up it would not pull a 
pound ; whereupon Faber said McAfee 
might just as well steal the money he 
received for the horse, and was no less 
thief than if he had done so. McAfee 
had married a stepdaughter of Maj. 
Obadiah Dickerson, and the major took 
his stepson-in-law to task, telling him 
in a most emphatic mannei', "If you do 
not properly resent this charge and these 
insults of Faber 's, I will disown you, 
sir, forever." The first time they again 
met it was in the above tavern, and 
McAfee assaulted Faber, catching him 
around the body. The above named 
Bishop was McAfee's friend and ran in 
and, catching McAfee around the body, 
tried to separate the combatants. Faber 
finding him in McAfee's strong grasp, 
drew his j^istol, passed it around his 



38 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 

antagonist, felt the muzzle come in con- killed him in place of McAfee. Faber 

tact with a body which he supposed was surrendered and was released on pre- 

McAfee's, and drew the trigger. The limiuary examination. He was never 

muzzle was against Bishop's body and indicted. 



CHAPTER IV. 

Ckops in Eakly Forties — Chinch Bug Year — The Sixteenth Section — German 
Settlement — Change of County Line — Mail Facilities Improved — A Few 
Things That Interested the Settlers — Civilization's Sure Advance — 
Second Homicide in the County — The First County Conviction — Jefferson 
Shelton — Jonathan Michael — George Liggett — Miss Alcina Upton — Stock 
Raising and Shipping — Fibst Jail — California Emigrants — Elections — 1840 
Presidential Election August Election, 1841 — August Election, 1844. 



history of the county, 1840 to 1850 — 
crops in early forties. 

lu 1840 the population of the county 
enumerated 3,056. After the organiza- 
tion of the county and the building of 
public buildings advanced, a general in- 
flux resulted. The immigrants came not 
only from Kentucky and other states 
east and south, but man}' came from 
other counties which had been unfor- 
tunate in settling or thought Shelby 
county offered more promising induce- 
ments, and crept on over the line. Crops 
had been good, the soil seemed promising 
and inviting to those who were willing 
to toil. 

chinch bug year. 

Old settlers long referred to 1842 
as chinch bug year. The spring was a 
late and cold one and much cold rainfall 
held back tlie cro])s. Then came on a 
scourge of chinch bugs, which drove the 
people to despair. The wheat and oats 
crop was a total failure, and the corn 
was so completely covered with the pest 
that the rows resembled long black 
stripes across the fields, and the year 



was later referred to by some as the 
black corn year. 

The years 1842-43 were "hard times" 
for the settlers. Many of them had but 
recently settled and had not become es- 
tablished. Money was scarce and little 
in circulation ; produce scare and ridicu- 
lously low ; and wages on the wane. The 
market sheet in the fall of 1842 quotes 
flour, best, per barrel, on St. Louis mar- 
ket, $2.50 gold and $3 in "city mone}^" 
Wheat was 45 cents per bushel, and de- 
clined to 35 cents. Potatoes and corn 
were quoted at 18 cents per bushel. Nice, 
well -cured hams brought 5 cents per 
pound. (Think of it!) Tobacco, "firsts," 
brought only $3.10 per hundred. Gro- 
ceries were proportionately cheap. 
Coffee, 101/^ cents per pound ; best sugar, 
7 cents; molasses, 25 cents per gallon; 
whisky, 18 cents per gallon by the barrel, 
or single gallon 25 cents, or 5 cents per 
pint. To be sure, out of the city market 
prices were even lower, and in Shelby, a 
new county, there was little call for pro- 
duce, making a lower market. Shelby- 
ville quotations were: Pork, $1.50 per 
hundred; beef, $1 per hundred; corn. 



39 



40 



HISTOPiY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



62^,4 cents per barrel or 12i/> cents per 
bushel; bacon, 2 cents per pound. A 
good five-year-old steer brought a bar- 
gain to bring in $8. Cows sold from $6 
to $8. There was no market at all for 
land, except the very best improved. Tlie 
government had a monopoly on land, re- 
ceiving $1.25 per acre for all land entered 
under the pre-emption law. 

THE SIXTEENTH SECTION. 

After the year of 1840 the sixteenth 
sections in the congressional townshijis 
came into demand, showing the develop- 
ment of the county, and the other sec- 
tions were invariably taken up first, 
unless this section was of superior value. 

Section 16 was a donation made by 
congress in every congi-essional district, 
for the encouragement and support of 
the common school. Whenever a major- 
ity of the citizens of any such township 
deemed it best they petitioned the 
County court to sell that section ; the 
court would make an order to that 
effect, the land was advertised for sale 
and sold to the highest bidder. Tlie pur- 
chaser was held for bond for the security 
for the principal and interest. 

So long as the interest was paid up 
he could hold the principal. In keeping 
with the law, the land could not be dis- 
posed of for less than $1.25 per acre. 
The interest was paid into a treasury for 
the support of the schools of the town- 
ship wherein the district lay, while the 
principal was retained for a perpetual 
school fund. 

The government also gave to the state, 
and the state to the county, all the 
swamp or overflow land in such coun- 
ties, for school purposes. The County 
court sold all such holdings belonging to 



this county for from $1.25 to $10 per 
acre. The sum aggregating from the- 
sale of swamp land and the sixteenth 
sections was $45,663. 

GERMAN SETTLEMENT. 

In 1845 a colony of Germans from 
Pennsylvania and Ohio arrived in our 
county and purchased lands north of 
Shelbyville. Previous to this settlement 
some few Germans had settled here and 
there throughout the county, but at this 
time the colony had planned for a settle- 
ment to themselves, and so laid out and 
established the town of Bethel, which 
we take up later in the history of Bethel, 
These progressive people also entered 
a considerable government land. 

CHANGE OF COUNTY LINES. 

The legislature of 1842-43 altered the 
boundaries of Shelbj^ county to their 
present lines, adding twenty-four sec- 
tions of township 56, range 12, which 
were taken from Monroe and from a 
four-mile projection in the soutliwest 
portion of the county. The eoimty in- 
cludes all of townships 59, 58, 57 and the 
two northern tiers of sections in town- 
ship 56, lying in ranges 9, 10 and 11 and 
all of townships 59, 58, 57 and 56 in 
range 12. 

MAIL FACILITIES IMPROVED. 

In 1844 the mail facilities were im- 
proved to a high degree of efficiency. 
Mail was daily carried in hacks and 
stages from Hannibal through Palmyra, 
Shelbyville, Blooniington and on through 
the count}' seats westward to St. Joe,, 
when not detained by high water. A 
daily mail and hack much improved mat- 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



41 



ters, and tliej' thought they had reached 
a high degree of perfection. 

Rates of postage varied. From the 
beginning- of the postal system in the 
country to the year 18-45 there was a 
variance of from 6 cents to 25 cents on 
a half ounce, or less, according to the 
distance of its destination. For each 
addition of a half ounce, postage was 
added. From July 1, 1845, to July 1, 
1851, the rates were 5 cents for a half 
ounce or less if carried less than 300 
miles, and 10 cents if carried over that 
distance. From July, 1851, to October 1, 
1883, the rate was uniformly 3 cents for 
any distance within the United States 
and less than 3,000 miles. 

At an early day a letter to the Pacific 
coast was charged double postage ; while 
today Ave send letters to any part of the 
United States, Cuba, Porto Rica, Guam, 
the Philippine islands, or republic of 
Mexico, 2 cents for each ounce or frac- 
tion thereof. 

A FEW THINGS THAT INTERESTED THE 
SETTLEES. 

In the spring of 1844 the heavy rains 
sent North river out of its banks. Set- 
tlers of the day told of its swollen con- 
dition, such as had never occurred before 
and neither has it happened since. All 
the water beds overflowed and the jarin- 
cipal passage fords could not be crossed 
for several days. In the year 1844 the 
Mississippi and Missouri overflowed and 
great damage was done along the bot- 
toms. All the streams of this county 
were also above bed at that date, and 
helped to feed the larger streams. In 
the year of 1844 Daniel Taylor located 
a tannery on Clear creek, east of Shelby- 
ville (section 18 — 58 — 9), below the point 



where Miller's mill was later located. 
This was a good thing for the settlers, 
making a convenient place to dispose of 
their hides ; but in a few years good tan- 
bark became scarce and hard to obtain, 
and Mr. Taylor had to throw up the 
business and the tannery went to de- 
struction. It was a well-chosen spot, 
with plenty of water, and, had the tan 
bark held out, would have been a pros- 
perous business for some years, or until 
the wild animals became scarce. 

It was probably the winter of 1844 
Mrs. Vannoy, a widow who lived on Salt 
river, above Walkersville, lost three 
daughters by drowning in the river. One 
of them was playing on the ice which 
broke, letting her down in deep water. 
The other two daughters ran to her as- 
sistance and were drawn from the ice 
and all three were disowned. 

CIVILIZATION 's SUKB ADVANCE. 

During the 40 's the county made a 
forward march in the line of civilization. 
As settlers came in more numerously 
than before and the county became more 
thickly populated, the settlers yearned 
for a higher stage of development and 
commenced to take interest in the out- 
side world and in a measure to keep up 
with the march of civilization. Schools 
became numerous by 1848, and a public 
interest was manifested in their behalf. 
Lodges were organized. In the year of 
1847 an Odd Fellows Lodge was organ- 
ized in Shelbyville and a Masonic Lodge 
was organized in the same town in 1848. 
Indeed at this time Shelbyville was the 
only real town in the county, and she was 
indeed a prosperous little place, with a 
good life and vim and was trying to 



42 



HISTOUY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



push forward with all the euergj' of a 
modern western town. 

In 1849 the county court ordered a 
fence built about the public square, with 
Tliomas J. Bounds as contractor, and 
during- that year Mr. William H. Van- 
nort jilanted the square with locust trees 
and some rose bushes decorated its lawn, 
wiucli very mucli improved the seat of 
justice and added a touch of the esthetic 
to its former j^rimitive wild appearance. 

The farms about the county began to 
take on a better air. They were under a 
better state of cultivation and improve- 
ment, and the log ca])ins commenced to 
fall to the background and comfortable 
homes were carefully jilanned and built 
of lumber and brick. "With the appear- 
ance of frame and brick homes came the 
onward march of more careful farming, 
better barns and granaries and better 
stock. Up to about this time the stock 
was comparatively wild, but easterners 
brought with them eastern modernism 
and improvements and it was a contin- 
ual, gradual rise from a stage wholly or 
quite uncivilized to that of higher civili- 
zation as fast as the settlers, with their 
primitive conveniences and unfortunate 
trials, which meet everyone who faces 
the storms of a frontier life, could bring 
it about. 

The experiments of these first men 
who broke the soil have been succeeded 
by the permanent and tasteful improve- 
ments of their descendants. Upon the 
spots where they dwelt, toiled, dared and 
died, are now seen the comfortal)le home, 
the thriving village, the school house and 
the coming of the gospel, and indeed all 
the appliances of a higher civilization 
are profusely strewn over the smiling 
acres of the new county. Organizations 



are wide awake and public institutions 
are bursting into new life everywhere 
over the fair land. 

"Culture's hand 

Has scattered verdure o'er the land; 
And smiles and fragrance rule serene, 
Where barren wild usuq^ed the scene." 

SECOND HOMICIDE IN THE COUNTV. 

In 1842, on Christmas day, occurred 
the second homicide of the county, the 
killing of one Daniel Thomas by Phillip 
Upton. The killing occurred in Taylor 
township, about five miles northwest of 
Hager's Grove, where Mr. Upton lived 
at that time, and his field was the scene 
of the tragedy. The quarrel grew out of 
the following circumstances: Mr. Upton 
was a man of about fifty-five years of 
age, with a large family, three or four 
members of which were adult daughters. 
It seems that Thomas had talked in a 
damaging manner of one of the daugh- 
ters, pronouncing her unchaste, with 
three or four paramours. Peter Greer 
went to Upton with the story, where- 
upon a bitter quarrel arose, but 
finally the chasm was seemingly 
bridged over and the families agreed 
to 1)6 friends. Thomas, however, had 
threatened Upton with personal vio- 
lence. He was a young man, unmar- 
ried, and on this Christmas day, 
armed himself with a pint of whiskey 
and a pistol, which time and again he 
loaded with jmiu'r wads and fired it otf, 
seemingly for his own entertainment or 
to celebrate the day. About 9 o'clock 
he came to the home of Jonathan Mi- 
chael, where another young man, Jeff 
Shelton, worked. Michael instructed 
Shelton to go over to Upton's for a gun 



HTSTOTIY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



43 



Upton had to repair for him. Shelton 
invited Thomas to go with him, and the 
two went over to Upton's liouse. Botli 
were told that Upton was out husking 
shocked corn. 

On their way to the field they met two 
of Upton's daughters, who had been 
down to the field with their father. A 
dog accompanied them, which barked 
furiously at the young men, and to 
frighten the animal Shelton shot at it 
with Thomas's pistol. Upton saw the 
young men coming and started out to 
meet them. He liad liis ritle with him, 
for he never left home without it. Pick- 
ing up his rifle from a shock of fodder, 
he leveled it at Thomas and cried out, 
"Now d — n you, where 's your pistol!" 
and fired. Thomas fell to the ground, 
shot through the body, and died within 
two hours in a pile of snow which half 
covered the body. 

Upton surrendered to officials and 
upon examination before a magistrate 
was released upon the testimony of his 
daughters, who swore that when their 
father shot Tliomas, Thomas had first 
leveled his jDistol at their father, but was 
slow to draw the trigger, which gave Up- 
ton, who was a practical expert, the bet- 
ter chance of killing. In a few months 
Upton removed to Adair county. 

THE FIRST COUNTY CONVICTION. 

The September term of 1843 Shelby 
County Circuit court, he was indicted and 
later arrested. This trial came off at a 
special term of court, which convened 
July 12, 1844, at Shelbyville, with Judge 
McBride to try him. The jury of the case 
was composed of Anthony Gooch, John 
Gullett, Albert G. Smith, James A. 
Sherry, Jonathan Eogers, Charles Dun- 



can, Samuel Blackburn, James E. Utz, 
Kobert K. Mayes, Thomas B. Mayes and 
James Davis. The prisoner was ably 
defended by Hon. Samuel T. Glover and 
Hon. J. R. Aberuathy; the circuit attbr- 
ney was the prosecutor. The trial lasted 
two days, and on the second day the jury 
returned a verdict of "Guilty of man- 
slaughter of the second degree." The 
jury could not agree on his sentence and 
the judge fixed it at three years' impris- 
onment. They proceeded to appeal the 
case to the Supreme Court, but it never 
came to a head. He was pardoned by 
Governor Edwards after serving two- 
thirds of his term. 

In the meantime the family had moved 
to Putnam county, to which place the old 
man went. In a short time, however, he 
became involved with his son-in-law, a 
man by the name of Cain. Later on, one 
day when Upton was working in the 
wood, chopjiing out a trough from the 
huge trunk of a tree, while his wife and 
daughter were washing on the river 
brink, Upton was bushwhacked by Cain, 
who stole stealthily through the brush 
upon him and fatally sliot him with his 
rifle. He was shot in the same part of 
the body as he had shot Thomas and 
lived about the same length of time be- 
fore death ensued. Cain fled for Cali- 
fornia, but at St. Joseph he and a des- 
]ierado quarreled and Cain was killed. 
Then a mob arose and slew the des- 
perado, and so "the wily man shall fall 
as by his own hand." Some of the most 
important alistracts from the trial of Up- 
ton follow : 

JEFFERSON SHELTON. 

Was hired to work at Jonathan 
Michael's. On Christmas morning he 



44 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



came to said Michael's house; witness 
had to water the horses that morning; 
said Thomas also had to water his own 
horse. Michael asked witness to go to 
Philij^ Upton's for a gnn which Upton 
had to fix ; told witness to ask Upton if 
the gun was fixed, if not to bring it 
away. Witness and Thomas went and 
watered the horses. Thomas told wit- 
ness to hasten back from Upton's and 
they would go together to Mr. Pore- 
man's; witness asked Thomas to go with 
him to Upton's; Thomas went with him. 
When they got there witness asked Mrs. 
Upton about the gun lock; she said that 
Mr. Upton was in the field, to go and see 
him; we walked out of the house and 
witness proposed to Thomas to go 
straight back to Michael's; but Thomas 
opposed it by saying they should go and 
see about the gun lock; witness said it 
was not worth while and they ought to 
go and take the horses back; Thomas 
then said if witness would go to the 
field where Upton was he, Thomas, would 
go back with witness and help drive the 
horses up; witness agreed to go with 
Thomas to the field where Upton was; 
as they went along from the house they 
met two Miss Uptons, daughters of the 
prisoner, riding on horseback, coming- 
out of the field ; "a dog that was with the 
girls kept barking at us"; Thomas had 
a pistol, with which he had been shoot- 
ing paper wads, and witness took the 
weapon and shot at the dog to scare 
him; "also shook my coat tail at the dog. 
We went on to near where Upton was; 
the pistol was loaded with paper and 
powder ; I saw it loaded ; as we went up 
Thomas says, 'I think Mr. Upton has a 
horse hitched there.' Upton came from 



where he was in the fields toward us, and 
when he was about ten or fifteen feet 
from us, he stooped down and picked up 
a gun that was lying on the ground, and 
then said to Thomas, 'Now, damn you, 
where is your pistol?' and fired"; 
Thomas fell and witness picked him up ; 
Upton came near with his gun and wit- 
ness thought he would strike him with 
it; witness put Thomas's cap under his 
head and went for help. Upton stepped 
before witness with his gun drawn ; wit- 
ness changed his course and Upton again 
got before him; witness than ran oflf to 
the fence. ' ' The place where Upton shot 
Thomas was about half way between the 
place we first saw him and the fence"; 
witness looked back after he got over the 
fence and saw Upton with his gun down 
as if reloading it. On the Sunday pre- 
vious to the shooting witness was at Up- 
ton's and Thomas was there; Thomas 
and Upton talked ; witness had never 
heard of any difference and thought 
they were friendly. Thomas was shot 
on Christmas, died of the wound in about 
three-quarters of an hour; the ball en- 
tered the left side. 

Cross-examined, witness said it was 
between 10 and 11 o'clock in the morning 
that they went to water the horses ; that 
nothing was said about Thomas's going 
to Upton's with him until after the 
horses were watered ; witness did not re- 
member of Thomas saying, just as they 
were leaving Upton's house, "Let's go 
up to the field and fix the d — d old ras- 
cal"; that he never heard Thomas 
threaten nor abuse Upton ; that Thomas 
once told him that Upton had forbidden 
him (Thomas) to go on his (Upton's) 
l)lace; that Thomas prevailed on him to 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



45 



go up to where Upton was in the field; 
by telling him he would go back with 
him and help him to drive the horses up ; 
that the road liy which they left Upton's 
house forked after going a little dis- 
tance, one fork leading to Michael's, the 
other leading up in the held where Upton 
was; that he said to Thomas, "Hello, 
Thomas, where are you going?" to which 
Thomas said, "0, I have took the wrong 
road"; that Thomas then came across 
to the road witness was in; that they 
looked across the field and saw the girls 
they had met running up the patch to 
where Upton was ; that they had a little 
talk together and concluded to go back 
where Upton was; that nothing was said 
in the conversation about Upton; that 
Thomas wanted to go up there and they 
concluded to go ; that witness did not 
strike nor strike at Upton; that he did 
not see Thomas in the act of drawing a 
pistol when Upton shot him ; that he was 
not looking at Thomas at the time, but 
was looking at. Upton; that, as far as he 
saw, Thomas gave Upton no provocation 
whatever; that when witness came back 
to the field with help the pistol was foimd 
in Thomas's breast coat pocket; that he 
did not know whether Thomas had the 
pistol in his hand when shot or not ; that 
Thomas turned and walked five or six 
steps before he fell. (The witness also 
swore that soon after the killing he left 
the county and went over into Monroe; 
but that his leaving was not for fear of 
Upton, but to go to school. Afterward, 
however, in private conversation, he ad- 
mitted that the principal reason why he 
did leave was that he feared Upton 
would kill him, as he was the principal 
witness against him.) 



JONATHAN MICHAEL. 

On Christmas morning, 1S42, Daniel 
Thomas and Jefferson IShelton were at 
his house; the latter was hired for the 
yeai', with the ijrivilege to quit at the end 
of any month on notice; witness asked 
IShelton to go to Upton's and "get my 
gun. ' ' Shelton asked Thomas to go with 
him ; they were at the house before they 
went to water the horses; the next wit- 
ness saw of Thomas he was lying nearly 
dead in Upton's field; Thomas lived an 
hour or an hour and a half after witness 
saw him. Upton did not go off after 
shooting Thomas, but remained from 
three to four months in the coimty, then 
moved with his family to Macon (Adair), 
where he resided until arrested. 

Cross-examined : Immediately after 
Thomas's death Shelton became dejected 
and depressed in mind and seemed ex- 
ceedingly unhappy; he said that he was 
afraid if he stayed about there Upton 
would kill him, as he was the only wit- 
ness against him. 

For the defense several witnesses tes- 
tified to Upton's quiet, peaceable char- 
acter. One witness said: "He is a peace- 
able man until you get him roused." 

GEORGE LIGGETT. 

In September or October, just before 
Thomas was killed, witness had a con- 
versation with Thomas ; this was the first 
time witness had ever seen Thomas; 
they were passing by Upton's and wit- 
ness asked Thomas who lived there and 
Thomas said : "Old Phil Upton " ; said 
I would find him out soon enough; that 
the whole of 'em were "a d — n onery 
pack"; witness said, "How?" Thomas 



46 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



said "every way"; Thomas asked me 
what would lie the consequence if he were 
to catch a man out and beat him nearly 
to death — what would be the law ; I told 
him I did not know the laws of the state ; 
told him it might be a dangerous thing to 
attempt ; asked him how big a man Upton 
was ; I said he might get the advantage 
of him; Thomas said he was not afraid 
of that and laid his hand on his breeches 
pocket and said, "I have something here 
in that case"; said he had a pistol for 
him: besides, Thomas said he intended 
to have a man by to help. Sometime 
after this witness told Upton what 
Thomas had said. 

MISS ALCINA UPTON. 

On Christmas morning, witness and 
her little sister had been up in the field 
with her father and had returned nearly 
to the house; as they came up nearly to 
the house, .Jefferson Shelton and Thomas 
were standing by the corner of the house 
talking. She heard Thomas say to Shel- 
ton, "Jeff, let's go up to the field and fix 
that d — d old rascal" ; they passed along 
the road with that, and she and her little 
sister turned and followed them; they 
went a little way up the road and Jeffer- 
son Shelton shot a pistol off at their dog 
that was coming down the road ; witness 
and her sister passed on at the forks of 
the road; one of the roads went by 
Michael's, the other passed where her 
father was in the field ; when Shelton and 
Thomas came to the forks one took the 
road to Michael's, then the other one 
started over and started toward 
Michael 's. "Witness swore that after she 
passed the forks of the road she looked 
back and saw Shelton and Thomas stand- 



ing face to face talking, and that they 
turned and got on a log and looked 
towai'd the field. When witness got up 
to her father her little sister was telling 
him what they had done and said; that 
her father said nothing, but turned and 
walked toward the men; that Shelton 
and Thomas came up, one on the right, 
the other on the left, and that Thomas 
had his hand on a pistol which was partly 
drawn from his breeches pocket; that 
Shelton struck at her father just as he 
got to his gun ; that her father picked up 
the gun, stepped back and shot Thomas, 
then turned and struck Shelton with the 
gun; that the gun knocked Shelton's hat 
off and that he picked it up and ran; 
then her father went to the house; wit- 
ness did not know why her father took 
his gun to the field with him; that he 
went to the field about 9 o'clock in the 
morning. 

Peter Greer swore that Thomas made 
to him the damaging statements affect- 
ing Miss Upton's character before re- 
ferred to; that he (Greer) had told Mr. 
Upton what Thomas had said. Mr. Greer 
also stated he arrested Upton at home 
without difficulty; that he went up late 
at night and found Upton lying before 
the fire fast asleep. 

Greer hailed, was invited in, and told 
him: "Upton, you will have to go with 
me." "Certainly; I will go with you 
anj'where," was Upton's response. 

Lewis Scobee testified he saw Thomas 
pick up a fire stick at ^lichael's once and 
remark, " I 'd like to get a lick at old Phil 
Upton's head with this, the d — d old 

." Thomas also said: "I intend to 

devil and aggravate him until he leaves 
the country." 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



47 



STOCK BAISIXG AXD SHIPPING. 

As previously stated, farming and 
stock raising was taking a iirominence 
in Shelby county in the 40 's and taking 
on some proportions as a business. From 
1844 the fanners of the county engaged 
in stock raising and breeding, while oth- 
ers turned their attention to buying and 
shipping. Russell Moss and Barton W. 
Hall had each imported some tine breeds 
of hogs and others had imported the 
merino and other tine breeds of sheep. 

Henry Louthan and Parsons went into 
the stock business on a large scale and 
both raised and bought stock. Pork 
packers from Palmyra and Hannibal 
came into the county and monopolized 
the market and bought all the pork at 
their own prices. Mr. Holliday, in his 
history written and printed in some of 
the newspapers found on the old tiles, 
says they graded the prices so that hogs 
weighing 200 lbs. or more would bring in 
about $5; a porker weighing 198, he 
would be graded to bring $4.75 ; if he 
weighed 150 lbs., he would bring $1.50; 
but no matter how much over 200 lbs. of 
meat they got they only paid the $5, and 
beef was similarly graded, being about 
$25 per head. 

Mr. Holliday goes on to say that the 
farmers sometimes revolted against the 
"steal" or "starvation prices" they 
then termed them, under the grading 
system, and launched out on their own 
hook. Mr. J. B. Marmaduke had two 
very fine steers, which weighed 1,800 lbs. 
each, and he tried to sell them on the foot 
at home. The best offer he could find 
was $.30 per head. He vehemently refused 
the price and proceeded to demonstrate 
what he could do. He sent them to Han- 



nibal, had them slaughtered, packed and 
shipped. His agent sent him a return of 
his sales, which, when the accounts were 
balanced, left him $8 liabilities after tak- 
ing both of his steers in his assets. Mr. 
Marmaduke also shipped a heavy crop 
of navy beans and Mr. Vandeventer a 
good crop of wheat with about the same 
success. 

The wheat crop dwindled in value and 
importance after 1842 for some years 
thereafter, and then came to be looked 
iiyion as uncertain, yet good crops were 
often harvested, especially so on new 
lands. The price of hemp, which was a 
good yield, became so low that the farm- 
ers abandoned it for tobacco, which be- 
came a popular industry and always 
lirought a cash price, though prices 
varied and were sometimes low. 

THE FIRST JAIL. 

In the year of 1846 was Shelby coun- 
ty's first jail erected. Offenders of the 
law, she had many before this date, as 
the records show, but the county had 
been on a strain in the rapid inarch of 
improvement, that she had found plenty 
of places for investments, she consid- 
ered better made and considered it wiser 
and cheaiier to board out her convicts 
than to build and maintain a building for 
their accommodation, but May, 1846, 
marks the date for a new jail in which 
prisoners could be kept at home. The 
first prison was built on the same site as 
the present one, just north of the court 
house, on the north side of the public 
square. The contract was let to Russell 
W. Moss, and William Gooch was the 
commissioner. Following is the plan of 
the first prison house : 

The material was of hewed logs, twelve 



48 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



inches square and eighteen feet high, 
with cracks between not more than one 
and one-half inches wide. The sleepers, 
or lower wall, was laid with logs the 
same as the top and sides, and the floor 
was laid with two-inch oak plank, well 
spiked down. There were no windows 
in the lower part, called "the dungeon," 
except holes 12x18 inches on the east, 
north and south sides, which were se- 
cured by iron grates. Then there were 
logs twenty feet long of the same size 
built around the dungeon and seven feet 
higher, which made a room eighteen feet 
square. The space between the outer 
and inner walls was filled with limestone 
broken into pieces the size of apples. 
There were steps to go upon the outside 
of the building to a door which entered 
the upper story; then a trap door, by 
means of which the dungeon was 
reached. The floor of the upper room 
was similar to the dungeon floor. The 
old-timers called the upper room the 
debtors' prison, while the lower was con- 
signed to criminals. The jail cost abovit 
$600. In sketches by Mr. Holliday is 
handed down the following jotting: At 
that time there was a law in Missouri 
providing that a creditor might put a 
debtor into prison and keep him there 
until the last farthing was paid, or nntil 
he had given up all property he owned 
nnder oath, when he was relieved under 
what is termed the "Act for the benefit 
of insolvent debtors." This was why 
we had a debtor's prison. The outside 
of the jail was weather-boarded and 
looked like a common frame house. 

The act, however, of abolishing the act 
of imprisonment for debt was abolished 
in Missouri when an enactment was 



passed by our legislature in January, 
1843, setting such a law as null and 
void. 

Mr. Holliday also says: Among the 
first prisoners placed in our new jail 
were two brothers from Schuyler county, 
who were charged with stealing hogs. 
Joshua M. Ennis was sheriff at the time 
and his father kept the jail. 

He gave the prisoners their meals 
through the trap door. The weather 
was not very cold, yet they com])lained 
of its severity, and the jailer had a stove 
put in the jail for their special comfort. 

Several times, upon opening the trap 
door, he discovered the lower room full 
of smoke. When he inquired of the pris- 
oners if they were not uncomfortable on 
account of the smoke, they replied, "Oh, 
no; the smoke all rises upward, so we 
don't feel it down here." One morning 
Mr. Ennis made his regular visit to the 
jail with his prisoners' breakfast, but 
was astonished to find that the birds had 
flown. Further discoveries showed that 
they had burned a hole through the floor 
and wall and made their escape. They 
were polite enough to leave a letter di- 
rected to the sheriff, in which they said 
he had treated them well, and that they 
liked their boarding house, but that their 
business needed their immediate per- 
sonal attention so much that they were 
compelled to leave ; if, however, they had 
occasion to stop in town at any future 
time they would stop with him. The 
court had the house repaired and in a 
short time another hole was made in the 
same place by an escaping prisoner, 
when the court, finding the jail unfit for 
any further use, sold it and had it re- 
moved. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



49 



CALIFOKNIA EMIGRANTS. 

Doubtless the desire for gold has ever 
been the mainspring of all enterprise and 
progress from the days of the patriarchs 
lip to the present time, and will continue 
so to be to the remote ages. Generally, 
however, this greed has been evident in 
all the busy thoroughfares of thrift and 
industry. On some occasions, however, 
it has passed beyond the bounds of rea- 
son, and assumed the characteristics of 
a mania. The gold fever broke out in 
the latter part of 1848, when the stories 
commenced to float about the wonderful 
riches of the placer mines of California, 
and worked into a frenzy, not only the 
people of the West, but the entire re- 
public. 

The excitement grew daily, and the re- 
ports were repeated, exaggerated, from 
mouth to mouth and from settlement to 
settlement, until nothing was talked of 
but the feats of the California gold dig- 
gers. The papers were replete, each one 
picturing more graphically the details of 
the yellow dirt, its marvelous richness 
and its vast territory. 

The excitement ran so high that the 
most conservative were infected with the 
contagion, hurriedly left their homes and 
all that was dear to them to battle with 
the imcertainties of hunting gold. Day 
after day and month after month, these 
early settlers watched daily the papers 
to read their falmlous tales of the west- 
ern gold fields, and instead of dying out 
the fever rose higher and higher, and it 
is said, at one time, there was not an 
able-bodied man in Shelby county but 
contemplated and planned a trip for 
later on in the spring or summer, for 
even the most sober and stable minded 



could not repel the temptation, so 
hemmed in on all sides was he by the one 
toj)i<' and desire, and the stream of emi- 
grants ever passing on every side and in 
conditions of travel. Some of the emi- 
grant wagons were drawn by cows, while 
others footed it through, drawing a hand 
cart which carted their clothes and hard- 
lioiled eggs and corn dodgers. Only to 
get to California and all riches would be 
at their feet. 

It was a scene beyond description. One 
continuous line of wagons and footmen, 
from the Orient to the Occident, one 
continuous line and like a cantankerous 
tumor, drawing and pulling from every 
highway to the main thoroughfare, the 
road to California. Ho! to California! 
Shelby county, new as she was, was 
caught in the whirlwind and turned to 
face the hardships of the crowded frontier 
of the gold fields. They started out at 
the beginning, l)ut the main emigration 
commenced in 1850. Some of them made 
great sacrifice to olitain the necessary 
outfit, and most often it was a disastrous 
investment, for to the average, the in- 
vestor did not find "pay dirt" and many 
never succeeded in reaching home again. 
The suffering was great, because of the 
congested conditions, and some who went 
from here found no peace until they lay 
down to sleep — never to return to all 
that earth held near and dear to them. 
Some of the luckier ones made comfort- 
able little fortunes and were alile to re- 
turn to their loved ones with nuggets of 
gold for their hire. 

Among those from Shelby county who 
went out in 1849 were: John F. Benja- 
mine, J. M. Collier, "William Dunn, John 
Dickerson, Capt. J. A. Carothers, Dr. 
Mills, C. J\r. Pilcher, Benjamin Forman, 



50 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COITXTY 



"Bob" Marmadnke (slave), Calvin 
Pilcher, William Robinson, Charles 
Eackliffe, Lafayette Shoots, "Joe" 
Dunn (slave), William, John and Eobert 
^lontgomery. 

Among those who listed in 1850 were 
Adam Heekart and Newton and Robert 
Dnnn. 

AUGUST ELECTION, 1841. 

Clerk of Courts — Thomas J. Bounds. 
224; John Jacobs, 198. 

Assessor — Abraham Mattock, 163 ; 
Alfred Tobin, 130; Joseph C. Miller, 71 : 
George W. Gentry, 44. 

At this election there were five town- 
ships in the county, Black Creek, North 
River, Salt River, Jackson and Tiger 
Fork. 

ELECTIONS — 1840 PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION. 

At the Presidential election in 1840 a 
full vote was cast and in the county it 
was a close vote. The Van Buren or 
Democratic electors received 233 votes; 
the Harrison or Whig electors, 226; 
Democratic majority, 7. 

The political campaign this year was, 
perhaps, the most remarkable one in the 
history of the country. The greatest en- 
thusiasm was awakened in the Whig 
ranks for their candidates, General Har- 
rison and John Tyler — "Tippecanoe and 
Tyler, too" — and they swept the country 
against democracy. In this county about 
the first political enthusiasm came of this 
year, being held by both parties at Shel- 
b>'\'ille and also at Oak Dale. In 1840 
there were six townships in the coimty, 
Black Creek, North River, Salt River, 
Fabius, Tiger Fork and Jackson. 



AUGUST ELECTION, 1844. 

Governor — John C. Edwards (Dem.), 
245; C. H. Allen (Ind. Dem. and Whig), 
173. 

Congressmen — (Five to be chosen). 
Regular Dems. or "Hards": Sterling 
Price, 231 ; John G. Jamison, 229 ; John 
S. Phelps, 229 ; James B. Bowling, 232 ; 
James H. Relfe, 2.34; Ind. Dems. or 
"Softs": L. H. Sims, 178; T. B. Hud- 
son, 185; Ratcliffe Boone, 186; John 
Thornton, 182 ; Augustus Jones, 180 ; Jo- 
siah Fisk, 5. 

At this time the Democratic party in 
Missouri was divided into two factions, 
tlie "Hards," who favored hard money 
or state bank money on a metallic basis 
and no bills less than $10. The "Softs" 
favored bank bills of $1, $2, $3, $4, $5, 
and leaned toward the Whig idea of free 
banking. 

Senator — Robert Croughton (Dem.), 
221 ; Addison J. Reese (Whig), 227. 

Representatives — Russell W. Moss, 
254; John W. Long, 249. 

Sheriff— Gilbert H. Edmonds, 296; 
William J. HoUiday, 209. 

County Judges— S. B. Hardy, 292; 
John Dunn, 229; James Foley, 222; 
Perry B. Moore, 175; Thomas Lane, 
147; Abraham Vandiver, 145; Robert 
Givens, 94; Levy Brown, 87; Thomas 0. 
Eskridge, 57; Alexander Gillaspy, 49. 

Assessor — William H. Vannort elected. 

Coroner — James Patterson elected. 

C. H. Allen lived at Palmyra and was 
an eccentric character, with a personal- 
ity quite his own, and was commonly 
known as "Horse" Allen. He was a 
lawyer of noted repute, having served a 
term or two as circuit judge. At one 
time, it is told, when presiding over 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



51 



court he had to contend with an attorney 
small in stature and of the chatterbox 
style, and at last he exlaimed: "I'll let 
you know I am not only judge of this 
court but a 'boss' besides, and if you 
don't sit down and keep your mouth 

shut, by I'll make you!" This 

year he made the race for governor on 
the Independent ticket against Judge 
Edwards, but was defeated by a ma- 
jority of 5,621, the vote standing: Ed- 
wards, 36,978 ; Allen, 31,357. 

At the Presidential election in 1844 the 
vote of the county stood for Henry Clay 
and Theodore Frelinghuysen (Whigs), 
244; for James K. Polk and George M. 
Dallas (Dems.), 209. Whig majority, 35. 

At the Presidential election in 1848 the 



vote was: For Cass and Butler (Dems.), 
263; for Taylor and Fillmore (Whigs), 
175. Democratic majority, 88. John 
McAfee, Democrat, was elected to the 
legislature. 

In the legislature in 1847 Mr. McAfee 
in the floor discussion on the "Jackson 
resolutions," the member from Shelby 
supported the resolutions, being a strong 
anti-Benton man. The next year, when 
he was a candidate for re-election, he 
was defeated by John F. Benjamin, who 
had first returned from California. Mr. 
Benjamin was brought out by a faction 
of Democrats led by J. M. Ennis, and 
was both an anti-Benton man and an 
anti-Jackson Resolution. 



CHAPTER V. 

Heterogeneous — Election of 1852 — Political, Campaign of 1856 — Presidential 
Election, 1856 — The "Know Nothings" — Election of 1858 — Sla\t;ry Days 
— 1860 Presidential Campaign — The Situation in 1860 — Stirring Times 
After the Election — Incendiary Talk. 



heterogeneous. 

The Shelbyville Spectator, the first 
newspaper of the county, was established 
at Shelbyville in the spring of 1853. F. 
M. Daulton was its first editor and pro- 
prietor, later associating with him James 
Wolff. The office was located near the 
northwest corner of the north side of 
public square and the building burned to 
the ground about a year later. 

The winter of 1856-57 was a very se- 
vere one. Mr. Holliday says : 

"The winter of 1856-57 was the 
hardest winter I ever experienced. 
Early in Octol)er there fell a great 
deal of rain, after which it turned 
cold and the ground froze hard; an- 
other rain fell and another freeze 
followed. Such was the weather during 
the entire winter. Sometimes the mud 
was so deep that the cattle could find 
no place dry enough to lie down on, 
and there was no spot in the field to place 
feed for the stock, and consequently 
quantities of feed was wasted. The feed 
being expended early, the stock fared 
badly, especially as the grass was late in 
coming up the following spring, not 
making its appearance until about the 
25th of May. Many cattle died from ex- 
posure and want of provender. 

A market was opened in Iowa for 



milch cows, as that state was being 
rajiidly settled, and during the early 
part of the spring mentioned some men 
bought up a drove of cows, destined for 
the Iowa market, but owing to the back- 
wardness of the season, they did not 
start until about the 10th of June, when, 
finding insufficient grass to maintain 
their herd, they were forced to stop at 
Salt river and remain in the bottoms, 
waiting for the grass to grow. They 
finally reached their destination in Iowa, 
where they realized a good price for 
their cattle, but having to buy feed for 
two months longer than they expected, 
the expenses took up all the profits and 
the speculation did not prove a success- 
ful one. 

In January, 1855, snow fell to the 
depth of twelve inches, followed by a 
high wind, which kept the snow moving 
for eleven days, so that breaking or mak- 
ing of roads was a thing impossible. The 
road that was tracked down during the 
day was so filled at night that not a trace 
could be found the next day. On the 
])rairies the strong northwester carried 
the snow skimming along and deposited 
it in great heaps and furbelows on the 
soutlienst territory, while the wheat in 
great fields was left ex])0sed to the frigid 
weather which followed and left it a des- 



52 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



53 



olate field. In places the "beautiful" 
was piled up over fences and people in 
sleighs and sleds could take the shortest 
cut to their destination. 

May 12, 1855, there was a heavy frost, 
killing all the fruit, and what little wheat 
had withstood the winter was in heading 
and the frost killed the greatest part 
of it. 

The fruit and leaves on the mulberry 
trees were killed, the trees put forth a 
new growth and fruit that matured." 

Records show that in the summer of 
1855 (and records differ on the date, 
some claim 1857) there was considerable 
agitation on the road subject, wanting a 
new road to Shelbiua. A petition was pre- 
sented to the county clerk, praying the 
court to change the state road from Shel- 
byville to Paris, its then location, and 
cause a new road to be made, running 
from Shelbyville to Walkersville, thence 
to Shelbiua. The court appointed three 
commissioners and instructed them to 
make a study of both roads and report 
statistics. After deliberation, the com- 
mittee reported in favor of the estab- 
lished route. The friends of the new 
road were dissatisfied and a second con- 
sideration was given the project. A 
second committee, all new members, was 
appointed, and the report was the same 
as the first. Again the Walkersville dele- 
gation succeeded in a new hearing before 
the court, a new committee was ap- 
pointed and the report remained un- 
clianged. Then matters were righted by 
the establishment of a county road cross- 
ing Salt river at Walkersville, while the 
old state road, established by the 1836 
legislature, running from Paris to the 
mouth of the Des Moines river, was left 



at its original and present place of cross- 
ing, at the old Dickersou ford. 

In July, 1855, the contract was let for 
the building of the offices of clerks of the 
county and circuit courts, attached to the 
court house. J. M. Ennis was made com- 
missioner. The contract was let, satis- 
factoril}^ complied with, and in 1858 a 
cupola was built at a cost of $.'525. S. P. 
Eagle, of Shelbyville, was its builder. 

In the spring of 1856 there were ex- 
traordinary floods in the county, the wa- 
ter swelling to unusual heights. Salt 
river and North river were at their maxi- 
mum heights, though some lay claims 
North river never exceeded her 181:4 
limit. 

In the year 1859 the Hannibal & St. 
Joe railroad was completed through the 
county. (See its history.) 

During the troublous times in Kansas 
(1854-58) regarding whether it should 
be admitted into the Union with or with- 
out slavery, a handful of our men went 
out under the auspices of the pro-slavery 
party of Missouri to help make Kansas a 
slave state. Not more than a dozen went 
and only to soon return. Thej^ were 
there long enough to vote, which was 
their sole purpose in going. 

In 1859 the Pike's Peak excitement 
carried off a number of our citizens, but 
for only a short stay. From Shelbyville 
there went forth to Congress M. H. Mar- 
maduke, George Gillaspy, Daniel Brant, 
Jenkins Bethards and a free colored man 
by the name of "Jim" Givens. 

The party started for Denver, but 
meeting hundreds who had been there 
and found only fairy tales had been told, 
they turned back at Cottonwood, Kansas, 
and returned to Home, Sweet Home. 



64 HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 

ELECTION OF 1852. Bentou was an Independent Democratic 

^ ^, „ -J X- 1 1 i- 10K0 ii candidate, with J. W. Kelly, of Holt 
In the Presidential election 1852 the , ^ r + ^ <-i ^ 

^ , . , ,, j^ ^ r,- county, for lieutenant-governor; the 

Democrats carried the countv tor Pierce ,,.'• ,, a- i 4. v \ *. n 

, ,^. ,. ,, . • , ,, "American" candidate was Robert C. 

and Ivmff over bcott and Graham, the „ . e r e *.*. -u -wn- x- „ 

,,,, .'',.. , ■, ■ ■[ Ewmg, of Lafayette, with \\ illiam ^ew- 

Whie: candidates, by a good majority. , i'^ti,, 'n ,• , . 

„ => , , ,, , p , w X laud, of Ralls, for lieutenant-governor. 

Records show the vote ot but hve town- ,^ , , r, . . • i • i ^ « i i. 

„ ,, Colonel Benton was making his last tight 

ships and thev were as tollows: „ ,.,. , • , , , 

i • for poutical existence and he was a va- 

Pierce & Scott & li^nt soldier. He canvassed from town 

Townships— King Graham to town throughout the state. 

Black Creek 147 142 "^^^^ '^^ '^'^^ ^ ^^^ ^^ strong person- 

-D ii^ J j^QC) 25 ality and clu'rished many warm friend- 

Tio-er Fork 4 9 ^t^ips throughout the state, who still re- 

rp^l^^j. ^^ 10 main loyal to him and honor him as a 

Jackson 38 26 master statesman and rear marble stat- 

uary to his memory. 

309 '^02 "^t his death, in 1858, there was gen- 
eral sorrow, and though during his polit- 
This was the last year that the Whig i^^i career some men had fought him 
party, as a party, put forth a Presiden- ]^^^,^ j^^^j i^^g^ ijj ]^ig fie^th they rever- 
sal ticket. enced his name as a great man. 

,„_„ For congress there were but two can- 

POLITIC.AX CAMPAIGN OF lOOO. j-j j. • ii ■ T i • i tt t T 

didates m this district, Hon. .James J. 
A most intensely exciting political con- Lindley, Whig, Know Nothing, &c., and 
test was that of this year, especially in Hon. James S. Green, regular Demo- 
Missouri. Not only was it a Presiden- crat, of Lewis county. The Germans of 
tial year, but a gubernatorial year, and Bethel township voted solid for Benton, 
besides there were congressmen and The result follows: 

county oflBcers to elect. Only two Presi- For Governor — R. C. Ewing, 411 ; 

dential tickets were voted in our county, Trusten Polk, 325; Thomas H. Benton, 

the Democratic, headed by James Buch- 166. Congressman — J. J. Lindley, 462; 

anan and John C. Breckenridge, and the J. S. Green, 364. Legislature — John 

Native American or "Know Nothing," McAfee, 382; G. H. Edwards. 450. Sher- 

headed by Millard Fillmore, of New iff— J. ]\r. Ennis, 447; E. L. Holliday. 

York and Andrew Jackson Donelson, of 424. Treasurer — J. M. ]\Iarmaduke, 453; 

Tennessee. This was the year the Re- ,loe Bell, 398. 
publican party iirst put out a candidate, , __„ 

^ . . ■ i • i.1 • i 1 PKESIDENTIAL ELECTION, 1856 THE 

receiving no votes in this county and ,. „ 

, , „ . • i.1 ii i i. KNOW NOTHINGS. 

but few except m the northern states. 

For governor there were three candi- The Presidential election of 1856 was 

dates. Trusten Polk was the regular one of the most exciting elections ever 

Democratic nominee, wi^h Hancock .lack- known in Shelby county. The contest 

son for lieutenant-governor ; Thomas H. was between the Democratic leaders, 



HIST()I!Y OF STIELBY COU.X'J'Y 



55 



Buchanan and Breckeuridge, and the 
nominees of the Native American or 
"Know Notliing" party, Filhuore and 
Donelson. The tight was an aggressive 
one. Enthusiastic meetings were held 
and a large vote was polled. The Native 
American or "Know Nothing" partj', 
since it has become extinct, deserves spe- 
cial mention, as it once had a strong grip 
on this county. 

It was organized sometime in the de- 
cade of 1830, but remained in an em- 
bryonic stage for years, or until 1853, 
the year the Whig party went overboard, 
the "Know Notliings" embi'aced this 
opportunity and forged their way to the 
fore ranks. In 185-1: the first lodge was 
organized in this county, but in 1856 
they were quite umuerous. The party 
was an eccentric one, a secret, political 
order, its members oathbound, involving 
in the order its passwords, signs, grijjs, 
signals and salutes — all the parapher- 
nalia of the secret order. They worked 
secretly to accomplish all that they pub- 
licly professed. It carried in its mem- 
bership chiefly ex-Whigs, although it also 
made some inroads on the Democratic 
party. Its chief cornerstone or plank in 
its platform was that "Americans must 
rule America" or that none but native 
born Amei'icans and non-Catliolics can 
hold office and favored a radical change 
in the naturalization laws. It is said 
that the hailing salutation of the order 
was "Have you seen Sam!" If an- 
swered by the inquiry "Sam who?" the 
response came "Uncle Sam." Such a 
boost did the party have that they car- 
ried many counties and districts. The 
1856 platform of the "Missouri Know 
Nothings" was: 



1. That we regard the mainttenance 
of the union of these United States as 
the paramount political good. 

2. A full recognition of the rights of 
the several states, as expressed and re- 
served in the Constitution, and a. careful 
avoidance by the general government of 
all interference with their rights by the 
legislative or executive action. 

3. Obedience to the Constitution of 
these United States as the supreme law 
of the land, sacredly obligatory in all its 
parts and members — a strict construc- 
tion thereof and steadfast resistance to 
the spirit of innovation of its principles 
— avowing that in all doubtful or dis- 
puted points it may only be legally as- 
certained and expounded by the judicial 
powers of the United States. 

4. Tliat no person should be selected 
for political station, whether native or 
foreign born, who recognizes any alle- 
giance or obligation to any foreign 
prince, potentate or power, or who re- 
fuses to recognize the federal or state 
Constitutions (each within its sphere) 
as paramount to all other laws or rules 
of political action. 

5. Americans must rule America : and 
to this end, native born citizens should 
be selected for all state and federal of- 
fices in preference to naturalized citi- 
zens. 

6. A change in the laws of naturaliza- 
tion, making a continued residence of 
twenty-one years an indispensable requi- 
site for citizenship, and excluding all 
paupers and persons convicted of crime 
from landing on our shores; but no in- 
terference witli the vested rights of for- 
eigners. 

7. Persons that are born of American 



56 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



parents, residing- temporarily abroad, 
are entitled to all the rights of native- 
born citizens. 

8. An enforcement of the principle 
that no state or territory can admit oth- 
ers than native-born citizens to the 
rights of suffrage, or of holding political 
office, unless such persons have been nat- 
uralized according to the laws of the 
United States. 

9. That congress possesses no power 
under the Constitution to legislate upon 
the subject of slavery in the states where 
it does or may exist, or to exclude any 
state from admission into the union be- 
cause its Constitution does or does not 
recognize the institution of slavery as a 
part of its social system and (expressly 
pretermitting any expression of oi)inion 
upon the ])ower of congress to establish 
or prohibt slavery in any territory), it 
is the sense of this meeting that congress 
ought not to legislate upon the suliject 
of slavery within the territories of the 
United States ; and that any interference 
by congress with slavery as it exists in 
the District of Columbia, would be a vio- 
lation of the spirit and intention of the 
compact by which the state of ■Maryland 
ceded the district to the United States, 
and a breach of the natural faith. 

10. That we will abide by and main- 
tain the existing laws on the subject of 
slavery as a final and conclusive settle- 
ment of the subject in spirit and in sub- 
stance, believing this course to be the 
best guarantee of future ]3eace and fra- 
ternal amity. 

A full vote swelled the ticket in each 
party and election returns showed the 
"Know Nothings" in the majority in 
this county. The returns were: Fil- 
more ("Know Nothing"), 432; Buch- 



anan (Dem.), 37.3. The leading "Know 
Nothings" in the county were James 
Gooch, John Dunn, Leonard Dobbin, 
John S. Duncan, George Gaines, James 
Foley, Dr. J. Bell, Henry W. Sheetz, Jo- 
seph M. Irwin, Thomas 0. Eskridge and 
others. Prominent among the Demo- 
crats were Alex ^IcMurtry, AVilliam E. 
Strachan, J. M. Ennis, John McAfee, "W. 
J. Holliday, John F. Benjamin, John 
Dickerson, Perry B. Moore, Lewis Ja- 
cobs, Henry Louthan and J. B. Marma- 
duke. 

ELECTION OF 1858. 

The August election of 1858 attracted 
little attention in Shelby county. The 
state Democratic ticket and John B, 
Clark for congress had no opposition 
here, neither had Democrat J. M. Ennis 
for sheriff. There was some contest, 
however, for the legislature. The Dem- 
ocratic candidate was William Kichmond 
Strachan, who four years after became 
notorious throughout northeast Missouri 
as General McNeil's provost marshal. 
The Democrats swept everything and 
Strachan was elected by a large majority 
over the Whig candidate. Singleton, the 
Whigs losing much ground in this county 
as well as territory throughout the en- 
tire state. 

SLAVERY DAYS. 

In order to perpetuate the history of 
the past for the coming generations, 
some things are dwelt upon in these 
pages that the future may come in touch, 
actually know and feel just what the life 
of their forefathers was of other days. 
Children are educated in the day schools, 
but they too often are taught the foreign 
incidents of life. It is all in an outside 
world and is not brought within our own 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



57 



lionie laud, coimtry and county. "What 
child does uot kuow that slavery actually 
existed in other days, but how many men, 
women or children know the history of 
slavery in our own county, and the his- 
tory of slavery in our own county is an 
integral part of the history of slavery as 
it existed. 

In the early part of the year 1860, 
there were 724 slaves in Shelby county, 
which was the maximum number ever in 
the county at any one time. The majority 
of the slaves were in the south part of 
the county and were employed in agricul- 
tural pursuits. It was transplanted here 
from ^"irginia and Kentucky, from 
whence came so many of our first set- 
tlers. They owned the slaves there and 
when they moved westward, to a new 
country, they knew they would have need 
of them and, as a rule, the slaves wanted 
to come along with ' ' Massa. ' ' Few were 
ever brought into this county and sold 
on speculation, as there was no profit in 
the business, but many were taken into 
the far South and they sold there for a 
good profit, and were trafficked in large 
numbers. Under some of the loose moral 
workings of the system of the slave ne- 
gro the race increased rapidly, some of 
the slave girls becoming mothers at four- 
teen years of age. The slave owners 
worked the slave system for profit, not 
for social power and supremacy alone. 
The slave holder then planned his slave 
holdings as we plan any speculation of 
the present day to the best possible ad- 
vantage of gain. They were provided 
with comfortable cabins (which were 
cheap in that day), with coarse but com- 
fortable clothing (the kind that would 
preserve health was, of course, econ- 
omy), with substantial food and medical 



attention was promptly administered 
when they were sick, but it was not al- 
ways humanity nor a big heart which 
prompted this attention, though often- 
times it was, but in lack of kindness, self- 
interest ijrompted the act. As a rule, 
the records of the county bears witness 
that as a rule the masters were kind, con- 
siderate and loyal to their holdings. 
Slaves were personal property and rated 
in a man's estate as horses and other 
personal possessions. To be sure, they 
were considered not in part with such 
possession, yet nevertheless they rated 
according to their power of increase. 
There was no avoiding the issue. A man 
had a right to the fruit of his orchard, 
and it justly followed the owner of a fe- 
male slave had a right to the offspring 
of his property. In some states, as 
Louisiana, slaves were real estate, but in 
Missouri they became chattels. Little 
or no attention was given during slavery 
days to the education of the slaves, but 
their religious teachings were not neg- 
lected, and they were encouraged to have 
prayer meetings and to institute and con- 
duct revivals, and especially were they 
drilled to a finish on the Pauline precept, 
"Servants, obey your masters," as one 
of the foremost principles and teachings 
of Holy Writ. 

In regard to the domestic relations of 
slaves, convenience, in a degree, was the 
system adopted and the regulations of 
that day would wholly shock jDropriety 
of today. Marriages were not exploits 
to be recorded. Indeed, most often, 
there was no ceremony at all, but they 
just "flocked together." Sometimes the 
husband belonged to one master and the 
wife to another, but in most cases the 
family tie was imitated and propriety 



58 



H18T0KY OF hiHElJiY COUNTY 



outwardly ol)servecl. A mau aud wife 
occupied a cal)iu, where they made a 
home and brought uj) their children after 
the fashion of the day. 

They not only did not have to provide 
for themselves, hut they did not have to 
provide for their children. That was the 
master's business and duty. And the 
husbaud was usually satisfied with one 
wife — one at a time at any rate. The 
laxity in morals in regard to the connu- 
bial tie which existed in the South was 
not practiced here. Tales and tales have 
been told and repeated by both sides of 
the slaverj' question, tales which are too 
depraved and licentious to bear auy but 
evil fruit — which have no bearing on the 
history of Shelby county, and we pass 
them up, to only remark that while some 
looseness of morals may have existed, 
yet, as a whole, the history of our county 
was a clean one along that line, aud 
often, no doubt, could the fathers of 
some of the mulattoes be known, they 
would have been traced to depraved, dis- 
reputable white men who were not slave 
holders. 

It became quite a common practice for 
a slave owner to hire out his slaves to 
those who had no slaves, and a good 
slave will l)ring in to his master $250 per 
annum and his keep. It was made an 
indictable ofl'ense for a master to ]iermit 
a slave to hire his own time, aud it was 
also an offense to deal in them unless 
you had a permit. 

Men and women could be hired alike. 
To give you some idea of the terms of 
such a deal, we copy a letter which sets 
forth terms: 

Feb. .3, 1S44. 

^[y. James Alger: Sir — I beg to en- 
lighten vou that the woman you wish to 



hire belongs to me. You can have her a 
year for seventy dollars by clothing her 
as well as she gets at home — two winter 
dresses, one summer dress, two shifts, 
one blanket, two pair shoes and stock- 
ings, and for the child two winter 
dresses, two summer dresses and two 
shifts. You'll have to lose the time lost 
in sickness by the woman, and I'll pay 
the doctor bills. You'll have to send for 
and return her when her time is out. 

Yours truly, 
CHAELES LEIP. 

As we have stated, as a rule, the rela- 
tion of the slave holder to his slaves was 
a peaceable one. As we have unkind and 
harsh fathers and mothers, so we had 
masters more or less cruel, but as a rule 
the slave owners were both reasonable 
and just. 

In every municipal townshi]) there 
were ])atrols appointed by the county 
coui't, whose duty it was to patrol their 
respective townships a certain number 
of times every month and "keep tab" on 
the movements and aml)itions of the 
slaves. 

Slavery meant eternal vigilance. They 
required a continual oversight. 

There was ever creeping forth that 
ambition for freedom, whose designs had 
to be nii^iied in the bud. In sultordinate 
ones they had to be quelled, and loahng, 
prowling and quarreling had to be sup- 
))ressed and broken up. To prevent 
these disorders was the business of the 
])atrols. They were organized under 
their leaders and captains, and it was 
their duty to make their rounds at un- 
expected times and as suddenly as in his 
]iower lieth. No slave was allowed off 
the premises of his master after 9 



IIISTOIJY OF SHELBY C()i:XTY 



59 



o'clock at night without a written pass 
from his master or employer. All of- 
fenders were made prisoners and pun- 
ished. 

And the negroes had a pleasant lot, 
and perchance many of them were better 
off temporally and physically than to- 
day ; but who is there that does not prize 
freedom above temporal blessings ! Then 
they had their social pleasures, their 
dances, their frolics, and various assem- 
blages. 

(^orn-huskings were a diversion at 
which many of them gathered and 
laughed and chatted and husked and 
threw corn at each other. Then there 
originated a custom, after the husking- 
bee, to hoist the master to the shoulders 
of the men and carry him about the 
premises, singing songs improvised for 
the great occasion. 

In the Civil war there were about 
seventy-five enlisted colored men from 
this county. The great part of them 
enlisted in the 2d Missouri and 1st Iowa 
"African Descent." 

In 18G5, when the slaves were freed, 
many of them were anxious for a taste 
of liberty, and left their mistress and 
master and "set up" for themselves. 
Many of them had a distaste for country 
life and made a "bee line" for Hannibal, 
Palmyra and Macon. 

Others left the state, going where anti- 
slavery people lived, expecting to re- 
ceive therefrom much substantial sym- 
pathy and assistance, but few ever 
realized their fond ambitions. ]\[any of 
them got into their "noggin" that when 
the country freed them it would make 
them a donation, — and they are still 
looking for their "forty acres and a 
mule." 



The Civil war was a death blow to 
slavery. In 1862-63 hundreds of slaves 
left their masters. No one can imagine 
the change that the tui-n of the wheel 
wrought. Even the slaves of the Union- 
ists ran away. When by legislative 
enactment and the adoption of the thir- 
teenth amendment the state set all slaves 
free, there was a great deal of discon- 
tent. Men vowed they would not rent 
the colored people a foot of ground nor 
lift their hand to aid them; but time 
has dealt kindly with us, obliterating all 
that feeling, and now very few would re- 
store slavery to our country if they had 
that power. In 1860 the poimlation 
read : 6,565 ; slaves, 724 ; free colored. 1 2 ; 
grand total, 7,301. 

1860 PRESroENTIAL CAMPAIGN. 

The 1860 presidential campaign was 
one that will ever be kept fresh in the 
minds of oncoming generations, because, 
for its remarkable surroundings and 
cliaracteristics, its history will ever be 
per]ietuated and kept before the minds 
of the people. Not only was its charac- 
ter affected by preceding events, but it 
was the pivot on which swung succeed- 
ing history. Among the events which 
preceded the election and gave color to 
the results, were the inflammatoiy 
speeches of great leaders of the Demo- 
cratic and Republican parties in both the 
North and the South ; the enactment in 
the various northern states of the "per- 
sonal liberty bills," which rendered in- 
oiierative in those states the fugitive 
slave law; exciting and printed debates 
in congress over the repeal of the Mis- 
souri Compromise; also the Kansas- 
Nebraska controversy, the John Brown 
raid on Harper's Ferry, Ya., in the fall 



60 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



of 1859, and other minor details of more 
or less importance. 

The coimtry was up in arms with ex- 
citement, and right in the midst of the 
enthusiasm on came the presidential 
cam^jaign, which added fire to the flames 
already aglow. Everywhere the slavery 
question was the all-absorbing topic. 
The populace was wrought into a frenzy. 
The Republican party, which as yet had 
not received a single vote in Shelby 
county, had carried by a large majority 
the North states in the 1856 canvass 
and since that time added new strength 
to its ranks from year to year, and as 
there was strife in the Democratic ranks, 
encouraged by the gains they had con- 
tinually made, they fought like tigers to 
win their tickets. Enthusiasm had struck 
both parties, but the Democratic party 
could not unite its forces, and at the 
Democratic convention at Charleston, 
S. C, on April 2.3, after a stormy and 
discordant session lasting several days, 
the ranks remained as they were at the 
beginning, a divide that could not be 
bridged, and two sets of candidates were 
nominated. Stephen A. Douglas and 
Herchel B. Johnson were the names for 
president and vice president of the regu- 
lars, and John C. Breckinridge and 
Joseph Lane by the southern or states' 
rights division of the party. 

The "Constitutional Union" party 
was one composed of old Whigs, Know 
Nothings and conservatives from differ- 
ent parties. It nominated John Bell, of 
Tennessee, and Edward Everett, of 
:Massachusetts, on the following brief 
but comprehensive platform: "The 
Union, the Constitution and the enforce- 
ment of the laws." 

The Republicans then forged to the 



front with Abraham Lincoln and Hanni- 
bal Hamlin, declaring principally in their 
platform that each state had the absolute 
rigiit to control and manage its own 
domestic institutions, denying that the 
constitution, of its own force, carried 
slavery into the territories whose nor- 
mal condition was said to be that of 
freedom. Summarized, their platform 
declared hostility to the extension of 
slavery, but non-interference where it 
did not exist. 

Missouri's situation was indeed a 
peculiar one. She was the only neigh- 
boring slave state bordering on the ter- 
ritories of Nebraska and Kansas, and 
she was deeply concerned, from a selfish 
if not a sentimental motive. She was 
both ! Her people or their ancestors 
came largely from Virginia, Tennessee 
and Kentucky, primitive slave-holding 
states, and many owned slaves or were 
otherwise interested in the preservation 
of an institution against which the Re- 
iniblican party had dealt a blow. From 
a sentimental view it was thought to be 
unmanly or cowardly to yield to the coer- 
cion or dictates of tlie northern aboli- 
tionists. 

The struggle was a memorable one. 
Politics were stirring. Each side fought 
for added strength. The canvass in the 
state was a spirited one. The division 
in the Democratic party was manifest in 
Missouri. The state convention nomi- 
nated Claiborne F. Jackson, of Saline 
county, for governor. The Bell and 
Everett party first nominated Robert 
Wilson, of Andrew, and on his with- 
drawal, Hon. S. Orr, of Green county. 
Then ])oliti('ians commenced to sound 
Afr. Jackson as to his personal views on 
the ])rinci)inl rjuostion over which the 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



61 



states were contending, and, last bnt not 
least, which of the Democratic nominees 
did he favor. For a period of time the 
wily politician succeeded in eluding their 
strategic efforts, bnt at last thej' cor- 
nered him in snch a manner that he came 
and fairly and squarely announced him- 
self for Douglas because he believed him 
to be a regularly and fairly chosen nomi- 
nee of the party, but also announced 
himself as in utmost sympathy with 
some of the Breckenridge ^^rinciples, 
which called forth again much criticism 
and dissension ; and soon thereafter the 
Breckenridge men called a state conven- 
tion and nominated Hancock Jackson, of 
Howard, for governor, and Monroe M. 
Parsons, of Cole, for lieutenant- 
governor. 

Encouraged by the widening gulf in 
the Democratic party, the Bell and 
Everett party had high hopes of electing 
their gubernatorial candidate at the 
August election and then carrying the 
state for Bell the following November. 

To this end they used all possible 
means of widening the breach in the 
Democratic party to further the success 
of the cause they promulgated ; but their 
tactics were foreseen by the enemy and 
they made it uji to disagree on the presi- 
dential nominee but to support, as a 
whole, C. F. Jackson and Thomas C. 
Eeynolds at the August election, and the 
outcome was their election by 10,000 
majority, C. F. Jackson (Douglas Dem- 
ocrat), 74,44G; Sample Orr (Bell and 
Everett), 64,583; Hancock Jackson 
(Breckenridge Democrat), 11,41."); J. B. 
(Jardenhire (Repul)lican), 6,135. 

The Shelby county vote was: C F. 
Jackson, 64; Sample Orr, 576; Hancock 
Jackson, 95; (fardenhire. 91 ; which was 



the first Republican vote ever cast in 
Shelby county. 

It was said the railroads brought into 
the county many Republicans, and the 
Germans of the county cast their votes 
to that faith. 

Nothing daunted by their defeat in 
August, the Bell and Everett contingent 
of Missouri kept up their fight for their 
l)residential nominee, and only fell short 
a few hundred votes of electing their 
man in the November election. The vote 
as recorded was; 

Douglas electors 58,801 

Belfelectors 58,372 

Breckenridge electors 31,317 

Lincoln electors 17,028 

Douglas majority over Bell 429 

Douglas majority over Brecken- 
ridge 24,484 

Records say that many Democrats cast 
their lot for Bell as the only candidate 
who could defeat Lincoln. In the Octo- 
ber elections the Republicans had car- 
ried Indiana, Pennsylvania and Ohio, 
and Lincoln's election looked almost in- 
evitable. Fusion tickets against the 
Republicans had been formed in New 
York, New Jersey and other eastern 
states, and it was predicted the Tennes- 
see statesman might be elected after all. 

The result for president in Shelby 
county stood: Bell, 702; Douglas, 476; 
Breckenridge, 293 ; Lincoln, 90. Bell re- 
ceived almost the Douglas and Brecken- 
ridge vote combined. The Republicans 
restored to Lincoln all the votes but one 
that had been cast to Gardenhire; and 
the Rejiublicans cannot yet compute the 
loss of that vote, so systematically were 
they organized. Some jocosely say "ho 



62 



HISTORY or SHELBY COUNTY 



died" and some contend "it died," while 
others contend that the official record of 
1860 was surely erroneous, contending 
that ninety Lincoln votes were not to be 
found in the county of Shelby in 1860. 

THE SITUATION IN 1860. 

The troubles in Kansas and the de- 
bates in congress on the subject of 
slavery had given force to the forma- 
tion of a new party wholly devoted to 
the work of opposing the extension of 
slavery. It took in time the name Re- 
publican. In 1856 its candidate for the 
presidency was John C. Fremont, a 
son-in-law of Thomas H. Benton. He 
received 114 of the 296 electoral votes; 
hence the new party had great hopes of 
success as the camijaign of 1860 came on. 
Public feeling was hysterical. The whole 
country was aflame with sectional ani- 
mosities. The agitation for abolition 
had stirred the American people as 
nothing had ever done in the past. A 
mass of peoi)le in the northern states 
were determined to destroy slavery at 
any cost. Many southerners felt that 
the only way to preserve their own peace 
and property was to quietly withdraw 
from the Union. 

Others said to remain in the Union 
and settle their difficulties there. It does 
seem strange now that a civilized people, 
who had established and for seventy 
years lived under a republic of popular 
sovereigiity, could possibly have desired 
a perpetuation of slavery. But there 
were no meliorating circumstances. 
Slavery had formerly existed in all the 
colonies. When it became unprofitable in 
the North the slaves were sold to the 
soutlicrners, with whom it was profit- 



able. Many slave owners had inherited 
tliem from their fathers, and slaves were 
valuable projjerty. The average man is 
slow to give up valuable property with- 
out resistance, and it was a problem 
to know what to do with them if tliey 
were freed. Many jjersons feared the 
consequence if millions of ignorant 
people should be turned loose, penni- 
less, among their former masters. 

Beyond a doubt, slavery had been a 
benefit to the slaves themselves. They 
were taken from the savages and bar- 
barians of Africa, and while in slavery 
they had received many benefits from 
the habits of civilization. They had 
learned how to work, and tliat exalted 
them and made them less dangerous free- 
men. It had prepared them to enjoy 
their liberty when it should come, — a 
desire which was becoming a part of 
their being. 

STIEKING TIMES .4FTER THE ELECTION. 

As may have been expected by the 
returns from Shelby county, when the 
news of the election of Lincoln and Ham- 
lin were received, dissatisfaction was 
evident on every hand; but after the 
first sting was passed they settled down 
to abide the consequences and await the 
result. A number of citizens, however, 
avowed themselves unconditional Union 
men, as they had every year since 1850, 
as in convention they met from time to 
time, and these were some who voted 
for Bell, men wlio had voted for Doug- 
las, and even some of Breckenridge's 
constituency were found among the 
Unionists. However, upon the secession 
of South Carolina and some other south- 
ern states, many changed their view. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



63 



Secessionists one week were Unionists 
the next, and vice versa ; but, above all, 
there fluttered a hope that civil war 
might be averted. 

Conservative men were trembling for 
the republic. There were the North and 
the South radicals that no terms of peace 
would appease. They did everything 
within their power to rend the common- 
wealth in twain. The northern fanatics 
did not want to live in a country where 
one-half depended on the rearing of 
children for the slave market, for pros- 
perity; the constitution that permitted 
slavery was classified as an instrument 
of infamy, and the flag was denounced as 
an infamous lie. 

At the same time, the southern radi- 
cals were as pronounced in their vindic- 
tive accusations, claiming that they had 
been and were about to be trampled on 
by the North, and therefore they were 
seceders and believed in breaking up a 
government which they could not con- 
trol. The majority, however, of this 
county, believed that the good of ]\Iis- 
souri was identical with the good of 
other slave-holding states, but they were 
conservative enough to want to await the 
developments of the new administration 
before withdrawing the state from the 
Union. "Let us await the movements 
of the administration," was heard on 
every side; yet a goodly minority 
thought they could foresee the result 
and were in favor of secession at once. 



' INCENDIAEY TALK. 

At Circuit court on the fourth Monday 
in November, 1860, the slaves belonging 
to the estate of George Gaines, deceased, 
were sold at the court house door, and 
during the sale there was a little Dutch- 
man who was about half drunk and who 
swore it was not right to sell negroes. 
Although he talked very broken, the by- 
standers understood enough to think he 
was saying something aliout the divine 
institution of slavery; and he was ar- 
rested, taken before a justice of the 
]ieace, and had to give bond for his ap- 
pearance at the next court, or go to jail 
to await the action of the next grand 
jury at the next term of Circuit court. 

His was an indictable offense under 
the statutes of Missouri, which said that 
if any person should say anything in the 
hearing of a negro calculated to make 
him rebellious or insubordinate, such 
person, on conviction, should be sent to 
the penitentiary for a term of not less 
than five years. The Dutchman gave 
bond for his appearance, but did not 
appear. If he had he would have stood 
a good chance for the penitentiary, for 
the negroes were not allowed to swear 
whether they heard certain remarks or 
not, and men were convicted on the testi- 
mony of prosecuting witnesses who 
swore they "believed the negroes 
heard," etc. This was the way such 
trials were generally managed. 

Holliday, "Sketches." 



CHAPTER VI. 

The Col'xty's War Eecord — The Moemox AVae — The Iowa "\Vae — Shelby Fig- 
ures IX Mexicax "War — The "War of 1861 — Governor Jackson Refuses to 
Respond — The Hunnewell IMeeting — The Flag-Raising Period— The First 
Federal Troops — First Union Company Organized— Salt River Bridge 
Burned — Join Green's Company — Green Takes Shelbina — Report of Col. 
N. G. "Williams, Third Iowa Infantry — "What the Kansas Officers Said — 
Second Burning of Salt River Bridge — Shelby'^ County- Confederate 
Troops — Movement of Union Forces — General Grant in Shelby — Secession 
of Missouri — County Court Meetings — Changes in County* Officials. 



the county's war record. 

The citizenship of Shelby county, be 
it said to their ci'edit, are and always 
have been a peaceable and law-abiding 
people. They, ho^Vever, are not cowards, 
and whenever a call has been made for 
volunteers to defend our nation's honor, 
Shelby has willing-ly responded with her 
just proportion. The people, however, 
are the peaceable kind, and prefer to 
live the simple life around the home fire- 
side rather than to shoulder a rifle and 
march to war. "Were all nations like 
Shelby county the time would soon come 
when, as Isaiah said nearly three thou- 
sand years ago, "they shall beat their 
swords into ])lows]iares and their svears 
into pruning hooks : Nation shall not 
lift up sword against nation, neither 
shall they learn war any more." 

The ]ieople of Shelby county, however, 
participated to some extent in four wars. 

the mormon W.iR. 

The followers of Joseph Smith, who 
claimed to have received from an angel 



a new bible (1827) at Palmyra, X. Y., 
had found their way into Missouri and 
had settled in the western part of the 
state. The people clamored for their 
expulsion, and in 1838 and 1839 consider- 
able skirmishing took place in Caldwell 
and Carrol counties between the militia 
of Missouri and the disciples of Joseph. 
It was to uphold the honor of the state 
that Capt. S. S. Matson, in the early 
part of the year 1839, was sent with a 
company of Shelby county volunteers to 
the field of battle. The company got 
only as far as Keytesville, Chariton 
county, and then disbanded and returned 
home, without so much as the smell of 
iwwder on their coats. 

the IOWA war. 

Missourians located along tlie liorder 
of Iowa had for years been in a dispute 
with their Iowa neighbors over the boun- 
dary line between the two states. At 
times the contention took on a serious 
phase. The people of Iowa and Alissouri 
became revengeful and unfriendly, and 



64 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



65 



from 1837 to 1845 there were numerous 
small but sometimes quite serious en- 
gagements between the two contending 
sections. To aid their ]\Iissouri neigh- 
bors a company of infantry was organ- 
ized in about the year 1840 in Shelby 
and sent to the front. The matter was, 
however, settled by the Supreme court 
of the United States, and the infantry, 
like Captain Matson's company, turned 
around and marched right home again, 
without the stain of blood upon their 
hands. 

SHELBY FIGURES IN THE MEXICAN WAR. 

Wlien a company was organized in 
July, 1846, at Palmyra, to reinforce Col. 
Sterling Price's 2d Missoui-i Mounted 
Infantry, with Gen. David Willock as 
ca]itain, Shelby furnished some valiant 
volunteers. On arriving at Port Leaven- 
worth; Colonel Price's regiment was 
foimd full, and four additional compa- 
nies that were present, including the 
company from Marion, were formed into 
an extra battalion, to be attached to the 
regiment. Willock was elected lieutenant- 
colonel and Anson Smith succeeded him 
as captain of Company I, of Marion. 
Samuel Shepard later succeeded Smith. 
Of Company I, 2d Missouri Volunteers, 
"VV i 1 1 c k ' s Extra Battalion, Shelby 
county, furnished : 

James A. Carothers, first lieutenant 
(dead), and privates William H. Brown, 
George W. Barker, J. Calvin Carothers, 
Robert Clark (died in service at Las 
Vegas, February 22, 1847), James R. 
Creel, Thomas S. Dunbar, Peter P. 
Davis, James Parker, W. R. Strachan, 
General McNeal (provost marshal). 

The company left Palmyra, July 20. 
1846, arrived at Fort Leavenworth in 



due time, and was mustered into service 
August 20. Arrived at Santa Fe in 
October, in which section they spent their 
term of service. Some of our members 
joined the assault on El Moro, Janu- 
ary 25, 1847, and were also in our Indian 
fight on the Seneca river, February 1, 
1847. 

The principal service rendered, how- 
ever, was guard and garrison duty at 
Las Vegas, Santa Fe and Taos, and in 
grazing camps. In the fall of 1847 the 
company was mustered out at Leaven- 
worth and returned home October 10-12. 
The company marched from Mexico to 
Leavenworth, thence to Palmyra, most 
of those from Shelby stopping at home 
en route. 

THE WAE OF 1861. 

The twenty-first general assembly of 
the state of Missouri met at Jefferson 
City on December 31, 1860. The Shelby 
county representative, Hon. John Mc- 
Afee, played a jirominent part in the 
proceedings of this assembly. Mr. Mc- 
Afee was chosen speaker of the house 
as a Democrat of the extreme pro- 
slavery wing of the party. He received 
seventy-seven votes to forty-three for 
Marcus Boyd of Greene county, a Bell- 
Everett man, and four for Thomas L. 
Price, of Cole county, a Douglas-Dunn 
man, and one for John Hyer, of Dent 
county. This was a great honor for 
Shelby county and also to her illustrious 
representative, who was chosen to this 
high position at so critical a period in 
the history of the state. The message 
sent to the legislature by the retiring 
governor, Hon. Robert M. Stewart, was 
mild and conservative on the slavery 
and secession proposition. To show how 



66 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



conservative he was, we give tlie follow- 
ing extract from his message: "The 
people of Missouri ought not to be fright- 
ened from their propriety by the past 
unfriendly relation of the North, nor 
dragooned into secession by the re- 
stricted legislation of the extreme 
South." 

The inaugural message of Governor 
Claiborne Fox Jackson was not so con- 
servative. He held that the interests 
and destiny of the slave-holding states 
were the same; that the state was in 
favor of remaining in the Union as long 
as there was any hope of maintaining 
the guarantees of the constitution, but 
that in the event of a failure to reconcile 
the differences which then threatened 
the disruption of the Union, it would 
be the duty of the state "to stand by 
the South," and that he was utterly op- 
posed to the doctrine of coercion in any 
event. Governor Jackson concluded his 
message by recommending that a state 
convention be called "in order that the 
will of the people may be ascertained 
and effectuated." 

The legislature on January 17th 
passed a bill in accordance with Gov- 
ernor Jackson's recommendation, calling 
a convention and appointing the follow- 
ing February 18th as the day of the 
election of delegates, and February 28th 
as the day that the convention should 
convene. The bill also provided that 
there should be three delegates from 
each senatorial district, so that in the 
aggregate the convention was composed 
of three times as many delegates as there 
were state senators. 

Restrictions and limitations were, 
however, placed ujion the authority 
granted to this body of men, so that no 



act, ordinance or resolution passed by 
them should become valid until ratified 
by a majority of the qualified voters of 
the state voting upon the question. 

It therefore became impossible for 
Missouri to secede from the Union with- 
out a vote of a majority of her qualified 
voters. Hon. Charles H.. Hardin, of the 
Boone-Callaway district, was the author 
of this part of the resolutions. Mr. 
Hardin was afterwards elected governor. 

At that time, as now, Shelby county 
was comprised in the district with Adair 
and Macon counties, which was then the 
seventh district. Each county was al- 
lowed to name a candidate on the uncon- 
ditional Union ticket. The three can- 
didates were John D. Foster, of Adair; 
Frederick Eowland, of Macon, and 
Joseph M. Irwin, of Shelby. G. W. 
Hillias, a young lawyer of Shelbyville, 
was selected as the conditional Union 
candidate. He was to vote for secession 
on certain conditions that might possibly 
arise. Mr. Hillias later, or on March 7, 
1861, established the Shelby County 
Weekly, a newspaper which he published 
at Shelbyville. Irwin and his two run- 
ning mates were elected by a large 
majority, and on the very day that Jef- 
ferson Davis was inaugurated president 
of the Confederacy. Shelby voted nearly 
three to one for the unconditional Union 
candidates. Sterling Price, of Chariton 
county, was chosen president of the con- 
vention that assembled at Jefferson City, 
February 28, 1861. Mr. Price was later 
a distinguished general in the Confed- 
erate army. After being in session for 
two days, the convention adjourned to 
meet in St. Louis on the 4tli of iMarch 
following, the day that Abraham Lin- 
coln became ]>resident. TTei-e it con- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Gr 



tinned in session until Marcli 22d, at 
which time an adjournment was taken 
until the third Monday in December, un- 
less called together prior to that date 
by a call of a majority of a committee 
of seven. Of the ninety-nine members 
of this convention, fifty-three were na- 
tives of Virginia or Kentucky, three were 
Germans, and one an Irishman. Thir- 
teen were from the North. On the 9th 
day of March the committee on federal 
relations, through its chairman, Hon. 
Hamilton R. Gamble, of St. Louis, made 
a report declaring that secession by Mis- 
souri was "certainly not demanded." 
The report further said, ' ' The true posi- 
tion for Missouri to assume is that of a 
state whose interests are bound up in 
the maintenance of the Union, and whose 
kind feelings and strong sympathies are 
with the people of the southern states, 
with whom we are connected by the ties 
of friendship and blood." 

There were only five or six votes in 
opposition to the resolution. Throughout 
the proceedings of the convention Mr. 
Irwin was a radical Union man. He did 
not figure prominently in the debates 
during these strenuous days, but his 
votes were all cast on the side of the 
radical Union men. He cast his vote 
for the test oaths, and on July — , 186.3, 
(the day the convention adjourned sine 
die.) he voted for the ordinance emanci- 
pating the slaves, to take effect July 4, 
1876, and providing for the payment to 
every loyal owner of the sum of $300 for 
every slave so emancipated. 

It was now war — war and rumors of 
war. The people of Shelby county were 
as intensely agitated over the matter as 
a people could possible be. The only 
topic of conversation was war. A large 



part of the population of the county sym- 
pathized with the South and freely and 
openly gave expression to their feelings, 
while the Union side likewise had many 
friends and defenders. War was not 
only freely discussed, but many actually 
prepared for it, while others declared in 
conservative tones that Missouri had 
done nothing to bring on a war, and 
would do nothing to help it along should 
one break out. They would say, "We 
are neither secessionists nor abolition- 
ists, and we are neither fanatics nor 
fire-eaters." 

The Union men and the secessionists, 
however, began to hold secret meetings. 
Friendly they remained as they met 
each other in the everyday walks of life ; 
but the smell of powder was being 
wafted by every breeze that crossed the 
county, and in the dim distance the clank 
of arms and the muffled beat of the drum 
could be heard. While the meetings were 
supposed to be secret, they were known 
to both sides. The deliberations, how- 
ever, were intended to be kept strictly 
within the breast of each attendant. 
Both sides began to prepare for war, in 
case of an emerency, while each side 
hoijed for peace. They resolved that if 
come it must they would have their pow- 
der dry and their affairs in a condition 
that they might loyally give their time 
and service to the cause they believed to 
be right and just. It matters little now 
which side was on the right and which 
side was in error, one thing can be said 
to the credit of both sides : no men were 
ever more sincere, more in earnest, and 
more honest in o]nnion. 

The citizens of the surrounding coun- 
ties were also busy. Lewis, Knox, Adair 
and Clark, to the liorth, had declared in 



68 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



numerous public meetings for the Union. 
Monroe, to the south, favored the Crit- 
tenden compromise, while Marion, to the 
east, favored openly the cause of seces- 
sion. The citizenship of the county was 
nervous, feverish and excited during the 
winter of 1861. The Union sentiment 
seemed to predominate, yet the seces- 
sionists were bold and demonstrative, 
and on March 16 many attended the Con- 
federate flag-raising at Emerson, Marion 
county, and later the same event at Pal- 
myra. This fired their souls with enthu- 
siasm and filled their hearts with sym- 
pathy for their southern kinsmen. Many, 
yes, perhaps nine-tenths of their number, 
were connected with the South by strong 
cords of kinship, of birth, and other self- 
interests. Hon. G. Watts Hillias, who 
had been defeated as delegate to the 
state convention on the conditional 
Union ticket, now edited the Shelby 
County Weekly, at Shelbyville, and while 
in fact he was a secessionist, he was 
mild and in tone for the Union, with 
many "ifs" and provisos. 

G0\^EN0R JACKSON REFUSES TO RESPOND. 

On the 12th day of April, 1861, when 
Fort Sumter was fired on by the Con- 
federates, there was great excitement 
throughout the whole country, which was 
participated in by even the peaceable 
citizens of Shelby. President Lincoln 
immediately issued a proclamation call- 
ing for seventy-five thousand volunteers, 
but Governor Jackson refused to resjiond 
to the call or requisition on Missouri. 
This news rapidly spread over Missouri, 
and many openly declared in favor of 
secession, while others stood steadfastly 
by the Union. 

Governor Jackson issued a call on the 



22d of April for an extra session of the 
legislature, as he said in the call, "for 
the purpose of enacting such laws and 
adopting such measures as may be 
deemed necessary and proper for the 
more perfect organization and equip- 
ment of the militia of the state, and to 
raise money enough and such other 
means as may be required to place the 
state in proper attitude for defense." 
This extraordinary session of the legis- 
lature lasted only twelve days, from May 
12th to May 23d inclusive. The speaker 
of the house, Hon. John McAfee, of 
Shelby county, stood by the governor on 
all his measures. He zealously supported 
the governor's war bills, known as Jack- 
son's military bill, and all the measures 
adopted against the federal government. 

THE HUNNEWELL MEETING. 

A public meeting had been called to 
take place at Hunnewell on the 13th day 
of April. It so happened that this meet- 
ing followed the firing on Fort Sumter. 
Both sides were to be represented, and 
the cord of excitement was drawn to its 
utmost tension. The meeting was held 
and G. Watts Hillias represented the 
secessionists and Esquire Samuel B. 
Hardy, of Jackson township, espoused 
the cause of the Unionists. Al McAfee, 
who died only a few years ago at his 
home in Clarence, and who was a strong 
southern sympathizer, attended the 
meeting. It seems Mr. McAfee was 
somewhat disappointed in the way Hil- 
lias had presented the cause of the 
South, and he (McAfee) gave vent to 
his feelings, in an article published in 
the Weekly the following issue of the 
paper. To give the readers of this his- 
tory some idea of the feeling that 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



69 



existed in those days, no less on the one 
side than on the other, we reproduce 
Mr. McAfee's letter: 

' ' I attended the meeting at Hunnewell 
on Saturday last, and propose to give 
your readers a few items. In vain we 
have looked for a peaceful solution of 
our national trouble. War has begun 
and the time is at hand when every man 
should speak boldly and fearlessly his 
sentiment. Men cannot longer hide their 
real opinions under high-sounding and 
once loved and much cherished names. 
It is the high duty of every man to speak 
and act for whichever side he deems 
right. I am a southerner in the full 
sense of the word. I am proud of the 
name, and therefore neither afraid nor 
ashamed to make the avowal. All my 
feelings are with the South. I believe 
they have truth, justice and right on 
their side, and, such being the case, a 
justice-loving God will aid them in their 
glorious struggle for independence. 

"I attended that meeting to hear Hil- 
lias make a speech. I wanted to hear a 
secession speech, right out, but I was 
mistaken. He is a secessionist on cer- 
tain conditions. The young man, in a 
clear, forceful manner, presented the 
position he occupied in the recent can- 
vass. He was not for immediate seces- 
sion — wanted a fair and honorable com- 
]iromise, but, failing in this, was in favor 
of ^Missouri uniting her destiny with the 
South. We understood in this section 
that lio was an immediate secessionist, 
and that his opponent occupied precisely 
the position which I find Hillias occu- 
pied. Hence your readers can reason- 
ably account for the heavy vote given for 
the so-called Union ticket. We are not .sub- 



missionists by any means. He gave the 
black Republicans some lovely blows. He 
closed his speech, which was able and 
eloquent, with some just and cutting re- 
marks in regard to the proceedings of 
our state convention. He spoke thus of 
the majority. What a horrible imposi- 
tion this convention affair is ! 

"Judge S. B. Hardy arose to reply; 
said he had been requested so to do by 
some of the leading men of the party in 
this section. The judge began by com- 
plimenting Abe Lincoln. Said that Lin- 
coln had done all that man could do for 
the welfare of his country; that the 
black Republican party had already 
given the South more than they asked 
and seemed somewhat displeased at Hil- 
lias because he was hard on the black 
Republicans. Said he must not judge 
the black Republicans too hard — must 
give the devil his due. The judge, in his 
anxiety to relieve the black Republican 
party from any censure, was willing to 
make Judge Douglas a black Republican. 
Now, I have no fondness for some of 
Judge Douglas's views, yet, if he can 
preach black Republican doctrine with a 
more hearty will than did Judge Hardy, 
he is too black for me. 

"I venture the assertion that Giddings 
himself does not more warmly support 
Abe Lincoln than did Judge Hardy, and 
yet he would feel himself insulted if I 
were to call him a black Republican. For 
shame, Judge; you and those who act 
with you — who sustain Lincoln and 
preach the same doctrines of his party — 
do have the moral courage to come out 
at once and say you are black Repub- 
licans ! It would be more manly. In fact, 
we would respect you all more. AVlay 



70 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



seek to hide under the name of Union, 
unless you all intend to form a new party 
composed of black Eepublican principles 
and adopt the name of Union the better 
to deceive the masses? It is a good 
name, for you are all 'unconditional 
Union men' — submissionists in the true 
and full sense of the word. Southern 
men tvith northern principles don't suit 
this climate. There is no excuse for men 
to act thus. The Union of our fathers is 
dead. Black Bepublicans killed it. 

"We who loved it, and attested that 
by following its light, now deeplj' mourn 
over it. We would gather up the bro- 
ken fragments and, placing them as they 
have been placed by our noble brethren 
of the South, would assist to guard those 
glorious particles forever. 

"The question for Missourians to 
settle is whether they will unite their 
destiny to a white man's southern con- 
federacy or with the negro confederacy 
of the North. Again, Judge, as you were 
the representative of your party, of 
course they endorse your views, and you 
said you were opposed to those seceded 
states being acknowledged inde]iendent 
by the government at Washington; 
hence you are in favor of coercion. 
That was a manly confession of yours. 
But I had understood your party had 
backed down from that position. 'Tis 
the same that your brethren of the North 
occupy. They are all in favor of coer- 
cion. The war has begun. When the 
judge closed, a glorious shout went up 
for the young champion of constitutional 
rights, and the way he poured hot shot 
into the .judge and his black Republican 
allies would do the soul of an honest 
man good. 



"Now, I imdertake to say that the 
people of this township do not endorse 
any such sentiment as Judge Hardy 
uttei-ed on Saturday last; nor do they 
endorse the policy jDursued by a majority 
in the convention. The men are brave 
and intelligent; they loved the Union 
wliile it was one, but they are not base 
submissionists. Therefore it is useless 
for men under the garb of the Union to 
attempt to hide their love for black 
Republicanism. A. McAfee. 

"Jackson Township, April 16, 1861." 

THE FLAG-RAISING PERIOD. 

The Union sympathizers and the seces- 
sionists both began to stir them.selves. 
The Confedei'ates, however, were the 
most active, and began to show their 
loyalty to the cause they advocated by 
hoisting secession flags. These emblems 
were identical with the one used by the 
Confederate States. The first Confed- 
erate flag that was raised in Shelby 
county was the one that stood in William 
Baker's door-yard, at the place now 
called Cherry Box. The land on which 
the flag stood is now owned by J. G. 
Detwiler. Quite a crowd of southern 
sympathizers gathered at the jDole- 
raising, and Capt. William H. Rawlings 
made a violent secession speech. In INIay 
a similar flag was raised on the south 
side of the court house square, near the 
entrance to the court house, in Shelby- 
ville. This was a great day for the 
southern cause in Shelby county. Nu- 
merous speakers were invited, but the 
only ones to respond were Hon. James S. 
Green, for whom J. M. Ennis drove in a 
buggy to Canton, Lewis county, and Ed- 
ward McCabe, of Palmyra. Green was 



HIST01?Y OF SHELBY COUNTY 



71 



one of Missouri's greatest orators, and 
in 1857 was elected to the United States 
senate to serve from 1857 to 1861, and 
was defeated for re-election by the legis- 
lature in 1861 because he was a seces- 
sionist. However, he received seventy- 
six votes on one ballot, which was witliin 
three votes of a majority. Green made 
a brilliant speech, which was very bitter 
on the Union men. During the course of 
his speech, and addressing himself to 
any federals who might be present, he 
said: "If you win the day we will 
leave the state ; if we win, you shall 
leave." This statement was vigorously 
applauded by the secessionists present. 

The speaking was held in the court 
house. The flag was made by the seces- 
sion ladies of the town and afterwards 
divided and made into dresses by the 
ladies to prevent its capture by the 
federal troops. From this time on the 
Confederate flag waved over many 
homes in different parts of the county. 

The Union men did not hoist any flags, 
but were busy just the same. They 
effected an organization at Miller's mill, 
in the eastern part of the county, and 
in Shelbyville, Ben McCoy, a brother-in- 
law to William and Abe Kemper, was 
occasionally drilling a company of Union 
volunteers. Union men were numerous 
in and around Bethel, and we might add 
that this is the only township in Shelby 
county that has given a Republican 
majority since the war period. Griffin 

Frost, a brother to the late 

Frost, who edited the Clarence Courier, 
and who died only recently and was 
buried in Edina, Mo., was at this time 
editing the Shelby County Weekly and 
was told by the Unionists that his room 



was preferable to his companj". He took 
the hint and abandoned the office, going 
to Marion county. 

THE FIEST FEDERAL TROOPS. 

The date on which the first federal 
troops actually set foot on Shelby county 
soil was Jime 13, 1861. The 2d Iowa 
Infantry, under command of Col. Samuel 
Curtis, came down the Mississippi river 
from Keokuk, Iowa, and landed at Han- 
nibal. There they took the Hannibal & 
St. Joe railroad for St. Joe. At Hunne- 
well some citizens were fired upon by 
these troops and two persons were taken 
prisoners. No one was injured, however, 
and the troops passed on to St. Joseph. 
A number of Shelby county Union men 
went to St. Joseph at this time to enlist 
in the service. About this time there 
was an attempt made to organize a bat- 
talion of cavalry, with W. R. Strachan 
as major, and a company was organized 
at Shelbina by Captain Hughes. By this 
time the Shelby countians who had gone 
to St. Joseph had enlisted in the Old 
Missouri 13th Infantry (afterwards the 
25th). They were captured a little later 
at Lexington, Mo., while serving under 
Mulligan. 

The war cloud had now risen to its 
zenith in the sky, and sentiment was 
intense. 

The Monroe City fight happened July 
10th of this year, and about the same 
time a detachment of the 16th Illinois 
came out from Macon City to William 
Baker's place and cut down the secession 
flag-pole that had been raised there. The 
neighborhood was badly scared, but be- 
yond cutting the pole down the troops 
were not disposed to make any military 



72 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



demonstrations. These troops camped 
on Salt river at the old Ray's bridge 
west of Cherry Box. 

riBST UNION COMPANY OEGANIZED. 

A Union meeting was held at Miller's 
mill, six miles east of Shelbyville, in 
Tiger Fork township, the latter part of 
July, 1861. The orators of the occasion 
were John M. Glover, of Lewis county, 
and John L. Taylor, of Knox. There 
were a large number of Union men 
present, but very few who sympathized 
with the Confederate cause. Hon. John 
McAfee, speaker of the house, however, 
attended, and was severely criticized and 
censured by Glover in the latter's speech 
for his (McAfee's) course in the legis- 
lature. After the speaking, McAfee and 
Glover engaged in a controversy, and 
McAfee called Glover a liar. Quick as 
a flash the Lewis countian assaulted the 
speaker. Quite an exciting time fol- 
lowed, but neither of the combatants was 
severely injured. 

At this meeting the Shelby County 
Home Guards were organized, with 
Joseph H. Forman as captain; Robert 
Eaton and Solomon Miller, lieutenants ; 
Oliver Whitney, first orderly sergeant; 
George Lear, second orderly. This was 
an independent company and served as 
infanti'y. 

This company possibly had existed 
irregularly since some time in May, but 
did not enter the United States service 
formally until July 2.3d. It was mus- 
tered in at Shelbina on the above day 
by United States Marshal William R. 
Strachan. This company was authorized 
by Gen. G. A. Hurlbut and continued 
under his jurisdiction until August 23d, 
at which time it was disbanded. 



Guarding the railroad and the govern- 
ment's goods at Hannibal and doing a 
little scouting and camp duty were the 
services rendered the government by this 
company. The men were armed with 
muskets sent them from Hannibal, and 
upon being mustered out a majority 
enlisted in other regiments. 

SALT RIVER BRIDGE BURNED. 

The Missouri State Guards, a com- 
pany of secession troops from Ralls 
county, under Capt. Daniel B. West, 
under direction of Dr. Foster, of Hanni- 
bal, set fire to and bui-ned the Salt River 
railroad bridge on July 10, 1861. The 
bridge was located two miles west of 
Hunnewell. The troops were assisted 
by some of the residents of the neighbor- 
hood, who furnished turpentine to hasten 
the burning. Five cars were burned at 
Hannibal the same day, and Foster or- 
dered the depot burned, but was per- 
suaded to countermand the order by 
citizens of the town. 

At the time the bridge was burned the 
fight was on at Monroe City, and the 
federals were greatly hindered in the 
transportation of supplies and troops. 
The bridge was soon rebuilt by Hurl- 
but 's troops. The sti'ucture was made 
only temporary for a time. Some Illi- 
nois troops soon after constructed a 
block-house near the bridge, and a strong 
guard was kept for some time. Brig.- 
Gen. John Pope was assigned by the 
federal authorities to the North ^Missouri 
command. He made headquarters part 
of the time at Hunnewell and Shelbina. 
Brigadier-General Hurlbut was also an 
active federal officer along the Hanni- 
bal & St. Joe railroad, and spent some 
of his time in Shelby county. 



W 
O 

w 
r 
o 
n 

X 

o 
c 

en 

W 

m 

w 
n 
i-j 

m 
c 

o 
z 

> 

r 

H 

< 
w 



'^^ Hi ..JM,J^„„^.,.,„^J4J^,„^„y^ 



# » ^S 






HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



73 



JOIN GREEN S COMPANY. 

In July of 1861 quite a number of 
Shelbj' county boys who had decided to 
enlist and die if need be for the cause 
they believed to be just, left the county 
and joined the Confederate ranks. They 
enlisted under Col. Martin E. Green, who 
was then at Sugar Camp ford, on the 
Fabius, near Monticello, in Lewis county. 

Colonel Green soon left Lewis county 
and concentrated his forces, about 1,000 
men, near Marshall's mill, about six 
miles northwest of Palmyra. 

AMiile located here. Green sent a com- 
pany into this county to arrest some 
L'nion men at Shelbyville. The company 
was commanded by J. L. Owen, of 
Marion county. They remained in 
Shelbyville an hour or so and then re- 
turned to camp, being unable to find 
their men. 

A few days later, Frisbie McCul- 
lough, commanding a company of Con- 
federates, called at the residence of 
Capt. Joseph Freeman, just east of 
Shelby^'ille, and took the captain and a 
hired man named Gwinn prisoners. 

At another time McCullough visited 
Shelbyville and took Col. John F. Ben- 
jamin prisoner. The latter was held for 
some time and was well guarded all the 
time. He was taken into Knox and 
Lewis counties. Green also made a trip 
to Bethel at one time, but here he did 
not disturb anybody more than to levy 
small contributions in the way of 
supplies. 

In September, Mr. Green broke camp 
at Marshall's mill and went south to 
join General Price's army. He crossed 
the Hannibal & St. Joseph railroad near 
^lonroe City and passed across Monroe 



county, going through Florida and Paris. 

The next noteworthy movement of 
trooi)s in Shelby county took place in 
September, when General Hurlbut, com- 
manding 500 troops of the 3d Iowa. Col. 
David Moore's Northeast Missouri Regi- 
ment, and Colonel Smith, of the 16th 
Illinois, united their forces at Bethel to 
attack Green, whom they supposed to 
be at Philadelphia, in Marion county. 
With their 1,200 men, of whom 400 were 
mounted, and their four pieces of field 
artillery, and 150 Knox and Adair 
County Home Guards, they began their 
march on Green, but on arriving at Phil- 
adelphia they learned of his movement 
to the south. 

Hurlbut now sent Moore and Smith 
with their men on to Palmyra, and with 
the 3d Iowa and about 120 sick men he 
started to Shelbina. He reached Shelby- 
ville at near noon, and remained for din- 
ner, after which the march to Shelbina 
continued. 

Three of the Union soldiers set out on 
foot, without leave, to go from Shelby- 
ville to Shelbina, while the main portion 
of the army was vi.siting at the county 
seat. They had covered about half the 
distance, and were walking down the 
direct road between the two cities, when 
they were fired upon by Confederate 
sympathizers who had concealed them- 
selves behind some large oak trees about 
half a mile north of the Salt river 
crossing. One of the men was killed 
instantly, another wounded, and the 
third escaped unharmed. He was found 
a mile or so east of the scene and was 
taken by J. C. Hale on horseback to the 
command, which they met on the high 
prairie about two miles out of Shelby- 
ville. The dead comrade was taken by 



74 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



the company to Slielbina and buried. The 
two that survived were severely cen- 
sured by their commander for leaving 
the company without permission. 

The parties that did the shooting were, 
it is said, nine in number, and among 
that nmnber were Eay Moss, John 
Jacobs, Bert Hightower, John Evans 
and a Mr. Freeman. They had their 
horses tied near by, and intended, no 
doubt, to tire upon the whole company 
as they passed by; but the three strag- 
glers drew their fire before the full com- 
pany got there. They made their escape 
on horseback. Moss afterwards became 
a captain in the Missouri State Guards 
under General Price. He served six 
months in this capacity and was then 
mustered out and immediately re-enlisted 
in the regular Confederate army. On 
October 4, 1862, he was killed at Corinth, 
Miss., having his head torn off by a 
grape shot. Jacobs also enlisted in the 
regular Confederate service and became 
a captain. He became famous as a 
fighter. After the war he settled at 
Louisiana and died in about 1880. 

At seven o'clock that evening Hurlbut 
reached Shelbina, but could not wire for 
transportation on account of a fierce 
wind and hail storm. He therefore went 
into camp. The next day the company 
received transportation and left about 
noon for Brookfield. 

During this time Moore and Smith 
had remained at Palmyra, but on the 
4th of September set out after Green. 
They, however, left 400 men behind to 
guard the city, who on the 6th, under 
the command of General Pope and ac- 
com]ianied by Col. John M. Glover and 
about fifty men of his cavalry, which 



was organized in northeast Missouri, set 
out for the main army of the Federals. 

GREEN TAKES SHELBINA. 

General Pope, who was now located 
at Brookfield, had three companies of 
the 3d Iowa Infantry under Col. N. G. 
Williams, and a company of the Linn 
County Home Guards from Brookfield, 
to Palmyra, to open the road and then 
to go to Paris, Monroe county, to take 
possession of the specie and funds in the 
bank there, fearing the Confederates 
would get hold of it. On August 31st 
they left Brookfield, and arrived at Pal- 
myra the day following. Here they 
found they had to go to Hannibal in 
order that their engine might be turned 
around. "^JNTiile at Hannibal they were 
joined by the 2d Kansas Eegiment, 
which had fought at "Wilson's creek and 
had come up from St. Louis on a boat 
on their way home to be mustered out. 

The Kansas boys gladly joined the 
men under Colonel Williams and set out 
with them for Paris. Colonel Williams 
had a few more than 600 men, which in- 
cluded the Linn County ^Mounted Home 
Guards under Loring and a large por- 
tion of the 3d Iowa under Lieutenant- 
Colonel Scott. Sunday, September 1st, 
the Federals arrived in Shelbina and 
that evening set out for Paris. They 
arrived there Monday morning, after an 
all-night march. The fimds had been 
removed by the cashier of the bank, and 
could not be obtained. So on the fol- 
lowing morning the troops started to 
return to Shelbina. Colonel Green, who 
was then at Florida, had mustered his 
forces and determined to take the Fed- 
erals. AVilliams and his men reached 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



75 



Shelbina by hard and tiresome marching 
and by considerable dodging and shift- 
ing from one direction to another in 
order to avoid Green. They arrived in 
Shelbina after dark and soon learned 
that General Hnrlbnt had left the town 
that day for Brookfield. The Union men 
realized they were in a close place, with 
only 620 men, and Green close on their 
heels with something like 1,500 Vnen. On 
Wednesday, Septemlier 4th, it conld be 
seen that Green had them surrounded 
and wo^ild soon accomplish his aim. so 
the Federals barricaded the streets and 
concluded to put up the best defense pos- 
sible and to make their get-away as soon 
as an opportunity presented itself. They 
were relived, however, about 11 o'clock 
by a train arriving from Brooktield. It 
was sent by General Hurlbut to take the 
company back to Brooktield. Wednesday 
at noon Colonel Green sent Colonel Wil- 
liams a note which gave the Federals 
thirty minutes to remove the women and 
children and to surrender. The order 
was obeyed as far as removing the 
women and children was requested, but 
no further. The note was not even an- 
swered. Green had obtained a good po- 
sition just southeast of the town and out 
of range of the Federal musket and 
opened tire with his two pieces of artil- 
lery, which belonged to Captain Kneis- 
ley's Palmyra battery. One was a six 
and the other a nine pounder. Nearly 
every shot was well pointed and fell 
somewhere near the center of the town 
near the depot square. Here it was that 
Captain McClure, of the Second Kansas, 
lost a foot. Two balls went through the 
old hotel building and the marksmanship 
was so accurate that only two balls went 
astrav. They were found out north of 



town next day. Green's men were out 
of musket range and, of course, the Fed- 
erals could not fight back, unless they 
could get in closer range. This they did 
not want, so the Kansas troops took the 
train. The whole company then boarded 
the train, except the Linn County 
Mounted Home Guards. They got out of 
town by proceeding under cover of train 
— keeping the train between them and 
the artillery until they were a mile or so 
west of town. The Confederates then 
advanced and took the town. Their tro- 
phies of war were some knapsacks, four 
mules and a wagon and some gims. The 
Confederates now numbered fully 2,500 
men. They had been reinforced by some 
Marion, Ralls and Monroe county guards 
under Col. Theodore Brace. The report 
of the battle by Colonel Williams fol- 
lows: 

REPORT OF COL. N. G. WILLIAMS, THIRD IOWA 
INFANTRY. 

In obedience to your order, I respect- 
fully submit the following statement of 
facts connected with the Paris expedi- 
tion and the reasons why I retired from 
Shelbina : 

Late Friday evening (August 30th), I 
received a telegraphic dispatch from 
General Pope to take my effective com- 
mand, together with Loring's cavalry, 
proceed to Palmyra, open the road, and 
then go to Paris and take the specie and 
funds in the bank and send it to St. 
Louis. Early Saturday morning I 
started from Brookfield to execute the 
order. I arrived in Palmyra about noon, 
was there informed by the railroad em- 
l^loyees that we would have to go to 
Hannibal in order to turn the engine 
west, they telling me it would be impos- 



76 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



sible to back the train. As a further rea- 
son for going to Hannibal there was 
$150,000 specie on board and from in- 
structions I feared it would be in some 
danger of being seized by the rebels. I 
arrived in Hannibal and while feeding 
my men the 2nd Kansas regiment ar- 
rived per boat, enroute for Kansas to 
recruit. I immediately invited them to 
join me in the Paris expedition, as I had 
learned on my down trip that it would 
be unsafe with my force (320 men) to go 
into Monroe county. They consented, 
and we started Sunday morning. Ar- 
rived at Shelbina about noon. I jDressed 
into service some wagons to carry 
provisions and sick men, and started 
for Paris about 8 o'clock in the evening. 
My entire force consisted of about 620 
men, viz: 520 infantry and 100 cavalry. 
I arrived in Paris at daylight Monday 
morning, September 2nd. I immediately 
proceeded to the bank in company with 
M. Cassel, Esq. (agent to receive money). 
We called the directors together. They 
informed us that the cashier had taken 
the money to a safe place, and that they 
did not know where he or the money was. 
"We waited during the day, thinking that 
they would get the money. In the after- 
noon I learned that the whole country 
was rising in arms against us. About 5 
o'clock I gave the order to prepare for 
our return march, but a termendous 
storm coming up I countermanded the 
order and resolved to stay in Paris over 
night. I quartered my men in the Court 
house and vacant buildings. About mid- 
night we received an alarm and turned 
out under arms and remained so during 
the night. Started on our return at day- 
break. 

In the meantime I had learned that 



Green and his forces had got past Gen- 
eral Hurlbut and that he had prepared 
an ambush for me on the straight road to 
Shelbina. I determined to take the road 
to Clinton, making a detour of ten miles. 
Every step of the way I found evidence 
that the whole people were in arms. I 
arrived, however, in Shelbina at night, 
having escaped the ambush, Init had one 
man wounded (sujiposedly mortal) by 
the enemy's pickets. "When I arrived in 
Shelbina I found no communication east 
or west, also learned that General Hurl- 
but had left that day for Brookfield. 
During the night had two alarms. In 
the morning and after the enemy had 
shown himself in force, a train arrived 
from the west and brought word that an- 
other train was coming to take my com- 
mand away. In the meantime the enerdy 
was gathering in still greater force, so 
that I could make out about 3,000 men. 

About noon I received a note from the 
rebel commander, giving me thirty min- 
utes to move the women and children and 
to surrender. I ordered the women to 
leave but made no reply to Green. I bar- 
ricaded the streets and prepared to re- 
sist the enemy. After a short time the 
enemy opened on us with two pieces of 
artillery, one nine and one six pounder 
(reported to me to be brass by an es- 
caped prisoner). Their battery was 
planted a full mile off. I am satisfied 
that at this time the enemy numbered 
fully 3,000. With my glass I could dis- 
cover a strong force under cover of tim- 
ber to support their artillery. I offered 
to lead the men out on the plain and of- 
fer the enemy battle. Major Cloud, of 
the Second Kansas, objected. I did not 
insist, as I thought the opposing force 
too great. 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



77 



During the firing I discovered tlie ene- 
my some two miles in the west tearing up 
tlie track. I immediately ordered one 
company on the train to run up to them, 
which was done, and the enemy driven 
from that point. I observed also a force 
in the east tearing up the track and 
started a train that way, but the train 
came back, as the enemy opened iipon it 
with their artillerj'. The officer in com- 
mand reported to me that he supposed 
the engine and train of more value than 
a little piece of track. I told him he did 
right. 

The enemy fired well. Almost every 
shot was well pointed, either striking the 
building or falling in the square. Cap- 
tain McClure, of the Second Kansas, had 
his foot shot off. After receiving some 
thirty shots, the officers of the Second 
Kansas held a meeting, and sent Major 
Cloud to me, demanding that I should 
withdraw the men, saying that tliey had 
been in one Springfield fight and did not 
wish to be in another (meaning fighting 
against such odds), and also that if I 
would withdraw and get artillery they 
would come back with me. He further 
stated that his men were discontented 
and supposed they were going home and 
did not like being brought on the expedi- 
tion; that he, to encourage them, had 
held out the inducement to them that the 
money in the bank was to pay them off 
with; that they only considered them- 
selves in the light of volunteers, etc. I 
still further resisted, and declared I 
would not mention the subject of retreat- 
ing to my men, as I had been to them and 
told them we could hold the place; 
but finally they insisted so strongly, and 
fearing there might be a stampede, I 
consented to call the officers together. 



When they met, I said to them I had 
nothing further to say. After they had 
decided it to be expedient to retire I told 
them to wait oi'ders. I delayed giving 
orders any further than to tell them to 
go to their companies and prepare to 
move. After a few minutes I saw the 
Kansas men starting for the cars. They 
filled the first ti'ain and started. I 
jumped on the engine and ordered the 
engineer to move slow, so that the cav- 
alry could keep up with him on the right 
flank (the enemy was on the south). I 
then jumped off and started back for my 
own men (280), but they, seeing the Kan- 
sas men off, had got on the second train 
and started before I got back. In the 
confusion the Iowa men left some of 
their coats and knapsacks in the quar- 
ters. They did not know at the time we 
were retiring from the enemy. There 
was also one transijortation wagon and 
four mules left, all of which might have 
l)een brought off had they waited for 
orders. 

It is proper for me to state that I had 
l)ut one captain with me at the time and 
he had been quite sick for several days, 
and was unfit for duty at the time, but 
he turned out and rendered me valuable 
assistance. I was extremely short for 
officers. I had sent three home sick. I 
then moved the trains to Hudson and re- 
ported to you in person. Very respect- 
fully, your obedient servant, 

N. G. Williams, 
Colonel Third Iowa. 

Brig.-Gen. G. A. Hurlbut, U. S. A. 

WHAT THE KANSAS OFFICERS SAID. 

In their report of the Shelbina affair 
to Brig.-Gen. S. A. Hurlbut, Lieut.-Col. 
Charles W. Blair and Major W. F. Cloud 



rs 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



said: "It is perhaps proper for me to 
state foiTually to you a fact or two rela- 
tive to the evacuation of Shelbina on yes- 
terday. The enemy numbered, as near 
as we could ascertain, about 3,000 men, 
and we had only 600 efficient men. We 
drove them several times and held our 
position until the enemy bi-ought to bear 
upon us two pieces of artillery, one six 
and one nine pounder. AVe having no ar- 
tillery and not being able to reach them 
otherwise, but being compelled to sit be- 
hind barricades and receive discharges 
of artillery, which would inevitably have 
destroyed the command, I, after consul- 
tation with Major Cloud and the ofBcers 
of the Second Kansas, insisted upon the 
men being withdrawn until we could be 
reinforced by artillery, which we under- 
stood was at Brookfield. Colonel Wil- 
liams was averse to the withdrawal, Ijut 
we insisted that it should be done and he 
tinally yielded a reluctant and unwilling 
assent; and as we had volunteered to 
serve in the Paris expedition, he was in 
courtesy compelled to pay some atten- 
tion to our wishes in the matter and con- 
sequently he at last yielded." 

SECOND BUKNING OF SALT RIVER BRmOE. 

After the departure of the Federal 
troops Colonel Green took posession of 
Shelliina and his men remained there 
several hours. Late that evening the 
Confederates burned the railroad bridge 
across Salt river. They also visited Hun- 
newell and caused some slight damage 
about the depot. 

Colonel Blanton, of Monroe county, was 
in command of the company that Green 
sent around west of town to tear up the 
railroad track, and which was made to 
retreat by the company sent out on the 



train by Colonel Williams. Colonel Blan- 
ton received a shot in the mouth ; another 
man in his company lost his horse. 

Green abandoned Shelbina that night, 
but a few men returned and burned some 
freight cars that stood on the side track. 

Hunnewell was now made the base of 
what was expected to be important mili- 
tary movements. And the people of the 
county saw something of the real pomp 
of war. A brigadier-general and his 
staff took charge of affairs and directed 
matters from this town. Then Briga- 
dier-General Pope was sent here to move 
on Green and to totally annihilate the 
latter, who was then stationed at Flor- 
ida, in Monroe county. But General 
Fremont withheld his orders for Pope 
to move on Green until the latter had 
crossed the Missouri river at Glasgow 
and was on his way to join Price at Lex- 
ington. Captain Forman and the other 
Shelby countians who had formerly been 
taken prisoners, were released near Mar- 
shall, after being duly paroled not to 
take up arms until they were exchanged. 

Brigadier-General Pope left Hunne- 
well on September 8 and pushed forward 
to where Green had been near Florida. 
Here he found only a few of the rear 
guard and a portion of their outfit, which 
were captured. Only two shots were 
fired and only one man wounded. The 
cavalry set out to locate Green, but re- 
turned later and announced that the 
Confederates must be over fifty miles 
away. General Pope returned to Hunne- 
well. 

SHELBY COX:XTY CONFEDERATE TROOPS. 

Following the success of the Confeder- 
ates at Blue Run July 21, and Wilson 
creek August 10, the secessionists be- 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



79 



came active and many set out to join the 
Confederate army. Some went to join 
the General Price Home Guards in south- 
western Missouri, others went to Colonel 
Green in Lewis county. There was 
no regular company organized in the 
county, but those who had the war fever 
left the county either singly or in squads 
and joined themselves to the Confeder- 
ate army, either with Colonel Green or 
General Price. A small company was or- 
ganized near Huunewell, however, about 
the first of August, which was not a reg- 
ular organization. They were never mus- 
tered into service and were composed of 
men from the three counties of Marion, 
Monroe and Shelby. The company was 
commanded by Capt. Thomas Stacy, who 
lived on a farm near Hunnewell, in Shel- 
by county. 

August 8th, Stacy's company made a 
raid on Palmyra, which was then unoc- 
cupied and secured some provisions, 
arms and took two citizens prisoners. 
August 16th the company fired on a train 
near Hunnewell. The Sixteenth Illinois 
were on the train and two of the Union 
men were bady wounded. 

MOVEMENT OF UNION FORCES. 

About the first of August, Captain 
Forman received orders fi'om General 
HurHmt to take his comjiany of Shelby 
County Home Guards and search certain 
houses in Shelbyville for military stores. 
Ten members of the Sixteenth Illinois, 
who were stationed at Shelbina, volun- 
teered to go with Captain Forman. 

They reached Shelbyville early in the 
morning and searched the store of J. B. 
Marmaduke, but found no military 
stores. They, however, arrested the vil- 



lage gunsmith, Fred Boettcher, whom 
they charged with repairing guns for 
some Confederates. Boettcher was taken 
from Shelbyville to Slielbina and then 
sent to St. Louis. The Forman Home 
Guards while in Shelbyville also cut 
down the secession flag pole. 

As stated previously, Hon. John Mc- 
Afee was an extreme Southern sympa- 
thizer and ag-itator. He was accused of 
being one of the three men in north Mis- 
souri who did more than a thousand oth- 
ers to bring about hostilities. The other 
two were Senator James S. Green, of 
Lewis county, and Thomas L. Anderson, 
of Palmyra. It is also notable, how- 
ever, that when the cannon began to 
belch forth their deadly missiles of war, 
these three men remained at home. The 
story is told on Mr. McAfee that at one 
time during the progress of the hostili- 
ties that General Hurlbut offered Mc- 
Afee a complete outfit, including horse, 
saddle and bridle and safe conduct out 
of his lines, if he would enlist in Green's 
army. McAfee had been arrested by the 
Sixteenth Illinois on August 6th. The 
company came from Macon over to Shel- 
byville and after placing Mr. McAfee un- 
der arrest took him to Macon and kept 
him a prisoner for some time. 

He was treated severely by the Fed- 
erals because of his pronounced South- 
ern tendencies, and because he had been 
so prominent and active in secession 
matters. It is said General Hurlbut 
caused him to do hard labor in the ex- 
treme August sunshine, such as digging 
privies for the soldiers. After keeping 
him in Macon for a time, he was sent to 
Palmyra, and General Hurlbut ordered 
him tied upon the cab of the engine to 



k 



80 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



keep the Confederates from firing upon 
the train. The order, however, was not 
executed. The engineer refused to run 
the train if the soldiers executed the 
order. 

GENEEAI, GRANT IN SHELBY. 

It was now a settled fact that Missouri 
soil would be stained with the blood of 
man by the cruel hand of war, and the 
Federal government deemed it of the 
greatest importance to keep the Hanni- 
bal & St. Joseph railroad intact. The 
road was needed to transport troops and 
provisions and munitions of war over, 
also in the transmission of messages it 
was of the utmost benefit. It was there- 
fore of very great importance that the 
road should be carefully guarded. To 
accomplish this the government plainly 
realized they must send more men to the 
county. Accordingly Gen. U. S. Grant, 
commanding the Twenty-first Illinois In- 
fantry, and Col. John M. Palmer, com- 
manding the Fourteenth Illinois, were 
sent to relieve Colonel Smith at Monroe 
City. In about a week they were sent on 
to Hunnewell and to the Salt river 
bridge, which had been burned only a 
short time before and which they were 
to guard during the reconstruction 
thereof. It thus appears that Gen. 
Ulysses S. Grant, later one of the great- 
est captains in the Union army and after- 
ward twice President of the United 
States, began his illustrious military 
careei- in Shelby county. While located 
at Salt river bridge. General Grant 
erected a block house, which stood to his 
memory until a few years ago. He was 
ordered to proceed agaist Tom Harris, 
who was conducting a recruiting station 



at Florida. On his arrival there he 
found that Harris and his recruits had 
scattered. General Grant turned around 
and marched back to his post at Salt 
river. In relation to the Grant stay in 
Shelby county, Edgar AVhite, of Macon, 
recently contributed an article to some 
eastern papers. We use it here by per- 
mission : 

Shelbina, Mo. — "Say, do you know I 
lost the opportunity of a lifetime?" 
queried a frosty-haired citizen of this 
town to a group of the oldest inhabitants 
sitting on the benches in the railroad 
park. "I might have had chairs and ta- 
bles and ])ipes and things worth hun- 
dreds — yes, thousands of dollars, by now. 
AVhen the bushwhackers began raising 
Hades up and down the old Hannibal & 
St. Joe until nobody wanted to travel, 
the government sent a rather short, stout 
man up here to look after things. He 
only had a handful of men, and was so 
quiet and easy going that nobody 
thought he amounted to shucks. We 
never took much stock in him till we be- 
gan to notice that he wouldn't let his 
soldiers rob our hen houses and take our 
horses. If any of the men took anything 
all we had to do was to make a roar to 
that quiet, stolid looking fellow and he'd 
say a few short words to somebody and 
we'd get it back with an apology. That 
quiet fellow, who generally wore a cigar 
in his mouth, was a St. Louis woodseller, 
Col. U. S. Grant by name." 

"What's that got to do with gilding 
your furniture?" asked one of the 0. I. 
fraternity. 

"Oh, I forgot; when we found he was 
a pretty decent sort of a Yankee, and 
wasn't out hei'e to raid us, my wife told 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



81 



me to invite him over to supper one 
night. And he'd a come, too, if I had 
asked him. Wish I had now. 

"Let me tell you," the narrator went 
on, "that man Grant soon had more 
friends in these parts than anybody. Of 
course, we were all for the Johnnie Rebs, 
but we respected the square fellows on 
the other side. Grant knew which way 
our feelings were, and he never talked 
politics or got into any controversies. 
He and his men protected the raih'oad at 
the big bridge and made the bushwhack- 
ers afraid to light there. That's all the 
duty he had then. Lots of our people 
went out to his camp on the river and be- 
came acquainted with him. He talked 
to them about fishing and hunting and 
woodcraft and the thousand and one 
homely little occupations that lie nearest 
the countrjTnan's life. But I noticed 
that he would a good deal rather listen 
than talk. He seemed to be gifted that 
way, and he would remember everything 
you told him that was worth remember- 
ing. 

"On each side of us were Union com- 
manders who at that time were talked 
about considerably as being fierce and 
warlike. One was in charge of a large 
force at Palmyra and the other in charge 
of the Department of Northern Missouri 
at Macon. Sometime during the war 
each of these commanders ordered mili- 
tary executions of ten men in their re- 
spective jurisdictions. I'll bet under the 
same circumstances Grant wouldn't have 
done anything like that. Here within the 
length of sixty miles three men were 
making history in their own peculiar 
way, two of them by a rigorous enforce- 
ment of the military law and the other 
by a quiet, unostentatious attention to 



duty. Of the three the quiet man is the 
only one whose name ever got into the 
histories. 

"When Colonel Grant first came to 
these parts most of the Southern men 
hiked out. Grant heard of that and he 
sent couriers out after them, telling them 
to come back home and extending a cor- 
dial invitation to come to his camp and 
get acquainted. Those who accepted the 
invitation were astonished at the plain 
soldier's hospitality and evident good 
will. He talked to them in his easy, bus- 
iness like way, explained the difference 
between a soldier and a marauder and 
said that when his men required feed for 
their horses or provisions for themselves 
orders would be issued and the govern- 
ment would pay for the supplies. He 
said the fact that we were Southern sym- 
pathizers wouldn't make any difference 
with him so long as we didn't come at 
him with guns. We all thought it was a 
pity that such a man should be a Yankee, 
and a citizen asked him one day how he 
could fight to free the 'niggers,' being in 
all other respects so much of a gentle- 
man. I never heard Colonel Grant's an- 
swer, but several people about here did, 
and they quote him this way : 

" 'This war is not to free the niggers; 
if I thought it was I'd take my men and 
join the South.' 

"You may be sure that didn't lessen 
his popularity any in this neck o' the 
woods. We considered Colonel Grant a 
pretty good 'rebel' from that time on, 
and looked with confidence to his lining 
up alongside of Bob Lee before the war 
was over. Well, he did line up alongside 
of Lee, but not the way we had hoped he 
would. 

"It was while Colonel Grant was mak- 



82 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



ing his headquarters hereabouts that he 
was ordered to hunt up and attack 
Colonel Tom Harris and his Confederate 
soldiers, who were becoming somewhat 
audacious. Harris was then much bet- 
ter known than Grant. He had been en- 
gaged in a nmnber of lively skirmishes 
and was said to be a hard and swift 
fighter. Grant knew all this, and I no- 
tice in reading some sketches about him 
since the war that he was just a liit un- 
easy about the outcome of the expected 
encoimter. Nevertheless, he led his men 
bravely enough in the direction of Har- 
ris's camp. The Union force halted be- 
fore ascending the hill, while muskets 
and ammunition were examined, bayo- 
nets fixed and prayers said by the devout 
ones. Then the order came to march. 
The big hill was surmounted, revealing 
a naked plain and a hastily abandoned 
camp. Harris and his warriors skedad- 
dled. 

"'I'll admit I was suffering from 
stage fright when we went up that hill,' 
said Colonel Grant, 'but it never oc- 
curred to me till then that Harris might 
be bothered with the same disease.' 

"That gave rise to Grant's oft-re- 
peated expression that 'When going into 
battle I try to remember that the enemy 
might be as much afraid of me as I am 
of him.' 

"After Colonel Grant left here I read 
of many mean things said about him by 
his enemies, but I din't take much stock 
in 'em. He never said mean things 
al)out other loeople, and that kind of a 
man don't need any defending." 

Shelby county, then, has the distinc- 
tion of being the field in which General 
Grant began his military career, which 



was the stepping stone to the Presidency. 

General Grant in after years wrote a 
letter concerning his stay in Shelby 
county, of which the following is a copy : 

Long Branch, N. J., August 3, 1884. — 
Dear Sir — In July, 1861, I was ordered 
with my regiment, the Twenty-first Illi- 
nois Infantry, to North Missouri to re- 
lieve Colonel Smith, of the Sixteenth, 
who was reported surrounded on the 
Hannibal & St. Joe railroad. On my ar- 
rival at Quincy I found that the regiment 
( ?) had scattered and fled. I then went 
with my regiment to the junction of the 
road from (^)uincy with the one from 
Hannibal, where I remained for a few 
days, until relieved by Colonel Turchin 
with another Illinois regiment. From 
here I was ordered to guard the work- 
men engaged in rebuilding the Salt river 
bridge. Colonel Palmer was there with 
his regiment at the same time. "When 
the work was near completion I was or- 
dered to move against Thomas Harris, 
who was reported to have a regiment or 
battalion encamped near Florida, Mo. T 
marched there, some twenty-five miles 
from Salt river, but found on arrival 
that he had disbanded about the time I 
started. On my return I was ordered to 
Mexico, Mo., by rail. Very truly yours, 

"U. S.' GR.4NT. 

SECESSIOX OF MISSOURI. 

This important event in the history of 
Missouri occurred on the 28th day of Oc- 
tober, 1861. The session of the legisla- 
ture, known as "Claib Jackson's legisla- 
ture," was held in a hall in Neosha, com- 
mencing Octolier 26th, and on the 28th 
an ordinance of secession was passed by 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



83 



both houses. There were in this famous 
assembly of Missouri statesmen at the 
time of secession only thirty-nine mem- 
bers of the house and ten members of the 
senate. Charles H. Hardin was a mem- 
ber of the senate and was the only mem- 
ber of that body to vote "no." He was 
afterward governor of the state. Kepre- 
sentative Shambaugh, of DeKalb county, 
was the only one of the thirty-nine mem- 
bers of the house to vote " no. " Accord- 
ing to the constitution of the state a 
quorum was required to transact busi- 
ness. This would have necessitated the 
attendance of seventeen members of the 
house. The ordinance passed by the 
Jackson legislature was, however, ap- 
proved by the Confederate congress at 
Richmond, Virginia, and Missouri was 
considered by those who sympathized 
with the South as annexed to the South- 
ern Confederacy. 

Shelby county troops were from this 
time on considered Confederates, and 
of these the county had jjerhaps about 
300 in the field. They were mostly with 
Green and Price. The Third battalion of 
infantry, under Green, was commanded 
by Lieut.-Col. S. A. Rawlings, of Shelby 
county, and Capt. Oliver Sparks com- 
manded Company A. 



COUNTY COURT MEETING CHANGES IN 

COUNTY OFFICIALS. 

The county court of Shelby coimty had 
not held a session from October, 1861, 
until in May, 1862, at which time the 
court was called together by public no- 
tice. Of the three county judges who 
had been elected only one attended 
(Judge Daniel Taylor). The other two, 
James Pickett and Perry B. Moore, were 
turned out of office charged with being 
disloyal. The governor appointed in 
their places Samuel Houston and Robert 
Lair. John Dickerson had also been 
elected sheriff, and upon refusing to take 
the "Gamble Oath" was suspended, and 
E. L. Holliday appointed Elizar sheriff. 
Mr. Holliday served until October, at 
which time J. H. Forman was appointed 
by the governor, and in November he 
was elected to the office by a unanimous 
vote. J. J. Foster was also suspended 
as justice of the peace in Salt River town- 
ship and Daniel H. Givens in Jackson 
township shared a similar fate. H. H. 
Weatherby was appointed in Foster's 
place and James Jameson in the place of 
Givens. The assessor's office was also 
made vacant on account of M. J. Priest 
being declared disloyal. Leonard Dobyns 
was appointed to fill the vacancy. 



CHAPTER Vn. 

Missouri State Militia Organize — Bushwhacking in the County — The Bush- 
whacking Near Walkersville — Stockade Built Around Court House — "Spe- 
cial Order No. 30" — Several Changes in Positions — John L. Owen Killed 
— Shelby County Men Executed — The 1862 Election. 



MISSOURI STATE MILITIA ORGANIZE. 

The war department of the govern- 
ment gave Governor Gamble authority 
sometime in December, 1861, to organize 
the Missouri state militia, which was for 
the defense of the state and not to be or- 
dered out of the state unless on the mis- 
sion of defending the state. 

Those who joined this organization 
were to be paid by the United States 
government, subsisted, transported, 
clothed and armed. They were to assist 
and co-operate with the Federal troops 
whenever and wherever they possibly 
eould. 

Two months later, or in February, 
1862, Col. H. S. Lipscomb commenced 
the organization of a company of cav- 
alry. It was designated as the Eleventh 
Cavalry, Missouri State Militia. The 
organization was completed in May fol- 
lowing. The regiment was officered as 
follows : H. S. Lipscomb, colonel ; A. L. 
Gilstrap, lieutenant-colonel ; John B. 
Rogers, J. B. Dodson and John F. Ben- 
jamin, majors. The regiment existed 
until September, or four months, then it 
was consolidated with the Second Mis- 
souri State Militia. John McNeil was 
colonel of the new organization and John 



F. Benjamin was made lieutenant- 
colonel. 

The Eleventh Cavalry, Missouri State 
Militia, was made up mostly of Shelby 
county men. The officers of the Eleventh 
were: John F. Benjamin, captain from 
February 10, 1862, until June 3, 1862. 
At that date James M. Collier was made 
captain, Mr. Benjamin having, on May 
6th, been promoted to a major. Mr. Col- 
lier resigned on August 6th, and on Au- 
gust 18th, A. G. Priest was made cap- 
tain. W. J. Holliday was the first lieu- 
tenant and John Donahue second lieuten- 
ant. Later Company I, Second Cavaliy, 
Missouri State Militia, was organized. 
A. G. Priest was made captain of this 
regiment, in which capacity he served 
for nearly a year, from August 13, 1862, 
until July 28, 1863, at which date he re- 
signed. Alex R. Graham took his place 
and was commissioned captain August 
11, 1863, and resigned November 3rd of 
the same year, serving in this capacity 
for only about three months. He was 
succeeded by James A. Ewing, who took 
rank from November 25, 1863, and was 
later commissioned captain Company B, 
Seventeenth Missouri Cavalry Volun- 
teers. W. J. Holliday was first lieutenant 
of the regiment from F,l)ruary 10, 1862, 



84 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



85 



until June 13, 1863, at which time he re- 
sigTiecl. His successor was James A. 
Ewing, who took rank from August 11, 
1863, and who, on the 25th of November 
following, was promoted to captain. Rob- 
ert C. Cavert then became first lieuten- 
ant and served in that capacity until 
mustered out at the close of term, on 
February 25, 1865. John Donahue was 
commissioned second lieutenant at the 
organization of the regiment and served 
from February 10, 1862, until October 7, 
1863, at which time he resigned. The 
commissary sergeant was John S. Dun- 
can, whose younger son, Charles B. Dun- 
can, was bugler of the company. When 
the regiments were consolidated Com- 
i:)any H was mustered out. The officers 
of this company while it existed were J. 
"W. Lampkin, captain; Cyrus S. Brown 
and John C. Carothers, lieutenants. 
These companies did little except scout- 
ing throughout Shelby and adjoining 
counties. They were in the Porter raid 
and were considered quite efficient in 
their services generally. 
/ 

BUSHWHACKING IN THE COUNTY. 

In relation to bushwhacking in the 
county the history of 1884 has the follow- 
ing to say : 

"Upon the first blush of spring in the 
year of 1862, military operations in 
northeast Missouri began to assume a 
more sanguinary character. The Con- 
federate bushwhackers were early on the 
warpath. Near Colony, in Knox county, 
about the 25th of March, thej'^ waylaid 
se'^'en or eight meml^ers of the state mili- 
tia from Medina, fired upon and killed 
two and dangerously wounded two more. 
As another party of militia were return- 
ing from the burial of the two men killed 



they were fired on, presumably by the 
same bushwhackers, and three more were 
killed. Sometime about the lOtli of 
March, James M. Preston, a Union man, 
living near Monroe City, was taken from 
his home one night by Capt. Tom Stacy 
and his band of Confederate partisan 
rangers, or bushwhackers, and mur- 
dered. The killing was done in Shelby 
county, near Stacy's camp, or headquar- 
ters, on Black creek or North river. 
Stacy afterward said that Preston had 
been "carrying water on both shoul- 
ders' ' ; that he pretended to be a Confed- 
erate when in the presence of the bush- 
whackers and that when Federal troops 
came along he was a stanch Unionist and 
informed on certain Southern men and 
had them arrested. Stacy tried Preston 
after a fashion, found him guilty of play- 
ing the spy on him and his band, and 
shot him forthwith. The body was never 
recovered. It was said to have been 
sunk in Salt river with large stones tied 
to it. Preston left a wife and family in 
distressed circumstances. His murder 
aroused the greatest indignation among 
the Unionists, who vowed that, as the 
Confederates had inaugurated that sort 
of warfare, they should have their fill of 
it before the war was over. Tom Stacy's 
band numbered at this time perhaps 
twenty members, but its strength varied 
from a dozen to fifty. It kept Shelby 
county in quite a furor at times and 
greatly disturbed the western jiart of 
Marion on various occasions. "When any 
of the members wanted a horse, a gun, a 
blanket, or any other article, they did not 
hesitate to take it wherever they found it 
— no matter whether its owner was a Un- 
ionist or a Confederate s\Tnpathizer. All 
was fish that came to their net. 



86 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



THE BUSHWHACKING NEAR WALiKEESVILLE. 

On Wednesday, April 2, of this year 
(1862), Col. H. S. Lipscomb, of the Elev- 
enth M. S. M., and a Captain AVilmont, 
with an escort of thirteen men of the 
same regiment in charge of a wagon load 
of supplies, started from Shelbina to 
Shelliyville. Taking the road via Walk- 
ersville, on Salt river, about a mile be- 
low that little hamlet, Tom Stacy, with 
sixteen of his band, bushwhacked the 
party, killing two militia men named 
Long and Thomas Herbst and a promi- 
nent and worthy citizen of the county 
named Lilburn Hale. The latter gentle- 
man lived three miles southeast of Shel- 
by\nlle. That morning he had gone to 
Shelbina to mail a letter to his son, J. C. 
Hale, then in Pike county, and now 
prominent attorney of Shelbyville. Re- 
turning on horseback he was overtaken 
by the military a quarter of a mile from 
the scene of shooting and was riding 
along with Colonel Lipscomb when the 
murderous volley was fired. Long and 
Herbst were residents of this county also 
and both left families. All the men were 
shot in the head. It was wondered at 
that not at least a dozen men were killed. 
The firing was done at point blank range. 
In a short time Colonel Lipscomb and 
some of the others of the escoi-t came 
galloping into Shelbyville and gave the 
alarm. There was the greatest indigna- 
tion among the militiamen and the Union 
citizens. Mr. Hale was generally re- 
spected, and his murder incensed the 
people as much as the killing of the sol- 
diers. The troops in town consisted of 
the Eleventh M. S. M., who sprang at 
once to arms. Lieut. John Donahue, at 
the head of twenty-five men of Company 
A, started immediately in pursuit of the 



bushwhackers, who, it was conjectured, 
had set off immediately after the shoot- 
ing for their rendezvous, in the south- 
eastern part of the county. 

Lieutenant Holliday, with a consider- 
able force, went at once to where the 
shooting was done. Holliday 's squad, 
under Sergeant Engles, started on the 
direct trail of Stacy and his men. The 
trail was easily followed, as the ground 
was very muddy, but Stacy tried to 
throw otf the force which he knew was on 
his track by riding into and through the 
current of the river where he could. But 
Engles and his men kept on the trail, 
eager as panthers and true as l)lood- 
hounds. About the middle of the after- 
noon Lieutenant Donahue came upon the 
bushwhackers at a point on Black creek, 
at the Kincheloe bridge, ten miles from 
AValkersville. They were north or north- 
east and the Federals were going east. 
The former had just crossed the bridge. 
With a yell the militiamen dashed upon 
the bushwhackers and the latter fled, 
scattering in every direction, some tak- 
ing to the thickets, others swimming 
Black creek, which was near by, and still 
others fleeing straight away. The bush- 
whackers were completely routed. Two 
of their number were killed outright, one 
was drowned in Black creek and another 
was ])adly wounded and never was heard 
from again. Tom Stacy was so hard 
])ressed that he was forced to abandon 
his horse, saddle bags, coat, hat, sword 
and double barreled shotgun. Some ar- 
ticles in his possession, particularly the 
sword, a beaver cap and some trappings, 
were identified as having belonged to 
Russell W. Moss, Esq., near whose resi- 
dence, northwest of Himnewell, in the 
Black creek timber, Stacy and his band 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



87 



had their camp. The two dead men were 
found to be William Carnahan and 
James Bradley, both citizens of this 
county. Bill Carnahan lived at Walkers- 
ville and left a wife and children. It is 
said he had eaten many a meal at Mr. 
Hale's table, and knew that gentleman 
well. Bradley lived in the northwestern 
part of this county. The killing was in 
this wise: Jim Bradley, like Absalom, 
rode upon a mule. In the rush of the 
retreat he was either thrown or jumped 
off "and the mule that was under him 
went away." Bradley then threw away 
his fine double-barreled shotgun and 
started to run. Sergeant John S. Dun- 
can (afterwards postmaster at Shelby- 
ville) was upon him in an instant. 
Bradley stopped, threw up his hands 
and called out, "Don't shoot; I give 
up; I haven't done nothing," etc., all 
very rapidlj' and excitedly. Duncan 
said, "Well, I can't shoot an unarmed 
man," and lowered his gun. But 
Bradley started to go back for his 
gun and Duncan said, "Don't run." 
And just then Private Tom Hillaber, 
who lived in the northeastern part of the 
county, came up and without a word lev- 
eled his Austrian rifle and fired, the ball 
striking Bradley (ten feet away) in the 
breast, killing him instantly. The body 
was not bayoneted, as has been reported. 
Bill Carnahan was shot out of his sad- 
dle farther down the creek. The man 
drowned in Black creek was wounded 
just as he entered the water. Tom Stacy 
leaped from his horse and took to a tree. 
He carried with him a short rifle and an 
Indian fight took place between him and 
Lieutenant Donahue. The latter fired 
twice and missed. Tom saved his fire for 
close quarters. Private James Watkins 



reinforced Donahue and then Stacy re- 
treated, saving his life by his fleetness 
and knowledge of woodcraft. The mili- 
tiamen beat up the woods and brush for 
some time, but failed to find any more of 
the guerrillas, and soon after gathered 
up the corpses of the men they killed, 
put them in the wagon, "pressed" for 
the occasion, and started for Shelbyville. 
Not a man among the Federals were in- 
jured in the least. Indeed, the bush- 
whackers fired but two or three shots. 
Meanwhile a tragic scene was being 
enacted at Shelbyville. There was 
the most intense indignation in the 
town over the killing of Long, Herbst 
and Mr. Hale. Capt. John S. Ben- 
jamin was almost beside himself 
with rage and excitement. He had a 
room of Confederate prisoners in the 
sheriff's office upstairs in the court 
house. The most of these, if not all of 
them, had not been regularly enlisted 
and mustered into the Confederate ser- 
vice as regular soldiers, but were more 
partisan rangers. Benjamin declared 
he would shoot three of these men in- 
stanter in retaliation for the three Un- 
ionists killed that day. Among these 
prisoners was one Roland Harvy (alias 
"Jones" or "Maj." Jones), of Clark 
county. A few days before this he had 
been captured near Elliottsville, on Salt 
river, in Monroe county, by a scouting 
party of the Eleventh M. S. M., led by 
Benjamin himself. Harvy was a lieu- 
tenant of a band of Confederate parti- 
sans, of which Marion Marmaduke, of 
this county, was captain. Captain Ben- 
jamin selected Harvy as the first victim. 
He was an elderly man and, it is be- 
lieved, was a reputable citizen. But now 
he was given a hard fate and a short 



88 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



shrift. It is said that the guard opened 
the door of the prison room and pulled 
out Harvy as a fancier thrusts his hand 
into a ooop and pulls out a chicken. He 
was hurried downstairs, taken out into 
the stockade, southeast corner of the 
yard, and tied to one of the palisades 
with a new rope before he realized what 
was being done. He seemed to think the 
proceedings were intended merely to 
frighten him. In two minutes a tile of 
soldiers was before him and he was look- 
ing into the muzzles of six Austrian 
rifles. The command "Fire!" was given, 
there was a crash of the guns, and in 
an instant the unfortunate man was a 
corpse. He could not fall to the ground, 
for he was lashed to the palisade, but his 
limbs gave way and his head dropped on 
his breast, while his body hung lim]) and 
twisted. By Benjamin's order the body 
was taken down by some Confederate 
sjTupathizers and carried into an old log 
building in the rear of J. B. Marma- 
duke's store, on the southwest corner of 
the square. Here it was prepared for 
burial and interred by the same class of 
citizens in the Shelbyville cemetery, 
where its ashes yet lie. Another pris- 
oner captured at the same time with 
Harvy was John AVesley Sigler, a young 
man of Shelbyville. He had a close call. 
Benjamin selected him for the next vic- 
tim from among the now terror-stricken 
prisoners huddled together in the sher- 
iff's office ; but now more rational minded 
men inter))oscd and better councils pre- 
vailed. It was urged that it would be 
better to wait and see what the result of 
Donahue's and Holliday's scout would 
be — maybe they would exterminate the 
band that had done the murderous work. 
"Wait and see. This was done, and soon 



came Donahue bearing in a wagon the 
corpses of Carnahan and Bradley, and 
these were tumbled into the room where 
Harvy lay, all ghastly and gory. Then 
Benjamin's wrath was mollified and no 
one else was shot. 

STOCKADE BUILT ABOUND COUBT HOUSE. 

Company C, under Captain Block, and 
Company F, commanded by Captain 
Call, parts of Glover's regiment, were 
stationed at Shelbyville during the win- 
ter of 1861 and '62. They were quar- 
tered in the court house. Around the 
court house was erected a strong stock- 
ade, by direction of Capt. John F. Ben- 
jamin. The stockade was built of heavy 
oak posts, set firmly in the ground, hav- 
ing the top ends sharpened. The posts 
were about fifteen feet high. Small holes 
were made for the use of the defenders, 
and imder the conditions a small num- 
ber of men could have withstood the at- 
tack of several times their number. Many 
Union sympathizers enlisted during the 
winter. 

Glover was now stationed at Edina. 
He vigorously enforced the Halleck- 
Schofield orders to extend no mercy to 
bushwhackers, and sent his troop fre- 
quently into Shelby and adjoining coun- 
ties. 

"special order no. 30." 

A few days after Colonel Glover 
reached Edina he sent a message to Cap- 
tain Benjamin at Shelbyville which was 
headed "Special Order No. 30." The 
order read as follows: "In everj^ case 
within your reach where the rebels take 
a dollar's worth of property of any kind 
from a Union man or family, do you take 
at least twice as much in value from 
rebels in the vicinity ( f i-oni ]iarties who 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



89 



I 



took the goods if you can identify them) 
and hold it as security for the return of 
the property, and hold it until the rob- 
bery is made good. You will forthwith 
levy an assessment and collect it from 
the wealthy secessionists in the vicinity 
sufficient to comfortably support the 
families of the members of the M. S. M. 
who were killed by the rebels, and see 
that they are comfortably supported by 
this means imtil further orders." 

After two days' time had elapsed after 
receiving the famous ' ' Special Order No. 
30," Captain Benjamin received a list of 
sixty-five names of men in different parts 
of the county and a letter that read as 
follows: 

Edina, April 10, 1862. 
Captain Benjamin: 

Sir — I send you a list of names 
marked (A), who did the killing of mili- 
tia in this (Knox) county. The others 
are members of a bushwhacking com- 
pany in this and other counties. Give a 
list of the names to your commissioned 
officers with instructions to hold all such 
if arrested. Keep their names as secret 
as i^ossible. I do not want them to know 
they are suspected, or we shall not be 
able to catch them. You have two of 
them, I am told (the Feltz). Hold them 
safely. We have five or six of them, and 
on yesterday we killed one of the mur- 
derers, William Musgrove. These men 
are scattered all over the country. You 
will be as active as possible and charge 
your men to be cautious. These men are 
frequently to be found in the vicinity of 
Magruder's, on Black creek. These fel- 
lows are in the habit of crossing Salt 
river, southeast of your town, on a 
bridge on an unfrequented road. You 
will do well to give it some attention. My 



instructions are not to bring in these fel- 
lows if they can be induced to run, and 
if the men are instructed they can make 
them run. Yours respectfully, 

J. M. Glover. 

SEVERAL, CHANGES IN POSITIONS. 

In June of 1862 there were several 
changes ordered among the Union forces 
in northeast Missouri. On the 4th of 
June Colonel Glover was sent to south 
Missouri and Col. John McNeil, Second 
Cavalry, M. S. M., was given charge of 
the northeast Missouri troops, with 
headquarters at Palmyra. Major John 
F. Benjamin was appointed commander 
at Palmyra and M. A. Stearnes was as- 
sistant adjutant-general. The changes 
were made in compliance with an order 
from General Schofield. Nearly all of 
McNeil's men followed him to Palmyra. 
Captain Lipscomb was assigned to Ma- 
con City and the Third M. S. M. was sent 
to Eolla. 

JOHN L. OWEN KILLED. 

Major Owen lived near Monroe City, 
and had been a major in the Confederate 
Missouri State Guards under General 
Price. He had participated in the Mon- 
roe City battle, in which the Confeder- 
ates burned the depot and destroyed con- 
siderable property. He returned home 
from service in December, 1861, but 
found an indictment hanging over him 
for treason and consequently could not 
come in and surrender. He therefore 
continued to hide out. 

On the 8th of June, 1862, a scouting 
]iarty of the Eleventh M. S. M., under 
Ca]itain Lair, found Major Owen early 
in the morning hiding under some brush 
near his residence. Captain Collier and 



90 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



the Shelby county company took him 
23risoner, and after assuring his wife 
they would conduct him safely to Pal- 
myra, they started off, and when onh' 
half a mile from his home they sat him 
upon a log against a rail fence and fired 
eight 54-caliber bullets through his body. 
The two captains (Collier and Lair) jus- 
tified themselves on the ground that they 
were enfoi"cing General Schofield's "Or- 
der No. 18," which enjoined the utmost 
vigilance in hunting down and destroy- 
ing all marauders and bushwhackers, 
whom the order said "when caught in 
arms or engaged in unlawful warfare, 
were to be shot down on the spot." The 
action of Lair and Collier was approved 
by the Unionists generally, but was a fire 
brand among the Southern sympathizers, 
and, in fact, many Union men denounced 
the act as a murder. The Federal su- 
perior officers, however, approved the 
act. Some now say that Owen was un- 
armed and did not come within the pur- 
view of Schofield's order. Others say he 
was armed and that his blanket and re- 
volver were found close l)e.side him. It 
is, howevei', too late in the day to argue 
the ease, and after giving the facts as 
nearly correct as it is possible to gather 
them, we leave the matter to the readers 
for their own solution. 

SHELBY COUNTY MEN EXECXTTED. 

Gen. Lewis Merrill, who was in charge 
of the Federal troops at Macon, on Se])- 
tember 26, 1862, executed ten ])risoners 
at Macon. These men had all been with 
Porter and were accused of violating 
paroles. Two of these men were Shelby 
county citizens. Tliey were Frank E. 
Drake and Edward Riggs. Another 
Shelby county citizen was sentenced to 



be shot at the same time, but he made his 
escape from the prison. His name was 
James Gentry, who lived for many years 
in Shelby after the bloody scenes of the 
war and who died in Shelbyville only a 
few j'ears ago. 

Capt. Tom Sidener, who lived in Mon- 
roe county a few miles south of Shel- 
bina, had been with General Porter, but 
after the Kirksville battle, in which Por- 
ter suffered severely, and the disband- 
ment of the Porter company, Sidener de- 
cided to quit the service and accordingly 
returned to his home in Monroe county. 
He feared, however, to remain there and 
decided, as did many others of the Por- 
ter men, to seek refuge in Illinois. He 
therefore disguised himself in ladies' ap- 
parel and, in company of a lady cousin 
and a sister and his brother, Jackson, set 
out in an open carriage to drive to Can- 
ton, where they intended to cross the 
Mississipi)i into Illinois. They passed 
through Shelbyville October 1, 1862, and 
one of Benjamin's men recognized the 
ladies and Jack Sidener and informed 
Benjamin that they had passed through 
the town with a load of provisions, wiiieh 
were thought to he for supplies for Tom 
and the Confederates. Colonel Benja- 
min ordered pursuit and the carriage 
and its occupants were soon brought 
back to Shelbyville. Captain Sidener 
was careless in getting out of the car- 
riage and gave himself away by disclos- 
ing his boots that he wore instead of 
lady's shoes. lie was stripped of his 
dress and lionnet and placed in the hands 
of the Benjamin forces. They kept him 
a few days at the hotel and then he was 
sent to Palmyra and was one of the ten 
men executed at the famous "Palmyra 
massacre," by General McNeil. The re- 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



91 



maining occupants of the spring wagon 
were held for a few days and then re- 
leased. The executions were, of course, 
the most hlood-stirring events of the 
war; but next perhaps to these was the 
burning of dwelling houses. Of these 
latter depredations Shelby county had 
three of more than ordinary notice. One 
was the burning of the Robert Joiner 
house and barn in Tiger Fork township ; 
the other, the home of Carter Baker and 
John Maupin's home in Jefferson town- 
ship. The Joiner home was tired by a 
detail under Lieut. "\V. J. Holliday, who 
was sent out to do the work by McNeil 
and Merrill. They accused Joiner of 
"keeping a rendezvous for guerrillas 
and murderers." Lieutenant Holliday 
executed the order at noon September 
5th. Mr. Joiner was in prison at Shelby- 
ville. His three sons were in the Confed- 
erate army, as was also one son-in-law, 
Harry Latimer, who was later captured 
and executed. Mr. Cochrane, a son-in- 
law, was the only man on the place, and 
his wife was seriously ill and was carried 
out of the house on a cot, whereon she 
was lying. The family lived with their 
neighbors for awhile, but soon after Mr. 
Joiner returned to his home, having 
been released. His health had been im- 
paired and his spirits broken and he died 
the next spring. 

The home of Carter Baker, who had 
been with Porter, was burned by Com- 
pany I, commanded by Capt. A. G. 
Priest, who was sent to Jefferson town- 
ship to burn, as the militia termed them, 
' ' bushwhackers ' nests. ' ' Mr. Baker had 
been with Porter and was at home, 
wounded. He was in bed at the time of 



the burning of his house and was carried 
out into the yard on a couch. 

THE 18G2 ELECTION. 

During the war courts were held regu- 
larly from this time on, and elections 
held under the authority of the Gfamble 
administration. No one was allowed to 
vote, however, who would not submit 
to the Gamble oath : ' ' To support the 
United States government and the Gam- 
ble provisional government against all 
enemies, domestic and foreign." This, 
of course, disqualified many voters in the 
county. Johu B. Clark, Sr., had been ex- 
pelled from Congress for participating 
in the rebellion. The candidates to suc- 
ceed him were W. A. Hall, of Randolph 
county, and N. P. Green, of Marion. The 
pei'manent oi', in fact, the only issue, was 
emancipation in Missouri. 

Green represented the emancipation 
side and Hall the anti-emancipationists. 
The former carried the county by a vote 
of 598 to 279. For state senator A. L. 
Gilstrap, the emancipationists, carried 
the county over Fred Rowland by a vote 
of 523 to 199. W. R. Strachan was 
elected representative over J. M. Collier 
by 482 to 248. Samuel Huston elected 
county judge without ojiposition. He re- 
ceived 359 votes. C. K. Cotton, treas- 
urer over Benjamin Grogg by 363 to 242. 
The entire emancipation ticket was 
elected. Hall, while failing to carry 
Shelby county, was elected to Congress 
by a good majority in the district. W. R. 
Strachan was provost marshal of north- 
east Missouri, and attained notoriety in 
connection with the Palmvra massacre. 



CHAPTER VIII. 



Many Join Porter's Command — Federals Hold the County — Bill Anderson 
Visits Shelby — Fifty-one Killed at Centralia, Missouri — The 1864 Election. 



many join porter's command. 

Col. Joseph C. Porter, whose home 
was in Lewis county, near Newark, was 
about the only Confederate leader now 
engaged in northeast Missouri. Porter 
had seen considerable service, having 
been a lieutenant colonel of Green's Mis- 
souri State Guards, and had participated 
in the battles at Athens, Shelbina, Lex- 
ington, Pea Eidge and elsewhere. He 
was a brave soldier and man of courage, 
and did not deserve the term of guer- 
rilla as ajiplied to him by many of the 
Federalists. In the spring of 1862 he 
was sent to northeast Missouri by Gen- 
eral Pice for recruits and succeeded in 
enlisting hundreds from Shelby county. 

Capt. Tom Stacy joined Porter and 
accompanied him on his trip through 
northeast Missouri. He was mortally 
wounded in the battle of Pierce's Mill, 
near Memphis, on July 18th. He was 
shot through the bowels and died several 
days after the battle. His family lived 
in Shelby county at this time. 

About this time, or perhaps a little 
later, a com]iany of eighty men was 
raised in the western part of the county, 
near Hager's Grove, by Capt. J. Q. A. 
Clements, who started out to do actual 
service for the Confederacy. The com- 
pany was raised in less than twenty-four 
hours and set out to join Porter. They 



rendezvoused at Snowder's bridge, which 
was then known as Snowder's ford, and 
crossed the railroad bridge east of Clar- 
ence and joined Porter at Paris. A large 
number of Shelby countians also joined 
the Confederate troops by enlisting 
under Captain Head, a Monroe county 
man. 

Porter once more touched Shelby 
county soil in crossing from Paris to 
New Market with a thousand men. He 
passed between Monroe City and Hunne- 
well, and was receiving recruits by the 
hundreds. Capt. J. Q. A. Clements was 
killed in battle at Newark, which took 
place July 31, 1862. He was shot through 
the brain and died instantly. After his 
death Capt. Samuel S. Patton took com- 
mand of the company from the western 
])art of the county, which was now with 
Porter. Lieut. Tom "West, of the same 
company, also had his leg crushed by a 
rainie ball in the same battle and died a 
few days later, after having had his leg 
amputated. In this same battle two 
Shelby county men were also killed 
who were with Captain Head's Monroe 
county company. The two killed were 
Anderson Tobin, who lived in the south- 
west part of the county and who was 
shot through the head, and a Mr. Kester- 
son, who lived near AValkersville. He 
was shot through the body. 



92 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



93 



Leaving Porter now, we find that 
Colonel McNeil had left Palmyra and 
moved his men to Hunuewell in order 
that he might watch Porter and inter- 
cept him when he should attempt to cross 
the railroad at his old crossing near that 
town. After reaching this point, McNeil 
heard of Porter's moves in Monroe 
conntj' and set out for Paris, having 
heard that Porter had occupied that 
towm. On reaching Paris, however, he 
found his man had departed and, going- 
north, had crossed the road which he had 
intended to guard. McNeil hastened 
back to Hunnewell. The colonel felt 
rather humiliated and set out to run 
Captain Porter down or kill his horses 
and men in the attempt. McNeil pur- 
sued northward, crossing Shelby county. 
At Bethel he was reinforced by Col. 
John F. Benjamin with a detachment of 
the 11th M. S. M., who left a small garri- 
son to defend the town. McNeil was 
also strengthened by the addition of 
Mayne's Company B of the 3d Iowa Cav- 
alry, Leonard's and Garth's companies 
of the 9th M. S. M. and Merrill's Horse 
and two brass pieces of artillery of 
Robb's 3d Lidiana Battery, sent up from 
Jefferson City under Colonel Armington. 
Porter was pursued to Kirksville, where 
perhaps was fought the most memorable 
battle of north Missouri. Porter arrived 
in the city on August 6th with the Fed- 
erals close upon his heels. The result 
of this battle is known to all. Porter 
was completely routed. Among the 
Shelby county Confederates killed were 
Timothy Hayes and John Eichardson, of 
Patton's company. The battle of Kirks- 
ville took place on Wednesday, and the 
day following a number of the Confed- 
erate prisoners were tried and convicted 



of breaking their oath not to take up 
arms against the Union, and for viola- 
tions of their parols, and were sentenced 
to be shot. The order was executed and 
the following Shelby county Confederate 
prisoners were shot: James Christian, 
David Wood, Jesse Wood and Bennett 
Hayden. These four unfortunate Con- 
federates all lived in the southwest part 
of the county. Christian lived east of 
Clarence. David and Jesse Wood lived 
west of Shelbina, and Hayden lived near 
the present site of Lentner. All were 
married except David AVood. After the 
Kirksville battle Colonel McNeil moved 
over to Old Bloomington, Macon county, 
and from there to Shelbyville and then 
to his old stand at Hunnewell. Porter 
had also found his way back to Monroe 
county with some 150 men, who were 
again reported to McNeil as occupying 
Paris. The Federal commander again 
resolved to march against him, and ac- 
cordingly set out for the Monroe county 
seat with all of his available force, some 
800 men. On the day before. Majors 
Rogers and Dodson with three compa- 
nies of the 11th M. S. M. set out for 
Shelbyville to join McNeil. They re- 
inforced him on Wednesday, September 
10th, and on the same day they set out 
from Hunnewell for Paris. Porter had, 
however, again gone north and was in 
Lewis and northern Marion county, and 
on Friday, September 12th, with only 
400 men, captured Palmyra and held it 
for two hours. They canned away a 
Union citizen named Andrew Alsman, 
whom they killed and for whose life two 
of Porter's men later paid a forfeit, con- 
stituting what is known as the Palmyra 
massacre. 

The night after the capture of Pal- 



94 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



myra, Company A of the 11th M. S. M., 
stationed at Shelbyville, set out to inter- 
cept Porter. They went to the eastex-n 
part of the county. It is said that the 
two companies camped within a mile of 
each other, each being wholly uncon- 
scious of the presence of the other. After 
l^ursuing Porter's men for some days. 
Colonel McNeil with his company came 
to Bragg 's school-house, in the north- 
east part of the county, and Colonel Mc- 
Neil spent Sunday at Judge S. I. 
Bragg 's and left the next day for Pal- 
myra. Two Shelby county Confederates 
were captured near Bragg 's school- 
house by McNeil. They were John 
Holmes and Henry Latimer. They were 
taken into Bragg 's meadow and shot. 
Kemp Glasscock was also taken pris- 
oner while out hunting cows, but was 
released. John Lear, another of Por- 
ter's men, was shot near the Bragg resi- 
dence. The Federals lost two men. They 
were a man named Scanlon and Corporal 
Stephens. Both were from Knox county. 
Porter now decided to leave Shelby 
county on his way to the South. He 
captured and paroled Captain Bishop 
near Hunnewell. Colonel Porter was 
wounded at Hartville, Mo., but made his 
way into Arkansas. He died at Bates- 
ville. Ark., February 18, 1863. 

FEDERALS HOLD THE COUNTY. 

The Missouri State Militia held Shelby 
county during the year of 1863 and noth- 
ing of importance happened in the 
county during that year. Colonel Porter 
had gone south and was in Arkansas 
during the early part of the year. Porter 
and Gen. John S. ]\rarmaduke united at 
Marshfield and after the Springfield bat- 
tle retreated into Arkansas. At Hart- 



ville, in Wright county, they encountered 
a considerable force of Federal troops, 
which they defeated. The Confederate 
loss, however, was heavy. Colonel Por- 
ter was mortally wounded in this battle, 
which took place January 11, 1863. 
Colonel Porter followed the army into 
Arkansas and died at Batesville, Feb- 
ruary 18th. 

During the year of 1863 Shelby county 
was securely in the possession of the 
B^edera] authorities. The M. S. M. held 
Shelbyville and Shel])ina continuously 
and guarded the railroad bridge near 
Lakenan. They at intervals sent de- 
tachments to Clarence and Hunnewell. 

In the spring of the year. Companies 
I and L of the 2d M. S. M., composed 
of Shelby countians mostly, were sent 
to assist the Federals in southeast Mis- 
souri, where there was much more fight- 
ing than in their own counties. On April 
26th they took part in the Cape Girar- 
deau battle and assisted in repulsing an 
attack on that city made by Gen. John S. 
Marmaduke. 

At the close of the year of 1863 Shelby 
county had 504 men in the regular militia 
service of the United States. The rec- 
ords in the adjutant general's office show 
that of this number there was one Shelby 
county men in the 25th Infantry, one in 
the 26th, four in the 30th, forty-five in 
the 3d Cavalry, one in the 7tli Cavalry, 
thirty-four in the lltli Cavalry, 182 in 
the 2d Cavalry, and 236 in the llth Cav- 
alry before consideration. In regiments 
from other states there were thirty-six 
men from Shelby, and there were at least 
sixty men from Shelby who belonged to 
these regiments, whose names were un- 
reported, thus bringing the number of 
troops furnished the Union by Shelby 



HTSTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



95 



eoimtj' up to 600 at the close of the year 

1863. There were luindreds also from 
Shelby county who joined the enrolled 
militia. 

BILL ANDERSON VISITS SHELBY. 

By far the most exciting period during 
the Civil war in Shelby county was in 
1862, during Porter's and Stacy's ac- 
tivities. Indeed, war matters became 
quite dull in the county during the year 
of 1863, except Federal forage and scout- 
ing parties, who helped themselves to 
corn, horses, and relieved chicken roosts 
and many a smoke-house of a deliciously 
cured piece of ham or side meat. In 

1864, however, war affairs began to 
enliven the county again. 

Along the latter part of July, 1864, Col. 
Bill Anderson, of Centralia fame, and 
one of the most desperate fighters and 
boldest men on the southern side, paid 
Sliel))y county a visit. Many thrilling 
incidents took j^lace during the year in 
Shelby, but none so rapidly and thrilling 
as the Anderson visit. The twenty-three 
men under Anderson (called liy some the 
Confederate guerrilla) in July of 1864 
crossed the Missouri river, coming north 
at Waverlj^ in Carroll county. They 
shot several Union soldiers here and pro- 
ceeded into Eandolph county, the home 
of the chief of the company. At Hunts- 
ville over $30,000 was taken from the 
county treasury and the citizens of the 
town. After this haul they pressed east- 
ward through Moberly and entered Mon- 
roe, and, crossing this county, came to 
Shelbina. Anderson and his thirty-four 
trained riders and expert shots (he had 
added eleven men to his company) 
reached Shelbina on July 27tli early in 



the morning. They entered from the 
south by the Paris road, and were 
dressed in blue uniforms, so that the 
citizens were used to seeing the blue 
suits. The dismount was made at the 
park just south of the dejiot, and the 
first man Anderson spoke to was banker 
Taylor, who he commanded to hold his 
(Anderson's) hoi-se. Taylor accepted 
the invitation after glancing into the 
muzzle of Bill's six-shooter. Anderson's 
men set out in squads of two or three 
and took captive many of the male citi- 
zens who chanced to be upon the streets. 
These prisoners were "lined up" and 
relieved of all valuables. It is related 
by some of the old-timers that when one 
of Anderson's men called on Charley 
King, then a well-dressed young man, 
King threw them a dollar. The man 
asked if that was all he had, and on 
being assured that it was he tossed it 
back to King. No question was asked 
as to whether the victim was a Union- 
ist or Confederate, all met the same 
fate. After this they began a systematic 
]ilunder of the business part of the town. 
The stores were entered, and after 
emptying the money drawers they took 
whatever they wanted in the way of 
clothes, boots, shoes, silks, dry goods 
and jewelry. Bolts of fancy dress goods 
were taken for saddle blankets, and laces 
and riljbons were taken, with which the 
hats and clothing of the men were deco- 
rated and the manes and tails of the 
horses were elaboratelj^ festooned. 

The Anderson men, while relieving the 
citizens of their cash and the merchants 
of both cash and merchandise, did not 
harm a hair upon the head of a single 
person. Several, however, would, more 



96 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



than likely, have preferred to have lost 
all their hair and kept what they were 
relieved of. 

Those who lost heaviest were "\V. A. 
Reid, who was relieved of $550 in cash 
and over $1,000 in merchandise. He 
kicked $500 under the counter and 
covered it with rubbish and saved it. 

J. W. Ford, the city druggist, was 
loser $157 in cash and quite an amount 
of goods. The turpentine and oil used 
in the burning of the depot and cars and 
the Salt river bridge were taken from 
his store. 

There was also some tobacco in the 
cars that were burned, but the owners, 
Sparks, Hill & Co., were allowed to re- 
move it. After it had been removed the 
Anderson men helped themselves to a 
liberal supply. The stores of S. G. Lewis 
and List & Taylor were looted. 

Anderson's visit lasted only about 
four hours, but they were exciting hours 
to the citizens of the town. 

After setting fire to the depot and the 
cars on the track, the thirty-four men 
disappeared as rapidly as they entered. 
They mounted their steeds and left town, 
going east. The town was all excitement. 
Some citizens even wanted to organize 
a jiosse and pursue; others thought it 
best to let them go. The advice of the 
latter, which perhaps was the wisest, 
was accepted, and Anderson and his men 
were allowed to go on their way un- 
molested. At Lakenan the station 
building was fired, and then the bridge 
was made for and soon was in flames. 
Here the band dismounted and put out 
pickets to the east and south. They left 
as soon as they thought the destruction 
of the bridge was assured, and rode 
south. Thev took dinner with Mr. 



Saunders just south of the bridge, and 
here one of the men killed one of his 
comrades in a quarrel over a watch that 
had been taken at Shelbina. Saunders 
was forced to bury the body. 

Only one end of the bridge was burned, 
as citizens collected and put the fire out. 
"Cabe" Wood had a peculiar experience 
at this time. He received two severe 
kickings over the affair. He was at work 
trying to put out the fire before the 
Anderson men had all departed, where- 
upon one of the men kicked him off the 
grade. The next day the militia came 
up from Hannibal and one of the soldiers 
asked AVood why he did not put out the 
fire, and kicked him off the grade again 
for not extinguishing the flames. It was 
"be damned if you do and be damned if 
you don't" with Wood. 

The Hannibal militia arrived the next 
day, under Col. J. T. K. Hayward. They 
consisted of a portion of the 38th regi- 
ment enrolled militia, known as the Rail- 
road Brigade. From the bridges they 
marched to Lakenan on foot. 

A few under Meredith went out to 
John Henry Saunder's home, where 
Anderson's men had taken dinner the 
day before, and demanded Saunder's 
gun. The latter could not find it, as a 
nephew had misplaced it the day before ; 
whereupon one of the militiamen struck 
Mr. Saunders a severe blow over the 
head with the butt of his musket. The 
blow knocked him senseless. 

The bridge over Salt river and the 
depots at Shelbina and Lakenan were 
soon rebuilt. Trains ran regularly. The 
merchants at Shelbina restocked and in 
the course of time recovered from the 
shock. They, however, learned a lesson. 
That was to keep money and valuables 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



97 



out of sight as much as possible during 
war times. 

Anderson declared he would like 
mighty well to go over to Shelbyville 
and shoot up the militia, but he learned 
the town was well fortified behind a 
stockade, and more than likely it was 
well he did not go. It would not have 
been as easy picking as Shelbina, at any 
rate. After leaving Shelby, Anderson 
returned to Howard county. 

FIFTY-ONE KILLED AT CENTEALIA, MO. 

The Centralia massacre, as it has been 
called ever since the dreadful event took 
place, happened on September 27, 1864. 

The only object we have in referring 
to this event in the history of the Civil 
war is the fact that Company G, 39th 
Missouri Infantry, which was annihi- 
lated, all being killed except three, were 
nearly all from Shelby county. 

The names of these Union soldiers 
who lost their lives at Centralia, accord- 
ing to the adjutant-general's office, are 
as follows: Sergeants David N. Dunn, 
John Donahoe, William Lair, George W. 
Miller; corporals Leander P. Burt, 
James S. Gunby, AVilliam Lear, David 
Riggs, L. D. Sherwood, Jacob R. Wexler ; 
privates George "W. Adams, Charles M. 
Jenkins, Charles Bishop, William Knep- 
per, Samuel Bell, Anthony Labus, Philip 
• Christian, Louis F. Marquette, William 
Christian, Charles Master son, Oscar 
Collier, John Moore, John J. Christine, 
John C. Montgomery, Horner ]\L Dun- 
bar, William A. Ross, AVilliam Drennan, 
Robert E. Spires, Sylvester H. Dean, 
J. G. Sellers, James S. Edwards, Edward 
Strachan, Eleasor Evans, James Stal- 
cup, Robert P. Elston, William T. Smith, 
William G. Floor, Peter T. Simmernon, 



James Forsythe, James W. Trussell, 
Robert Greenfield, George W. Van Os- 
dall, W^illiam P. Golary, Jasper N. 
Vaden, Henry T. Gooch, A. M. Vandiver, 
Joseph S. Glahn, Jonathan Webdell, 
John W. Hardin, William T. Whitelock 
and Elijah Hall. 

Only three of the bodies were returned 
to the county for burial. They were the 
remains of Louis Marquette, David N. 
Dunn and William Lair, whose bodies 
were identified by James C. Hale at 
Sturgeon the following day and sent 
home for interment. Mr. Hale went to 
Sturgeon for the purpose of identifying 
the bodies and had the remains shi])ped 
home to relatives. The other unfortunate 
Union soldiers who met death at this 
time were buried in a trench by the citi- 
zens of Centralia. B. F. Dunn and other 
citizens of Shelby county made a trip 
to Centralia for the purpose of identify- 
ing others and bringing home the re- 
mains, but they were unable to recognize 
any of them and left them buried in the 
trench. 

In 1873 the remains were all taken up 
and removed to the National Cemetery 
at Jefferson City. 

It would not be proper in writing a 
history of Shelby county to pass this 
incident without a brief review of the 
manner in which these fifty-one men met 
so horrible a death and how these Shelby 
county Federal troops came to be identi- 
fied with the incident. 

The horril)le affair took place just two 
months after the raid of Bill Anderson 
upon Shelbina. Much had been the talk 
on this affair, and the Unionists of the 
county were somewhat anxious to get 
after Anderson and his noted followers. 
As usual, many feared him ; others pro- 



98 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COFXTY 



fessed to he auxious to engage liiiii in 
battle. Now was the opportunity. 

Word had been sent to the county that 
Anderson had crossed the North Mis- 
souri railroad (now the Wabash) at a 
point near Moberly. He was thought 
to be headed northeast, and the people 
began to prepare for an attack, or rather 
to defend themselves. The Confederates 
were commanded by Maj. John Thrail- 
kill and were divided into squads and 
companies. These squads or companies, 
which varied in number, were com- 
manded by George Todd, Bill Anderson, 
Dave Poole, Tom Todd and Si Gordon. 
Tom Todd was a Baptist preacher. The 
Confederates numbered about 400. 
George Todd was the man who planned 
all movements, and the daring Bill An- 
derson was relied upon to execute all 
plans. Ater crossing the North Mis- 
souri, as stated, the Confederates 
learned that Paris was strongly forti- 
fied by Union soldiers, and they there- 
fore resolved to turn south and join 
Price, who was known to be in southern 
Missouri. They therefore recrossed the 
railroad just three miles east of Cen- 
tra lia and went into camp on the farm 
of Major Singleton, in the edge of the 
timber some three miles east of Cen- 
tralia. Bill Anderson with some seventy- 
five or a hundred men was sent into 
Centralia on the morning of September 
27th by Todd to do some reconnoitering. 

It was found there was a Federal 
detachment at Sturgeon and another at 
Columbia, only sixteen miles away. Be- 
fore departing, Anderson set fire to the 
depot, burned some freight cars on the 
sidetrack, and looted a passenger train 
that was passing through. On this train 



were twenty-two Federal soldiers, chief- 
ly from the 1st Iowa Cavalry, on their 
way home after being furloughed and 
discharged. These soldiers were taken 
from the train and all executed except 
one, Sergt. Tom Goodman, who was 
spared by the express order of Ander- 
son ; why, no one knows to this day. 
An old German who chanced to be on 
the train, and who unfortunately for 
himself wore a blue blouse uniform, was 
executed alongside the unfortunate sol- 
diers. After the execution Anderson and 
his men returned to camp and re] sorted. 

The 39th Missouri, under Col. E. A. 
Kutzner, a regiment which had seen per- 
haps thirty days' service, mostly camp 
service, was stationed at Paris. They 
were armed with Enfield mu.skets and 
bayonets and were inexperienced and 
poorly mounted. 

As soon as the news reached them that 
the Confederates had crossed the rail- 
road and were headed towards them, 
Maj. A. V. E. Johnson with the detach- 
ments of Company A, G and H set out 
to meet them and engage them in battle. 
Johnson had, officers and all, about 200 
men. Company G, from Shelby county, 
was commanded by Lieuts. Thomas 
Jaynes and Isaiah Gill. The captain of 
this company, William Glover, was sick 
at his home in Shelbyville. Lieut. Thomas 
Jaynes is still living at Hunnewell, and 
is one of the three men who made the 
hairbreadth escape from Anderson's 
men. Company IT, from Lewis and 
Marion counties, was connnanded by 
Capt. Adam Theis, who died only a 
couple of years ago, and who was for 
many years and up to the time of his 
death grand treasurer of the Grand 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



99 



Lodge, Knights of Pythias, of Missouri. 
Compauy A, from Adair county, was 
commanded by Capt. James A. Smith. 
The men, as stated, were poorly armed 
and still more poorly mounted. They 
rode upon mules, mares and plow horses. 
In fact, any kind of an animal that could 
be pressed into service from the citizens 
for the occasion. Johnson was soon 
upon a warm trail and followed the Con- 
federates to where they had crossed the 
railroad the day before. Here they saw 
the smoke from the Imrning depot in 
Centralia and marched up to the town, 
of then some twenty-tive houses. Here 
they heard the story of what Bill Ander- 
son had done, which set their blood to 
boiling. Johnson reached Centralia 
about three o'clock in the afternoon of 
Se]itember 27th, and after listening to 
the story of Anderson's raid that morn- 
ing, in company with Dr. A. G. Sneed, a 
citizen of Centralia, repaired to the loft 
or garret of the town hotel to gain as 
good a view as possible of the Con- 
federates under Todd, Anderson and 
others. They had not been long in the 
garret until they saw a squad of Ander- 
son's men galloping pell mell toward the 
city. Johnson, followed by Sneed, has- 
tened down to inform his men and to 
prepare to withstand the attack of the 
Confederates. He informed his men of 
what he had beheld with his own eyes. 
He also warned them of the peril in 
front of them and told them of the des- 
]ierate foe they were about to encounter ; 
but his men wore eager to measure steel 
with Anderson, and, after detaching 
Captain Theis with his comj^any of 
thirty-six Marion and Lewis county sol- 
diers to guard the town, he mounted and 



led his 110 men to the front, or, as it 
might be said, into the very jaws of 
death. 

The Confederates did not come into 
Centralia, as was expected, but wheeled 
about and dashed across the prairie in 
full view of the Federals returning to 
their cover, crossing a fallow field to the 
southeast, on the farm of one by the 
name of Captain Fullenwider. The Con- 
federates had laid a trap for Johnson, 
and he with his 110 men were soon 
within the jaws of the trap. Johnson 
mounted and gave his men orders to 
follow. He rode south into the field and 
then turned to the east to face the enemy. 
Here he stood with 110 men between the 
setting sun and 400 of the bravest and 
most skilled marksmen of the time. Here 
he halted, dismounted and detailed every 
fourth man to hold horses. The remain- 
der advanced on foot until within some- 
thing like thirty rods of Anderson's 
men, who had retired to the edge of the 
woods. Behind Anderson's company 
were Poole's men, and behind the fallow 
cornfield was a ravine densely filled with 
underbrush. Johnson could not see the 
position of the enemy. Thrailkill occu- 
pied a position on the north with Gordon 
and Tom Todd ; on the south was George 
Todd, in the center was Bill Anderson, 
and to his rear was Poole. Johnson 
could see only Anderson and Poole. 
After the Federals has dismounted and 
marched down the slope of the field 
toward their foes, Johnson, who re- 
mained mounted, halted his men and 
advanced alone some twenty yards. Here 
he halted and for a few moments sat 
motionless upon his steed. The trap had 
been set, the prey had entered, and all 



100 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



that was left now to be done was to 
spring the trigger. As planned when 
George Todd had arranged his men, he 
lifted his hat to Anderson, which was 
the signal to charge the enemy. No 
sooner was Todd's hat in the air than 
Anderson led his men up the hill before 
the enemy. The dash which carried 
death to so many Federals was made 
with one foot in the stirrup and the body 
swinging to the side of the horse. The 
Confederates were going up a hill, so 
the volley fired by Johnson's men passed 
over them without a single shot taking 
effect. Not so, however, with Anderson's 
shots. His men were the best-trained 
pistol-shots in America, and perhai)s in 
the world, and as they dashed toward the 
enemy a Federal fell at nearly every 
crack of the pistol, until not a one re- 
mained of those who had left their horses 
and marclied with Johnson toward the 
timber. Following Anderson up the hill 
came Todd, Thrailkill, Gordon and 
Poole. In a moment — in less time than 
it takes to relate the story — the sad 
event in the field of battle had closed. 
Johnson had led his men into the trap 
over the protests and advice of the citi- 
zens of Centralia, and every man, ex- 
cepting three, who had followed him out 
of Centralia lay dead or dying upon the 
, withered September grass of Boone 
county. Major Johnson fired three shots 
from his revolver and fell dead from his 
horse, being shot through the head. Cap- 
tain Smith, of the Adair county com- 
pany, was killed, and the only three to 
escape were Lieutenants Jaynes, Gill 
and Moore, who were mounted. Ander- 
son and Poole went on for the fourth 
men detailed to hold the horses, and had 



soon annihilated the entire number. 
They still kept on and swept into Cen- 
tralia, where thej^ completed the mission 
of destruction by completely routing the 
men who were left by Captain Theis to 
guard the town. Those who remained in 
Theis 's company set out for Sturgeon, 
but fifteen lost their lives in trying to 
escape. 

It is said Johnson left Paris with 147 
men, of whom but 23 escaped. Com- 
pany A from Adair county, lost 56 men ; 
Company G, from Shelliy, 51 ; and Com- 
pany H, 15. The remains of Colonel 
Johnson were sent to Marion county and 
buried near his home. 

Frank James was with Anderson in 
the Centralia massacre, as it is termed, 
and told the writer the story as written 
above as near as we can remember. The 
figures and names of the Federals, of 
course, were obtained from the adjutant- 
general 's office. 

THE 1864 ELECTION. 

Abraham Lincoln carried Shelby county 
for president in 1864 by 150 majority 
over MeClellan. The vote was Lincoln 
366, MeClellan 216. At this election 
John F. Benjamin, of Shelbina, was 
elected to congress on the Eepublican 
ticket. He was the first man ever elected 
to congress from the countj% and was re- 
elected at two successive elections, serv- 
ing three terms. He served in congress 
from 1865 to 1871. The honor of fur- 
nishing a congressman was not again 
conferred ujjon Shelby county until 1896, 
twenty-five years later, when Richard P. 
Giles was elected, but died before he 
was inducted into office. Mr. Giles was 
a great favorite in the countv, which 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



101 



stood by him loyally in three successive 
campaigns for the nomination, and there 
was universal grief and sadness over his 
untimely death just as he realized the 
ambition of his life. As a successor to 
this distinguished son of Shelby county, 



James T. Lloyd, the present incumbent, 
was selected by the Democi'ats and was 
re-elected by a large majority. A fuller 
account of the lives and incidents to the 
election of each will appear later, in the 
political history of the county. 



CHAPTER IX. 

Ousting the Officers — Mukdees and Homicides — Murder of George Queaby — 
"The Dale-Phelps Tragedy" — Bruce Green Kills Calvin Warren — A 
Negro Murder Case — The Eobber Johnson — The Great Benjamin "Will 
Case — The Will — Indicting Eebel Preachers — Registration of Voters — 
News From Headquarters — The War Is Over — The Drake Constitution — 
After the War — Robbery of the County Treasury — Politics and Election 
of 1870 — Registration in 1870 — Census of 1880 — Flood of 1876. 



ousting the officers. 

The convention on March 17, 1865, 
passed an ordinance vacating the offices 
of the judges of the Supreme court and 
of all the Circuit courts and all the 
county offices. It was to take effect 
May 1st, and was never submitted to the 
people. It gave the governor power to 
fill all these offices by appointment. 
The terms of many of the officers who 
had been elected by the people had not 
expired; notably, the supreme judges, 
who had been elected for a term of six 
years, and some of whom had served 
only eighteen months. The reason as- 
signed for the removal was that only 
loyal men should be in office. They found 
no little trouble in store when it came to 
enforcing the ordinance. The American 
people have always l)een quick to resent 
any interference by a legislative body 
with the judiciary, especially so when it 
partakes of partisan politics, and the 
"ousting business" was no exception to 
the rule ; but his excellency Governor 
Fletcher proceeded to fill the offices the 
ordinance vacated and to place therein 
some of his political friends. 

In this county the appointments were: 
W. J. HoUidav. countv dork, vice T. 0. 



Eskridge, removed ; John S. Duncan, cir- 
cuit clerk, vice W. L. Cliipley, removed; 
James Bell, treasurer, vice C. K. Cotton, 
removed. County Court Justice Samuel 
Huston gave way to Lewis F. Carothers. 
The other officials remained. 

In this judicial circuit John I. Camp- 
bell was appointed judge in the room of 
Hon. Gilchrist Poi'ter. 

All the new appointees were radical 
Republicans. Office-holding in those days 
was a biased affair, and a Democrat 
need not aspire to any such pinnacle, and 
Shelby county submitted to the inevi- 
table; but some of the supreme judges 
in St. Louis were not so easily passed 
out. Judges Bay and Dryden claimed 
the law was not vested with the proper 
authority, was unconstitutional, and 
they refused to vacate. Governor 
Fletcher ordered the police to arrest 
them and eject them from the court. It 
was done and they were taken before a 
criminal court of St. Louis and fined for 
disturbing the peace. 

murders and homicides. 

But four homicides occurred in this 
county during its early history, and, 
comparatively sjieakiiig, it has been a 



102 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



103 



county free of ti'agedies. It has ever 
been a home-loving-, law-abiding people. 

MURDER OF GEORGE QUEARY. 

September i, 1873, George Queary, a 
colored barber, was shot and killed by 
George Ashby, colored. The shot dis- 
emboweled the victim. He relocated the 
dismembered organs and held them in 
place with one hand, clinging to the lamp 
post with the other, until shortly he fell 
to the pavement and was carried home 
and died that night. The trial brought 
out the evidence that they had quarreled 
a couple of hours previously. Queary 
had gotten the better of Ashby, who left 
him, vowing vengeance. It also came 
out that Queary had a "self-protector" 
and had called to the ci'owd to "get out 
of the way" before Ashby fired. In his 
trial at Shelbyville, May, 1875, Ashby 
was found guilty of murder in the second 
degree and sentenced to twenty years in 
the penitentiary. He was defended by 
Jewett & Hale, able lawyers assigned 
him by the court. 

THE DALE-PHELPS TRAGEDY. 

On the night of the 1st of May, 1875, 
there was a most desperate affray in 
Clarence, resulting in the death of one 
man and the serious wounding of two 
others. 

John and Jonah Phelps, brothers, were 
two young men who lived on a farm six 
miles south of Clarence, whither they 
had moved from Roanoke, Howard 
county. Their cousin, James Phelps, 
lived on a farm adjoining town. 

In Mr. Dale's restaurant some men 
had eaten some oysters and had fallen 
on the floor in a drunken sleep. John 
Pl^elps was teasing them. Mr. Dale's 



son, John D. Dale, then a ])oy fifteen 
years of age, was attending the restau- 
rant, and remonstrated with Phelps. 
James Phelps came in and said to young 
Dale, "What is it your d — d business!" 
In a short quarrel that resulted Phelps 
struck the boy and knocked him down 
and the two clinched. The boy's father 
sought to interfere, but John Phelps 
caught and held him. Jonah caught up 
a chair and used it when and where he 
could. 

Jim Phelps and John Dale were on 
the floor, and Phelps was stabbing and 
cutting the boy fearfully. He made 
eight severe wounds. Jonah Phelps 
struck at Dale with a poker, but missed 
him and the blow fell upon Jim Phelps, 
stunning him. Young Dale then sprang 
up, all bleeding from his stab wounds, 
and ran behind the counter and secured 
a revolver. Jim Phelps recovered and 
again advanced, when Dale shot him 
through the upper portion of the body 
from side to side. He staggered to near 
the door and fell dead. As he was walk- 
ing off. Dale again fired, or the pistol 
was accidentally discharged, and wound- 
ed him in the heel. At the first crack 
of the pistol John Phelps released old 
man Dale and started towards young- 
John, who fired and shot him fairly 
through the body, the ball passing 
through one lung. Jonah ran away and 
escaped unhurt. 

Young Dale was arrested while lying 
in bed suffering from his numerous 
wounds, and upon preliminary examina- 
tion was bound over. He was indicted 
soon after and at the November term 
following (1875) he was tried on a 
charge of murder. Prosecuting Attor- 
ney Dobyns made most strenuous efforts 



104 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



to convict him, going, as some thought, 
bej'ond his duty in his zeal; but the 
jury acquitted him without leaving their 
seats. Indeed, they announced that they 
were ready to render a verdict as soon 
as the evidence in the prosecution was 
in and before that of the defense had 
been introduced. 

John Phelps recovered from his severe 
wound. -lolm Dale grew to manhood 
here and is the present clerk of Shelby 
county. 

It is perhaps just to say that it is 
universally considered that there was not 
the least element of crime in what he 
did. Indeed, there are many who think 
that for a fifteen-year-old boy he ex- 
hibited remarkable courage and proved 
himself a hero instead of a criminal, and 
that he should nevei^have been indicted 
or even arrested. — Shelby County His- 
tory, 1884. 

BEUCE GREEN I\JLLS C.iLVIN WARREN. 

In the summer of 1880 a fatal stab- 
bing occurred at Lakenan. Calvin War- 
ren and a young man, Bruce Green, had 
been to Shelbyville with a load of pot- 
tery, which they disposed of, and re- 
turning by way of Shelbina, on the road 
home, being intoxicated, they quarreled 
over a trivial matter. After reaching 
Lakenan the quarrel was renewed, and 
Warren, who was the aggressor, made 
an assault upon Green, who stabbed him 
so badly he died in a few hours. 

Green was indicted in October, 1880, 
and gave bond for .$1,000. At the A]n\\ 
term, 1881, he was tried at Shelbyville 
and acquitted. It was a trial that ex- 
cited the interest of the whole country. 
Prosecuting Attorney R. P. Giles made 
a strenuous effort to convict, two of 



Warren's sisters, who attended the trial 
and were ladies of wealth, offering to 
pay well any additional counsel needed, 
but the prosecutor refused aid. The 
prisoner was ably defended In- his uncle, 
Hon. J. G. Blair, of Lewis county. Blair 
was a distinguished pleader, and it is 
said his speech in behalf of his nephew 
was marked for its eloquence, its force, 
and its tenderness. Green was acquitted 
and went home with his uncle to make 
his home permanently. 

A NEGRO MURDER C.\SE. 

In 1881 Shelbina had a murder, when 
a negress was killed by some colored 
men. It seems that some negroes were 
at enmity with a negro man who was 
the recipient of too many favors of a 
negress, an inmate of the house where 
the shooting was done. 

On the night of the murder, five negro 
men — Baily Lafoe, William Wilson, 
George Buckner, Ben Heathman and 
Oscar Brown — visited the house where 
they supposed the enemy was, with the 
avowed purpose of "doing him up." 

They attacked the house, and the 
negress started up from her bed and 
started to another room, when the assail- 
lants, seeing her through the window, 
thought it their man and shot and killed 
her. 

They were all arrested. Brown turned 
state's evidence. At the October term 
of Circuit court, 1881, George Buckner 
and AVilliam Wilson were convicted of 
murder in the second degree and given a 
sentence of eleven years for Buckner and 
ten years for Wilson. At the following 
April term a nolle qurosequi was en- 
tered in each of the other cases, and 
Heathman, Lafoe and Brown were dis- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



105 



charged. It was said that Brown fired 
the fatal shot. 

THE ROBBER " JOHNSON." 

J. B. Johnson figured in the county's 
historj' of 1882 as the most daring and 
dangerous robber that had ever trod the 
fertile soil of Shelby county. Tt hap- 
pened that on the night of June 16, 1882, 
B. F. Smith, a popular proprietor of the 
City hotel in Shelbyville, was robbed of 
half a hundred by a guest who regis- 
tered as "J. B. Salmon" but later said 
he was "J. B. Johnson." He was a 
pedestrian, entering Shelbyville by the 
eastern road, and talked fluently with 
his host at the City hotel, representing 
himself to be a carpenter, and that he 
had been working in Lewis county and 
was en route to his home in St. Joseph. 
He was of gentlemanly address and 
agreeable in his demeanor, and there 
was nothing to betray his "outre" im- 
pression, on a casual acquaintance, but 
after a more scrutinizing survey one 
might otherwise interpret his cold, glit- 
tering eyes, his hard, cruel mouth, which 
would have a tendency to make one judge 
him as he was, — one of the most cunning, 
treacherous criminals of the country, 
daring beyond limit. Another alias used 
by him was Henry Clark. 

Whether he ever had a home or not 
could never be ascertained. The rob- 
bery occurred about as follows : 

Smith's guest asked his host for 
change for a $20 bill and early retired 
to his room. On the following morning 
about two o'clock Smith was awakened 
by his wife, who directed his attention 
to the robber, standing at the foot of 
their bed. with a di'awn revolver, de- 
manding of his host to arise and yield 



up his monej', or his life was at his 
mercy. Mr. Smith forthwith arose and 
delivered over to the man the contents 
of his purse, which contained in the 
neighborhood of $50. At the request of 
the intruder he then accompanied him 
to the hotel office, delivered to him his 
grip, and then the robber thoughtfully 
and courteously bade him adieu and 
stepped out into the night, to the music 
of the thunderstorm then prevailing. 

With the coming of dawn the county 
turned out in hot pursuit after the rob- 
ber, who was apprehended near the town 
of Clarence. Deputy Sheriff Charles 
Ennis first discovered him, and a party 
from Clarence, headed by the marshal 
and J. D. Dale, captured him a mile east 
of town. The Clarence officials had been 
notified of his whereabouts by Deputy 
Sheriff Ennis, who was aboard an east- 
bound train and recognized the robber 
walking along the road. He was cap- 
tured by main force, refusing, in the face 
of the well-armed and threatening depu- 
tation, to throw up his arms, deliver his 
weapon or make a surrender. 

When in the grasp of the officers he 
proceeded to become notorious. On the 
evening of the same day he was under 
guard in the second story of the hotel 
at Clarence, when "Johnson" ]>roceeded 
to auction off to the highest bidder the 
hat he wore, which he claimed belonged 
to the renowned Jesse James. Having 
attracted all the men from the street, 
he attempted to escape by making a 
sudden spring through an open window 
to the street below. He, however, was 
unfortunate enough to break a leg, and 
so was easily recaptured. 

At a preliminary trial Johnson was 
])ound over and sent to tiie Palmyra jail 



106 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



for safe keeping. It was here, before 
his broken limb was well knitted, that 
he headed and urged his fellow inmates 
on to an outbreak, making a brutal 
assault on the young man who carried 
his food, and whom he beat almost into 
a lifeless state before a rescue was made. 
On October 13, 1882, he was arraigned 
in the County Circuit court and plead 
guilty to robbery. The distinguished 
Judge Redd sentenced him to twelve 
years at hard labor in the penitentiary. 
Within the walls of the state peniten- 
tiary the daredevil was not cowed. He 
headed a revolt of some of its most har- 
dened criminals. With his own hand he 
fired the walls of the penitentiary, cut 
the hose to head off the quenching of 
the flames, and struck down every guard 
that came his way. The casualty from 
this desperate act cost the state $150,000 
worth of property. For this act he was 
sentenced to a dark cell, which only made 
a demon out of a sullen spirit, and, un- 
provoked, he attacked his cell-keeper, 
whom he beat to insensibility. The his- 
tory concerning the man during his 
incarceration is to be found on the rec- 
ords at the IMissouri state penitentiary, 
given us through the kindness of Mr. 
Roach, secretary of state, as follows: 

"J. B. Johnson was received for in- 
carceration from Shelbj- county, October 
15, 1882, having been convicted of bur- 
glary and larceny. His sentence was for 
twelve years. At the December term, 
1884, of the Cole County Circuit court 
said Johnson was convicted of arson and 
attem])t to 1)reak prison. His punish- 
ment for this charge was assessed at 
imprisonment in the penitentiary for a 
lonn of twelve years from October 13, 



1894. He was an inmate of the prison 
at the time he committed the crimes of 
arson and attempt to break prison. In 
the latter part of 1900 the prison physi- 
cian certified to the governor that the 
said Johnson was confined in the prison 
hosi)ital, was afflicted with consumption, 
that he was suffering from an incnral)lo 
disease, and that further confinement 
would greatly endanger and shorten his 
life. Upon this certificate the prison 
inspectors recommended the pardon of 
Johnson, and accordingly a pardon was 
issued to him December 4, 1900, upon 
condition that he immediately leave the 
state and never return. Thus endeth 
this chapter on Johnson, so far as the 
records in this department disclose. 
' ' Cornelius Roach, 
"Secretary of State." 

THE GREAT BENJAMIN WILL CASE. 

An incident that stirred the county of 
Shelby as well as the adjoining counties, 
and indeed all the states, in the 70s, was 
the great Benjamin will case. Mr. Ben- 
jamin has received much mention else- 
where, as he was a prominent pioneer in 
the early history of the county. From 
the "Hi.story of Shelby County" of 1SS4 
we publish the narrative account in its 
entirety : 

In April, 1878, a suit was begun in 
the Shelbj' County Circuit court to set 
aside a will made, or alleged to have 
been made, by Hon. John F. Benjamin, 
of this county, a few hours before his 
death, March"8, 1877. 

This was and is a "celebrated case" 
in the annals of northeast Missouri juris- 
])ru(lence, and will bear something of 
detailed mention and elaboration. 

Mr. Benjamin was a native of Xew 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



107 



York, born in 1817. He came to Shelby 
county at an early day — before 1846 — 
and settled at Shelbjville. He was an 
attorney of more than ordinary ability, 
and was possessed of great shrewdness, 
sagacity, and a^itness for money-making. 
He improved every opportunit.y to add 
legitimately to bis property, and in time 
became possessed of a considerable for- 
tune, estimated at about $75,000. It is 
said that he made something of a start 
in California during the flush times of 
1849-51. He was himself a "forty- 
niner." 

During the Civil war Mr. Benjamin 
was an ardent Unionist and early en- 
tered the Federal service. Some of bis 
services are noted elsewhere. He rose 
from a captaincy to a brigadier general- 
ship of the Missouri militia. In 1864 he 
was elected to congress as a radical Re- 
publican, and re - elected in 1866 - 68, 
serving three terms as a member of the 
thirty-ninth, fortieth and forty-first con- 
gresses. In 1872 be was again a candi- 
date, but was defeated by Col. John M. 
Glover, the Democratic nominee. 

After the war Mr. Benjamin removed 
from Shelbyville to Shelbina, where be 
built a handsome and comfortable resi- 
dence costing over $15,000. After being 
defeated for congress be repaired to 
"Washington and, in the fall of 1874, en- 
gaged in banking with one Otis Bigelow, 
the firm being known as Bigelow & 
Benjamin. 

General Benjamin bad long been mar- 
ried, but was childless. While in Wash- 
ington as congressman be formed the 
acquaintance of some ladies named 
Welsh. One, Miss Minnie Welsh, be 
took under his patronage and assisted 
financiallv and in manv other ways. 



Upon her marriage to a gentleman 
named Hammond he assumed a pro- 
tectorate over her sister, Guy H., a 
beautiful and winsome young lady, but 
capricious and guiltj^ of certain breaches 
of propriety and offenses against good 
morals. Married to a Mr. Allen, she 
eloped from him at Los Angeles, Cal., 
and in male attire concealed herself 
in the stateroom of her paramour on 
board a vessel bound for San Francisco. 
She was apprehended and the elopement 
frustrated. 

In Washington and elsewhere General 
Benjamin introduced Guy Allen as his 
adopted daughter, and she called him 
"papa." 

She made at least one trip to Shelby- 
ville with him, and accompanied him 
elsewhere on many occasions. It cannot 
be questioned that the general, old and 
mature as he was, was very much at- 
tached to if not infatuated with the 
fascinating lady. Her enemies allege 
that bis relations with her were illicit, 
as had been those be formerly main- 
tained with her sisters. It does not seem 
that Mrs. Benjamin recognized Guy as 
her daughter, or approved of her inti- 
macy and familiarity with General 
Benjamin. She and others had been 
informed that Mrs. Allen was a Wash- 
ington city adventuress, pretty' and 
engaging, but wily and wicked. 

In April, 1876, while at Shelbina, 
Benjamin made a will, which was wit- 
nessed by W. A. Reid, Daniel Taylor 
and other citizens of the county. By the 
provisions of this will Guy Allen was 
to receive a specific legacy of the gen- 
eral's military clothing and equipments, 
his private silver plate, and his dia- 
monds. She was also to receive the 



108 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



income from the proceeds of the invest- 
ment of one-half of his estate remaining 
after certain other legacies had been 
paid and satisfied. The investment was 
to be made in United States or ^lissouri 
bonds, the interest on which was to be 
])aid "to my adopted daughter, Guj^ H. 
Allen, aforesaid, during her natural life, 
the same to be for her sole and separate 
use, and neither to be jiaid to nor in any 
manner controlled by her husband. ' ' 

Also in this will the general directed 
that there should be erected over his 
grave a monument costing not more 
than $5,000, and on which should be in- 
scrilied the following: "John Forbes 
Benjamin ; born in Cicero, New York, 

Jany. 23, 1817; died at , 18—. 

A captain, major, lieutenant-colonel, and 
brigadier general in the Federal Army, 
and a member of the 39th, 40th, 41st 
Congresses." 

General Benjamin spent a great deal 
of his time in AVashington. He had 
rooms on D street, between Second and 
Third, which he occupied in connection 
with Mrs. Allen. Their rooms adjoined 
and communicated. Airs. Benjamiu re- 
mained at the elegant home in Shelbina. 

In the early winter of 1877 General 
Benjamin suffered from colds and neu- 
ralgic pains. On the first of March he 
was seized with a violent attack of 
pleuro-pneumonia. He died March 8th. 
At the time of his decease Airs. Allen 
was lying very ill in an adjoining room 
and was not informed of his death until 
ten days after it occurred. 

The general's body was immediately 
taken to an undertaker, who prepared 
it for shi]inient, and in charge of one 
George C. Rowan it was shii)ped to 
Shelbina and there buried. 



Immediately after General Benjamin's 
death a will was produced bearing his 
undoubted signature, "John Forbes 
Benjamin," and purporting to have 
been made Alarch 7, 1877, the day before 
his death. This paper was written by 
one George. Truesdale, a real estate 
agent of Washington, whose office was 
in the banking house of Bigelow & Ben- 
jamin, and who was well accjuainted with 
the general in his lifetime. 

He swore that the paper was written 
at Benjamin's dictation and signed by 
him as represented. There signed this 
l)aper as witnesses the general's attend- 
ing physicians, Drs. J. H. Thom])sou and 
G. L. Alagruder; his partner, Otis Bige- 
low, and Air. Truesdell ; and there was 
present, and witnessed the signing, the 
nurse, Catherine Alahoney. The fol- 
lowing is a copy of the will: 

The Will. 

Know all men by these presents that I, 
John Forbes Benjamin, of the town of 
Shelbina, County of Shelby, and State 
of Alissouri, being of soimd mind, but 
conscious of the fact that I have Init a 
few days to live, do make, ])ulilish, and 
declare the following to be my last will 
and testament, thereby revoking all wills 
and codicils heretofore made by me. 

1st, I give and bequeath the following 
s])ecific legacies: — 

To my good friend, Charles AI. King, 
of Shelbina, of Alissouri, my law library 
and furniture, or all that portion of the 
same now in use by hiiu, and my gold- 
headed cane. 

I give to George C. B. Rowan, of 
AVashington, D. C, who has given me 
so much kind care during my sickness, 
one hundred dollars ($100). 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



109 



To my beloved wife, Diana, all my 
property of every description owned or 
possessed by me in the State of Mis- 
souri ; also $12,000 in the District of 
Columbia, six per cent gold bonds. I also 
give her a deed of trust loan of $4,000 
made to John (J. AVaters, and a note for 
$2,000 of William Kidge, of Shelbiua, 
Missouri, which I hereby direct to be 
forwarded to her at Shelbina, Missouri. 

I give and bequeath to my adopted 
daughter, Mrs. Guy H. Allen, wife of 
James M. Allen, late of Cleveland, Ohio, 
all my interest in the partnership of 
Bigelow & Benjamin, and all debts which 
may be owing to me by persons in the 
District of Columbia, and all the real 
estate owned by me in the District of 
Columbia. 

She is now very ill and may not sur- 
vive me many days, and perha]:»s not at 
all ; in either event, I give and bequeath 
the part given to her to her sister, Mrs. 
Minnie Hammond, of Cleveland, Mary- 
land, wife of Eugene Hammond, of 
Cumberland, Maryland. 

My remains after death here to be 
suitably but not extravagantly cared for 
by an undertaker and the same for- 
warded to Shelbina, Missouri, for such 
cemeterial disjiosition as may be had 
there. I leave it all to the discretion of 
my wife aforesaid. 

I have long professed faith in the 
Lord Jesus Christ before me, as the Son 
of God. Into His liands I commit my 
spirit. 

I nominate and appoint my friend, 
Joshua M. Ennis, of Shelbyville, Mis- 
souri, the executor of this my last will 
and testament, so far as my property 
in the State of Missouri is concerned, 
and appoint George Truesdell to wind 



up my business in the District of Colum- 
bia, so far as will not interfere with the 
riglits of Otis Bigelow, my surviving 
partner. Subscribed by my own hand. 
Done in the City of Washington, in the 
District of Columbia, on the 7th day of 
:\larch, A. D. 1877. 

John Foebes Ben.jamin. 

Subscribed by us as witnesses in the 
]n-esence of each other, and in the pres- 
ence of and at the request of the testator, 
who declared to us that the foregoing 
was his last will and testament, the 
testator being known to each of us to 
be the party signing as such. 

J. H. Thompson, M. D. 

G. L. Magktjder, M.D. 

Otis Bigelow. 

George Truesdell. 

About March 1, 1877, or eight days 
before, his death, Mr. Benjamin made 
what was intended evidently to be a 
schedule of his property. This schedule, 
or memorandum, which was in his own 
handwriting, was as follows : 

"Bank, $34,500; St. L., $2,000; notes, 
$11,440; Ridge, $2,000; Waters, $3,000; 
bonds, $12,000; R. E. (real estate), 
$2,000; int., $10; in-ofit, $50; cash, $2,450. 
Total, $69,750." 

The immediate relatives of General 
Benjamin — his wife, Mrs. Diana Benja- 
min; his brothers, George H. and Henry 
H. ; his sister, Mrs. Louisa Wood; and a 
niece, Mrs. Thurza Parks — contested 
this will, and in April, 1878, brought suit 
in the Shelby county circuit court to 
have it set aside and declared null and 
void, on the ground that it had been 
fraudulently ol)tainod and made; that 
the principal beneficiary, Mrs. Guy H. 



110 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUXT\ 



Allen, had an undue influence over the 
testator, etc. 

It was further charged or insinuated 
that there had been foulest of foul play 
in the transaction; that a general con- 
spiracy had l)een entered into by the doc- 
tors, the nurses, Colonel Truesdell, Jen- 
nie Welsh, a sister of Mrs. Allen, and 
Mrs. Allen herself, to put General Ben- 
jamin out of the way, and to obtain pos- 
session or control of the greater portion 
of his valuable property. Some thought 
he had been drugged in his last illness; 
others that a will different from the one 
shown had been prepared by the Gen- 
eral's dictation, but that the one exhib- 
ited was substituted when it came to 
signing. 

Numerous witnesses testified as to the 
genuineness of the will, giving circum- 
stantial accounts, substantially agreeing, 
of its preparation and of the soundness 
of mind of the testator at the time of 
making it. It was also testified by all 
the witnesses who were present when 
General Benjamin died that at the time 
of his death and for some days preceding 
and succeeding that event, Mrs. Guy Al- 
len herself lay in an adjoining room un- 
conscious of what was occurring and had 
occurred to ^Ir. Benjamin. It was fur- 
thermore sworn to that Mr. Benjamin 
was not friendly disposed toward his 
brothers and sisters; that he had been 
estranged from them for years, and it 
was sought to establish the conclusion 
that this was the reason why they were 
excluded as beneficiaries of his will. It 
was furthermore sworn to that the testa- 
tor had i-epeatedly introduced and repre- 
sented Mrs. Guy Allen as his adopted 
daughter, and treated her openly with 
great affection. His first accjuaintance 



had begun with her during his first term 
in Congress, when he was a boarder in 
her mother's establishment. 

The suit was begun in April, 1878, but 
was not tried until a year later. The in- 
tervening time was spent in taking depo- 
sitions in AVashington and in other pro- 
ceedings incident to the law's delay. In 
April, 1879, the case was called in the 
circuit court at Shclbyville. 

Judge John T. Redd, of Palmyra, was 
on the bench. A strong array of lawyers 
from Washington and elsewhere was 
present, and the court room was crowded 
with spectators. The trial was prolonged 
for some days and eveiy point was hotly 
contested. 

For the i)laintiffs there were D. C. 
Cameron and Judge Barrow, talented 
and experienced attorneys from Wash- 
ington City; Thoma.s L. Anderson, the 
veteran lawyer of Palmyra, the Nestor 
of the northeast Missouri bar, and King 
& Giles, the well known accomplished 
practitioners of Shelbina. For the de- 
fendant, Guy Allen, there was A. S. 
Worthington, of Washington, now dis- 
trict attorney ; Hon. B. F. Dobyns, a 
most learned counsel and brilliant advo- 
cate of this county; Hon. Theo. Brace, 
an erudite judge of this circuit. P. B. 
Dunn, Esq., represented J. 'SI. Ennis, the 
executor for Missouri, and a lawyer 
named Barnard appeared for George 
Truesdell, the Washington City executor. 
Airs. Allen hei-self was present through- 
out the trial and testified as a witness, 
making a most favorable impression — 
demure and modest as a Quakeress, and 
shrewd and quick-witted as a queen's 
maid of honor. 

He, over whose effects the litigants 
were M-rangling and snarling, lay silent 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



111 



in his narrow house in the Shelbiua cem- 
etery, and those who ought to have been 
mourning his memory, were quarreling 
over his dollars. 

Of what avail now was the wealth he 
had toiled so long and so hard for — the 
privations he had endured, the hard bar- 
gains he had made and the enemies he 
had created thereby"? How much had he 
taken with him to that city whose gates 
are of pearl and whose streets are paved 
with gold and lighted with the divine 
glory? Alas ! for the dross which he had 
striven so hard for! It had become as 
the spoil of the pirate — as a bone over 
which dogs might fight ! Far better had 
he done good with it while he lived, vis- 
ited the widow and the fatherless and 
those who were sick and in distress and 
ministered to them in their affliction. Far 
better had he never acquired it. 

After some days the jury retired, but 
found it impossible to agree. In Octo- 
ber following, the case was tried again, 
with the same result. The multiplicity 
of testimony, some of it confJicting, the 
weary lawyers with their endless 
tongues, the lengthy and learned instruc- 
tions of the judge, the entrancing fea- 
tures of the principal defendant in the 
case, who was ])resent on both occasions, 
and sat the trial through, muddled the 
senses and confused the opinions of our 
Shelby county yeomanry. 

Before it could be brought to trial 
again the ease was taken on a change of 
venue by consent of parties (Judge 
Brace, who had come to the bench, hav- 
ing been of counsel) to Macon county, 
where it yet lies undisposed of. But in 
the meantime a suit was begun in the 
District of Columbia by Mrs. Allen, 
now married again to a Mr. Schley, of 



Washington, to secure the property 
which she claims was bequeathed to her 
by her "foster father." The nisi prius 
courts decided in her favor, and it is un- 
derstood th'at their decisions now await 
confirmation by the Supreme Court of 
the United States. Upon this decision 
rests the ultimate fate of the case in its 
entirety in the courts at Macon and else- 
where. 

The property in the District of Colum- 
bia has already been distributed by order 
of the Probate court there, and Mrs. Al- 
len given her share or the greater part 
thereof. The Benjamin relatives fought 
the case, without success, however. 

The decision that finally settled the 
case was rendered in the Supreme Court 
of the United States April 15, 1886. The 
case was decided in favor of Mrs. Allen 
and the Washington executors. All op- 
position was then withdrawn and the 
will was admitted to be probated. 

But the fascinating and beautiful Guy, 
fair of feature and light of love, yet 
reigns as a queen. She has at least the 
partial enjoyment of her fortune, and is 
liapjiy in the possession of her new lover 
and husband. She speaks in teuderest 
tones of General Benjamin, and takes 
great pride in exhibiting his letters, 
wherein he speaks of her fondly, calling 
her "Bonnie," and by other terms of en- 
dearment. 

Mrs. Benjamin, the widow of the Gen- 
eral, did not survive him but a few 
months. She died in Shelbina in the 
summer following, and was not buried 
beside her husband, but in the Shelby- 
ville cemetery, and there is, as yet, no 
stone to mark her resting place, or that 
of her husband. 

On Wednesday, June 12, 1889, the 



112 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



body of Gen. John F. Benjamin was dis- 
interred at Shelbina and interred the 
same day at Sbelbyville under the aus- 
pices of tlie Grand Army of the Eepublie. 

INDICTING "rebel" PREACHERS. 

The Drake Constitution, section 9, ar- 
ticle II, compelled preachers, teachers, 
lawyers, etc., to take the test oath, and 
this brought a protest from all over the 
country, from all denominations, Protest- 
ant and Catholic, but the authorities pro- 
ceeded to "make good." ]\Iinisters of 
the gospel were arraigned all over the 
state, and even three Sisters of Charity 
were dragged into court in Cape Girar- 
deau county and fined for teaching with- 
out taking the test oath. Fourteen min- 
isters were indicted at a single session of 
Circuit court. In our own couuty we fur- 
nished our own integral part of history 
along this line. In November, 1866, the 
following ministers were indicted for not 
taking the Drake oath : Rev. Jesse Fau- 
I)iau, three counts ; Henry Louthan, Rob- 
ert Holliday, Milford Powers, "William 
Pulliam, Father D. P. Phelan and Revs. 
Robey and Brown. The indictments 
against the preachers were found sepa- 
rately and charged each with having on 
a certain date "at the county of Shelby 
aforesaid, more than sixty days after the 
4th of July, 1865, unlawfully, feloniously, 
etc., etc.. 'jireacbed' without first having 
taken, sul)scribed and filed * * * 
the oath of loyalty," which said preach- 
ing was "contrary to the form of the 
constitution in such case made and ])ro- 
vided, and against the peace and dignity 
of the state." The preachers were ar- 
rested, but their trial awaited the deci- 
sion of a case before the United States 
Supi-eme court. The case was that of 



Rev. J. A. Cummings, of Louisiana, a 
Catholic priest, who was convicted in the 
Circuit court for teaching and preaching 
in the Circuit court without taking the 
oath. There was no proof he had been 
disloyal, but he simi)ly refused to take 
the oath. He was convicted, sentenced to 
a fine of five hundred dollars and to be 
sent to jail till the fine was paid. He ap- 
pealed to the Supreme court of the state. 
It upheld the lower court. He appealed 
to the United States Supreme court and 
it set the test oath aside as contrary to 
the nation's constitution. 

That court declared it to be an ex post 
facto law. It said no state was per- 
mitted to enact a law which punished 
men for offenses committed before the 
law was passed. 

That quashed the Drake oath law, and 
when the decision was made in favor of 
the preachers and the teachers, the in- 
dictments all over the state were never 
called up and never heard of again and 
Shelby county preachers went on their 
way in their mission of love. . 

REGISTRATION OF VOTERS. 

The convention agreed to submit their 
Constitution to the jieople for endorse- 
ment, but to be sure it would not be re- 
jected, they passed an "ordinance" de- 
claring that no one should vote for nor 
against the Constitution who would not 
first take the Drake oath. In order to 
make sure that none took it falsely, a 
system of registration of voters was 
l)rovided for. The registering officer 
was given the power to pass ui)ou the 
(lualification of all persons to vote, and 
if he deemed any of tlieiu could not truth- 
fully take this oath he refused to enter 
their names upon the poll books. Yet 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



113 



after this extreme precaution, the elec- 
tion polled on June G, 1865, a majority 
for the Constitution of 1,800, out of a 
total vote of 85,000. In this county the 
boai'd of registrars prepared a list of 
cpiestions, which were submitted to every 
applicant for registration. The ques- 
tions were printed in a book and oppo- 
site blanks for answers, one book for 
each township, and the applicants be- 
came a matter of record. 

SPECIAL, INCmENTS IN THE HISTOKY OF THE 

COUNTY 1865 TO 1884. 

Spring opened up unusually early, the 
song of the bluebird was heard in the 
land, but the weather was cold and damp 
and delayed the sowing of the seed. The 
farmer was so glad to return to his 
every-day routine life he began his plow- 
ing as early as the weather would per- 
mit, although not quite sure was he as 
yet, that he would be left at home to 
reaj), but there seemed to predominate a 
hush throughout the land that seemed to 
whis]jer of rest and home. News that 
could be ascertained from the chief seats 
of war and the signs of the times indi- 
cated that the war was over, yet all these 
signs had been misleading before, and 
so they entertained yet a fear that again 
they were all deceived. Planting in the 
county continued up through May and 
the first of June, but the season re- 
mained a favorable one, and crops were 
of an extraordinary yield. Everything 
was abundant and ]irices remained 
steady and good. 

NEWS FROM HEADQUARTERS. 

Al)out the first days of April news was 

spread broadcast that General Lee's 

I army in Virgina was in bad shape, and 



this intelligence was followed up on 
April 9, just four years, lacking three 
days, after the Confederates cajitured 
Fort Sumter, by the surrender of Gen- 
eral Lee to General Grant at Appo- 
mattox. But a few days previously Eich- 
mond had been occupied by the Federal 
troops, and when this intelligence was 
received there was the wildest enthu- 
siasm among the Unionists of this 
county. 

Even many of the Confederate sympa- 
thizers were not sorry to again be in the 
land of peace, even though the terms 
were far from their liking. 

But the hearts of the Southerners 
knew no rejoicing. They were ready to 
fight to the bitter end for the cause which 
they promulgated. It was now self-evi- 
dent that they had taken poor stock in 
the Confederacy. It was now sure de- 
feat for those who followed the Stars 
and Bars. The Confederates became 
reconciled and awaited the inevitable 
with resignation to the end. 

THE WAR IS OVER. 

And the breathless waiting for news 
was not in vain. A quick succession of 
events brought the war to a close. A few 
days after Lee surrendered to Grant, 
Gen. Joe Johnston's army surrendered 
to General Sherman, and then followed 
May 13, Kirby Smith's trans-Mississippi 
army, except a portion of Shelby's bri- 
gade and some other Confederate Mis- 
sourians, some five hundred, went on to 
Mexico. Soon Confederate soldiers be- 
gan to return to their Missouri homes. 
Many lived here and others passed on 
through to their homes. 

In most instances the vanquished sol- 
dier was allowed to return to his home in 



114 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



peace, but in a few instances they were 
buffeted and taunted by the men in blue, 
an insult to the name soldier, which car- 
ries even with it the characteristic of 
In-avery. The Confederate soldier had 
fought a good tight, had openly acknowl- 
edged defeat, philosophically accepted 
his situation and had gone to his work, 
hoping to mend his fragmentary for- 
tunes. Not all were permitted to return 
to his dear ones at the dear old home- 
stead, for many a soldier in gray lay 
upon the battlefield, his life a ransom to 
redeem the cause he honored, while his 
loved ones at home were bowed and 
broken because he never returned. 

THE "dEAKe" constitution. 

On the 18th of April the state conven- 
tion, by a vote of 38 to 14, formed an en- 
tirely new constitution of the state, 
which was to be presented to the voters 
for adoption June 6th. It was called the 
Drake constitution, from the fact that 
Charles Drake, the vice-president of the 
convention, was its leading spirit, and 
from this fact and the extreme severity 
of the code, it has been called the "Dra- 
conian code," in comparison to the laws 
of Draco of Greece, which affixed the 
penalty of death alike to petty thefts and 
nmrder, saying in explanation that death 
was not too severe for small offenses and 
lie knew of no greater jiunishment for 
murder. 

The circumstances which led to the 
framing of the new constitution, the Dra- 
conian law, was the fact that the conven- 
tion went further, prescribing a "test 
oath," which declared that no person 
should vote nor hold office who had 



ever 



engaged in hostilities or given 



aid, or comfort, countenance or support 



to persons engaged in hostilities against 
the government of the United States, or 
had given letters, goods or information 
to its enemies, etc. It went on to say 
any person who had done any of these 
things or any other thing like them, 
could not vote, teach in any public or pri- 
vate school, practice law, preach the gos- 
pel, solemnize marriage, etc., unless such 
person had first taken the "test oath." 
All citizens attempting to teach or 
preach without .oaths were to be fined 
not less than $500 or committed to pri.son 
not less than sis months, or both, and if 
a person falsely took it, he was to be 
imprisoned in the penitentiary for 
l)erjury. 

The "test oath" is said to have dis- 
franchised at least one-third of the peo- 
ple till 1872, and it is said would have 
disfranchised another third had they ad- 
hered strictly to the requirements. 

The canvass which followed was a bit- 
ter one. Although the war was practi- 
cally over, all the Confederate armies 
had surrendered, yet a few guerrillas 
and bushwhackers continued their exist- 
ence in this state to the detriment of 
peace and safety to the sections they in- 
fested. Bands of military were kept in 
the field to hold the guerrillas in check 
and administer punishment for any dis- 
order, and a spirit of unrest prevailed, 
and the provisions of the new constitu- 
tion and the restrictions connected there- 
with, the embittered feeling which hos- 
tilities had caused, all bred ill will and 
was not calculatedlto restore an era of 
good feeling. 

Hundreds of taxpayers, many of them 
old and honored citizens, were denied 
the privilege of the l)allot in the decision 
of the great contest before the state, the 



HISTOEY OP SHELBY COUNTY 



115 



making of an organic law, to affect and 
govern them and their children. 

On the other hand the friends of the 
new constitution maintained that citizens 
who, by overt or covert acts, had at- 
tempted to destroy the government, who 
had, liy lighting against the Federal gov- 
ernment, "committed treason," or in 
deeds, words or sympathy, given en- 
couragement to those who had, were not 
and coiald not be proper recijaients of the 
ballot. They further alleged had the 
Confederate armies succeeded and Mis- 
souri become one of the Confederate 
states, then the Unionist would have con- 
sidered himself fortunate had he been 
allowed the privilege of living in the 
state. That he would not have been al- 
lowed to vote, etc., etc. 

Even in our own county, threats are 
said to be on record, such as a speech of 
Senator Green's at Shelbj^ville in 1861, 
in which he said in speaking to the Union 
men, "If you win, we will leave; if kc 
win, you shall leave." 

The whole state cast the following 
vote, which shows how the vote was cut 
down. Total vote cast at the election 
adopting constitution, 85,478; for, 43,- 
670 ; against, 41,808 ; majority for, 1,862. 
The Shelby county vote stood : For, 282 ; 
against, 164. 

Small wonder the ex-Confederates 
hated with a liitterness the Drake consti- 
tution, but happily the bitterness of 
strife is ])assing on down the march of 
time and the Union is walking, as it were, 
hand in hand, seeking the welfare of our 
free land. 

AFTER THE WAR. 

When war was a thing of history and 
the excitement was a thing of the past, 



the people again took up their regular 
avocations, the county made rapid prog- 
ress in her development, increasing her 
population at a rapid rate, making val- 
uable business acquisitions and perma- 
nent business improvements. Immigra- 
tion was livelier than before in the coun- 
ty's history, and took up large tracts for 
homes, building thereon houses that were 
an improvement over the average home 
of the past. Much new land was opened 
up and the older tracts were improved. 

The war had left the county badly in 
debt, had interfered with its business in 
a general way, so that all public im- 
provement had closed, but as soon as 
these debts were gotten out of the way, 
public improvements were again fore- 
most and the public highway was im- 
proved. Roads were built, bridges con- 
structed, etc., as soon as the county 
could jjrovide the means. 

On July 15, 1871, a contract was let for 
the first bridge that crossed Salt river 
between Shelbina and Shelbj-ville, at the 
old Dickerson ford. The contract price 
was $5,373.75, but the bridge with its ap- 
proaches cost $10,007. The work was 
completed in December, 1871. 

In 1871 the tirst iron bridge of the 
county spanned the South Fabius, in the 
northeastern part of the county. It was 
built by Bishop & Eaton at a cost of 
$2,800. " 

ROBBERY OF THE COUNTY TREASURY. 

Shelby county had not survived the de- 
]iletion of its treasury by war, when on 
November 20, 1868, the county treasury 
was looted of $10,000 by burglars. The 
treasury was a safe the county bought in 
1857, and set in a vault, built for the pur- 
pose, in the county clerk's office. It was 



116 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



supposed, of course, to be secure and 
was the county's only "safety bank." 
The burglars had made their entrance 
into the county clerk's office by the north 
window. The doors were pried open 
with levers and steel wedges and pries 
made for the purpose. The safe was 
thoroughly overhauled and every coin 
taken that was in her possession. The 
robbery was first known when County 
Clerk W. J. Holliday reached his office 
on the following morning, and caused no 
small stir in the little burg. The bank 
contained in money : 



1 $1,000 



1 

3 


$500 
$100 


7 


$50 


301 


$20 


63 


$10 


80 


$5 


16 
19 
13 


$10 

$5 
$3 



national bank note. . . 
national bank note . . . 
national bank notes . . 

(or greenback) 
national bank notes . . 

(or greenback) 
national bank notes . . 

(or greenback) 
national bank notes . . 

(or greenback) 
national bank notes . . 

(or greenback) 
Union military bonds 
Union military bonds 
Union military bonds 



$1,000 
500 
300 

. 350 

. 6,020 

630 

. 400 

, 160 
95 
39 



Total $9,494 

Of this sum $1,290 had been received 
from the tax on licenses, $3,224 belonged 
to the state revenue fund, and $4,980 to 
the state interest fund. In addition to 
the simi of public money in the safe. 
Clerk Holliday had some funds of his 
own, and a considerable sum belonged to 
the enrolled militia, having not yet been 
disbursed, making a total of $10,000. 

Only a few days, previous the county 



collector, J. :M. Collier, had taken $30,000 
to Quincy for safe keeping, which would 
have afforded the robbers some extra 
l)in money had they come while it was in 
the safe. The collector made a full and 
legal investigation of the case, in which 
the county attorney, M. J. Manville, rep- 
resented the county. 

The result was the imblic officials were 
exonerated from all censure and blame 
and the implication of no one. 

Two men from Quincy, strangers, were 
unfortunate enough to be sojourning in 
the city at the time. The citizens became 
suspicious of them, took them into cus- 
tody and made a desperate effort to im- 
plicate them, even going so far as to take 
them to the country to lynch them, but 
they averred their innocence so fervently 
that they were released. 

The real thieves were never appre- 
hended. No tools were found till a year 
later, when some drills and wedges and 
a few iron and steel pries were discov- 
ered in a fence corner in a meadow south 
of town and north of Black creek. It 
was supposed they were the tools that 
cracked the Shelby county safe. 

POLITICS AND ELECTION OF 1870. 

The January legislature of 1870 
agreed to submit to the voters an amend- 
ment to the constitution abolishing the 
test oath and restoring the ballot to 
former Confederates, Southei-n sympa- 
thizers and all other male citizens, and 
relieving them of other proscriptivo pen- 
alties. The slaves and their descendants 
had already been granted this privilege 
in 1867. The people were to vote on the 
new amendment in November, 1870. A 
very warm and earnest campaign pre- 
ceded the vote; indeed, the Presidential 



HISTOBY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



117 



yea.rs did not eclipse it. The Republican 
party disagreed as to what should be 
done to the large number of disfran- 
chised citizens. Many hoped to post- 
pone it. These were called Radical Re- 
IDublicans, but an equal number believed 
in a removal of all political disabilities at 
once. These were termed Liberal Repub- 
licans. The Radicals were led by Charles 
D. Drake, and maintained the extreme 
and iron-clad policy, and the Liberals, 
headed by Gratz Brown and Carl Schurz, 
contended for a more magnanimous pol- 
icy for those who had by word or deed 
held complicitly with the rebellion. 

The Radicals in convention at Jeffer- 
son City, nominated Joseph W. McClurg 
for re-election for governor. The Liber- 
als withdrew and adopted a platform and 
nominated Gratz Brown for governor. 
The Democrats declined to nominate a 
ticket and supported the Liberal Repub- 
lican ticket. There was a growing sen- 
timent among the people that the war 
was over, that the time for iron-clad 
oaths was past. 

Taxation without representation was 
growing more unpopular every day, that 
since negroes, who formerly were slaves, 
was now allowed the ballot, their mas- 
ters shrould not be denied its jirivilege. 
That public sentiment, both within and 
out of the borders of the state, was mak- 
ing largely against the condition of af- 
fairs as tyrannical and unjust. 

Owing to the test oath associated with 
the Drake constitution, very few Demo- 
crats ever reached the polls and there- 
fore had little power in the direction of 
pu))lic affairs. As was natural, few Con- 
federates or their sympathizers were Re- 
publicans. Their disfranchisement had 



embittered them against the author of 
their condition, and they cast lots with 
the Democrats, whether or not they were 
of that faith before the war. With the 
Confederates at their right hand and a 
split in the Republican ranks it was ap- 
parent, once the disfranchising clause 
was removed, the Democratic party 
would speedily come into power. 

In Shelby county politics were hum- 
ming. The old Democratic war-horses, 
who for so long had been a prodigal out 
in the cold, pricked up their ears and 
scrambled forward to win out. The party 
managers held the reins well under con- 
trol. A combination ticket between the 
Democrats and the Liberals was ar- 
ranged and shrewd politics was played 
to make sure the overthrow of the 
Radicals. 

REGISTRATION IN 1870. 

Salt River 308 

Jackson 178 

Clay 184 

Jefferson 93 

Taylor 87 

Black Creek 263 

Bethel , 183 

Tiger Fork 107 

Total ..1,403 

The election in the county was a mixed 
triumph for Liberals and Democrats. 

Governor— McC/m/-^, 600 ; Brown, 637. 

Congress — J. T. K. Hay ward, 594; J. 
G. Blair, 635. 

Representative — Shorts, 571 ; Shafer, 
653. 

Circuit Clerk — Leounrd Dobbins, 616; 
Duncan, 591. 



118 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



County Clerk — E. A. Graves, 661; J. 
S. Preston, 542. 

SheriE— William A. Poillon, 534; S. F. 
Dunn, 677. 

Note. — Straight Republicans in italic. 

On the amendments the vote stood: 
For, 881 ; against, 242. 

In the state they were adopted by more 
than 100,000 majority. Brown defeated 
McClurg by 41,038. 

The year 1870 is memorable in history 
as having been the year when the Radi- 
cals allowed both the "niggers and 
rebels" to vote in Missouri. 

CENSUS or 1880. 

The population of Shelby county in 
1880 was: Whites, 13,089; colored, 935. 
Total, 14,024. 

TOWNSHIP ENUMERATION. 

Bethel 1,343 

Black Creek, including Shelbyville 2,074 

Clay, including Clarence 1,761 

Jackson, including Hunnewell .... 2,057 

Jefferson 1,548 

Salt River, including Shelbina 2,866 

Taylor 1,212 

Tiger Fork 1,163 



TOWNS. 

Shelbina . . . .1,289 Clarence 570 

Shelbyville . . 619 Hunnewell .... 424 

1860, 1870, 1880 compaeed. 

Whites 6,565 9,540 13,089 

Colored 736 571 935 

Total 7,301 10,111 14,024 

FLOOD OF 1876. 

The summer of 1876 is known in 
Shelby county as the "high water era." 
It was a cool spring and in the "good 
old summer time" came a remarkable 
rainfall that raised some of the streams 
of the county to their maximum height. 
Salt river was swollen beyond that of 
any past date, to even the pioneers, who 
remembered well the floods of 1844, 1851 
and 1856. It was literally from bank to 
bank at many locations. At the long 
bridge, over the old Dickerson ford, on 
the Shelbina-Shelbyville road, the water 
skimmed over the bridge and obscured 
its approaches. On the northern ex- 
tremity was washed a huge boulder of 
granite in the road. To the east side of 
the road was a large black oak tree with 
the high water mark of 1876 nailed on it. 



CHAPTEE X. 

The Agricultural, Society of Shelby County — The Shelby County Agricul- 
tural and Mechanical Association — The Shelbina Pair Association — Local 
Option and Temperance — Transportation Facilities — The Hannibal and St. 
Joe Railroad — The Building of the Shelby County Railway — The First 
Electric Railroad — Chief Pursuits and Surplus Products. 



THE agricultural SOCIETY OF SHELBY 
COUNTY. 

Shelby county deserves the distinction 
of being the first county in north Mis- 
souri to organize and maintain an agri- 
cultural association or county fair. This 
event in the history of the county took 
place in 18.39. In 1837 the Missouri leg- 
islature passed an act for the promotion 
of agriculture and the encouraging of the 
formation of agricultural societies. Two 
years later some farmers and citizens of 
Shelbyville held a meeting and organized 
the society. The records of this meeting 
were preserved and were kept on file in 
the court house. The following is a copy 
of the original record : 

"Shelbyville, 22d February, 1839. At 
a meeting begun and held in the court 
house in the town of Shelbyville for the 
purpose of forming an agricultural so- 
ciety, Capt. S. S. Matson being called to 
the chair and William Moore appointed 
secretary pro tem. On motion, B. W. 
Hall stated the object of the meeting. 
Question being put by the president 
"Whether the society be formed," de- 
cided in the affirmative by 25 — no one op- 
posing. The meeting being organized, 



they proceeded to the election of officers 
for the present year : Samuel S. Matson, 
president; William Vannort, secretary, 
and James M. Eider, treasurer. On mo- 
tion, John Dunn and William Gooch be 
managers from Black Creek township. 
On motion, B. W^. Hall and Thomas B. 
Rookwood be managers from North 
Eiver township. On motion, $2.50 be the 
amount of each subscriber. On motion, 
it was agreed that there be an additional 
manager in each township. Eobert Dun- 
can be appointed manager in Jackson 
township, Thomas J. Bounds for Black 
Creek and Thomas 0. Eskridge for 
North Eiver township. 

' ' It was agreed that the proceedings of 
this meeting be pul)lished in some public 
journal. 

"It was agreed that the society be 
called ' The Agricultural Society of Shel- 
by County.' 

"It was motioned and agreed that the 
annual meeting of this society be held on 
the first day of our March term 1840. It 
was agreed that William Moore assist 
B. W. Hall and Thomas J. Bounds to 
draft the constitution. It was moved 
and agreed that the subscription money 
be paid on the first of August. It was 



119 



120 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



agreed that this society meet on the first 
Monday of our next Circuit court for the 
purpose of adopting or rejecting the l)y- 
laws. On motion, this meeting adjourned 
until first Monday in March next, 1838. 
"AVm. Moore, S. S. Matson, 

' ' Secretary. President Pro Tem. ' ' 

The names of the members of this as- 
sociation were as follows: J. M. Eider, 
B. W. Hall, J. Foley, William Gooch, 
Montillian H. Smith, S. S. Matson, John 
Dunn, James Graham, 0. H. Perry, Da- 
vid 0. Walker, Thomas A. McAfee, 0. 
Dickerson, Abram Matlock, Robert Dun- 
can, Charles Smith, Elijah I. Pollard, 
Thomas 0. Eskridge, Thomas B. Rook- 
wood, William A. Davidson, William 
Moore, John Davis, C. B. Shepard, John 
W. Long, Elias Kincheloe, Lawrence 
Turner, James C. Hawkins, Milton Hood, 
Thomas J. Bounds, Robert Blackford, 
AVilliam H. Vannort, William S. Chinn, 
J. B. Marmaduke, Frederick Rook, 
George Anderson, John Hayes, Samuel 
B. Hardy, Russell W. Moss. 

A record of the constitution of this so- 
ciety was not preserved, but the follow- 
ing is a copy of the by-laws : 

BY-LAWS OF THE SHELBY COUNTY AGRICUL- 
TURAL SOCIETY. 

Article 1. Any person may become a 
member of this society on application to 
the secretary. 

Article 2. Each member shall pay to 
the treasurer the sum of $2.50 on or be- 
fore the first of August. 

Article 3. None other than a member 
of this society shall be permitted to con- 
tend for a ])remium. 

Article 4. All members intending to 
exhibit stock shall enter the names, pedi- 



grees and age, as near as possible, with 
the secretary before the exhibition com- 
mences, on or ])efore 10 o'clock of that 
day. 

Article 5. No member shall be per- 
mitted to contend with any other than an 
article belonging to him or some other 
member of the society. 

Article 6. The following persons are 
appointed judges to award premiums and 
certificates for the year 1839: (Names 
omitted.) 

Article 7. Premiums shall he conferred 
on the following: 

1 — Best stallion, $6; second best, cer- 
tificate. 2 — Best suckling colt, $6; sec- 
ond best, certificate. 3 — Best three-year- 
old colt, $6 ; second best, certificate. 4 — 
Best yearling colt, $6; second best, cer- 
tificate. 5 — Best bull, $6; second best, 
certificate. 6 — Best cow, $6 ; second best, 
certificate. 7- — Best boar, $6; second 
best, certificate. 8 — Best sow, $6 ; second 
best, certificate. 9 — Best four pigs 
(amended), $6; second best, certificate. 
10 — Best six sheep, $6; second best, cer- 
tificate. 11 — Best yoke of oxen, $6; sec- 
ond best, certificate. 12 — Best 5 acres of 
corn, $6; second best, certificate. 13 — 
Best five acres of wheat, $6 ; second best, 
certificate. 14 — Best five acres of timo- 
thy, $6; second best, certificate. 15 — 
Best yield from one bushel of ])otatoes, 
$6 ; second best, certificate. 16 — Best five 
yards of jeans, $3. 17 — Best five yards 
of linen, $3. 18 — Best five yards of flan- 
nel, $3. 

Article 9. Each member contending for 
a i)remium on any of the above articles, 
if on live stock, to furnish his manner of 
breeding, rearing and fattening and all 
other matters calculated to throw light 
on the subject. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



121 



Article 10. The successful competitor 
for each species of grain to give his 
method of cultivation and kind of soil; 
also the kind of seed. 

Article 11. Those on domestic manu- 
factures the whole method of preparing 
and manufacturing the same. 

No meeting was held in March, as was 
intended, but in June a meeting was held 
and tlie following record preserved: 

Shelbyville, June 8, 1839. 

Society met according to adjournment. 
William Gooch, Thomas J. Bounds, 
Thomas 0. Eskridge, B. AV. Hale, 
Thomas B. Rookwood and R. P. Black- 
ford, a majority of the managers present. 
The society jiroceeded to business. On 
motion, resolved that any person wishing 
to become a member shall have the op- 
portunity of now having his name en- 
rolled. On motion of John W. Long, re- 
solved, that no member of this society 
shall be ai)])oiuted as a judge. 

On motion, resolved, that Samuel 
Blackburn, George Eaton and Hiram 
Rookwood be appointed judges to judge 
horses and cattle. 

On motion, resolved, that Anthony 
Minter, S. E. Lay and William Connor 
be appointed to judge hogs and sheep. 

On motion of John W. Long, resolved, 
that the articles of wheat, corn, timothy 
and potatoes shall not be entitled to a 
liremium ; decided that they shall. 

On motion of W. B. Hall "that stal- 
lions shall be excluded"; decided they 
shall not. 

On motion, resolved, that the three last 
judges be apjwiuted to judge wheat, 
corn, timothy and potatoes, as follows: 
John Jacobs, James C. Agnew and W. J. 
Holliday. 



On motion, resolved, that the ninth, 
tenth and eleventh articles be adopted. 

On motion of J. W. Long, resolved, 
that no one article shall be entitled to 
more than three premiums. 

On motion, resolved, that the pre- 
miums be ijaid in silverware with the 
initials engraved on the same. 

On motion of R. W. Moss, resolved, 
that the two best pigs shall be entitled to 
a premium, and the article in the by-laws 
naming the four best is hereby repealed. 

On motion, resolved, that the liest calf 
be entitled to a premium. 

On motion, resolved, that no pig shall 
be exhibited over the age of six months. 

On motion, resolved, that the greatest 
(plant it j^ of potatoes raised from one- 
eighth acre of ground shall be entitled to 
a ]iremium, and the fifteenth article of 
the liy-laws is hereby repealed. 

On motion, resolved, that the exhibi- 
tion be held on the last Tuesday in Octo- 
ber next (1839). 

On motion, resolved, that the secretary 
inform the judges of their appointment 
by letter. 

On motion, resolved, that any member 
failing to pay on or before the time speci- 
fied shall pay the sum of one dollar. 

The association held its meeting in 
Shelbyville on the appointed day, and it 
was an event of much moment and was 
liberally patronized. 

Premiiuns were awarded as follows: 
Best stallion. Major 0. Dickerson's "Sir 
Harrison"; second best, J. B. Lewis's 
"Bertrand." Best three-year-old colt, 
Nicholas Watkins; second best, John 
Dunn. Best mare, O. Dickerson ; second 
best, Dr. J. W. Long. Best yearling colt, 
0. Dickerson. Best bull. Dr. J. W. 
Long's "Gustavus"; second best, Wil- 



122 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



liam McMurray. Best boar, B. "W. Hall's 
"Thomas H. Benton" ; second best, Bus- 
sell W. Moss 's ' ' Duff. ' ' Best sow. Dr. J. 
W. Long's "Queene." Best pigs, Wil- 
liam Moore; second best, Hiram Book- 
wood. Best five acres of wheat (125% 
bu.), Hiram Kookwood. Best five yards 
jeans, Mrs. J. "VV. Long; second best, Mrs. 
Eskridge. 

The association's existence was brief. 
Only two sessions were ever held. The 
awards were unsatisfactory, many came 
to the meetings and got drunk and fights 
were frequent. The best members with- 
drew after the 1841 exhibition. 

THE SHELBY COUNTY AGRICULTURAL AND 
MECHANICAL ASSOCIATION. 

On July 7, 1868, a second venture was 
made in the organization and mainte- 
nance of a fair association. On that date 
the Shelby County Agricultural and Me- 
chanical Association was organized by 
the election of the following ofiScers: 
President, G. G. Muldrow; vice-presi- 
dent, J. C. Duncan; secretary, P. B. 
Dunn ; treasurer, W. B. Cotton. The di- 
rectors of the association were: 0. T. 
Terrill, Robert J. Taylor, Samuel Dar- 
rah, T. AV. Sheetz, James Cheuoweth, J. 
M. Ennis, John T. Cooper, Joseph H. 
Foreman and "William Ridge. The 
grounds of the association were located 
one mile south of Shelbyville and were 
purchased of A. M. aud D. A. Brant and 
comprised at first forty acres, for which 
the association iiaid $600. The purchase 
was made July 18, 1868. On December 
6, 1869, the association sold back the east 
half of tlie o-rouud to D. A. Brant for 
$250, leaving twenty acres as the prop- 
erty of the association. The first fair 
held on these grounds was in the fall of 



1869. The jiurpose of the association, as 
stated by one of the officials, was "to pro- 
mote agriculture and husbandry purely 
and simply. ' ' Premiums were offered on 
the agricultural products of the county, 
as well as on the horticultural products 
and domestic science, together with the 
products of the loom and needle. To en- 
courage breeding and raising of better 
stock, liberal premiums were paid on the 
different classes of horses, cattle, hogs 
and sheep. The association prospered 
for many years and was the annual event 
of the county. The last officers of the as- 
sociation were: President, J. M. Collier; 
vice-president. Judge Joseph Hunolt; 
treasurer, S. Van Vaughn; secretary, L. 
A. Haj'ward; chief marshal, Milt Baker; 
ring marshals, John Ellis and Barney 
Moore ; field marshal, Dan McNeil ; ticket 
agent, Thomas Gentry; gatekeeper, 
James Baker. The directors were John 
T. Frederick, A. AV. Muldrow, J. M. 
Freeman, J. M. Gentry, AV. A. Hughes, 
AV. D. Gardner, AV. A^aughn, B. F. Fry, 
T. AV. Sheetz. The association held its 
last meeting in the fall of 1883. 

The association suspended operations 
on the above year on account of the or- 
ganization of the county association at 
Shelbina. The grounds at Shelbina were 
much larger and contained the good race 
course and were located on the railroad, 
which made them more accessible and in- 
viting to the general public, and as the 
county could not maintain two associa- 
tions, the Shelbyville association was 
discontinued. 

THE SHELBINA FAIR ASSOCIATION. 

In 188], the citizens of Shelbina pur- 
chased a tract of land consisting of 

acres of Dr. J. H. Ford, for which they 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



123 



paid $3,500, and which was located one- 
half mile north of the city. 

The association was organized on 
March 18, 1881, and the following officers 
were elected : President, J. H. Fox ; vice- 
president, Daniel Taylor; secretary, E. 
C. Dickerson; treasurer, C. H. Lasley. 
The tUrectors were J. M. Ennis, I. N. 
Bonta, C. W. Hanger, J. T. Frederick, J. 
H. Gooch, J. H. Ford, S. G. Parsons, J. 
E. Eidge and G. W. Greenwell. The as- 
sociation has been successful and is one 
of the most popular annual events in the 
county. Each year the exhibitions are 
large and interesting. The improve- 
ments on the grounds are large and equal 
to those of any similar association in the 
State. The buildings consist of two 
large amphitheatres, band stand and di- 
rectors' office, one dining hall, several 
large stock pavilions and numerous 
barns and stalls for live stock. 

The Fair Association has been a great 
stimulus to the live stock industry of 
Shelby county and today Shelby county 
ranks as one of the foremost counties in 
the State in the live stock industry. 
Here annually are assembled the pick of 
the county in all the different species of 
domestic animals, from the proud roos- 
ter to the hybrid animal, which is the 
pride of all Missouri. 

Financially the fair has been a success, 
owing to its splendid management and 
the patriotism of the inhabitants of the 
county. The annual receipts of the asso- 
ciation now total about $4,500. The as- 
sociation annually distributes in premi- 
ums about $4,000. The admission fee is 
35 cents for a single admission or $1 for 
a season ticket. The association holds a 
four days' meeting each year, generally 
the latter part of August, and Thursday 



is always considered the "big day." The 
record on gate receipts was made Thurs- 
day, August 25, 1907, at which time 
$1,750 was taken in at the gates above 
the season ticket admission. 

The present officers of the association, 
elected in 1910, are : President, J. 
Thornton Keith; vice-president, E. W. 
Worland; secretary, W. H. Gillespie; 
treasurer, Frank Dimmitt. The associ- 
ation is out of debt and is jilanning for 
some permanent improvements in the 
way of erection and repairing of amphi- 
theatres, stalls for stock and new pavil- 
ions for live stock exhibits. 

LOCAIi OPTION AND TEMPERANCE. 

r ■ ■ 

Shelby county was one of the first 

counties in the state to adopt local op- 
tion. There has not been a saloon in the 
county since 1SS7. The last license 
granted in the county was to F. A. Des- 
sert. The license was dated February 1, 
1886. Mr. Dessert conducted a saloon in 
Shelbina. The county records show that 
C. D. Vine was granted a license on 
January 5, 1885. He was the next to the 
last man to operate a saloon according to 
law in Shelbina. On the same date (Jan- 
uary 5, 1885) the records shows that a 
license was granted to Dale & Hogan, 
who were the last parties to run a sa- 
loon in Clarence. Louis Dickerson was 
the last i>erson to own a saloon in Shelby- 
ville, and the last time the court granted 
him a license was on February 20, 1887. 
The first local option election held in 
the county was on November 5, 1887. 
There were only eight townships in the 
county then and four of these went 
"wet" and four went "dry" The local 
option, however, had a majority of 267 
in the total. The townships that went 



124 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



for local option were as follows: Clay, 
for 247, against local option 30; Taylor, 
101 for to 66 against; Black Creek, 258 
for to 71 against ; Salt Eiver, 303 for to 
236 against. The townships voting 
against the proposition were as follows : 
Tiger Fork, for local option 22, against 
local option 89; Jefferson, for 78, 
against 122; Bethel, for 87, against 124; 
Jackson, for 135 to 176 against. The 
total vote for local ojition was 1,231. 
The total vote against local option was 
964. This was a hig victory for the 
"drys." There was no further agita- 
tion of the question until in 1900, at 
which time some of those residing in the 
county, who favored saloons, thought 
the local option question could be de- 
feated. Accordingly the proper peti- 
tions were prepared and presented to 
the county court. The court called an 
election for June 10, 1901. At this elec- 
tion the vote was overwhelming in favor 
of local option. The figures were 1,823 
against the sale of intoxicating liquors 
to 932. This was a "dry victory of 991 
majority, nearly two to one, and the 
question has never been raised since. 
The county was, however, not so strong 
in favor of state-wide prohibition. At 
the general election held on November 
8, 1910, at which time the prohibition 
question was submitted to the voters of 
the state, the county of Shelby only reg- 
istered up 305 majority for state-wide 
])rohibition. 

During the period of twenty-three 
years in which Shelby county has been 
under local option there has, of course, 
been some violation of the law. The 
violators have been frequently punished, 
yet it is seemingly imiiossil)le to stop 
the sale altogether. The residents are 



perfectly satisfied with the law and it is 
likely it will be many a day before an 
effort will be made to repeal the law 
again. 

TRANSPORTATION FACILITIES — THE HANNI- 
BAL & ST. JOSEPH RAILROAD. 

It was twenty-two years after the cre- 
ation of Shelby countj' until the first 
railroad was built. 'What was known as 
the Hannibal & St. Joseph, now part of 
the great Burlington system, was com- 
pleted across the county in 1857. The 
initial steps to building the road were 
taken in 1846 at Hannibal in the office 
of no less a person than that of "Mark 
Twain's" father, John M. Clemens, Esq. 
The president of the enterprise was Hon. 
Z. G. Draper, and R. F. Lakenan was 
made secretary. At first it was contem- 
plated to run the new road through the 
county seats, which would have been a 
line connecting Palmyra, Shelbyville, 
Bloomington, Linneus, Chillicothe and 
Gallatin, then into St. Joseph. This 
plan was, however, defeated by the local 
jealousies and controversies which 
sprang up between the towns near the 
proposed line that were unfortunately 
not county seats. This feeling between 
the towns prevented the building of the 
road for some few years. The people 
along the proposed line, of course, fa- 
vored it, as did also the newspapers lo- 
cated in these towns. The people and 
newspapers of the towns close to the 
contemplated line were active in their 
o]iposition to the proposed enterprise. 
The newspapers of St. Joseph were 
strongly supporting the proposition, and 
on November 6, 1846, the Gazette in an 
article favoring the building of the road 
said: "We suggest the projn-iety of a 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



125 



railroad from St. Joseph to some point 
on the Mississippi, either St. Louis, 
Hannibal or Quincy." The people of 
Hannibal wanted the road to start from 
their town, the people of St. Joseph 
were interested in having the road reach 
their town from some point on the Mis- 
sissippi. It was certain that St. Josepli 
would be the terminus, but not so certain 
which town on the east would be the 
starting point. It was therefore up to 
the peoi)le of Hannibal to keep their 
eyes open or some other town might ca]3- 
ture the prize. The people of Hannibal 
were successful in forming an alliance 
with Hon. Robert M. Stewart, of St. 
Joseph, who was elected to the state sen- 
ate and who promised to work for the 
procurement of a charter making Han- 
nibal the initial and St. Joseph the ter- 
minal point. The charter for the new 
road was granted by the state legislature 
in 1847. The author of the charter was 
Hon. R. P. Lakenan, who was the strong- 
est worker for the enterprise. 

The principal supporters of the enter- 
prise in the legislature were Hon. R. M. 
Stewart, James Craig and J. B. Gar- 
denshire, of St. Joseph, and Carter 
Wells and John Taylor, of Marion. 

As soon as the charter was granted 
.subscriptions were started along the 
line. Public meetings were held and all 
phases of the subject wei'e discussed. 
The largest meeting, perhaps, in point of 
attendance and in importance was the 
one held in Chillicothe, June 2, 1847. 
Hundreds of delegates wore present and 
nearly every county along the line was 
represented. The meeting was presided 
over 1iy Governor Austin King, of Ray 
county; the vice-presidents of the meet- 
ing were Dr. John Cravens, of Daviess 



county, and Alex McMurtry, of Shell )y. 
The secretaries were H. D. LaCassitt, of 
Marion, and C. J. Hughes, of Caldwell. 

For some two or three years interest 
lagged and it was not until 1850 that anj^ 
further move of importance was under- 
taken. In fact, some supporters of the 
proposition along the line gave up and 
advocated the abandoning of the enter- 
prise. In 1850, however, the lire within 
the breasts of the people along the line 
began to burn again, new directors were 
selected to take the place of those who 
had grown lukewarm. Each county was 
re-canvassed and subscriptions solicited. 
The people became enthusiastic for the 
enteriDrise and those who announced as 
candidates for congress and for the leg- 
islature were made to promise support 
to the cause whenever and wherever 
opportunity presented itself. 

At the 1851 session of the Missouri 
state legislature, in February, the state's 
credit was granted to tlie erection of the 
road to the amount of a million and half 
dollars. The grant was made on the con- 
dition that the company expend a like 
amount in installments of $50,000. The 
county of Marion put up $100,000, Han- 
nibal $50,000, and in July of 1851 Shelby 
county promised $25,000, conditioned 
that the road should run through Shel- 
byville and locate a depot there. The 
people of the county had voted in favor 
of the proposition at a special election 
held on March 10 of the same year. On 
motion of R. M. Stewart, who was then 
agent of the road, and who was after- 
wards governor of the state, the bonds 
were ordered issued ujjon condition that 
the county should receive stock in the 
enterprise to the amount of the bonds 
issued. The bonds were issued for 



126 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



twenty years and were to bear 10 per 
cent interest. 

The company made the first two calls 
for this money in October of 1852. The 
calls were each for 5 per cent of the sub- 
scription, or $2,500. The iirogram was, 
however, changed before another call 
was made and the railroad in July, 1854, 
returned these bonds to the county can- 
celled, and no others were issued. This 
agreement was reached by the county 
giving the company a release from all 
liabilities arising out of the subscription 
and the road released the county from 
its liabilities. The county also granted 
the railroad the right of way across all 
county roads and streams. The agent 
for the county for the return of the 
bonds was Hon. John McAfee. On De- 
cember 10, 1855, the legislature of the 
state extended its credit to the road to 
the extent of another million and half 
dollars. The new bonds were to run 
thirty years and bear not to exceed 7 
per cent interest. The state was to hold 
a first mortgage upon the road for this 
extension of credit. The building of the 
road was now assured and work begam 
in earnest. It was planned by Duff & 
Co. to begin work at both ends, but work 
at the St. Joseph end did not begin until 
1857. 

The track from Hannibal to Palmyra 
was finished in June of 1856 and on the 
lOtli of that month cars were run be- 
tween Hannibal and Palmyra. Work 
was pushed as fast as possible and soon 
the road reached IMonroe City, and in 
1857 was completed across Shelby coun- 
ty. The road enters the county on the 
east just a quarter of a mile south of 
the Monroe county line. The first town 
it sti-ikes in the county is Hunnewell. 



The track then bears north of west and 
leaves the county just six miles north 
of the entering point. The main track 
of the road within the county is 24 73/100 
miles, and over half as much side tracks. 
Stations were established and are still 
maintained at Hunnewell, Lakenan, 
Shelbina, Lentner and Clarence. 

The ceremony of breaking sod was 
pulled off in Hannibal on November 3, 
1851. A large and enthusiastic crowd 
assembled, and many distinguished per- 
sons from different parts of the state 
attended. Among the number were E. 
M. Stewart, who turned the first spade- 
ful of dirt, and who was afterwards 
governor. Also Hon. J. H. Lucas and 
Hon. L. M. Kennett. The speech of the 
day was made by Hon. J. B. Crickett, 
of "st. Louis. In 1851 the board of di- 
rectors memorialized congress for a 
large grant of land to aid in the construc- 
tion of the road. R. M. Stewart and R. 
F. Lakenan visited Washington in 1852 
to secure favorable action of congress 
upon this all important proiwsition. 

In 1852 congress passed an act giving 
alternate sections of land to the state of 
j\Iissouri in trust for the benefit of the 
railroad from Hannibal to St. Joseph. 
The state then turned the lands over to 
the Hannibal & St. Joe Railroad Com- 
pany. This grant carried over 600,000 
acres of Missouri's best lands into the 
hands of the railroad company and it 
was then a sure thing the road would be 
built. In 1852 a contract was made with 
Duff & Leamon, of New York, to build 
the line. The contract was to build over 
the "northern route" through Shelby- 
ville in this county. On March 10, 1853, 
the directors met in Glasgow and decided 
to follow the "southern route," or the 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



12: 



present route. The contract was then 
re-let to John Dnft" & Co. to build the 
line at $23,000 per mile. 

The chief engineer in locating the line 
was Maj. James M. Bucklin. The north- 
ern route came uy) Black Creek to Shel- 
byville aud then crossed the creek and 
passed west to Bloomington, Macon 
county. The survey was made in 1851. 

The county of Shelby, be it said to her 
honor, has never issued bonds to build 
a railroad except as previously stated. 
The road was secured without a burden- 
some bond issue aud outside of a few 
private subscriptions and the right of 
way grauts the road cost the county posi- 
tively not a cent. 

It is quite probable, as has been often 
asserted, that the Hannibal & St. Joseph 
could have been made to run on the 
"northern route" if the people and the 
authorities along the line had been a 
little more liberal in the matter of sub- 
scriptions. That route was more expen- 
sive than the "southern route" — much 
more so. The citizens and the county 
courts were asked to make up the differ- 
ence, according to the estimates of the 
engineers. They uniformly refused, in 
some instances, for the reason, avowing 
that they "didn't want any railroad run- 
ning through their neighborhood, scaring 
the stock and killing men, women and 
children, besides setting the woods and 
fields afire." In other cases, as in Linn 
county, prominent men objected to the 
building of the road because it would 
furnish superior facilities for the slaves 
to run off and escape. 

"Certain citizens of this county made 
desperate efforts to have the road lo- 
cated through Shelbyville, but they could 
not induce enough of their friends to join 



them. Too many were indifferent, many 
thought the road would come anyhow, 
and those who worked so hard gave up 
in despair. So Shelbyville was 'left out 
in the cold,' and Shelbina was created 
to become the leading town of the 
county." (History Shelby County of 
1884.) 

The Hannibal & St. Joseph Railroad 
was completed in 1859. The first 
through passenger train came out of St. 
Jose})h February 13, 1859. The engi- 
neer's name was E. Slep]iy. Ben Colt 
was conductor. George Thompson was 
the first engineer to pull a train into St. 
Joseph. The construction work was 
completed l)y J. M. Ford aud others in- 
stead of the first contractors, John Duff 
&Co. 

Over six hundred guests sat at a ban- 
quet in St. Joseph on February 22, 1859, 
to celebrate the completion of the great 
enterprise. "The mingling the waters 
of the Atlantic, the Lakes, the Missis- 
slp]ii and the Missouri" was performed 
by Mayor Broaddus Thompson. There 
was great enthusiasm and joy displayed 
over the completion of the first road to 
cross the state of Missouri. 

The great Burlington system, as it is 
now known, has done much to develo]i 
the northern part of Missouri, and espe- 
cially Shelby county. The county is now 
one of the largest exporting counties of 
live stock, poultry and grain, and de- 
pends entirely upon this system for 
transportation facilities. The road at 
first charged 5 cents per mile and some- 
times more for passenger traffic, and 
has always enjoyed a liberal patronage 
and is considered one of the best and 
safest lines to travel over in the west, or 
in the United States. The passenger ac- 



138 



IIISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



eommodations are also of the very best. 
There are ten passenger trains daily, 
besides two local freight trains that 
carry j^assengers, and the whistle of the 
freight train bearing the great loads of 
grain and live stock from the west to the 
east, and the products of the shop and 
factory from the east to the west is 
almost constantly upon the breezes of the 
north ^lissouri jirairies through which 
the road runs. 

A person can now take a train at any 
railroad point in the countj^ at nearlj* 
any time of day, and land in Kansas 
City in less than five hours, and the trip 
to St. Louis, about 180 miles from the 
farthest point in the county, is made 
in about the same space of time. Hanni- 
lial and <,}nincy are reached in about two 
hours from the farthest point in the 
county. The road now charges 2i/o 
cents per mile for passenger travel and 
furnishes the best equipment and most 
comfortal)le accommodations. 

THE BUILDING OF THE SHELBY COUNTY 
RAH^WAY. 

(By V. L. Drain.) 

It is with much reluctance that I have 
undertaken the task of writing the his- 
tory of the Shelby County Railway. 
Having been more or less intimately as- 
sociated with the enterprise from its in- 
ception to the present time, the ])rompt- 
ings of modesty .suggested that it could 
be more ])ro]>er]y written by the pen of 
another. However, at the request of the 
compiler of this volume, who it seems, 
could not induce anyone else to contrib- 
ute it, T will endeavor to furnish an im- 
partial sketch of this important achieve- 
ment. 



It is not easy to determine with pre- 
cision just what act or what influence 
was the determining factor in the build- 
ing of this limited but important traffic 
line; neither is it a .small task to ascer- 
tain just at what hour it was made sure 
of completion. Indeed, to those upon 
whose shoulders rested the burden of its 
building there seemed no relief from the 
responsibility until after months of suc- 
cessful operation it was sold to the pres- 
ent owners, who are the successors of 
the original shareholders of the corpora- 
tion. Nevertheless, it is safe to assert 
that conditions and circumstances made 
necessaiy and possible the building of 
this railway. As necessity is the mother 
of invention, so is it the parent of oppor- 
tunity. 

The increasing freight and passenger 
traffic between Shelbyville and the adja- 
cent territory and Shelbina could not be 
properly served by the primitive meth- 
ods of transportation, and the bad con- 
ditions of the dirt roads was a serious 
handicap to the develo])nient of Shelby 
county and also a fearful inconvenience 
to the citizens. 

It was also appai'ent to persons of 
ordinary vision that sooner or later the 
vast rich territory lying between the 
Wabash railroad on the west and the 
Mississippi river on the east, would be 
traversed by a railway line rimning 
north and south and that any portion of 
this line so occupied would some day con- 
stitute a part of a great traffic line. And 
the time is drawing near when this will 
be accomplished either by the extension 
of the Shelby County Railway or by its 
absor]ition into a larger system which 
will serve the splendid region which is 
still largely unoccupied. 



HISTOnY OF SPIELBY COUNTY 



129 



Of course local couditions made such 
au enterprise to be exceediugly desired. 
Shelbyville was a county seat and the 
center of a fine farming region. It was a 
town whose citizenship represented a 
great deal of wealth and enterprise. To 
such people the isolation was growing 
intolerable. Situated eight miles from 
Shelbina, which was the nearest point on 
the Burlington railroad, they felt that 
they were enegaged in an unequal 
striiggle. 

On the other hand, the general public 
were clamoring for better conditions. 
Year by year the public road between 
these two towns was getting in worse 
condition, and there was slight hope of 
improvement with the tremendous traffic 
upon it. Shelbina was favorably sit- 
uated ni)on a great railway system, yet 
its people were connected in interest 
with the country to the north, and many 
of its progressive citizens desired a bet- 
ter method of transportation ; hence the 
time had come wheu such a proposition 
would meet a general response in its 
favor. 

Doubtless the time would have come 
much sooner had it not been for the local 
prejudices which from time immemorial 
had dominated a part of the inhabitants 
of each town. It is historical that many 
in Shelbyville had watched the growth 
of their sister city with a jealous fear 
that some day the county seat would be 
moved from one town to the other, and 
that Shelbyville with its classic past 
would be left throneless and desolate 
amid her sorrows. And there were times 
when such plans were seriously attempt- 
ed, and on one occasion the matter was 
before the Missouri legislature in the 
shape of a bill to establish a court of 



common pleas at Shelbina. There was 
a battle royal at Jefferson City between 
the representatives of the two towns, 
but it ended happily without scars. It 
is likewise true that this jealousy caused 
intemperate and unwise action on the 
jjart of some of the Shelbyville citizens. 
The feasibility of a railway between the 
two towns was often under considera- 
tion and was favored by many, but there 
was always a minority and sometimes a 
majority who favored building to some 
other point than Shellnna. How unwise 
and impracticable this was can be readily 
discerned now. The details of this fam- 
ily quarrel are not absolutely necessary 
in this narrative, but it will serve to 
show that there is a more excellent way 
for communities as well as individuals 
than the thorny path of jealousy and 
strife. It is easy to contemplate it now 
that it is ended. In fact, it had ended 
long prior to the completion of this en- 
terprise. Each community had learned 
that the other was magnanimous, and 
that the best interests of each was in- 
volved in the common welfare of all. 
The forging of the bands of steel was the 
result of this common understanding, as 
it would have been impossible for either 
town to have completed this enterprise 
without the aid of the other. 

Perhaps the first tangible step toward 
the building of this railway was taken 
during the month of July, 1906, when at 
the suggestion of Joseph F. Doyle, al- 
ways the dominant figure in this project, 
there was i^repared a form of subscrip- 
tion whereby the persons signing same 
agreed to take a certain number of 
shares of stock in the event that a cor- 
poration should be formed for the pur- 
pose of building this railway within a 



130 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



specified time. There was also a form 
prepared to he signed by persons who 
l)referred to make a contribution in cash 
rather than to subscribe for stock. At 
the time when these were prepared there 
were present in addition to Mr. Doyle, 
Mr. E. M. O'Bryen and the writer, and 
all three signed the agreement to take 
stock in the enterprise, the amounts s])e- 
cified by the three aggregating the sum 
of $5,000. 

AVith this as a beginning the work of 
securing prospective stockholders and 
cash conti-ilnitors was pushed with much 
vigor. Under the direction of Mr. Doyle 
at Shelbyville and Mr. W. C. Clark at 
Shelbina the scheme was brought into 
shape so that by September 1st of the 
same year a little more than $100,000 
was subscribed by ]iarties interested. 
And while the major part of the work in 
the earlier stages was done by Messrs. 
Doyle and Clark, the progress of the 
matter was facilitated by the interest 
and response of many jmblic-spirited 
citizens in both towns and also by sev- 
eral progressive farmers in the vicinities 
of Shelbyville and Bethel. One of these, 
M. S. Smith, was a member of the board 
of directors from the time of the charter 
until the sale of the property to Tjouis 
B. Houck, as hereafter narrated, and 
was unfailing in his devotion and loy- 
alty. Another was "William H. McMas- 
tei-, who died soon after the completion 
of the road, satisfied that he had con- 
tributed something toward the better- 
ment of the ])eo])le among whom ho had 
spent an honorable life. 

"When success was thus assured the 
matter was brought into regular and 
legal shajie at a meeting of the agreed 
stockholders held in the courthouse at 



Shelbyville on September 10, 1906, when 
the articles of incorporation were signed 
and a permanent organization efl'eeted. 
Soon thereafter the Shelby County Rail- 
way Company was chartered by the sec- 
retary of state and begun its career 
among the railway corporations of Mis- 
souri. AV. C. Clark, W. C. Blackburn, 
A'ictor M. Reid, M. S. Smith, Joseph F. 
Doyle, E. AI. O'Bryen, L. G. Schofield, 
A\'. W. ]\litchell and the writer consti- 
tuted the first board of directors and at 
the first meeting of this body, held on 
September 12, 1906, "W. C. Blackburn 
was chosen as president. M. S. Smith 
was elected vice-president, L. G. Scho- 
field secretary and treasurer, and \^ictor 
M. Reid assistant secretary. 

On November 5th following the or- 
ganization of the board of directors, the 
condemnation proceedings by which the 
right of way was acquired was instituted 
in the Circuit court, and on November 
29th the petition then on file was pre- 
sented to Judge Nat. M. Shelton at Ma- 
con, Mo., when Judge John Byrimi, of 
Lentner, Ed. C. Shain, of Clarence, and 
R. D. Goodwin, of Emdeu, were aj)- 
pointed as commissioners to assess the 
damage sustained by the various parties 
over whose land the railway had been 
located, and with whom no settlement 
had been effected. It is just to say that 
several ])arties whose land was thus 
taken either donated it or agreed to re- 
ceive such compensation as the company 
had offei'ed to pay. 

The actual construction of the road 
began at once and was prosecuted 
throughout the year 1907. In the earlier 
stages of this venture the skies were 
bright and many projihesied that it 
would be comjilete by midsummer, but 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



131 



as obstacles were encountered one after 
another, the difficulties of railway build- 
ing became apparent. AVith the gloomy 
skies of autumn many prophets of dis- 
aster came upon the scene and it was 
freely predicted that the scheme would 
fail entirely. 

It was at this point, however, tliat the 
constructive ability of some of the spon- 
sors of this project was made known. 
There were those among its iiromoters 
who proved themselves able to cope with 
difficulties and to bring success out of 
wliat seemed like certain defeat. It is 
not the purpose of this narrative to make 
comparisons or to celebrate the prowess 
of any of these. There are none, how- 
ever, but that will accord to Joseph F. 
Doyle a proper share of credit for his 
courageous and efficient work in the com- 
pletion of this undertaking. Having sold 
his newspaper interests at Shelbyville, 
he was requested by the officers and oth- 
ers interested to assist in the work of 
completion, so that the road would be in 
operation by December 30, 1907. It was 
necessary that this result he had, as sev- 
eral thousand dollars had been pledged 
in bonus subscriptions and all these were 
made payable in the event that the road 
be constructed and in operation by this 
date. Owing to unforeseen difficulties 
the work had lagged during the summer 
so that in the early autumn it was seen 
that it would require unusual effort to 
coni])lete it in the time desired. But the 
hel]) of ^Ir. Doyle was secured at the 
critical moment and he proved conclu- 
sively that opportunity and necessity 
are large factors in the development of 
men. His energy and executive ability 
]n'oduced mai'vellous results. He with 
President Blackburn were unremitting 



in pushing matters and they were aided 
by public-spirited men who admired the 
pluck and constancy of those in charge, 
so that after many trials and privations 
the last spike was driven, and on Decem- 
ber 28, 1907, the first passenger train 
steamed from Shelbina to Shelbyville, 
and the Shelby County Eailway took its 
place among the common carriers of the 
state. 

Since that time a majority of the origi- 
nal stockholders have sold their shares 
to Louis B. Houck, of Cape Girardeau, 
and it is now being successfully operated 
by the corporation, in which he holds a 
controlling interest. It is to be hoped 
that it will soon form a part of a north 
and south railwaj^, which is needed by 
this section of the state. 

It is worthy of note that Charles B. 
Ford, who was chosen as conductor and 
traffic manager at the beginning, is still 
in the same position, where he has earned 
a reputation for efficiency and integrity 
that is much to his credit. William C. 
Blackburn, the faithful and conscientious 
l^resident of the company, perhaps con- 
tributed more than he intended in vital 
energy. His death has occurred since 
the completion of the road and the anx- 
iety incident to such an undertaking- 
doubtless impaired his 'Strength and 
hastened the time of his departure. 
Some day he with the others who bore 
the weight and strain of this achieve- 
ment will receive the candid approval of 
those who appreciate the efforts of men 
who dared to solve the problems of our 
complex civilization. A great thinker 
has said that he who causes two blades 
of grass to grow where only one for- 
merly grew is a benefactor to his race. 
Grasping the idea behind this sentence 



132 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



and applying it to the work of those who 
improve the conditions of humanity by 
the hibor of hands or brain, it is just to 
say that their works shall follow them 
and that they shall receive the reward of 
men who tried. 

Veenon L. Deain. 

the north missouri inteeueban. 

For many months the people of north- 
east Missouri have been familiar with 
an intei'esting- drawing which has been 
posted extensively in ])ub]ie places. This 
drawing, the work of J. E. Sayler, a 
school teacher of Macon county, gives a 
"birdseye" view of the district, showing- 
all the principal towns and railroads and 
particularly The Hannibal & North Mis- 
souri Railroad, which is duly chartered 
and at this writing is in course of con- 
struction l)etweeu Palmyra, in Marion 
county, and La Plata, in Macon county. 
This road will touch some of the finest 
farming and grazing land in Missouri, 
and serve a large scope of country now 
remote from any railroad. 

There is an interesting historical fea- 
ture in connection with this noteworthy 
enterprise. William Muldrow, one of the 
early citizens of north Missouri, is said 
to be the character from which "Mark 
Twain" conceived his "Colonel Sellers," 
who stalks so triumphantly through the 
pages of ' ' The Gilded Age. ' ' Those who 
have read the l)ook in the long ago will 
recall the always optimistic and far- 
reaching Colonel Sellers, although they 
may have forgotten all else between its 
covers. 

Not only did "Mark Twain" find in 
Major ^luldrow rich material for his 
noted book, but Charles Dickens uses 
him as "General Scodder," the smooth- 



tongued sponsor for "Eden," in "Mar- 
tin Clmzzlewitt." 

Muldrow was the pioneer land boomer 
and promoter of this section. His only 
misfortune was that he was about half a 
centurj' ahead of his time. Now his great 
dreams have and are working out. He it 
was who saw the virgin possibilities of a 
great transcontinental railroad system, 
linking the two oceans, and it is said his 
Missouri survey was along the identical 
lines now under construction by the In- 
terurban people. To Muldrow belongs 
the credit of having invented a plow that 
was so satisfactory as a prairie breaker 
that it was generally adopted by the 
earlj" day farmers who had to go against 
the then stubborn prairie soil of north- 
ern Missouri. This plow, when drawn 
by several yoke of oxen, would turn up 
an immense amount of sod. It left a 
broad, clean furrow that could be distin- 
guished for a long ways. Many of the 
Missouri patriarchs tell it as a solemn 
fact that Muldrow drove a plow of this 
character along the trail of his proposed 
railroad from Palmyra through "Phila- 
delphia," "New York" and westward, 
and they insist that it wa& as practical 
a "survey" as could have been made by 
a corpse of skilled engineers with a 
wagon load of instrimients. 

"Marion City," Muldrow 's future 
great town on the Mississippi, was six 
miles east of Palmyra. He succeeded in 
interesting a number of wealthy capital- 
ists, and the place built rapidly. It was 
there Charles Dickens found his scene 
for "Eden," doubtless giving it that 
name because of the wonderfully fasci- 
nating advertising liy IMuldrow and his 
fellow townsite boomers. The original 
name of the place was "Green's Land- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



133 



ing." Muldrow evinced good judgment 
in the change of name, and but for the 
disastrous flood that swept it away 
Marion City might have been today the 
town of Marion countj'. 

Following ]\Iarion City came "Phila- 
delphia," in Marion county, and "New 
York," in Shelby, names chosen with an 
eye to the future possibilities. Marion 
College was established at "Philadel- 
lihia" and it became quite a thriving 
]jlace. 

Muldrow was called a dreamer, a vis- 
ionary, a man of impractical ideas, but 
liistory has shown that his energy was 
in the right direction. His dreams are 
working out. The state is tilled with fine 
schools and colleges; factories are 
springing up and railroads invading all 
sections. The Interurban will work out 
his most important dream, and prove 
that he was traveling on the solid ground 
of expediency when he as " Colonel Sell- 
ers" was illustrating to his wife Polly 
the way the road would run, using 
combs, inkstands, salt cellars and other 
homely articles of household necessity to 
fix the towns in her mind. 

The North Missouri Interurban will be 
a monument to the enterprising farmers 
and business men throughout the terri- 
tory it will serve. Henry Funk, who op- 
erates the Farm of the Big Meadows on 
Salt river, and some men of his kind, 
saw the urgent need of a first-class rail- 
road for the producer between the Bur- 
lington's main line and the Quincy, 
Omaha & Kansas City Eailroad. The 
original purpose was to acquire the short 
line between Shelbina and Shelby vi He 
and to extend it to Leonard or Cherry 
Box, and further. After investigation it 
was found that ])Ian was not feasible. 



In the meantime a campaign of educa- 
tion had been going on; farmers were 
interestedly discussing the matter; all 
wanted a railroad ; had to have one. The 
question was how? Mr. Funk, who had 
met a number of similar situations in 
states east of Missouri, took the stump 
and began his campaign of education. 
His plan now was to construct a line 
from the Mississippi river to some im- 
portant point in the interior of the state. 
It was while talking with the farmers 
and old citizens about Palmyra and east 
of there he learned of Promoter Mul- 
drow 's railroad scheme. Investigation 
convinced him the "survey" was a good 
one; that it struck a country literally 
flowing with the good things of earth, 
and many places admirably adapted for 
the establishment of thrifty towns. So 
he rolled up his sleeves and went out 
among the people, just as he had done in 
other states where they needed a quick 
and sure means of transportation for 
passengers, produce and live stock. He 
inaugurated a campaigii like Governor 
Bob Stewart did over fifty years ago 
when the question of building the Han- 
nibal & St. Joe road was up. There was 
opposition to Mr. Funk's enterprise, just 
as there was to Bob Stewart's. But the 
organizer of the Interurban was persist- 
ent. He didn't know what it meant to be 
discouraged. Of course it was a big un- 
dertaking. A large ninnlier of peoi^le 
over a wide area had to be met, and 
talked into friendliness for his plan. 
"While all wanted a railroad they were 
not all agreed as to how to get it. It 
was ]\rr. Funk's mission to unite them 
on a method — to enthuse them for the 
l)lau. Some thought at first he had po- 
litical asjiirations; that there was some- 



134 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



thing behind his persistent talk of rail- 
road, railroad, always railroad. By and 
by they became convinced that he wasn't 
going to give — that a road was going to 
be built. Here and there whole com- 
munities fell in line, eager to help along 
the work. There was a showing made 
that satisfied the people a road would 
be built, that it would tap virgin soil for 
operation and become a paying enter- 
prise from the start. 

When the plan began to assume shape 
Mr. Funk was assisted by Captain F. W. 
Latimer, an experienced promoter of 
Illinois. The two men have been con- 
stantly over the district, working un- 
ceasingly. The company received abso- 
lutely free right-of-way and yard sites in 
many places. Where discouraging con- 
ditions first existed, the glad hand is 
now extended. Some twenty organiza- 
tions were formed and a generous sum 
of money has been subscribed. The 
amount was attractive enough to induce 
the large M. C. Connors & Co. Construc- 
tion Company, of Chicago, to close a 
contract for grading from Palmyra to 
Philadelphia, fourteen miles. Other 
blocks of contracts have been let as far 
as Bethel, and at this writing over half 
of the yardage work is completed be- 
tween Palmyra and the last named town. 
Ties have been bought and scattered 
along the track ; steel rails have been con- 
tracted, and work is being ])ushed just 
as hard as weather conditions will 
permit. 

The name of Hannibal appears in the 
charter, but it is not at all certain the 
road will go there. The support prom- 
ised by that town did not materialize as 
strongly as was hoped. RecpU'sts have 
been made that there be no further effort 



to dispose of stock .there. As this is 
being written word comes from Quincy 
that the business men there are showing 
considerable interest in the enterprise, 
and that they will make a strong effort 
to have the line run there direct from 
Palmyra. The plan includes the large 
and thriving city of Kii-ksville as the 
western terminal. "With these two pros- 
l^erous and growing cities as starting 
points, and a rich agricultural and stock 
raising coimtry to traverse, the Inter- 
urban will begin life under most aus- 
picious circumstances. 

The road will be of standard gauge 
and operate regular freight and passen- 
ger trains. Electricity will be the motive 
power. Trains will be run for the ac- 
commodation of the people. That means 
they will make frequent stops, and there 
will be several trains daily each way. 

The men in charge of the road have 
recently submitted a report to the Com- 
mercial Association of Palmyra. This 
shows the amount of money paid out in 
gross on construction, and the sum paid 
by the citizens of Palmyra, Philadelphia 
and Bethel : 

Total money actually paid by Hanni- 
bal & Northern ^lissouri Railroad Com- 
pany up to December 28, 1910, for con- 
struction only: 

For work between Palmyra 

Jc. and Philadelphia, Mo". . ..$26,606.44 

For work between Philadel- 
phia and Bethel, Mo 15,454.05 



Total $42,050.49 

Note. — This includes engineers and 
material, but is exclusive of all other 
expenses, such as railroad fare, office 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



135 



exjienses (rent, stenographer, stamps, 
supplies, etc.), livery, hotel bills and all 
other incidental expense. 

Total money actually paid to Hannibal 
& Northern Missouri Railroad Company 
by citizens as below designed — up to and 
including- December 28, 1910 : 

Citizens of Palmyra, Mo $ 1,477.75 

Citizens of Philadelphia 7,570.00 

Citizens of Bethel Mo 12,700.00 

Total $21,747.75 

Balance in favor of Railroad 

Company, construction on]y.$20,.302.74 

CHIEF PURSUITS AND SURPLUS PRODUCTS. 

Shelby county, generally speaking, is 
an agricultural and live stock county. 
The principal crops raised in the county 
are corn, wheat, oats, timothy and clover. 
Yet the county produces some alfalfa 
and other varieties of small grain. The 
county is well adapted for grazing and 
the soil i3roduces blue grass that equals,- 
if not surpasses, the famous blue grass 
of Kentucky. The chief live stock prod- 
ucts are horses, mules, cattle, hogs, 
sheep, goats and poultry of all kinds. 
There are 514 square miles of land sur- 
face, which equals 328,960 acres. Of this 
amount of land 250,000 acres are sub- 
ject to plow. The farms average 120 
acres and are actually worth $16,000,000. 

Shelby county exports large quantities 
of grain and immense shipments of live 



stock annually, besides other farm prod- 
ucts. And in order that the reader may 
have some idea of the value of these 
products, we quote from the labor com- 
missioner's report of the state the fol- 
lowing figures : 

In 1902 the aggregate value of all com- 
modities, computed at prevailing prices, 
and which represented the county's sur- 
plus products, amounted to $922,535. 
The county excelled all others in the 
state in the shipment of timothy seed 
that year. 

In 1903 the value of all commodities 
exported amounted to the vast sum of 
.$1,432,654.26. 

In 1904 the total value of exports 
amounted to $1,796,298.11, an increase 
of $363,643.85 over the value of the sur- 
])lus products shipped from the countj' 
during the year 1903. 

In 1905 the value of all products ex- 
ported amounted to $1,916,298.11, being 
an increase of $120,347.78 over the 
amount received in 1904. 

1906 showed an aggregrate value of all 
commodities of $2,709,151. 

In 1907 the value of exports from the 
county was $2,734,062, which was a ban- 
ner year. 

In 1908 there was a slight falling off, 
the total value amounting to $2,564,006. 
But the county has steadily increased 
her ex])orts since that time until today 
she stands in the front rank of the agri- 
cultural counties of the entire state. 



CHAPTER XI. 

Government Sueveys — Original Townships — County and Township Systems — 
Organization of Townships — Municipal Townships of Shelby County — Tigeb 
Fork Township — Salt River Township — Clay Township — Taylor Township 
— Bethel Township — Jefferson Township — Black Creek Township — 
North River Township — Lentner Township. 



government surveys. 

Xo person can intelligently know the 
history of a country without a definite 
and clear understanding as to its geog- 
raphy and in order to have a clear and 
correct idea of the geography of Shelby 
county, in defining different localities 
and locations of land, we will insert the 
plan of government surveys as given in 
Mr. E. 0. Hickman's property map of 
Jackson county, Missouri. Previous to 
the formation of our present govern- 
ment the eastern portion of Xorth Amer- 
ica consisted of a number of British 
colonies, the territory of which was 
granted in large tracts to British noble- 
men. By treaty of 1783 these tracts 
were acknowledged as valid by the colo- 
nies. After the Revolutionary War, 
when these colonies were acknowledged 
as independent states, all public domain 
within their boundaries was acknowl- 
edged to be the property of the colony 
within the bounds of which said domain 
was situated. 

"Virginia claimed all the Xorthwest- 
ern territory, including what is now 
known as Wisconsin, Michigan, Ohio, 
Kentucky, Indiana and Illinois. After 
a meeting of the representatives of the 



various states to form a Union, Virginia 
ceded the Northwest territory to the 
United States government. This took 
place in 1784; then all this Xorthwest 
territory became government land. It 
comprised all south of the lakes and east 
of the Mississippi river, and north and 
west of the states having definite boun- 
dary lines. 

"This territory had been known as 
New France, and had been ceded by 
France to England in 1768. In the year 
1803 Napoleon Bonaparte sold to the 
United States all territory west of the 
Mississii)pi and north of Mexico, extend- 
ing to the Rocky mountains. 

"While the public domain was the 
property' of the colonies, it was disposed 
of as follows: Eacli individual caused 
the tract he desired to purchase to be 
surveyed and platted. A copy of the 
survey was then filed with the register 
of lands, when, by i)aying into the state 
or colonial treasurj^ an agreed price, the 
jmrchaser received a patent for the land. 
This method of disjiosing of public lands 
made lawsuits numerous, owing to the 
different surveys often including the 
same ground. To avoid the difficulties 
and effect a general measurement of tlie 



136 



ITI8T0KY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



l;jr 



territories, the United States adopted 
the present mode or system of land 
surveys. ' ' 

ORIGINAL TOWNSHIPS. 

Before going farther, we think it will 
be wise, as we later enter upon the his- 
tory in townships, to give some history 
of county and townshiji system and 
the government surveys, which are im- 
portant, as much depends in business 
and civil transactions ui)on county lim- 
its and organizations. 

COUNTY AND TOWNSHIP SYSTEMS. 

With reference to the dividing a state 
into county and townshi}) organizations, 
which, to a large degree, have the power 
and privilege of transacting and en- 
forcing their own affairs and of in a way 
governing themselves, under the ap- 
proval of and subject to the state and 
national government, of which they are 
an integral part and therefore subject 
thereto, we quote Hon. Elijah M. Haines, 
who is high authority on the subject. In 
"Laws of Illinois, Eelation to Township 
Organization," written by Mr. Haines, 
he says : 

"The county system originated in Vir- 
ginia, whose early settlers soon became 
large landed proprietors, aristocratic in 
feeling, living apart in almost baronical 
magnificence, on their own estates, and 
owning the laboring part of the popula- 
tion. Thus the materials for a town were 
not at hand, the voters being distributed 
over a groat area. 

"The county organization, where a 
few influential men managed the wliole- 
sale business of a community, retaining 
their ]ilaces almost at their pleasure. 



scarcely responsible at all, except in 
name, and permitted to conduct the 
county concerns as their ideas or wishes 
might direct, was, moreover, consonant 
with their recollection or traditions of 
tlie judicial and social dignities of the 
hmded aristocracy of England, in de- 
scent from whom the Virginia gentleman 
felt so much pride. In 1834 eight coun- 
ties were organized in Virginia, and the 
system extending throughout the state 
spread throughout all the southern 
states and some of the northern states, 
unless we except the nearly similar di- 
vision into 'districts' in South Carolina 
and that into 'parishes' in Louisiana, 
from the French laws. 

"Illinois, which, with its vast addi- 
tional territory, became a county- of Vir- 
ginia, on its conquest by Gen. George 
Rogers Clark, retained the county or- 
ganization, which was formerly extended 
over the state by the constitution of 1818 
and continued in exclusive use until the 
constitution of 1848. Under this system, 
as in other states adopting it, much local 
business was transacted by the local 
commissioners in each county, who con- 
stituted a county court, with quarterly 
sessions. 

"During the period ending with the 
constitution of 1847, a large portion of 
the state had become filled up with a 
population of New England birth or 
character, daily growing more and more 
compact and dissatisfied with the com- 
paratively arbitrary and inefficient 
county system. It was maintained by 
the people that the heavily poimlated 
districts would always control the elec- 
tion of the commissioners to the disad- 
vantage of the more thinly poinilated 



138 



IllSTOKY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



sections — in short, that under tlic sj'stem 
'equal and exact justice' to all jiarts of 
the county could not be secured. 

"The township system had its origin 
in Massachusetts and dates back to 
1635. 

"The first legal enactment concerning 
the system provided that, whereas, 'par- 
ticular townships have many things 
which concern only themselves and the 
ordering of their own affairs, and dis- 
posing of business of their own town,' 
therefore the 'freemen of every town- 
ship,' or a majority part of them, shall 
only have power to dispose of their own 
lands and woods, with all the appur- 
tenances of said town, to grant lots, and 
to make such orders as may concern the 
well ordering of their own town, not 
repugnant to the laws and orders estab- 
lished by the general court.' 

"They might also," says Mr. Haines, 
"impose fines of not more than twenty 
shillings and 'choose their own par- 
ticular ofiScers, as constables, surveyors 
for the highway, and the like.' 

"Evidently this enactment relieved 
the general court of a mass of municipal 
details without any danger to the power 
of that body in controlling general meas- 
ures of public policy. 

"Probably, also, a demand from the 
free men of the towns was felt for the 
control of their own homo concerns. 

"The New England colonies were first 
governed by a general court or legisla- 
ture, composed of a governor and a small 
council, which court consisted of the 
most influential inhabitants, and pos- 
sessed and exercised both legislative and 
judicial iiower, which was limited only 
bv the wisdom of the holders. 



"They made laws, ordered their exe- 
cution by officers, tried and decided civil 
and criminal causes, enacted all manner 
of municipal regulations, and, in fact, 
did all the public business of the colony." 

Like organizations for the incorpora- 
tion of towns were made in the first con- 
stitution of Connecticut, ado])ted in 
1639, and the plan of township organiza- 
tion became popular and practiced 
throughout New England, as experience 
proved it economical, efficient and adapt- 
able to all the requirements of a free and 
intelligent people, and as immigrants 
moved westward they carried their popu- 
lar plans of organization with them and 
it became the adoption of the western 
states. 

Thus we find that the wise plan of 
county and township organization had 
been thoroughly tested long before there 
was a need of its adoption in Missouri 
or Shelby county, but as new country 
was opened up and the easterners moved 
westward across the mighty river and 
formed thick settlements along its west- 
ern bank, the territory and state, the 
county and township organizations fol- 
lowed each other in quick succession, 
more or less improved, according to the 
needs and demands of the poi)uiation, 
until they have arrived at an efficient 
state. 

In the settlement of the territory of 
Missouri the legislature commenced by 
organizing coimties along the Missis- 
sippi river. 

As the new counties were formed, they 
were made to inehide vmder legal juris- 
diction the countiy bordering on the 
west, and were required to allow the 
actual settlers electoi-al privileges, and 



IIISTOIJY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



139 



equal shares in the county government 
were allowed those who lived in its 
geographical limitations. 

The counties first organized along the 
eastern borders of the state were for a 
time given jurisdiction over the land 
bordering on the west, until they were 
sufficiently settled to support their own 
organizations. 

MUNICIPAl, TOWNSHIPS OF SHELBY COUNTY. 

The municipal townships at present 
constituted had their metes and bounds 
fixed l)y the May term of County court, 
1868. 

Jackson Township. 

Beginning at the southeast corner of 
Shelby county; thence north on the 
county line to the section line dividing- 
sections 24 and 25, townshiii 58, range 9 ; 
thence west to the range line dividing 
ranges 9 and 10; thence south to the 
township line dividing townships 57 and 
58, in range 10; thence west to the sec- 
tion line dividing sections 2 and 3, in 
township 57, range 10; thence south to 
the county line between the counties of 
Monroe and Shelby; thence east to the 
southeast corner of Shelby couutj'. 

At the November term of the county 
court, 1882, the boundaries of Jackson 
were changed so as to exclude all the ter- 
ritory lying west of range No. 9, which is 
also west of Salt river, and attaching the 
same to Salt River township. The west- 
ern boundary therefore begins on the 
range line between ranges No. 9 and 10, 
at the southwestern boundary of the 
county ; thence up Salt river to the sec- 
tion line between sections 14 and 15, 
township 57, range 10; thence north to 
Black Creek townshi)). The range line 



between ranges 9 and 10 is half a mile 
west of Lakenau. (Note change made in 
1897 under North Eiver township.) 

Tiger Fork Township. 

Beginnirtg at the point on the county 
line between Marion and Shelby county 
on the section line dividing sections 24 
and 25, township 58, range 9; thence 
north to the northeast corner of Shelby 
county; thence west on the county line 
to the township lincj, dividing township 
59, range 10, and township 59 range 9; 
thence south to the section line dividing- 
sections 19 and 30, township 58, range 
9; thence east to the beginning. (Note 
change made in 1897 under North River 
township.) 

Salt River Toivnship. 

Beginning on the county line, on the 
line between sections 10 and 11, in town- 
ship 56, range 10; thence north to the 
northeast corner of section 3, township 
57, range 10, on the township line be- 
tween townships 57 and 58, range 10; 
thence west on the north line of town- 
ship 57, range 10, and township 57, 
range 11 ; thence south to the county line 
between Shelby and Monroe counties, 
at the point of dividing sections 8 and 9, 
in township 56, range 11 ; thence east on 
said county line to the place of begin- 
ning. (Note change made in November, 
1882, under Jackson township. Note 
change made in November, 1897, under 
Tjentner township.) 

Clay TownsJpip. 

Beginning at the southeast corner of 
section 17, township 57, range 11; thence 
north to the township line between town- 
ships 57 and 58, in range 11 , to the north- 



140 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



east corner section 5, township 57, range 
11; thence west on the township line to 
the range line between ranges 11 and 
12; thence north on the range line to the 
northeast corner section 1, township 58, 
range 12; thence west on township line 
to the county line; thence south to the 
southwest corner section 18, township 57, 
range 12; thence east to the place of be- 
ginning. (Note change made in 1897 
under Lentner township. 

Taylor Toinisliip. 

Beginning at the northwest corner of 
Shelby county; thence south on the 
county line to the township line between 
townships 58 and 59, in range 12; thence 
east on township:) line to tlie southeast 
corner of section 33, township 59, range 
11 ; thence north to the southeast corner 
of section 4, township 59, range 11, on 
the county line; thence west on the 
county line to the beginning. 

Bethel Township. 

Beginning at the southeast corner of 
section 36, township 59, range 10 ; thence 
north on the range line to the county 
line; thence west on the county line to 
the northwest corner of section 3, town- 
ship 59, range 11 ; thence south to the 
townshi]) line between township 58, 
range 11, and township 59, range 11, at 
the point between sections 33 and 34, in 
township 59, range 11, thence east on the 
township line to the place of beginning. 

Jefferson Toivnship. 

Beginning at the southwest corner of 
Shelby county ; thence east on the county 
line to the range line between ranges 11 
and ]2; tlicnco north on the county line 



to the southeast corner of section 12, 
township 56, range 12 ; thence east on the 
county line to the southeast corner of 
section 8, township 56, range 11; thence 
north to the northeast corner of section 
20, township 57, range 1 ; thence west to 
the count}' line at the point between sec- 
tions 18 and 19, townshi]) 57, range 12; 
thence south on the county line to the 
place of beginning. (Note change made 
in 1897 under Lentner township.) 

Black Creek Toivnship. 

Beginning at the southeast corner of 
section 36, township 58, range 10, on the 
line between township 58, range 10, and 
township 57, range 10; thence north on 
the range line between ranges 9 and 10 
to the northeast corner of section 1, 
township 58, range 10, on the line be- 
tween township 58, range 10, and town- 
ship 59, range 10; thence west on north 
line of township 58, range 10, and town- 
ship 58, range 11, to the northwest corner 
of section 6, township 58, range 11 ; 
thence south on the range line to the 
southwest corner of section 31, township 
58, range 11 ; thence east on the town- 
ship line to the place of beginning. 

North River Township. 

Beginning at the southeast corner of 
section 1, township 57, range 9, running- 
north to North river; thence following 
North river west to the east line of sec- 
tion 9, township 58, range 9; thence south 
to the southeast corner of section 33 — 
58 — 9; thence east to the northeast cor- 
ner of section 3 — 58 — 9 ; thence south to 
the southeast corner of section 3 — 58 — 9; 
thence east to the place of beginning. 



HISTOrxY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



141 



Lentner Township. 

Lentner Township was organized in 
the latter '90 and hiter was enlarged. 
Its present boundary is as follows: Be- 
ginning at the southeast corner of sec- 
tion 10 — 57 — 11, running north to the 
northeast corner of section 3 — 57 — 11; 
thence west to the northwest corner of 
section 6 — 57 — 11 ; thence south to the 
Monroe county line. 

Jackson Toivnship. 

The first settlements in Jackson were 
made in the spring of 1833 by David 
Smallwood, Henry Saunders, Samuel 
Buckner and Eusseil "W. Moss on the 
southern border and 1)y AV. B. Brough- 
ton and others in the vicinity of Oak 
Dale. Jeremiah Eust came from Fau- 
quier county, Va., in 1836 and also set- 
tled at Oak bale. 

It was organized into a township in 
Decemlier, 1837, by Russell Moss and 
others, being organized out of Black 
Creek, petitioning such a change. 

Its original boundary lines were : Be- 
ginning at the southeast corner of the 
county; thence west nine miles to the 
middle of range 10; thence north "to 
the middle of the prairie between Black 
Creek and North river"; thence east to 
the Marion county line; thence south to 
the beginning. The first township elec- 
tion was held at "\V. B. Broughton's at 
Oak Dale, December 23, 1837, to elect 
two justices of peace and a constable. 
The judges at the election were George 
Parker, Samuel S. Matson and W. B. 
Broughton. The officers elected were AV. 
C. Mitchell and George Parker, justices, 
and Samuel B. Hardy, constal)le. 

Until the building of tlie Hannibal & 



St. Joe railroad, Jackson township had 
no towns, except the hamlet of Oak Dale, 
with her one store, her single tavern and 
the county seat. 

Lakenau was laid out on the Hannibal 
& St. Joe in June, 1858, by the veteran 
contractor, John Duff. It has a goodly 
location, rolling and well drained. It 
was christened in honor of Hon. Eobert 
F. Lakenan, a large land holder there- 
about, but who later was a prominent at- 
torney of Hannibal and a i^rime mover 
in the building of the Hannibal & St. 
Joe railroad. Mr. Lakenan married the 
daughter of Russell W. Moss. He died 
in Hannibal in 1883. 

Wlien the Civil war broke out this vil- 
lage boasted of a depot and several 
houses. In July, 1864, the station was 
burned by Bill Anderson and his band 
when they made their raid within our 
borders and others suffered at their 
hands. However, the town has survived 
her many storms and has continued to 
thrive and flourish until she can boast of 
a goodly number of nice cottages and 
homes and some stores, shops, churches 
and school that any rural burg may well 
be ]irou(l of. She boasts of fertile farm 
land all about her, from which she en- 
joys a goodly patronage. 

Jackson has had some coal mines 
which have been a convenience, but not 
specially profitable, the veins being 
rather shallow. 

Salt Hirer Toirnship. 

This is the south central township of 
our county and has always been promi- 
nent in all county affairs. It is composed 
of some seventy-five sections of land ly- 
ing to the north and south of Salt river 
and southward to the Monroe county 



14-^ 



HISTOKY OF SHKl.BY COUNTY 



line. It comprises of timber, prairie, 
bottom and bluiT, stone, timber and 
water. Some coal veins have l)een 
worked, but the quality is so inferior 
and the quantity so meager that the yield 
scarcely pays. 

Salt river, from which stream the 
township derives its name, enters the 
township at its northwest corner and 
flows to the southeast through the north- 
ern part of the township. 

Along its banks is a heavily wooded 
strip which is being cleared only too fast. 
In the bottoms are fertile, rich hinds, 
which are being used and which yield 
abundantly under the new drainage 
process and up-to-now farming methods. 
These are also used for ])asturing. 

It was Salt River township that 
boasted of the first permanent settler. 
Major Obadiah Dickerson, who located 
on section 17 — 57 — 10, on the north bank 
of Salt river on the main Shelbina-Shel- 
byville road, in 1831. A year or two 
later, George and Peter Ruff located on 
section 7, north of Walkersville. 

In the year of 1837 came from Dela- 
ware Perry B. Moore, Isaac Moore and 
their sister,Mrs.MaryWai]es,who settled 
in the northwestern part of the township 
57, range 11, section 10. In 1838 James 
Barr and John Barr, of Delaware, set- 
tled on section 15 ; James Carroll, of In- 
diana, on section 9, and John S. Duncan, 
of Kentucky, who had traversed or pros- 
pected the country in 1836, settled on the 
northwest quarter of section 16 in the 
year 1840. He was a valuable addition, 
as he lirought with him four large, mag- 
nificent horses of the blue grass blood, 
well harnessed, a good schooner wagon, 
and as these were a scarce article, they 
were ever in demand to break the tough 



sod overrun with the high prairie grass 
and his wagon to go to mill for the entire 
settlement. Mr. Duncan also had a sur- 
plus of money, a rare article with the 
early settlers. He was of a genial, hos- 
])itable, ])hilanthropic disposition and a 
valuable asset to the country. 

The first school house was built on the 
l)resent site of Bacon Chapel. It was 
built of round logs, with a ])uncheon 
floor, a clapboard roof, windows of 
greased paper and benches in the rough. 

The first school was taught by John 
B. Lewis in 1838, his ])upils numbering 
about twenty. Some of the pupils were 
Isaac, John and [Mary A. AVailes, Ander- 
son, Cornelia and Mary Tojjin, George 
and Mary Lewis. 

In the year 1838 Dr. John Mills, hail- 
ing from Ohio, located in the western 
])art of this townshiji and lived near the 
north line in section 9, township 57, 
range 11. He was the practitioner of a 
radius of twenty miles about for some 
years, but finally went to California. 
Elsewhere will be found a history of 
Bacon Chapel. ' It was the first church 
building and was built by the Methodists 
on the southwest quarter of the south- 
east quarter of section 9, township 57, 
range 11. It was first built in 1845. It 
was built of logs and the outside was 
covered, sides and roof, with clapboards. 
Old P\ather Eads could not wait till the 
building was completed, but conducted 
the initial service before the floor was 
laid. It was a service after the Pilgrim 
fathers' style, one of h'umility, loyalty 
and fervent in sjiirit. The building stood 
for twenty years and was succeeded by a 
splendid building in the 60 's, which 
l)uilding still stands as a monimient of 
the earlv methods of that settlement. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



143 



The site of the churcli was deeded to it 
by George Bacon. 

David 0. AValker was au early settler 
who built the mill on section 18 — 57 — 10, 
which was the cornerstone for Walkers- 
ville, which hamlet was christened for 
.Air. Walker. 

In 1838 Adam and Michael Heckart, 
early settlers in the northwest, built a 
mill on Salt river in section 4 — 57 — 11. 

Other settlers in this vicinity were W. 
T. Coard, section 1 — 57 — 10; Dr. James 
Rackliffe, on the northeast quarter of 
section 12 — 57 — 11 ; Prettyman Blizzard, 
James Carothers and Michael Watkins 
in the neighborhood of Bacon Chapel. 

It was about 1839 when this township 
was organized as a municipal township 
and its limits then extended to the west 
county line. Its present confines are de- 
fined on a previous page. 

In war this township has its history 
elsewhere written as the Shelbina fight 
in 1861 and Bill Anderson's raid in 1864. 
In the spring of 1862 Walkersville came 
in for some bushwhacking liy Tom 
Stacy's Confederate band, and soldiers 
Long and Herbst and citizen Lilburn 
Hale were killed, and Soldiers Henning, 
Ring and Deeuer were wounded. The 
soldiers were of the Eleventh Missouri 
State Militia. 

The bushwhacking of the Third Iowa 
soldiers, elsewhere detailed, occurred in 
tlie road near the old IMajor Dickerson 
place, then occupied by Mr. Connelly, 
who was an eye witness to the shooting 
of the bushwhackers. John Jacobs was 
in the door yard and had called to get 
water when a negro runner came up. tell- 
ing him that straggling soldiers were 
coming. The main body would have 
made havoc of the house and inmates 



had not the negro assured them they 
were in no manner connected with the 
affair. 

Jefferson Township. 

Jefferson township comprises the 
southwestern division, including all of 
township 56, range 12, which forms the 
panhandle district, so prominent on the 
map of our county. The greater portion 
of this township was prairie land, which 
has been transformed into elegant and 
valuable farms. The land as a whole is 
rich and productive and beautiful farm 
homes enhance the value of the improved 
modernized farm lands, and stock 
abound in her meadows. This township 
was not opened up by settlers until about 
1840 — perhaps because of the need of a 
wooded district in that day and the su- 
perabundance of the tall prairie grass, 
so stubborn to till with their pioneer 
implements. The first locations were 
made on Crooked, Otter and Mud creeks. 
In the years 1845-46 we find on Otter 
creek. Esquire Barton, Joel Million, John 
Hendricks, Henry Spires, Henry Smock, 
Madison Reynolds, Joseph Reynolds, 
Thomas Dawson, Elijah Bishop, J. M. 
Donaldson, John Kyle. 

In the extreme southwest corner was 
Slielton Lowry on Mud creek, and on 
Crooked creek were Enoch K. Miller, 
Ed Tansil, William Bush, John Dimgan, 
Henry Kidwell, V. Godfrey, Daniel 
Thrasher, H. Shoemaker, Samuel Stal- 
cup, William Stalcup, Senior, and Wil- 
liam Stalcup, Junior. 

Immigration was more rapid with the 
building of the Hannibal tS: St. Joseph 
railroad, but not ^mtil after the war did 
real improvements liegiu rapidly. 

During the war this township was 



144 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



overrun liy troops of both armies, as we 
have recorded elsewhere, aud its citizens 
on .both the Union and the Confederate 
sides were maltreated and miu'dered. 

A Union man named Fifer was mur- 
dered b}' the Confederates, as was also 
an earlj' pioneer by the name of Henry 
Spires, who was cruelly put to death 
and his body left to be later discovered 
by his friends. 

Later came on the Putnam county 
militia, noted for its cruelties, and put 
to death Confederates Wilson, Butler 
and Phillips. Phillips was a father-in- 
law of Fifer. Mrs. Fifer, during the 
days of anxiety as to the outcome of the 
war, mourned the loss of a husband and 
a father and doubtless her sympathies 
were not in the war, as one side had 
stolen from her her father, the other had 
ruthlessly struck down her life compan- 
ion. In the spring- of 1862, the Black 
Hawk Cavalry, of Macon, strolled down 
into Mud Creek district aud encountered 
the Confederates encamped there, in 
which one Confederate gave uj) his life. 

Clay Township. 

Major Taylor built the rirst cabin in 
Clay townshi]i on section 6 — 57 — 11, in 
the southeastern iiart of the township, iu 
the year 1835. Mr. Taylor's cabin was 
built on the southern edge of Salt river 
l)ottom a mile from the stream itself. 
Major was merely his given name and 
had no military bearing. He emigrated 
from Kentucky. 

In 1839, James Parker, of Delaware, 
settled on section 8 — 57 — 11, and Isaac 
Tobin, a Virginian, was near by. In 
1836 John Lewis settled on the north- 
west quarter of the same section, and iu 
1839, Captain Melson, a Kentuckian. lo- 



cated some four miles west of Lewis. It 
was at the home of Mr. Lewis the first 
class of the Methodist church was 
formed, on the northwest corner of sec- 
tion 8—57—11, in the fall of 1837. Here 
originated the Bacon Chapel church, 
Mr. Lewis and wife were the leaders. 
Others there were Stanford Drain 
and wife, Mrs. Margaret Moore, ]\Irs. 
Mary Parker, Mrs. Wailes and Mrs. 
Jane Parker, the wife of James Parker. 
It was in 1837 that Rev. James 
Pryor, of Ohio, held jtrotracted services 
at the home of Mr. Lewis. It was 
claimed he was the first Methodist 
preacher ever in Shelby. 

The township was organized in 1845, 
when the county was Whig, aud was 
named in honor of Henry Clay, whom 
his followers hailed as "gallant Harry 
of the West." Much of the land was in 
the hands of speculators for years, and 
little cultivation was done thereabout 
until after the Civil war. 

The little city of Clarence is here lo- 
cated, but is elsewhere fully mentioned. 
Here lies also Hager's Grove, section 
15 — 58 — 12 on Salt river. We also give 
it space elsewhere, but early history says 
tills site was ]iurchased of William P. 
Norton, of Ralls county, I)y Jobn Hager, 
hence the name. For awhile it had only 
a blacksmith shop, but in the sjiring of 
1857 Joseph and William Walker, ]^r. 
Pile and William P. Casey, emigrants 
from Iowa, bought a steam sawmill and 
])ut it iu o])eration at Hager's Grove. A 
Mr. Spauldiug ran a blacksmith shop at 
the same time. 

Later Thomas J. Blackburn estab- 
lished a small grocery store in a log 
house. His stock of trade, as it is told, 
was a small amount of cheese and crack- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



1-15 



ers, a small parcel of staples and a bar- 
rel of whiskey. Dr. Pile aud "William 
Walker died in a short time, and in Au- 
gust, 1859, G. L. and B. F. Smith bought 
Blackburn's stock and opened up a much 
improved and enlarged stock in Dr. 
Pile's two-story frame house. The 
Smith brothers had the village platted 
by County Surveyor Gray, and in 1859 a 
postoffice was established with B. F. 
Smith as postmaster. 

The Smith Brothers held forth until 
1861, when Morris Osborn joined part- 
nership with B. F. Smith, who survived 
until 1863, when war hard times came 
on and the goods was closed out at auc- 
tion. In 1866, John Patton and L. E. 
Irwin opened up a store and since that 
year it has always been a thriving trad- 
ing point. The old saw mill has been 
burned several times, but some of the 
original machinery is intact. 

Previous to the Civil war George 
Jones bought an interest in the old mill 
and added thereto a grist mill and dis- 
tillerj'. These were under the super- 
vision of the Jones brothers aud their 
father, John Jones, until during the war. 
During the life of the distillery, it is said 
the Grove was quite "brawlish." The 
mill has frequently changed hands. 

In 1873 an excellent church building 
was erected by the Christian denomina- 
tion, which still stands aud has a strong 
membership. 

Lentner is situated in the northeast 
corner of section 29 — 57 — 11, immediate- 
ly on the line between Clay and Salt 
river township, on the Hannibal & St. 
Joe railroad. The road at Lentner di- 
vides the townships, the westward being 
in Clay and to the east of Salt river. The 
depot is in Clay. This town was pre- 



viously called Crooked Creek, but later 
was uamed Lentner by John L. Lathrop, 
of Chicago, a large land holder in this 
township. 

Taylor Township. 

Taylor township was so named in 
honor of President Taylor. It com- 
prises the northwest portion of the town- 
ship and all of township 59, range 12, 
and the west half of township 59, range 
11. 

The land here for the most part is 
good soil and the central part is of ex- 
cellent prairie. In the eastern portion 
we find timbered land. In the western 
jiortion Salt river runs almost due north 
and south and along this stream the laud 
is somewhat broken. 

About the year 1837 Lewis, Alexander 
and Robert Gillaspy settled in Taylor, 
locating on Black Creek, in the south- 
east portion. About the same time, 
Mr. Steed located on section 29 — 59 — 11, 
nearly two miles east of Leonard, and 
Mr. Buckalew located in the western 
portion, a mile or more east of Salt river, 
on section 28—59—11, in 1839. Am- 
brose Perry also was a pioneer in this 
quarter. 

Thomas G. Poage moved from Paris, 
Monroe county, to section 18 — 59 — 12, 
in October, 1839. He was located in the 
northwestern portion, near the Macon 
line, and in a short time moved over into 
Macon. In those early days there lived 
in that quarter Samuel Vandiver, on 
Salt river, section 8. Griffeth D. Shel- 
ton lived on the bluff, in section 29, at 
the edge of Salt river bottom. Phil Up- 
ton, the murderer of Daniel Thomas, in 
section 28, a mile to the east of Shelton; 
Robert Nickell, a Virginian, to the west 



146 



HISTUIIY OF SHELBY LOUXTY 



of Salt river, ou section 18, near Xickell 
ford, year ISJiO. Robert Xickell did not 
sojourn long. One of his children choked 
to death on a piece of saucer, and the 
Nickell's longed for their old Virginian 
home and friends in the hour of their 
bereavement and soon sold out and re- 
turned to their native soil. 

Griffeth Shelton was a cooper and 
worked his trade for the benefit of his 
neighbors. He made buckets, tubs, 
churns from the cedar brought up from 
Ralls county, found in the Salt river 
hills. He was also a great hunter and 
killed scores of deer in the early days. 

In the spring of 1842 Benjamin F. Fore- 
man came up from Ralls county and 
bought Mr. Buckalew's farm, on the 
southwest quarter of section 21 — 59 — 12. 
Then there was Edwin Brensley, an En- 
glishman, on the northeast quarter of 
section 20, and he had as a neighbor 
Cyrus Saunders. Daniel Michaels lived 
to the center of section 28. William 
Mills lived in the northwest corner of the 
county. He it was that killed a man 
named Watson at Mills's own home by 
knocking him over the head with a dou- 
ble-barreled shotgun. He was acquitted 
on the ground of self-defense. Mills was 
a member of Glover's Third Missouri 
Cavalry and died in the Federal army. 

In the early setttlement days of Tay- 
lor the pioneers often had to go to Flor- 
ida, Mouroe county, to mill, as this coun- 
ty had not at that day a good established 
mill. In the year 1846 Benjamin Fore- 
man liought a liorse mill — a sweep mill — 
from a nuin by the name of Hargis, in 
the south part of the county and, moving 
it up on his farm, he run it a number of 
years. The settlers flocked here for miles 
about, each furnishing liis own team to 



do his work. A small yoke of steers at- 
tached furnished motive power for about 
three bushels an hour, but with his two 
good teams hitched thereto it would turn 
out about five bushels per hour. 

It ground both corn and wheat; the 
flour, however, had to be bolted by hand, 
liut though the system was a slow one, it 
made as good bread as the up-to-now 
machinery. Each customer was served 
in his turn, and some days the mill was 
so thronged the customers were delayed 
to the wee hours of morning. The toll 
rate was one-eighth of the grist. 

There was an abundance of game in 
this town.ship in her early days, it 
abounding along the river banks— bear, 
wolves and deer in great number. Bear 
creek was so named by hunters who 
killed a large bear of the black variety 
at the mouth of Bear river while hunt- 
ing. 

Judge Samuel Huston taught a school 
just over the line in Macon county in 
1841, and most of the children in that 
northwest corner were placed imder his 
tutorage. Jack Griffin taught another 
school close by. 

In 1840 religious services were held at 
the home of Thomas Poage. At that day 
the Old School Baptists were in the ma- 
jority. Two of the old veterans of this 
denomination were James Ratliffe and 
Ben Davis. Near the same time old Dr. 
Shultz of the Christian church was an 
active man in the cause he espoused. 

The first physicians who ]iracticed in 
this township were Dr. Long, of Sliolby- 
ville; Dr. Mills, of Bacon Chapel, and 
Dr. Edmunds. For years Shelbyville 
was their nearest jwstoffice, and for 
years Thouuis G. Poage was the dissemi- 
nator of news and intelligence, he taking 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



147 



the ouly newspapers thereabouts np to 
about 1845. Mr. Poage took the St. Louis 
Republican and Boone's Lick Democrat, 
and although these sheets would be 
about two weeks old before they would 
reach their destination, yet his house 
was considered headquarters for intelli- 
gence and news from the outside world, 
and Poage himself was a king bee. 

The first bridge over Salt river in this 
quarter was built by Benjamin Foreman 
in the spring of 1849 at the Ray ford. 
The flooring lumber was whip-sawed. 
The same year, John Swinney crippled 
himself by letting a chisel fall on his 



knee while building the Rollins bridge 
over Salt river. 

The hamlet of Leonard was formerly 
named Millersburg, by Adolphus Mil- 
ler, who built a mill there after the war. 
Its site is located on the northwest quar- 
ter of section 80 — 59 — 11, on Black 
creek. There are some ten or twelve 
stores, a bank and a postoffice. 

Cherry Box is also located in Taylor, 
a postoffice in the northwest portion of 
the township. The ])lace boasts of a gen- 
eral store, blacksmith shop, church and a 
good school and town hall. 



CHAPTER XII. 

Newspapers of Shelby County — The Shelbyville Spectator — The Shelby 
County "Weekly — The Shelby County Herald — The Shelby County Times 
— The SHELBY\aLLE Guard — The Shelbina Gazette — The Shelbina Index and 
Torchlight — The Shelbina Democrat — First Paper in Clarence — The 
Clarence Courier — The Clarence Repitblican — The Hunnewell Enter- 
prise — The Hunnewell Echo — The Enterprise Resumes Publication — The 
Hunnewell Bee — The Bethel Sun — The Missouri Sun. 



the shelbyville spectator. 

The first mail to make a newspaper 
venture in Shelby county was F. M. 
Daulton. He was editor, proprietor, 
publisher and "devil" all at one and the 
same time. The paper bore the name of 
The Shelbj-ville Spectator, and was 
published at the county seat. The ma- 
terial for the equipment of the plant was 
moved to Shell)yville from Old Bloom- 
ington, Macon county. The Spectator 
saluted the public in Shelby county in 
the early spring of 1853. It was Whig 
in politics, and in size and make-up was 
a six-column folio, or a four-page paper, 
of six columns to the page. Mr. Daulton 
had about 400 subscribers to his weekly 
periodical, and some of his advertisers 
were Thomas Applebury, McAfee & 
Dickerson, Cotton Bros, and James Mar- 
maduke. The office was located on the 
northwest corner of the square in a 
small frame building. In 1854 the pub- 
lisher formed a ])artnership witli James 
"Wolff, who bought tile material of the 
Hannibal Journal and added it to the 
Spectator equipment. The new ))ro- 
prietors had just got started in good 



shape when the entire office except a few 
cases of type were destroyed bj" fire. 
Enterprising and charitable citizens then 
made up money for the relief of the pub- 
lishers and Mr. Daulton went to St. 
Louis and purchased the material for 
reinstating the plant. The new plant 
was located in a small brick building on 
the northeast corner of the square be- 
longing to Mr. B. F. Dunn. 

Daulton soon after sold his interest to 
a school teacher by the name of James 
Carty, who soon died. Mr. "Wolff ran the 
paper only a short time thereafter until 
he died. 

The publication then fell into the 
hands of a man by the name of N. C. 
Sperry, who changed the name of the 
paper'to "The Star of the Prairie." The 
"Star," however, soon flickered out. The 
publisher was a worthless, shiftless sort 
of a fellow and finally left town without 
notifying his creditors of the time of his 
(lo])artuve or his destination. He left 
many unjjaid bills and but a few friends. 
The material was then moved to Mexico, 

:\io. 

]\lr. Daulton. Uu' founder, moved to 



148 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



149 



Gainesville, Ai'k., and for years jnib- 
lisbed a Democratic paper there. 

THE SHELBY COUNTY WEEKLY. 

In a short time after the ' ' Star of the 
Prairie" had faded from the newspaper 
skies, two men formed a partnership and 
started the publication of the "Shelby 
County Weekly." These men were Grif- 
fin Frost, a practical printer from Mex- 
ico, Mo., and Hon. G. Watts Hillias, a 
young lawyer of Shelbyville. The former 
was publisher, the latter editor of the 
new publication. 

The first paper published by this firm 
was issued on March 7, 1861. The office 
was located over Gooch's grocery store 
in Shelbyville. 

The material for the equipment of the 
plant was purchased in St. Louis in the 
fall of 1860, atid was transjiorted to Han- 
nil)al by boat. The river froze up before 
the steamer arrived at Hannibal and the 
publication was delayed until the next 
sjiring. 

Mr. Frost's brother, John, who later 
published the Quincy Daily News, and 
then the Clarence Courier, was the chief 
compositor on the ]3aper. A boy by the 
name of Henry De Jarnett was what was 
then termed the office "devil." 

The paper was a red-hot secession 
sheet and enjoyed a liberal advertising 
patronage and had about 500 subscrib- 
ers. The motto was : ' * Free as the Wind, 
Pure and Firm as the Voice of Nature, 
the Press Should Be." 

The pa]ier, however, did not survive 
long. It came into existence at a ])erilous 
time, about the outbreak of the Civil 
war. The firing of the first shot at Sum- 
ter was told in this publication, and the 
editors were such strong secessionists 



that in June of 1862 a few representa- 
tives of the Union Home Guards visited 
Mr. Frost and told him if he did not sus- 
pend the publication of his "treasonable 
sheet" they would stop it for him. He 
thereupon closed up the office and went 
to Marion county, and soon after entered 
in the Southern army under Martin E. 
Green. Mr. Frost was captain of the 
Marion county company. He saw four 
years' service, two of which were spent 
in a Federal prison. After the war he 
published a volume entitled "Prison 
Life and Recollections." He then went 
to Edina and established the Edina Dem- 
ocrat, and died only a few years ago. 
The "Weekly" office was locked up for a 
time. During the war Union soldiers 
threw most of the material into the street 
and the remainder was shipped to Mary- 
ville, Missouri. 

THE SHELBY COUNTY HEEALD. 

In 1871 W. L. Willard & Bro. pur- 
chased a part of the Shafer-York plant 
at Shelbina and moved the outfit to Shel- 
bj^ille. Colonel York took the remain- 
der to Independence, Kansas, where he 
conducted a paper for several years. The 
Willards changed the politics again, 
making the paper Greenback. The pa- 
per was first Democratic, then Republi- 
can, later Greenback, again Repubhcan, 
then back to its mother jjolitics, or Dem- 
ocratic. Jime 15, 1881, the plant was 
sold to F. M. Springsteen and H. B. Da- 
vis, Mr. Willai'd going to Edina and 
founded a Greenback publication. The 
new partnershiji guided the doctrines of 
The Herald jointly until March, 1883, 
when Springsteen retired. Mr. Davis 
continued the publication until January 
of 1888, at which time Prof. W. R. Holli- 



150 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



day purchased the plant and turned it 
politically from a Greenback to a Eepub- 
licau organ. The paper preached the 
doctrine of Eepublieauism for about one 
year and a half, until June, 1889, when it 
went into the hands of Joseph Doyle, 
who, although nominally making- the pa- 
per Democratic, ran the paper as a 
strictly local newspaper and paid very 
little attention to politics. As a local pa- 
per, the Herald has from its founda- 
tion been what might be called the official 
county paper. It gives the County court 
jn-oceedings regularly, as well as the 
Probate court dockets and devotes much 
space to Circuit court matters. Mr. 
Doyle guided the destinies of the Her- 
ald until August, 1905. He then sold 
to C. L. Enuis, who stayed in control im- 
til the fall of 1905, when Mr. Doyle again 
became editor. The pa]ier continued un- 
der Mr. Doyle's control this time until 
October, 1907. Mr. Doyle then sold to 
Ennis brothers, Carl and Joshua, two 
sons of the former editor, who conducted 
the paper until February, 1910. Mr. 
Doyle then came into control for the 
third time and remained the owner and 
editor until November, 1910. The paper 
then went into the hands of C. E. Wailes, 
the present efficient owner. 

THE SHELBY COUNTY TIMES. 

J. R. Horn, the founder of the Hun- 
newell Echo, concluded he wanted a 
larger field and that instead of being 
simply an echo he wanted to be the "big 
noise." He therefore moved his plant 
from Hunnewell to the county seat and 
on February 1, 1881, he sent out the first 
issue of the Shelby County Times, an 
eight-column Democratic paper. 



THE SHELBYVTLLE GUARD. 

E. D. Tingle founded this publication 
at the county seat in May, 1892, but soon 
sold to J. T. Welsh, who in September, 
1893, sold a half interest to B. F. Glahu. 
In April, 1893, E. P. Dunn purchased the 
plant and continued as editor and owner 
until May, 1898, at which time he failed 
and made an assignment. Perry Clag- 
gett, who held the mortgage, was made 
the assignee, and in the same month sold 
the plant to E. J. Spencer, who remained 
in charge for only a short time, and in 
June sold the property to W. A. Dim- 
mitt. Mr. Dimmitt held the property 
until January, 1902, when he sold to 
Starrett & Hayward. These men con- 
tinued the publication until November, 
1902, when they sold back to W. A. Dim- 
mitt. The latter continued publication 
until fire destroyed the building and the 
plant. The plant was a total loss, as the 
owner had no insurance, and besides the 
loss of material lost all his book and sub- 
scription accoimts. 

SHELBIXA GAZETTE. 

The first issue of the Shelbina Ga- 
zette was sent out on January 10. 
186(5. This was the first paper published 
in Shelbina. The full name of this pub- 
lication was "The Weekly Gazette." The 
founder and i)ublisher was an Illinoisan 
by the name of J. D. Moudy, a conserva- 
tive Democrat. 

The Gazette was a seven-column folio. 
The office was on Center street in the 
Goodman block. In April, 1866, just 
four months after the founding of the 
publication, Mr. Moudy sold out to his 
foreman, E. D. Hoselton. Mr. Hoselton 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



151 



oouducted the paper single handed until 
in the fall, when he sold a half interest to 
J. S. Bates, who soon sold to Frank M. 
Daulton, the original newspaper man of 
Shelby county. 

Later Daulton became sole owner, but 
soon after sold the entire plant to 
Colonel Shafer and A. M. York, who 
turned the paper into a Republican pub- 
lication. At this time the name of the 
paper was also changed to "The Shelby 
County Herald." 

THE SHELBINA INDEX AND TORCHLIGHT. 

Yv'illiam N. Bumbarger and H. P. Mc- 
Eoberts were the founders of this publi- 
cation and the first edition of volume 
number one came from the press July 
13, 1881. In January, 1882, Simpson 
bought out McRoberts, and a year later 
N. H. Downing became the sole proprie- 
tor and editor. Dr. J. M. McCully be- 
came half owner on March 1, 1884, and 
Jul}" 1st following the firm became Mc- 
Cully & Christie, C. W. Christie buying 
Downing 's interest. In 1885, Dr. Mc- 
Cully sold his interest to his partner. 
The latter failed in a few months and 
the property again went into the hands 
of Dr. McCully. In the fall of 1885 Mc- 
Cully sold the property to William Ma- 
son, who chan^'ed the name of the paper 
to "The Shelbina Torchlight." Mr. Ma- 
son died in about a year and the publi- 
cation was resumed by his sons, Harry 
and George, until January, 1889, at 
which time the ownership passed into 
the hands of A. L. Roe and Prof. E. L. 
Cooley. In April, 1891, Roe purchased 
his partner's interest and became sole 
proprietor. In August 189.3, the Torch- 
light again changed hands, this time go- 
ing into the possession of Naeter & Has- 



kins. The new owners were young and 
ambitious and printed a good paper full 
of local news. They remained in charge 
until November, 1897, when they trans- 
ferred the ownership to Rev. W. W. Mc- 
Murry. In December, 1900, Mr. Mc- 
Murry sold to Cleek & AVilliams. This 
firm lasted until September, 1902. Mr. 
Williams then bought his partner's in- 
terest and became the sole proprietor. 
Mr. Williams sold a half interest to J. E. 
Thrasher, and in May, 1904, the publica- 
tion was sold to P. B. Dunn, Jr. Mr. 
Dunn conducted the paper until March, 
1907, at which time he sold out to C. J. 
Colburn. Mr. Colburn remained as edi- 
tor until May, 1908, when he sold a half 
interest to N. E. Williams, and in De- 
cember following Mr. Williams became 
the sole owner again and is the present 
owner and editor. Mr. Williams is a 
man of good judgment and an able 
writer. He is a pronounced prohiliition- 
ist and always stands for the clean and 
honest achniuistration of public affairs. 

THE SHELBINA DEMOCRAT. 

On April 1, 1869, E. D. Hoseltou, 
former owner and editor of the Shelbina 
Gazette, establislied The Shelbina Demo- 
crat. This publication was an all home 
print, seven-column folio, or four page 
paper. 

In 1870 Col. S. A. Rawlings became a 
partner in the publication of the paper. 
The latter was a Virginian and came to 
Shelby county in 1848. He died Septem- 
ber 28, 1875. During the Civil war 
Colonel Rawlings served on the Confed- 
erate side and organized and com- 
manded the Third Battalion of Infantiy, 
Harris Division, Missouri State Guards. 

After the death of Colonel Rawlings 



152 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Judge James C. Hale assumed editorial 
charge of the jiaper and remained at the 
heku until in May, 1881, when the pres- 
ent owner, Col. W. .L. Jewett became 
a partner with Mr. Hoselton. Mr. Jew- 
ett at this time was a young lawyer of 
more than ordinary ability and had dis- 
tinguished himself as a public speaker 
and campaigner. He was a determined, 
aggressive editor, just the kind the times 
demanded, and he soon established a 
reputation as a writer. The firm of Ho- 
selton & Jewett remained in control of 
the paper until November 4, 1891, when 
the senior partner, Mr. Hoselton, sold 
his interest to J. AV. Cox, a brother-in- 
law of Mr. Jewett 's. This finn contin- 
ued to publish the Democrat until July 
31, 1901, at which time Mr. Jewett pur- 
chased the interest of his partner, Mr. 
Cox. Colonel Jewett has been the sole 
owner and editor since the above date. 
Hon. "\V. 0. L. Jewett is today the father 
of the newspaper fraternity of Shelby 
count}'. Although advancing in years, 
he is recognized as one of the most force- 
ful writers in the State. He is a fearless 
defender of what he believes to be right 
and is generally on the right side of all 
questions. He takes great pride in pro- 
moting the city in which he lives and is 
also patriotic to his county and state. 
The Democrat, under Colonel Jewett, 
takes the lead on all public spirited ques- 
tions. The agitation for a new court 
house was started b^' the Democrat. 
as was also the electric light proposition 
at Shelbina, as well as many other 
smaller and less important enterprises. 
The "Democrat" is now taking the lead 
on the water works proposition and it is 
only a question of a few months until 
the venerable editor will behold the 



fruits of his labors in that direction. The 
Democrat is democratic in jiolitics, is- 
sued Wednesday of each week and to- 
day is a home-print, six column quarto. 
The pajjer is printed on a cylinder press, 
run by a gasoline engine. The type is 
set by a Junior Mergenthaler. The pa- 
per is up-to-date in every respect, and 
'Slv. Jewett has proven to the community 
that the pen is mightier than the sword 
from the fact that he has made the 
Democrat so strong a factor in the 
development of Shelby county and 
northeast Missouri. In December, 1910, 
Mr. Jewett leased the jiaper to his two 
sons, H. H. and E. AV. Jewett, who took 
charge January 1, 1911. This ended the 
newspaper career of one of the pioneer 
newspaper men of the state. 

FIRST PAPER IX CLARENCE. 

A man by the name of Steel was the 
first adventurer in the newspa^ier busi- 
ness in Clarence. This daring act was 
committed in 1877, and his product of 
the press was called "The Clarence 
Tribune." The paper was at first 
printed in Macon City, but later moved 
to Clarence and located over the post- 
office. The policy of the paper was neu- 
tral in politics. Mr. Steel conducted the 
paper about two years and then aban- 
doned the field. 

THE CLARENCE COLTIIER. 

The second adventurer in the news- 
paper field in Clarence was W. M. Brad- 
ley, who founded "The Clarence Cou- 
rier" in February, 1881. The founder 
conducted the paper for the space of a 
little over a year, and in May, 1882, sold 
to "\V. D. Powell, who remained as the 
editor and owner until August, 188-4, 



PIISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



153 



at which date he sold the plant to John 
L. Frost, who had been in the newspaper 
business in Quinej', and N. H. Downing, 
formerly of the "Shelbina Index," who 
soon after sold to Frost and moved 
to California. Mr. Frost was a 
good newspaper man, but died No- 
vember 22, 1888, and the establish- 
ment was sold to S. E. Lloyd and 
J. E. Asbury in January, 1889. The 
latter did not remain in the partnership 
long. Mr. Lloyd continued with the pub- 
lication, however, until July of 189-t. The 
present owner, H. J. Simmons, and G. 
L. Frost then bought the plant. This 
partnership lasted less than a year, and 
Mr. Simmons then became the sole owner 
and editor. In 1898 W. M. Pritchard 
purchased a half interest in the paper 
and a cylinder press was installed. This 
firm continued the business until June, 
1900, at which time Simmons again be- 
came the sole owner and leased a half 
interest to his brother-in-law, Edward 
B. Grant. The paper was issued under 
the firm name of Simmons & Grant. The 
ownership has not changed since Sim- 
mons bought out Pritchard, but at Mr. 
Grant's death in July, 1910, a half inter- 
est was leased to Enoch W. Eagland, 
and the paper is now being published by 
the firm of Simmons & Eagland. The 
paper is issued Wednesdays of each 
week and is an all home print, six-col- 
umn quarto. It is Democratic in politics 
and has at all times labored for the im- 
provement and advancement of the city, 
county and state. 

THE CLARENCE REPUBLICAN. 

At the present time this is the only 
Eepubiican paper i)ublished in the 
countv. Its existence dates back to 1889, 



October 2ud. O. P. Devin was the 
founder, but soon turned the office over 
to V. V. Peters, who conducted the paper 
until August, 1891, when George B. 
Klingenbeil became the publisher. The 
latter held the editorial chair only a few 
months and relinquished the manage- 
ment to A. L. Jordan, who remained at 
the desk until November, 1893, when he 
turned the plant over to E. T. Jones, a 
young lawyer who lived in the city. 
Jones held control until May, 189-t. 
James S. Watkins then became the edi- 
tor and continued the publication until 
1895, when E. N. Shanks, the present 
owner, took charge. Newland Shanks 
conducted the paper a few months in 
1904, but soon turned the paper back to 
his father. In 1895 Mr. Shanks changed 
the name of the publication to the 
"Farmer's Favorite" and in 1896 sus- 
pended publication. He, however, re- 
sumed publication again in 1897 and the 
paper is now being published by Shanks 
& Son, the junior member of the firm 
])eing E. Elma Shanks. In 1910 the pol- 
icy of the paper was changed to an inde- 
pendent Eepubiican. The jjaper is a six- 
column quarto, patent inside, and is pro- 
gressive and a good local paper. 

THE HUNNEWELL ENTERPRISE. 

The newspaper fever struck Hunne- 
well in 1882. That year Thos. Irons es- 
tablished the "Hunnewell Enterprise." 
The fever soon subsided and on January 
10, 1883, the "Enterprise" suspended 
publication. 

THE HUNNEWELL ECHO. 

J. E. Horn established the second pa- 
per in Hunnewell. He called it the 
"Hunnewell Echo," which was Demo- 



15i 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



cratic in politics. Mr. Horn published 
the paper in Hunnewell until January, 

1884, when he moved it to Shelby ville. 

THE ENTERPRISE RESUMES PUBLICATION. 

Thomas Irons resumed publication of 
the "Enterprise" again in December, 

1885, but only lasted a few months and 
again suspended. 

THE HUNNEWELL BEE. 

In September a fourth venture was 
made in the newspaper business at Hun- 
newell. This time it was by Eld. J. T. 
Craig, who turned the "Bee" loose on 
the inhabitants of this village Septem- 
ber 10, 1890. He later sold to J. J. Heif- 
ner and returned to the pulpit. Mr. 
Heifner conducted the paper until 1893, 
when he sold to Albert Blackburn, who 
changed the name of the paper to 

"the HUNNEWELL GRAPHIC." 

In March, 1894, the "Graphic" passed 
into the hands of 0. P. Sturm, who re- 
mained in charge until August. 1895. 
Sturm then moved to Malta Bend, Mo., 
and engaged in teaching school. He 
turned the paper over to his brother. 



George W. Sturm. In May, 1896, the 
plant was sold to J. H. Orr. Mr. Orr 
sold a half interest in a few weeks to 
E. J. Spencer, and in July, 1896, bought 
his partner's interest back. In Septem- 
ber, 1897, the pi'esent owner, A. B. Dun- 
lap, became the editor and owner, and 
has greatlj' improved the paper, which 
has been such a strong factor in the de- 
velopment and advancement of the city. 
The pajjer is independent in politics. 

THE BETHEL SUN. 

The above publication was launched 
upon the newspaper seas in the year 
1896. Tlie person who first made the 
"Sun" shine in Bethel was C. S. Ward. 
He sold to Joe Miller, who soon trans- 
ferred the plant to S. M. Bohon, who in 
turn sold to W. A. Dimmitt. The plant 
was not a paying proposition and was 
discontinued in 1901. 



Eev. D. A. Bx'own, a Christian preach- 
er, and C. S. Ward, in August, 1897, 
started a i)aper in Leonard called the 
"Missouri Sun." "The Sun," however, 
soon went into a total eclipse and has not 
been seen in the newspaper skies since. 



CHAPTEE XIII. 

Some Shelby County Murders and Suicides — William Switzer Murdered in 1864 
— Pat McCarty Assassinated — The Bufoed Tragedy — Murder of Nicholas 
Brandt — Judge Joseph Hunolt Assassinated — A Leonard Tragedy — Shel- 
BiNA Mayor Dies Suddenly — M. Lloyd Cheuvront Shot — Suicide at Clarence 
— The Stacy Murder and Suicide — Suicide at Clarence. 



WM. switzer murdered in 1864. 

Mr. William B. Switzer, a merchant 
of Clarence, then a village, was mur- 
dered by a band of robbers from Macon 
in the fall of 1864. It seems Mr. Switzer 
was custodian of some money made up 
by certain of the citizens to hire substi- 
tutes in case any of them were drafted. 
They made their raid one night, just a 
day too late, as the funds were sent to 
Shelbyville for safety just the day be- 
fore. ]\Ir. Switzer was called to the door 
by four men on horseback, who, when he 
apjjeared, demanded his money. Mr. 
Switzer, who had taken his revolver with 
him, opened fire and a volley came back 
in answer, one shot taking effect in his 
hip, severing his femoral artery, caus- 
ing death in a few minutes. Mr. Switzer 
was a respected citizen and while he 
never took up arms he was known as a 
Southern sympathizer. The robbers 
were Macon countians; one never was 
apprehended, another turned state's evi- 
dence, in which John Roland was said 
to be the one that fired the fatal shot. 
He was bound over, escaped and for- 
feited his ))ond. All were ex-Federal 
militiamen. 



pat m caety assassinated. 

Pat McCarty, a i)rominent citizen of 
Clarence, was the proj^rietor of a steam 
mill, which property he had purchased 
from its founder, Mr. Wilson. Mr. 
McCarty was a man of many friends and 
many enemies. He was a jolly, whole- 
souled man and one who cherished his 
home. On the night of October 6, 1874, 
Mr. McCarty was seated near a window 
in his sitting room, where he had been 
fondling his child on his knee. He had 
just put down his little one and taken 
up a newspaper when an assassin fired 
through the window a heavy charge of 
bird shot, which penetrated his body, 
killing him instantly. A coroner's jury 
was impaneled by Esquire Scates and a 
few days' investigation ensued, without 
important results. No clue was ever ob- 
tained as to the identity of the perpe- 
trator. Suspicion ran rife, much of it 
no doubt uujust, but as the victim of a 
stealthy coward was he shot down before 
his loved ones. 

the buford tragedy. 

On Monday, October 26, 1885, occurred 
one of the worst tragedies in the history 



155 



156 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



of Shelby couuty. Joliu Buford shot 
and killed his father, William Buford, 
and also seriously wounded his brother, 
AYilliam Buford. The tragedy occurred 
at the Buford home, near Burksville, in 
Tiger Fork township. The elder Buford 
lived only a short time after the shooting 
occurred. 

At the preliminary hearing one of the 
main witnesses gave the following testi- 
mony regarding the facts relative to the 
shooting: "On Sunday evening John 
and his father had a ciuarrel about a colt 
that had been kicked ; John said he had 
fixed up the stable and he would blow 
daylight through any person who would 
put a horse in there ; said he was going 
to have his rights. John and his father 
went to the house; soon after this John 
started off. His father said, 'Where are 
you going?' John replied, 'Wait till I 
see you again. I'll see you before day- 
light and put daylight through you and 
those other two d — d pups. ' ' ' The next 
morning witness' attention was attract- 
ed by his little sister pulling his coat and 
saying, "See there." He looked up and 
saw John in the door of the sitting room 
with a double-barrelled shotgun, which 
he aimed at his younger brother, Will- 
iam. Witness started as though to go 
through the door, passed under the gun 
and pushed it up. His father just then 
probably aimed' to do the same thing, 
ran against witness and threw him down 
against the bed. As he raised up the 
gun was discharged, taking effect in the 
top of his father's head and some of 
the shot striking witness' arm between 
the elbow and shoulder. The witness did 
not hear John speak a word while in the 
house. John left after the shooting 
and was arrested a week later at the 



home of 'Scjuire E. D. Wood, in Tiger 
Fork township. John's anxiety to hear 
from home led to his capture. Monday 
night, about 10 o'clock, he appeared at 
the home of 'Squire AVood, about a mile 
from the Buford farm, and tapped on 
the window to attract attention, and 
asked one of the young men on the in- 
side how his folks were getting along at 
home. 'Squire Wood, who was upstairs 
in bed, hurried downstairs and around 
the house, taking with him a shotgun. 
He raised his gun and told John to 
throw up his hands, which the latter did 
reluctantly. One of the 'Squire's sons 
next appeared and disarmed young Bu- 
ford, who was then led into the house 
and gaiarded until Sheriff Dun arrived 
and took him in charge. 

The ]5reliminary hearing was held in 
Shelbyville on November 11 of the same 
year, before 'Stpiire Melson. R. P. 
Giles represented the state and James T. 
Lloyd, the defendant. The defendant 
was committed to jail to await the action 
of the gr&nd jury. On Friday following 
he was taken to Palmyra and placed in 
jail for safekeeping. 

The Buford case came up at the April 
term of the Circuit court, 1886, and was 
set for trial at a special term to be held 
commencing August 1st following. The 
case was then tried, R. P. Giles repre- 
senting the state and Judge Berry and 
Lysander Thomjison the defendant. The 
verdict of the jury was that the defend- 
ant was guilty of murder in the second 
degree. The attorneys for the defend- 
ant filed a motion for a new trial on the 
ground that one member of the jury of 
twelve, before whom the case was tried, 
was too sick to proi)erly hear the evi- 
dence, and that one member of the forty 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



157 



panel had formed and expressed an 
opinion. The hearing- on this motion 
was postponed until the October term 
of court, at whicli time Judge Brace 
heard and overruled the motion, and 
sentenced the defendant to thirty years 
in tlie penitentiary. Mr. Buford was 
taken to the penitentiary, where he 
stayed until pardoned by Governor Ste- 
plieus on December 25, 1897. He then 
returned to the county, but remained 
here only a short time and is at tliis 
date living- in the state of Washington. 

MUEDEE OF NICHOLAS BEANDT. 

The town of Shelbina was thrown into 
intense excitement, mingled with indig- 
nation and horror, on Wednesday, No- 
vember 16, 1887, by the report that the 
body of a man had been found in a well 
near a log cabin on the A^incent Taylor 
farm, six miles west of the town. It was 
believed that tlie remains were those of 
Nicholas Brandt, who had been missing 
and was supposed to have been mur- 
dered. Brandt was a hard-working, in- 
offensive German, and was by trade a 
lioop-pole shaver. It was known that 
the deceased had a large amount of 
money, mostly gold, in his possessibn. 
Henry Deiderich was arrested the after- 
noon of the same day in St. Louis and 
accused of the murder. Sheriff Sanders 
went to St. Louis after the accused and 
returned witli him on the following Fri- 
day. Two other parties were arrested 
in connection with the crime — a Mr. 
Dallhousen, wlio was placed in jail at 
Slielbyville, and Albert Anselman, of 
Lakenan, who was admitted to $500 bail. 
The ]n"eliminary trial was held l)efore 
'Squire J. 1). Jordan in Shelbina, begin- 
ning Friday morning, December 9. 1887. 



The cases against Dallhousen and An- 
selman were dismissed by Prosecuting 
Attorney R. P. Giles and Deiderich was 
bound over to the grand jury. Mr. Dei- 
derich was brought before the bar of 
justice in the Circuit court on Monday, 
April 9, 1888, and pleaded not guilty. 
He was returned to the jail to await his 
trial, but with another prisoner by the 
name of McDonald broke jail tliat eve- 
ning and is still at large. 

JUDGE JOSEPH HUNOLT ASSASSINATED. 

Judge Hunolt was perhaps the largest 
land owner and one of the wealthiest 
citizens of the county. He owned over 
2,300 acres of land northeast of Eager 's 
Grove and was a large feeder and raiser 
of stock. Mr. Hunolt was of German 
parentage, and was one of those honest, 
industrious and thrifty individuals who 
lead the community in which they reside. 

Politically the Judge was a Democrat. 
Religiously he was a Catholic and it was 
largely through his efforts and gener- 
osity that the little Catholic church was 
erected, which still stands upon the prai- 
rie road between Hager's Grove and 
Leonard. 

On Friday, June 4, 1886, between the 
hours of five and six o'clock in the after- 
noon, Judge Hunolt departed from 
Leonard on horseback for his home 
about four miles south of the village. 
He had been at Clarence the day before 
and had drawn $500 from the bank. On 
his way to the farm he passed George 
Hardy, whom he met in the road and 
talked with a short time. He passed 
from the road into his farm through a 
gap which he made for that purpose, 
and after replacing the fence rode on 
into the timber. 



158 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Sam Roberts was working on a fence 
about eighty rods from where tlie Judge 
passed through the iuclosure, aud heard 
three shots in rapid succession, followed 
by a scream as of someone in terrible 
distress. Andy Hilton, who lived half 
a mile west, also heard the reports of the 
firearm, but heard no outcry. 

As the Judge did not return to his 
home that night as was expected, the 
Hunolt family became alamied and the 
next morning one of the sons was sent 
to Leonard to learn of his father's 
whereabouts. Here he was informed of 
the time of his father's departure from 
Leonard and the route he took. The 
alarm was given and many persons 
joined in a search for the Judge. The 
place where he entered the pasture was 
located and his horse was traced through 
the timber to a small ravine. Here the 
horse was found tied to a tree and the 
remains of Judge Hunolt lying upon the 
ground about sixty feet away. Two 
lialls took effect. One entered the left 
side of the body and passed inward and 
nearly through the body, the other 
l)assed through the palm of one hand 
and into the arm. The Judge's throat 
was also cut, the head being nearly sev- 
ered from the liody. A coroner's inquest 
was held before 'Squire Stewart, of 
Leonard, and the body removed to the 
family residence before Prosecuting At- 
torney Giles and the county coroner 
reached the scene of the awful tragedy. 

Thousands of persons visited the scene 
of the murder on Sunday and over a 
thousand attended the funeral, which 
was lield at the Catholic church on ^Mon- 
day. The remains still sleep beneath the 
l)lue grass and in tlie little Catholic ceme- 



tery. A beautiful monument marks the 
resting ]>lace of the Judge's remains. 

The Hunolt family consisted of, be- 
sides the father and mother, two sons, 
Christopher and Antony, and two daugh- 
ters, Mrs. Annie "Worland and Mi-s. Sa- 
lome Ploruback, the former the wife of 
J. G. "Worland, of Hager's Grove, and 
the latter the widow of the late C. H. 
Hornback. 

After the murder of Judge Hunolt 
every effort was made to ferret out the 
mystery. The local ])eace officers were 
kept busy aud two Pinkerton detectives 
were employed. On Thursday, June 10, 
following the murder, the detectives 
thought they had sufficient evidence to 
justify an arrest and a warrant was 
sworn out by Christopher Hunolt, a 
brother of the murdered man, charging 
Joseph Glahn with committing the atro- 
cious crime. Thereupon Sheriff Dunn 
placed the accused under arrest. ^Ir. 
Glahn was taken before 'Squire J. D. 
Melson, of Shelbyville, aud on Thursday, 
June 17, the preliminary hearing was 
had and the accused was bound over to 
the grand jury and conmiitted to the Pal- 
myra jail. On Monday, October 18, 1886, 
the Shelby county grand jury brought in 
a bill against Joseph Glahn and Chris- 
tian Glahn, his brother, charging them 
with the murder of Judge Hunolt. The 
case against these men was called on the 
April docket, 1887, and on April 4 of 
that year the case against Christian 
Glahn was dismissed by the prosecuting 
attorney and the case of Josejih N. 
Glahn was granted a change of venue on 
the testimony of nine witnesses who 
stated under oath that the defendant 
could not get a fair trial in Shelbv countv 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



159 



on account of prejudice. Judge Bacon sent 
the case to Monroe county and the case 
was docketed for a special term at Paris 
the following June. The trial com- 
menced in Paris on Monday, June 20. 
The state had one hundred witnesses on 
hand and the defense had fifty. The 
trial lasted five weeks and resulted in a 
hung jury. The jury was discharged 
July 23, 1887. The defendant was re- 
turned to the Palmyra jail. The case 
was set for re-trial on Novemlier 8tli 
following. At this trial, which lasted 
until December 8th, the jury found the 
defendant guilty of murder in the first 
degree. The defendant's attorneys im- 
meiliately filed a motion for a new trial. 
The motion was overruled and the at- 
torneys for the defendant filed a motion 
in arrest of judgment. The second Mon- 
day in February, 1888, was set for hear- 
ing the arguments on this motion. On 
Monday, February 20, 1888, the argu- 
ment was made and the motion over- 
ruled. Judge Bacon then delivered the 
following sentence: "The sentence of 
the court is that you, Joseph N. Glahn, 
on Friday, the sixth day of April, 1888, 
at the county jail of Monroe county, be- 
tween the hours of 9 o'clock A. M. and 
5 o'clock P. M. of that day, he hanged 
by the neck until you are dead." A stay 
of execution was granted and an appeal 
taken to the Supreme court. ^Ir. Glahn 
was then returned to the Palmyra jail 
and on August 16, 1888, there was a jail 
delivery at that place. Fourteen pris- 
oners esca]ied out of twenty-eight con- 
fined, (ilalm was the only one accused 
of murder, yet he refused to go. 

At the January term of the Supreme 
court the case for a new trial was argued 



and on Wednesday, April 17, Judge Ba- 
con admitted Mr. Glahn to bail, fixing 
his bond at $7,000. The bond was 
])rom])tly made and after nearly three 
years' coniinement the accused man was 
once more allowed his liberty. At the 
October term of the Supreme court 
Judge Black rendered a decision, which 
was concurred in by all the judges, ex- 
cept Judge Barclay,'reversing the lower 
court, and sending the case back to Mon- 
roe county for a new trial. The case 
was reversed on the ground tiiat Instruc- 
tion No. 7, asked by the defense, was re- 
fused. This instruction read as follows : 
"That although the jury may believe 
from the evidence in the case that de- 
fendant made threats or declarations of 
intentions against deceased, Joseph 
Ilunolt, before bis death, yet if upon a 
full review and consideration of all the 
evidence in the cause they shall conclude 
there is no evidence connecting defend- 
ant with the assault and killing of de- 
ceased, Joseph Hunolt, other than such 
threats or declarations, then they will 
find defendant not guilty." The long- 
pending case was brought up in the Mon- 
roe county Circuit court again on Mon- 
day, , 1889, and dismissed. 

This ends one of the darkest cha]3ters in 
Shelby county 's history. 

A LEONARD TRAGEDY. 

On Sunday, September 1, 1888, a 
farmer named Andrew Howerton, living 
in the northwest part of Shelby, near 
Leonard, shot his wife dead, the ball en- 
tering the head back of the left ear. He 
then shot himself through the head, fall- 
ing near his wife dead. The couple had 
married in F('l)ruary in the same year. 



160 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Domestic infelicity was assigned as the 
cause, the couple liaving- separated sev- 
eral times. 

SHELBINA MAYOR DIES SUDDENLY. 

On Friday morning of November 10, 
1890, the city of Shelbina was shocked 
to learn they had, during the night, been 
rolibed of their mayor, John D. Jordan. 
He had l)eeu on the street the evening 
before, apparently as well as ever. 
About 10 or 11 o'clock his wife noticed 
something imusual in his breathing and 
tried to arouse him, but failing in this 
she summoned a physician. A battery 
was used and in this manner life was 
prolonged until 4 o'clock Friday morn- 
ing. It is thought he took a large dose 
of laudanum, which caused his death. 
He had held several city offices and made 
an efficient mayor. He was a Mason and 
Odd Fellow. 

M. LLOYD CHEUVRONT SHOT. 

On Friday evening about 9 o'clock 
of July 22, 1897, three cracks of a pistol 
in the eastern part of the city, Walnut 
street, of Shelbina, announced to the 
people of that vicinity the murder of a 
citizen of good character, inoffensive and 
])eaeeable, Mr. Cheuvront, by Tol Smock. 
The ladies of the Christian church were 
Imlding an ice cream supper in the city 
jiark. ^Ir. Cheuvront, who was very 
deaf, left liis wife at the park while he 
went out for a walk. It seems Mrs. Tol 
Smock, who was fair of face, in company 
with Miss Nellie Hopper, of Clarence 
vicinity, who was attending a teachers' 
institute and boarding with Mrs. Smock, 
had started home just ahead of Mr. 
Cheuvront and rushed into her home on 
the south side, near the east end of Wal- 



nut, and told her husband how Mr. 
Cheuvront had followed them home. Mr. 
Smock grabbed his pistol, rushed out 
and encountered Mr. Cheuvront just in 
front of his home, knocked him down and 
shot three times, the fatal shot taking 
effect in his bowels. Mr. Cheuvront lin- 
gered till seven the following morning, 
during which time he told his wife, two 
sous and friends about him, how it oc- 
curred and made plans for his family's 
future, remaining conscious to the end. 
Mr. Smock took change of venue and his 
case was tried in Macon county, Decem- 
ber, 1897. J. H. Whitecotton, of Paris, 
Mo., was leading attorney for the defense 
and Prosecuting Attorney Cleek had 
valuable assistance. A good many wit- 
nesses were sworn on both sides. The 
state sought to prove that Mr. Cheuvront 
was a man of unquestionable christian 
and moral character. The jury hung 
after a hard fight on both sides, four 
standing solidly and determinedly for 
conviction. The trial was taken up 
again at the Macon Circuit court and all 
the witnesses re-examined, and the de- 
fendant found guilty of manslaughter 
and punishment fixed at six months in 
jail and a fine of $100. The Macon 
Times-Democrat said this among other 
things concerning the verdict: "The 
verdict is an outrage upon this com- 
munity and it is just such mockery as 
this that disgusts the peoi)le with juries 
and courts and causes them to take the 
law into their own hands and mete out 
justice." 

SUICIDE AT CLARENCE. 

On Sunday morning, December 17, 
1899, Mrs. George W. Chinn. wife of 
Hon. George W. Chinn, rejiresentative 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



161 



from Shelby county to the Missouri leg- 
islature at that time, committed suicide 
by cutting her throat. The deed was 
committed while Mr. Chinn was at Sun- 
day school and life was almost extinct 
when he reached home. Indications were 
that she committed the act standing be- 
fore a mirror and using a common case 
knife. Poor health was assigned as the 
cause. 

THE STACY MUEDEE AND SUICmE. 

Wednesday morning, June 5, 1901, 
James Stacy killed his wife and their 
daughter, Alma, and then shot himself. 

Mr. Stacy lived a mile west of Clar- 
ence and had had charge of the pumping 
station at that location for many years 
for the railroad. It was supposed he 
arose early, as usual, proceeded to his 
work, started a fire in the boiler and then 
returned to his home and killed the 
women while they lay sleeping. The 
deed was committed with a heavy clock 
weight and each woman received the 
death blow over the left temple. His 
young son was in the house at the time, 
but was taken out of the bed and de- 
posited on a lounge while asleep. He 
then went downstairs, got his single-bar- 
reled shotgun and started out the back 
door, but just as he opened the door he 
met his married daughter and told her 
what he had done, went back into the 
house and shot himself. 

Those who arrived on the scene of the 
tragedy say that there was no indication 
of a struggle. The women were lying as 
if asleep. It was supj^osed ]\Ir. Stacy 
was insane when he committed the rash 
deed. The funeral and interment took 
place Thursday afternoon following and 
the three bodies were interred in one 



grave. Over a thousand people were at 
the cemetery to witness the burial. Mr. 
Stacy was a Mason in good standing and 
was buried with Masonic rites. 

SUICIDE AT CLAKENCE. , 

On Friday morning, July 21, 1905, at 
10 A. M., the city of Clarence was thrown 
into a stage of excitement when tlie 
strange news s^jread over the city that 
J. Eobert Hord had committed suicide 
by shooting himself in a chicken house 
near his home. No one heard the report 
of the pistol, but his daughter and a 
neighbor were in chase for a chicken, 
the daughter following the chicken into 
the chicken house. As she threw open 
the door she discovered the body of her 
father cold in death, with a wound in his 
riglit temple. Mr. Hord, a month ]ire- 
vious, had traded about $14,000 worth 
of property in Clarence for a farm of 
160 acres at Farber, Mo., and it was 
thought he lost heavily on the deal. Be- 
fore committing the deed he scratched 
with a nail u|)on a pine box the following 
note-: "No family trouble. Good-bye 
to wife and children. My trouble is 
more than I can bear. These lies have 
run me crazy. I am innocent, good-bye. 
Love and kisses. Meet me in heaven. 
Bury at Andrew chapel, cheap coffin for 
bod}". I want my wife, Mary, adminis- 
ter without bond. Brother Oddfellows, 
I leave them in thy care." Mr. Hord 
had been depressed after the above deal, 
but he had just returned from Moberly 
at ll:5f) the night previous, had made 
Ijlans to go to Moberly and seemed in 
good spirits. He carried $5,000 life in- 
surance, was a leader in the Presby- 
terian church and a ])rominent Odd 
Fellow. 



CHAPTER XIV. 

9 

Shelby County — Census of Shelby County — Clabence — Shelbyville — Shelbina 

HUNNEWELL ThE TeMPLB OF JuSTICE— COUET HoUSE BUBNED ThREE 

Clarence Fiees — Shelby County Congeessman. — The Bethel Colony. 



SHELBY county. 

Shelby county, Missouri, is beyond 
controversy one of the most desirable 
counties in the state in which to live and 
prosper. We have finely i m proved 
farms and farm houses; fine, richly 
yielding orchards, bearing a great vari- 
ety of fruits. Fruits of all kinds grow 
to perfection, of large size and sujierior 
flavor. There are vegetable gardens in 
which grow the greatest variety, quan- 
tity and quality. We have a good ch- 
mate, excellent, pure water, thus adding 
to the healthfulness of its people. 
Rivers, creeks and running springs are 
numerous. Our county carries no bonds 
or interest bearing indebtedness to swell 
our taxes. Our population is over four- 
teen thousand. We have good schools. 
We own .323,000 beautiful broad acres 
of the most richly yielding soil on earth. 
Our prairies are gently rolling and 
adapted to all kinds of grain, the soil 
rich and productive, yielding in rich re- 
turns of wheat, corn, oats, rye, blue 
grass, clover and timothy. Our timber 
abounds in ma))le, oak, walnut, hickory, 
elm and ash. We surpass all other coun- 
ties in points of excellences. In sum- 
mary, our location, our fertile soil, our 
climate and healthfulness, our schools 
and social advantages, all the prerequi- 



sites to be considered in choosing' a home 
land, are to be found in good old Shelby. 
We grow the tallest corn, the biggest 
pumpkins, the reddest apples, the most 
verthint blue gi'ass, the finest cattle, 
hogs, sheep ; while here flourish the pret; 
tiest girls, tlie handsomest men, and a 
par excellent and most intelligent, most 
law-abiding people to be found in exist- 
ence. We support no saloon and thus 
boycott all that class of humanity. AVe 
.".re wide-awake, peace-loving, progres- 
sive people, and welcome to our midst 
all congenial, law-abiding people. 



ci;Nsrs OF .-^iiklrv 



1.S70. 

ropiilation 10.000 

Shelbina 1,146 

Cliiicnce 444 

Shelbyville o.'iO 

Uunnewell 



COIXTY. 


1 .s;)o. 


IflOll. 


15,642 


16,167 


1,691 


1,733 


1.0.S7 


1.1S4 


4S6 


777 


427 


473 



I'.tlO. 



1.><S0. 

14,024 

1,287 

.-)70 

(!1<I 

42.J 

At the "World's Corn Show," held at Columbus, 
Ohio, in January, 1911, Mr. .Tames Douglass, of 
Shelbina, was awarded the medal for the ten best 
ears of yellow dent corn over all competitors, thus 
bringing to Shelby county the fame of having pro- 
duced the best yellow corn in the world, and inci- 
dentally to Mr. Douglass a great demand for seed 
corn from all parts of the country. 

CLARENCE. 

Clarence, the second city in Shelby 
county. Its location is at the extreme 
western border, al)oiit two miles east of 
the Macon boundary line. It has a pres- 
ent i)opulatiou of 1,500. Its main busi- 
ness streets run i)arallel with the Han- 
nibal & St. ,I()se])li liailway. Tlic liusi- 



1G2 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



163 



ueas houses of the little city vie with any 
in the eonnty and draw trade from long 
distances in every direction, being in 
control of public-spirited men, whose en- 
terprise have gained a reputation which 
jjromises well for its future. The business 
houses are well built and convenient and 
modern within. The healthful location, 
that of a rolling i)rairie, with its abun- 
dance of good living water, the rich farm 
lands lying all about, the unsurpassed 
market facilities, enjoying the distinc- 
tion of being the heaviest shipping point 
between Hannibal and Kansas City, 
render it one of the most prosperous, 
enterprising and promising little cities 
in the state. It is populated by a people 
thoroughly intelligent, moral, progres- 
sive and well-to-do, and few cities can 
offer to the capitalist or home seeker 
superior advantages for safe invest- 
ments. The schools are forging to the 
front with all the push and vim of the 
modern educator. The fine church build- 
ings attest the healthfulness of the moral 
and religious tone of the town. Its 
]ieople are cordial and hospitable, all 
uniting in making the town the peer of 
any in the state. The surrounding 
farm lands perhaps surpass any for fer- 
tility of soil, and the perfect growth of 
all grains and fruits common in this lati- 
tude. Stock raising is everj^ man's vo- 
cation, from the fact that our abundance 
of grain, together with the great blue 
grass prairies which stretch over the ter- 
ritory make it a chief pleasure of life. 
So well located, Clarence can but pros- 
]ier from year to year more abundantly 
and her growth cannot be otherwise than 
steady. She possesses one of the best 
flouring mills and elevators in the coun- 
ty. She boasts of having a superior 



electric light plant, owned and operated 
by the city. The city is practically out 
of debt. Her streets are clean and well 
kept, and her beauty is enhanced by her 
long stretches of granitoid walks. On 
either side of her railroad are stretches 
of verdant green, dotted with beautiful 
shade trees, the same known as her city 
parks. 

Clarence has three splendid growing- 
banks, which bespeak her welfare. The 
service within is business, yet accommo- 
dating. 

She has one of the most modern and 
best equipped telephone buildings to be 
found anywhere in a town of her size, 
with a system containing 11,000 feet of 
cable. The proprietors, Naylor & Eagle, 
require a service of its force which is in 
keeping with such modern conveniences. 
It boasts of two good newspapers, repre- 
senting both the great political parties. 
Mayor Dimmitt, one of Ihe best to be 
found anywhere, is progressive and pub- 
lic spirited and pilots well her public en- 
terprises. Her beautiful homes and well 
kept lawns are her pride. She is destined 
to a steady growth and a sure future. 

SHELBYVILLE. 
By Hon. John D. Dale. 

Shelbyville, the capitol of Shelby 
county, is situate just north of the geo- 
graphical center of the county. She has 
about 1,000 people. Her citizenship is 
of the rare quality which makes Shelby 
county known all over the state for her 
morality, sobriety and intellectuality. 
Her financial institutions are among the 
safest in the state. The Shelbyville bank 
is an old institution, established in A. D. 
1874, with Dr. Phillip Dimmitt cashier 
and John T. Cooper president. Both of 



164 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



these old pioneers have long since passed 
over the great divide, leaving the bank 
in the liauds of Prince Dimmitt as presi- 
dent and A. M. Dunn as cashier. This 
bank has a capital stock of $20,000 and a 
surplus fund of $17,000. The Citizens' 
bank was organized in the year A. D. 
1894, with John J. Hewett as president 
and W. W. Mitchell as cashier. This 
bank has a capital of $20,000 and under 
its present management, with John J. 
Hewett as its present president and J. 
M. Pickett as cashier, it has grown to be 
one of the safe banks of the country. We 
have five churches, to wit: The Metho- 
dist Episcopal South, the Baptist, the 
Christian, the Presbyterian and the Holi- 
ness. All of these churclies are active 
in spreading the Gospel and have left 
their imprint upon the people of the 
county. 

Our graded public school is second to 
none in the county, and the citizens of 
this city are proud to lioast of our good 
school. The colored public school is 
good and the colored folk patronize it 
well. The mercantile interests are not 
only well represented, but Shelbyville 
has some of the best stores in northeast 
Missouri. The department store of Wil- 
liam Winetroub Sons' is a first-class es- 
tablishment which would do credit to a 
city three times the size of Shelbyville. 
The dry goods house of James Edelen 
& Co. contains a well selected, large stock 
of dry goods and hulies' fui'uishiugs and 
clothing and is a nice store. 

The two hardware stores carry large 
stocks in their line, and the old-estab- 
lished hardware store of N. C. Miller is 
patronized for many miles around. 

Our two drug stores are uji to date 
and handle drugs as medicines only. The 



drug house of A. M. Priest is one of the 
oldest houses of the kind in the county, 
and while the drug store of J. W. Penu 
is not so old, it is a well-equipped store 
and up to date in every respect. 

There are five grocery stores, all up to 
date, and two restaurants, two grist 
mills and feed stores, four blacksmith 
shops, where wagons are manufactured 
and repaired, one poultry and egg house, 
one newspaper and one opera house and 
two livery stables. 

The newspaper, the Shelby County 
Herald, is an old-established p a p e r , 
and is widely known for its advocacy of 
morality and such other principals as 
are for the best interest of the commun- 
ity. The opera house is a little beauty, 
with a seating capacity of 600. All but 
two of our business houses are of brick, 
fronting on the court house square. Our 
streets are wide and admirably shaded 
with elm and maple trees, which in the 
summer time are so inviting that the 
weary wanderer cannot forego the pleas- 
ure of seeking the shaded lawn and sip- 
l)iug the cool water from the spring well 
that is located near the court house. 

Shelbyville has four lawyers, to wit: 
John D. Dale, V. L. Drain, E. M. Obryen 
and J. T. Perry. 

Three physicians, to wit: Dr. W. M. 
Carson, Dr. John Maddox and Dr. P. C. 
Archer. 

The court house is a large commodious 
brick and stone structure, equipped with 
steam heat and water and each office con- 
taining a firojiroof vault for tlie records. 

The school house is a large stone and 
brick building with basement and mod- 
ern steam heating plant. The residence 
district will coni])aro favorably with any 
city of its size in the state and, al)ove 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



165 



all, it is peopled with a class of citizens 
who are widely kuown for their morality 
and refinement. 

There are two lumber yards, the Cot- 
ton Lumber Company and the North 
Missouri. Both of these yards carry 
large stocks and do a large business. 

The Shelby County Abstract & Loan 
Company is an institution that every 
county must have and this one is man- 
aged on correct principles. 

There is yet room for enterprising 
business men in Shelbyville and such will 
never regret having located here. 

The electric light plant is not so large 
as some in the county, but it is sufficient 
for all purposes here and is now in fine 
shape and giving good satisfaction. 

Of course, Shelbyville has a postoffice 
and every morning go out from this of- 
fice six rural carriers. 

Singleton Brothers, who own one of 
the grist mills and feed stores, also own 
and operate the elevator. 

Our furniture stores are among the 
best in the county. The old-established 
house of Pickett Bros, carry a large 
stock, well selected, and also do an un- 
dertaking business. 

J. W. Thompson & Son, the proprie- 
tors of the other furniture store, are 
equip]>ed nicely in their line and also do 
an undertaking business. 

There are two jewelry stores and they 
are both a credit to the city. Both carry 
pianos in connection with their jewelry 
business. 

One harness shop, which is the oldest 
estal)lishment of the sort in the county, 
having been established over fifty years 
ago, and the present proprietor, Julius 
Kitter, .Jr., was reared at the ))ench in 



this store. He carries a large stock and 
is an expert workman. 

One telephone system, owned and man- 
aged by R. B. Parker. 

There are two drays, delivery wagons 
and a bus line — in fact, all the minor en- 
terprises that go with an up-to-date city. 

We have as good or better railroad 
service than any city on the Burlington. 
The Shelby County railway trains enter 
our city three times daily, and with it 
comes the mail, express and freight. 

Our hotel is a commodious brick struc- 
ture an|;l admirably located, with a beau- 
tiful lawn and large shade trees. The 
proprietor, J. L. Gaines, has built this 
hostelry up to a first-class hotel. 

SHELBINA. 
By W. 0. L. Jewett. 

Fifty-five years ago a strip of prairie 
extended nearly across the southern 
edge of Shelby county, from Salt river 
on the east to the Macon line. This 
prairie was covered with a luxuriant 
growth of grass, often six to nine feet 
in height. A few farms jutted out of 
the timber into the edge of this prairie, 
but it was mainly unbroken — just as 
Nature had made it. 

Railroads often, probably usually, fol- 
low the line of least resistance. So when 
the Hannibal & St. Joe was laid out, be- 
ing compelled by its charter to touch Pal- 
mj'ra, it took from there a southwest- 
erly course for sixteen to eighteen miles, 
and then boi:e slightly north of west, so 
as to follow the prairie and avoid the 
l)reaks near the streams both north and 
south. Its course across the county west 
of Salt river is nearly straight, but where 
it reaches the Macon line it is about four 



166 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



miles north of where it crosses the east 
line of Shelby. 

During 1857 the railroad was built as 
far west as where Shelbina stands; a 
station was made on the level prairie and 
named Shelbina, being nearly in the cen- 
ter of the county east and west, and two 
and one-half miles from the Monroe Une. 
Then AValkersville, three and one-half 
miles to the northwest, on Salt river, was 
an important trading point, and Old 
Clinton, nine miles to the southeast, also 
on Salt river, was a still more imiiortant 
commercial center. But these, like most 
towns missed by a few miles, were killed 
by the railroad. 

Soon as this station was located cheap 
bui^iness houses were erected; first on 
the north side, and business began. Shel- 
byville, the county seat of Shelby, and 
Paris, the county seat of Monroe, were 
without railroad communications, and 
Shelbina became the shipping point for 
these towns, and for all the county north 
and south for more than twenty miles. 
With these advantages business thrived 
and the town grew rapidly. This was 
checked by the war, which liroke out in 
1861. Among the early business men 
were Kemper Bros., R. A. Motfett, Sam- 
uel ITardy, John J. Foster, John I. and 
William Taylor, William A. Reid, George 
Hill, JohnMyer, S. G. Parsons, C. A. 
Whitehead, and then Charles Miller, 
Charles and IMorris Goodman, Daniel G. 
and Coluinl)us Minter, Huron Miller, 
"Clabe" True, and Newton and John 
Bates. Among these Henson Thomas 
should not be forgotten, for he was an 
extensive real estate owner and dealer. 
Several saloons to dispense intoxicants 
to tlie railroad builders and others were 
among the lirst to occui>y business lots. 



In the fall and winter of 1857 the Thomas 
hotel, a good frame structure, was erect- 
ed where the Waverly hotel now stands. 
This hotel, we are told, did a large busi- 
ness in the early days. 

The early days of this town were like 
those of most other western villages, not 
as orderly as they should be. There 
were many rough characters about and 
much drinking. Saturdays often wit- 
nessed a number of fights. This condi- 
tion continued until near the close of the 
war. 

The first religious services were held 
in AVilliam A. Reid's store by Elder 
Powell, of the Baptist church, in tbe 
fall of ] 858. Mr. Reid had recently come 
from Old Virginia, and he was a man of 
character and force and soon became a 
leader, not only in business matters, but 
also in building up the M. E. chui'ch 
South and in Salibath school work. He 
became the wealthiest man of the place 
and died in 1890 at the age of sixty-four. 
Religious services were held in the 
Thomas hotel and afterwards in ^Miller's 
hall on Center street. It was 1867 before 
any church edifice was erected, and that 
was built by the Southern Methodists 
and Baptists on the site now occupied by 
the Pictorium. 

The war cheeked the material as well 
as the intellectual and moral growth of 
the place. During the troubles school 
ojjportunities were few. Charles M. 
King and some others had given instruc- 
tion to the youths befoi'e the war and 
part of the time during the continuance 
of the strife. 

Speaking of Mr. King, who afterwards 
became a lawyer and leading citizen of 
Shelbina, recall.s an incident during Bill 



HISTORY OP SHELBY COUNTY 



167 



Anderson's raid on the town in 1864. 
This outlaw had the citizens lined up 
the better to rob them of valuables. Mr. 
King was always a nicely dressed gen- 
tleman, and when the bandits demanded 
his valuables and he could produce only 
$1, they cursed him and handed the dol- 
lar back. Judge Daniel Taylor had to- 
bacco in the depot to be shipi)ed and he 
approached Bill Anderson and asked the 
privilege of getting his tobacco out be- 
fore the building was tired. The bandit 
leveled his revolver at Taylor's face and 
said he believed he should shoot the d — d 
Yankee, but finally allowed him to get 
his tobacco out and then burned the 
depot. The Federal authorities assessed 
$20,000 against the people of Shelbina 
and vicinity to pay the damage to the 
railroads. The military authority acted 
upon the false theory that the people of 
the vicinity were in sympathy with the 
raiders and could have prevented the 
damage; whereas they were as much 
opposed to the raiders as the military 
authorities themselves. Father D. S. 
Phelau interceded with Gen. Rosecrans 
and he revoked the order. This was the 
last raid of the war. 

With peace in 1865 came a new period 
of growth, and since then improvement 
has been continuous, though there have 
been periods when the town seemed to 
be at a standstill. This was especially 
so from '73 to '78, during the hardest 
times this country has ever seen. Then 
real estate values depreciated to less 
than half their former price and things 
were stagnant. Again during the 
eighties there was a period of depres- 
sion, when business did not flourish. 
Whenever farm products are so de- 
pressed that agriculture makes small re- 



turns, towns like Shelbina, dependent on 
rural trade, do not grow rapidly. 

In 1866 a fire consumed the Thomas 
hotel and all the business houses front- 
ing towards the railroad, west of Center 
street, and these were the main ones. 
The fire broke out when all were asleej:) 
and hence nearly everything the build- 
ings contained were destroyed. Fam- 
ilies living in the second story of the 
building barely escaped with their lives. 
It was determined to rebuild in a more 
substantial form and the three-story 
Masonic block and the two business 
houses, both two-story, east of this, were 
erected in 1867. The hotel was not 
built until 1871 and was named the 
"Waverly." 

Again in 1874 Shelbina was visited by 
a destructive fire, which also came in the 
night, and all the west side of Center 
street from the bricks fronting the rail- 
road south were swept away; Charles 
Miller's furniture store, at the extreme 
southern end, alone remaining. As the 
hard times were on the country, rebuild- 
ing was slow; but finally that large block 
of Bedford stone fronts was developed. 
A few years after the '74 fire the east 
side of Center street was also laid in 
ashes. Both sides of Center street are 
now lined with solid brick buildings. In 
1881 Wailnut street, east of Center 
street, began to develop, and it now has 
more brick buildings on the south side 
than there are on one side of any other 
titreet. 

Shelbina has been blessed with a lot 
i.f live, enterprising merchants, who 
have advertised and drawn trade from a 
long distance. They have made for 
themselves commodious ])laces, in which 
to display and keep their goods, and 



168 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



have also kept an excellent quality and 
variety of articles. Most of these men 
have been successful in making for them- 
selves and the town solid and substantial 
growth. Some have accumulated consid- 
erable property. 

In 1867 Shelbina was incorporated as 
a town, and in 1878 as a city of the 
fourth class. Soon after it became a 
city the business streets were made solid 
with gravel. It has long been noted for 
its good sidewalks, first of plank and now 
of granitoid. For twenty years past it 
has also been noted for the beauty and 
elegance of its homes. Forty years ago 
it looked bleak and bare; now nearly all 
its streets are lined with fine, towering 
shade trees. 

About twenty years ago the people 
voted $5,000 for an electric light plant, 
and this has since been doubled and the 
city has a good lighting system. The 
people also voted for water-works and 
sewers, but these have not yet been 
made. 

Some years ago a Business Men's As- 
sociation, with William M. Hanly as 
president and John H. Wood as secre- 
tary, was organized, and through its in- 
fluence a brick and tile plant was located 
just north of the city limits, and this is 
building U}) a fine trade. And a canning 
factory at a cost of $16,000 has also been 
established. Recently a factory for 
making frames for window screens, the 
Starrett AVindow Screen Company, has 
opened, with a fine promise of large suc- 
cess. For twenty years our Flouring 
Mill Company has done an extensive 
business. There are also three wagon 
factories in the city. 

In 1877 Shelbina Collegiate Institute 
was established for the better education 



of the youth of the communitj', and it 
did a fine work until the public high 
school became so efficient the institute 
became unnecessary. Shelbina has fine 
educational advantages and it also has 
strong church organizations and elegant 
houses of worship. The rough element, 
which was strong in the early history of 
the place, gradually faded away, and the 
people of this city and vicinity stand in 
the first rank for intelligence and moral- 
ity. The community about the city is 
prosperous and fine farm houses and 
barns dot the prairie in every direction. 
■No more pleasing sight is to be found in 
a thousand miles than right here in the 
city and the surrounding country. 

A write-up in the Democrat eight 
years ago among other things said: 
"Situated on the main line of the Bur- 
lington railroad, between Chicago, St. 
Louis and Kansas City, two miles from 
the southern border of Shelby county, is 
Shelbina, the largest town in the county. 
It is the shipping and trading point of a 
rich farming country and draws its 
wealth from the agricultural and stock 
raising country about it. The city is lo- 
cated on gently rolling prairie land and 
has wide, well kept, level streets. Stran- 
gers who view the town for the first time 
remark ui)on the width of the business 
streets. Then they comment upon the 
number and beauty of the shade trees 
that line all the residence streets of the 
town. Beautiful and graceful elms have 
been jilanted in the grounds belonging 
to the railroad near the station, making 
two handsome, shady jiarks of what 
would otherwise have been a vacant 
tract. 

"In Shelbina nearly every man sits 
under the shade of his own vine and his 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



169 



own fig tree. In other words, they own 
their homes. This produces a pride in 
the appearance of things tliat has caused 
Shelbina to be noted as the town of 
beautiful homes. No other town of its 
size in northeast Missouri has so many 
beautiful residences." 

Then the write-up gives an account of 
the lights, the schools, the orders and 
clubs, and the beauty of scenery, and 
winds up with an enumeration of what 
the town has, thus: 

"One furniture store. 

"Two photographers. 

"A telephone system. 

"Two clothing stores. 

' ' Three livery stables. 

"One business college. 

"A population of 1,800. 

' ' One electric light plant. 

"Twelve real estate offices. 

' ' One cleaning and dyeing shop. 

' ' Three hotels and five boarding 
houses. 

"Four blacksmith and repair shops. 

' ' Six grocery and six dry goods stores. 

"Four millinery and five dressmaking 
shops. 

"The best high school in northeast 
Missouri. 

"One music and one undertaking es- 
tablishment. 

"A lOO-barrel-a-day flouring mill, and 
a bakery. 

"Splendid railroad service, ten pas- 
senger trains every twenty-four hours. 

"A splendid telephone exchange. 

"The l)est fair in the county. 

"Two cigar factories, three lumber 
yards, two book and notion stores, four 
barber shops, two meat markets, one 
marble shop, six drug stores, three den- 
tists, six churches, one laundry, one oc- 



eulist, six doctors and three banks." It 
did not SHJ, as it should, four lawyers. 

Shelbina is one of the few small cities 
that has made a substantial growth dur- 
ing the past ten years, and the popula- 
tion by the census of 1910 is 2,174. 

It has long been known that there was 
some coal north of the city, and some 
years since an effort was made to or- 
ganize a company to sink a shaft about 
a mile north of the place, but it fell 
through. It was feared the vein was 
too thin to pay. But in the spring of 
1910 it was found in paying quantities. 
Jacob Kaby, who is one of the men who 
established" the Brick & Tile Plant, 
bought a farm on Salt river, just east of 
the Shelby County railroad, and he im- 
mediatelv sank a shaft and foimd six or 
seven feet of good coal, about half bi- 
tuminous and half cannel coal. He also 
found great quantities of valuable white 
clay. Some of this has been shipped to 
Illinois and worked up. It makes a fine 
quality of porcelain for bath tubs, etc. 
J. E. Holman and F. E. Merrill have 
leased the coal mine and are now raising 
some twenty odd tons a day. This sup- 
ply of coal promises many advantages to 
Shelbina. 

The Shelby County railroad, built by 
home capital, is a great convenience for 
the people of Shelbina, as well as those 
of Shelbyville and all this surrounding 
country. The Brick & Tile Plant is on 
the line of this road, and the coal mine 
also. 

For twenty years past Shelbina has 
been blessed with au intelligent and 
moral class of citizens, who have done 
much to give the city an excellent name. 
Its members of the bar have not only 
been learned and able, but men of the 



170 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



highest character. It has also been 
blessed with skillful pln'sicians, who 
have sustained the reputation of this 
great profession. In the line of mechan- 
ics, as well as in that of trade and mer- 
chandise, this beautiful little city has 
been highly favored. 

Its two weekly newspapei's, "The 
Democrat" and "The Torchlight," have 
always stood in the front rank of local 
journals and have contributed their full 
share towards building up the city mate- 
rially, intellectually and morally, and 
have contributed largely to its reputa- 
tion abroad. 

HUNNEWELL. 

On August 15, 1857, Josiah Hunt, the 
land commissioner of the Hannibal & St. 
Joe railroad, platted the city of Hunne- 
well. It had been deeded in July of the 
same year by Kichard Drane and wife to 
John Duff, of Dedham, Mass., for the 
sum of $1,200, and compi-ised a tract 
of sixty-two and one-half acres. The 
town was christened Hunnewell in honor 
of H. Hollis Hunnewell, of Boston, who 
was connected with the Hannibal & St. 
Joe railroad, as was Mr. Duff. 

Early in 1857 Ste))hen Doyle built the 
first storehouse and was afterwards 
known as the Doyle, Kellogg & Co. 

Soon after the town ojDened Richard 
Durbin built a frame building, a story 
and a lialf, into which his family moved 
— the first family living in this town. 

A little later," Snider & Co. built the 
third house for a storeroom. Snider & 
Co. stood for Jno. Snider, W. F. Black- 
burn, A. L. Yancey and Jno. Maddox. 
The first lot deed was made out to W. F. 
Blackburn. 

In 1857, the railroad having been com- 



pleted to the city limits, an excursion was 
run from Hunnewell to Monroe City on 
the 4th of July. In the fall of 1857 the 
first hotel was established by a Mr. Ball, 
who moved over from Old Cliuto'n. John 
H. Snider was the first postmaster. The 
postoffice was established in 1857 in the 
store of Snider & Co. In 1859 a school 
house was erected. It was a frame build- 
ing located south of the track in the west- 
ern part of the city. The town now has 
a new brick building, erected about 1895, 
and is located north of the track in the 
west part of the city. Himnewell's first 
preacher was Rev. T. DeMoss, a Metho- 
dist. Services were held in the school 
hoixse. 

The town of Hunnewell is located in 
the southeast corner of Shelby county 
and is one of the oldest and most sub- 
stantial towns of the county. 

The country surrounding is splendid 
agricultural land and the citizenship is 
the old Missouri kind that believe in 
honesty and good morals. The town con- 
tains two banks, one newspaper and 
some splendid stoi-es and business 
houses. 

THE TEMPLE OF JUSTICE. 

The first courthouse erected in Shelby 
county was built in the years 1838 and 
1839, "and in March, 1839, the first term 
of Circuit court was held in the new 
courthouse. This building served the 
purposes of a temple of justice and home 
for counly officials until it was destroyed 
by fire in 1891. 

THE COURTHOUSE BURNED. 

On ^fonday morning, June "29. 1891, 
while Sheriff W. P. Martin was cleaning 
u\) the courthouse yard, assisted by some 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



171 



prisoners, the courthouse was discovered 
to be on tire. A i)ile of broken limbs and 
trash had been piled on the north side of 
the old historical building, and set on 
fire, and it is likelj- the building was set 
on fire by sparks from the rubbish. 
Nearly all the records were saved and tlie 
loss consisted chiefly of J. C. Hale's law 
library, some of the probate records, 
and some of the papers in the collector's 
office. On Saturday, September 5, 1891, 
a proijosition to issue $25,000 bonds for 
a new courthouse was voted on and car- 
ried by a vote of 1,130 to 537. At the 
County court meeting on February 4, 
1892, the contract to erect the new court- 
house was awarded to Charles Force & 
Co., of Kansas City, Mo. The building- 
was to be completed by November 1, 
1892, but the contractor was slow and 
the county officials did not get into their 
new quarters until July, 1893. The first 
term of Circuit court was held the Octo- 
ber following, with Judge Ellison on the 
bench. 

THE 1884 FIBE. 

A disastrous fire occurred in Clarence 
on Friday, February 15, 1884. The har- 
ness shop of H. M. Shal)e], El)erhard & 
Co.'s grocery store, E. E. Dale's restau- 
rant, McWilliams' grocery store, Dur- 
ham's shoe shop. Dr. Hill's office, Will- 
iam Shutter's hardware, R. P. Richard- 
son's clothing store. Rouse's barber 
shop and the postoffice were totally de- 
stroyed. Amoimt of loss on goods was 
$40,000; loss on buildings, $10,000. In- 
surance, $6,400. 

CREAMERY BURNS. 

The creamery owned by Jacol) Pencil 
burned on Thursday night, January 14, 



1886. The building and fixtures cost 
about $4,000, on which there was $3,400 
insurance. 

MAN AND HORSES BURNED. 

Monday, November 9, 1884, the livery 
stable owned by a Mr. Clark, in Clarence, 
burned to the ground. Eight head of 
horses were burned, as were the contents 
of the barn. Joseph Blytlie, a one-legged 
man, who was sleei^ing in the hay loft, 
perished in the conflagration. 

A SHELBY COUNTY CONGRESSMAN. 

May 9, 1902, the congressional com- 
mittee met in Kirksville and ordered a 
primary to select a candidate for con- 
gress. Primary set for August 20. 
Richard P. Giles carried Shelby by 
1,051 over his opponent. Col. W. H. 
Hatch. Giles also carried Macon and 
Adair counties. Hatch's majority in the 
district was 414. The second race was 
still closer, in which Hatch defeated Giles 
for the nomination by the narrow margin 
of 195 votes. This time Giles carried 
four counties : Shelby, Adair, Knox and 
Schuyler. A great deal of bitterness was 
engendered in this contest lietween the 
friends of the two candidates, and that, 
together with the fact that 1894 was a 
landslide for the Republicans, was in- 
strumental in defeating Hatch at the 
general election in Novemlier. At this 
election Col. Hatch, who had been in con- 
gress for sixteen years, was defeated l)y 
Maj. C. N. Clark, of Hannibal, by the 
close plurality of 329 votes. In 1896 Mr. 
Giles was made the Democratic nominee 
for congress by acclamation at the con- 
gressional convention held in Canton on 
August 11. He defeated Clark by over 
5,000 plurality, the largest plurality ever 



ITS 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



given to a candidate in the district up to 
that time. Mr. Giles, however, did not 
live to reaji the reward of his eti'orts, but 
died only two weeks after the election. 
The date of his death was November 17, 
1896. Mr. James T. Lloyd was chosen as 
his successor. 

THE BETHEL COLONY A STORY OF COM- 
MUNISM IN MISSOURI. 

(By Vernon L. Drain.) 

Few of those who read the books of 
Bellamy and who dream of an ideal com- 
monwealth, where each citizen is equal 
to every other citizen and all are alike 
rich with a common fund, are aware that 
those ideas embodied in the maxim — 
"equal rights to all and special privi- 
leges to none" — were once actually ap- 
plied in the establishment and subse- 
quent operation of the Bethel colony, a 
settlement founded by honest and sturdy 
German emigrants on the winding shores 
of North river, in Shelby county, Mis- 
souri. 

Several years ago Dr. David E. McAn- 
ally, now deceased, then the able editor 
of the St. Louis Christian Advocate, in 
an editorial on the subject of com- 
munism, asserted that the Oneida com- 
munity in New York, the Bethel colony 
and its offshoot, the Aurora (Oregon) 
settlement, were the notable instances of 
the application of the theory of com- 
munism upon American soil. Since 
then several sketches have been con- 
tributed to metropolitan newspapers 
wherein various features of this enter- 
prise have been reviewed, and recently 
Mr. William G. Bek, of the University 
of Missouri, has written a small volume 
in which the details of this enterjn-ise 



are given with much care. Aside from 
these writings the fame of this singular 
experiment has been contined to tireside 
narratives as the historian of its achieve- 
ments seems to have been omitted from 
its caravan, or left behind in the long 
journey of its progenitors toward the 
valley of the Mississippi. 

Like many modern co-operative 
schemes of similar character, this was 
conceived and planned in the brain of a 
religious enthusiast, who doubtless 
dreamed that he was the chosen i)ower to 
usher in a brighter day for human kind. 
This is not to be wondered at, nor is it to 
the discredit of spiritual things. Keli- 
gion is the most powerful force known 
to man, and it stirs the best that there is 
in us. It makes us to grapple with life's 
unsolved and unsettled problems and the 
dreams of the devotee are an inspiration 
to better things for his race and kindred. 
The longings of the dreamer may never 
be realized; his efforts may be like the 
crying of a child in the night, and we 
may say that his plan came to naught. 
But after all, it may be a contribution to- 
ward the betterment of humanity, and 
may l)ring us nearer to that far-off event 
toward which we are told the whole cre- 
ation is moving. The world is much in- 
debted to its so-called impracticable men. 

Dr. William Keil, the founder, 
prophet, priest and king of this Western 
Utopia, was a Methodist i^reacher of 
German lineage, who labored among his 
countrymen in portions of Pennsylvania 
and Ohio; how long he continued in the 
ministry or how successful were his 
labors cannot be ascertained, but for 
some reason, presumably that of preach- 
ing strange doctrine, he was called to ac- 
count by his ecclesiastical .superiors, by 




it^ 



Ti^thC'^t C^niiCl. 



THE OLD COLONY CHURCH AT BETHEL 



i 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



173 



whom he was deprived of his ministerial 
authority. He then formulated this com- 
munistic scheme, organized this society. 
and with his followers emigrated west- 
ward and founded this colony, which sur- 
vives its wreck so far as appearances are 
concerned in the present town of Bethel, 
where some of the quaint buildings of the 
earl}' colonists are still pointed out to the 
inquisitive traveler. 

These colonists secured by entry or 
purchase a large tract of valuable land, 
eleven hundred acres of which was en- 
closed as the common field where the in- 
dividuals labored under the direction of 
overseers appointed by Dr. Keil. A com- 
mon boarding-house was erected where 
the unmarried male members of the com- 
munity resided, and a common store- 
house was kept where the families were 
supplied with their alloted i)ortions of 
provisions, the storekeeper m a n a g i n g 
the accounts and supplying the necessa- 
ries according to the communal regula- 
tions. The attention of these frugal peo- 
ple was directed toward manufacturing, 
and in the palmy and prosperous days of 
the enterprise Bethel was a miniature 
Lowell ; cloth was spun from the wool of 
the colonj^ sheep, which roamed in vast 
herds over the virgin prairies, attended 
by the designated s h e p h e r d s, and the 
skins of the wild deer, which had not then 
d i s a p p e a r e d from our horizon, were 
made into hats and gloves. 

Perhaps the crowning work of these 
industrious people, from an architectual 
standpoint, was the erection of the col- 
ony church, which until recently stood in 
simple grandeur as a memoiy of better 
days. This edifice was constructed of 
brick and stone after the type of churclies 
in the fatherland. It was paved with 



tiling, provided with an organ loft 
and would accommodate a multitude. It 
was crowded on the Sabbath day with 
the colonists, who, in the zenith of their 
power numbered perhaps a thousand 
souls. The type of religion cannot well 
be defined or classified, as Dr. Keil was 
leader in all things spiritual as well as 
temporal. From the scant information 
obtainable it seems that Dr. Keil grew 
to manhood in Prussia where he dalibled 
in the mysteries of the "black art," 
which was evolved and practiced by the 
tribes which long ago peopled the dark 
forests of Germany. After coming to 
America and while living in Pennsyl- 
vania he came under the influence of Dr. 
William Nast, the founder of the Ger- 
man Methodist church, whose life was a 
great contribution to the human race. 
Under the ministry of this great preacher 
Keil professed conversion, and in the 
presence of Dr. Nast he burned the secret 
formulas of his art and renounced its 
practice. Later on he seems to have dif- 
fered with his brethren and at the time 
when he was deposed from the ministry 
he had gathered a number of adherents 
who followed him implicity. One of these 
was Carl G. Koch, a scholarly German, 
who soon renounced the claims of Keil 
and op230sed his plans by writing a book 
wherein he asserted that he was a mystic 
and a dreamer. From all account he 
preached a polyglot, utilitarian doctrine, 
and there were man.y pious souls among 
these colonists even though their leader 
held and i)reached tenets of belief that 
must have been a cross between the 
Apostle's creed and the mysteries of the 
ancients. He claimed to be insjured with 
superhuman power and the older colo- 
nists accpiiesced in this assumption and 



174 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



rendered him the homage due a superior 
creature. The observance of religious 
ceremonies was rigidly enforced. Each 
Sabbath morning during services the 
primitive policeman or burgomaster 
kept the streets and public places clear 
of loiterers and this may in part account 
for the immense attendance at the fa- 
mous old church. 

East of Bethel and down the pictur- 
esque North river, was erected the man- 
sion house of Dr. Keil where he lived 
and dispensed the hospitality of a feudal 
monarch. This house with its numerous 
appurtenances was called "Elim." It 
was built by the common labor and was 
a part of the possessions of the colony, 
but was designed and used as the resi- 
dence of the leader or governor. A com- 
modious banquet hall served its purpose, 
and there is a tradition that Dr. Keil 
lived and reigned here in this Western 
wilderness after the fashion of the great 
King Solomon, the splendor of whose 
reign has been the dream of the ages. 

The general character and appearance 
of these colonists would fit Irving's de- 
scription of the founders of New Am- 
sterdam during the glorious reign of Sir 
Peter Stuj'vesant. The typical, old fash- 
ioned Dutchman was the dominant type. 
They were artisans skilled in the highest 
degree. Such finished craftsmen were 
they that their work abides to this day 
in monuments of wood and stone. They 
were practical in all things save in shar- 
ing the ideas of their leaders and their 
descendants are usually splendid citizens 
wherever found. 

The plan of perfect equality was up- 
permost in the minds of the greater por- 
tion of these sincere adventurers, and 
this was their dominant idea. To the 



end that equal rights should be accorded 
to each member and that the scheme of 
co-operation should be rigidly adhered 
to, many curious expedients were prac- 
tised. At the Christmas festivities, al- 
ways held at the church, it was observed 
that each child was remembered by 
Santa Clause in exactly the same way 
and with exactly the same portion of any 
given article. 

Two collossal Christmas trees were 
erected and on these were placed the 
gifts for the children, and the elders and 
the strangers within the gates were also 
remembered. The trees as well as the 
interior of the building were lavishly 
decorated, and the decorations and the 
greater portion of the presents remained 
during the festivities, which usually 
lasted for a week. The splendor of the 
Yule-tide lingers yet in the memory of 
the sui'vivors. 

When the close of "life's fitful fever" 
came to one of the inhabitants, care was 
taken that he should be buried in the 
same degree of state accorded to his 
comrades who had preceded him to the 
peaceful colony of the dead. A plain, 
wooden coffin, a prayer for the repose of 
his soul and a grave amid the shadows 
of Hebron, the common burial place, was 
the farewell to the busy worker as he 
ceased his toil and passed out into the 
quiet. 

The earnings of the colony were placed 
in the keeping of a purseholder or treas- 
urer, and the fund grew as the years 
passed by, the members having none of 
it and presiunptively needing none, as 
they were supplied from the community 
storehouse and forbidden to trade else- 
where; so that the colony existed )irin- 
cipally upon confidence, many of them 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



175 



living for years without possessing a 
cent of actual cash; the redemption 
money was in existence however, so they 
exercised confidence and labored and 
toiled. 

There was doubtless much in the wild 
luxuriance of the middle West to inspire 
lofty thoughts and noble purposes ; there 
seems to be an ascending pathway that 
leads us "from nature up to nature's 
God." But amid it all the tempter strug- 
gled for mastery as he did in the origi- 
nal Eden, and it is not strange that at 
the couclusion of the dreams of the sim- 
ple colonists there came a rude awaken- 
ing. Out of this splendid sowing there 
came a reaping for a talented lawyer 
who assisted in restoring order out of 
chaos and who counseled them as to the 
division of the property at the final dis- 
memberment of the colony which oc- 
curred during the year 1879. 

The title to the real estate of the colony 
was vested in individuals who held it for 
the common use and benefit, as the per- 
sonalty was held by the community 
treasurer. It is a monument to the 
mastery of Dr. Keil that the colony pros- 
pered as it did. No written constitution 
or agreement had ever existed and the 
whole affair moved under the guidance 
of the leader. When they were bereft 
of his immediate presence as hereinafter 
related, the alTairs of the community be- 
came more involved and finally one of 
the colonists sued for the value of the 
services which he had rendered to the 
colony. It then developed that the com- 
munity had no legal existence as it had 
never been incorporated, and it was also 
im]>ossible to hold any one member lia])le 
as an individual. And then there arose 
many questions as to the rights of those 



members who had left the parent colony 
at Bethel and founded colonies else- 
where; and finally in 1877 there came the 
tidings of the death of Dr. Keil. Then 
the last page of the history of the Bethel 
Colony was written when the agreement 
for a division of the property was signed 
by the colonists at Bethel and also by 
those in Oregon who had formerly been 
members of the Bethel experiment. 

By the terms of this agreement three 
trustees were appointed to represent the 
Oregon members, and five trustees were 
likewise authorized to act for the Bethel 
members. These trustees met and agreed 
as to the rights of each community in the 
common property, and also the rights of 
the individuals therein. An account was 
taken, first, as to the amount of property 
lirought into the enterprise by each colo- 
nist when he became a member, and then 
the number of years of service of each 
ascertained. Then the common prop- 
erty was valued and a plan of division 
was formulated by which each colonist 
or his heirs received the amount origi- 
nally contributed, and also the value of 
his or her services as ascertained by 
dividing the total value of the remaining 
property by the total number of years 
contributed by the entire number of in- 
dividuals, and then multiplying the re- 
sult by the years served by each member. 
The actual result was that in addition to 
the amount originally contril)uted, each 
male member of the Bethel Colony re- 
ceived in cash the sum of $29.04 per year 
for his services, and the female members 
one-half of this sum. The plan of allot- 
ment was honorably carried out by these 
trustees without litigation, the vast prop- 
erty interests were allotted in severalty 
and the Bethel Colony passed into his- 



176 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



toiy, where in spite of the liopes of its 
founders, it serves like the memory of 
the Swedish King Charles, "to point a 
moral, or adorn a tale." 

It is but just to the fame of Dr. Keil 
to say that he was spared the pain of wit- 
nessing the dissolution of his dream-like 
empire. 

The colony was founded in the year 
1845, and prospered much until the de- 
parture of its leader in 1858, though to 
the student of social problems the result 
would seem a leveling of human hopes 
and aspirations rather than that trium- 
phant achievement which adorns so 
grandly the successful struggle of in- 
dividual life. Around the departure of 
the leader there is a story that almost 
baffles human credence, though it is a 
well attested fact. 

Dr. Keil, like Joshua of old, had sent 
out spies to view the realms of the dis- 
tant west, whither he hoped to extend the 
influence of his c o m m u u i s t i c project. 
Some had returned, while others re- 
mained enchanted with the marvelous 
scenery and enraptured with the prom- 
ise of the morning dawn of that won- 
drous empire — 

"Where rolls the Oregon, and hears no 

sound. 
Save his own dashings." 

Tales of the natural beauty and fer- 
tility of this region were borne to the 
ears of the leader of the colonists and 
around his fireside were discussed the 
plans and hopes of a future domain be- 
yond the Rockies. Under the direction 
of the leader, an infant colony has been 
formed by the prosjiectors to which was 
given the inspiring name of "Aurora," 



and though the dreams of its originators 
have faded like the gleam of the borealis, 
the town still flourishes in the State of 
Oregon. 

The vision of the Bethel colonists was 
broadened by this adventure and their 
gaze turned toward the sunset. In their 
rude plastered houses they thought much 
about the distant valley of the Wil- 
lamette whence came the good tidings 
from their brethren. It was the day of 
the ox team, and the journey would con- 
sume months of time, yet many wished 
to undertake it. 

Among others who caught the western 
fever was a favorite son of Dr. Keil, who 
dreamed fond dreams of the land of 
promise. After much solicitation his 
father consented that he might go, and 
he began i^reparing for his departure 
from the mansion house upon a journey 
that would span half the continent, but 
which seemed to him as the coming of 
a holiday. The flame of ambition burned 
with increasing fervor in his youthful 
blood, but there came a fateful hour in 
which he was seized with another fever, 
deadlier and more ardent than the first, 
which added its fire to the flame of the 
other, increasing rather than diminish- 
ing its glow. In his delirium the long 
cherished Avirora was more real than 
ever to his disordered fancy. He "bab- 
bled o' the green fields ;" he saw the som- 
ber beauty of the cascades, and could 
hear the surf beat on the distant sea. 
There may have been a i'aii- haired Ger- 
man girl whose beckoning liand allured 
him; at least he exacted a jtromise from 
his father that in the event of his ex- 
pected death he should be buried among 
the scenes where his mind and heart al- 
readv lingered. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



177 



He died, and amid tlie gloom which 
settled over the mansion house at Elim, 
his father made haste to fulfill the vow 
to his lamented son. An emigrant train 
was organized among the colonists who 
wished to depart, the body was encased 
in an iron cofHu containing alcohol, 
placed in the front wagon of the train 
which was drawn by six mules, and amid 
the lamentations of the remaining mem- 
bers of the colony there was begun what 
is perhaps the strangest and most stu- 



l^endous funeral march in the history of 
our land. After months of weary travel 
over plain and moutain the tired but 
faithful mourners arrived at Aurora, 
and the father religiously fulfilled his 
vow to his dying child. 

The Bethel brethren saw their patri- 
arch no more ; the colony dwindled away, 
and the snows of many winters have lain 
upon the grave of the leader, who sleeps 
beside his son under the Oregon pines. 
Vernon L. Drain. 



CHAPTER XV. 

Schools, Colleges axd Chckches — Shelbixa Collegiate Ixstitcte — Shelbixa 
Public School — The Macos Distbict Academy at Clarence — College at 
Leoxabd — The Ixdepexdext Holiness School at Clarence — The Christian 
Chtjbch in Shelby County — The Evangelical Association. 



shelbina collegiate institute. 

The Shelbina Collegiate Institute was 
established May 16, 1887. at a cost of 
$6,000. It was a fine and commodious 
building for the day and well built. Dr. 
Leo Baeir was the first president. Dur- 
ing the two years he was head of the 
school he gave them a good start, but its 
prestige was increased when Prof. E. L. 
Ripley and wife took charge of the work. 
They were both intelligent, broad and 
cultured and two of the greatest educa- 
tors of the day. Prof. Fredus Peters, re- 
ceived the greater part of his education 
at this seat of learning, graduating un- 
der Prof. Ripley. Prof. Ripley's motto 
in school work was, "The mind, like the 
body, becomes strong by exercise." He 
never did for a pupil what that pupil 
could do for himself. The last faculty 
in the old college building, as a college, 
was president T. E. Peters; vice-presi- 
dent. Rev. W. W. Carhart ; preparatory 
department, E. R. Edwards; primary, 
Miss Annie McMurry; music. Miss Kate 
Crawford; art. Miss Orrington Jewett. 
Tliere was a falling off in attendance, 
numbering 140 the previous year. The 
faculty was a strong one, but the patron- 
age was not sufficient and the town be- 
gun talking a thornnsli higli school and 



at a meeting of her citizens in May, 1892, 
without a dissenting voice, the college 
merged into a public school. 

shelbina public school. 

The first school house was built in 
Shelbina in the year 1859, which build- 
ing remodeled and modernized stood till 
the year 1884. Among the early teachers 
was Charles M. King, later a prominent 
attorney of the city till the nineties, 
the time of his death. It was in the nine- 
ties that Shelbina begim to look to her 
public school as a chief asset for her 
future prominence. The year 1892, a 
number of her prominent citizens met 
with the board of education to consider 
the advisability of leasing the college 
building and establishing a high school. 
Everyone present, in brief talks, heartily 
endorsed the idea of a first-class high 
school. 

It was shown that the town had wholly 
outgrown the accommodations of the old 
building. The board of education then 
sought the l)est teachers, placing Prof. 
J. T. Vaughn as superintendent. The 
curriculum was overhauled to correlate 
with the State University. Thus estab- 
lished, the jieojile had only reached the 
beginning-. In the venr 1890-01 the old 



178 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



179 



building was passed upon as unsafe and 
was rodded. Then every windy day half 
the children were absent and the other 
half wanted to go home and was restive, 
until the November monthly meeting of 
the board of education, they voted to put 
it up to the jDeople to bond the city for 
$10,000 to erect a new building. The pro- 
position carried and Shelbina now boasts 
of one of the most modern and up-to-date 
buildings. Her stride of improvement 
has been unceasing. Her building, eom- 
])leted in September, 1894, sjieaks vol- 
mnes for the enterprise of her people and 
stands as a monument to her intelligence. 
The town sees to it that they have ever a 
wide-awake board and that board in turn 
puts up the teachers, and she is ever on 
the alert for new and modern equipment. 
"As a seat of learning may she abide." 

THE MACON DISTRICT ACADEMY AT CL.4RENCE. 

The Macon District division of the 
Missouri conference decided to i^lace be- 
fore the people of their district a prop- 
osition to build an academy and asked 
for the towns to make sealed bids for 
same, the town to stand good for the 
amount bid. Bids were submitted from 
Clarence, ]\Iacon, Shelbina. Clarence be- 
ing the highest bidder, $13,000. W. A. 
Irwin (deceased), W. A. Dimmitt, Christ 
Hunolt (deceased), O. C. Perry and 
others being active co-operators in the 
enterprise. 

The work was well under headway and 
the corner stone was laid in the year 
1888, June l."?th, under the auspices of 
the Masonic order, assisted by the Knight 
Templars. 

The city was an array of decoration, 
the Cameron band furnishing most ex- 
cellent music for the visitors, which num- 



bered several thousand. Mayor Irwin 
delivered the welcome address, followed 
by other state speakers. Rev. J. D. Vin- 
cil conducted the exercises and a dinner 
was served to the visitors. The building 
was of brick, well built, containing nine 
rooms which included a large auditorium 
on the first floor. 

The school opened in full blast with 
Eev. P. D. Shultz at the head, and Ms 
wife principal of the primary depart- 
ment. At her best the school had some 
200 pupils. Others who were at its head 
from time to time and labored faithfully 
for its success were J. J. Pritchett, E. C. 
Crabb, Prof. Demaree, but it was hard 
to keep it up. In the year 1898, Rev. Sol 
Milam made the town the proposition to 
build a boarding house thinking it was a 
great draw back not to have such a place. 
He was to put into it the same amount 
as the town, the individual to receive 
scholarships for the amount they put up. 
A $6,000 boarding house was built. It 
was heated by hot air and had water 
throughout the house. It was an 
excellent, modern building. He had 
the house full the first year, but pat- 
ronage began to lag and he held the 
school just five years. H. J. Simmons 
bought the boarding house. In 1906, 
Prof. Fred L. Thompson, of Macon 
county, bought the college building at 
$2,750 and immediately sold it to the In- 
dejiendent Holiness church for $3,000. 
The fall of 1909, Simmons sold the board- 
ing house to the Holiness people for 
$5,500. 

COLLEGE AT LEONARD. 

In the year of 1890, Eev. John T. 
AVelsh originated the idea of a college at 
Leonard. The people were rurally lo- 



180 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



eated in the best of farming country to 
be found in the county, but this re- 
sijlendent fact was depressed by the real- 
ization of its good people that their chil- 
dren only had the advantage of a district 
school. Eev. John T. Welsh, seeing the 
splendid values of farming in that dis- 
trict, thought that a superior advantage 
could be obtained by establishiug a col- 
lege at Leonard on the scholarship plan 
and went forth to sound the popularity 
of the plan. In a few hours he raised 
$1,000 within the radius of the hamlet 
itself. The building was a good, sub- 
stantial frame building, two stories, a 
large auditoriimi on the second floor and 
five class rooms on the first floor. 

The first school, under the presidency 
of Rev. Welsh, assisted by W. L. Shouse, 
received a goodly patronage, and satis- 
factory work and higher education re- 
ceived a new impetus thereabouts. The 
school continued some six years, during 
which time Rev. 0. P. Shrout, a popular 
man in the Christian church, had a turn 
at the work, but the scholarships taken 
in the building were running out and in- 
terest lagged, until finally, for lack of 
sufficient patronage, as is the tendency of 
all such schools that have dotted our 
county, it was a hardship to make neces- 
sary funds to sustain the school and the 
building was sold to T. P. Manuel, who 
in turn sold it, and finally it was torn 
down and the lumber was converted into 
the house in which Henry Stuart now 
lives. 

SHELBYVILLE SCHOOLS. 

Shelbyville has always been to the 
front in her schools. There is not a town 
anywhere that ranks with ShelbyviUe in 
her schools compared with population. 



Possessing the eapitol of Shelby county, 
she has a special civic pride in all public 
enterprises, and she has always taken a 
specially keen pride in her schools. As 
early as the fall of 1857 Hezekiah Ellis 
opened a select school in the old Metho- 
dist church building. He had as his able 
assistants R. C. Arendt and Miss Parme- 
lia White. 

In 1858 Mr. Ellis opened school in the 
Shelbyville Seminary. His assistants 
were Prof. Dodd, R. C. Arendt and Miss 
Draper. At the death of his father, six 
months later, Mr. Ellis resigned, his as- 
sistants finishing the term. In 1860 Mr. 
Ellis opened a school of his own in the 
Carothers block. Eev. Joseph Dines was 
an assistant in a seminary in 1859 ; Prof. 
Leonard in 1860. The early settlers at 
Shelbyville bitterlj' opposed public 
schools and fought bitterly every propo- 
sition to institute such a school in their 
midst. Such a school building was 
erected, however, just after the war. It 
was a frame building and contained four 
rooms. Mrs. Manville was i)rincipal for 
four years and she was followed by Miss 
Minta Foster, eight years, then a new 
building of brick was erected of four 
nice rooms, and later this Iniilding was 
remodeled with an addition of four 
rooms and the Shelbyville public school 
developed into a high school. This build- 
ing stood three blocks east of the court 
house. W. L. Shouse had charge of the 
school during its days that it was on up- 
ward grade, and Shel])yville today feels 
indebted to him for the earlj" develop- 
ment of her school. Professors Richard- 
son and Alexander also did faithful woi'k 
later on. Now Shelbyville ])ossesses one 
of the best, most modern and up-to-date 
buildings in this part of the country. She 



HISTOKY OP SHELBY COUNTY 



181 



has a ten-room, steam-lieated building, 
and her course of study is simply first- 
class in every respect. Professor Brown, 
superintendent the first four years in the 
new school home, and this year Professor 
Stanley is making- good to her people the 
reputation that city has always shared. 
Shelbyville maintains a wide-awake and 
' ' push ' ' board of education. Some of the 
prominent lights that have done much 
for Shelbj'\'ille in school lines are : Judge 
Perry, Messrs. John Gooch, J. J. Hewitt 
and Walt Dimmitt. 

THE CLAEENCE PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

The Clarence schools were moved from 
pillar to post for a term of years. The 
first public school in Clarence district 
was built in 1866. It was a brick, con- 
taining three rooms, only two being used 
for school purposes. This school was the 
brick house later occupied by James A. 
Watkins, now the lot on which Mrs. El- 
vira Durham lives. A Mr. Strong started 
the term, but resigned and was succeeded 
by Dr. D. H. Matthews. The town soon 
found it had made a mistake in building 
so far from town, with no walk, and it 
was decided to locate a room uptown, and 
so the school house was shifted from 
place to place, as a vacant room could be 
obtained. For a term it held forth in a 
room on the first floor on the north side, 
then it journeyed over to a room on first 
floor, that was later destroyed by fire, on 
the lot where now stands Garrison's jew- 
elry store. Clarence holds one distinc- 
tion regarding schools that perhaps no 
other town on which the sun ever shown 
holds — that of having had at one time a 
saloon on the first floor and school room 
above. Clarence once taught the three 



R's in a second story with a saloon on the 
first floor on the lot now occupied by the 
"Courier" building. Clarence has had 
her ups and downs, but in the year 1873 
the present school building was erected, 
with three rooms on first and three in the 
second storj-, built by J. H. Martin. The 
first teacher was Eev. Steed, who, in 
1874-75, was paid $100 per month. He 
was followed by Professor Johnson, and 
later followed Miss Julia Jacobs, Mrs. 
Annette Merriman, then later follows 
Miss Brunner, Professors Marr and 
Highfill. Under the present management 
the school last year was raised from 
third to second grade and from second 
to first this year. It is on an upward 
grade and has an enterprising, wide- 
awake board of education. It might be 
mentioned here that a few years since, 
when Citizen Hoyt, who had a special in- 
terest in our school, bequeathed the 
school in trust what is known as the Hoyt 
fund, from which the school has been a 
beneficiary since. In appreciation, the 
board erected a monument to his memory 
on his grave in the city cemetery. 

FIRST PKrVATE SCHOOL. 

The first private school in Clarence 
was in the year '69- '70, and this school 
was taught in the Higbee & Brown build- 
ing, which was located about where the 
North Missouri Lumber Company now 
stands. It was taught by Prof. C. F. 
Benjamin. 

THE INDEPENDENT HOLINESS SCHOOL AT 
CLAEENCE. 

In the summer of 1906 the Independ- 
ent Holiness people, representing several 
states, bought the property formerly 



182 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



known as the Macon District Academy 
for $3,000 of Prof. Fred L. Thompson, 
Macon countj% the same to be used as a 
school house and place of worship. Eev. 
Sam Johnson was placed at the head. 
Eev. Johnson had a good patronage the 
first year. Various teachers have labored 
faithfully for the good of the school. In 
the year 1909, after a camp-meeting of 
ten days' duration, a committee was ap- 
pointed and bought of H. J. Simmons 
what was known as the Boarding House, 
consideration $5,500, and they are labor- 
ing faithfully to maintain a religious 
school for the young people. 

CHURCHES OF SHELBY. 

It has been impossible to secure data 
of all the churches of Shelby county. We 
have labored hard to secure the history 
of the most important strongholds, but 
the inactivity of those who should be in- 
terested in preserving the history of 
their church has curtailed the work to 
some extent. At the very dawn of the 
settlement of our great county, following 
the wake of the earliest pioneers, came 
the missionary to the frontier, laboring 
without money and without price in his 
work of love. "Preachin' day" was the 
event of the month, and on that day 
whole families turned out en masse as a 
social and spiritual event. At that early 
day the distributer of the word of (iod 
was a manual lal)orer, preaching when 
and where he may, as the o])portunity of- 
fered, laboring as did his fellowman dur- 
ing the week to supply his temporal 
needs. The Baptists, Methodists and 
Presbyterians were represented at the 
earliest day and the Christian Church 
followed but a little later. 



BAPTISTS. 

As early as 1835 the Baptists held ser- 
vices in Shelby county. Among the 
"earlies" came Eevs. William Fuqua, 
Jeremiah Taylor and M. Hurley. Though 
the opportunity for advanced work and 
attending success were meager, yet these 
men were just as earnest, fervent in 
spirit as the latter day saints. They la- 
bored without murmur for such volun- 
tarj' pay as was offered them. 

Shiloii Church, section 10—59—10, 
Bethel township, was organized the sec- 
ond Sunday in May, 1869, with thirty- 
eight members. The church has had a 
steady growth, its membership varying 
from 100 to 150 from time to time. As 
early as 1870, this church built a splendid 
$1,200 church, which has been improved 
from that time to date. The church was 
organized by Eevs. C. S. Taylor, John 
Easton, Nathan Ayers, George W. Eaton 
and E. Kaylor. 

MOUNT ZION CHURCH. 

This church, located in Tiger Fork 
township, on section 6 — 58 — 9, was or- 
ganized the fourth Sabbath in August, 
1838, by Eevs. Jeremiah Taylor and M. 
Hurley, with fourteen white members 
and two colored members, and has al- 
ways been a loyal, consistent body of 
Christians. While not a strong church 
in numliers. varying from a half liundred 
to one hundred from time to time. The 
early day ministers were : Jeremiah Tay- 
lor, John Keacli, Nathan Aj'ers, Frank 
Smith, P. N. Haycraft, E. Kaylor, San- 
ford Smith, George C. Brown, C. S. Tav- 
lor, William Pulliam, J. P. Griffith, J. H. 
Eubenson. A frame church was erected 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



183 



in 1856, costing $600. AV. Moffett was 
for years clerk of the church, being 
elected at the organization of that body. 

NORTH RIVER CHURCH 

Is situated in section 17, Taylor town- 
ship, and was organized in 1844. The 
early records disclose the following mem- 
bership : Shelton Dodd and wife, eTohn 
H. Garnett and wife, James Singleton 
and wife, Mosco Garnett and wife, C. L. 
Harris and wife and J. T. Garnett. In 
the year 1882 the church rebuilt a nice 
frame building, costing $1,000. Some of 
the officiating pastors were: John 
Sweeney, "William Pulliam, S. C. Good- 
rich, John A. Clark, James Holt and 
John Eaton. 

lobney's creek o. s. baptist church. 

Located in section 33 — 59 — 9, Tiger 
Fork township, was organized in 1835. 
The records disclose as its original mem- 
bership the names of Edmund Rutter. 
Elizabeth Rutter, Edward Wilson, Mary 
"Wilson, William ]\Ioffett, Evalina Elgin, 
Manly Elgin, Mary Louthan, Henry Lou- 
than, William and Nancy Randolph. This 
is what is known as the Henry Louthan 
Church, the man for whom it was named, 
because of his untiring energy and in- 
terest in its welfare and who preached 
for the congregation without charge. His 
love for his Master was his pay. He was 
succeeded after his long term of service 
by P. M. Turner. Their early church 
was a brick, valued at $1,200. This 
church was organized before the division 
of the Baptist church into the old and 
new school. (Further facts turn to his- 
tory of Tiger Fork township.) 



OAK ridge church. 

Situate in Jefferson township, some 
six miles southwest of Shelbina. The or- 
ganization was formed February 16, 
1867, the following family names being- 
found on their earliest records : The Kid- 
wells, Kimble, Webdells, Thrasher, Dun- 
gan, Clark, Perry Wrights, Smith and 
Thomas. In the year 1881-82 a frame 
building, 36x34 feet, was constructed at a 
cost of $1,200. Revs. ToUe, J. G. Swin- 
ney, W. B. Craig, A. G. Goodrich, Wil- 
ford Powers and other pastors have min- 
istered to the spiritual need of this flock. 

PRAIRIE view. 

Situate in Jackson township, 15 — 57 — 
9, and was organized February 5, 1876. 
The church was a consolidation of the 
Oak Dale, Friendship and Hunnewell 
churches, and its original membership 
numbered some fifty or sixty members. 
It soon grew into a strong church, and 
has effected much good. A building 
erected in 1876 cost $1,200. The Revs. 
Green, Terrill, Lile and Smoot have 
served this joeople. 

FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH OF CLARENCE. 

The early records of the First Baptist 
Church of Clarence hears record it was 
organized October 27, 1877, with fifteen 
members, by J. S. Dingle, a missionary 
of the Bethel Association. The following 
officers were elected to steer its welfare : 
Deacons, J. W. "Veal and Washington 
Lostutter, and James Pollard, clerk. 
From the date of birth, 1877, to the year 
1890, they worshipped in the Presbyte- 
rian church, with Rev. Dingle as their 
first pastor. In the year 1890 the Bap- 



184 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



tists built a new home for their congre- 
gation, which was dedicated October 26, 
1890, by Dr. William H. Williams, one of 
the editors of the Central Baptist, St. 
Louis. The church has recently been im- 
proved. This membership, though num- 
bering only seventy-live members at the 
present date, is one of the most loyal 
churches in the county. At times it has 
been up-hill work, but they never waver. 
Untiring in their efforts, they have ac- 
complished much good. Rev. J. A. Johns, 
their recent pastor, was a great worker 
for his Master. He has just resigned 
and at this writing they are without a 
shepherd. 

FIRST BAPTIST CHURCn OF SHELBINA. 

The very early data of the Shelbina 
church was destroyed, but D. G. Minter 
states that the church was organized 
about 1863, with about a dozen members. 

For some years they worshipped in an 
old frame school building. Rev. Powers 
being their first pastor. He preached 
once a month and perhaps received about 
$50 salary per annum. In 1865 they 
moved their place of worship to Miller 
Hall, the present site of Minter & Smith 
dry goods store, they numbering about 
fifty. In 1866-67 the Baptists and Meth- 
odists built conjointly a brick house, 
where the Pictorium now stands. Here 
the church flourished. They called Rev. 
George Roby to preach twice a month, 
with a salary of $300, the Missouri board 
paying half. Then followed Revs. Busby, 
Chambliss, Dingle. During the thirteen 
or fourteen years of joint occupancy 
there was no friction, each worshipping 
independently, a board of trustees of 
three from each church having charge all 
those years. Only D. G. Minter remains 



to tell their struggles and their victories. 
In 1881 the Baptists bought a lot and 
erected a beautiful $6,000 house, which 
was dedicated in the fall of 1881 by Dr. 
Poi^e Yeaman, and Rev. J. S. Dingle was 
recalled for part time at $100. In 1884 
came Rev. 0. L. Brownson, called for all 
time at $700. Since that date the church 
has been im^jroved from time to time and 
several splendid ministers have served 
tiie congregation, among them Revs. J. 
R. Pentaft; J. M. P. Martin, Hunt and 
Scott, who served them faithfully sev- 
eral years. On Christmas day, 1910, 
Rev. Scott, beloved by all who knew him, 
preached his farewell sermon, and the 
church has called Rev. Volman, who 
comes highly recommended to this 
charge. This church at present has 250 
members. 

PRESBYTERIAN. 

This church in Shelby county is at low 
ebb. We have many good people — the 
very best of this denomination — but the 
following is scattered here and there, and 
but little public ministry is held in this 
county. In the earlier history of the 
county they were more prominent. No 
trace can be found of records which bear 
evidence of this division till the year 
1859, when a Presbyterian church was 
organized at Shelbyville. Previous to 
this date, even as early as 1836, came one 
Dr. David Nelson, of Mai'ion College, a 
man of eminence and imperishable mem- 
ory, also the prominent divine. Rev. AV. 
P. Cochrane, preaching the word of life 
to the early settlers and trying to estab- 
lish their doctrines on the frontier of the 
new country. Services were held from 
date to date and protracted or revival 
services succeeded from year to year, and 



HISTOltY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



185 



finally an organization was effected at 
Slielbyville. 

PKESBYTEKIANS AT SHELBYVILLE. 

This church was organized by Rev. W. 
P. Cochrane, July 30, 1859. The origi- 
nals were: Joseph M. Irwin, Esther 
^'aughn, Mary Vaughn, Elizabeth Ca- 
rothers. Dr. Darius Day, Peter B. Light- 
ner and Rachel Lightner. Some of the 
early day pastors were: Revs. George 
C. Crow, A. Steed, Duncan Brown, 
James Lafferty, J. C. Robinson, Edward 
Vincent and Blaney. The church build- 
ing, erected in 18G0 at a cost of $3,000, is 
in a good state of preservation. 

PLEASANT PKAIRIE CHURCH. 

Situate in section 18 — 50 — 10 and was 
organized in 1866. Its records bear fact 
of the originals as J. A. Ewing, Rebecca 
Ewing, Sallie Cardwell, Eva Cardwell, 
Martha Cardwell, James Cardwell, Su- 
san Cardwell, Joseph Blackwood, Ella 
Finley, Nancy Finley, Israel Cannon, 
Mary Cannon, Mary Cardwell, Susan 
Bostian and W. N. Bohon. In the year 
1869 a church was erected at a cost of 
$1,500. This was a loyal band of work- 
ers from the earliest date. 

CLAKEKCE PBESBYTEKIAN. 

This church was organized July 17, 
1859, by J. P. Winters, with a member- 
ship composed of James S. Martin, Mrs. 
Mary Martin, J. E. Martin, Susan M. 
HolhTiian, James B. Ryland, Mary Ry- 
land and R. A. Newcomb. The pastors 
having served this church are J. P. Win- 
ters, A. Steed, 1862-1872 ; James Laffer- 
ty, Duncan Brown, Carson, Robinson, E. 
Vincent. Rev. DeBolt was a late pastor 
who did much in building up this church. 



At present the church has no services. 
A lot was donated by a land company 
and at a cost of $1,200 the church build- 
ing was erected in 1860, and in 1883 the 
church was remodeled at an expenditure 
of $750. 

CUMBERLANDS. 

New Providence Church, situate in the 
southeastern corner of Taylor township, 
was organized on November 10, 1859, by 
Rev. S. C. Davidson, with the following 
original membership: Nathan Byars, J. 
P. Killinger, Hugh Kirkwood, S. P. 
Dunn and wife, Jacob Killinger and wife, 
Glenn Killinger, Mai'garet Kirkwood, 
Mary Evans and James G. Byars. Revs. 
Robert H. Mills, John AVinn, Nicholas 
Langston, J. R. Lowrance and T. G. Pool. 
A church was erected in 1874- at a cost of 
$1,000, and has been improved from time 
to time. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, SOUTH. 

The first organization of this church 
effected in Shelby county was at the 
home of I. B. Lewis, in Salt River town- 
ship, in the fall of 1837, when services 
were held for some. In 1838 a Sunday 
school in the Bacon school house; in 
1850 a frame church was built on land 
donated by George Bacon, of Hannibal, 
and the church was named Bacon 
Cliai3el. 

Bacon Chapel. — The present building 
was erected in 1870. Among the minis- 
ters who have served this historic church 
are: Revs. William Pryor, Conley, 
Smith, T. Ashby, Tyson Dines, Martin 
L. Eads, James M. Green, Jacob Sigler, 
James Wainwright, James B. Callaway, 
E. K. Miller, James Monroe, T. DeMoss, 
L. Bush, W. W. McMurry, G. Tanquary, 



186 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



A. C. Browning, T. A. Allison, M. L. 
Shemwell. The present pastor is H. W. 
Buckner. The Sunday school superin- 
tendent is Nathan Taylor. 

Shelbi/ville. — This church was organ- 
ized about 1839 and reorganized in 1844. 
The present building was erected during 
the pastorate of Eev. HoUiday and val- 
ued at $7,500. The present pastor is 
Eev. T. E. Moseley. J. J. Hewitt has 
been Sunday school superintendent for 
many years. The membership numbers 
296. 

Shelbina. — The church was organized 
in 1858. The first meeting was held in 
the Thomas hotel, where the "Waverly 
now stands. The congregation first wor- 
shipped in the school house, later build- 
ing a church with the Baptists. In 1867 
a brick church was erected, and in 1882 
this was superseded by another brick 
structure, which in its turn has been su- 
perseded by the present handsome 
church building, which was erected in 
1907, during the pastorate of Rev. W. A. 
Hanna, at a cost of $22,000. The present 
pastor is Rev. J. X. Boyd and the Sun- 
day school superintendent is Dr. Lyell. 
The church has a membership of 600 and 
the Sunday school 400. Among the 
former pastors were : Revs. "\V. "W. I\Ic- 
Murry, W. Bell, L. Rush. B. H. Spencer, 
George Warren, A. B. Culbertson, Rob- 
ert White. J. A. Snarr and T. H. B. 
Anderson. 

Clarence. — The first preacher to hold 
services in the town was Rev. D. C. 
Blackwell. In 1872 a class was organized 
by Rev. W. W. ]\IcMurry, presiding 
elder, the first preacher being Rev. L. 
Rush. Of the charter members Mrs. 
Mary A. Jacobs alone remains a memlier 
of this church. In 1877, during the i)as- 



torate of the Rev. W. M. Wainwright, a 
church building was erected, of which 
building committee the sole survivor is 
C. M. Shackelford. This church was 
altered and repaired during the jjastor- 
ate of Rev. R. M. Dameron. The present 
splendid building was erected at a cost 
of $16,500 during the pastorate of Rev. 
H. H. Johnson, the building committee 
being H. J. Simmons, A. R. Tucker, E. 
E. Casler and 0. C. Perry. Among the 
other pastors who have served this 
church have been Revs. A. P. Linn, W. 
A. Tarwater, John Holland, C. T. Mc- 
Anally, W. 0. Medley and John W. Kim- 
brell. The present membership is 240. 
The Sunday school superintendent is H. 
J. Simmons and the membership is 200. 

Bethany. — In the eastern jiortion of 
Black Creek township and was organized 
March 4, 1882. The charter members 
were: R. J. Taylor and wife, George 
Carmichael and wife, Lula Z. Taylor, C. 

E. Scott, Angle Foreman. Thomas Tin- 
gle and wife, Eliza Smith, J. II. Car- 
michael and wife, Levena Foreman, 
Sarah Smith, Sallie Raine, Lucia Car- 
michael. A frame house, costing $1,200, 
was completed in 1881 and dedicated in 
July, 1884. Among the pastors have 
been W. A. Toole, J. M. O'Brien, O. B. 
Holliday, J. J. Reed, E. J. Speer and B. 

F. Leake. 

Tlie other chuvches forming the Shel- 
byville circuit, which has a membership 
of 182, are Morris Chapel, O'Brien 
Chapel and Duncan Chapel. 

Oak Dale. — This church was organized 
soon after Bacon Chaiiel. The ])resent 
church was erected in 19()S, during the 
])astorate of Rev. Smith, and is valued at 
al)out $;),500. The present ])astor is Rev. 
O. Blackburn. Among the other churches 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



18^ 



in Shelby county are Wesley chapel, 
four miles northeast of Clarence, which 
is served by the Clarence pastor. 

Lowman chapel, part of the Shelbina 
circuit. 

The total membership in the county is 
2.250. 

FIRST METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 

Clarence First Methodist Episcopal 
church was organized in 1866 by Rev. 
John Gillis and Dr. N. Shumate. In the 
year 1881 the present brick structure 
was built at a cost of $3,250. Among its 
pastors we find Revs. John Gillis, Com- 
fort Ransom, G. W. "Walker, A. Chester, 
S. Knupj), R. Carlyon, 0. Beistle and J. 
A. Westernian, the present pastor. The 
present membership numbers 150 loyal, 
faithful workers. 

The Berean M. E. church, at Shelby- 
ville, was organized January 13, 1850, by 
Christopher J. Honts, presiding elder 
Hannibal district, and J. M. Chivingtou. 
The original members were Leonard 
Dobbin and wife, James W. Ganby and 
wife, Joseph Hitch and wife, Daniel 
Wood and wife, E. B. Stover and wife 
and John Short and wife. 

The first church building was erected 
in 1860 at a cost of $2,500. It was re- 
moved from the original location to its 
present site in 1874, repaired at consider- 
able cost and dedicated by Rev. N. P. 
Heath, of St. Louis, and rededicated by 
Dr. William Taylor, of India. After the 
organization of the M. E. Church, South, 
in 1846, the M. E. church had no organ- 
ized church in Shelby county until 1850. 
The most of its members were taken into 
the M. E. Church, South, where they re- 
mained until the ]\fission Conference of 
the M. E. church was organized bv Bish- 



ops James and Morris, at the request of 
the general conference in 1848. 

Shelbina M. E. church was built in 
1889-90. The membership was small, and 
in 1905 a federation took place and the 
membership of this congregation for the 
most part united with the M. E. Church, 
South. 

The Union Grove church, where a 
Methodist Episcopal class is maintained, 
was built in 1873. The present member- 
ship is forty. 

Mt. Pleasant M. E. church was built in 
1887. Present membershiiD is thirty-five. 

Evans Chapel M. E. church was built 
in 1881. Present membership is forty- 
five. 

Forest Grove M. E. church was built 
about 1887. Present membership is 
thirty-five. 

Epworth M. E. church was built about 
1884. Present membership is thirty. 

Bethel M. E. church was built in 1890. 
Present membership is 100. 

CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

St. Rose's Catholic churcli, located at 
Lakenan, is the stronghold of this church 
in the county. It was erected by Rev. E. 
A. Casey in 1887.- The number of Cath- 
olics at present attending this church is 
about 250. Father Collins is the present 
officiating priest. 

St. Mary's Catholic church, situated 
at Shelbina, was built by Rev. James 
O'Reilly in the year 1879. Previous to 
this date quite a strong membership held 
services at Miller's hall. The present 
membership is about 160. Father Col- 
lins is the present pastor. 

St. Patrick's Roman Catholic church 
at Clarence was built in 1883. It is a 
frame building and was erected at a cost 



188 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



of $2,000 and lias been well preserved. 
Its membership varies from 100 to 150. 
Father Collins is the present pastor of 
the church. 

hager's gbove catholic church. 

The building is located about two miles 
north and east of Hager's Grove and 
was erected in 1866, but was destroyed by 
fire in 1867. The church was rebuilt in 
1871. There are at present about sixty 
members who worship here, and the pas- 
tor's name is Eev. Father Adjudus 
Budde. 

HTJNNEWELL CATHOLIC CHURCH. 

There is also a Catholic church at this 
place which was erected at an early date 
in the history of Shelby county. The 
building, however, became old and inad- 
equate to serve the purpose for which it 
was built, and in 1905 it was torn down 
and a nice, new building erected in the 
place of the old one. The membership is 
about 100, who are under the pastorate 
of Rev. Father Connelly, whose home is 
in Monroe City. 

HOLINESS CHURCHES OF THE COUNTY. 

Since the year 1908 Clarence has had 
Holiness camp meetings. It is the inde- 
pendent bi-anch of the Holiness church 
and was moved from Stephen's Park, 
Macon, at the above date. It was lo- 
cated here on the Independent Holiness 
school grounds until 1910, and next year 
it will be held at Macon. 

It is a large gathering and ministers 
come here from all over the United 
States. There is a large tabernacle tent 
for the services, one large tent for dining 
(piarters and some fifty or sixty are scat- 
tered about the grounds for the campers. 



Services begin at sunrise and close any 
time at night. There is great enthusiasm 
and many are converted. The church is 
making a rapid growth. As to the Holi- 
ness church inception in these parts, one 
closely connected with its growth gives 
the following history : 

"The Holiness movement from the 
west was inaugurated by Elder "W. B. 
Colt, of Illinois, in the spring of 1875. 
The first meetings were held in Hannibal. 
It was not the original intention to estab- 
lish another church, but simply to lift 
church members and others up to a 
higher plane of worship. When Mr. Colt 
left Hannibal his work in Missouri was 
continued by Rev. A. M. Kiergan, then 
pastor of the Arch Street M. E. Church, 
South, at Hannibal. "\Miile yet a member 
of the conference Mr. Kiergan conducted 
Holiness meetings. These were attended 
by members of all denominations as well 
as the non-elect. Complaints were poured 
into the conference that there was a 
fanatical preacher over at Hannibal who 
was disintegrating the churches by tell- 
ing the members that they were not good 
enough and needed finishing touches put 
on their religion. 

' ' Mr. Kiergan pursued the even tenor 
of his way, all the while striving to in- 
crease the interest in the Holiness move. 
He was ably assisted by his wife, who 
was almost as good a talker and fully as 
earnest as himself. They conducted the 
first Holiness camp meeting west of the 
Mississippi river in 1877. The site of the 
camp was a picturesque grove west of 
Hannibal. The daily attendance was tre- 
mendous. Mr. Kiergan estimates there 
were frequently as many as 5,000 people 
on the grounds. No adequate tent could 
be secured, and the trees formed the only 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



189 



canopy. This meeting served to put the 
Holiness move in the west on a firm 
foundation. Tlie congregations were 
made up of people from various remote 
parts of the state, as well as the neigh- 
boring counties. "When they returned 
home they began talking up the new faith 
and did an earnest missionary work. 

"It was not a great while before Mr. 
Kiergan found more Holiness people on 
his hand than he knew what to do with. 
Many of his converts had not united with 
any church and seemed disinclined to do 
so. The reason was they felt it would be 
retrogression to unite with anybody hold- 
ing less advanced religous ideas than 
those taught at the pioneer camp meet- 
ing. So Holiness churches, strictly inde- 
pendent, were established in those com- 
munities where there were sufficient 
members of the sect. Where there were 
no churches the meetings were held at 
residences. Anyone who had a mind to 
could do the preaching. A characteristic 
of the Holiness people is that nearly 
every man, woman and child among them 
can get up at a moment's notice and de- 
liver a good talk on the faith that is in 
them. All of them are in the habit of re- 
lating their exjieriences before large con- 
gregations. And they enjoy to the ut- 
most this part of the services. When a 
man feels called upon to enter the min- 
istry they let him go in without objection 
if he is sound in the doctrine and of good 
reputation. No examining committee 
worries him with fine points of ecclesias- 
tical law. The people among whom he 
has lived are suj)posed to know whether 
he is a fit subject or not, and if they rec- 
ommend him for the ministry there is no 
red tape between that and his ordination. 



The question of salary never worries a 
Holiness preacher, because he rarely gets 
one. If he goes to a community where 
the membership is fairly strong, he may 
get irregular donations of money and 
things to eat. If he doesn't, he goes to 
work at something to make a living and 
preaches on Sunday just as hard as if he 
were a high-salaried prelate." 

CLARENCE INDEPENDENT HOLINESS CHURCH. 

We have not been able to get data con- 
cerning the Holiness church of Shelby 
county, but there is located at Clarence 
the Independent Holiness church, whose 
membership worship in the college lo- 
cated at this place. The church is of re- 
cent birth and the growth has been rapid. 

UNION INDEPENDENT HOLINESS CHURCH. 

There is also an Independent Holiness 
church located near Otter Creek, south 
of Clarence. The congregation built a 
nice frame church house in the 80 's. It 
has a strong membership for a rural lo- 
cation, numbering about forty members. 

SHELBYVILLE MISSOURI HOLINESS ASSOCIA- 
TION. 

In Shelbyville is located a membership 
of the Missouri Holiness Association. 
This branch has a goodly following at 
this point. It was organized by Eev. 
O'Brien, the father of that branch. They 
bought the M. E. Church house there and 
have an earnest, loyal church. 

LENTNER INDEPENDENT HOLINESS CHURCH. 

The Lentner Independent Holiness 
Church is the newest one in the county. 
They have a neat little church house and 
a good membership for a young church. 
It has only been organized a few years. 



190 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



THE MENNONITES. 

There is but one church of this denomi- 
nation in the county. It is located near 
Cherry Box and has been an established 
church there for many years. This sect 
of Christian people liave some very 
sti"ong convictions on certain things. One 
is they believe a Christian should not 
take an oath, hold ofiSce or enter military 
service. They also believe the New Tes- 
tament is the only rule of faith and that 
infants should not be baptized. Their 
local preachers are chosen by casting lots 
by the male members of the congrega- 
tion. The women distinguish themselves 
by wearing sunbonnets and the men by 
wearing smooth upper lips. Some of the 
families who hold to tliis faith are the 
Detwilers, Bisseys, Hersheys and John- 
sons. They are among the best people 
of the county. 

HISTORY OF CHEISTTAN CHUECH, SHELBY CO. 

By .J. H. Wood, Pastor Christian Church, 
Shelbina, Mo. 

The Christian church in Shelby coun- 
ty, Missouri, numbers a membership of 
about 1,700, and has seventeen organized 
churches as follows : Shelbyville, Shelbina, 
Clarence, Enterprise (Union), Maud, 
Leutner, Hager's Grove, Cherry Box, 
Leonard, Berea, Bethel, Concord, Emden, 
Fairview, Mt. Era, Lakenan and Hunne- 
well. There has for many years been a 
county organization of the Christian 
churches with a president and secretary 
and treasurer who co-operate with the 
churches in any work for the mutual 
good and establish churches at new 
points. The churches at Maud, Emden, 
Cherry Box, Fairview and Bethel were 
stjirted by the county work, and nuiny 



other churches have been aided and 
helijed in times of discouragement. J. H. 
"Wood, of Shelbina, has been president of 
the county board for eleven years. T. P. 
Manuel, of Clarence, is secretary, and 
George B. Bedwell, of Shelbina, treas- 
urer. Besides there are seventeen vice- 
presidents, one from each congregation, 
as follows : W. M. Hanly, A. Cooper, Dr. 
Ellis Roy, Carleton Smith, T. S. Baldwin, 
Hugo Bowling, J. P. Smith, J. H. Tarbet, 
Henry Kilb, Enoch Turner, Mintie Da- 
vis, T. S. Damrell, John Chapman, "Wil- 
liam Cadwell, Kenton Brown, Mr. Alex- 
ander, of Hager's Grove, and Mr. 
Turner, of Cherry Box. 

The first preaching in Shelby county 
by a minister of the Christian church 
was by Elder Jacob Creath, who held a 
meeting on Black Creek in 1888. and a 
church was organized in Shelbyville soon 
after. 

Slielbina. 

The Shelbina Christian Church was or- 
ganized in 1866 or 1867 by Elder T. M. 
Allen, of Columbia, Missouri. There had 
been occasional preaching before this in 
residences and in the public school build- 
ing. In 1868 the old brick church, which 
has served to this day, was built. Some 
of the early members were Thomas 
Mitchell, Leroy Dye, Sarah "Walker, C. 
H. True and wife, AV. R. Stemmons and 
wife, Mrs. Sue E. Hanly, Daniel Givan 
and wife and many others. The Shel- 
bina church has been served by many 
splendid pastors in its history — "William 
Featherstone, AV. G. Surber, H. P. Davis, 
E. C. Browning, C. B. Newnan, 0. P. 
Shrout, L. J. Marshall, AVilliam Roe and 
J. H. "V\^ood, who has been pastor of the 
church since 1898. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



191 



The church has had its iips and downs, 
but has made a steady and substantial 
growth, now numbering 325 members, 
275 of whom are local resident members 
and include many of the best Shelby 
county families. This congregation is 
just completing a beautiful uew church 
building on Center street, at the cost, 
complete, including furnishings and the 
lot on which it is built, of $20,000. The 
present officers of this church are : Eld- 
ers, W. M. Hanly, W. L. Shouse, W. S. 
AVood, W. S. Orr; deacons, George B. 
Bedwell, Charles White, James E. Rags- 
dale, Lee Francis, D. H. Tillett, Dr. E. 
:M. Mills, E. T. Givan, Harry J. Libby 
and Oliver J. Lloyd. 

W. L. Shouse is superintendent of the 
Bible school ; Bess Dickerson, organist ; 
Mrs. Mary Lyell, leader of the choir; 
Corinne Bragg, organist; Mrs. Kittie 
Francis, president of the Ladies' Aid So- 
ciety; E. T. Hockaday, president of the 
Y. P. S. C. E. 

Shelby ville. 

The Shelbyville Christian Church was 
organized in 1839. Some of the first 7 
members were: William Gooch, Tandy 
Gooch, William S. Chinn, Joseph Chick, 
Hiram Eookwood, Warren Hall and Ze- 
rellda Hill. The church was reorganized 
in 1874, with Catherine Collier, Jane E. 
Black, Eliza J. West, Sallie Oaks, Sarah 
J. Hiter, Sarah Cariey, Jane Brauuer, 
Lucy S. Chinn, J. M. Collier, Maria L. 
Sullivan, Cordelia P. Dobyns and others. 
Their first church building was erected 
in 1844. They now have a commodious 
church building with modern equipment, 
valued at $7,000. This church is a pros- 
perous organization, and has a member- 
ship of 270 and one of the best Bible 



schools in the county, with W. W. Mitch- 
ell as superintendent. Some of the offi- 
cers at present are : L. G. Scofield, W. 
C. Chick, Magruder Pickett, John Gooch, 
A. Cooper, T. B. Damrell, Claud Ander- 
son, George Miller, Aubrey Davis and 
Reason Baker. 

Leonard. 

The first Christian churcli organized 
in Taylor township was in the house of 
Lewis H. Gillaspy, who moved to the 
townshiiD in 1838 from Shelbyville, built 
a log house for his family, and his home 
became the center of the first small band 
of disciples in that eommimity. Here in 
this home Jacob Creath and other pio- 
neer preachers proclaimed the simple 
gospel. In 1866, after the war times. 
Elder John P. Tandy held a meeting- 
three and one-half miles northwest of 
the present town of Leonard and orgau- 
ized a Christian church. Among the first 
members were : Lewis H. Gillaspy, John 
M. Alexander, William Baker, Preston 
Manuel, Andrew P. Mc Williams, Jasper 
N. McWilliams and others. November 
7, 1867, a large hewn log church house 
was raised and was known as Antioch 
Church. In August, 1873, E. C. Brown- 
ing held a meeting of far-reaching re- 
sults, the whole connuunity was aroused 
and enlisted in the church. J. M. Chev- 
ront, Alexander Lorentz, Benjamin F. 
Smith, Dr. G. L. Smith, Samuel A. Ma- 
gruder, John T. Tuggle, William Gaines 
and many others were converted. In 1882 
John T. Welch held a meeting in a hall in 
Leonard which was very successful and 
resulted in steps being taken at once for 
the erection of a substantial frame build- 
ing in the town of Leonard. This church 
was dedicated in 1885. The Leonard 



192 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



Christian Church has probably 175 mem- 
bers and has been the mother of the 
church at Cherry Box and Berea. 

Clarence Christian Church. 

A few members of the Christian 
church in Clarence had occasional 
preaching in the early 70 's, but there was 
no church house or regular worship. In 
the year 188l' Rev. John T. Welch reor- 
ganized the little band into a congrega- 
tion and gave them regular ministerial 
service. For several years their services 
were held either in the Methodist or 
Presbyterian church. Some of the early 
officers of this church were: George W. 
Chinn, A. W. MeWilliams, Al Chinn, L. 
8. Wright, Rufus Farrell, Sr., E. Blakey, 
John E. Palmer and Jacob Melson. J. 
T. Welch, W. G. Surber and W. P. Dor- 
sey were among the earliest preachers. 
In 1884 a new frame church was erected 
which supplied the wants of the congre- 
gation until 1908, when a new modern 
brick building was erected at the cost of 
$10,000. This church now has a member- 
ship of about 200, with R. B. Havener as 
pastor. E. C. Shain, J. T. Garnett, T. P. 
Manuel and T. H. Phillips are elders. 
William McQuary, J. R. Snodgrass, C. 
W. Adams, T. M. Byland, G. B. Elliso 
and J. A\". Stark are deacons. This 
church, equipped as it now is, should do 
a great work. 

Union Chrisiiaii Church. 

In the early 60 's Rev. John P. Tandy, 
an old ]iioneer Christian preacher, fre- 
(juently held services at a school house 
southwest of Clarence. In 1873 a Union 
church house was built by the members 
of the Cliristian, Bajitist and ^letli'odist 
churches and these organizations all wor- 



shipped and had services alternately and 
are doing so at this time. Among the 
first officers of the Christian church con- 
gregation were William Cax-ver, Donald- 
son, John Sage, James E. Burns and 
Thomas Hagan. Rev. James Wright, of 
Macon, was the first pastor. This con- 
gregation numbers about seventy-five 
members and has regular services. ^lany 
substantial farmers are among the mem- 
bership. This church has furnished large 
re-inforcements to the other congrega- 
tions, in the towns especially. 

Christian Church at Lakenan. 

The Lakenan Christian church was or- 
ganized in 1887 on Christmas daj' by H. 
F. Davis. S. D. Proffitt, B. E. Washburn 
and W. S. Orr were selected as elders, 
J. A. Irwine and Joseph Washburn as 
deacons; W. S. Orr, clerk and treasurer. 
This little church has been one of the 
most plucky and active little churches in 
the county for its numbers. It has given 
many good members by removal to other 
churches in the county and even in other 
states. 

J. M. Vawter, J. C. Davis, C. R. Daniel 
and others have been pastors of this 
church. The membership at present is 
about thirty-five. 

Emden Christian Church. 

This church was organized by W. M. 
Roe about ISOfi. It has some choice peo- 
ple in its membership and does as much 
for the number of members as any 
church in Shell)y county. R. H. Havener 
is the present pastor and is much be- 
loved by this people for his sjilendid ser- 
vice. Their present membership is about 
fifty and they have a good Bible school. 
A. Martin, Richard Wood, James Green, 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



193 



J. M. Davis, Lee Turner, Lesley Robb 
and Bro. McGlothliu are the officers of 
this church. 

Hunnewell Christian Church. 

The Christian church had a small or- 
ganization, but no place of worship, as 
early as 1870. This was disbanded some- 
time in the 80 's, the members going to 
Mountjoy and a church north of Hunne- 
well. About 1890 there was a reorgani- 
zation and a church house was built. 
This organization prospered. Dr. L. W. 
Dallas was a tower of strength in this 
church for years and was ably assisted 
by many good workers. This congrega- 
tion has a membership of nearly 100 and 
a splendid Bible school, and is an active, 
aggressive body of splendid people. The 
present officers are: Mr. Baldrich, Jo- 
seph Hickman, George McClure, Dr. 
Furgeson, Charles Hickman, Ollie Howe 
and Frank Reed. 

Hager's Grove Christian Church. 

The Christian church at Hager's 
Grove was organized by Rev. John P. 
Tandy in' 18G7. Among its first officers 
and active members were J. M. Chinno- 
worth, Jonathan Peoples, John Patton 
and Samuel S. Patton. This old church 
has sent many substantial members to 
many other churches and has done an 
abiding work in Shelby county. The 
present membership is eighty or more. 

Maud Christian Church. 

The Christian church was built during 
the summer of 1896, with W. F. Miller, 
J. S. Daniel and P. F. Daniel as a build- 
ing committee and F. G. Blakey and Ed 
Smock as collectors. This is the only 
church in the county so far as we know 



which was built before there was an or- 
ganization. The church was dedicated 
October 25, 1896, by Rev. G. W. Buckner, 
who followed with a meeting and organ- 
ized this congregation with seventy-six 
members. J. S. Daniel, "Will Naylor, Ed 
Smock and T. H. Phillips were selected 
as elders and F. G. Blakey, F. M. Dale, 
Robert Hanger and James B. Bryan as 
deacons. Since that time the following- 
have been leaders and officers: Joe 
Stewart, Harve Doctor, Fred Heathmau, 
O. C. Davis, Charles Naylor, Ed Smock, 
Jr., Ed Daniel and Thomas Baldwin. 

This church has had as pastors and 
evangelists C. J. Lockhart, Simpson Ely, 
A. B. Elliott, J. W. Davis, C. J. Weldou, 
J. H. T. Stewart, J. H. Bryan, C. V. 
Pierce, Allen Hitch, J. H. Harris and 
C. W. Worden. 

The present membership of the church 
is eighty to 100. » 

Cherry Box Christian Church. 

The church at Cherry Box was built 
in 1897. Dr. Luther Turner was the 
moving spirit and gave liberally for the 
building. The organization drew quite 
a number from the Leonard Christian 
church. This church has had a prosper- 
ous history and numliers probably 150 
members at the present time. Many in- 
fluential and substantial people are iden- 
tified with the work and progress of this 
splendid church. 

Berea Christian Church. 

This church was a daughter of the 
Leonard Christian church and is sit- 
uated in a splendid community, and has 
had a splendid record for good. It has 
suffered by removals as much as any 
church in the county perhaps and this 



194 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



fact has discouraged them at times. 
They have a membership of about 
eighty. 

Bethel Christian Church. 

This church was organized in 1906 by 
Rev. Carr, following a tent meeting of 
several weeks. This meeting was held 
under the auspices of the county board. 
They have a good organization and a 
good Bible school. The church uimibers 
about forty members. Rev. Byron In- 
gold preaches for them. Henry Kelb, P. 
D. Shouse and others are the leaders 
here. They have no church house of 
their own, but plan to build very soon. 

Fairview Christian Church. 

This church was the result of a tent 
meeting held by J. H. Bryan in the sum- 
mer of 1898. The church was built and 
dedicated in 1899 by J. H. Wood, who 
was pastor for several years. T. S. 
Damrell, James Baker, A. E. Jordon, 
Tom Stone, B. G. Blackford, Frank 
Sherwood, Virgil Alexander, Chester 
Bethards and others have been oflBcers 
during the years since organization. 
This church has about seventy-five mem- 
bers, but is now without a pastor. 

Lentner Christian Church. 

This church of 100 members was or- 
ganized sometime in the 90 's, and a sub- 
stantial frame building was erected. Rev. 
Alfred Munyou has preached for them 
for a nmnber of years, and they have en- 
joyed quite a measure of prosperity un- 
der his ministi-y. Thej^ have a good 
Bible school and take pride in keeping a 
church up in good shape. 



Mt. Era Christian Church. 

This church has had a checkered his- 
tory. The building was first erected at 
Walkersville, afterwards moved to the 
l)resent site north of Salt river, near the 
Shelby County Railroad. It once had a. 
good membership, but removals and 
death has discouraged them and they 
now number only about twenty-five. 
They have no regular preaching, but 
have a Union Bible School during the 
summer. 

Concord Christian Church. 

The Concord Christian church was or- 
ganized December 1, 1883, in Tiger Fork 
township. A frame building was erected 
the year of the organization at a cost of 
$1,200. The organization was effected 
by Rev. J. P. Tandy. Some of the char- 
ter members were: L. Hunter, AVilliam 
Daniels, S. I. Bragg, William Peak, 
James DeMoss, Levi Plight, Millie 
Plight, Mary Bragg, Martha W. Triplett, 
M. Peak, Alice Browning, Caroline 
Dougherty, Ida Dougherty, Mary E. 
Wolf, Susan Melburn, E. P. Allen, Amer- 
ica Allen, Mahala Siminon, A. S. Rife, 
G. A. Rife, John McGraw, Eliza J. 
Bragg, Benjamin Talbott, Mary J. 
Pierce, Walker Pue, Ellen Siminon, 
Mary E. Jones, Charles Siminon, Eliza- 
beth Poor and F. M. Poor. 

This church has served splendidly in 
its community and today has an aggres- 
sive organization of about 100 members 
and a good Bible School. Oscar Ingold, 
of Canton, is pastor. Concord can be 
counted on in every good work in the 
county. 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



195 



A Brief History of the Evangelical Asso- 
ciation in Shelby County, Missouri. 

The Evangelical Association o r i g i - 
nated through the labors of Jacob Al- 
bright, who was born near Pottstown, 
Montgomery county, Pennsylvania, May 
1, 1759. In his thirty-second year he 
was soundly converted through the la- 
bors of Adam Riegel, an earnest minis- 
ter, who was not connected with any 
church. 

After his conversion he became inter- 
ested in the salvation of his neighbors, 
and five years later he tried to preach 
among the Germans; in barns, private 
residences, school houses, groves, or any 
place where he was able to gather a few 
of the people together to listen to the 
gospel. Those that were converted he 
organized into classes for spiritual over- 
sight. In the early history of our church 
it was named "The So-called Albright 
People." In the year 1816 the name of 
l| * ' Evangelical Association "was adopted. 
It was customary from the beginning of 
the organization among the iireachers 
and members to call themselves "This 
Association," or "Our Association" 
(Gemeinschaft), hence the adoption of 
the name Evangelical Association. 

This association is Methodistic in its 
doctrine and polity. It has a large pub- 
lishing house in Cleveland, Ohio, and a 
splendid college at Naperville, 111. 

The work of the Evangelical Associ- 
ation in Shelby county, Missouri, consists 
of three churches, namely : Zion church, 
situated on section 36, township 59, range 
11, west; Ebenezer church, situated on 
section 8, township 58, range 11, west, 
and Leslie church, situated on section 



33, township 58, range 11. These three 
churches, with a fourth church in Bloom- 
ington, Macon county, Missouri, consti- 
tute what is known as ' ' The Shelby Mis- 
sion Field" of the Evangelical church. 

In the year 1866, Eev. J. G. Pfeifer, a 
minister of the newly organized Kansas 
Conference of the Evangelical Associ- 
ation, who was living at Bloomington, 
Macon county, Missouri, and preaching 
to the Evangelical congregation of that 
place, commenced to preach in the home 
of Rev. C. Stauffer, east of Bethel, Shel- 
by county, Missouri, and also at the 
Messner school house, south of Bethel. 

These services were conducted in the 
German language, and all of the pioneer 
preachers of the Evangelical church in 
Shelby county were Germans. In a year 
or so these services were moved to the 
Short school house, two miles west of 
Bethel, where the first class of the Evan- 
gelical church in Shelby county was or- 
ganized by Rev. J. G. Pfeifer, February, 
1868, with the following charter mem- 
bers : 

Rev. C. Stauffer, Susanna Stauffer, 
Phillip Christman, Mrs. P. Christman, 
Charles Christman, Fred Christman, 
Caroline Christman, Michael Fye, Mrs. 
M. Fye, Jacob "Wise, John Stauffer, 
Mrs. J. Stauffer, John C. Bower, Fred- 
erika Schnaufer, Henry Schnaufer, Fer- 
dinand Wester, Mrs. F. Wester. 

This class worshiped in the Short 
school house until the year 1870, when 
they hired a hall in Bethel, Missouri, and 
in this year our first church Sunday 
school in Shelby county was organized 
and it has been an evergreen Sunday 
school for forty years. 

In the summer of 1879 the class moved 



196 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



their place of worship back to the Short 
school house and under the able leader- 
ship of Eev. C. Linge they laid the 
foundation for a church building- on sec- 
tion 36, township 59, range 11 west. 
This building was finished that year and 
formally dedicated to the worship of 
God in April of the following year by 
Rev. J. G. Pfeifer, who was at this time 
a presiding elder in the Kansas Confer- 
ence. 

For thirty years this church has been 
the center of religious activity in that 
community. In the Sunday school. 
Young People's Alliance and preaching 
ser\'ices this church has advocated a 
genuine experience in the forgiveness of 
sins; this to be manifested always by 
a righteous life. 

From tliis congregation have come 
four noted workers in our church, name- 
ly, Eev. "W. A. Schuttee, a former pre- 
siding elder in the Illinois Conference 
of the Evangelical Association, now the 
jiastor of the First Evangelical church 
at Naperville, 111., and Rev. Wesley 
Stauffer. who died April 12, 1900, at 
Holtou, Kan., in the fourth year of his 
pastorate of the Evangelical church in 
that city. These two noted brethren, 
with their wives, are a quartette of work- 
ers that any church would bo glad to 
honor. They were converted through 
the labors of our ministers, trained in 
our Sunday Schools, educated in our col- 
lege, and went out into the l^ord's har- 
vest field with the endorsement of the 
Zion class, and under the blessing of God 
became workmen that needeth not to be 
ashamed rightly dividing the word of 
truth. 

This church was one of the strong 
countiw churches of Shelbv countv, but 



today it is reduced in numbers. Is its 
mission about finished! We hope not, 
but trust that it may stand for thirty 
years more, telling to the traveler the 
faith of man in an Omniijotent God. 

The Ehenezer Class. 

Rev. J. G. Pfeifer on his trips from 
Bloomington to Bethel, in the years of 
186G to 1868, often stop])ed in the com- 
munity about seven miles north of where 
Clarence, Mo., is now situated. He was 
asked by the people of this neighbor- 
hood to christen their children and to 
perform other duties pertaining to his 
calling. The majority of the people in 
this community wei'e English and Rev. 
J. G. Pfeifer usually preached in Ger- 
man. There was little preaching done 
by him in this neighborhood. 

" The Rev. C. Timmer, Rev. B. Hoffman, 
Rev. Koepsal, Rev. Ferdinand Harder, 
also visited among the people in this 
neighborhood as they went from their 
home in Bloomington to preach to the 
Evangelical congregation at Bethel. Mo. 

In the years 1874 and 1875 the Rev. 
M. Alsbalch, who had charge of the 
Evangelical congregations at Blooming- 
ton and Bethel, preached occasionally in 
this neighborhood. 

In the year 1875 Rev. C. Stauffer had 
charge of the work at Bloomington and 
Bethel, commenced regular preaching 
services in the Rawson school house and 
organized a class with the following 
charter members: 

John Schwada, Clara Schwada, Henry 
Leu t cherdi ng, Lydia Leutcherding, 
Richard Dove, Henry Wilkie, Sophia 
Wilkie, S. Rawson, Mrs. R. Rawson, 
George Farber, Louise Farber, Rosa 
Farber. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



197 



Some time in the year 1878 the people 
living in the neighborhood of the Raw- 
son school house oonohided to build a 
union church building. This church was 
dedicated as the "Eawson Chapel" by 
Eudolph l)ul)l)s, a bishop of the Evan- 
gelical church. This chapel was used by 
the various religious societies in that 
community, the Evangelical society hav- 
ing a stated time each month that the 
l)reacher in charge of their work was 
expected to preach. This building was 
destroyed by lire in the beginning of the 
year 1894. 

The Evangelical congregation having 
no place to worship, determined to build 
a church building of their own. Under 
the leadership of Rev. M. AValter the 
building was finished in the fall of 1894 
and on November 11 of the same year 
it was dedicated as "The Ebenezer 
Church" of the Shelby Mission Field 
by John J. Esher, a bishop in the Evan- 
gelical church. 

A church Sunday School was organ- 
ized and is one of the evergreen Sunday 
Schools in the rural districts of Shelliy 
county. 

A glance over the list of members be- 
longing to this chureli during the last 
sixteen years reveals the names of many 
an earnest, quiet worker in the Lord's 
vineyard who received their early re- 
ligious training in its Sunday School, 
the Young People's Alliance, Women's 
^lissionary Society and prayer meetings 
held by this Evangelical congregation. 

This ])lain chapel has been the birth- 
place of many a soul ; here they found 
the Pearl of (Jreat Pi-ice and conunenced 
a life of service for God and humanity in 
the chuirh militant which finally ended 
in the church iiiuini)hant. 



When it was destroyed by fire De- 
cember 25, 1910, the members and 
friends gathered around its smoking 
embers with tears in their eyes and sad- 
ness in their hearts, for it had been a 
veritable Bethel to many of them. They 
said with one accord: We must rebuild 
this church; we cannot let our children 
grow up without the influence of God's 
word and ministry. May God bless the 
new church edifice and the future con- 
gregations that gather within her walls 
as He did the old church and her con- 
gregations. God grant that the glory 
of the latter house shall be greater than 
that of the former house. 

Leslie Church. 

Rev. J. S. Stamm, an assistant pastor 
under Rev. J. B. Gresser, commenced 
preaching services in the Brewington 
school house in the spring of 1900. 
These services were continued that year 
with some success. The following j^ear 
Rev. J. B. Gresser took charge of work 
and as there was no assistant pastor 
that year Rev. Gresser could not devote 
as much time to this new appointment 
as it ought to have received. 

In 1902 Rev. W. H. Manshardt was 
appointed to the Shelby mission field as 
l^reacher in charge, but was not able to 
give this appointment any preaching 
service. However, he secured pledges 
from men living in that neighborhood to 
the amount of nearly eight hundred dol- 
lars for a church building in that neigh- 
borhood. 

In the spring of 190.3 Rev. I. H. 
TIauptfuehrer took charge of the Shelby 
mission field and after a successful arbor 
meeting held near Mrs. Eliza Van Hou- 
ten's faiTO in August of that vear or- 



198 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



ganized a class with, the following char- 
ter members : 

George Crawford, Mary Crawford, 
Charles Crawford, J. F. Webb, Cather- 
ine Webb, Eelda Webb, Eosa Shepherd, 
Clarence Messick, Euby Messick, L. L. 
AVheeler, Cora E. Wheeler, Nora Beu- 
lah "Wlieeler, E. Ag-nes Wheeler, Vincil 
Wheeler, J. B. Dehner, Katie Dehner, 
Mary E. Heathmaia, Mary Oneal, Nathan 
Gibson, MoUie Thresher, Ada Thresher, 
Bertha Copenhaver, Maudie Hall, Mary 



AA^hitby, Theodore Dove, Maria Craw- 
ford, Eosa Hopper. 

A church building was started in the 
fall of 1903 and dedicated by Eev. C. F. 
Errfmeyer, presiding elder of the Kan- 
sas City district, in May, 1904. 

The Shelby mission field built a good, 
substantial parsonage in the year of 
1910 in the Culver addition to the city 
of Clarence, Mo., and is well prepared 
to take good care of her future pastors. 




PHILIP DIMMITT, M. D. 



BIOGRAPHICAL 



PHILIP DIMMITT, M. D. 



I The late Dr. Philip Demmitt, whose 
death on November 23, 1898, at the age 
of seventy-one years cast a shadow over 
all of Shelby and the adjoining counties 
of this state, was one of the leading- 
physicians and surgeons in this portion 
of the country, and also one of the most 
extensive and progressive farmers Shel- 
by county has ever known and one of its 
most prominent and influential citizens, 
giving close and intelligent attention to 
public affairs and rendering the general 
public excellent service in various ways 
besides the advantages they derived 
from his professional work and his farm- 
ing operations. 

Dr. Dimmitt was born in Washington 
county, Kentucky, on December 11, 1824, 
and was a son of Judge Walter B. and 
Louisa (Hughes) Dimmitt, also Ken- 
tuckians by birth, the father having been, 
like the son, a native of Washington 
county. He was, however, reared and 
educated at Harrodsburg, in the adjoin- 
ing county of Mercer, and for a time was 
assistant county clerk of that county, 
ater he returned to Washington county 
and served as sheriff there. In 1829 he 
moved his family to what is now Marion 
county, Missouri, arriving in this state 
and that portion of it before the gov- 
ernment surveys were made. He made 

i 199 



a wise selection of his location and pre- 
empted a large body of land, "on which 
he carried on extensively as a planter 
and general farmer. He also rose to 
prominence and influence in local affairs, 
served as county judge for a number of 
years, and was everywhere regarded as 
one of the most public-spirited and rep- 
resentative citizens of the section of the 
state in which he lived. His death oc- 
curred in 1849, and that of his widow, 
whom he married in Kentucky, in 1872. 

The Dimmitt family was of French 
origin. Its progenitors in the United 
States came to this country at an early 
day and took up their residence in Mary- 
laud. But the spirit of adventure and 
desire for better conditions in life and 
opportunity that brought them across 
the Atlantic led them to leave the older 
and more settled part of the country and 
seek a new home in Kentucky when that 
now great and progressive state was a 
part of our expansive frontier, and to 
brave the hazards and privations of pio- 
neer life. The same spirit impelled the 
Doctor's parents to come to Missouri 
when it, too, was on the frontier, and 
repeat on its soil the performances and 
acliievemeuts of their forefathers on that 
of Kentucky. 

Dr. Phili]) Dimmitt, who was one of 
the most successful and distinguished 




200 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



members of the family in the New 
World, began his scholastic training in 
the primitive comitry schools of his boy- 
hood and youth and completed it at 
Marion College. At the age of twenty- 
one he began the study of medicine un- 
der the direction of Dr. J. H. Kibby, of 
Palmyra, Missouri. After a sufficient 
preparatory course of reading he en- 
tered Missouri Medical College, and 
from that institution he was graduated 
in 1849. But he was not satisfied with 
his professional acquirements, even as 
a beginner, and after a practice covering 
a number of months he matriculated at 
the St. Louis Medical College, where he 
pursued a more extended course and 
from which he was graduated in 1852. 
During the next four years he practiced 
his profession at Monticello, in Lewis 
county. In 1856 he changed this to 
BoonvUle, Cooper county, where he re- 
mained four years. 

But in the meantime he visited Shelby 
county in 1860 and bought a farm four 
miles northeast of Shelby^ulle, which be- 
came his final home and from it as a 
center he conducted a very active and 
extensive practice for a period of four- 
teen years in addition to farming on a 
very extensive scale. At the time al- 
luded to the Doctor owned a number of 
slaves, and as he would neither sell nor 
hire any of them to other persons, he 
was obliged to keep them employed him- 
self and he added to his lauded estate 
until at one ])eriod he and his sons 
fanned over 1,400 acres of land, and he 
was one of the busiest, most extensive 
and most successful cattle feeders in 
Shelby county, and by his progressive 
methods one of the most valued con- 



tributors to raising the standard of live 
stock in this portion of the state. 

Still, large and exacting as were his 
farming and stock operations, they did 
not curtail his professional activity. He 
was universally considered the leading 
physician of Shelby county while he re- 
mained in active practice, which he did 
until he reached the age of fifty years, 
retiring in 1874. In that year he found- 
ed the Shelby County Savings Bank and 
became its cashier. Some years later 
this institution was converted into the 
private banking house of Cooper & Dim- 
mitt, and as such it continued in business 
and flourished many years. For data 
concerning this banking institution see 
sketch of J. T. Cooper on another page 
of this volume. 

On January .31, 1850, Dr. Dinuuitt was 
united in marriage with Mrs. C. F. 
(Agee) Henderson, the widow of Addi- 
son J. Henderson, and at the time of her 
marriage to the Doctor only twenty-two 
years old. They became the parents of 
six children, all of whom are living: 
Walter A., a leading farmer of this 
county, a sketch of whom will be found 
in this work; Frank, who is president 
of the Old Bank of Shelbina, and whose 
life story is also recorded in this vol- 
mne; Marvin, a banker in Chirence, this 
county; Prince, the president of The 
Bank of Shelbyville, an account of whose 
useful life adds to the interest and value 
of this history; Pope, who is a i-esident 
of the city of St. Louis ; and Lee, whose 
home is in Shelby county. 

The mother of these children died on 
July 6, 1893, and the father, as has been 
stated, on November 23, 1898. He was 
united in a second marriage with Mrs. 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



20\ 



Hattie Hillias, the ceremony being per- 
formed in 1897. She is still living. The 
Doctor's tirst wife was regarded as one 
of the most estimable ladies in the coun- 
ty. In fraternal life the Doctor was a 
Freemason and active in the order for 
a long time. Ilis religions affiliation was 
with the Methodist Episcopal ehnreh, 
South, and in its affairs he also took a 
zealous and serviceable part. In all the 
relations of life he was worthy and fully 
entitled to the high rank he held in tlie 
regard of the jieople as a man and citi- 
zen. In his profession he was highly cul- 
tivated and exhibited great practical 
skill. In business he was upright, con- 
scientious and jirogressive, and in con- 
nection with public affairs and the gen- 
eral welfare of the people he was one of 
the most enterprising and far-seeing, as 
well as one of the most helpful and in- 
spiring men in the community. 

WILLIAM H. WAEREN. 

The late William H. Warren, who 
passed the greater part of his life of sev- 
enty-two years in this state and much of 
it in Shelby county, and whose death on 
September 7, 1898, was universally de- 
]ilored, was one of the leading and most 
representative citizens of the state. He 
was prominent in business and social cir- 
cles, dignified and adorned domestic life 
by the ]iractice of every manly virtue and 
took an active and heli)ful ]iart in build- 
ing up and improving the city of his 
home. 

^Ir. Warren was a native of Kentucky, 
born in the famous county of Bourbon 
on July 23, 1827. He was a son of Wil- 
liam and Charlotte (Harrington) War- 
ren. Thev were born and reared in Ken- 



tucky. They were the parents of eight 
children, four of whom are living. These 
are : Amanda, the wife of W. P. Sidner, 
of Clarence, this county; Nan, the wife 
of James Combs, of Los Angeles, Cali- 
fornia ; Georgiana, the wife of S. A. 
Sparks, of Blackwell, Oklahoma; and 
Sallie, the wife of J. T. Smith, of Monroe 
county, Missouri. In politics the father 
was a Democrat and in church affiliation 
a Baptist. He moved to Kentucky with 
his parents in his childhood and to Mis- 
souri in his early manhood. In this state 
he was profitably engaged in farming 
and raising live stock in Monroe and Ma- 
rion counties until his death in 1872. 

AVilliam H. Warren grew to manhood 
on his father's farm in Monroe county 
and ol)tained his education in the public 
schools near his home. The period of his 
childhood and youth was one of hard- 
ship, ])rivation and toil, for the country 
in which he was reared was still wild and 
imdeveloped, and to bring it to jiroduc- 
tiveness and civilization required the 
energies of all who lived in it. His op- 
]iortimities for schooling were therefore 
very limited and embraced in their scope 
only the rudimental l)ranches of scholas- 
tic training. But the i)urpose of Nature 
seemed to be to breed in our Western 
wilds a race of men rather than scholars, 
and fit it for conquest over the wide do- 
main of fertility through which the savage 
denizens of the plain and forest were 
still roaming. And in doing this she was 
]3reparing the children of her seeming 
neglect, but real providence and care, for 
any duty that might subsequently de- 
volve ujion them. The demands of the 
time were for men of ca]:)acity in useful, 
in-actical affairs, and accordingly, after 
leaving school, Mr. Warren learned the 



202 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



carpenter trade, and for a number of 
years worked at it steadily. In this wa\ 
he acquired a warm and serviceable in- 
terest in the welfare of the people which 
he exhibited throughout all his later oc- 
cupations. 

Soon after he reached his maturity the 
voice of trade was heard loudly calling 
for recruits in the land and he hearkened 
to the call. He turned his attention to 
extensive dealing in tobacco and followed 
that for a period of sixteen years. He 
then became a lumber merchant, and dur- 
ing the next fifteen years devoted his 
energies and broadening capacities to 
supplying the needs of the people in ma- 
terials for homes and the im})rovements 
they necessitated. When the hour was 
ripe for more extensive financial facili- 
ties, he became one of the founders of the 
Old Bank of Shelbina, with which he was 
connected until his death, giving it excel- 
lent service for a number of years as 
president and general director of its 
affairs. 

He served three years in the Confed- 
erate army during the Civil war, being 
under the command of General Price, 
and participated in a number of impor- 
tant and sanguinary battles, from all of 
which he escaped without disaster, ex- 
cept, of course, the hardships and priva- 
tions incident to the service. 

In ]iolitics Mr. Warren was a life-long 
and consistent Democrat, and although 
he never held or sought public office for 
himself, his interest in the welfare of his 
state and country never faltered or was 
abated for a day of his long and useful life. 
Ho belonged to the Order of Odd Fellows 
and was a member of the Baptist church. 
On October 17, 1870, he united in mar- 
riage with ]\Iiss Lucy Lewis, of Monroe 



county, in this state. They had no chil- 
di-en, but reared the daughter of Patrick 
List, of Shelbina, whom they took into 
their home as an adopted child when she 
was four years old. In 1893 she was 
married to Senator George W. Hum- 
phrey, a brief account of whose life ap- 
pears in this volume. 

Mr. Warren died on September 7, 
1898, full of years and of honor. His 
career was creditable to the citizenship 
of the count}'. His life was useful among 
its people. His example of upright and 
productive manhood had produced and 
is still producing good results in the ac- 
tivities of those who followed it, and 
when he passed away there was universal 
sorrow throughout his own and the ad- 
joining counties. During all the years of 
his manhood he was a hard worker and a 
judicious and frugal man, and when he 
died he left a considerable estate for the 
enjoyment of his widow, who had helped 
him to win it. She is still living and has 
her home in Shelbina, where she is held 
in the highest esteem. She is now sixty- 
four years old, but still hale, vigorous 
and active, and she exemplifies now, in 
her devotion to every worthy undertak- 
ing for the good of those who live around 
her the spirit of enter]:)rise and progress 
which has governed her through life, in 
this way keeping alive, in the most prac- 
tical way, the memory of her esteemed 
husband and doing well her part as a 
useful member of society. 

WILLIAM W. MORGAN. 

AVilliam W. Morgan is a member of a 
family well known and held in the high- 
est esteem in Shelbina, M-here he was 
born on January 23, 1861. His ]-)arents 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



203 



were David and Mary E. (Williams) 
Morgan, the latter of whom is still living 
and has her home with him. A sketch of 
the life of the father will be found else- 
where in this work. 

AVilliam grew to manhood in Shelbina 
and obtained his education in its schools, 
beginning it in the great university of 
the people, the district schools, and com- 
pleting it at the Shelbina Collegiate In- 
stitute. After leaving school he went 
into business with his father, aiding him 
in conducting an extensive enterprise in 
the manufacture of wagons and dealings 
in vehicles of all kinds and general farm- 
ing implements. He is still engaged in 
the same line of endeavor and doing well 
at the undertaking, having his brother, 
James H. Morgan, an account of whose 
life will be found elsewhere in this vol- 
ume, associated with him. A\nien the 
partnership was formed the father was 
living and the firm name was D. Morgan 
& Sons. Although the father has been 
dead a number of years the sons still ad- 
here to this name and do their trading 
under it. 

Mr. Morgan has been very successful 
in business and has also risen to promi- 
nence in the public life of the community. 
He served six years as city clerk of Shel- 
bina, giving the duties of the office care- 
ful attention and satisfying all classes 
of the people by his administration of it. 
In politics he is a pronounced and im- 
wavering Democrat, active and zealous 
in the service of his ]iarty and enjoying 
the full confidence of its leaders and also 
of the rank and file. His church affilia- 
tion is with the Baptists, and fraternally 
he is a member of the Masonic order. 



DAVID MORGAN, JR. 

This gentleman is a worthy follower 
of his well known and highly esteemed 
father, the late David Morgan, of Shel- 
bina, a brief account of whose useful life 
will be found elsewhere in this work. 
The younger David Morgan, who is the 
immediate subject of these paragraphs, 
was born at Shelbina on April 24, 1871. 
He grew to manliood in his father's home 
and was educated in the public schools 
of the village of his nativity and at Shel- 
bina Collegiate Institute. After leaving 
the institute he pursued a special course 
of business training at the Southwestern 
Business College of Wichita, Kansas. 

When he was twenty-two years of age 
he took up liis residence in Monroe coun- 
ty, this state, where for nine years he 
was actively and prosperously engaged 
in farming. He then moved to Shelbina 
and began operations as a real estate 
dealer, a line of business in which he is 
still engaged. He is also interested in 
the manufacture of concrete blocks for 
building, paving and other work of con- 
struction. In all his undertakings he has 
been eminently successful, rising to the 
first rank among the business men of 
Sbolbina and winning a wide and lasting 
popularity as a citizen. 

Like his father and brothers, Mr. Mor- 
gan adheres to the Democratic party in 
politics and gives it his earnest support 
at all times. He is a member of the 
Christian church and belongs to the Or- 
der of Knights of Pythias. On January 
23, 1893, he was married to Miss Clara 
Pearl Sears, a native of Monroe county, 
in this state. They have had seven chil- 
dren, all of whom are living. They are 



204 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Lucille Marie, Gladys Pearl, David 
Sears, Tbelma Xadine, Joseph "William 
Chilton, John Lyell and Anna Marian. 
The father is a very active man in behalf 
of the Tvelfare of the community and 
waraily supports every enterprise for its 
promotion. 

JAMES H. MOEGAN. 

Worthy son of a worthy sire, and true 
to the teaching and examples given him 
at the parental fireside, James H. Mor- 
gan is justly accounted one of the leading 
business men and best citizens of Sbel- 
bina. He was born in that town on Sep- 
tember 24, 1862, a son of the late David 
^lorgan and brother of John R. Morgan, 
in a sketch of whom on another page of 
this volume a brief account of the fath- 
er's life is given. 

James H. Morgan grew to manhood 
and obtained his education in Shelbina, 
and after leaving school learned his 
trade as a blacksmith under the tuition 
of his father. In 1885 he and his brother 
AVilliam entered into partnership with 
their father under the iirm name of Da- 
vid ^lorgan & Sons, and together they 
conducted a flourishing business in manu- 
facturing wagons and dealing in road ve- 
hicles of various kinds and farming im- 
plements of all kinds. The sons are still 
carrj'ing on the business under the old 
firm name, and their enterprise is one of 
the leaders of the kind in this part of 
the state. Their operations are exten- 
sive and profitable, and they give the 
business their whole attention, using 
every means at their command to expand 
their trade and fully satisfy their 
]iatrons. 

^fr. ^Morgan takes an active and intelli- 



gent interest in public affairs, ardently 
supporting the principles and candidates 
of the Democratic party. He is an Odd 
Fellow in fraternal relations, and a ver\' 
active and useful man in promoting all 
that makes for the betterment of the 
commimity, or contributes to the comfort 
or convenience of its people. He was 
married in ^lonroe county on Se])tember 
11, 1894, to Miss Jennie Threlkeld, who 
was born and reared in this state. They 
have two children, their sons Harold and 
Clarence. Their home is a center of so- 
cial culture and generous and grateful 
hospitality. 

AVADE HAMPTON JONES. 

This prominent and successful citizen 
and business man of Shelbina is a native 
of Missouri, and in several towns in the 
state has exemplified the lofty attributes 
of citizenship for which its people are 
noted. He was born at Humphreys, in 
Sullivan county, on Xovemlier 7, 1879, 
and is a son of Augustin and Rachel T. 
(Haley) Jones, both born and reared in 
this state. His grandfather, Gabriel 
Jones, was born in Virginia, and in 1831 
came to Monroe county, ^lissouri, se- 
curing a farm near Clinton, where he was 
extensively engaged in farming and to- 
bacco growing. During the war he re- 
cruited a company in Sullivan county, 
where he moved in 1840, for the Union 
army, but did not enter the service him- 
self. He died in 1888 in Sullivan county. 

The father of Wade H. Jones was for 
three years a merchant at Humphreys, 
and later gave his attention to farming 
and raising live stock on a large scale. 
He is now retired from active pursuits 
and living in jieace and the enjoyment 



I i 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



205 



of a high and wide spread reputation for 
all that is worthy and commendable in 
manhood and eitizeuship at Shelbina. He 
no longer works as he did with vigor and 
unceasing industry for many years, but 
still retains his interest in his farm and 
live stock industry. 

In 1869 he was united in marriage with 
Miss Rachel T. Haley, who was, like him- 
self, a native of Missouri. They liad 
.six children, five of whom are living: 
Gabriel, a resident of Denver, Colorado ; 
Charles A., who lives in Hmnphreys; 
AVilliam T., one of the prominent citi- 
zens of St. Louis; Susan A., the wife 
of J. H. "Wood, of Shelbina, a sketch of 
whose life will be found in this work, and 
Wade H. Although he is known to the 
2ieople of the present day mainly as a 
man of peace and productive industry, 
he did not shirk what he conceived to be 
his duty when the political principles in 
which he believed were assailed with 
force and arms. "When the Civil war be- 
gan to drench this unhappy country in 
fraternal blood he gave practical illus- 
tration to his faith by enlisting in the 
"Union army in 1861, in Company C, 18th 
Missouri Volunteer Infantry and prepar- 
ing to offer up his life, if necessary, on 
the altar of his convictions. His sei'vice 
in the field of carnage was, however, soon 
ended. In the first year of the war he 
was so seriously injured that he was com- 
pelled to retire from the service and he 
was never thereafter able to resume his 
military post. He thereupon returned to 
his fai-m and stock breeding enterprise, 
and to them he devoted all the remaining 
years of his activity. He has been a life- 
long Democrat in politics, a Freemason 
of many years standing in fraternal life 



and a zealous member of the Christian 
church in religious affiliation. He was a 
gentleman of great energy and activity 
during his years of business enterprise 
and very successful in everything he un- 
dertook. 

His son, "Wade Hampton Jones, who 
was named in honor of the distinguished 
South Carolina cavalry leader in the 
Civil war who conducted, at Gettj^sburg, 
one of the most daring charges in all 
military history, was reared on the pa- 
ternal homestead and obtained his edu- 
cation in the public schools, at the college 
at Humphreys and at the University of 
Missouri located at Columbia. After 
leaving the university he entered the 
banking business at Humphreys, where 
he remained a few years in successful 
use of his faculties according to his bent. 
In 1906 he moved to Gait, in Grundy 
county, and became cashier of the Gait 
State Bank in which he had acquired an 
interest. A few years later he sold his 
interests in the bank of Gait and bought 
one in the Shelbina National Bank, of 
Shelbina, Missouri. He became at once 
a director of this bank and accepted the 
position of cashier, which he filled with 
great credit to himself and satisfaction 
to the other ofificers and the patrons of 
the bank until the spring of 1910. He is 
also treasurer of the Jones Farming 
Company of Humphreys, which belongs 
to his father. 

In political faith Mr. Jones is an 
ardent ^nd active Democrat. He has 
never yet sought office for himself, but 
has always taken a deep and helpful in- 
terest in the affairs of his party. In re- 
ligious connection he is a memlier of the 
Christian church and in fraternal life 



206 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



a Freemason and a member of the Order 
of Elks. In business he is very prom- 
inent and has been very successful. 

On August 28 he was joined in mar- 
riage with Miss Fay Hanly, a native of 
Missouri, who presides over their beau- 
tiful home in Shelbina with a grace and 
dignity which makes it one of the fav- 
orite social resorts of the town and gives 
it a wide renown and excellent reputa- 
tion for refined and gracious hosiiitality. 
Mr. Jones is at this time (1911) but 
thirty-two years of age, and he has al- 
ready risen to the iirst rank in the busi- 
ness life of the community. He is en- 
ergetic, healthy, and wideawake. His 
alertness of vision and quickness of re- 
sponse leaves no opportunity unused for 
his advancement, and if a judgment can 
be predicated on his past with reference 
to his future, he is destined to become 
one of the leading and most substantial 
citizens of the county. All who know 
him look forward to a bright and useful 
career for him in the years to come, and 
all wish him success in every undertak- 
ing, for he is universally esteemed. He 
is at present engaged in wheat grow- 
ing near Milford, Canada, having a sec- 
tion of land all under cultivation. 

WILLIAM A. KEID. 

Coming to Shelbina when it was only a 
country railroad station on the prairie, 
and spending thirty-two years of his use- 
ful life in helping to develop its latent 
resources, which bis penetrating eye en- 
abled him to see and his business ca- 
pacity enabled him to use for his own 
advantage and that of the people who 
followed his lead into this locality, tlie 
late William A. Reid was a potent factor 



in pushing foi-ward the progress and im- 
provement of this jjortiou of the state of 
Missouri, and through his worth, enter- 
prise and public services became one of 
its leading and most resj^ected citizens. 
He has left behind him a memory that 
everybody reveres and a record of fruit- 
ful work that all classes of the people 
are justly proud of. 

The Old Dominion claims him as one 
of her native sons, he having been born 
in Rappahannock county, Virginia, on 
January 24-, 1829, the son of Alfred and 
Patsy (Rector) Reid, prosperous plant- 
ers of that county, and held in the high- 
est esteem by its people. His father was 
a farmer and passed his life in Virginia. 
He was the only son in a family of 
twenty-five children and he and his wife 
died in Fauquier county, Virginia. 

The educational facilities surrounding 
Mr. Reid in his boyhood and youth were 
neither extensive nor advanced. His 
education in books was therefore limited 
and confined to the rudiments of scholas- 
tic acquirements. At the age of fifteen 
years he began the battle of life for him- 
self as a clerk in a general store at Rec- 
tortown, in his native county, and there 
he remained until 1858, when he came to 
this countj' and located at what is now 
the city of Shelbina. Everything in the 
neighborhood in the way of development 
was but begim, but to his prophetic 
vision the region possessed great possi- 
bilities, and to bringing them into notice 
and service he sedulously devoted all his 
energies. He opened a general store in 
a small frame building on the north side 
of the railroad track, on a capital of 
$1,200. His beginning in business was 
on a small scale, and his progress for a 
time was slow and bv short advances. 



/- 



lBli^%V 




WILLIAM A. REID 



HISTORY OP SHELBY COUNTY 



207 



He had all the iucouvenieaces and diffi- 
culties of a new country remote from 
business centers and sources of supply 
to contend with, and these were often 
magnified by climatic conditions and 
other elements of obstruction. 

But the man with whom Fortune 
Beemed to be toying, and at times trifling, 
was of a heroic mold and had great ten- 
acity of purpose. He was also prudent 
and frugal, and knew how to manage his 
affairs so as to make every dollar of his 
capital and every day of his labor count 
to his advantage, until the time of his 
death, which occurred on April 29, 
1890. Within three years after he 
opened his store and began his business 
career in this county, the Civil war broke 
out and placed the whole of this part of 
tiie country in a condition of great dis- 
turbance and uncertainty. Mr. Eeid, 
however, continued his business opera- 
tions, in spite of the difficulties and dan- 
gers of the situation, and kept on tri- 
umphing in the very face of a fate that 
seemed adverse to his welfare. 

Many times he was obliged to remove 
his stock and other valuables from place 
to place, and on one occasion took all he 
had to Quincy, Illinois. TMien Anderson 
raided the town in one of his forays Mr. 
Reid's store was one of the first to be 
plundered by the raiders, and he suf- 
fered heavily by their depredations. 
The disaster did not daunt him. He at 
once restocked his store and went on 
with his business. At various times dur- 
ing his mercantile operations in Shel- 
bina he had his brother, Oscar Eeid, 
George T. Hill and P. H. List associated 
with him, but during the greater jiart of 
the time he was alone in business. 

Throughout Ms residence in the city 



he always manifested the deepest and 
most serviceable interest in its welfare 
and the comfort and benefit of its people. 
He secured for the community its first 
postoffice and acted as postmaster from 
the opening of the office until the in- 
auguration of President Lincoln in 1861. 
In 1866 his store, along with the greater 
part of the town, was destroyed by fire. 
He immediately rebuilt his store, put- 
ting up a modern brick building, which 
was about the first erected in the place, 
and is still one of its most substantial 
brick business structures. 

After sixteen years of great activity 
and zeal in merchandising he grew tired 
of that line of business and sold his store 
in 187-1:. He then turned his attention to 
banking in partnership with Daniel 
Taylor under the firm name of Reid & 
Taylor. They were very successful and 
a few years after opening their banking- 
house merged the institution into a state 
bank. This also flourished and enjoj^ed 
the confidence of the whole county. This 
bank is now known as "The Old Bank 
of Shelbina", Mr. Reid being president 
of it at the time of his death. Mr. Reid 
was a careful and judicious investor as 
well as a wide-awake and progressive 
business man. 

He was one of the few men who in 
making money never accjuired a love for 
it for its mere possession. Nothing es- 
caped him in the way of a business op- 
portunity, but he was as free in opening 
his hand for benevolent and other worthy 
purposes as he was alert and firm in 
closing it on a profitable business deal. 
He was at all times throughout his life 
warmly, sincerely and ]iractically inter- 
ested in church work, and never with- 
held his help from any commendable un- 



208 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



dertaking- in this line of endeavor. Tlie 
first religious services ever held in Shel- 
bina were conducted in his store, and he 
also originated the first Sunday school 
in the town and for many years served 
as its superintendent. The First South- 
ern Methodist Episcopal church in the 
community was indebted almost wholly 
to him for its existence and the edifice 
in which the congregation worshiped. 
But he was far from being sectarian in 
his devotion to religious institutions. 
He aided generously all church organi 
zations in the city and county, no matter 
what denomination they belonged to. 

On April 22, 1862, he was united in 
marriage with Miss Elizabeth Minter, 
a daughter of Dr. Antony and Jane 
(Bybe) Minter. Eight children were 
born of the union, five of whom are liv- 
ing: Jessie, now Mrs. A. R. Wherritt, 
of Pleasant Hill, Missouri; Lena, now 
Mrs. George H. Mansfield, of New Jer- 
sey; Margaret, still at home; Victor M., 
a leading business man of Shelbina ; 
Clifford L., engaged in business at Shel- 
bina. 

Mrs. Eeid, the mother of these chil- 
dren, is still living in Shelbina, where 
she continues, as far as possible, the 
church and charitable work begun by 
her husband, and where she enjoys the 
confidence, esteem and admiring regard 
of all the people. Her husband had the 
happy faculty of making his business 
highly successful without exciting the 
envy or ill will of his fellow men. And 
she has tlio o(|ually valuable gift of doing 
good witliout ostentation or having 
the loftiness of her motives called in 
question. Husband and wife are firmly 
enshrined in the regard and good will 
of the iieople as leading citizens of the 



city and county, and promoters of every 
good work in the service of their resi- 
dents. 

ALBERT F. HUGGINS. 

A valiant soldier during the Civil war, 
the marks of whose cruelty he still bears, 
an industrious potter for many years 
in Illinois and this state, and an active 
and successful politician, Albert F. Hug- 
gins, of Shelbina, has borne a faithful 
and serviceable part in many lines of 
endeavor and has won high and well de- 
served credit for himself in all. Yet, not- 
withstanding the adventures he has had, 
the sufferings he has undergone and the 
success he has won, he bears his excellent 
reputation modestly and claims no credit 
for himself beyond that of having per- 
formed with fidelity everj^ duty that has 
been assigned to him. 

yir. Huggins was born in Parke county, 
Indiana, on February 3, 1843, and is a 
son of David F. and Nancy J. (Clenden- 
ing) Huggins, the former a native of In- 
diana and the latter of North Carolina. 
The father obtained a district school edu- 
cation and worked at his trade as a pot- 
ter to the end of his life. In 1852 lie 
moved from Indiana to Illinois, where he 
remained and kept his family until 1869. 
In that year he came to Missouri and 
located in Shelby county, taking up his 
residence at Lakenan. In that village he 
built a pottery which he conducted until 
he was killed in 1902. He was married to 
Miss Nancy J. Clendening, who was born 
and reared in North Carolina. They had 
six cliildren, three of whom are living: A. 
F. Huggins, of Shell)ina, the immediate 
subject of this brief memoir; Elizabeth, 
the wife of C. H. Ayers, of Lakenan ; and 
H. D. Huggins, a prominent resident of 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



209 



Shelbiua. lu politics the father was a 
Eepublican and iu fraternal life a Free- 
mason. 

His son, Albert F. Hug gins, was 
reared by the parental fireside and se- 
cured his education in the public schools, 
attending them in "Winchester, Illinois. 
Immediately upon leaving school he en- 
listed in the Union army as a member of 
Company H, One Hundred and Twenty- 
ninth Illinois Infantry, and was soon 
afterward at the front battling for the 
salvation of his country from dismem- 
berment. He remained in the army three 
years, taking part in the spectacular 
march of General Sherman's command 
from Atlanta to the sea. At the battle 
of Resaea, Georgia, he received a severe 
wound and was taken from the battle- 
field to the field hospital at Chattanooga. 
From there he was transferred soon af- 
terward to Nashville, and then to Louis- 
ville, and a little later to Jefferson Bar- 
racks, near St. Louis, Missouri. But 
wounded and suffering though he was, 
he was not allowed to remain at this 
fourth halting place. He was taken to 
Camp Butler at Springfield, Illinois, 
from there to Quiney in the same state, 
and then to Chicago, where he was soon 
afterward transferred to the invalid 
corps, which was the Second battalion of 
the Veteran Reserve corps. He remained 
in Chicago many months, and was there 
when tlie remains of President Lincoln 
were brought to the city in 1865, a short 
time before his honorable discharge 
from military service, and his return to 
the pursuits of peaceful industry. 

After the war he was engaged in the 
pottery business with his father at 
Whitehall, Illinois, until 1869, when the 



whole family moved to Missouri. For 
twenty years after that he was occupied 
in the manufacture of pottery at Lake- 
nan, this coimty, iu association with his 
father. In 1890 he was appointed post- 
master of Shelbiua by President Har- 
rison, a position to which he was again 
appointed by President McKinley, and 
which he lost during the first term of 
President Roosevelt because of factional 
difficulties in the party. But he was once 
more appointed in President Roosevelt's 
second term, and is still filling the office. 

Throughout the whole of his manhood 
■Mr. Huggius has been a Republican in 
l^olitical faith and very active in the 
service of his party. He has at all times 
been a wheelhorse in the local party cam- 
paigns and has held many offices in 
county and state conventions. In fra- 
ternal life he is a Freemason of the 
Knights Templar and 32nd degree, an 
Odd Fellow and a Knight of Pythias. He 
was married on February 2, 1870, to 
Miss Mary A. Ayers, of Whitehall, Illi- 
nois. They became the parents of four 
children, three of whom are living, as fol- 
lows: Richard, a resident of Shelbina; 
Allie, who lives in St. Louis ; and Eva M., 
who is now Mrs. Shell D. Erwin, of Le 
Grande, Oregon. 

Mr. Huggins has tlie esteem and good 
will of all who know him. He is re- 
garded as an excellent citizen, a useful 
factor in the development and improve- 
ment of the community in which he lives, 
and a valuable addition to any social cir- 
cle with which he mingles. No resident 
of Shelbina has a better reputation or a 
wider circle of admiring friends; and 
none is more deserving of the esteem of 
the people. 



210 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



DR. JACOB D. SMITH. 

Doubly orphaned by the death of both 
his parents when he was but four years 
of age, Dr. Jacob D. Smith, of Shelbina, 
has largely been the architect of his own 
fortunes. His success in his profession 
proves that he has builded well and the 
universal esteem in which he is held 
establishes the fact that his life has been 
useful to others as well as profitable to 
himself. 

Dr. Smith was born at Hannibal, ^Mis- 
souri, on January 25, 1849. His parents, 
Colombus and Maiy Smith, were natives 
of Kentucky but removed to Marion 
county, Missouri, in about 1838 or 1839. 
He was reared in the home of his imcle, 
Daniel Harris, of Quincy, Illinois, and 
was given every care and attention 
it was possible for a child to receive. 
He obtained his academic training by at- 
tending Soule's Academy and passing 
one year at the Quincy College. He be- 
gan the study of medicine by private 
reading under the direction of a good 
physician and then attended Eush Medi- 
cal College in Chicago, from whicli he 
was graduated with the degree of M. D. 
in 1870. 

The doctor began his practice in Sliel- 
byville in September, 1871, and remained 
there two years. In 1873 he moved to 
Shelbina and formed a partnership with 
Dr. E. N. Gerard, which continued about 
three years. Since its dissolution in 1876 
he has been constantly in active general 
practice for himself, rising steadily in 
the confidence and esteem of the people 
and his ]irofpssional In-ethren, and build- 
ing u]) au excellent reputation as a i)hysi- 



cian and as a citizen of worth and great 
usefulness. 

The life of a country physician in a 
new territory is necessarily one of priva- 
tion and self-sacrifice. He belongs wholly 
to the public, and his services are in con- 
tinual demand. The population is scat- 
tered and the calls cover many miles of 
travel eveiy day, often continuing into 
or even through the night. Leisure for 
rest, for recreation, for enjoyment, even 
for more advanced study in his work, is 
often totally denied him, or can be 
snatched only in fragments from more 
immediate and exacting claims upon his 
time and energies. Thus his life be- 
comes a continual round of toil and self- 
immolation on the altar of the public 
need and the general good of the com- 
munity in which he lives and operates. 

The experience was altogether a new 
one for Dr. Smith. From his childhood 
he had not been obliged to forego his own 
wishes for the comfort or welfare of 
others. But he accordingly accepted his 
daily consecration to the requirements 
of his fellows as a part of his destiny, 
and concerned himself mainly in dis- 
charging with fidelity and all the skill he 
could command the duties which were bo- 
fore him. This has been his habit and 
he has won the regard and good will of 
the whole county thereby. His practice 
is a large one and his patrons are repre- 
sentative in character and standing. He 
has also kept pace with the advance of 
his profession and is abreast with its 
latest thought and discovery. For even 
though a very busy man for many years, 
he has also been a studious one, and is 
well informed on all branches of his 
work, having taken post-graduate lee- 



HISTORY OP SHELBY COUNTY 



•^11 



tures in both Chicago and New York city. 

Socially he is agreeable and obliging, and 
this is an additional equipment for suc- 
cess in his practice and popularity among 
the people. He is a member of both 
county and state medical societies and 
holds membership in the National Medi- 
cal Association. The doctor is local sur- 
geon for the Burlington railroad and en- 
joys a wide acquaintance in Northern 
Missouri. 

On February 20, 1873, he was married 
to Miss Ida M. Myers, of Palmyra, Mis- 
souri. The six children who have blessed 
and brightened their household are all 
living. They are: Mark H., a resident 
of Brookfield, ^Missouri; Madge G., the 
wife of B. T. AVillis, of Clarence, this 
state; Julia C, the widow of Dr. J. C. 
Settles, of Arkadelphia, Arkansas ; Bes- 
sie B., the wife of E. W. Jewett, of Shel- 
bina ; Effie D. and Jo. The doctor is a 
Democrat in politics, a Baptist in reli- 
gious faith and a Knight of Pythias in 
fraternal life. 

THOMAS W. LYELL, D. D. S. 

Dr. Thomas W. Lyell, who is one of 
the leading dentists in Northern Mis- 
souri, is a scion of a distinguished fam- 
ily. He is a son of the late Thomas P. 
Lyell, a prominent citizen of this county, 
a brief account of whose useful and in- 
s])iring life will be found in the bio- 
graphy of John R. Lyell, another son of 
the same household and a brother of 
the doctor. In his professional work and 
]>rivate life the doctor worthily sustains 
the reputation of the family for intel- 
lectual supremacy, moral excellence and 
liigh-toned citizenship, with a progres- 



sive spirit that renders good service 
wherever the enduring welfare of the 
community is involved. 

Dr. Lyell was born in Shelby county on 
October 18, 1871. When he was twelve 
years of age the family moved to Shel- 
bina, and here he has ever since resided 
except during his absence at school. He 
began his academic training in the public 
schools of the town and the locality of 
his earlier home, and completed it at 
Central College, in Fayette, Missouri. In 
1893 he began the study of dentistry, 
finding in it agreeable occupation for his 
faculties at the start and pursuing it with 
a diligence and interest which have never 
flagged. He was graduated from the 
Western Dental College in Kansas City, 
Missouri, in 1896, and at once entered 
upon the practice of his profession at 
Shelbina, where he is still actively en- 
gaged in it. 

The science of dentistry is a progres- 
sive one and requires close and continued 
study to keep pace with its rapid ad- 
vancement. Dr. Lyell has been all that 
the case requires in this respect and is 
well up in all departments of his work. 
He is master of the theories on which 
the science is based and has been de- 
veloped, and is also a skillful, ready and 
resourceful practitioner. All that is 
latest and best in dentistry he has liter- 
ally at his lingers' ends, his primary am- 
bitions being to give his patrons the best 
]iossible returns for the money they pay 
him and make himself a complete and 
unquestioned master of his business. 

Although he is wedded to his profes- 
sional work and makes it his chief con- 
cern, Dr. Lyell finds time to carefully 
consider and actively aid in promoting 



21-^ 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



the general weal of the community. He is 
zealous in the support of every commeud- 
able undertaking for the advancement 
and improvement of the city and county 
of his home, and deeply and intelligently 
interested in the public affairs of the 
state and the country. In political faith 
and allegiance he is a firm and faithful 
Democrat, giving his party and its candi- 
dates effective support altliough seeking 
none of the honors or emohunents of 
office for himself. Having interests in 
several farms in the county to the culti- 
vation of which he gives a share of his 
personal attention, he is also useful in 
heljiing the agricultural interests of this 
portion of the state to higher and better 
development. His social rank in the com- 
munity is among the highest, and his at- 
tention to social matters gives them tone 
and intensity of life, while his genial and 
captivating personality renders him a 
favorite in any cii-cles of which he is a 
part. His religious affiliation is with the 
M. E. Church South and his fraternal 
connection with the Knights of Pythias 
and the Modern Woodmen of America. 

On October 1, 1896, he united in mar- 
riage with Miss Mary Wilson, who was 
born and reared in this state. She pre- 
sides over their ]ileasant home with grace 
and dignity, making it a favorite resort 
for their hosts of friends, who find it a 
center of social and intellectual culture 
and a summer region of refined and gen- 
erous hospitality. 

JOSEPH A. DANIEL, D. D. S. 

Dr.' Joseph A. Daniel, who is a prom- 
inent dentist of Shelbina and making an 
excellent record and reputation in his 



l^rofession, is a native of this state and 
wholly a product of its institutions, hav- 
ing never lived out of it except when he 
was attending the dental college in pre- 
paration for his life work. He was born 
in Randolph county on September 8, 
1877, and is a son of John S. and Elmyra 
V. (Hutton) Daniel, the former born in 
Kentucky in 1831 and the latter a native 
of Missouri. They were married in 
1869 and became the parents of seven 
children, all of whom are living. They 
are : Eolla E., a resident of this county; 
Elizabeth, wife of A. W. Meadows, of 
Clarence; Edgar J., also a resident of 
Clarence; William 0., of Clarence, and 
Josephus, of Shelbina, twin brothers; 
Iva M., wife of Dr. Maddox, of Middle- 
grove, Monroe county; and Ora M., 
whose home is in Shelby county. 

When the father was eighteen years 
old the siren voice of California was fill- 
ing the world with its golden music, and 
he, like many another adventurous spirit, 
was lured by it to the distant Pacific 
slope, joining the hardy and hopeful 
band of argonauts who have passed into 
history as "the Forty-Niners," and 
whose daring journey across the track- 
less plains of our then unknown western 
world has taken its ]3lace high among the 
romantic and heroic episodes of all our 
history. The success Mr. Daniel achieved 
in the new eldorado has not been made 
a part of the record, but it was not 
enough to induce him to remain in the 
mining regions. He returned to his Ran- 
dolph county farm in due season and in 
1884 moved to this county, where he has 
ever since remained and devoted his en- 
ergies to advanced and profitable farm- 
ing and stock raising on an extensive 



HISTORY OP SHELBY COUNTY 



213 



scale. He was the first man in Shelby 
county to handle mules in his farming 
operations, and through his example and 
success with them their use soon became 
general. He is not now actively engaged 
in farming, but is taking for the re- 
mainder of his days a needed and well- 
earned rest, living quietly amid the sub- 
stantial comforts of the home he has 
created and happy in the general regard 
and good will of his fellowmen. In yioli- 
tics he has been a life-long Democrat, 
active in the service of his party and 
firmly holditg on to its principles in 
spite of all new theories of government, 
heresies of politicians and vagaries of 
])ublic sentiment. His religious connec- 
tion is with the sect known as the Chris- 
tians, with whom he has been long and 
faithfully affiliated. 

Dr. Joseph A. Daniel grew to manhood 
on his father's farm and was educated 
in the public schools of Shelby county 
as a preparation for higher training, and 
this he obtained in a two years' course at 
the State Normal School at Kirksville. 
After leaving that institution he taught 
school in this county two years. In 1902 
he entered the Chicago College of Dental 
Surgery, from which he was graduated 
in 1905. He began practicing the same 
summer at Shelbina as a ]>artner of Dr. 
Thomas W. Lyell, and from then until 
now he has devoted himself wholly to his 
])rofession. He has been very successful 
and is regarded as one of the leading 
dentists of this portion of Missouri. By 
close study and -judicious reflection he 
keeps in touch with all that is progres- 
sive and advanced in the profession, and 
his patrons can always rely on getting 
from him the best service which the 



science of dentistry administered by 
skillful practice can give. He adheres to 
the Democratic party in politics and be- 
longs to the Christian church in religious 
association. On June 9, 1909, he was 
married to Miss Anna Blakey of Boul- 
der, Colorado. The doctor stands well 
in the community and is deserving of the 
general esteem he enjoys among all 
classes of the people. 

JAMES F. ALLGAIEE. 

This prominent and influential citizen 
of Shelbina, who is at this time (1911) 
the mayor of the city, is descended from 
good old Pennsylvania Dutch stock, and 
has exemplified in his career all the 
sturdy and sterling qualities for business 
pursuits and reliable citizenship which 
are characteristic of the people from 
whom he sprimg. His g r a n d f a t h e r, 
George Allgaier, was born and reared 
in the sterling and substantial old city 
of Eeading, Pennsylvania, and in his 
early manhood moved into what was then 
the wilderness of Kentucky, locating near 
what is now the city of Georgetown in 
that progressive and flourishing com- 
monwealth. 

In that vicinity Mr. Allgaier 's father, 
Michael S. Allgaier, was born on Jan- 
uary 1, 1828, and there he grew to man- 
hood and obtained such schooling as the 
frontier was able to furnish to its hardy 
and self-rehant children; and later grad- 
uated from Bordstown College of Bords- 
town, Kentuclcy. In 1856 he did as his 
father had done in his early manhood, 
made his way into the farther "West and 
helped to lay the foundations of a new 
empire remote from the centers of popu- 



214 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



lation and refinement. He came to Mis- 
souri and planted his hopes in Platte 
county, where he carried on an extensive 
business as a wholesale and i-etail grocer 
until the beginning of the Civil war in 
1861. Believing firmly as he did in the 
sovereignty of the states, and seeing in 
the political conditions of the time, as 
thousands besides him saw, a menace to 
that sovereignty, the call of the South 
for volunteers to defend her institutions 
and political jjrinciples was to him a 
trumpet-toned command to duty, and he 
at once enlisted in the Confederate army 
in Texas. He served in the same com- 
mand throughout the war, his services 
being confined almost wholly within that 
state. He belonged to what was known 
as the army of "Minutemen," and was 
under command of General Joe Selby. 

Wlien the cause he espoused went 
down into everlasting defeat at Appo- 
mattox, and its gory banners were for- 
ever furled from warlike strife, he re- 
turned to this state and took up his resi- 
dence in Monroe county, where he turned 
his attention to farming. In 1869 he 
moved to Clinton county, and there until 
1893 he was actively engaged in culti- 
vating the soil and raising live stock. 
He was active in the public affairs of 
the county, as a good citizen always is, 
and in course of time was elected sheriff 
for three terms. His political force and 
capacity for official duties was so well 
known that he was also appointed at an- 
other time sergeant-at-arms of the Mis- 
souri house of representatives. For a 
number of years thereafter he lived con- 
tentedly on his Clinton county farm and 
gave the general public the good service 
as an auctioneer throughout a wide ex- 



tent of the surrounding coimtry, lifting 
up his voice in this capacity in many 
counties and winning golden opinions 
everywhere for his excellent judgment 
and skill in exercising it in his public 
work. 

In 1893 he moved to the city of St. 
Josejah, where he passed the remainder 
of his days, dying on August 2, 1908. He 
was twice married, first to Miss Harriet 
M. Anderson, a native of Kentucky, 
whom he espoused in about 1848. They 
had four children. Of these only one is 
living, James F. Allgaier, of Shelbina, 
the immediate subject of this brief re- 
view. The father's second marriage was 
with Miss Amanda M. Williams and oc- 
curred in May, 1859. They became the 
parents of nine children, seven of whom 
are living : Albert W., of Shelby county ; 
Sebastian A., of Chicago; John J., of 
Wichita Kansas ; Eugene A., of Buchanan 
county, this state ; Catherine, the wife of 
Daniel S. O'Haron, of Richmond, Mis- 
souri; Mary A., the wife of Richard 
Rigney, of Shelbina ; and Michael Owens, 
of Sedalia, Missouri. In politics the 
father lived and died a Democrat of the 
old school. In religious belief and train- 
ing he was a Catholic. To his party and 
his church he was true and faithful, as 
he was to his family and every duty that 
called him to action. 

James F. Allgaier was born at George- 
town, Kentucky, on September 21, 1853. 
When he was three years old he was 
brought by his parents to this state and 
became a resident of Platte county. He 
began his education in the district 
schools of that county, continued it in 
those of Monroe county and finished it 
in those of Clinton county. After leav- 




GEN. J. WILLIAM TOWSON 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



215 



ing school he worked on his father's 
fann until 1881, acquiring strength of 
body and independence of spirit in its 
useful labors and from his continual 
communion with nature, and also the 
self-reliance and resourcefulness which 
result from conditions that recjuire every 
man to be ready for emergencies at a 
moment's notice. In 1881 he moved to 
this county and during the next three 
years followed farming and raising live 
stock on his own account. At the end 
of that period he took up his residence 
in Shelbina, where he clerked in a dry 
goods store for a short time, then en- 
gaged in the grocery trade for awhile. 
He grew tired of this line of merchandis- 
ing and sold his business in order that 
he might give his attention to the drug 
trade. 

Mr. Allgaier has been active in pro- 
moting the welfare of the town, taking 
a broad view of its needs and employing 
all his energy to aid in providing for 
them. His busy brain and tireless hand 
have lent their force to every commend- 
able enterprise for improving the city 
and augmenting the comfort and con- 
venience of its people. He has shirked 
no duty and gone at nothing worthj' of 
his attention in a half-hearted way. His 
value as a leading citizen is highly ap- 
preciated, and as an evidence of this fact 
he was elected mayor of the city in April, 
1907, and is still filling the office with 
great credit to himself and decided bene- 
fit to the community. In jiolitics he is a 
Democrat, in fraternal life a Modern 
Woodman and in religion a Catholic. 

In addition to his regular mercantile 
industry Mr. Allgaier is extensively en- 
gaged in feeding cattle and hogs, ship- 



ping large numbers of each to many dif- 
ferent parts of the country. He is also 
a stoclvholder and director of the Old 
Bank of Shelbina, the oldest bank in 
the county. On April 19, 1881, he was 
married to Miss Nancy E. Gaugh, a resi- 
dent of this county. She is an enthu- 
siastic second to his own generous in- 
tellectual hospitalitj', cordially welcom- 
ing and entertaining any good sugges- 
tion, no matter where it comes from, and 
seeking to make the best of it for the 
good of the people around her. To- 
gether they interest themselves in all 
worthy undertakings whereby the moral, 
mental and social agencies of the com- 
munity may be increased in usefulness, 
augmented in power and rendered more 
serviceable. They do not say or think 
this of themselves, and perhaps their 
modesty may be offended by having it 
said of them by others. But it is true, 
nevertheless, and worthy of being re- 
corded here where the makers and build- 
ers of the community are commended ac- 
cording to the disposition they have 
shown and the work they have done. 

GEN. J. WILLIAM TOWSON. 

The history of Maryland is glorious 
in peace and war. Her Old Line batal- 
lions confronted the scarlet uniform and 
glittering steel of Great Britain in the 
Eevolution from Bunker Hill to York- 
town. In the Mexican war her gallant 
soldiery was conspicuous in winning- 
some of the most spectacular victories 
of that short but decisive conflict. And 
when the clouds of civil strife burst with 
destructive fury over our unhappy land 
in 1861, the valor of her arms and brav- 



216 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



ery of her sons were manifested on many 
a sanguinary field under both the Star 
Spangled Banner and the Stars and 
Bars. In the civic affairs of the country 
her statesmen have been farsighted, 
prudent and progressive. They stood 
by the Declaration of Independence with 
all their worldly possessions pledged to 
its supi)ort. It was their firm and far- 
seeing ijolicy that gave to the country its 
immense public domain. And in all 
other public matters they have been 
recorded on the side of right, justice and 
humanitJ^ 

Gen. J. William Towson, the interest- 
ing subject of this brief review, is a na- 
tive of Maryland, having been born in 
that state on March 2, 1839, near Will- 
iamsport, in Washington county. His 
parents were William and Louisa (Ham- 
me) Towson, the former a native of 
Maryland and the latter of Virginia. 
The father was a merchant and then a 
farmer and passed the whole of his life 
in his native state, dying in the region 
hallowed by his labors in 1868. He was 
a son of Jacob T. Towson, who also was 
born and reared in ^laryland, where he 
was an extensive landholder and planter, 
and also engaged extensively in mer- 
chandising, and wliere he dwelt from the 
beginning to the end of his life. He 
was a gentleman of prominence and in- 
fluence in the state, widely known 
throughout its extent and highly es- 
teemed by all classes of its people. He 
was of English ancestry but thoroughly 
imbued with the spirit of American in- 
stitutions and devotedly loyal to them 
according to his predilections and train- 
ing. 

General Towson, the subject of this 



sketch, grew to manhood and was edu- 
cated in Maryland, completing his scho- 
lastic training at schools in Baltimore. 
He began the battle of life for himself 
as a clerk in a wholesale drug store, and 
served in this capacity until the great 
Civil war called to its ranks the man- 
hood of the country to supply two mighty 
armies for fraternal and sectional strife. 
Following his convictions he went south 
— purely a volunteer — willing to offer 
up his life on the altar of his faith in 
defense of them. Mr. Towson enlisted 
in the Confederate army, commanded by 
the great military chieftain, Gen. Kobert 
E. Lee, as a member of the renowned 
"Black Horse Troop" of the Fourth 
Virginia Cavalry. In this command he 
served to the end of the war, except for 
a period of about thirty days, when he 
was a prisoner, having been captured at 
Warrenton, Virginia, in May, 1863. 

The command to which he was at- 
tached was that of Gen. Fitz Lee, one of 
the great fighting divisions of the South- 
ern army that fought its most memor- 
able conflicts between Washington and 
Richmond, the Confederate cajntal, bat- 
tling also at Gettysburg, Sharpsburg and 
elsewhere. He personally participated 
in many memorable engagements, such 
as Brandy Station, Eaccoon Ford, Aldie, 
Hanover, Carlisle and the battle of Get- 
tysburg in Pennsylvania, the Wilder- 
ness, Spottsylvania, Cold Harbor, Yel- 
low Tavern, where the superb cavalry 
leader, Gen. J. E. B. Stuart, fell, Tra- 
villion Station, Winchestei*, the siege of 
Richmond by Grant, ending in the disas- 
trous conflict at Five Forks and the re- 
treat of what was left of that grand 
annv of Robert E. Lee, known as "The 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



217 



Army of Northern Virginia." to A))po- 
mattox, where he surrendered it to Gen. 
Grant. The war over, he stayed in Vir- 
ginia and Maryland until March, 1866. 

At the time last mentioned he came to 
Shelbina as land agent of the Hannibal 
& St. Joseph Railroad. He has ever 
since been actively engaged in selling the 
lands of the railroad company and the 
real estate business on his own account, 
and has been very successful in his un- 
dertakings. Being a man of very ener- 
getic and versatile mental equi]inient, he 
has also given attention to other lines of 
business, has been president of the Com- 
mercial Bank, vice-president of the Old 
Bank of Shelbina, serving it in that ca- 
pacity for a number of years, and is still 
one of its directors. All the affairs of 
the community of his home have had the 
benefit of his close and conscientious at- 
tention and the benefit of his intelligence 
in council concerning them and his enter- 
prise in promoting whatever was good 
for the people. 

Politically Mr. Towson is a Democrat, 
and under all circumstances he has taken 
an active and serviceable interest in the 
aft'airs of his party. As one of its lead- 
ing members he was elected mayor of 
Shelbina at the first election aft6r the 
incorporation of the municipality. He 
was knowing, courageous and indepen- 
dent in the performance of his official 
duties and gave the city an excellent ad- 
ministration of its affairs. His religious 
affiliation is witli the Presbyterian 
church and his fraternal allegiance is 
given to the Masonic order. In this fra- 
ternity he is prominent and well known 
all over the state. He holds the rank of 
Past Master in the Blue Lodge and has 



ascended the mystic ladder of the craft 
through many of its more elevated di- 
visions; is a Knight Templar and a 
Noble of the Mystic Shrine. He keeps 
the memories of his military service 
alive by prominent membership in the 
order of United Confederate A^eterans, 
in which he is now commander of the 
eastern half of Missouri, with the rank 
of brigadier-general . 

Mr. Towson was first married in 1868 
to Miss Gabie Combs, the nuptials being 
celebrated in Shelbina. Her life ended 
sadly in an accident on the railroad, 
April 13, 1890. His second marriage 
occurred October 20, 1891, and in this 
he became united with Miss Emma Mo- 
sher, who was born in Michigan. Mrs. 
Fowson entered the life eternal in July, 
1910. They had no children of their 
own, but reared an adopted daughter, 
who is now Mrs. Clyde F. Lloyd, of 
Chicago. 

For forty-three years Mr. Towson has 
been a resident of Shelbina and contrib- 
uted to its advancement and the substan- 
tial comfort and enduring welfare of its 
people. He is highly esteemed among 
them, being regarded as one of the lead- 
ing and most representative citizens of 
the community, and one of its most fruit- 
ful factors in business, social and gen- 
eral life. Although he has reached the 
limit of human life as fixed by the sacred 
writer, he is still hale, vigorous and 
active, and continues his industrious 
contributions to the business progress 
of the community. The record of his 
peaceful enterprise is written in its de- 
velopment, and the foundation for ad- 
vancement that he has helped to build is 
such that it will be creditable to and suf- 



218 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COU^^TY 



ficient for any superstructure that may 
be reared upon it. Living in it during 
the formative part of its history, he has 
done well his part, and has thereby given 
to those who may come after him a fine 
example of fidelity, breadth of view and 
high class citizenship which is well 
worthy of all imitation. 



THOMAS J. EICE. 

For a full quarter of a century a resi- 
dent of Shelby county, and during more 
than a third of the tune a citizen of Shel- 
bina, Thomas J. Rice has contributed his 
full share to the growth and develop- 
ment of this i)ortion of the state and 
done well his duty as an active and in- 
dustrious factor for good among this 
people. He is a native of the state, born 
in Scotland county on November 7, 1858, 
and although portions of his life have 
been passed elsewhere, he has always 
been deeply interested in the state of 
his nativity and the enduring welfare of 
its people. 

Mr. Eice is of Kentucky ancestry, his 
grandfather, Daniel C. Rice, having been 
born and reared in that state and hav- 
ing lived there many years. He is a 
son of Jackson A. and Margaret (Rose- 
borough) Rice, the former born in 
Hardin county, Kentucky, where his life 
began on December 25, 1835, and the lat- 
ter in Scotland county in this state. The 
father accompanied his parents to ]\Iis- 
souri when ho was but one year old and 
returned with tliem to Kentucky when 
he was four. The family remained in 
Kentucky three years, and in 1845 again 
became residents of Missouri, locating 



in Scotland county, where the father 
conducted a flourishing business as a 
farmer and breeder of live stock, in 
which his son united with him as soon 
as he was old enough. 

In 1860 the elder Mr. Rice went to 
California with an older brother. He 
was very successful in locating good 
claims in Colorado, having returned that 
far east after a short stay in California, 
and returned to this "state in 1863 with 
money enough to buy a farm near that 
of his father in Scotland county. He 
took up his residence on this farm, but 
it brought him a trying existence. Not 
only was the country wild and unde- 
veloped, and therefore difficult to bring 
to cultivation and fruitfulness, but the 
state militia was exceedingly trouble- 
some during the Civil war. The force 
was out of commission and many of its 
members, realizing that they were not 
responsible to any definite authority, 
roamed at will and committed continual 
depredations on unprotected settlers. 
Horses and cattle were stolen and run 
off by them, outhouses and even dwel- 
lings and personal violence was some- 
times inflicted. The Rice family bore 
its troubles bravely, enduring the wrongs 
it suffered with fortitude if not always 
with patience and forbearance, and at 
length conditions greatly improved 
for it. 

In 1867 the family moved to Clark 
county and located on a farm which it 
occupied and operated until 1903. when 
the father moved to Howell county, 
where he now resides. He was married 
in 1857 to Miss Margaret Roseborough, 
of Scotland county, this state. They be- 
came the parents of one child, their son. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



219 



Thomas J., who is the immediate sub- 
ject of this sketch. The father is au 
earnest Democrat in political faith and 
belongs to the Christian church. The 
mother died at the birth of our subject 
in 1858 and the father married a second 
time, his second wife being Euliama 
Morrill who is still living. They had 
three sous and three daughters. 

Thomas J. Eice attended the public 
schools in Scotland and Clark counties 
and also the Baptist College at Alex- 
andria, Missouri. Upon the completion 
of his education he went to Arkansas, 
where he remained five years, teaching 
school during the winter months and act- 
ing as private secretary for Robert Mc- 
Clelland, a wealthy cattle man, during 
the summers. At the end of the period 
mentioned he returned to Missouri and 
passed one year in Shelbina as a clerk 
and salesman for W. H. Dye, then one 
of the leading general merchants of the 
city. He next located on a farm near 
Shelbina, on which he dwelt eleven years. 
From that farm he moved to another 
near Lentner which he occupied and 
worked for five years. In August, 1901, 
he returned to Shelbina, and here he has 
ever since resided. He is now busily en- 
gaged in the real estate and fire insur- 
ance business, largely in behalf of the 
Farmers' Mutual Fire Association of 
Shelby county, of which he has been 
president since 1897. 

Mr. Rice's interests are numerous and 
valuable. He is a large landowner, a 
stockholder in the Old Bank of Shelbina 
and connected with several other enter- 
prises of moment in themselves and 
highly beneficial to the community. He 
was also one of the founders of the 



Farmers' & Merchants' Bank, which is 
now the Shelbina National Bank, and one 
of its first stockholders and directors. 
He is a Democrat in politics and holds 
membership in the Order of Odd Fel- 
lows, the Modern Woodmen of America 
and the Order of Royal Neighbors fra- 
ternally. He is also an active and zeal- 
ous church worker, being steward of the 
congregation to which he belongs in the 
Methodist Episcopal church. South. 

On April 30, 1885, Mr. Rice was mar- 
ried to Miss Ida M. Freeland, of this 
county. They have had five children, 
three of whom are living. These are: 
Vivian, wife of P. G. Fox, of Shelbina; 
and Giles G. and Freeland R., who are 
living at home. Margaret died in 1909. 
Exemplifying in their daily lives all do- 
mestic and social attributes, and giving 
to those around them examples in every 
relation which are worthy of all imita- 
tion, ]\tr. and Mrs. Rice are justly re- 
garded as among the best and most esti- 
mable citizens of the county, and are uni- 
versally respected and admired as such. 

WILLIAM H. GILLISPIE. 

Actively engaged in a business of uni- 
versal interest and value to all classes 
of the community, prominent in social, 
fraternal and church relations, and tak- 
ing always a good citizen's share of the 
burden of public affairs u]ion himself, 
AA'iUiam H. Gillispie, of Shelbina, is one 
of the leading and most serviceable men 
in the world of Shelby county life, and is 
universally esteemed as such. He was 
born in this state on June 24, 1875, a 
native of Monroe county, but comes of 
good old Kentuckv stock. His grand- 



2-10 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



father, Angel Gillispie, was born and 
reared in the Bhie Grass state and in- 
herited from his ancestors a decided ten- 
dency to adventure and conquest. The 
same spirit that led them to leave the 
older and more civilized sections of the 
countrj^ and brave the hardships and 
privations, the daily toils and nightly 
perils of frontier life in the wilds of Ken- 
tucky, impelled him to turn his back upon 
the home of his youth, and in early man- 
hood become a pioneer in Missouri and 
hew out a pathway of progress in manly 
endeavor for hunself in this then unset- 
tled country, which was slill fraught 
with hazards that always lie beyond the 
boundaries of civilization. 

Accordingly he gathered his household 
goods about him, bringing his family to 
what is now Missouri when his son, John 
W. Gillispie, the father of William H., 
who is the occasion of this writing, was 
but a child. On the virgin soil of our 
present state John W. Gillispie grew to 
manhood and obtained the limited ex- 
tent of scholastic training that was then 
available in the wilderness. Upon reach- 
ing his maturity lie turned his attention 
to farming, and tliis proved to be his 
life's occupation, for he continued at it 
imtil his death in 1884. He was married 
in 1870 to Miss Alice Crow, of Monroe 
county, and they became the ])arents of 
six children, all of whom are living, and 
in various capacities contributing to the 
growth and develo])ment of the country. 
They are : Jacob C, who lives in Shel- 
bina ; Maude, the wife of R. A. Threlkeld, 
of Rhelliy county; Edward, who is a 
prominent citizen of Monroe county; 
William H., of Shelbina; Elsie, who is 
living at home; and John M., who is also 



one of the wideawake and progressive 
men that give life and interest to the 
business and social life of Shelbina. The 
father was a devoted member of the 
Democratic party in whose ])rinciples he 
saw the best theory of government under 
our constitution, and in religious affairs 
adhered to the doctrines and teachings 
of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
South. 

William H. Gillispie obtained his early 
education in the district schools of Mon- 
roe county and later attended a good 
business college at Hannibal, Missouri, 
from which he was graduated in 1895. 
When his preparation for the battle of 
life was completed he entered upon the 
struggle as a clerk for his uncle, Frank 
Crow, who carried on an extensive mill- 
ing business at Shelbina, Missouri. He 
then passed three years as a clerk in the 
employ of Messrs. Smith & Bowling, 
leading merchants of Shelbina. 

He had not yet found his proper bear- 
ings in business and continued in search 
of them. He next engaged in the real 
estate and abstract business in associa- 
tion with the present state senator from 
Shelbina, Hon. George W. Hmnphre^', 
whose life story is briefly recorded on 
another page of this volume. He re- 
mained with IMr. Humphrey until 1902, 
when he purchased the interest of the 
senator in the business and took in as 
new partners J. H. Wood and R. L. 
Thomas, the firm name being Wood, 
Thomas & Gillispie. This firm continued 
in business until 1907. In that year Mr, 
Wood sold his interest in the enterprise 
to his partners, and tiiey have since been 
conducting the business under the name 
and style of Thomas & Gillispie. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



221 



At all stages of the game Mr. Gillispie 
lias been successful aud prosperous. He 
owns considerable real estate in this 
county, in Kansas City, and in otlier 
parts of the state. He is widely and 
favorably known as a business man of 
integrity and intelligence, a citizen of 
great public spirit and progressiveness, 
aud a gentleman of social culture and 
genial disposition and manners. He is 
a Democrat in politics, an Odd Fellow 
and a Modern Woodman of America in 
fraternal relations and a member of the 
Methodist Ejiiscopal Church South in 
religious affiliation. 

The city of Shelbina and the whole of 
the surrounding county are much in- 
debted to him for his activity and stimu- 
lating example in the matter of improve- 
ment and development, and the people al- 
ways expect to find him at the front in 
behalf of any worthy and commendable 
enterprise in which the welfare of the 
public is involved; and they are never 
disappointed in this respect. In addi- 
tion to being active in such matters, he 
is also far-seeing and resourceful, and 
his aid is always valued whether it be 
given in coimsel or in zealous and pro- 
ductive service as a worker. His citizen- 
ship is elevated and elevating; his ex- 
ample is impressive and stimulating; his 
fidelitj' to duty is constant and effective. 
No man stands higher in the regard of 
the people and none deserves more in 
the w^ay of respect and good will. 

JOHN T. GOSE. 

John T. Gose and George Gose are 
the sole surviving children of John S. 
Gose and Margaret A. Gose. They were 
born on what is known as the Gose farm, 



in Monroe county, Missouri, and one and 
one-half miles south of Shelbina. They 
lived on the farm until the death of their 
father in 1873, and then moved with their 
mother to Shelbina where they still live. 
Margaret A. Gose died in October, 1905. 

John S. Gose was born in Virginia and 
was a son of Levi Gose and ]\Iary Gose, 
nee Davis. They came to this state in 
the thirties and settled in Monroe county. 

Margaret A. Gose was a daughter of 
Angel Gillispie and Lucinda Gillispie, 
nee Spencer. Her father and mother 
were native Kentuckiaus and came to 
Monroe county soon after Missouri be- 
came a state. She was born on the old 
Gillispie place near Old Clinton, Mon- 
roe county, in 1834, and first married 
to William Lasley. C. H. Lasley, of 
Shelbina, is the only surviving child of 
this marriage. 

John T. Gose was two years old when 
the family moved to Shelbina. He at- 
tended the public schools and the Shel- 
bina Collegiate Institute, graduating in 
1888. He spent one year in the mercan- 
tile business in Monroe City, Missouri, 
and then entered Central College at 
Fayette, Missouri, from which institu- 
tion he received the degree of A.B. in 
1894. The following year he held a 
scholarship in Vanderbilt University at 
Nashville, Tennessee, and in 1896 this 
institution conferred upon him the de- 
gree of A. M. 

In the fall of 1896 he returned to Cen- 
tral College as professor of philosophy, 
but soon resigned this position to enter 
the ministry. He spent the next two 
years preaching in Keytesville, Missouri, 
and then resigned from the ministry to 
become a iiost graduate student in the 



223 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



University of Chicago. From the Uni- 
versity of Chicago he went to Culver 
Military Academy as professor of Eng- 
lish and history. At the close of the 
school year he returned to Chicago and 
matriculated at the Illinois College of 
Law. This institution conferred upon 
him the degrees of LL.B., LL.M., and 
D.C.L., made him a professor iia the col- 
lege and chose him, with its president, as 
delegate to the "Universal Congress of 
Lawyers and Jurists," at the Louisiana 
Purchase Exposition. 

In 1903 he resigned his position in the 
law school to return to his native state 
to practice law. He located in St. Louis 
and was engaged in the active practice 
of law in that city until the fall of 1906 
when he returned to Shelbina where he 
now lives and practices his profession. 

On December 21, 1904, he was married 
to Miss Eugenie Burruss Blocker, of 
Marshall, Texas. They have one child — 
George Blocker Gose. 

HARRY J. LIBBY. 

The law is a jealous mistress and 
exacts the utmost devotion and fidelity 
from her votaries. At the same time, 
she is generous and bestows her bounty 
with unstinted hand upon her deserving 
worshipers. Harry J. Libby, one of the 
leading lawyers of Shelby county, young 
man as he is yet, learned of her exactions 
early in the study of his profession and 
determined to meet the requirements, if 
assiduous effort and close application 
on his part would enable him to do it. 
He has paid his devotions at tiie shrine 
of Themis with the ardor of a zealot, 
and the goddess of his worsliip has re- 



warded his constancy with imperial gen- 
erosity, enabling him to win high rank 
as a lawyer and prominence and influ- 
ence as a citizen. 

Mr. Libby was born at Laclede, Linn 
county, Missouri, on July 31, 1885, and 
is a son of Judge Oscar F. and Rebecca 
J. (Watson) Libby, the former a native 
of Minnesota and the latter of this state. 
The father was born in 1851 and is a 
member of the Pioneers' Society of his 
native state. He also was bred to the 
law and has been iu active general prac- 
tice from the time of his admission to 
the bar, except during his service as dis- 
trict judge, which lasted a number of 
years. His professional studies were 
carried on iu Linn county, this state, of 
which he became a resident in 1868. He 
was admitted to practice in that county, 
and he is still living at Laclede and still 
engaged in conducting a large and re- 
munerative practice. He is of English 
ancestry. The mother is also still living, 
and like her husband, stands high in the 
regard of all who have the benefit and 
pleasure of knowing and associating with 
her. 

Their son, Harry J. Libby, began his 
scholastic training in the public schools 
of his native town and completed it at 
high school in Brookfield in the same 
county, from which he was graduated. 
He read law under the direction of his 
distinguished father, and was admitted 
to the bar of his native county in 1905. 
He at once began practicing in associa- 
tion with his father at Laclede, the firm 
name being 0. F. & H. J. Libby. But he 
was ambitious of making a reputation 
for himself unaided by family influence, 
and building his professional career ac- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



223 



cording to his own design. Therefore, 
in 1907, he started out for himself in 
independent practice, removing to Clar- 
ence for the purpose. In October of the 
year last mentioned he changed his resi- 
dence to Shelbiua, where he now enjoys 
a steadily inci'easing practice and is well 
established among the leading lawyers 
of the county. 

Mr. Libby has taken nothing for 
granted and left nothing to chance in his 
professional work. He is well grounded 
• in the basic principles of the law, and 
has also made himself master of the in- 
terpretations the courts have made of it. 
In addition, he has studiously acquired 
freedom and fluency in speech and alert- 
ness and skill in the trial of cases, so that 
he is both a judicious counselor and an 
able and resourceful advocate. He is, 
besides, a gentleman of high character 
and culture, exemplifying in his inter- 
course with his professional brethren 
and the people generally all the bland 
amenities of life and an exalted sense 
of uprightness and personal integrity. 

In the public affairs of the county he 
has manifested a helpful practical in- 
terest and a constant readiness to aid in 
promoting every worthy undertaking for 
the good of the people among whom his 
useful labors are performed. In politics 
he is allied with the Democratic partj^ 
and is one of the most resourceful and 
effective workers for the success of his 
party in all its campaigns. His frater- 
nal connections are with the ^Masonic 
order, the Independent Order of Odd 
Fellows, the Knights of Pythias and the 
IModern Woodmen of America. In each 
of these organizations lie takes an active 



interest and makes himself a serviceable 
and valued member. 

On October 21, 1909, Mr. Libby was 
united in marriage with Miss Carrie 
Belle Young, a native of Linn county, 
Missouri, and a daughter of Eobert and 
Emma (Bradley) Young. Her father, 
who is now deceased, was one of the most 
prominent and successful merchants of 
Brooklield, and one of the most highly 
respected and representative citizens of 
the county of his home. Mr. and Mrs. 
Libby are zealous and energetic mem- 
bers of the Christian church, sincerely 
devoted to its welfare and progress and 
earnest workers in the promotion of 
every phase of its useful activity. In 
all parts of Shelby county they are es- 
teemed as among its leading citizens, and 
throughout a large extent of the sur- 
rounding country they are held in cordial 
and appreciative regard by all classes of 
the people. 

WILLIAM A. MAUPIN. 

Beginning life for himself as a farmer 
and breeder of superior strains of live 
stock, and forced by declining health to 
retire from pursuits so ardiious and 
exacting, William A. Maupin, of Shel- 
bina, has nevertheless continued to fill 
an imiDortant place in the community 
and contribute essentially to its advance- 
ment and the substantial welfare of its 
peojjle. He is an extensive dealer in real 
estate of his own holdings and serves 
the Commercial Bank of Shelbiua as a 
stockholder and director. 

Mr. Maupin was born in Monroe 
county, this state, on March 4, 1860. He 
is a scion of old Virginia families which 



224 



JllSTUKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



dwelt on the soil and helped to promote 
the wealth and greatness of the Old Do- 
minion for generations, keeping up in 
their daily lives the lofty standard of 
its citizenship and doing all in their 
power to dignify and adorn its domestic 
and social life. Mr. Maupin's grand- 
father, Thomas G. Maupin, left the home 
of his fathers when he was in the full 
maturity of his manhood, and came to 
the wilderness west of the Mississipi^i to 
aid in subduing it to civilization and 
found a new home and shrine for the 
family on the far frontier. He arrived 
in this state in 1832 and located in Mon- 
roe county, where at an advanced age 
he died on a farm he had redeemed from 
the waste and made fruitful and at- 
tractive. 

His son, Wiliam H. Maupin, who was 
the father of "William A., was born in 
Virginia on May 20, 1816, and was six- 
teen years old when the family moved 
to this state. For a number of years he 
worked on his father's farm, helj)ing to 
break up the stubborn soil, and lending 
his assistance to the limit of liis powers 
in making it over into a comfortable and 
valuable home. In January, 1848, he 
was married to Miss Lizzie Maupin, who 
was a distant relative of the family and 
a native of Kentucky. The young couple 
settled at once on a farm of their own 
and began a useful and profitable career 
as farmei-s and live stock producer.s. 
They flourished in their enteri)rise, mak- 
ing steady gains in material substance 
<md winning their way to extensive pop- 
ular ajjpreciation and approval. Four- 
teen children were born to them, and of 
the fourteen seven are living: Mary A., 
tlie wife of K. 0. Estill, of Kansas Oitv, 



Missouri; Thomas C, a prominent citi- 
zen of Monroe county; Judge E. G. 
Maupin, of Shelbina; William A., also 
living in Shelbina; Minnie, the wife of 
E. J. King, of Shelbina ; Joseph F., of 
Shelbina; and Dr. Robert E., of Dwight, 
Illinois. The father gave his support 
through life to the Democratic party in 
political affairs and for long years was 
a devout and consistent member of the 
Methodist Episcopal church. South. The 
mother of these children died December 
19, 1878, and the father in 1888. 

William A. Maupin obtained his edu- 
cation in the district schools of ^fonroe 
county, leaving the altars of Cadmus at 
an early age to engage in the struggle 
for advancement in life as a farmer and 
breeder of live stock. He continued his 
farming operations for a number of 
years until, as has been noted, the state 
of his health obliged him to seek a less 
active and exacting pursuit. He still 
retains his interest in his farm and live 
stock industry but does not give them his 
whole attention. He now resides in 
Shelbina and is an important factor in 
the business and social life of that city. 
His chief occupation is connected with 
the purchase and sale of real estate as 
a member of, or in conection with, the 
firm of Dennis & Mau]iin of Clovis, New 
Mexico. He has extensive holdings of 
his own and carries on an active and 
thriving business. He is also connected 
with the financial and mercantile activi- 
ties of the community in other lines, be- 
ing a stockholder in and one of the 
directors of the Commercial Rank of 
Shelbina, as has been stated, and having 
a part in the management of other frscal 
or mercantile concerns. He is also zeal- 




JOHN T. COOPER 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



225 



ous and industrious iu making invest- 
ments for those who have capital and 
leading them to a wise use of their 
money, his judgment iu this respect be- 
ing highly valued and generally relied 
on. He is active in the affairs of the 
county, state and nation as a Democrat 
of firm convictions and serviceable loy- 
alty, and in the fraternal life around 
him as a Modern Woodnmn of America 
and a Knight of the Maccabees. 

Mr. Maupin has been very successful 
in business and he stands high in the 
social world. On all sides he is regarded 
as a leading and representative citizen, 
and as such he enjoys the esteem and 
good will of the whole community. On 
October 8, 1886, he was married to Miss 
Carrie Morrison, of Monroe county. They 
have four children all of whom are liv- 
ing' at liome with their parents and add- 
ing ))rightness and hap]3iness to the 
domestic fireside. They are three sons, 
Howard 'S., now attending the Chicago 
Medical University ; James and Warren, 
and one daughter, Mildred. 

For three generations this family has 
been a potential element in the develop- 
ment and progress of Missouri, and now 
that it is firmly planted on the soil of 
the state and become a part of its pro- 
ductive and advancing life, the increas- 
ing usefulness of its members in all 
social, political and religious relations, 
as time passes, may be counted upon for 
liigher achievements and more extensive 
results. That is the jn-omise embodied 
in its past and plainly shown in the pres- 
ent. For the children of the household 
are imbued with the spirit of their par- 
ents and are day ))y day exemplifying 



the teachings given them by precept and 
example around the family hearthstone. 

JOHN T. COOPER 

Among the citizens of Shelby county, 
Missouri, from the beginning of its au- 
thentic history, none has stood higher in 
public esteem or been more entitled to 
universal regard tlian the late John T. 
Cooper, of Shelbyville, who l)ecame a 
resident of the county in 1846 and passed 
the remainder of his life in that city, 
ending a useful career as- a merchant, 
manufacturer, farmer, stockman and 
l)anker, which covered nearly fifty years 
there, on July 31, 1893, and was alto- 
gether successful in every particular, 
lie became master of every occupation 
in which he engaged and of every sit- 
uation in which he found himself, and 
gave to this locality a fine example of 
the vigor, resourcefulness and self-reli- 
ance of American manhood. 

Mr. Cooper was born in Scott county, 
Kentucky, on September 1, 1817, and 
was a sou of Samuel and Jane (Tarlton) 
Cooper, also natives of Kentucky. He 
came to Missouri in 18-12 and located in 
Paris, Monroe countj^ where he worked 
at his trade as a saddler and harness 
maker for a period of four years. He 
learned his trade in his native state and 
learned it well. He had also fine busi- 
ness ability, and this helped to develop 
and expand his usefulness to the com- 
munities in which he lived and his own 
IH-osperity. In 1846 he moved to Shel- 
byville, and here he founded his first 
saddlery and harness shop. He gave his 
business close and careful attention and, 
for a time, devoted himself exclusively 



2-^6 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



to building- it up. It grew to great im- 
portance in this part of tlie state, having 
the advantages of early establishment, 
excellent management and first class 
reputation for the quality of its output 
in material and workmanship. 

Having gained a foothold in the city 
and won substantial prosperity, ^Ir. 
Cooper turned his attention to farming 
and raising live stock as a side line for 
the employment of his surplus energy. 
He bought 1,000 acres of laud and on it 
conducted extensive operations in farm- 
ing and raising stock. He gave special 
attention to raising mules, handling from 
125 to 150 annually for a number of 
years with great success and profit. 
"\\Tien his three sons arrived at the nec- 
essary capacity and development to 
handle this business he turned it over 
to them, and from that time until his 
death gave his whole attention to his har- 
ness and saddlery business and a lively 
trade in real estate which he had worked 
up from a small beginning, and his bank- 
ing interests. 

He was one of the founders of the 
Shelby County Savings Bank, which was 
started in 1874, and one of tlie most po- 
tential factors in preparing the way for 
it. When it was organized he was elect- 
ed president and as such conducted its 
affairs for several years. Then he and 
Mr. Dimmitt, his partner in another en- 
terprise, bought all the stock of the in- 
stitution and converted it into a private 
bank known as the Cooper & Dimmitt 
bank, to which for awhile he gave his 
whole energy, leaving the management 
of his harness trade to Julies Ritter. He 
was also a member of the firm of AV. A. 
Dimmitt & Co., dealers in carriages and 



other road vehicles. The Cooper & Dim- 
mitt Bank was one of the soundest and 
best managed financial institutions in 
this part of the state and enjoyed a wide 
and exalted reputation in the business 
world. 

Mr. Cooper was married on Septem- 
ber 6, 1848, to Miss Frances Shambaugh, 
a native of Caroline county, Virginia. 
They had three children, their sons, 
Alonzo, John H. and David L., all resi- 
dents of this county, where John and 
David died some years ago, leaving 
Alonzo the only survivor of the family. 
A sketch of his life will be found in this 
work. The father retired from active 
work a few years before his death, but 
to the end kept his finger on the pulse ' 
of all his business interests. i 

JAMES E. RAGSDALE. j 

From his boyhood James E. Eagsdale, 
of Sheibina, has mingled with the people 
of ]\Iissouri and been a pai't of the 
state's pi'oductive activity. He was born 
in Monroe county on April 23, 1841, and 
is a son of James and Sallie (Deaver) 
Ragsdale, natives of Kentucky. The 
father came to this state in 1830 and lo- 
cated in Monroe county, where he was 
extensively engaged in farming and rais- 
ing live stock until his death on June 9, 
1850. High hopes blazed his way into 
the wilderness and he was subsequently 
rewarded by their full fruition. Fortune 
did not jest with him, as she does with 
many, but gave him opportunity to se- 
cure her bounty if he was willing to pay 
the price she exacted in sacrifice, endur- 
anc" and ]Kitient toil. She was dealing 
with sturdiness of character and deter- 



IIISTOh'Y OF SHELBY COUNTY 



227 



miuatiou of purpose, and she unbound 
her treasures to them in recognition of 
their worth. 

Just one year after his arrival in the 
state the father was united in marriage 
with a lady of his choice, Miss Sallie 
Deaver, who was, like himself, "bred in 
old Kentucky'." They became the par- 
ents of seven children, four of whom are 
living — Martha E., wife of Isaac Green- 
ing, of Monroe county ; James E., a resi- 
dent of Shelbina, and the subject of this 
record ; C. H. and Mary A., the wife of 
James A. Spencer, both living in this 
county. The father was a AVhig in polit- 
ical faith and allegiance and a member 
of the Christian church. He was success- 
ful in his farming and stock-raising 
o}jerations and became a man of consid- 
erable substance in a material way. 

James E. Ragsdale was born to a boy- 
hood and youth of privation and toil, as 
most of the offspring of the frontier are. 
He grew to manhood on his father's 
farm, taking his part in its labors and 
making the most of the slender oppor- 
tunities for academic training which the 
district schools of the neighborhood af- 
forded. Not only were their facilities 
very limited, but the terms during which 
tlioy wei'e in operation each year were 
short and confined to the winter months. 
For at all other seasons of the 3^ear all 
the available force in the community was 
required in the arduous work of conquer- 
ing and fructifying the wilds and pro- 
viding the means of subsistence for the 
daring adventurers who had braved their 
perils and stubborn inhospitality. 

At the age of thirty-one "Sir. Ragsdale 
bought a farm of his own, beginning over 
again for himself the work of develop- 



ment and improvement he had so zeal- 
ously assisted in for his father. On this 
farm he lived and carried on active 
operations in tilling the soil and raising 
live stock until 1902, when he sold the 
place and retired from active pursuits, 
taking up his residence in Shelbina. He 
did not, at this time, however, turn his 
back upon the duties of life, but only cut 
out the more laborious and exacting 
ones. He took an immediate interest in 
the business life of the community and 
became an important factor in carrying- 
it on to greater development and more 
extensive operations. He is the vice 
president and one of the directors of the 
Shelbina National Bank and own* con- 
siderable real estate in and around the 
city, to the care of which he gives dili- 
gent attention. 

He also takes a good citizen's part in 
the affairs of the city, county, state and 
nation, ardently supporting the Demo- 
cratic party in political matters and 
working with zeal and effectiveness for 
the welfare of the Christian church, of 
which he has long been a prominent and 
useful member. In the social life of 
Shelbina and the county he and his fam- 
ily are also active and prominent, hold- 
ing a high place in the regard of the peo- 
ple and showing that they deserve it by 
the interest they take in the welfare of 
those around them and the agencies that 
minister to their comfort, convenience 
and advancement. 

On December 6, 1870, Mr. Ragsdale 
imited in marriage with Miss Mary E. 
Cox, who was born and reared in this 
state. They became the parents of eight 
children, six of whom are living — John 
W., of Kansas City, Missouri; Winnie, 



228 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



the wife of Edward Acliuff, of Gallatin, 
Missouri; James E. ; Sallie Belle, the 
wife of W. S. Eller, of Mexico, j\Iis- 
souri ; Lelia M., the wife of Eipley Spen- 
cer, who lives in Shelby county ; and Mrs. 
Bird Estes, a resident of Shelbiua, who 
married Dr. Selsor, also of Shelbina, in 
the fall of 1910. 

Mr. Eagsdale is nearing the limit of 
human "life fixed by the Psalmist, but he 
is yet hale, vigorous and energetic. 
Whether there be much or little of an 
earthly career vouchsafed to him yet, the 
sunset of his day is mild and benigiiant, 
and the retrospect of its period of toil 
and trial must be pleasing to him. For 
he has lived acceptably and usefully, and 
can now see blooming and bearing fruit 
around him the progress and develop- 
ment of a great commonwealtli to whose 
advancement he has essentially contrib- 
uted, and many valued institutions which 
he has helped to foimd and has sustained 
and fostered with assiduous devotion and 
commendable generosity. He has lived 
for the community and its people, even 
while most industriously pushing for- 
ward his own fortunes, and their appre- 
ciation of his career is shown by the uni- 
versal esteem with which thej' regard 
him and his family. 

JOHN S. MILES. 

From his youth John S. IMiles, who is 
now one of the leading merchants of 
Shelbina, has been connected with the 
mercantile life of the city. All the activ- 
ities of his life in business have been 
given to that line of endeavor, and as he 
started in it with natural aptitude for its 
requirements and has had his faculties 



trained and developed in long experi- 
ence, it is not surprising that he has suc- 
ceeded and now stands in the front rank 
among the business men of this part of 
the state. 

Mr. Miles was born in ]\Ionroe county, 
this state, on April 19, 186J-, and is a son 
of "William F. and Nancy W. (Jackson) 
Miles, natives of Kentucky. The father 
passed many years of his life in his na- 
tive state, coming to Missouri in 1849 
with a colony of Kentuckiaus, who lo- 
cated near Paris, in the adjoining county 
of Monroe. There the father reared his 
family and passed his time in farming 
and raising live stock until 1866, when he 
sold the farm and moved to Shelbina, re- 
tiring from all active pursuits. He was 
married to Miss Nancy W. Jackson, 
a Kentuckian by birth and belonging 
to families long resident in that state. 
Mr. and Mrs. Miles became the parents of 
six children, three of whom are living — 
R. E., a resident of Santa Ana, Califor- 
nia; Susie, the wife of N. H. Langford, 
of Hannibal, Missouri ; and John S., who 
still lives at Shelbina. The father is an 
ardent Democrat in political allegiance 
and adheres to the principles of his 
party with steadfast loyalty, giving it 
active and effective aid in all its cam- 
paig-ns. His church relations are with 
the Baptists. 

John S. Miles obtained his education 
in the public schools of Shelbina. and 
having a decided turn toward merchan- 
dising, left school early to follow the 
path in life which nature and his owa 
predilection seeyied to have marked out 
for him. He began his mercantile career 
as a clerk and salesman in a hardware 
store, to which he rendered faithful 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



239 



service for three years, iisiug all his op- 
portunities and facilities in learning the 
business in detail and the ins and outs of 
mercantile life in general. He then 
clerked in the clothing establishment of 
Thompson & Miles until 1892, all the 
while expanding his knowledge of busi- 
ness, his acquaintance with men and his 
general intelligence concerning mercan- 
tile pursuits. 

In 1892 he formed a partnership with 
his older brother under the firm name of 
R. E. Miles & Bro., and during the next 
sixteen years they were extensively en- 
gaged in the clothing trade with great 
benefit to the community and consider- 
able profit to themselves. In 1908 the 
store and business was sold to W. H. 
Hanly, and Mr. Miles formed a new as- 
sociation in the same line of trade with 
T. F. Bates, with whom he is still con- 
nected and carrying on a vigorous and 
flourishing business, the firm being 
known as Miles & Bates. 

Mr. Miles is a man of substance and 
connected with a number of business en- 
terprises in the city and surrounding 
country, among them being the Old Bank 
of Shelbina, of which he is one of the 
stockliolders. His political faith is fixed 
on the principles of the Democratic 
jiarty, whose campaigns always enlist his 
attention and bring forth his active ef- 
forts for success, although he has no am- 
bition for official station or public life for 
himself. Fraternally he is a Knight of 
Pythias, and in religion he and his wife 
belong to the Baptist church. He is a 
zealous worker for both his fraternal or- 
der and his cluirch, and both enjoy the 
lienefit of his helpful zeal and energy. 
On October 19, 1892, he was married to 



Miss Lillian D. Sparks, of Shelbina. 
They have one child, their daughter Ada- 
line, who is the light and life of their 
pleasant home. 

JOHN T. BAILEY. 

Almost from his boyhood John T. Bai- 
ley, of Shelbina, who is one of the lead- 
ing business men of the city, has been 
contributing to the enjoyment of the peo- 
ple among whom he has lived, long as a 
teacher of vocal music and for nearly a 
quarter of a century as a dealer in musi- 
cal instruments. All living in his range 
who find pleasure in the "concord of 
sweet sounds ' ' have been indebted to him 
for many a soothing or a stirring enter- 
tainment and have ever been willing to 
acknowledge the obligation. He is now 
conducting also a flourishing business in 
undertaking and embalming, in which he 
has been interested since 1892. 

Mr. Bailey was born in Monroe county, 
in this state, on Se^jtember 25, 1851, and 
is a son of Tilmon 0. and Sarah A. (Stal- 
cujo) Bailey, the former born in Harrison 
county, Kentucky, and the latter in Vir- 
ginia. The father's life began on Octo- 
ber 29, 1822, and the first twenty-one 
years of it were passed in his native 
state, where he obtained his education 
and fitted himself for the active duties 
of progressive farming, which was his 
occupation until he retired from all active 
pursuits in 1904. He left the home of 
his childhood and youth as soon as he 
reached his majority and strode with 
confident step into the wilderness of the 
farther AVest with a view to making a 
home and a name for himself, daring the 
dangers and privations of the frontier 



230 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



with resolute courage and depending on 
his own endeavors with manly self re- 
liance. He took up a tract of land in 
Monroe county which was in a state of 
almost primeval wildness and converted 
it into a well-improved and highly culti- 
vated farm. On this he lived, engaged in 
farming and raising live stock until he 
determined to heed the admonitions of 
advancing years and jiass the evening of 
his long and toilsome day of earthly ex- 
istence in quiet and ease. In 1904 he 
moved to Slielbina, where he has ever 
since resided. 

This venerable citizen of the progres- 
sive community which he has known so 
long and helped so materially to build up 
and improve, is one of the patriarchs of 
the town. Not only is he far advanced in 
years, but he is also the father of a nu- 
merous family. He has been married 
twice, the first time in 1848, when he was 
united with Miss Mary Sherman, a na- 
tive of Missouri. They had one child, 
their daughter ]\lary, who is now the 
wife of John AV. Chambers, of Clarence, 
in this county. His second marriage was 
with Miss Sarah A. Stalcup, who was 
born in Virginia and reared in Monroe 
county, Missouri. Tliey became the par- 
ents of thirteen children, seven of whom 
are living and are : John T., the subject 
of this sketch; Elijah M., Tilmon A. and 
AA^illiam B., all residents of Shelbiua; 
Isaac N., who lives at Moberly, this state ; 
and Ernest T., who is a prominent citi- 
zen of Shannon county, Missouri. The 
father still takes an active part in politi- 
cal affairs and still follows the banner of 
the Democratic party, behind which he 
has marclieil from his youth. He is a 
member of the IMasonic order and of the 



Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The 
wife and mother died in March, 1908. 

John T. Bailey was reared to manhood 
on his father's farm in Monroe county 
and obtained his education in the district 
schools of the neighborhood. For ten 
years after leaving school he found con- 
tinual and profitable occupation as a 
teacher of vocal music and made a repu- 
tation for skill and capacity in the art 
which spread throughout his own and ad- 
joining counties. In 1886 he located in 
Shelbina and started a mercantile enter- 
prise in the sale of pianos, organs and 
other musical instruments and musical 
supplies. He took his brother William 
into the business as a partner in 1891, 
and during the next seventeen years the 
firm of Bailey Bros, flourished as the 
leader in the musical implement and sup- 
ply trade in this part of the state. 

On June 19, 1908, Mr. Bailey bought 
the interest of his brother AVilliam in the 
business and took as a new partner his 
son, Roy L. Bailey, changing the firm 
name to J. T. Bailey & Son, under which 
two generations of the family are still 
doing an extensive and popular business. 
Since 1892 the house has also been carry- 
ing on extensively in the undertaking 
and embalming line, the father having 
received his certificate as a well quali- 
fied and licensed embalmer on October 
16, 1895. 

Mr. Bailey's political faith is that of 
his father and the greater part of the 
men living around him. He has never 
wavered in his loyalty to the Democratic 
cause, and has for many years given it 
faithful and effective service in all its 
camiKiigns. He has also long been an 
active and zealous member of the South- 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



231 



ern Methodist eliurcli, contributing lib- 
erally to its advancement by energetic 
partiei])atiou in church work and with 
material aid for all its undertakings. He 
is influential in both business and church 
circles and he and his family are among 
the leading lights in the social world of 
the community, throughout all of which 
they are lughly esteemed and every- 
where warmly welcomed on all occasions. 
On June 20, 1880, Mr. Bailey was 
imited in marriage with Miss Eliza J. 
Baker, of Madison, Missouri. Of their 
four children three are living and all 
dwelling at the jjarental fireside. They 
are Mary Belle, Nannie Bess and Roy L. 
The social disposition of the parents and 
the presence of the children, who have 
inherited the same spirit, in the home 
make it a social center and a very popu- 
lar and hospitable resort for persons of 
all ages acquainted with the members of 
the household, and that includes almost 
everybody in the county and hosts from 
elsewhere. 

NEWTON E. WILLIAMS. 

Lawyer, editor, public official and man 
of affairs and winning high commenda- 
tion in all lines of activity in which he 
has been engaged, Newton E. Williams, 
of Shelbina, is one of the most successful 
and popular men in Shelby county. He 
is almost wholly the product of his own 
aliilities and energies, and he has made 
the most of his opportunities for ad- 
vancement in life. But he has not lived 
for himself alone. During all of his ma- 
ture life he has been deeply and intelli- 
gently interested in the welfare of the 
town and county of his home and has 
done all in his power to promote it. 



Mr. Williams was born in Adair coun- 
ty, Missouri, on October 10, 1869, and is 
a son of Gamaliel and Mary E. (Morgan) 
Williams, the fo]-mer a native of In- 
diana, where he was born on May 18, 
1838, and the latter a native of Ken- 
tucky, but at the time of her marriage a 
resident of Adair coimty, Missouri. They 
had six children and five of them are liv- 
ing — Lucy E., the wife of J. E. Bowers, 
who has her home in Colby, Kansas; 
Mary E., the wife of H. F. Davis, who is 
also a resident of Colby, Kansas; Alice, 
the wife of J. D. Bean, of Grand Junc- 
tion, Colorado; Newton E., of Shelbina; 
and Martha, the wife of Dr. M. W. Bai- 
ley, of Denver, Colorado. 

The father came to Missouri in 1852, 
when he was fourteen years old, and 
found a home in Adair county, where he 
grew to manhood and completed his edu- 
cation. After leaving school he engaged 
in farming and raising live stock, con- 
tinuing his operations with success and 
profit until 1904, when he retired from 
active pursuits and removed to Shelbina, 
and here he has ever since had his home. 
His marriage occurred in 1858. In poli- 
tics he is and always has been a Demo- 
crat. Fraternally he has long been affil- 
iated with the Masonic order, and in re- 
ligious association he is connected with 
the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. 

Newton E. Williams began his educa- 
tion in the district schools of Adair 
county, continued it at a select school at 
Brashear, in that county, and completed 
it at the Kirksville State Normal school. 
He studied law in Kirskville under the 
direction of M. D. Campbell and Hon. 
Isaac Morgan, probate judge of Adair 
county, and served as probate clerk for 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COLXTY 



one year after his admission to the bar 
in October, 1893. At the end of his serv- 
ice as a clerk of probate he began prac- 
ticing his profession at Kirskville, where 
he remained nntil July, 1897. He then 
moved to Shelbina and formed a partner- 
ship with R. A. Cleek, with whom he con- 
tinued to practice until 1902, the firm be- 
ing Cleek & AVilliams. The partnership 
was dissolved in the year last mentioned 
and Mr. Williams practiced alone and 
edited the Shelbina Torchlight, which he 
and Mr. Cleek bought in 1900. • 

In 1904 Mr. Williams was elected pros- 
ecuting attorney of Shelby county, and 
at the end of his first term was re-elected 
for another. This ended on January 1, 
1909. At the time of his first election he 
sold his interest in the newspaper and 
devoted himself wholly to his official du- 
ties until they were ended. He then 
bought the Shelbina Torchlight and has 
since been its sole owner and publisher. 
He is also a stockholder in the Shelbina 
National Bank and connected with other 
enterprises of moment and value to the 
community, in wliich he has always felt 
the deepest interest, and to which he has 
rendered effective and valued service in 
hel]iing to promote every undertaking 
for its advancement which he has deemed 
of worth. 

On August 29, 1895, Mr. Williams was 
united in marriage with Miss Rosa N. 
Deaton, a daughter of M. G. Deaton, of 
Kirskville. They have one child, their 
son Meredith, who is living at home with 
his ]iarents. The father's political alle- 
giance is given warmly and consistently 
to the Democratic party, and he has al- 
ways been very active and effective in 
its service, his work in its behalf being 



based on broad intelligence, good judg- 
ment and devoted loyalty to its princi- 
ples. His fraternal relations are with 
the Masonic order, the Order of the 
Eastern Star, the Court of Honor and 
the Modern AVoodmen of America, and 
his religious connection is with the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South. He 
has been very successful and is one of the 
leading and most influential citizens of 
the county, universally esteemed for his 
elevated manhood and his worth and use- 
fulness as a force for good in the com- 
munity of his home. 

JOSEPH R. RIDGE. 

For fifty-seven years this now vener- 
able citizen of Shelbina has been a resi- 
dent of Missouri and during all but two 
of them has dwelt in Shelby county. For 
more than half a century he was actively 
engaged in farming and raising live 
stock, first on the farm of his father as 
a boy and later on one of his own as a 
man. During his long activity in culti- 
vating the soil he contributed extensively 
and notably to the development and im- 
provement of the county and the aggre- 
gate of its wealth and influence. For he 
has always shown estimable public spirit 
and enterprise and given breadth of view 
and vitalizing force to worthy projects 
for the welfare of the section and the ad- 
vantage of its people. 

Mr. Ridge was born on January 31, 
1838, in Hickman county, Kentucky, the 
state of which his parents were natives 
and in which his ancestors lived for at 
least two generations before him, his 
paternal grandfather, Isaac Ridge, hav- 
ing been born and passed his life in that 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



2:W 



state. He is a son of AVilliam and Anna 
(Robey) Eidge, both products of the blue 
grass soil, on which the father's life be- 
gan on July 7, 181-1:. They were reared 
on farms and never sought any other 
occupation in life but that to which they 
were accustomed from childhood. In 
1852 they adventured into the wilderness 
beyond the ^lississippi from their home, 
planting their hearthstone on the fron- 
tier and giving their children the benefit 
of its sturdy and invigorating lessons in 
endurance and self reliance. The iirst 
two years of their residence in this state 
were passed on a farm in Monroe county. 
The family then moved into Shelby 
county and this has ever since been its 
home. 

The marriage of the parents occurred 
in Kentucky. They became the progeni- 
tors of six children, of whom three are 
living — Joseph E., the subject of this 
review; Martha E., the wife of Lewis 
Hale, of Shelbina; and William M., one 
of the prominent and influential citizens 
of this county. The father retired from 
the activities of life in 1875 and moved 
to Shelbina, where he died in 1877. He 
adhered to the Democratic party in all 
political affairs, and was to the end of 
his life vigorous and resourceful in the 
service of his party, although he never 
sought or accepted a public office. In 
religion he was a devout and consistent 
Catholic. 

Joseph E. Eidge grew to manhood on 
his father's farm and was well schooled 
in farm work by energetic partici]iation 
in it from his boyhood. He obtained his 
education in the district schools near his 
home, which were fair samples for their 
day and location of the many temples of 



Cadmus that stud the surface of our 
democratic empire, where liberty re- 
ceives her purest worship, and where, 
though in humble and lowly guise, she 
secretly breathes her strength into the 
heart and sinews of the nation. When he 
left school he turned his attention to 
what was then the leading pursuit of the 
county, agriculture, and from that time 
until 1903 he gave his whole energy and 
time to farming and raising live stock. 
He was a good manager and an excellent 
farmer, and his farming operations 
brought him large returns for the period, 
so that when he retired he was in the en- 
joyment of a competence which he had 
gained by his own industry, frugality 
and skill. In the year last named he sold 
his farm and took up his residence in 
Shelbina, of which he is now one of the 
most substantial and respected citizens. 
He has ever shown a good citizen's in- 
terest in the public affairs of the country 
and general welfare of the community of 
his home. Believing firmly in a govern- 
ment by the people, he was a staunch and 
zealous Democrat until the formation of 
the Populist party, and since then he has 
been devoted to its principles and effec- 
tive in supporting them and its candi- 
dates. On November 22, 1858, he was 
married to Miss Nancy Ann Hale, a na- 
tive of Tennessee, and, like himself, an 
adventurer into the wilderness of this 
state, as it was when they came into it. 
Of their eight children five are living — 
William L., of Shelbyville; ]\Iinnie, the 
wife of John Boettcher, of this county; 
Annie, the wife of Hugh Sparks, of Shel- 
bina; Joseph E., who lives in Illinois; 
and Allie, the wife of Theodore Bethards, 
of Shelbina. 



234 



HISTOIJY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Having- reached the age of three score 
and ten, Mr. Ridge might look upon him- 
self as an old man and consider that his 
day is past. But his health, energy and 
clearness of faculty all forbid this view 
to all who know him and share the bene- 
fits of his wisdom, feel the force of his 
influence or yield to the stimulus of his 
worthy example. They know that the 
fire within him is not spent and the fruit- 
fulness of his exemplary life is not over. 
And the esteem which all who know him 
bestow upon him as his due and the just 
tribute to his merit, shows that his years 
have been well passed in usefulness and 
the results of his labors are highly ap- 
preciated. 

SHELBIXA NATIONAL BANK. 

With a capital stock of $30,000 and a 
wise and farseeing directorate and of- 
ficial staff, the Shelbina National Bank 
well sustains itself as one of the sound- 
est, safest and best managed financial in- 
stitutions in this portion of the state. It 
was founded in 1905 as the Farmers & 
Merchants Bank and became a national 
bank in 1908. The founders of the Farm- 
ers & Merchants Bank were : President, 
John Munch; vice-president, W. L. 
Shouse; cashier, E. J. King; directors, 
John Munch, George W. 'Bryan, James 
F. AUgaier, Thomas J. Rice, N. E. TVill- 
iams, George Roff, AV. S. Fox, H. AL 
Pollard and Weldon Cotton. George W. 
O 'Bryan followed Mr. Munch as presi- 
dent, and T. A. Bailey succeeded E. J. 
King as cashier. 

In January, 1907, J. H. Wood and W. 
H. Jones ]nirchased an interest in the 
bank and the next vear it was reorgan- 



ized under its present name and with 
the following officers: President, J. H. 
Wood; vice-president, J. E. Ragsdale; 
cashier, W. H. Jones; directors, the 
above named ofiBcers and George W. 
'Bryan, George Roff, E. W. AVorlaud, 
0. F. Howell, G. G. Sanders and T. F. 
Bates. In March, 1910, Mr. W. H. 
Jones resigned as cashier and Oliver J. 
Lloyd was chosen to succeed him. 

HIRAM COLLINS. 

This veritable "Patriarch in Israel" 
among the people of Shelby county is not 
only one of the oldest and most esteemed 
citizens of this part of the state, but has 
been one of the most sturdy and indus- 
trious and one of those most truly repre- 
sentative of the founders and builders of 
the commonwealth, who laid the founda- 
tions of its greatness and planted in its 
soil the early seeds of civilization, which 
they and their successors have cultivated 
and developed into the magnitude, 
wealth and influence of the present day, 
when Missouri is an empire fragrant 
and fruitful in all the products of twen- 
tieth century life. 

Mr. Collins was born in Monroe coun- 
ty, Missouri, on January 31. 1828, and is 
a son of James and Sarah (Oglesby) Col- 
lins, the father a Kentuckian by birth 
and rearing, and the mother a native of 
Illinois. They became residents of Mis- 
souri in 1836, making their home in Mon- 
roe county, where they engaged profit- 
ably in farming and raising live stock 
until the death of the father in 1853. He 
was always a Democrat in politics, a zeal- 
ous promoter of the welfare of his com- 
mimity, an exemplar of sterling and pro- 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



235 



gressive citizenship aud a mau of great 
industry and frugality iu bis own affairs. 
Of liis two wives the one whose maiden 
name was Sarah Oglesby was the mother 
of his son Hiram aud seven other chil- 
dren, of whom but two are living — Jack- 
son, of Boonville, iu this state, aud 
Marion, a resident of Eaudolph county. 

Hiram Collins grew to manhood on his 
father's farm in Monroe county and re- 
ceived his education in the district school 
near his home. When he reached the age 
of twenty-two he was roused to adven- 
turous action by the alluring voices from 
the California gold mines and made his 
way to that then most promising region, 
which seemed to olTer all the wealth and 
wonders of the Arabian tales to men of 
endurance and enterprise. He remained 
on the Pacific slope five years, passing a 
part of his time in the mines and a part 
in mercantile life as a grocer, being lo- 
cated on the American river, near Sacra- 
mento. "What his adventures were, what 
measure of success he attained to, what 
hardships and privations he endured and 
what hopes and prospects he finally 
abandoned, need not be recited liere. It 
is enough to say that Missouri looked 
better to him than California, and that 
even prosaic life and slow accretions of 
fortune on one of her farms were more 
to his liking than the dramatic or roman- 
tic experiences or the wild dreams of af- 
fluence in what was at that time the El- 
dorado of the world. 

In 1855 he returned to this state and 
located in Shelby county, where he has 
ever since made his home. He once more 
tuined his attention to farming and rais- 
ing stock, continuing his efforts in these 
uneventful ]nirsuits until 1S94, when he 



gave up active exertions and entered 
upon a restful and undisturbed residence 
in Shelbina. He kept his farm for a num- 
ber of years, however, and superintended 
its operations until 1908, when he sold it. 
For many years he has been a zealous 
member of the Christian church and a 
helpful factor in all its good work for the 
betterment of the people in and around 
it. His political activity has always been 
expended in behalf of the principles and 
candidates of the Democratic party, to 
which he has been earnestly devoted 
from his youth. On April 3, 1856, he was 
married to Miss Mary Gose, of Monroe 
county. They have had eight children, 
five of whom are living — Bettie, wife of 
C. W. Adams, of Clarence; Laura, wife 
of Calvin Garrison, of Shelbina ; James, 
a resident of Choteau county, Montana ; 
George, who lives in Jamestown, Cali- 
fornia; and Frank, who is one of the 
leading citizens of Sherburn, Minnesota. 
Mrs. Collins died in the fall of 1897. 

HON. RICE G. MAUPIN. 

This eminent citizen of Shelby county 
and successful farmer and stock breeder, 
who is also one of the leading profes- 
sional men of Shelbina, is an ornament 
to the state of Missouri and a thoroughly 
representative man among her people. 
He has dig-nified and adorned several 
lines of serviceable endeavor, perform- 
ing the duties of each in a manner highly 
creditable to himself and satisfactory to 
those ai'ound him, bearing himself in 
every walk of life in such a way as to win 
and hold the confidence and esteem of all 
who know him. He is a brother of Wil- 
liam A. IMaupin, a sketch of whom will be 



2;J6 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



found in this work. In that sketch the 
history of the parents is given at some 
length, and from the recital an idea can 
be had of the atmosphere of the home in 
which Judge Maupin was reared and the 
lessons and examples given him at his 
parental fireside. 

Judge Maupin was reared on a farm 
and educated in the district schools of 
Monroe county, the circumstances of his 
early life affording no opportunity for 
farther jarogress into the domain of 
scholastic acquirements save what was 
furnished by his own reading and reflec- 
tion. But he made good use of the means 
he had in this direction and cjualified 
himself well for the honorable career he 
has wrought out for himself. When he 
left school he was willing to freely dis- 
pense to others the stores of learning he 
had gathered, and did so as a school 
teacher for. a period of nineteen years, 
two of which he devoted to schools in 
Shelbina. In the spring of 1897 he was 
elected commissioner of the schools of 
Shelby county, and the next year was 
chosen probate judge of the county, an 
honorable and responsible post, in which 
he is still giving the jjeople excellent 
service. 

While he was connected with the school 
system as teacher and commissioner he 
studied law as a matter of mental disci- 
pline and source of information, but not as 
yet with any view to ]iracticing the pro- 
fession. But in 1900 he determined to 
become a lawyer in fact and began to de- 
vote himself to the study with serious- 
ness and close a])])lication. He was ad- 
mitted to the bar in April, 190.'], and since 
that time he has been actively engaged 
. in the practice of the profession with a 



steadily increasing clientage and eleva- 
tion in rank as a practitioner, conducting 
his professional work in connection with 
his oflBcial duties and enlarging thereby 
his capacity for them. He also served as 
a member of the school board three 
years. 

As a means of relaxation from more 
serious and onerous work and as a source 
of entertainment and profit to himself, 
he has always been interested in farming 
and breeding stock, and is at this time 
(1911) giving considerable attention to 
liroducing a superior strain of registered 
saddle horses. It is manifest that his 
contributions to the development and im- 
provement of the county and state have 
been and are still extensive, and that his 
usefulness is well worthy of the high ap- 
jireciation in whicli it is held. In other 
lines of endeavor besides those already 
mentioned he has done his part for the 
advancement and enjojTnent of his fel- 
low men. In fraternal life he has long 
lield membership in several benevolent 
societies and devoted a liberal share of 
his time and energy to their advance- 
ment. He is a Knight of Pythias, a 
Knight of the Maccabess, a Modern 
Woodman of America and a member of 
the Court of Honor. His religious con- 
nection is with the Southern Methodist 
church and his political activity has al- 
ways been devoted to the success and 
welfare of the Democratic party. In the 
work of both _church and party he is 
zealous and energetic, and is recognized 
as an important factor, showing wisdom 
in council and great industry and re- 
sourcefulness in action, his primary con- 
sideration being the welfare of the cause 
to which he is attached, his own advance- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



237 



ment being a matter of secondary or in- 
cidental iuii)ortan('e. It is this patriotic 
devotion to the general weal that has 
given him so firm a hold on the regard 
of the people and rendered Ms services 
to them so vahial)]e and satisfactory. 

On December 26, 1880, Judge Maupin 
was married to Miss Emma Chapman, of 
Monroe county, who is still the light and 
life of his pleasant home and the center 
of attraction for their hosts of admiring 
friends and appreciative acquaintances. 
Of the nine children which have bright- 
ened and sanctified their domestic shrine 
eight are living, one having died in in- 
fancy. Those living are: Elizabeth W., 
the wife of D. S. Buckman, of Chilli- 
cothe, Illinois; Minnie Lee, the wife of 
Arthur Lundin, of Orion, Illinois ; 
Charles Byron and Paul Anderson, resi- 
dents of Shelbina ; and Anna Matt, Em- 
ma Ricie, Temple Graves and Bob N., 
who are still under the parental rooftree. 

Judge jMaupin has been very success- 
ful in all his business undertakings and 
entirely faithful in the performance of 
his official duties in every post of public 
resiwnsibility he has held. He ranks high 
in his professon and is elevated and 
high-toned in his citizenship. He is de- 
voted to the welfare of the commujiity in 
which he lives and interested earnestly 
and practically in the good of its people. 
His admirable qualities of head and 
heart, his wide fund of information and 
mastery and geniality in the use of it and 
his unvarying grace and gentility of 
manner, whether as advisor or compan- 
ion, have united to make him one of the 
most popular men in the county and give 
him a well deserved eminence in the 
state. 



THOMAS L. PUCKETT. 

Connected with the mercantile and 
other business interests of Shelbina from 
the time when he was twenty-one years 
of age and before that for two years with 
those of Pilot Grove, in Cooper county, 
Thomas L. Puckett has passed the whole 
of his mature life in usefulness to the 
people of this state, and by the manli- 
ness of his course, the loftiness of his 
character, the inflexibility of his integ- 
rity and his devotion to the welfare of 
the community in which he lives, has 
risen to a position of prominence and 
universal popularity among them. He 
has been successful in his operations, ac- 
cumulating a competence for his family 
and by this means enlarging his own 
power for good to the town and county 
and extending its use in the service of 
the people as rapidly as it increased. 

Mr. Puckett was born on September 7, 
1864, in Hardeman county, Tennessee, 
and is a scion of old North Carolina fam- 
ilies who dwelt in the Old North State 
from an early period in American his- 
tory. His grandfather, Leonard A. 
Puckett, was a native of that state, but 
left it while he was yet a young man for 
what was then the wildei'ness of South- 
western Tennessee. There he located 
and passed the remainder of his life 
jirofitably engaged in farming and rear- 
ing his family with the best surroundings 
and opportunities in life he was able to 
give it under the circumstances. His son, 
Thomas A. Puckett, was born in that sec- 
tion, his life beginning in Hardeman 
county on June 4, 1833. He grew to man- 
hood on the farm, aiding zealously in its 
arduous labors and hel])ing to make it 



238 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



over from an unbroken wild into a culti- 
vated and well improved farm. But 
profitable and independent as lie found 
the farmer's industry in that time and 
locality, he had a taste and found within 
him eajjacity for a career of a different 
kind. He studied medicine, received the 
degree of M. D. from a medical college, 
and during all the peaceful years of his 
subsecjuent life devoted himself faith- 
fully to his practice in the region of his 
nativity. He had been reared in loyalty 
to the doctrine of state sovereignty, and 
when he felt that it was assailed by the 
trend of national politics, in common 
with most other Southern people, he 
thought it his duty to resist what he con- 
sidered dangerous encroachments on the 
fundamental principles of the govern- 
ment. Accordingly, at the beginning of 
the Civil war he enlisted in the Confed- 
erate army and during the continuance 
of that memorable struggle freely of- 
fered his life on the altar of his faith. 

On June 19, 1860, he was united in 
marriage with Miss Susan Victoria Ford, 
who was born in Anderson county, Ken- 
tuclvj', in 1849. She shared his struggles 
and did her part toward winning his suc- 
cess. And when he felt impelled by his 
sense of duty to join the army, she did 
not resist his purpose, but rather forti- 
fied his convictions and helped him 
buckle on his armor. She was a woman 
of strong determination and purpose. 
After being left a widow she moved to 
Shelbina and taught in public schools of 
Shelbina for fourteen years. Of their 
offspring, which numbered five, namely: 
Jeremiah D., Thomas L., Charles F., 
Basil D., Mary A., their son Thomas, the 
immediate subject of this memoir, is the 



only one now living and the only sui*- 
vivor of his family. The father died at 
his Tennessee home on April 17, 1872. 
The mother and the four last named 
children then moved to Shelbina, where 
she died on April 26, 1892. She was a 
true and devoted Christian of the Baptist 
church, of which she had been a member 
for many years. Basil D. and Mary A. 
died soon after moving to Shelbina ; 
Jeremiah D. died in Tennessee; Charles 
F. grew to manhood in Shelbina. 

Thomas L. Puckett obtained his early 
scholastic training in the public schools 
of Shelbina and completed the education 
begun in them at the Shelbina Collegiate 
Institute and the college at Pilot Grove, 
in Cooper county. After completing the 
course at Pilot Grove he passed a year 
in attendance at the St. Louis College of 
Pharmacy, and in 1882 began his mercan- 
tile career as a clerk in a drug store at 
Pilot Grove. Some time later he bought 
the business of his employer, W. F. 
AVliite, and during the next two years 
he conducted it himself. At the end of 
that period he sold it and returned to 
Shelbina, where for three years he was 
one of the proprietors of a flourishing 
grocery. In time he sold his interest in 
this establishment and in 1894 began 
operating in real estate, loans and in- 
surance in company with Charles B. 
Martin, under the name and style of 
Puckett & Martin. The fiiTn is still in 
business and carrying on extensively. 
It is recogTiized as one of the leading 
ones in the line in this part of the state, 
and has a high reputation for integritj" 
and business enterprise and progressive- 
ness. 

^Tr. Puckett is interested, also, in other 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



239 



business undertakings, being one of the 
stockholders in the Commercial Bank of 
Shelbina and owning and managing con- 
siderable real estate in business i^roper- 
ties in the city and farm lands in Shelby 
and other counties. On June 28, 1888, he 
was married to Miss Ida M. Lyell, who 
was born and reared in Shelby county. 
Tliey have two children, their sons, 
Thomas Lyell, born in Shelbina, August 
27, 1891, and Charles E., born in Shelbina 
June 12, 1893, both of whom are still liv- 
ing at home with their parents. 

Mr. Puckett has long been one of the 
leading and most active promoters of the 
development and improvement of the 
town and county. In 1906 he was elected 
mayor of Shelbina, and for a year he gave 
the city an excellent business administra- 
tion of its affairs. But owing to the fail- 
ing condition of the health of one of his 
sons (Charles), he resigned in 1907 and 
took the young man to California for the 
winter. During that year, while out 
driving, he was thrown from his buggy 
and sustained a broken leg. The fracture 
did not yield readily to treatment and 
the limb had to be amputated on account 
of dangerous complications. But not- 
withstanding his crippled condition, he 
still takes an active part in his business 
and the affairs of the community. He is 
a Democrat in political faith and a 
Southern Methodist in church connec- 
tion and takes a leading place in the 
work of both his party and his church. 

HALLEY THOMAS WILLIS, M. D. 

To no other class of professional men 
is it given to administer so directly and 
completely to the comfort and happiness 



of mankind as to phj'sicians. They deal 
with all kinds of human ailments, both 
mental and physical, and are called upon 
to render services as wide in range as 
human suffering and human sorrow, and 
are often the only persons who can do it. 
To how many persons a country phy- 
sician in active practice supplies aid in 
distress, hope in gloom, comfort in ago- 
ny, solace in sorrow and even consolation 
in death, it would be idle to guess at. He 
is recjuired to have a strong combination 
of qualities for his work, of which his 
professional and technical requirements 
are but a small part, and the necessity 
for their activity is always at hand, the 
reservoir is always on draft. Among 
the physicians of northern Missouri Dr. 
H. T. Willis, of Shelbina, occupied high 
rank for the full possession of these qual- 
ifications and the skillful use of them. 

Dr. Willis was born in Monroe county, 
this state, on July 3, 1864. He came of 
Kentucky stock, both of his parents, 
Samuel Pierson and Elizabeth (Thomas) 
Willis, having been born and reared in 
that state. The father's life began in 
April, 1825, in Shelbyville, Kentucky, 
where his father, John Pierce Willis, was 
a manufacturer of wagons and carriages 
until 1851, when he and his family moved 
to Missouri, located in Monroe county 
and engaged extensively in farming and 
raising live stock. The grandfather 
died in 1874. The doctor's father farmed 
in his native county until the Western 
fever took possession of him and in 1851 
he too came td this state and located on 
a farm in Monroe county. He raised 
stock in considerable numbers on his 
farm and dealt extensively in mules, at 
that time a nearly new article of sale 



240 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



and production in this part of the state. 
In 1868 he sold his farm in Monroe 
county and bought one in this county, on 
which he lived and labored until 1885, 
when he moved to Shelbina, detennined 
to pass the remainder of his days in the 
enjoyment of the rest he had so well 
earned and the competence he had so 
laboriously acquired. He sold his farm 
and resided here until his death, October 
30, 1904. In 1852 he married Miss Eliza- 
beth Thomas, a native of Nelson county, 
Kentucky. They had two children. The 
father was a zealous and energetic Dem- 
ocrat in politics and a devout and loyal 
Baptist in religious affiliation. He gave 
a great deal of his time and energy to 
church work, in which his services were 
recognized as most effective and valu- 
able. The wife and mother died in July, 
1903. 

Dr. H. T. Willis obtained his scholastic 
training in the public schools of Shelbina 
and at the Shelbina Collegiate Institute, 
which latter he attended five years. His 
professional studies were pursued in pri- 
vate reading and at the University Med- 
ical College, of Kansas City, which he 
entered in 1895, and from which he was 
graduated with the degree of M. D. in 
1898. During his period of study at this 
institution he was first assistant to Dr. 
C. W. Adams, an eminent physician of 
the western Missouri metropolis, in his 
private practice, and the training he re- 
ceived through this experience was both 
extensive and thoroughly practical. 

After receiving his degree the doctor 
took up his residence in Shelbina and en- 
tered at once on the active practice of 
his profession. He made that city his 
home and was industriouslv engaged in 



a general practice which grew steadily in 
magnitude from year to year, as he had 
the esteem and confidence of the people 
and the regard of his professional col- 
leagues. He was a close and reflective 
student of the literature of his profes- 
sion, keeping abreast with its advance- 
ment and in touch with its latest thought 
and discovei'ies. He also took an active 
part in the societies organized for its 
improvement, being a valued and helpful 
contributor to the deliberations of the 
state and coimty medical associations, to 
both of which he belonged. He was also 
medical examiner for the Knights of the 
}i[accabees and International Life Insur- 
ance Company of St. Louis. In 1902 he 
was appointed county physician and he 
served as such until his death, February 
25, 1910. 

Politically the doctor was a firm and 
energetic Democrat. He was always in- 
terested in the welfare of his party and 
did effective work in helping it to success 
in all its contests. Fraternally he be- 
longed to the Masonic order. Knights of 
the Maccabees and the ^fodern Woodmen 
of America. His church connection was 
with the Baptist sect. On December 29, 
1904, he was united in marriage with 
Miss ^lamie J. Lamb, of Port Republic, 
Virginia. In the cultivated social circles 
of Shelbina she had ample scope for the 
exemplification of the mental force, deli- 
cacy of feeling and grace of manner she 
inherited from long lines of Virginia an- 
cestry and abundant opportunity to em- 
ploy her faculties in connection with 
those of her husband in promoting the 
general welfare of the community in 
which they both felt an earnest and con- 
tinuing interest. They were hospitable 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



241 



in their home, helpful to every mental 
and moral agency at work among the 
people and zealous in the performance 
of every social and religious duty. 



CHAELES BOGGS MARTIN. 

Actively connected with the real estate 
and loan business in Shelbiua for twenty 
consecutive years, and for six years prior 
to his entrance into that line one of the 
leading fire insurance agents of the city, 
county and surrounding country, Charles 
B. Martin has had an extensive oppor- 
tunity to demonstrate his capacity for 
business and his right to the confidence 
and esteem of the people who have the 
pleasure of his acquaintance and the ad- 
vantage of doing business with him. He 
is now the junior member of the firm of 
Puckett & Martin, real estate and loan 
operators, and as such enjoys in a high 
degree the regard and good will of the 
community. 

Mr. IMartin is a Virginian by nativity, 
having been born at Lexington, Rock- 
bridge county, in the Old Dominion, on 
March 28, 1853. His ancestors lived for 
generations in the state that is known as 
the "Mother of States and of States- 
men," his grandfather, James "Wesley 
Martin having been born and reared 
there, and having had before him a long 
line of progenitors born and reared in 
the same neighborhood, which was 
Greenbrier county, in that part of the 
state now known as West Virginia, which 
was torn from its maternal breast in the 
violence and unreason of the Civil war. 

Mr. Martin, the interesting subject of 
this brief review, is a son of James Wes- 
ley and Nannie O. (Green) Martin, the 



former born and reared in Greenbrier 
county, West Virginia, where his life be- 
gan in 1812, and tlie latter a native of 
Rockbridge county, in the mother state. 
The father farmed for a number of years 
in West Virginia and became a resident 
of Missouri in 1869, reaching the state in 
November of that year. He located in 
Marion county and there farmed and 
raised live stock until 1883, when he sold 
his interests in that county and moved to 
Shelby county, purchasing a farm there 
and continuing to operate it until his 
death, in September, 1886, carrying on 
at the same time an active and flourish- 
ing business in raising live stock, and 
thereby contributing to the improvement 
of the stock 4n the county and aiding in 
supplying, by the excellence of his prod- 
ucts, the best markets in the country. 

He was married to Miss Nannie 0. 
Green, of Rockbridge county, Virginia, 
who is still living at the advanced age of 
eighty-nine, with all her faculties yet 
vigorous and her sinews strong. They 
became the parents of twelve children, 
seven of whom are living — Alexander J., 
a resident of Rockbridge county, Vir- 
ginia; William P., who lives at Moberly, 
Missouri ; Reuben L., a citizen of Wash- 
ington, D. C. ; Charles B., whose interest- 
ing life story these paragraphs record; 
Samuel S. and Albert A., residents of 
this countj"; and Emmett, who lives in 
the state of California. Tn politics the 
father was a Democrat and in church re- 
lations a Southern Methodist. He was 
an active worker in both his party and 
his church and was esteemed by the mem- 
bers of each as a helpful factor in all 
their undertakings. 

Charles B. Martin, like the majority of 



242 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



the boys of his day, was reared and 
learned the lessons of preparation for 
life's battle on a farm. He took his place 
in the ranks of its workers and wrought 
as faitlifully and efficiently as any of 
them. He obtained his education in the 
private schools of Lexington, Virginia, 
which is an educational center in that 
part of the country, being the seat of 
Washington and Lee University, in 
whose presidential chair the great gen- 
eral of the Confederacy, Robert E. Lee, 
passed the closing years of his illustrious 
life, and also the Virginia Military in- 
stitute. But, although the city in which 
he gained his scholastic training was 
abundantly supplied with facilities for 
culture far beyond the curriculum of the 
public schools, they were availalile to 
him only in a limited way, and he was 
obliged to put up with what the great 
"university of the common people," the 
district schools, could do for him in the 
way of mental development. For the 
exigencies of his situation required that 
he should make his own way in the world 
of effort from an early age and he en- 
tered upon the undertaking without re- 
luctance or repining. 

After leaving school Mr. Martin 
worked on the parental farm with his 
father until 1873, assisting him both in 
the state of his nativity and that of his 
adoption. In the year last named he 
turned his attention to mercantile life, 
for wliicli he had long felt a yearning, 
and became a grocer, carrying on a vig- 
orous and flourishing business in that 
line for six years. Still, although he 
found mercantile life agreeable, the love 
of the soil was strong within him, and in 
1880 he returned to the culitvation of it, 



buying a farm near Oakdale, in this 
county, on which he lived and labored 
two busy years, producing good crops 
and raising fine herds of stock. In 1882 
he moved to Shelbina and took up work 
for the Phoenix Fire Insurance Company 
in association with W. F. Fields, with 
whom he ojierated for six years. Then in 
1889 he bought the interest of Upton 
Moreman in the firm of Lyell & More- 
man, real estate and loan agents, and be- 
came a partner of John R. Lyell, under 
the name and style of Lyell & Martin. 
In May, 1894, Thomas L. Puckett, a 
sketch of whom will be found in this vol- 
ume, bought Mr. Lyell 's interest in the 
business and the firm has done an exten- 
sive business ever since under the name 
of Puckett & Martin. 

Mr. Martin has therefore been con- 
nected in a leading way with the real es- 
tate and loan business for twenty consec- 
utive years, and in that long experience 
has thoroughly mastered all its phases, 
details and requirements. During much 
of the time he has also been extensively 
engaged in the feeding and sale of 150 to 
200 mules every year, therefiy contribut- 
ing greatly to the convenience and ad- 
vantage of the farmers and other resi- 
dents of the city and county. 

In the political life of his section he 
has taken an earnest and serviceable part 
as a leading and influential Democrat. 
Although averse to public office, he filled 
one term of four years as a justice of the 
peace and has also been a member of the 
school board. Fraternally he is a Free- 
mason and to the cause of religion he 
renders effective .service as a member of 
tlie Methodist Ei)iscopal Church, South, 
of which he is a trustee and was for five 




REV. J. H. WOOD 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



243 



years or longer superiutendent of the 
Sunday school. In other departments of 
church work he has been constant in his 
service and enterprising- in his spirit, 
giving every worthy undertaking of his 
congregation his valuable counsel and in- 
valuable assistance in practical labor. 
During all of the last fifteen years he has 
l)een one of the stockholders and direc- 
tors of the Commercial Bank of Shelbina. 
On March 2, 1873, he was married to 
Miss Nannie E. Jones, of Marion county, 
in this state. They have had five chil- 
dren and all of them are living. They 
are : May J., a resident of Shelbina ; Jes- 
sie, the wife of Otis See, of the same city ; 
and Eugene H., of St. Louis, Missouri; 
Charles Robert and John Lyell, who are 
living at home. Mr. and Mrs. Martin 
and their children add adornment and 
grace to the social circles of the com- 
munity and on all sides are recognized as 
among the best and most representative 
and estimable citizens of a section in 
which the standard is high and the re- 
quirements are exacting. 

JOHN H. WOOD. 

This eminent banker and influential 
financial potency of Shelbina has been a 
I'esident of Missouri all of his life, and 
during the most of that period has been 
active in lines of endeavor which min- 
ister directly to the welfare of the people 
and help to build up the state in its in 
d u s t r i a 1 , mercantile and commercial 
]iower, some of them also bearing imme- 
diately and favora])ly on the mental and 
mora] agencies at work in every com- 
munity. 

^Ir. Wood controls the i)olicy of the 



Shelbina National Bank and is its lead- 
ing spirit of enterprise and direction. 
He was born in Monroe county, this 
state, on December 8, 1869. He is a son 
of Winfield S. and Susan A. (Hepler) 
Wood, the former a native of New York 
and the latter of Ohio. The father was 
a carpenter and farmer. He came to 
Monroe county in 1859 and from that 
time until a few years ago devoted his 
energies to farming, doing some work 
also at his trade when occasion demand- 
ed it. During the Civil war he served 
as a soldier in the Ninth Missouri Cav- 
alry, Company F, of which he was one 
of the lieutenants. He and his command 
were stationed most of the time in Mis- 
souri, but they saw a great deal of active 
service and were engaged in numerous 
battles and skirmishes. Mr. W^ood was 
in the army from 1861 to the close of the 
memorable struggle in 1865, and during 
all of the time of his military service 
devoted himself wholly to the cause 
which he had espoused. After the close 
of the war he returned to his home and 
resumed his farming operations. A few 
years ago he retired from active pursuits 
and took up his residence in Shelbina, 
where he now lives. His wife died in 
that town. They had two sons and two 
daughters, all of whom are living. The 
father is a scion of an old English fam- 
ily, his branch of which has lived in this 
country for several generations. 

J. H. Wood was reared and began his 
education in Monroe county. He also 
attended the University of Missouri, 
from which he was graduated in 1895 
with the degree of L. B. He was pastor 
of the Christian church at Boonville, 
Cooper county, two years, and taught in 



244 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Christian College at Columbia, Missouri, 
during his pastorate. In 1897 he moved 
to Shelbina and became pastor of the 
Christian church, which position he still 
fills. Was associated with Messrs. 
Thomas & Gillespie in the abstract busi- 
ness for three years, the firm being 
known as "Wood, Thomas & Gillespie. 
In 1907 he became interested in the bank, 
to which his time has since been largely 
devoted. He is also president of the 
Shelbina Telephone Company, which he 
founded and incorporated in the autumn 
of 1908. In politics he is a Republican, 
but he has never been an active partisan 
or filled or desired a public office. His 
fraternal allegiance is given to the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Masonic Order, in the hitter of which 
he has risen to the degree of the Royal 
Arch. During the whole of his residence 
in Shelbina he has served as pastor of 
the Christian church, doing a great work 
for the congregation and building it up 
from a membershiji of 100 to one of 250. 
He is now engaged in the erection of a 
new church edifice which will be com- 
pleted at an early date. He is much es- 
teemed in church circles as well as in 
business relations, and illustrates in 
every walk in life the best attributes of 
an elevated, progressive and high- 
minded American citizenship. 

In June, 1898, he was united in mai-- 
riage with Miss Susan A. Jones, a sister 
of "W. H. Jones, who was cashier of the 
bank of which he is president. They 
have no children, but take a warm and 
helpful interest in the education and well 
being of all the children in the com- 
munity, being leaders and acti\'e woj-k- 
ers in every good undertaking for the 



welfare of the people and the promotion 
of every interest in which that is in- 
volved. Among the residents of Shel- 
bina they are accounted as worthy of the 
highest regard and looked up to as ex- 
amples of correct and upright living, 
which all might imitate with advantage 
to themselves and great benefit to the 
community. 

Mr. Wood is a member of the board of 
regents of the Kirksville State Normal 
School, being chairman of the board, and 
is also a member of the board of trus- 
tees of Missouri Bible College at Colum- 
bia, Missouri. 

GEORGE ROFF. 

This estimable citizen of Shelbina, who 
is passing the closing years of his life in 
rest and quiet after a long struggle for 
advancement in a worldly way, in which 
he almost at times dared Fate herself into 
the lists and felt prepared to meet it on 
nearly equal terms, presents to the con- 
templation of the biographer a subject 
of unusual interest. He came of a family 
of roving and adventurous disposition, 
and although he showed his heritage in 
this respect in one particular he did not 
in others, for which his ancestors were 
distinguished. So far as daring danger, 
enduring hardship and undergoing 
arduous toil and privation are concerned, 
he has upheld the family traditions in a 
manly and admirable way. But he has 
never roamed far from the place of his 
nativity to seek a residence, but has 
helped to the limit of his ability and op- 
]iortunities to develop the section and in- 
terests amid which he was born and 
reared. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



245 



Mr. Eoff was born, reared, educated 
and married in Shelby county, and, as an 
industrious and skillful tiller of the soil, 
has contributed practically and essen- 
tially to its development and improve- 
ment. So that whatever he is, he is all 
the county's own. His life began on 
June 12, 1841, and for a full half century 
be was one of the producing forces of the 
county except during a short portion of 
the Civil war, when he was engaged in 
the defense of his political principles as 
a member of the Confederate army. His 
service in that memorable and san- 
guinary contest lasted only about six 
months, for at the end of that period he 
was taken prisoner and soon after pa- 
roled on condition that he would return 
to the plains of the West and engage no 
further in the war. He is the grandson 
of Jonathan Eoff, a native of New Jer- 
sey, and a son of Peter and Sarah (An- 
derson) RotT, the former born and 
reared in Mason county, Kentucky, where 
he made his advent into the world in 
1800, and the latter a native of Virginia. 

The father grew to manhood on his 
father's farm, assisting in its labors and 
attending the district school when his 
services were not needed at home. In 
1832, while what is now the great and 
progressive state of Missouri was still a 
howling wilderness for the greatest part, 
he came west and located amid its un- 
broken wilds in this county. He took up 
a tract of wild land and devoted himself to 
its transformation into a cultivated and 
productive farm. He also raised stock in 
considerable numbers and thus helped 
materially to provide for the wants of 
the pioneers and build up the country 
around him. His farming and stock- 



raising operations continued until his 
death in 1866. He and his wife, whose 
maiden name was Sarah Anderson, be- 
came the parents of six children, of whom 
three are living. They are Carolina, the 
wife of Daniel Givens, of Shelbina; 
(xeorge, who is the inspiration of this 
sketch, and Thomas, also a resident of 
Shelbina. In political faith and adher- 
ence the father was an ardent Democrat. 
In fraternal relations he was a member 
of the Masonic order, and in religion be- 
longed to the Christian church. 

George Roff was reared on his father's 
farm in this county, and early in life 
began to learn the lessons of endurance, 
privation and self-reliance incident to 
residence and struggle with adversity 
and difficulty on the frontier. His only 
facilities for scholastic training were 
those supplied by the primitive schools 
of the wilderness at that early day, and 
when he had completed the course they 
covered, he at once went to work on the 
farm, again assisting his father until he 
started an enterprise in cultivating the 
soil and raising stock on his own account. 
This he continued until his retirement 
from all active pursuits in 1903, when he 
moved to Shelbina, and there he has ever 
since resided. He sold his farm and thus 
relieved his mind of all care concerning 
its management, and the only business he 
has given attention to since has been 
looking after his financial interests in 
connection with several business enter- 
prises, among them the Shelbina National 
Bank, of which he is one of the stock- 
holders and directors. As has been noted 
above, he was in the Confederate army 
six months at the beginning of the Civil 
war, but after being taken prisoner and 



246 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUjYTY 



paroled to the plains of the West, he felt 
obliged to abide by the terms of his re- 
lease and never entered the service of 
the Confederacy again. 

Mr. Rolf has been married twice. His 
first wife was Miss Julia Connolly, of 
Kentucky. They had one child, who died 
a number of years ago, as did the mother. 
On February 12, 1896, he was united with 
his second wife, who, before her mai'- 
riage, was Miss Jennie Hinthorn, a na- 
tive of McLean county, Illinois. He and 
his wife are highly respected and counted 
as among the best and most estimable 
citizens of the county. They are well and 
widely known and everywhere among 
their friends and acquaintances their 
lives are regarded as worthy of the good 
will of the people liecause of their up- 
rightness and usefulness. Both have 
been active in all commendable projects 
for the good of the county and town, 
manifesting an earnest interest in their 
improvement and the lasting welfare of 
their inhabitants. Mr. Eoft" is a staunch 
Democrat in politics and he and his wife 
are members of the Christian chui-ch in 
religious faith and association. 

JESSE T. HARDY. 

This eminent jurist and esteemed citi- 
zen of Shelby coimty is an ornament to 
her public life, and his occupancy of the 
bench is a guaranty that the rights and 
interests of her people will be sedulously 
watched and guarded against wrong, so 
far as it is in the power of an upright 
and enlightened court to furnish such 
protection, her peace, oi'der and good 
government will be presei'ved, and the 
laws of the state will be strictly and 



properly enforced within her boundaries. 

Judge Hardy is a native of the county, 
l)orn on May 1, 1848. He was reared on 
its soil, educated in its public schools, for 
years engaged in tilling its fertile farm 
lands, and has been prominent in its pro- 
fessional and official circles. He is there- 
fore closely connected with its people 
and has a personal as well as an official 
interest in their welfare. He is now serv- 
ing his third term as county judge, and 
is more firmly intrenched in the con- 
fidence and esteem of the people than 
when his official life began. For his 
course on the bench has been eminently 
satisfactory to them and in the highest 
degree creditable to himself. 

The Judge is a son of Samuel B. and 
Mary J. (Sparrow) Hardy, natives of 
Virginia and members of families that 
have dignified and adorned all walks of 
life in the history of that state. The 
father, impelled by a spirit of daring 
and self-reliance, and wishing to found a 
name for himself and his descendants on 
his own achievements, sought his ojjpor- 
tunity in what was in his yoimg man- 
hood an unbroken wilderness. He came 
to Missouri in 18.34 and took up a tract 
of wild land in what is now Shelby 
county and about eight miles northeast 
of the present city of Shelbina. He also 
opened a country store, and during the 
next few years was actively engaged in 
reducing his farm to subjection and pro- 
ductiveness and supplying the wants of 
the people around him from his mercan- 
tile establishment. When the railroad 
was partially completed he moved to 
Shelbina and built the Adams hotel, 
which he occupied and conducted for 
four or five years. He then returned to 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



247 



liis farm to pass the remainder of his 
days on the expanse he had redeemed 
from the wilds and die at hist in the 
home whicli was hallowed as the product 
and the scene of his useful toil. 

He was always deeply and intelligently 
interested in public atfairs and freely 
gave time, attention and material help to 
direct their course aright according to 
his views. He served two terms as county 
judge in the early history of the county, 
and when the Civil war burst upon our 
unhappy country, fearful of the dismem- 
berment of the Union, he enlisted in the 
Federal army in its defense. His com- 
m;ind was a part of the army of General 
Glover, and was stationed at Palmyra. 
While it saw comparatively little active 
service, it was at all times ready for duty 
and willing to dare death on the field of 
carnage. In the engagements in which it 
took part it made its military sjiirit and 
capacity manifest and admirably exem- 
plified the highest type of American man- 
hood. The elder Judge Hardy was mar- 
ried in Virginia to Miss Mary J. Spar- 
row, who was, like himself, a native of 
Virginia, as has been stated. They had 
eight children, of whom the jjresent Judge 
is the only one living. The father was a 
Republican in politics, a Freemason in 
fraternal life and a Southern Methodist 
in religion. 

Judge Jesse T. Hardy obtained his 
education in the jmblic schools of Shel- 
bina, and on leaving them turned his 
attention to farming and raising live 
stock, and also to contracting in works of 
construction. After a successful career 
of over a quarter of a century as a, 
farmer and contractor he sold his farm, 
gave U]j his other business and moved to 



Shelbina, making himself free to dis- 
charge his important and responsible 
duties as county judge, having been 
elected to the position in 1904. At the 
end of liis first term he was re-elected, 
and at the close of the second received 
renewed and increased assurances of the 
confidence and esteem of the people by a 
very complimentary and enthusiastic 
election to a third term. 

An analysis of his administration of 
the office of judge is not intended or 
necessary here. His official record so far 
has passed into the history of the county 
and been twice passed upon by the elec- 
torate with high approval, and this gives 
it higher standing and a firmer founda- 
tion in county and state chronicles than 
anything would that might be embodied 
in these paragraphs. It is enough for 
them to state that his services have been 
thoroughly satisfactory to the people of 
the county and have given him a high 
rank among the jurists of the state. 

In political allegiance and activity 
Judge Hardy has always been a Demo- 
crat, and in frateimal affiliation he has 
long been an Odd Fellow. While free 
from offensive partisanship and undue 
liolitical activity since he has been on the 
bench, he has nevertheless shown a keen 
interest in the welfare and success of his 
party on all occasions, as every good citi- 
zen should, and to the fraternal society 
in which he holds membership he has 
also given a commendable share of time 
and attention. He was married on Feb- 
ruary 22, 1868, to Miss Mary Elizabeth 
Maddox, of this county. They have had 
ten children, six of whom are living: 
Samuel Tolbert, of Shelby county; Dora 
Belle, wife of AVilliam Howell; John E. ; 



248 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Jessie, wife of Perry Parsons, and 
Chester and Lee, all residents of Shelby 
county and prominent and useful in pro- 
moting its development and improve- 
ment. 

AVILLIAM T. SWEARINGEN. 

Born in Monroe county on July 24, 
1849, at a time when this portion of the 
state was almost virgin in its wilderness 
and unsettled condition, and growing to 
manhood here, taking part in all the stir- 
ring activities incident to peopling and 
developmg a new country, AVilliam T. 
Swearingen, of Shelbina, has had fine 
opportunities for being useful to his lo- 
cality and writing his name in endur- 
ing phrase among the monuments and 
products of its progress. That he has 
employed his opportunities to good ad- 
vantage is proven by the numerous and 
imposing structures for residence and 
business i^uii^oses which he has erected 
in the county and city of his long home 
and by the universal esteem in which he 
is held by all classes of the people. 

Mr. Swearingen is a son of Thomas 
and Polly (Ashcraft) Swearingen, the 
father a native of Kentucky, born in 
1815, and the mother born and reared 
in Missouri. Thomas Swearingen came 
to Missouri early in the thirties and lo- 
cated in Monroe county. There, for a 
number of years, he was actively en- 
gaged in farming and raising live stock, 
giving Ills whole attention to his opera- 
tions and making them as profitable as 
the circumstances would allow. In the 
course of time he became enamored of 
Shelby county, and, selling out his in- 
terests in Monroe, he moved to this 
county on a farm which he purchased. 



and on which one of the old landmarks 
of the section was located in the fonn 
of a flour and saw mill on Salt river. He 
worked, the farm and operated the mill 
greatly to the convenience and advantage 
of the iDeople within a large extent of 
the surrounding country and his own 
pi'ofit for many years, when he sold all 
his real estate and farming appliances, 
and retired from active life to a home 
in Walkersviile, in which he died in 
1893. 

In politics the father was a Democrat, 
firm in his devotion and zealous in his 
services to his party, and in religious 
connection was affiliated with the !Meth- 
odist Episcopal church. South, to which 
he also gave the benefit of his wisdom in 
council and his fidelity and industry in 
work. lie was married twice, the first 
time to Miss Polly Ashcraft. Of the nine 
children born to them five are living and 
all but one are residents of Shelby 
county. They are: James, Sallie, the 
wife of John "Wood; William T. and 
^lalcomb, of this county, and Ephraim, 
who is a citizen of j\Ionroe county. The 
second marriage of the head of the house 
occurred in 1868, and by it he was united 
with Miss Ellen "Wood, of Shelby county. 
They became the parents of two children, 
Milton, who lives in St. Joseph, this 
state, and Ora, the wife of William Dun- 
gan, of Shelby county. 

William T. Swearingen grew to man- 
hood on the parental homestead in this 
county and obtained his education in 
its jmlilic schools. After leaving school 
he continued to work on his father's 
farm until 1869, doing also consid- 
erable work as a builder and con- 
tractor, having acquired a mastery of 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



249 



the carpentei' trade, for which he liad a 
natural aptitude. He put up many of 
the best dwellings and other buildings in 
the neighborhood, and they still stand 
out a m o n g the improvements in the 
county as evidences of his skill and 
abilit)' as a builder. Since taking up his 
residence in Shelbina, which ho did in 
1904, he has devoted himself exclusively 
to contracting and building on a large 
scale and with great success in results, 
both in the products of his art and the 
profits reaped from them. He has worked 
at his trade practically for forty-one 
years, and has won a reputation for mas- 
tery of it that is second to none in this 
portion of the state and that places him 
in the first rank among mechanics where- 
ever he is known. 

In all parts of Shelbina, and in many 
other localities, stand structures built 
by him which are admirably adapted to 
the purposes for which they were erected, 
and which potentially proclaim his merit 
as a builder. For he has been a student 
of his craft and has enlarged and trained 
his natural ability in it by keeping him- 
self posted in its latest phases and higher 
developments, acquiring some skill as an 
architect along with fine mechanical ex- 
ecution, and placing all his attainments 
liberally at the service of his patrons 
and his employes, thus enriching the 
property of the one class and the acquisi- 
tions of the other. 

On July 21, 1870, he united in mar- 
riage with Miss Isabelle Wood, of Shel- 
bina. Of the five children who have 
blessed and brightened their home four 
are living and all dwelling in Shelbina. 
They are George, Claudia, wife of Harry 
Keith, and Mabelle and Freda, both of 



whom are still members of the parental 
household. It is much to have lived 
sixty years among the same people and 
to have grown steadily in their respect 
and esteem, but this is Avhat Mr. Swear- 
ingen has accomplished. For his life has 
been clean and useful, constant in its 
fidelity to duty in all private and public 
relations, and ennobling in the high ex- 
ample of worthy citizenship it has given 
those associated with and living around 
him. It is of men like him that the best 
American manhood is made, and it is 
from such lives as his that our most 
stable and valued standards are taken. 

GEORGE C. GRANT. 

Although for nearly twelve years a 
member of the bar, and during a portion 
of that period an active practitioner of 
the profession, George C. Grant, of Shel- 
bina, has found mercantile life of the 
most strenuous and exacting character 
more to his taste than professional pur- 
suits, and during- the last seven years 
has devoted himself principally to that 
as an extensive dealer in real estate and 
was the junior member of the firm of 
Cleek & Grant, but is now doing business 
under the style name of George C. Grant, 
Real Estate Dealer, Shelbina, Missouri. 
He has been very successful in his un- 
dertakings and is accounted one of the 
best and wisest business men in Shelby 
county. 

Mr. Grant was born on November 4, 
1875, in the adjacent county of Monroe 
and village of Granville, where his par- 
ents, William and Mary A. (Moulton) 
(Jrant, then lived. The father was born 
and grew to the age of fourteen in Eng- 



250 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUIS^TY 



land. His life began in 1831, and was 
like that of most English boys of his sta- 
tion until 1845. He attended school and 
engaged in the pastimes of the day, as 
his companions did, but in the year last 
named he had an experience •which was 
denied to most of them and was probably 
desired by all. He was brought by his 
parents to the American continent, his 
young life being enriched by the ex- 
periences of an ocean voyage across the 
stormy Atlantic and the novel incidents, 
adventures and surroundings of exist- 
ence in a new world. The family located in 
Canada andWilliam remained there until 
1871, marrying Miss Mary A. Moulton, 
of that country, in 1861, who now resides 
at Clarence, Missouri, and taking his 
part in the productive industries of the 
land as an active and energetic farmer. 
In 1871 he came to the United States 
and took up his residence at Grranville, 
in Monroe county, of this state. There 
he again gave his attention to farming 
and raising live stock on a large scale, 
and in addition carried on a flourishing 
Inisiness as a merchant in shoes and 
boots. Some years later he sold his in- 
terests in Monroe county and moved over 
into Shelby county, making his home in 
Shelbina. Here he again engaged in 
mercantile life, in the shoe trade, for 
some years. He then sold his business 
and turned his attention to insurance, 
which occupied him uutil his death in 
February, 1894. Eight children were 
born in his household and all of them 
save one are living and adding to the 
wealth and greatness of the country in 
various localities and occupations. Tliey 
are: Charles E., who lives in Butte, 
Montana; Elizabeth E., the wife of Up- 



ton Moreman, of Lake Howell, Florida; 
William H., of La Belle, Missouri; Al- 
bert L., of Baker City. Oregon; Alicia, 
the wife of Hon. H. J. Simmons, of Clar- 
ence, this county; George C, the subject 
of this memoir; and the only one of this 
large family now remaining at Shelbina, 
Missouri; and Edward B. who died in 
St. Louis, Missouri, July 30, 1910, after 
an o]ieration for appendicitis, having 
gone there from his home in Clarence, 
Missouri, where he was engaged in the 
newspaper business and under the name 
of Simmons & Grant, published the 
"Clarence Courier." Agnes B., also 
resident of Clarence. The father was a 
Democrat in the politics of this country, 
a Freemason in its fraternal life and a 
member of the Southern Methodist 
church in religion. He was very zeal- 
ous in the work of his church, teaching 
the Bible class in its Sunday school for 
a number of years. 

George C. Grant became a resident of 
Shelbina when he was but a child and 
has passed all his subsequent years in the 
city. He obtained his education in its 
public schools, graduating with credit 
from the high school, then pursued a 
course of special business training at the 
Shelbina Commercial College. As a pre- 
paration for what he looked forward to 
as his life work he studied law under the 
direction of E. A. Cleek, Esq., then state 's 
attorney, and was admitted to the bar in 
1898. During the next few years he 
practiced his profession at Clarence, and 
then for several years in Shelbina. In 
1902 he formed a partnership with Mr. 
Cleek, under the name of Cleek & Grant, 
for the imrpose of engaging in the real 
estate business, but this partnership 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



251 



was dissolved in the year 1910, and since 
then he has been engaged individually in 
that line of mercantile eft'ort. He is now 
a leading real estate dealer in this part of 
the state and does a very extensive busi- 
ness. He owns considerable real estate 
in farm lands and city property, and 
handles enormous extents of it in supply- 
ing an active demand in a busy and en- 
grossing market. He also owns two 
very fine highly improved farms of 440 
acres in Monroe county, Missouri, where 
Marion and Shelbj' coimties corner with 
the north line of Monroe county, a short 
distance south and east of Hunnewell, 
which are said by many to be two of the 
best farms in the three counties. Mr. 
Grant is lilso connected with some of the 
leading financial and industrial institu- 
tions of the city and county, among them 
the Old Bank of Shelbina, in which he is 
one of the stockholders. He has been 
very successful in all his projects, show- 
ing fine business capacity with great in- 
dustry in conducting his affairs, and at 
the same time the utmost fairness and 
consideration toward others in all his 
dealings. He is an excellent judge of 
real estate, both as to its character and 
its value, and kee])s in touch with all that 
is likely to be available for his purposes ; 
so that he is prepared at all times to 
secure for any purchaser just what the 
buyer needs. 

On May 7, 1901, Mr. Grant was united 
in marriage with Miss L. Virginia Swear- 
ingen, of Shelby county. They have two 
children, their son, Malcolm E., and their 
daughter, Alicia M., both of whom still 
help to warm and brighten the family 
hearthstone, being yet children of ten- 
der ages. The father believes firmly in 



tlie principles of the Democratic party 
and lends it his active and effective aid 
in all its campaigns, although he is not 
desirous of any of the honors or emolu- 
ments of official station for himself. Fra- 
ternally he is a Knight of Pythias and a 
Modern Woodman of America, and in re- 
ligious affairs is affiliated with the •South- 
ern Methodist church. Although he is 
yet a young man he has won high rank 
in business circles and has a firm hold on 
the regard and good will of the people 
as an upright, progressive and altogether 
useful and estimable citizen. 

SILAS THRELKELD. 

Born on May 19, 1833, in Henry 
county, Kentucky, reared and educated 
in Boone count}% Indiana, where he 
worked for years at his trade as a car- 
penter, and during the last fifty years a 
resident of Alissouri, Silas Threlkeld has 
been a part of the human history of 
three great states in the American Union 
and a valued contributor to the produc- 
tive industries of two of them. He is 
now not far from four score years of 
age, and the retrospect of his long and 
useful life must bring before his mental 
vision many scenes of the highest dra- 
matic interest, many incidents of heroic 
struggle and endurance, many startling 
clumges in American life, conditions and 
aspirations, all of which he has witnessed 
and been a part of. And through the 
whole war]! and woof of the extended 
period his friends can see his own record 
running like a veritable thread of gold, 
bright in the luster of its excellence, val- 
uable in the strength it adds to the fabric 
and suggestive in its unyielding texture 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



against tlie wear and tear of every day 
life. 

Mr. Tlirelkekl is descended from old 
' Virginia families, whose history in the 
Old Dominion runs back to colonial times 
and adorns every walk of life among its 
people. His grandfather, Daniel Threl- 
keld, was a native of tliat state, and, 
with the adventurous spirit that charac- 
terized liis family and the society in 
which he was reared, left the home of his 
fathers in his early manhood to win a 
name and an estate for himself amid the 
wilds of Kentucky at the time when Dan- 
iel Boone was fixing forever the fame of 
that then remote and unsettled region in 
the pages of romantic history. There the 
parents of him who is now one of the 
patriarchs of Shelbina, Arway and Jemi- 
ma (Wilson) Threlkeld, were born and 
reared, the father's life beginning in 
1810, and the mother's in Owen county 
about in 1806. Following the example 
of their parents, they also became emi- 
grants, moving first to Boone county, In- 
diana, and in 1866 to Monroe county, 
Missouri. Here the father of Silas 
bought a farm on Water creek, which he 
improved and cultivated until advancing 
years and failing strength obliged him 
to retire from all active pursuits. He 
then sold his farm and from that time 
until his death in Shelbina, in 1898, made 
his home with his children. He and his 
wife were the parents of five children, 
and of these but four are living: The 
subject of this writing, who is passing 
the evening of his long and stirring day 
of life in Shelbina ; William and Thomas, 
venerable residents of Monroe county; 
and Mary Nancy, the wife of F. D. Crow, 
of Moberly in Randolph county. The 



father was a life-long Democrat in pol- 
itics and for many years a devout and 
zealous member of the Baptist church. 
He died at the age of about 83 years, 
and his remains were followed to the 
grave with every demonstration of pop- 
ular esteem and affection. 

Silas Threlkeld obtained his scholastic 
training in the district schools of Boone 
coimty, Indiana. xVfter leaving school he 
learned the carpenter ti-ade and worked 
at it in Indiana until 1859, when he 
brought his strength and aspirations as 
a man and his skill as a mechanic to 
Shelbina. His mechanical acquirements 
were badly needed in the village at the 
time and for some years he found em- 
ployment at his trade that was both plen- 
tifiil and profitable. But he had a natu- 
ral inclination to farm life, and yielding 
to this, lie bought his first farm near 
Paris, ]\Iouroe county; then sold it and 
bought another, also in Monroe county 
but not far from Shelbina, renting in ad- 
dition 400 acres of land which he farmed 
for four years. At the end of that period 
he found himself able to purchase a much 
desired farm in tliis county and he made 
the purchase. 

During the next twelve years he occu- 
pied and cultivated this farm with en- 
ergy and success, adding gi-eatly to its 
value by l)ringiug it to a high state of 
])roductiveness and by extensively' im- 
proving it in buildings and equipment. 
The milling industry was then in great 
need of recruits and offered many oppor- 
tunities to men of enterprise and sagac- 
ity. He therefore sold liis farm and 
moved to Shelbina, entering into a part- 
nership with his brother-in-law, F. D. 
Crow, with whom he was associated in 



r 




4 



^PH 



.«5, 




* 



JAMES 0. STRIBLING 



IIISTOltY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



253 



extensive milling opei'ations for a period 
of twenty years. Farm life, however, 
still beckoned him with persuasive hand, 
and he traded his interest in the mill for 
another farm on which he took up his 
residence, and to which he gave his at- 
tention for a number of years and then 
sold it. In 1899 he gave up business of 
all kinds and again located in Shelbina, 
to pass the remainder of his days in 
peace after so many contests, in com- 
fortable rest and leisure after such ar- 
duous and long continued effort. 

Through life Mr. Threlkeld has fol- 
lowed the fortunes of the Democratic 
party through victory and defeat, always 
contributing effective aid in its cam- 
paigns and cordially supporting its can- 
didates. He is a charter member of the 
Odd Fellows -lodge in Shanaldah, Indi- 
ana, and has given it the benefit of his 
helpful membership ever since its organ- 
ization. He is a stockholder and one of 
the directors of the Old Bank of Shel- 
bina and takes an active interest in its 
business. Twice has be bowed beneath 
the flowery yoke of Eros, the first time 
being joined in marriage with Miss Mil- 
dred Acuff, of Monroe county, in 1863. 
Four children were born of this mar- 
riage, all of whom are living and resi- 
dents of Shelby county. They are : Net- 
tie, wife of W. S. Bryan; Henry; Jennie, 
the wife of William Lawrence; all living 
in Shelbina ; and Cornelia, the wife of 
James Miller, who has her home in an- 
other part of the county. The father's 
second marriage took place in 1884, 
when he was united with Miss Cornelia 
Acuff, of Monroe county. They have 
two children, their sons Roy, who lives 
at home, and Harold, who married Lotus 



Smock August 11, 1908, and is conduct- 
ing a grocery store in Shelbina. 

While Mr. Threlkeld is now but a rest- 
ful sojourner on the shady wayside of 
the world 's strenuous activities, and only 
looks upon the passing pageant of its 
busy and productive life, he still feels a 
keen and abiding interest in all the 
phases of men's work and especially in 
the welfare of the community around 
him. He is no longer one of its militant 
forces, but by no means ignores or grows 
indifferent to its interests. Eevered as 
a patriarch and looked up to as a sage, 
his counsel is still earnesth^ sought and 
his admonitions are heeded, so that his 
influence is felt in the county among 
whose people he is everywhere most 
highly esteemed as one of their worthiest 
citizens and most upright and sterling 
men. 

JAMES 0. STRIBLING. 

The life story of this prominent citi- 
zen of Clarence, in this county, is one of 
adventure and thrilling incident in parts 
and of great energy, determination and 
good business management in all. He 
has been a soldier and faced death on 
many a bloody battlefield. He was a 
]>risoner of war for several months, lan- 
guishing in Federal military prisons. 
He has also been a farmer of prominence 
and successful operations, and a timber 
contractor for one of the leading rail- 
road lines in this part of the country. 
He has met every requirement of his 
busy and varied life in a manly and mas- 
terly way and every week of his time 
and every faculty of his being minister 
to his substantial and continued advance- 
ment. 



254 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



]\Ir. Stribling was born in Monroe 
county, Missouri, on October 8, 18-iO, and 
is a son of Taliaferro and Jane C. 
(Boggs) Stribling, the fonuer a native 
of Kentucky and the latter of Pennsyl- 
vania. Their marriage took place in 
Missouri and by it they became the par- 
ents of three children, all of whom are 
living. They are : Loui^ine, the wife of 
A. Damrell, of Shelbyville; James 0:. 
the subject of this memoir; and Loretta, 
the wife of AV. G. Sanders, also a resi- 
dent of Shelbyxdlle. 

The father came to Missouri in an 
early day and for a number of years 
worked at the salt works on Salt river 
in Ralls county. He then turned his at- 
tention to farming and raising live stock 
and adhered to these pursuits contin- 
uously until his death in 1844. He was 
a man of enterprise and progressive- 
ness, wai-mly interested in the progi'ess 
and development of the region in which 
he lived, and gave earnest and very help- 
ful attention to the welfare of the people 
all around him. By his course in this 
respect he rose to prominence and in- 
fluence and won the high esteem of the 
whole jiopulation. 

James O. Stribling, like most of the 
boys and youth of this locality of his 
time, obtained his education in the pub- 
lic schools, attending them in Florida, 
Missouri. At the beginning of the 
Civil war he enlisted in the Confederate 
army under Col. Theodore Brace, and 
entered actively into the designs of the 
government, which he had volunteered 
to help and defend. He carried the first 
dispatch, after going into a regular 
cam]), from General Harris, then holding 
his command in Ralls county, to Colonel 



Green, whose camp was in Scotland 
county. He took part in the battles of 
Monroe City, Lexington and Sugar 
Creek, Missouri, Pea Ridge, Arkansas, 
and manj- skirmishes. The service was 
hazardous and he was daring. This re- 
sulted in his capture after seven months 
in the field, and during the next two or 
three months he was confined in Federal 
military prisons at Clinton, Sedalia and 
St. Louis, Missouri. After he was mus- 
tered out of the service he was again 
taken prisoner while on his way home 
and again kept in confinement for some 
time. 

After his release he returned to his 
former home in Monroe county, this 
state, but only remained a short time. 
In 1865 he went to work for the Hanni- 
bal & St. Joseph Railroad Company and 
took up his residence at Lakenau, in this 
coimty. He quit the railroad service in 
1869 and turned his attention to farming 
and raising live stock near Lakehan, 
conducting his operations with great en- 
terprise and vigor and under very flour- 
ishing conditions. While thus engaged 
he drove the first self-binding harvester 
ever used in Shelby county, and for a 
period of twenty years was one of the 
leading farmers and stock men in this 
part of the state. 

Tn 1889 ]\rr. Stribling sold his farming 
interests and moved to Clarence, where 
he has made his home ever since. Im- 
mediately after locating in Clarence he 
bought an interest in what was then 
known as the Clarence Roller Mill, and 
with this industrial institution he was 
connected for ten years. At the end of 
that period he sold his interest in it. 
During the last fifteen years he has been 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



255 



actively engaged in furnishing timber 
for the Chicago, Burlington & Quinc}' 
railroad, and during this period has 
made a number of short stays at Tex- 
arkana, Texas, in the vicinity of which 
he has about 8,000 acres of good timber 
land. The greater part of the timber 
now supplied for the use of the Chicago, 
Burlington & Quincy line is procured 
along its right of way. Mr. Striblijig 
also holds a considerable block of stock 
in the Shelby County State Bank, of 
Clarence. In December, 1910, he was 
elected president of The Clarence Sav- 
ings Bank, which position he is now 
filling. 

He was united in marriage with Miss 
Susan Dorothy Hamilton, of Monroe 
county, Missouri, on April 28, 1868. She 
is a daughter of Clement A. and Cecilia 
T. (Brown) Hamilton, of Clarence. 
Seven children have been born of the 
union, five of whom are living: Jane 
Oneta, the wife of Joseph McDonald, of 
Brookfield, Missouri ; Lela, the wife of 
T. C. Stutz, also a resident of Brook- 
field; Ava and Clyde C, who are living 
at home with their parents; and Loretta, 
the wife of I. C. Yates, who lives in Mon- 
roe City. 

In his political alliance Mr. Stribling 
is a pronounced and active Democrat, 
zealous and effective in the service of his 
party, although seeking none of its 
honors or emolmnents for himself. Fra- 
ternally he is a Knight of Pythias, and 
in religious faith and allegiance is con- 
nected with the Catholic church. He is 
loyal and devoted to his party, his lodge 
and his church, and has been faithful 
and serviceable in his performance of 
all the duties of citizenship, standing 



high in the esteem of all the people as 
one of the best and most representative 
men in the county. 

THOMAS ROFF. 

Having reached the age of sixty-five 
and retired from all active pursuits of a 
strenuous character, the present life of 
Thomas Roff, one of the esteemed citi- 
zens of Shelbina, might seem to be one 
of rest, recreation and retrospection 
merely, but it is not so. He is still act- 
ively and intelligently interested in the 
improvement and general welfare of the 
community in which he makes his home 
and does his part as ever to promote its 
good; he still reveres the county and 
state in which his labors have been ex- 
pended, to whose advancement he has 
materially contributed, and is at the 
front with others in efforts for their yet 
greater development and progress; he 
has lost nothing of his regard for the 
people among whom his years of pro- 
ductive industry were passed, and he is 
constant in his wish and his endeavors 
to enlarge their happiness and substan- 
tial well being. So that even if he does 
no longer hold the plow, or reap the har- 
vest, or supply the live stock market, he 
is, nevertheless, still one of the workers 
for Shelby county's benefit and is re- 
garded as one of its most worthy and 
useful citizens. 

Mr. Roff was liorn in the county on 
April 2, 1844, and is a son of the late 
Peter Roif, an account of whose life will 
be fomid in a sketch of his other son, 
George Roff, in this work. Following 
the course, of most boys in the early days 
of a new countrv, Thomas Roff obtained 



•256 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



his education in the district schools in 
the neighborhood of his home, and while 
attending them assisted in the labors of 
all hands on his father's farm. The 
times were exacting in his boyhood and 
youth, the necessaries of life being so 
difficult to get and requiring so much ef- 
fort, that all the luxuries were unthought 
of. The pioneers of this section had the 
wUd expanse around them to awaken 
from its sleep of ages and the rough face 
of the country to smooth before they 
could find comeliness in its aspect or lib- 
erality in its bosom. And tlie exacting 
conditions bore heavily on the boys as 
well as on the men. on the daughters of 
the household as well as on the mothers. 
Thomas Roff was obliged by circum- 
stances to take his place among the toil- 
ers and do his full share toward supply- 
ing the needs of the home and family, 
and was therefore unable to seek other 
means of mental culture than those im- 
mediately at hand. He accepted his des- 
tiny with cheerfulness and performed its 
duties with all the ability and strength 
he could command. So entirely did he 
fall in with the genius of the time and 
locality that when he left school, instead 
of turning his back upon the rough life 
of the frontier, he remained on his 
father's farm and wrought with the rest 
until he reached the age of twenty-eight. 
Then, in 1S72, his father deeded kim a 
portion of the land he owned, and on this 
the son went heartily to work for him- 
self. During the succeeding twenty-seven 
years he farmed and raised live stock in- 
dustriously and profitably, continuing 
his oj^rations until 1SS9. when he gave 
up active industry and sought a retired 
life in Shelbina. where he has ever since 



had his home. He is a stockholder in the 
Shelbina National Bank and connected 
with other institutions of utility and 
value in the city and county, and to these 
he still gives the required share of his 
attention. 

His political faith has ever been fixed 
in the Democratic party and his activity 
in public affairs has been devoted to its 
welfare. His church affiliation is with 
the Christian sect, and in its behalf he 
has long been a faithful and a zealous 
worker. On AprU 15. 18S1, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Ella Hardcastle. of this 
county. They have had three children, 
of whom their daughter Lillian is the 
only one now living. 

TILMOX A. B-ULEY. 

Tilmon A. Bailey is a brother of John 
T. Bailey, of Shelbina. in a sketch of 
whom, on another page of this work, will 
1)e found an aceoimt of the life of their 
father. Tilmon O. Bailey, and the mother 
of the family. The subject of these para- 
graphs was bom in Monroe county. Mis- 
souri, on August 22, 1S62. He was reared 
on his father's farm, attending the dis- 
trict school in the neighborhood when he 
could be spared from the labor of culti- 
vating the homestead, and made good 
use of his limited opportunities in the 
way of scholastic acquirements. At the 
age of twenty he entered the Shelbina 
Collegiate Institute, which he attended 
imtil 1SS4. when he began a three years' 
course of study at Central College, which 
is located at Fayette, in this state. 

After completing his college course he 
became a teacher in the public schools of 
his native coimtv*. to which he rendered 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



257 



excellent service during a period of 
twelve years. He was elected county 
school commissioner of that county in 
1896 and held the office two years, vacat- 
ing it in 1898 and taking up his resi- 
dence at Shelbina. He brought with him 
into Shelby county a number of select 
shorthorn cattle with several jacks and 
jennets of a superior strain and stallions 
of high grade. With these he started an 
active industry in breeding stock, and 
also gave his services as a bookkeeper to 
the Commercial Bank of Shelbina and 
afterward, for a short time, to the Old 
Bank of the city. In 1906 he was elected 
cashier of tlie Fai'mers' and Merchants' 
Bank, as it was then called, but which, 
owing to a reorganization and change of 
management, is now known as the Shel- 
bina National Bank. But he did not re- 
main in this position long. Stock-breed- 
ing was more to his taste than banking, 
and in 1907 he retired from a business 
that was not entirely agreeable to him in 
order that he might give his whole time 
and attention to one that was. Since then 
he has been continuously and extensively 
engaged in raising stock, breeding con- 
siderable numbers of his own and han- 
dling many more by purchase and ex- 
change. 

In this industry his interest is ab- 
sorbed and to its study and development 
his time is given. He has become thor- 
oughly familiar with all the details and 
features of the business and is recog- 
nized wherever he is known as an author- 
ity of extensive information and entire 
reliability on the subject and all matters 
connected with it. In this connection it 
should be noted that he served for years 
as secretarv of an industrial association 



made up of Shelby and Monroe county 
shorthorn breeders, and also as manager 
and conductor of its sales of stock, which 
took place annually, the two positions 
being awarded to him without opposi- 
tion, so complete was his mastery and 
knowledge of the business considered. 

Mr. Bailey has taken considerable in- 
terest in the public affairs of his county, 
state and country. He is an ardent be- 
liever in the principles of the Democratic 
party and an earnest and effective 
worker in its behalf. He is also promi- 
nent in the fraternal life of the commu- 
nity as a member of the Masonic order, 
having served as Worshipful Master of 
the Lodge, High Priest of the Eoyal 
Arch Chapter, and Worthy Patron of 
the local organization of the order of the 
Eastern Star. He and wife hold mem- 
bership in the Southern Methodist 
church and are energetic and zealous 
workers. On September 1, 1892, he was 
married to Miss Frances Quisenberry, of 
Santa Fe, this state. They have had five 
children, three of whom are living and 
still imder the parental roof tree. They 
are Blanche, Twila and Phyllis. 

JUDGE NEWTON ADAMS. 

This venerable citizen of Shelbina, has 
outlived the allotted time of man, as pre- 
scribed by the jialmist, but he is still 
hale and hearty, and takes an active in- 
terest in all that pertains to the progress 
and advancement of the people among 
whom he has so long lived and labored. 
Judge Adams is a native of the "Blue 
Grass" state, having been born in Henry 
county of that state on January 1, 
1823. 



258 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



His parents, James and Katherine 
(Thornton) Adams, were natives of Ken- 
tucky and V i r g i n a resi^ectively, the 
father, like himself, being a native of 
Henry county, and there passed the ac- 
tive years of his life engaged in farming. 
In 1864. however, he severed the ties that 
bound him to his native state, and joined 
his children, who had preceded him to 
the great state of Missouri, making his 
home with them until his death, which 
occurred in Monroe county in 1874. 

He was twice married. His first wife, 
the mother of the interesting subject of 
the article, died in Kentucky, in 1845. Six 
sons and three daughters were born to 
them, all of whom are now dead but two 
sons and a daughter. The father chose 
for his second wife, Susan Kerlin, a 
widow. To them was born one son, Jo- 
seph W., who is now a resident of Chari- 
ton county, ]\Iissouri. 

The grandfather of Judge Adams was 
AYilliam Adams, a native of Ireland. He 
emigrated to America just prior to the 
revolution and settled in Pennsylvania. 
He was a soldier in the war of the revolu- 
tion, serving for nearly two years. When 
the colonies secured their independence, 
and peace was at last restored he emi- 
grated to Kentucky, and there passed 
the residue of his life. Pour of his sons 
saw service in the war of 1812, three of 
them were in the Northern campaign, 
and one was with General Jackson at 
New Orleans. One son, William, died 
in Canada, while in the service. 

Judge Newton Adams grew to man- 
hood among the pioneer scenes of his na- 
tive state, and endured many of the hard- 
ships and dangers incident to the settle- 



ment and development of that great com- 
monwealth. 

He attended the primitive schools of 
the day, but was early in life compelled 
to make his own way in the world, and 
began laying the foundation of his own 
fortune by working on nearby farms. The 
wages were small and thinking to better 
his condition, in 1850, he severed the home 
ties and started for Missouri, which was 
at that time attracting so many of the 
young men of that section. The trip was 
made by water to Hannibal, and he ar- 
rived there on Christmas daj" of the 
same year. 

He at once made his way inland to 
Monroe county, and purchased a farm of 
two hundred and forty acres, five miles 
south of Shelbina. 

The land was unimproved, and he at 
once set about making a home for him- 
self, enduring all the hardships and pri- 
vations incident to the founding of a 
home in a new countrj'. He continued 
to reside on that farm until 1864, bring- 
ing it to a high state of protluctiveness. 
In that year he disposed of the land and 
removed to Shelbina, where he made his 
home until 1883, when he purchased an- 
other tract of land in ^lonroe county, six 
miles southwest of Shelbina. 

This land he improved and resided 
upon until 1889. when he disposed of it 
and removed to Columbia, ^fissouri, that 
his children might have the advantage of 
the excellent schools of that place. After 
a residence of two years in Columbia, he 
again returned to Shelbina. and pur- 
chased a farm one mile south of the city 
on which he lived imtil 1906, when he re- 
tired from all active pursuits, and is now j 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



259 



passing the eveuiug of his loug aud 
active life in the city of Shelbiua, sur- 
rounded by a host of friends who respect 
him for the many sterling qualities of 
mind and heart they know him to pos- 
sess. 

"While a resident of Shelby county, 
Judge Adams was called upon to serve 
as county judge of the county, being first 
appointed to fill an unexpired term in 
1871, and elected in the fall following to 
succeed himself in the same office, and 
in this connection it might be well to 
state that he was the first Democrat 
elected to office in Shelby county after 
the war. While a resident of Monroe 
county he filled the office of justice of 
the peace for a number of years, and also 
of county assessor for one term. 

In polities the judge was first a 
"Know Nothing," but after the death of 
that party he aligned himself with the 
Democratic party, and for many years 
was considered one of the leaders in 
Shelby county. 

He was married in Monroe county, 
March 2, 1851, to Mrs. Martha (Sparks) 
Heridon, who like himself is a native of 
Kentucky. Ten children have been born 
to them, seven of whom are living — 
Sarah, William, Lucy, Mattie, Newton 
T., Jane and Vinnie. 

In religion he and wife are members 
of the Presbyterian church, the judge 
having united with the church when he 
was twenty years of age. He was also 
one of the charter members of the church 
at Shelbina and an elder of the same. 
Fraternally he belongs to the Masonic 
fraternity, becoming a Master Mason in 
1862, and has filled the chairs of Sr., 



Deacon and Worshipful Master of Shel- 
bina Lodge, No. 228. 

CHARLES S. BARKER. 

In the productive fields of peaceful in- 
dustry, in military service during the 
great Civil war, in connection with the 
management of mighty utilities of every 
day service to the people, and again in 
farming for a period, and then in the 
employ of the national government, 
Charles S. Barker, of Shelbina, has been 
of great service to the citizens of Mis- 
souri and several other states. His life 
of sixty-five years to this time has been 
a very busy one fi'om the age at which 
he became able to work, and all his pur- 
suits have ministered directly aud sub- 
stantially to the comfort, convenience 
and general well-being of the public. His 
long and faithful devotion to duty and 
his excellent record in every way have 
brought him the continued esteem of all 
who know him and registered him in the 
regard of the people as one of the most 
useful and worthy citizens of this county. 

Mr. Barker is a native of Shelby 
county and was born on November 17, 
1844. He is of Scotch ancestry on his 
father's side, his grandfather, John Bar- 
ker, having been born in the romantic 
land of Scott and Burns. In the war of 
1812 he raised a company of soldiers, 
with his brother George as captain. He 
emigrated to this coimtry in early man- 
hood, locating in Clinton county, Penn- 
sylvania, where Jonathan Barker, the 
father of Charles, was bom on July 27, 
1808. From his youth until November, 
1840, he was boatman on the Susque- 



260 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



hanna river. In the autumn of 1840 he 
came to this state and founded a new 
home on Salt river, in Shelby county, 
buying a tract of land which gave him 
water power for a mill. He developed 
his land and made it fruitful, and also 
built up an extensive trade at his mill, 
which he continued to develop until the 
high water of 1846 swejDt it away, follow- 
ing these pursuits steadily, industriously 
and profitably until his death on May 3, 
1894. 

Besides Jonathan Barker, others of 
his immediate family were instrumental 
in aiding the development of the country 
they had chosen for a home. His brother 
Geoi'ge, who came to this country in 
1820, was a surveyor for forty years. He 
also built the first mill at AValkerville, 
the place taking its name from Jonathan 
Walker, an own cousin of the father of 
Charles Baker, and the grandfather, 
Charles Smith, built the old court house 
in Shelbina. 

In November, 1842. he was married to 
Miss Emeline E. Smith, a resident of 
this county at the time but a native of 
Kentucky. Their offspring numbered 
ten and five are living, widely scattered 
in location and pursuits, but all exempli- 
fying the lessons and examples given 
them around the family hearth in useful 
avocations and contributions to the 
growth and development of our common 
country. They are: The subject of this 
brief review; Washington D., a resident 
of Gridley, California ; Mary F., now 
I\Irs. William Kealey, of Shelbina; 
Amanda, wife of Samuel E. Baker, of 
Shelbina; Helen N., who is married to 
James S. Barker and lives at Gridley, 
California ; and Jennie, who is Mrs. Will- 



iam Baird, of Spokane, Washington. The 
father was a ^Tiig in national politics 
imtil the death of the "Whig party and the 
formation of its vigorous and aggressive 
successor, the Republican party, after 
which he gave his allegiance to the new 
organization and faithfully supported it 
as long as he lived. He was also a de- 
vout and serviceable member of the Bap- 
tist church for a great many years. He 
died after nearly completing his eighty- 
ninth year of life on earth, and left be- 
hind him as a priceless heritage for his 
children a good name and the record of 
well spent years and powers, in addition 
to the material accumulation they had 
enabled him to gather. 

Charles S. Barker grew to manhood on 
his father's farm in Shelby county and 
obtained his education at the district 
school of the neighborhood, his experi- 
ences in these respects being like those 
of nearly all the children of the frontier. 
When the Civil war began he was but 
sixteen years of age, but he felt a stern 
call to duty in defense of the integrity of 
the Union, and, boy as he was, enlisted 
in the Federal army in a company that 
was soon afterward placed under the 
command of General John McNeil, of St. 
Louis, whose principal headquarters 
were at Cape Girardeau, in this state. 
The company participated in the battles 
of Cape Girardeau, Bloomfield and 
Kirksville in Missouri, and in many 
minor engagements. Mr. Barker escaped 
uninjured from the war and soon after 
its close became an employe of the Han- 
nibal & St. Joseph Railroad Company, 
which he served with fidelity and ability 
for a period of eighteen months. He 
then moved to Loekliaven, Pennsylvania, 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



261 



to be still connected with the railway 
service and take an appointment in it 
under the Pennsylvania system, in which 
he was emi^loyed five years. 

In 1878, with, the training he had se- 
cured in his experience in the railway 
service, and his faculties broadened and 
brightened by work in a different section 
of the coimtrj^, Mr. Barker i-eturned to 
Missouri and during the next five j^ears 
devoted his energies to building bridges. 
He next engaged in farming for eight 
years on the old family homestead. In 
1901 he entered the postal service Bf the 
United States in Shelbina and is still 
connected with it. He has given his sup- 
port loyally to the Republican party 
from the dawn of his manhood, for many 
years has found the consolations of re- 
ligion as an earnest worker in the Bap- 
tist church, of which he is a member, 
and has enjoyed fraternal life as a mem- 
ber of the Masonic order. On December 
15, 1891, he was united in marriage with 
Miss Jennie Parrish, of Macon county, 
in this state. The two children that have 
blessed their union, their daughters Vir- 
ginia Frances and Ruth, still abide with 
them in their pleasant home iu Shelbina, 
which is a favorite resort of their hosts 
of admiring friends. 

FARMERS' AND MERCHANTS' 
BANK OF HUNNEWELL. 

This valued financial institution, which 
has been of great service to the commu- 
nity in which it has been operating for 
about two years, has already secured a 
hold on the public regard and confidence 
that assures its continued and increasing 
success, and promises great things for 



the future in the way of covenience to 
the people and development of the town 
and surrounding country, which have 
been greatly in need of the facilities it 
affords for the ijuick dispatch of busi- 
ness and convenience in transactions. 

The bank was founded in November, 
1908, with a capital stock of $10,000 and 
the following directorate : President, Al- 
bert L. Vaughn ; vice president, W. B. 
Arnold; cashier, W. B. Herron; direct- 
ors, Albert L. Vaughn, W. B. Arnold, 
John W. Carr, Harry Duer, Ben Par- 
sons, Jerry Jeffries, E. A. Fiye and C. 
L. Landrum. Mr. Frye died in April, 
1910, and he was succeeded by J. Weldon 
Hardesty. From the day on which its 
doors were opened for business it has 
been doing well and steadily increasing 
its trade, while the public appreciation 
of its wise management, liberal policy 
and manifest soundness has grown as its 
operations have expanded. Located, as 
it is, at the junction of three rich and 
progressive counties, and having the en- 
terprising people of them all to draw 
upon for business, the bank is bound to 
succeed and make its mark in the finan- 
cial world. It is, moreover, under the 
management of careful and capable men, 
who, in protecting and advancing tbeir 
own interests in connection with it, will 
do all in their power to promote the wel- 
fare of its patrons and facilitate their 
business operations to the fullest extent 
consistent with safety and good banking 
direction. The bank does a general bank- 
ing business, embracing every approved 
and up-to-date feature, and lays all its 
resources under tribute to ]irovide for 
the wants of the community and its 
people in every possible way. 



262 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Albert L. Vauglin, the president of the 
bank and its leading business inspiration 
and controlling force, is conducting his 
new venture right among the people with 
whom his whole life, so far, has been 
passed. He was born, reared and edu- 
cated in ^lonroe county, and found his 
partner for life in Hunnewell. Those 
who trade with him and his bank know 
well, therefore, what to expect from his 
high character and the record of his 
years, which is an open book before 
them. His life began on his father's 
farm on July 31, 1870, and was passed 
under the family roof until he reached 
the age of twenty-eight. 

His parents were Fielding Pope and 
Eva (Williams) Vaughn, the former a 
native of Lexington county, Kentuckj% 
and the latter bom and reared in Platte 
county, Missouri. They were married 
on November 16, 1868, and Albert was 
the first born of their sis children, five 
of whom are living, the others being J. 
C. Vaughn, of Eocky Ford, Colorado; 
Mattie B., wife of Eugene Gardner, of 
Kampa, Idaho; T. B. Vaughn, of Shel- 
bina, and Pattie, who lives in Shelbina. 

In political faith and activity the 
father was a firm and loyal Democrat all 
the days of his mature life, taking a 
great interest in the welfare of his party 
and doing all he could to promote it. 
Fraternally he was connected with the 
^lasonic order, in which he was a Knight 
Temjilar; and in religious affiliation he 
was a member of the Christian church, 
in whose benevolent and evangelizing 
work he took the share of a zealous and 
effective worker. The first few years of 
his life in this state were pa.^^sed on a 
farm in Platte countv, and from tliere 



he moved to Monroe county, where he 
lived until his death in 1903. His father, 
who also was named Fielding Pope 
^"aughn, was a native of Kentucky. 

Albert L. Vaughn located in Himne- 
well on May 25, 1898. His first venture 
into the business life of the community 
was as a livery keeper and dealer in 
horses, a line of industry and merchan- 
dising he still follows in addition to his 
services at tlie bank. He was made pres- 
ident of this institution when it was 
founded in November, 1908, and is still 
rendering valued and fruitful service in 
that capacity, showing a film grasp of 
the business, a high degree of capacity 
for its requirements and continued fidel- 
ity and strict integrity in attending to it. 

In politics ilr. Vaughn is a staunch 
and unwavering Democrat ; and although 
he desires none of the honors or emolu- 
ments of public office for himself, he 
takes an active part in the campaigns of 
his party and gives its candidates ener- 
getic and effective support on all occa- 
sions. His fraternal relations are with 
the order of Modem Woodmen of Amer- 
ica and his religious connection is with 
the Christian church. In both organiza- 
tions he is zealous and productive in his 
work, exhibiting wisdom and prudence 
in counsel and productive industry in ef- 
fort in their behalf. He was married on 
November 20, 1897, to Miss Lyda Mc- 
Atee, of Hunnewell. Four children have 
brightened and sanctified their domestic 
altar. Of these, three are living and still 
surround the parental hearthstone. They 
are two daughters, Gladys and Althea, 
and one son, AHiert L.. Jr. Mr. Vaughn 
is in the prime of life, with all his facul- 
ties in full vi2;or. his energies awake and 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



263 



potential, and the ambitions of his career 
still unsatisfied. But with the progress 
he has made as a standard of deduction 
it is safe to say that he will win the suc- 
cess he aims at in business, as he has al- 
ready won the guerdon of a high place 
in the good will and regard of the people 
among whom he lives and labors, ex- 
pending his efforts in their behalf as well 
as in furtherance of his own fortunes. 

OLD BANK OF SHELBINA. 

This fine and sterling institution, 
whose history runs like a veritable 
thread of gold through the chronicles of 
.Shelbiua, was founded in 1873, with a 
capital stock of $25,000. It was the suc- 
cessor of the First National Bank, which 
was foimded by John F. Benjamin, who 
conducted it for a number of years. It 
was then turned into a private bank and 
operated as such by Messrs. Eeid & Tay- 
lor, who had charge of it until it was re- 
organized as the Bank of Shelbina. Un- 
der this last name it was known and did 
a flourishing business until 1903, when a 
new charter was granted and "The Old 
Bank" was founded. In the manage- 
ment of its affairs William H. Warren 
succeeded Mr. Eeid and served as presi- 
dent of the Bank of Shelbina until his 
death in 1898. 

AVhen the Old Bank was organized in 
1903 it started business with a capital 
stock of $50,000. Its officers were : Presi- 
dent, Frank Dimmitt; vice-president, D. 
G. Minter; cashier, C. K. Dickerson; as- 
sistant cashier, E. J. King; directors, C. 
H. Lasley, George AV. Humphrej^ James 
F. Allgaier, J. William Towson, E. E. 
Smith, Silas Threlkeed and Frank Dim- 



mitt. It has a very creditable career 
and has been an essential and exceed- 
ingly serviceable factor in the develop- 
ment and progress of the community, 
and has contributed vitally and steadily 
to the comfort, convenience and substan- 
tial welfare of the people, helping, by 
its liberal policy and enterprising meth- 
ods, all forms of public improvements 
and private undertakings, and it is justly 
esteemed as one of the leading elements 
of all that is good and useful in the finan- 
cial life of the community. 

THE HUNNEWELL BANK. 

After ten years of active and increas- 
ing business, in which it has fully justi- 
fied the hopes of its founders and met 
the expectations and requirements of 
the people who trade with it, the Hunne- 
well Bank can confidently claim that it 
deserves the high regard in which it is 
held in the community and the excellent 
reputation it has in the financial world. 
It was incorporated on January 18, 1889, 
under the name it now bears and with 
the following official staff and directo- 
rate : President, J. V. Cox ; vice presi- 
dent, John Bohrer ; cashier, W. F. Black- 
luirn; directors, the above named gen- 
tlemen and Thomas Irons, A. C. Balliet, 
who is secretarj" of the board, W. IT. 
Sanders and Obe Thomas. The capital 
Sanders and Obe Thomas. The capital 
stock was $25,000, having been raised to 
that amount from $20,000 in January 
of the year 1909, when a general re- 
organization took place. 

The first organization continued until 
January, 1892, when W. B. Thiehoff was 
elected a director in iihice of W. H. San- 



26-1 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



ders. In January, 1894, Mr. Thielioff 
was elected secretary of the board in 
place of A. C. Balliet, and filled it until 
September, 1909. In January, 1909. as 
has been stated, a general reorganization 
took place, resulting in the increase in 
the capital stock above mentioned, with 
the addition of a surplus of $1,230, and 
the election of the following officers : A. 
C. Balliet, president ; B. F. Broughton, 
vice president; Edward L. Blackburn, 
cashier ; and A. C. Balliet, B. F. Brough- 
ton, J. W. Nesbit. J. A. 'Daniel, Wesley 
Barker, R. H. Durett and W. B. Thiehoff. 
directors, the last named being secretary 
of the board. On February 22. 1909, 
Edward L. Blackburn died and J. A. 
O 'Daniel was chosen cashier in his place 
with C. P. Painter assistant cashier. In 
April, 1910, J. A. 'Daniel was elected 
president and C. P. Painter cashier. The 
official statement of the condition of the 
bank at the close of business on June 23, 
1909, made under oath by the i^resident 
and cashier, showed total resources 
amounting to $93,564.47, with the sum 
of $(55,787.29 on deposit, subject to check 
or time certificates, and net undivided 
profits aggregating $2,777.28. The man- 
agement of the bank from the beginning 
of its career has been wise and progres- 
sive. Its business has been of a general 
character, including all ap])roved fea- 
tures of advanced modern banking, and 
as its resources and the volume of its 
trade have increased, its good name and 
sterling character have correspondingly 
risen among the peojile, so that it is now 
recognized as one of the soundest, most 
complete and best directed financial in- 
stitutions in this part of the country. 
"William B. Thiehoff, who is one of the 



leading potencies in the management of 
the bank and in popularizing it and 
spreading its influence among the people 
of the three counties at whose junction 
it is located, was born in Shenandoah 
county, Virginia, on September 23, 1844. 
His parents were Anthony B. and Cai-o- 
line (Kibler) Thiehoff, the former a na- 
tive of Germany and the latter of the 
same nativity as her son. The father 
was born in 1812 and came to the United 
States in 1834. He at once took up his 
residence in Shenandoah county, Vir- 
ginia, and there he wrought faithfully 
and profitably at his trade as a tailor 
until 1861, when be brought his family 
to Missouri and located at Hunnewell, 
where he was engaged in general mer- 
chandising until his death in August, 
1892. His marriage occurred in 1837 and 
resulted in a family of six children, three 
of whom are living : John H., of Austin, 
Texas ; AVilliam B., of Hunnewell ; and 
Isabelle C, who is now the wife of R. 
B. Durbin, of Hunnewell. His wife died 
after many years of faithful service to 
her home and offspring, and in Septem- 
ber, 1862, the father married again, being 
united with Miss Sarah E. Spalding, a 
native of Kentucky. They had one child, 
their daughter, ^Nlary E., who is now the 
wife of A. C. Spaulding and lives in 
Hunnewell. The father was a Democrat 
in politics, a Catholic in religion and an 
Odd Fellow in fraternal life. 

His son, AVilliam B., began his educa- 
tion in the district schools of AHrginia 
and completed it in those of Missouri. 
After leaving school he followed general 
farm work until 1869, when he embai"ked 
in the furniture and undertaking busi- 
ness in Hunnewell. He adhered to these 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



265 



lines of mereautile life uutil 1905, theu 
sold out his business aud moved to Han- 
nibal in this state. Near that city he en- 
gaged in farming and raising live stock, 
and also in dairying on a large scale. He 
is still conducting those enterpi-ises with 
success and profit for himself and greatly 
to the advantage of the jieople living 
around him and in the city of his home, 
■where he has his principal market. Al- 
though living in Hannibal, he still serves 
the Hunnewell Bank faithfully and effi- 
ciently as the secretary of its board of 
directors. Always active and intelligent 
in working for the good of the com- 
munity in wliich he maintained his home, 
he exhibited to the people of Hannibal 
such superior qualifications for adminis- 
trative duties that they elected him 
mayor of the city and found they had 
made no mistake in their choice. He 
gave them a good administration of 
city affairs, promoting the ijrogress of 
the municipality and carefully guarding 
all its interests from neglect and spolia- 
tion. 

In his political allegiance, Mr. Thie- 
hoff has always been a pronounced work- 
ing Democrat. The candidates and 
struggles of his party always enlist his 
active aid and his services are at all 
times found to be effective. In fraternal 
life he is a prominent member of the Ma- 
sonic order, in which he has long been 
a hard and fruitful worker. He served 
the Hunnewell lodge of the order seven- 
teen years as secretary, one year as 
senior warden and two as worshipful 
master, holding it up to the highest 
standard of Masonic work and regularity 
at all times, and infusing great interest 
and instruction into its meetings. He 



was married in 1880 to Miss Sarah Etta 
Jones, a native of Missouri. They have 
had one child, their daughter Augusta 
L., who is now the wife of C. D. Young 
aud a resident of Hannibal. In all the 
relations of life, Mr. Thiehoff has ex- 
hibited an elevated and elevating citi- 
zenship, and in all his business ventures 
he has shown great capacity and energy, 
involving zeal tempered with prudence, 
and a commanding progressiveness re- 
strained and governed by an enlightened 
conservatism. He has been very success- 
ful and is regarded as one of the leading- 
business men and best citizens of the 
portion of the state in which he lives. 

ANDEEW B. DUNLAP. 

Descended from long lines of sturdy 
and productive ancestors, Andrew B. 
Dunlap, of Hunnewell, had shown in 
several fields of human endeavor that 
heredity has weight, exem])lifying by his 
own industry, capacity, sterling char- 
acter and success in life the strains from 
which he sprang and the fiber of which 
they were comi^osed. He has taken the 
qualities of his being as his capital and 
invested them in a career of great credit 
to himself and decided advantage to the 
community in which they have been em- 
ployed. 

Mr. Dunlap was born on August 1.3, 
1874, in Hannibal, Missouri, and is a son 
of Robert H. and Delma C. (Smith) Dun- 
lap. a brief account of whose lives is 
published elsewhere in this work. He 
was brought to Himnewell by his parents 
in his infancy, so that practically the 
whole of his life has been passed in that 
city. He was educated in its imblic 



•266 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



schools, grew to manhood among its peo- 
ple, and learned his trade of printer in 
the office of its newspaper. He is there- 
fore almost wholly a product of the com- 
munity in which he now lives and labors. 
and the community is well pleased to 
have him taken as one of its most repre- 
sentative citizens. 

For several years after acquiring a 
mastery of the craft with which he is still 
allied, he worked as a journeyman 
printer in different places in the state, 
enlarging in every day experience his 
knowledge of his business and extend- 
ing his acquaintance among the jieople. 
acquiring extensive information of their 
aspirations, feelings and convictions by 
mingling with them in a variety of lo- 
calities and imder a variety of circum- 
stances. This experience was most val- 
uable as a schooling and preparation 
for the work that was before him and 
in which he is now engaged. 

In 1897 he purchased "The Graphic," 
a weekly newspaper published in Himne- 
well, of which he has ever since been the 
proprietor and editor. In conducting 
this paper and seeking to make it the ex- 
pression of the interests, the progress 
and the ambitions of one section of the 
state — the character of its people and 
the high purposes that animate them — 
he is enabled to do better work and give 
clearer \-iews by reason of his knowledge 
of other portions. And it is much to his 
credit that, having acquired this knowl- 
edge, he makes free and projier use of it 
to the advantage of all sections. 

Mr. Dunlap has a broad and compre- 
hensive mind of great activity which 
could never be satisfied or employ all its 



energies in one line of effort. In addi- 
tion to editing and publishing "The 
Graphic," he is also assistant cashier of 
the Fanners' and Merchants' Bank of 
Hunuewell. in which lie holds stock, and 
is secretary of its board of directors. 

With so many business interests in the 
city, it is inevitable that Mr. Dunlap is 
earnestly, actively and intelligently in- 
terested in its welfare, and this he has 
shown on all occasions and in reference 
to every enterprise for its advancement 
and improvement. He could not be what 
he is in business if he were not progres- 
sive and far-seeing, and as he is these 
in his own affairs, he is correspondingly 
progressive and far-seeing in reference 
to the general welfare of the community. 
So manifest have been liis traits in this 
respect that in 1906, when he was but 
thirty-two years old. he was elected 
mayor of Hunuewell. and during the 
three succeeding years guided the for- 
tunes of the city with a skillful hand and 
to the satisfaction of all the people, re- 
signing the office in the spring of 1909. 
Eeelected in 1910. 

In public affairs on a larger field Mr. 
Dunlap is also earnestly, actively and in- 
telligently interested. His county, his 
state and his country engage his atten- 
tion in the warmest manner and he does 
all he can to promote the general weal 
of each and all. He is a Republican in 
politics, but his patriotism is not limited 
by party lines. Whatever seems good to 
him in local or general jiolitical require- 
ments secures his support and advocacy. 
In fraternal life he is connected with 
two of the benevolent societies so numer- 
ous among men, the Independent Order 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



267 



of Odd Fellows and the Modern Wood- 
men of America. His church affiliation 
is with the Southern Methodists. 

On December 3, 1896, ^Ir. Dunlap was 
imited in marriage with Miss Lizzie P. 
Hightower of this county. They have four 
children, their son, Chester Howard and 
their daughters, Ethel Virginia, Eva One- 
ta, and Andrew Lewis, who are the orna- 
ments and the light and life of their 
pleasant home. That the head of the 
household has been very successful in 
his business is a logical sequence of his 
natural endowments, his acquired pow- 
ers, and the use he has made of them. 
That he is popular in the community fol- 
lows from his warm interest in its wel- 
fare and his continuous efforts to pro- 
mote it. As an evidence of his progres- 
siveness it should be stated that he put 
up the tirst concrete building in the 
county. With youth, health and strength 
on his side, and a high ideal of citizen- 
ship as his inspiration, the future should 
have much in store for him, in business, 
in public life, or in both, according to 
his desire. 

EDWIN A. FEYE. 

(Deceased.) 

Like many others of our men of mold 
and consequence in business, industrial 
and public life, the late Edwin A. Frye, 
of Hunnewell, drew liis stature and his 
strength practically from the soil, grow- 
ing from infancy to manhood on a farm, 
and, as soon as he was able, taking his 
place among those who were performing 
its useful labors and getting in return 
strength of l)ody and independence and 
self-reliance of spirit. 

Mr. Frve was a son of Henrv B. and 



Permalia A. (Wilson) Frj'e, and was 
born in Shelby county on February 1, 
1864. His grandfather, Henry Westfall 
Frye, was a native of Virginia before its 
division into two states in the lottery of 
civil war, living in Hardy county, in that 
part which is now AYest Virginia, and 
there the parents of Edwin A. Frye were 
born, reared, educated and married. The 
father's life began in September, 1826, 
and all of its maturity, excejit the last 
four years, as well as its boyhood and 
youth, was devoted to farming and rais- 
ing live stock. These pursuits occupied 
him until 1860 in his native state. In 
that year he yielded to a longing that 
had long possessed him and determined 
to try his fortunes in the virgin region 
beyond the Mississippi. He came to Mis- 
souri and in this state continued the 
operations in which he had been engaged 
in the state of his nativity. 

He took some time to look the ground 
over in his new location, and in 1868 
bought a farm in Shelby county, and on 
that exerted his efforts for advancement 
and success until 1905. He then sold his 
farm and took up his residence in Hun- 
newell, where he has ever since been liv- 
ing, retired from active pursuits and 
looked upon as one of the most estimable 
citizens of the community, whose people 
know that he has borne well his part in 
the battle of life and is fully entitled to 
the rest he is enjoying. He was united 
in marriage with Miss Parmelia Wilson, 
and three children blessed their union. 
Two of them are living: Henry W., an 
esteemed citizen of Kansas City, Mis- 
souri, and Alary E., the wife of George 
T. Smithey, of Monroe county, this state. 
The father is an ardent Democrat in pol- 



268 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



itics, loyally devoted to the welfare of 
his party, and a zealous member of the 
Southern Methodist church in reUgious 
faith. 

Edwin A Frj^e obtained his education 
in the public schools of Shelby county, 
ending his specific scholastic training 
with the course of instruction thej' af- 
forded. After completing that he con- 
tinued the assistance on his father's 
faiTu which he had been g'n^ing from Jiis 
boyhood, and then rented land which he 
farmed on his own account until 1896. 
In that year he turned his attention to 
another line of endeavor, engaging in the 
insurance business, with headquarters in 
Hunnewell, carrying on also operations 
in real estate and loans. He devoted 
himself to these avenues of business with 
success in a financial way and with grow- 
ing eminence and esteem among the peo- 
ple. He was one of the stockholders in 
the Farmers' and Merchants' Bank, of 
Hunnewell, and a member of its board 
of directors at the time of his death, 
April 29, 1910. 

He was ever active and intelligent in 
his efforts to promote the welfare of the 
community in which he lived. In polit- 
ical allegiance he was a firm and faithful 
Democrat, loyal to his party and as ear- 
nest and zealous as any in his efforts to 
maintain its supremacy. Fraternally he 
was a member of the Court of Honor, 
and in church affiliation was allied with 
the Southern Methodists. No man in 
the city was more highly esteemed. 

WILLIAM B. HEBRON. 

The family of which William B. Her- 
ron, of Hunnewell, is a scion illustrates 
in three generations of its life the gen- 



eral trend of American history from 
colonial times to the present day, or al- 
most until this period. That history has 
been a continual flow of the tide of emi- 
gration from the Atlantic toward the 
Pacific and a conquest of one portion of ; 
the wilderness after another, the sons 
taking up the march of advance in the 
wake of the setting sun where the fathers f 
laid it down, until the whole continent 
became covered, settled and subjugated 
to the requirements of civilization. 

Mr. Herron's grandfather, David Her- 
ron, was a native of Pennsylvania, and 
felt the "call of the wild" when he was 
a young man. He left the scenes and 
associations of his boyhood and youth 
and plimged into what was then the wil- 
derness of Indiana, locating in the por- 
tion now forming Ohio county of that 
great, populous and progressive state. 
There the father of William B. was born 
and reared, and he in turn took up his 
pilgrimage toward the Farther West 
when his time came for the task, moving 
onward with the tide of progi-ess to Mis- 
souri, where he passed the remainder of 
his days. 

William B. Herron was born in Dear- 
born county, Indiana, on January 28, 
1866, and is the son of Jesse T. and Au- 
gusta (Lamkin) Herron, natives of In- 
diann, where the father's life began on 
July 21, 1834. The father grew to man- 
hood in his native state and obtained his 
education there. On leaving school he 
turned his attention to the occupation to 
which he had been reared, fanning and 
raising live stock, and in that he was en- 
gaged during the remainder of his resi- 
dence in Indiana and for a short time 
after his arrival in the state of Missouri 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



269 



in the spring of 1868, tilling the soil of 
Shelby county. In 1875 he abandoned 
farming and turned merchant, carrying 
on extensively as a grocer at Clarence 
until 1903, when he sold his establish- 
ment and retired from business. He died 
in Clarence on October 24, 1905. He was 
a Republican in politics, a Freemason in 
fraternal life and a member of the Meth- 
odist Episcopal church in religious con- 
nection, and was zealous and faithful in 
his duty in all. Called upon to lay down 
his trust at the advanced age of seventy- 
one, he went to his tomb respected by all 
who knew him and his memory is cher- 
ished bj^ the people among whom he lived 
and labored as that of one of the best 
citizens of the county. 

On March 16, 1865, he was joined in 
marriage with j\Iiss Augusta Lamkin, 
whose life, like his own, as has been 
stated, began in Indiana. Of the four 
children born to them all are living: 
Their first born, William B. ; Cora, the 
wife of E. B. Smith, of Craig, Missouri; 
Kate, the wife of Dr. F. L. Magoon, of 
St. Louis ; and Minnie, who lives in Clar- 
ence, this county. 

On the completion of his education, 
which was obtained in the public schools 
of Clarence, William B. Herron entered 
his father's grocery as a clerk and sales- 
man, in which he was employed until 
1890, when he entered general merchan- 
dising as an employe of B. P. Eutledge, 
of Clarence. He remained with Mr. Rut- 
ledge ten years, with the exception of a 
few months, and devoted himself to the 
business of the house with such close 
and studious attention that he acquired 
a thorough knowledge of it and became 
so confident of his proficiency that in 



1901 lie entered the lists as a general 
merchant himself in Hunnewell. The 
next year he took H. Kirkwood in as a 
partner, and the firm then became Her- 
ron & Kirkwood. They disposed of this 
business December 1, 1909. Mr. Herron 
was elected cashier of the Fanners' and 
Merchants' Bank on March 15, 1909. He 
is still rendering satisfactory service to 
the bank and the community in that ca- 
pacity and by his business acimien, per- 
sonal influence and enterprise in his 
work is greatly helping to build up the 
trade of the institution and enlarge and 
strengthen its hold on the confidence and 
regard of the people. 

Mr. Herron 's political faith is given 
to the Republican policies and principles 
in national affairs, and while he is not 
an extreme partisan, he acts upon his 
convictions by loyally supporting his 
party and its candidates at all times. 
Fraternally he is a Knight of Pythias, 
a Modern Woodman of America and a 
member of the Masonic order, being the 
treasurer of his lodge in the society last 
named. On March 25, 1884, he was mar- 
ried to Miss Belle Hill, a native of 
Shelby county, in this state, who was 
"reared and educated at Clarence. They 
have had two children, but one of whom 
is living, their son, Claude E., who is a 
resident of Hunnewell. Mr. Herron is a 
gentleman of fine public spirit, which he 
manifests by his cordial and intelligent 
interest in all the affairs of the commu- 
nity of his home and his earnest efforts 
to promote the welfare of the people in 
every waj^ He enjoys in a marked de- 
gree the regard and good will of all 
classes of the citizenship of the 
county. 



270 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



ELI C. DAVIS, M. D. 

All his life a resident and for more 
than fifty years an active physician and 
surgeon among the people of Missouri, 
and in eveiy relation and under all cir- 
cumstances an exemplar of all the bland 
amenities of social culture and natural 
gentility. Dr. Eli C. Davis, of Hunne- 
well, is justly esteemed as among the 
finest tj'pes of citizenship the state has 
to offer for the consideration and high 
regard of men. The best estimate of his 
elevated character, extensive profes- 
sional attainments and generous and 
courtly disposition is to be found among 
the people of this county who have 
dwelt with him and had the benefit of his 
labors for a period of half a century. 

Dr. Davis was born in Marion county, 
this state, on March 3, 1830, and is a de- 
scendant of old North Carolina families, 
which dignified and adorned the profes- 
sional, business and public life of that 
good old state for generations before the 
branch to which he belongs foimded a 
new home for the name in Kentucky, 
whither his grandfather, John Davis, 
moved in his early manhood. The Doc- 
tor's parents, John and Elizabeth (Dick) 
Davis, were born in North Carolina and 
reared in Kentucky, the father's life be- 
ginning in 1790. He farmed for a living, 
and while the fruits of his labors were 
considerable in the state of his adoption, 
either because they were not all he 
wished, or because he had inherited a 
love of adventure and conquest from his 
ancestors, he determined in 1824 to leave 
the region which had welcomed him into 
being and try his fortunes in the farther 
wilderness of that dav. 



On his arrival in this state in the year 
last mentioned the elder Davis located in 
what is now Marion county and contin- 
ued his farming and stock-raising opera- 
tions until 1856, when he became an in- 
valid and was forced to give up all active 
pursuits. He died in September, 1859, 
generally esteemed as a good man who 
was called from his earthly labors at an 
age when he was just prepared to enjoy 
the rest he had so richly earned. He was 
a firm believer in the principles and theo- 
ries of government proclaimed by the 
^^l\\g party and gave that organization 
his earnest and effective support from 
the dawn of his manhood to the close of 
his long and useful life. His religious 
feelings found a suitable field for their 
exercise and emploj-ment in the doctrines 
of the Baptist church, of which he was 
long a member and in which he was for 
many years an active worker. He was 
married in 1811 to Miss Elizabeth Dick, 
a native of North Carolina. They had 
twelve children, of whom the Doctor is 
the only one now living. 

Dr. Davis obtained his scholastic train- 
ing in the district schools of Marion 
county, the only means available to him 
for such discipline, and might have been 
expected to tuni his attention to the oc- 
cupation of his father and his fore- 
fathers, situated as he was. But he had 
aspirations to a different career, and 
supplemented his slender academic ac- 
quisitions by industrious and reflective 
reading as a means to the end he had in 
view. In 1856 he entered the medical de- 
partment of the Iowa State University 
at Keokuk, and from this he was grad- 
uated in 1858 with the degree of M. D. 
He at once began the practice of his pro- 




FRANK DIMMITT 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



271 



fessiou in Knox county, but a short time 
afterward located at Hunnewell, wliere 
he found a ripe field for his labors, and 
in this county he has ever since resided. 
He continued in active practice until 
1906, when he deemed that he had earned 
the right to retire in obedience to the ad- 
monitions of advancing years. For a 
long time he has been an active member 
of the Shelby County and the Northern 
Missouri Medical associations and taken 
a prominent part in their proceedings, 
contributing to their deliberations all 
the light he could from his experience 
and observation and drawing unto him- 
self from them all the benefit his oppor- 
tunities allowed. 

On November 9, 1858, the Doctor was 
united in marriage with Miss Susan Day, 
of Marion county. They became the par- 
ents of thirteen children, ten of whom 
are living: Lily Jane, wife of Charles T. 
Cox, of Hunnewell ; John Thomas, a res- 
ident of Kansas; Jennie, wife of Dr. 
William T. Bell, of Stoutsville, Monroe 
county; Herman C; Myrta Ellen, wife 
of W. L. Pollard, of Montrose, Colorado ; 
Ida Elizabeth, wife of Fletcher Blanford, 
of Lebanon, Kentucky; Effie, of Lamar, 
Colorado; Alice, wife of S. C. McAtee, 
of Lamar, Colorado; Florence Dixie, of 
Denver, Colorado; and Susan, who is 
still at home. 

The Doctor is allied with the Demo- 
cratic party in national politics and has 
long followed its fortunes in success and 
defeat, at all times doing what he could 
to win the former, and bearing the latter 
with all the resignation of a philosopher 
and the enthusiasm of youth, which 
hopes for better results next time. He 
belongs to the Masonic order and the 



Odd Fellows in fraternal relations and 
has been prominent and zealous in be- 
half of the enduring welfare of both 
orders. In his Masonic Lodge he has 
served well as Worshipful Master, and 
in his Odd Fellows lodge has occupied 
every chair in succession to the highest. 
In his profession he has been eminent in 
this section of the state, and as a citizen 
he has always been held in the highest 
esteem. The nearly sixty years of his 
mature life have been crowded with use- 
fulness and its evening is full of be- 
nignant cheerfulness while he rests 
calmly under its retiring sun crowned 
with the laurels of a faithful perform- 
ance of duty and a record of achieve- 
ments not many men, even of his years, 
can surpass and but few can equal. 

FRANK DIMMITT. 

Frank Dimmitt, who is president of the 
"Old Bank of Shelbina," has been an 
important factor in connection with the 
industrial and business atTairs of Shelby 
county, which has represented his home 
from his boyhood days, and he stands 
today as one of the honored and influen- 
tial citizens of the county in which he has 
attained to success and prestige through 
well-directed efforts along normal lines 
of iiroductive enterprise. 

As a banker he has long been promi- 
nent and influential and as a citizen and 
man of affairs he stands exponent of the 
utmost loyalty an<l ])ublic spirit. 

Mr. Dimmitt, who has been from the 
start its leading impulse and controlling 
spirit of the "Old Bank of Shelbina," 
was born on December 2, 1857, near 
Boonville, Cooper county, Missouri, and 



272 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



is a son of Dr. Philip T. and Frances 
(Agee) Dimmitt, the former born and 
reared in Kentucky and the latter in Vir- 
ginia. A complete sketch of the father 's 
life appears on other pages of this 
vohune. 

His son, Frank Dimmitt, grew to man- 
hood on a farm in Shelby county and ob- 
tained his education in the Shelbyville 
high school. He was zealous and faith- 
ful in the performance of his duties on 
the faim, and admiring friends who ob- 
served his capacity for farm work and 
his steady adherence to its exacting re- 
quirements, looked upon him as one of 
the coming leaders in the agricultural 
life of the county. But he was not him- 
self satisfied with his daily round of toil, 
blessed as it was with independence, 
plenty and good prospects, but felt with- 
in him a stirring impulse toward an oc- 
cuiiation which would bring him more 
extensively and directly into contact 
with men and jirovide greater immediate 
and subsequent rewards for devotion to 
its claims and development of its possi- 
bilities. He was graduated from Shel- 
byville high school in 1874, then taught 
school for four years during the winter 
months, and after that clerked for a time 
in a mercantile enterprise. From 1878 
to 1881 he was engaged in farming. In 
the year last named he moved to Clar- 
ence and gave his attention to the dry 
goods and clotliing trade for a period of 
six years. 

At the end of that time he returned to 
Shelbwille, where he worked in his fath- 
er's bank until 1890. In 1888 he was 
elected county treasurer for a term of 
two years, and when his term in this of- 
fice ex])ired was chosen clerk of the cir- 



cuit court and recorder, a capacity in 
which he served eight years with credit 
to himself and benefit to all who had 
dealings with his office. In September, 
1898, he was made president of the Old 
Bank, and in this important and respon- 
sible position he has served the patrons 
of the bank and the people of the com- 
munity faithfully ever since. 

In 2)olitics Mr. Dimmitt is a pro- 
nounced and zealous Democrat. In fra- 
ternal relations he is an Odd Fellow and 
a Knight of Pythias, and in church affil- 
iation a member of the Methodist Epis- 
copal Church, South. He was married 
on [March 13, 1879, to Miss Emma E. 
Jackson, who was born and reared in 
Marion county. They have three chil- 
dren living, James J., a resident of ]\Ion- 
roe City, in the adjoining county of Mon- 
roe, and Clara C, of Chillicothe, Mis- 
souri, now ]\Irs. A. M. Shelton, and F. 
Ellison, who is living at home. The 
father stands well in the community and 
throughout his own and the adjoining 
counties. He has been serviceable in the 
progress and development of this ]iart 
of the state, performing with ability and 
uprightness all the duties of citizenship 
and illustrating in a striking manner in 
his daily life the best attributes of an 
elevated American manhood. 

JOHN A. 'DANIEL. 

Descended from good old Maryland 
stock, with the family traits and char- 
acteristics seasoned by the residence of 
a generation in Kentucky, John A. 
'Daniel, of Hunnewell, has within him 
the inspirations and incentives of two 
commonwealths of our common Union 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



■whose histories are glorious in war and 
crowned with immortal bays for their 
achievements in the peaceful ])ursuits 
of industrial effort and the higher walks 
of learning and art. He was born in 
Himnewell, where he is now living, on 
October 6, 1866, and has passed the whole 
of his subsequent life in this community. 

Mr. 'Daniel's grandfather, James 
O 'Daniel, was born, reared and educated 
in Maryland, and soon after attaining his 
majority struck out into the untrodden 
AVest to make a home and a name for 
himself amid scenes yet wholly attuned 
to nature and not yet freed from the 
wild denizens of the wilderness, savage 
beasts and still more sAvage men. He 
located in Kentucky and there hewed out 
from the wilds an estate for himself and 
reared a family whose members have re- 
flected credit on his name and finely ex- 
emplified in their several callings the 
lessons given them by his teachings and 
example. His son, James P. O 'Daniel, 
the father of John A., the immediate sub- 
ject of these paragraphs, was born in 
the Kentucky home in 1834. On leaving 
school he became a farmer on his own 
account, as he had previously been on the 
account of his fatlier by assisting the 
latter in the labors of the homestead, and 
followed the occupation of the old patri- 
archs, tilling the soil, until 1850 in his 
native state. 

Tn 1850 James P. 'Daniel migrated 
to Missouri and located in Monroe coun- 
tj% where he continued his operations as 
a farmer and stock-breeder until 1865. 
He then changed his residence to Shelby 
county, and here he has made his home 
and employed his energies ever since. 
He is still actively engaged in farming 



and raising live stock, and is one of the 
highly respected and most representative 
citizens of the county. He is one of the 
stockholders of the Hunuewell bank. He 
was married in 1865 to Miss Martha 
Leake, of Ralls county, Missouri, and by 
this union became the father of six chil- 
dren of whom John A. was the first born. 
The others are all living and are : Mamie, 
the wife of F. Selsor, of Kansas City, 
Missouri ; Eugene P., a resident of 
Washington, D. C. ; Joseph A., of Hunue- 
well; Eosie Alice, the wife of Augustus 
Gannon, of Brookfield, Linn county, in 
this state; and William F., of Hmmewell. 
In politics the father is a Democrat and 
in religion a Catholic. He is loyal to 
both party and church and stands well 
in each. 

John A. 'Daniel obtained his edu- 
cation in the public schools of Hunne- 
well, and upon the completion of the 
course of study they made available to 
him, became a farmer and stock-breeder, 
occu]iations he had mastered while liv- 
ing at home and working under the 
supervision of his father, with whom he 
was associated in his new operations for 
about three years. Mercantile life was, 
however, more to his taste, and in 1887 
he began a career in the drug business 
which he has continued and expanded 
to this time (1911), being still engaged 
in that necessary and helpful trade in 
connection with other duties. 

On March 15, 1909, he was elected 
cashier of the Hunnewell bank, in which 
he is a stockholder and of which he is 
one of the directors, and in April, 1910. 
was elected iiresident of the bank. He 
gives the re(juirements of the bank his 
fir.st attention and it is flourishing under 



•^:4 



HISTOIJY OF SHELBY COFXTY 



the stimulus of his enterprising and care- 
ful management, growing in jiopular 
favor and steadily enlarging the volume 
of its business. His drug store con- 
tinues to be one of the established in- 
stitutions of the city and holds its pat- 
ronage because of the excellence of its 
stock, the wisdom of its management 
and the skill bestowed upon all its opera- 
tions in its efforts to serve the public. 

In addition to these two lines of en- 
deavor, which would be enough to en- 
gross the faculties of a less comprehen- 
sive and active mind than that of ]\rr. 
'Daniel, he carries on farming opera- 
tions and is still interested in raising 
live stock on an elevated plane. In poli- 
tics he is a Democrat, firm in the faith 
and active in the service, contributing 
to the campaigns of his party both wis- 
dom in council and energy in effort which 
are highly appreciated. His religious 
affiliation is with the Catholic church, of 
which he is a devout and consistent 
member. 

On November 16, 1905. he united in 
marriage with Miss Penelope A. Brown, 
of Shelby county. Two children have 
blessed their union and brightened their 
home, their sons James A. and George 
Eugene. Having passed all his life so 
far in Hunnewell, it is but natural that 
Mr. O'Dauiel should be warmly inter- 
ested in the welfare of tl'.e city and its 
people. He has shown that he is by his 
approval of all worthy ])ublic improve- 
ments and his aid in promoting them, 
and by his zealous and energetic support 
of every moral and intellectual agencv 
at work in the community for its good. 
Among the leaders of enterprise and 
advancement in the town and countv he 



is always to be found, and he is esteemed 
accordingly as one of its best and most 
useful citizens. 

JULIAN A. WHEELER. 

Born in Hunnewell, this county, on 
August 15, 1858, and living practically on 
the border during a part of the Civil 
war and the rest of the time within the 
actual boundaries of the Confederacy, 
Julian A. Wheeler, of Hunnewell, dwelt 
during the period of that awful contest 
'"in the midst of alarms," and had his 
childhood and youth darkened by its 
terrible shadows. In the exacting pur- 
suits of peaceful industry and the strug- 
gles for material conquest and acquisi- 
tion which have engaged his faculties 
since then the memories of the war have 
faded to a considerable extent, but noth- 
ing can ever wholly efface them. They 
were born of a time that tried men's 
souls, and were literally burned into the 
consciousness and recollection of those 
who took part in or were in any sense a 
party to the events of that date. 

Mr. Wheeler's grandfather, Nathan 
W. Wheeler, was a native of New York 
state and a member of one of the noted 
families of that great commonwealth. He 
lived in Otsego county and tilled the soil 
for a livelihood, as his parents had done 
before him, and on his farm he reared 
his family, among them his son, Edwin 
R. Wheeler, who was the father of Julian 
A. and was born in Otsego county. New 
York, on September 14, 1824. He did 
not follow the occupation of his an- 
cestors, but became a carpenter and 
builder, and in an extensive apprentice- 
ship so thoroughly mastered all the de- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



275 



tails of the trade, for which he had a 
natural aptitude, that iu 1857, when he 
was l)nt thirty-three years old, he was 
sent to Missouri to superintend the con- 
struction of railroad stations for the 
Hannibal & St. Joseph railroad. After 
two years of excellent and appreciated 
service to the Hannibal & St. Joseph rail- 
road in the capacity named, he went to 
Beaumont, Texas, and helped to build 
the first railroad in that state. By the 
time the line was completed in 1863 he 
desired a change of occupation and set- 
tled down to farming in }'arker county, 
Texas. 

This was no time, however, for peaceful 
industry in that section of the country. 
The Confederacy was in the last stages 
of its disastrous history, and needed 
every man it could get into the service 
to recruit its failing armies in the tield. 
Mr. Wheeler was a firm and loyal Union 
man and yet was face to face with con- 
scription into the Confederate service. 
So he left his family in Texas and came to 
his old home city of Hunnewell to escape 
the fate that threatened him, and in the 
city last named engaged in the grocery 
trade for a period of six months. But he 
could not rest in seeking his own profit 
while his country was in danger. The 
love of the Union was strong within him 
and lie felt it his duty to make his faith 
practical by helping to defend the cause 
to wliich he was so warmly attached. 
Therefore, in the fall of 1864 he went to 
Quincy, Illinois, and enlisted iu the 
Union army as a member of Comjiany B, 
One Hundred and Fifty-first Illinois Vol- 
unteer Infantry, and was soon afterward 
assigned to the first regiment that fol- 
lowed in the wake of Sherman's march to 



the sea. His company took part in the 
battle of Dalton, Georgia, and many en- 
gagements of less importance. 

At Atlanta, Georgia, he obtained a 
furlough signed by General Sherman au- 
thorizing him to go to Weatherford, 
Texas, and take his family further North. 
In the fall of 1865 he l)ought eight yoke 
of oxen and with them and the rest of 
his equipment, conducted his family into 
Illinois, locating about fourteen miles 
south of Quincy, and being three months 
on the journey. Taking up his residence 
on a farm, he devoted himself to raising 
wheat and live stock for two years. At 
the end of that period he returned to 
the state of New York, where he followed 
contracting and building until 1871. He 
then moved to Titusville, Pennsylvania, 
and during the next two years carried 
on a flourishing business in the same line 
in that then enterprising and progres- 
sive city, to which the great wealth of 
fast flowing oil wells had given enormous 
prosperity and world-wide fame. 

In 1873 he returned to this county and 
again took up his residence in Hunne- 
well, where he devoted the remaining 
years of his strength to contracting and 
building on a large scale. He built the 
first house in Shelbina and put ujd a 
number of the most notable buildings in 
this part of the state, among them the 
Prairie A^iew Baptist church in Jackson 
township. Failing health in 1877 drove 
him out of business and induced him to 
seek recovery amid the blandishments 
of the climate of California. He went to 
Santa Rosa in that state, where he lin- 
gered for a year, dying there on April 
10, 1878. 

]\lr. "Wheeler was twice married. His 



276 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



first wife was Miss Joliauua Steer, a na- 
tive of Connecticut, with whom he was 
united in 1853. They had two children, 
one of whom died in childhood and the 
other after reaching manhood. The sec- 
ond marriage of the father occurred on 
October 10, 1857, when he was united 
with Miss Mary Elizabeth Hickman, of 
this county. They became the parents 
of eight children, three of whom are Uv- 
ing: Julian A., the immediate subject 
of this sketch; "William D., a resident, 
also of Hunnewell; and Lena M.. the 
wife of Herman C. Davis, of Lamar, 
Colorado. The father was a Eepublican 
in politics, a member of the Grand Army 
of the Republic and l)elouged to the Bap- 
tist church. He was highly esteemed and 
his early death was universally deplored. 

Julian A. "Wheeler began his education 
in the public schools of New York state 
and finished it in those of Shelby county. 
After completing his academic training 
he turned his attention to farming and 
raising live stock, in which he was ex- 
tensively engaged until 1898. In that 
year he was appointed postmaster of 
Hunnewell. a position which he has ever 
since filled in a manner that has fully 
satisfied the government and the patrons 
of the office. He still owns and operates 
his farm of 200 acres, and also has a con- 
trolling interest in the Hunnewell tele- 
phone system, in the ownership and man- 
agement of which his brother, "William 
D. AYheeler, is associated with him. In 
addition he owns a block of granitoid 
buildings and a very fine residence. 

In politics ^fr. AYheeler is an ardent 
Eepublican and has considerable influ- 
ence in the councils of his party, in whose 
service he is alwavs active and eflFective. 



His fratei'ual relations are with the In- 
dependent Order of Odd Fellows and the 
Court of Honor, and his church afiilia- 
tion is with the Southern Methodists. He 
is a zealous church worker, taking a lead- 
ing part in all the benevolent and evan- 
gelizing efforts of his congregation, of 
which he is one of the stewai'ds, and 
renders excellent and appreciated serv- 
ice as su^.^erintendent of the Sunday 
school. 

Two generations of this family of 
AYheelers have dignified and adorned 
pul)lic and private life in Hunnewell and 
given its people good examples of high 
character, ardent local and general pa- 
triotism, and fruitful and elevated citi- 
zenship. No name stands higher in the 
annals of the city than its name does, 
and none more truly deserves the esteem 
in which it is held. In business, in social 
and in domestic life its members have 
met every requirement of duty and in of- 
ficial station the one of whom these par- 
agraphs are written has shown ability, 
fidelity and upright manhood of the high- 
est order, greatly to his own credit and 
the substantial welfare of the people of 
the whole community. 

WILLIAM P. JAXES. 

AYilliam P. Janes, one of the prosper- 
ous and progressive farmers of Shelbj' 
county, whose achievements as an agri- 
culturist have given the people aroimd 
him strong lessons as to what skill and 
intelligence allied with industry and 
good .iuflgnient can accomplish on the 
fertile and responsive soil of Missouri, is 
a native of Washington county, Ken- 
tuckv, where he was born on Afarch 10, 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



2?7 



1840, and whence he came to Marion 
county in this state when he was eleven 
years old. 

Mr. Janes is a son of John H. and Re- 
becca (Gibbs) Janes, both born, reared 
and educated in Washington county, 
Kentucky, where the}' were married. 
They were farmers in their native state, 
and after their arrival in ^Missouri, in 
1851, they followed the same line of ef- 
fort on a tract of land of which they be- 
came possessed in Marion county. There 
was a mill on the farm which the father 
also operated until 1879, and which was 
known far and wide during his manage- 
ment of it as a source of great conveni- 
ence and help to the people because of 
the excellent work it did and the superior 
quality of its products. It is still known 
as Janes 's mill, but has passed ovit of 
usefulness into history, being nothing 
now but an old landmark whereby some 
idea of the progress and development of 
the country can be gained, and standing 
in the public eye as a reminder of the 
strenuous days and nights of toil and 
privation, of arduous effort and con- 
stant })eril of the pioneer period of the 
past. 

In 1879 the father sold the farm and 
the mill and took up his residence in 
Shelby county, where he died, having 
done well his part in the life and devel- 
opment of this section and laying down 
his burden crowned with the esteem of 
the whole people. He and his wife were 
tl;e parents of twelve children, six of 
whom are living: James G., a ])rominent 
citizen of Monroe county; Thomas B., 
who lives at Lakenan, in this county; 
John H., whose home is at Cortland, Ne- 
braska; William P., of Hunnewell, the 



immediate subject of this writing; Kath- 
arine, the wife of Benjamin Green, of 
Santa Fe, Missouri ; and Rebecca, now 
]\Irs. George Ruberson, of Marion coun- 
ty, on our eastern border. In politics 
the father was a pronounced Democrat, 
faithful in loyalty to his party and ef- 
fective in its service. His religious affil- 
iation was with the Catholic church, and 
to this also he gave firm and faithful 
support throughout his life, zealous in 
attention to his duties as a member and 
Unswerving in his devotion to its teach- 
ings. 

William P. Janes was reared on his 
father's farm in Marion county and ob- 
tained his education in the district 
schools of the neighborhood. After leav- 
ing school he operated the farm in con- 
nection with his father for a number of 
years, then moved to Hunnewell, where 
he cari'ied on a flourishing business as a 
blacksmith and wagon maker until 1889. 
In that year he sold his business and 
outfit, and again engaged in farming, lo- 
cating on a good farm in Shelby county, 
which he still manages, although prac- 
tically retired from its more exacting 
duties and more arduous labors. 

While living in Hunnewell Mr. Janes 
took an active and serviceable part in 
the public affairs of the city and contrib- 
uted essentially to its growth, develop- 
ment and improvement. He was its first 
mayor and held a number of other city 
offices, all of which he filled acceptably, 
leaving a good record as an official and 
rearing monuments to his enterprise and 
public spirit in substantial contributions 
to the comfort, convenience and advance- 
ment of the people. He was also active, 
and still is, in national politics as a Dem- 



278 



HISTOr.Y OF SHELBY COUNTY 



ocrat of the old school, seeing in the 
principles of his party the best assur- 
ance of public and private security and 
clean and upright government, and 
standing by them as with the tug of 
gravitation. For over forty years he has 
been a member of the Masonic order and 
has studied with zeal and clearness of 
vision the lessons portrayed in the sym- 
bolism of the order, all of which he has 
tried to exemplify in his daily life. His 
religious connection is with the Metho- 
dist Episcopal Church South, in whose 
good works he has long been an active 
and potential factor. 

Mr. Janes has been married twice. His 
first union was with Miss Sarah Mef- 
ford, of Marion county, Missouri, and 
occurred on September 22, 1860. They 
had four children, all of whom are liv- 
ing. They are : Sarah Etta, wife of W. 
B. Thiehoff, of League City, Texas; 
William H., of Paris, Missouri; Vincie 
B., of Cameron City, ^lissouri ; and Lula 
E., wife of Bruce Blackburn, of Los An- 
geles, California. Mr. Janes' second 
marriage took place on May 11, 1881. In 
this he became the husband of Mrs. Eliz- 
al)etli Scratch, the widow of John D. 
Scratch, and a native of Pennsylvania. 
They are the parents of two children, 
both living : Lozetta, wife of William H. 
Jones, of Paris, Missouri; and Mattie, 
wife of James E. Spencer, of Hunne- 
well. Mr. Janes has known Slielby 
county from his childliood and has lived 
in it for more than a generation of 
human life. He is a living witness of its 
progress and also of the struggles and 
trials through which the advance has 
been won. He has borne his full share 
of the burden incident to the develop- 



ment of the countiy and is therefore fully 
entitled to enjoy the fruits of the labors 
he has shared with others in this behalf. 
The people accord him this right with- 
out stint, regarding him as one of their 
most useful and representative citizens. 

JOHN W. LAIE. 

The interesting subject of this brief 
review, who has been one of the most 
successful and enterprising farmers in 
Shelby county, has passed the whole of 
his life until the summer of 1910, at 
which time he moved to Gordon, Nebras- 
ka. He was born in Shelby county on 
March 18, 1846, and is a son of Eobert 
and Elizabeth (Culberson) Lair, the for- 
mer a native of Kentucky and the latter 
of North Carolina. 

The father's life began in 1810, and he 
became a resident of Missouri in 1828, 
coming to the state as a youth of eight- 
een with his parents, who followed the 
example given tliem by their parents and 
emigrated from their native heath to the 
farther west when it was a part of the 
almost untrodden wilderness of our wide 
domain. The paternal grandfather of 
Mr. Lair, William Lair, was a native of 
Pennsylvania and became a resident of 
Kentucky when he was a young man, 
striding boldly into the wilds in the wake 
of that hardy adventurer, discoverer and 
civilizer, Daniel Boone, and taking up 
his part in the work of improvement in 
the region that great man and his fol- 
lowers were wresting from the dominion 
of the wikl forces of nature and their 
offspring of the jilains and the forest. 
In Kentucky he transformed a tract of 
wild land into a good farm and on it he 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



279 



I'eared liis family, but finally left the 
woi-n and wasted tenement of his ad- 
venturous spirit to be laid at rest in the 
soil of a newer state. He brought his 
family to Missouri in 1828, and again 
gave himself up to the demands and 
dangers of the frontier, repeating in 
Missouri what he had achieved in Ken- 
tucky. 

A few years after his arrival in this 
state Robert Lair located in Shelby coun- 
ty and started farming and raising stock 
on his own account. To these lines of in- 
dustry he adhered until his death in 
188-4. He married Miss Elizabeth Cul- 
berson, a native of North Carolina, and 
they became the parents of six children. 
Of these three are living: Mary, wife of 
George Latimor of Shelby county ; John 
"W. of Shelbina, who is the subject of this 
review; and Frances Marion, wife of 
George Bowers, of Shelbyville. In poli- 
tics the father was a Eepublican from 
the birth of the party to his death, stand- 
ing by its principles throiigh all changes 
of conditions and firmly supporting 
them and its candidates in all cam- 
paigns. 

John W. Lair was reared on his fath- 
er's farm and obtained his education in 
the district schools of the vicinity. His 
natural bent was to farming and he 
yielded to it without murmur or hesita- 
tion, assuming charge of the parental 
homestead when he left school, and con- 
ducting its operations until 1870. He 
then bought a farm of his own and gave 
himself up wholly to its cultivation and 
improvement. His success was such as 
to inspire him to more ambitious efl'orts, 
and he became a dealer in farm lands, 
buying them, improving them and then 



selling them, his operations working 
greatly to his own profit and equally to 
the advantage of the county and its peo- 
ple. He has also been long engaged in 
raising stock on an extensive scale and 
has for years been ranked among the 
leading shippers in this part of the state. 
In all his undertakings he has been very 
successful, and furnishes an impressive 
examjjle of what good judgment and en- 
terprise in the use of opportunities is 
capable of in this land of boundless 
chances and this state of rapid progress 
and development. 

Like his father, Mr. Lair has given his 
faith, loyalty and support to the princi- 
ples of the Republican party in national 
politics. But in local affairs his first 
consideration has been the enduring wel- 
fare of the county and its people without 
regard to partisanship or personal rela- 
tions. He has been of great service in 
promoting that welfare and is esteemed 
on all sides as one of the most useful 
citizens of the county and one of its 
most worthy and representative men. 

On December 25, 1869, he was united 
in marriage with Miss Margaret Wilson, 
of this county. They have had seven 
children and have five living: Myrtle, 
wife of Nathan Cochran, of Gordon, Ne- 
braska; Ella, wife of Howell Jewett; 
Maude, wife of Dr. John Hendricks, of 
St. Louis; William, one of the prosper- 
ous and influential citizens of Shelby 
county ; and Bonnie Jean, wife of Brooks 
Corwine, of Shelbina. These all, in their 
several localities, are exemplifying the 
family traits of enterprise, thrift and in- 
telligent devotion to duty, and have won 
the regard and good will of all who know 
them. 



280 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Although the father has passed his 
three score years and lived a very in- 
dustrious and exacting hfe, he is still 
vigorous and energetic, and as eager for 
any new undertaking for the good of the 
county, whether by private or public 
forces, as he ever was, and is as willing 
to undergo exertion as younger men, with 
the assurance that his efforts will be as 
fruitful as those of any. He is an ex- 
ample to all, active himself and of great 
servicfe through the activities he awakens 
and stimulates in others. 

JAMES A. McATEE. 

Now and for many years one of the 
leading- business men of Hunnewell, and 
held in the highest esteem throughout 
the surrounding country, in this and ad- 
jacent counties, James A. McAfee went 
through a variety of trying experiences 
before he settled down to the interesting 
and useful life of trade with which he 
has been connected for nearly a third of 
a century. He was born in the old colo- 
nial city of Georgetown, in the District 
of Columbia, on December 30, 1849, and 
lived for a number of years in that then 
antique settlement which, as a suburb 
of the new capital of the country had an 
importance all its own. The conditions 
of travel and the surrounding countiy at 
the time made it remote from the capital, 
but still near enough to catch some re- 
flection from that enterprising and am- 
bitious municipality, especially as it was 
the residence of men eminent in the civil, 
military and naval life of that period of 
our country's history. 

While it may not be a fair deduction 
to assume that Mr. McAtee's spirit of 



patriotism was quickened and intensified 
by the suggestions and associations of 
his boyhood in the old town which still 
bears the name of the last English king 
that had dominion over this countrj' or 
any part of it, although it has for years 
l)een a part of the city of Washington, it 
is a fact that he has at every period of 
his life manifested a very warm interest 
in the welfare of his country and done 
all he could, with the light he has had, to 
inomote that welfare. Living and flour- 
ishing on the plains of the great West, he 
has been able to take in the feelings and 
aspirations of the East and regard our 
nationality with a sweep of vision that 
reviewed every part of the country and 
looked upon all sections as equally im- 
portant. 

Mr. McAtee is a son of Samuel I. and 
Annie (Kidwell) McAtee. the former a 
native of Marion county, Kentucky, and 
the latter of the state of Maryland. The 
father came to Missouri in 1852 and 
liought farms in Lincoln and Ralls coun- 
ties, which he farmed for a few years. 
He then became a grocer in New London, 
Ralls county, and continued in business 
as such until the breaking out of the 
Civil war, when he sold his business and 
retired to a farm just outside the limits 
of New London. The portion of the 
state in which he lived was torn by dis- 
sension during the war, both sides to the 
great sectional confhet laying it under 
tribute and harassing its people. By 
1864 the atmosphere of sectional con- 
troversy became so hot that the family 
moved to IMonroe in that year, and there 
the father again entered the grocery 
trade, continuing his operations in this 
lino until 1867. He then took up his resi- 





HON. JAMES T. LLOYD 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



281 



clence in Hunnewell and retired from 
active pursuits altogether. For many 
years he served the several communities 
in which he lived as a justice of the 
peace, and was still in office at the time 
of his death, in ahout 1903. 

The elder Mr. McAtee was married to 
Miss Annie Kidwell, a native of Mary- 
land. They had ten children, seven of 
whom are living: Frank, who lives in 
Portland, Oregon; Rose, widow of the 
late P. J. ThiehofiP^ who resides in Him- 
newell ; Joseph, a prominent citizen of 
Hannibal, Missouri ; James A., of Hun- 
newell, the immediate subject of these 
paragraphs; S. S., whose home is in Los 
Angeles, California; W. N., of Kansas 
City, Missouri; and Agnes, the wife of 
James Willett, of Hannibal. The father 
was a devout Catholic in religion and an 
ardent Democrat in politics. 

James A. McAtee obtained his educa- 
tion in the public schools of Hannibal 
and New London, Missouri. After leav- 
ing school he worked in the grocery store 
of his father, and when he left that es- 
tablishment he started to learn the trade 
of buggy making. He served his appren- 
ticeship faithfully and mastered the 
trade, then went forth to work at it on 
his own account, which he did at various 
l^laces during the next four years. In 
1887 he started an enterprise in black- 
smithing and wagon making which he 
carried on for thirty years, conducting 
in connection with the other departments 
of the undertaking an extensive trade in 
farming implements. At the end of the 
period mentioned he sold the black- 
smithing and wagon business and outfit 
and since then he has devoted himself 
exclusively to his trade in implements. 



He has been zealous and intelligently 
active in all efforts to promote the 
growth and development of the city, the 
comfort and convenience of its people 
and the power and fruitfulness of all its 
moral and mental agencies for good. He 
has also helped to keep the good name 
of its business men at a high position by 
giving an example of entire uprightness 
and fairness in all his dealings and by 
being square and manly in all the rela- 
tions of life. He is a stockholder in the 
Farmers and Merchants' Bank of Hun- 
newell and connected with other institu- 
tions of a helpful and stimulating char- 
acter. In politics he is a Democrat and 
in religion a firm and faithful Catholic. 

On December 28, 1878, he was married 
to Miss Celia Shearer, of Monroe coun- 
ty, in this state. Of the eight children 
born to them seven are li\'ing: Samuel 
C, who lives at Lamar, Colorado; Roy, 
a resident of Washington; Maud, the 
wife of John Woods, of Kansas City, 
Missouri ; Lyda, the wife of A. L. 
Vaughn, of Huimewell ; Ruth, who is liv- 
ing at home; Carl, whose home is at 
Kansas City, Missouri; and Lottie, who 
is also a member of the parental house- 
hold. 

HON. JAMES T. LLOYD. 

James T. Lloyd, present representa- 
tive of the First district of Missouri in 
the United States congress, is one of the 
distinguished members of the bar of his 
native state and has been engaged in the 
]iractice of his profession in Shelbyvillo 
for more than a quarter of a century, 
though he has not given close attention 
to his ]irofession since he assumed the 



282 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



duties of his office in congress, of which 
he has been a member since 1897, and in 
which he has most ably and acceptably 
represented and safeguarded the inter- 
ests of his home state. He is known as a 
lawyer of high attainments, as a man of 
progressive ideas and mature judgment, 
and is ably upholding the prestige of his 
native commonwealth, which has sent 
many able and distinguished citizens to 
the national legislature. He is insist- 
ently loyal to his native state, whose in- 
terests he has made his own in a signifi- 
cant way, and this is shown by the high 
official prefennent which has been given 
him through popular franchise. 

Mr. Lloyd, as the name implies, is a 
scion of staunch Welsh stock, but the 
family was founded in America in the 
Colonial epoch of our national history, 
having early been established in Penn- 
sylvania. His grandfather, Zach Lloyd, 
who was born in Delaware, figures as the 
founder of the family in the state of ^lis- 
souri. This worthy ancestor became one 
of the pioneer settlers of Lewis county, 
this state, where he continued to main- 
tain his home until his death. He was a 
man of force and ability, strong in his 
individuality and of impregnable integ- 
rity, thus possessing the staunch timber 
that well fits into pioneer life and labor. 
His son Jerry, father of the present con- 
gressman, was born in the state of Dela- 
ware, on the 3d of July, 1826, and was 
there reared to maturity, receiving a 
good common school education and 
learning in his youth the trade of cooper. 
As a young man he accomjianied his hon- 
ored father on the family emigration 
to ^lissouri, and for some time he fol- 
lowed the work of his trade in Lewis 



county, after which he turned his atten- 
tion to faiTuing and stock growing, in 
connection with which he gained a large 
and generous measure of success, becom- 
ing one of the representative agricultur- 
ists of Lewis county, where he owned a 
fine landed estate of 200 acres. He re- 
sided on this homestead and gave his at- 
tention to its supervision from 1860 un- 
til 1887, when he retired from active la- 
bors and removed to the village of Clar- 
ence, Shelby county, where he passed the 
residue of his life, secure in the high re- 
gard of all who knew him and known as 
a man devoted to all that is best in con- 
nection with human thought, motive and 
action. He was sunuuoned to the life 
eternal on the 17th of September, 1897, 
at the age of seventy years, and his loved 
and devoted wife still survives him, 
maintaining her home in the family 
homestead and being held in affectionate 
regard by all who have come within the 
sphere of her gentle and gracious in- 
fluence. She is a devoted member of the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, South, as 
was also her husband, and in politics he 
was ever aligned as a staunch advocate 
of the generic principles for which the 
Democratic party stands sponsor. The 
old homestead farm, one of the best in 
this favored section of the state, is still 
owned by the family and is in charge of 
the youngest son, Frisbie Lee Lloyd. 

In January, 1856, was solemnized the 
marriage of Jerry Lloyd to ^liss Frances 
Jones, who was boi'n in the state of Ken- 
tucky on the ."^d of ]\Iarch, 1827, being a 
daughter of "William Jones, who removed 
from that state to Missouri in 1829, when 
she was but two years of age. The fam- 
ilv settled in the vicinitv of Emerson, 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



283 



Marion county, and Mrs. Lloyd has lived 
within a distance of fifty miles of the old 
homestead during the entire course of 
her life since that time. She is one of 
the venerable pioneer women of the state 
and retains in a remarkable way her 
mental and physical faculties. Jerry 
and Frances (Jones) Lloyd became the 
parents of three children, all of whom 
are living- — James T., the immediate sub- 
ject of this review; Samuel R., of Kirks- 
ville, this state, and Frisbie L., in charge 
of the old home farm. The honored 
father was for many years affiliated with 
the Masonic fraternity, of whose noble 
ideals and works he was deeph' appre- 
ciative. 

James T. Lloyd passed his boyhood 
and youth on the home farm, having 
been three years of age at the time of the 
family removal thereto from his native 
town of Canton, Lewis coimty, Missouri, 
where he was born on the 28th of August, 
1857. He gained his prehminary educa- 
tion in the district schools and through 
study at home, and finally he was matric- 
ulated in Christian University, at Can- 
ton, his native town, in which institution 
he completed the prescribed four years' 
course and was graduated as a member 
of the class of 1878, with the degree of 
Bachelor of Science. Wliile still an un- 
dergraduate he gave his attention to 
teaching in the public schools at inter- 
vals, principally during his college vaca- 
tions, and after leaving the university he 
continued to follow the work of the peda- 
gogic profession imtil 1881, meeting with 
marked success and having held the po- 
sition of superintendent of the public 
schools of his native town of Canton, 
thus nullifying the application of the 



scriptural aphorism that "a prophet is 
not without honor save in his own coun- 
try.", For two years he served as deputy 
sheritf of Lewis county, and in 1881 he 
was chosen deputy circuit clerk and re- 
corder for that county, and in that posi- 
tion remained for two years. During the 
time he was engaged in teaching and 
also while serving as a county official Mr. 
Lloyd prosecuted the study of law with 
marked earnestness and under effective 
preceptorship, thoroughly grounding 
himself in the science of jurisprudence 
and in due time proving his eligibility for 
membership in the bar, to which he was 
admitted at Edina, Knox county, in 1882. 
J\Ir. Lloyd initiated the practice of his 
chosen profession by opening an office at 
Monticello, Lewis county, this state, in 
1883, and there he was associated in 
practice with Oliver C. Clay, under the 
firm name of Clay & Lloyd, until March, 
1885, when the alliance was dissolved and 
he forthwith removed to Shelbyville, 
which city has since represented his 
home and the center of his work in his 
profession, which he has sigTially digni- 
fied by his abilities and services. He 
gained marked distinction as an able and 
versatile trial lawyer and well fortified 
counselor, and he has not only appeared 
in connection with much important litiga- 
tion in the state and federal courts, but 
has retained a clientele of essentially 
representative character. He gave his 
undivided attention to the work of his 
profession until 1897, in June of which 
year he was elected to congress as repre- 
sentative of the First congressional di.s- 
trict of Missouri. In this high office he 
has since continued to serve by succes- 
sive re-election, and the voters of his dis- 



284 



HISTORY OF STIEI.BY COUNTY 



triet have thus given positive and em- 
phatic endorsement of his course and 
services in congress, where he has .shown 
naught of the elements of obscurity or 
apathy, but has ably and forcefully 
championed causes which he believed 
right and where he has also been influen- 
tial in the councils of the committee 
room. His effective labors in congi'ess 
have been a matter of newspaper and 
official record, and it is not necessary to 
enter into details concerning the same in 
this article. Mr. Lloyd served as prose- 
cuting attorney of Shelby county from 
January, 1889, until January, 1893, and 
in this office he greatly heightened his 
fame as a successful trial lawyer. He is 
aligned as a staunch supporter of the 
cau.se of the Democratic party and has 
been an effective exponent of its princi- 
ples and policies, especially as a cam- 
paigTi speaker, in which connection his 
services have been much in reciuisition. 
He has .shown loyal interest in all that 
had touched the civic and material wel- 
fare of his home city, county and state, 
and is a progressive, liberal and public- 
spirited citizen. He was one of the oi'- 
ganizers and incoporators of the Citi- 
zens' Bank of Shelbyville, was its first 
vice-president and is still a member of its 
directorate. A brief sketch concerning 
the bank is given on other pages of this 
work. He was also one of the original 
stockholders of the Shelby Coufity Rail- 
road company. 

Mr. Lloyd is affiliated with the Inde- 
pendent Order of Odd Fellows, the 
Knights of Pythias, the Benevolent and 
Protective Order of Elks and the Modern 
Woodmen of America ; he is a member of 
the ^lethodist Episcopal Church, South, 



with which he has thus been identified 
from his boyhood days. He was a dele- 
gate to the general conference of that 
church in 1894. 

On the 1st of March, 1881, was solemn- 
ized the marriage of Mr. Lloyd to Miss 
Mary B. Graves, who was born and 
reared in Lewis county, Missouri, and 
who is a daughter of Thomas A. Graves, 
an honored ^ind influential citizen of that 
county. Mr. and Mrs. Lloyd became the 
parents of four children, of whom three 
are living. There names are here en- 
tered in order of their birth: Oliver J., 
Thomas L. and Ethel Lee. 

ANDEEW J. S:\riTH. 

Fifty-five of the eighty-one years of 
life already vouchsafed to this venerable 
"Father in Israel" have been passed in 
Missouri and forty-four of them in 
Slielby county, in the productive indus- 
tries of which he was engaged as an im- 
portant factor for moi-e than thirty 
years. He is now living retired in Hun- 
newell, universally respected and es- 
teemed and enjoying in vigor and the 
full activity of his faculties the rest he 
has so richly earned. Wliile his years 
have been occujued almost wholly in 
peaceful and inii)roving pursuits, such 
as minister to the comfort, convenience 
and general welfare of the people, he 
has not hesitated to bear his portion of 
the hardships and face his share of the 
dangers of war whenever duty called 
him to the field of conflict. 

^Ir. Smith was born on August 1, 1828, 
in Oswego county. New York, where his 
parents were then living. They were 
Abel and Veneria (Parker) Smith, also 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



'285 



natives of the state of New York, within 
whose borders they i)assed the whole of 
their lives. The father learned the trade 
of a cabinet maker in his youth, and at 
this useful craft, which is productive of 
many of the convenient and some of the 
most, beautiful and artistic articles of 
furniture in household and office use, he 
wrought diligently and with fair profit 
imtil his death in 1853. Of the seven 
children born in the household the in- 
teresting subject of these brief ]iara- 
gra])hs of biographical notice is the only 
one now living. The father was a Demo- 
crat in political allegiance and a Baptist 
in religious faith. 

Andrew J. Smith had no facilities for 
advanced education. He was born, at a 
time when every agency of the home was 
required to keep it going, and was there- 
fore obliged to take his place among the 
workers of the family as soon as he was 
old enough. He did, however, obtain a 
good common school education, and on 
this basis he built up, by subsequent 
reading and observation throughout his 
long and fruitful experience, a consider- 
able suijerstructure of general informa- 
tion. In the time of his school days the 
family was living in Chautauqua county. 
New Y^ork, and it was in the district 
schools of that now famous source of in- 
tellectual ins]uration that he acquired 
his scholastic training. 

After leaving school he became ap- 
prenticed to a carriage and wagon 
maker, and he gave attention to his trade 
of a kind and for a length of time that 
made him a thorough master of it. In 
1854, following the course of empire 
westward, he came to Missouri and lo- 
caiod in ^Marion conntv. where he oi)er- 



ated a saw mill until 1861. When the 
cloud of civil war that had been hovering 
so long in the American political skj' 
burst with all its fury upon our unhappy 
country, he promptly obeyed the call for 
volunteers to defend the integrity of the 
Union and enlisted in the Northern 
army as a member of Company K, Sec- 
ond Missouri Cavalry, the regiment be- 
coming later a part of the division of the 
army commanded by General McNeill. 

Mr. Smith was assigned to scout duty, 
one of the most hazardous and trying de- 
partments of military service and one 
requiring tireless energy, quickness of 
perception and good judgment. In this 
department he passed the greater part 
of his time during the war, but he also 
participated in a number of important 
engagements, among them the battles of 
Springfield, Cape Girardeau, Chalk 
Bluff and Bloomfield. He was mustered 
out of the service in 1866 at Port Leav- 
enworth, Kansas. He also saw much 
service in fighting the Indians in Colo- 
rado, New Mexico, Kansas and Ne- 
braska. He made a good record in the 
Civil war, as he did in his other military 
service, and as he has done in everything 
he has undertaken. 

On his return from the army in 1866 
he engaged in farming for one year, then 
again turned his attention to his former 
occui^ation of milling, taking up his resi- 
dence in Shelby county for the purpose, 
and carrying it on extensively here until 
he retired from all active pursuits in 
1907. In the public affairs of the com- 
munity of his home Mr. Smith has al- 
ways taken an active and intelligent in- 
tei-est and a ]irominent part. Every 
worthy enterprise for advancement and 



286 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



imijrovement has commanded his zeal- 
ous aid, every local interest his close and 
careful attention. He served efficiently 
and acceptably as mayor of Hunnewell 
for four years, although he had never 
before sought or desired public office. 
For this position he seemed so well qual- 
ified that he was chosen against his will, 
but did a good citizen's part in yielding 
to the desire of the people by accepting 
it and discharging his official duties to 
the best of his ability. 

In national politics j\Ir. Smith is a Re- 
publican and in religious attachment he 
was reared a Baptist. But he now leans 
to the Christian church, which is the one 
his wife belongs to. She was born on 
August 14, 1829, and is still living in vig- 
orous health. They were married on 
February 22, 1850, and have had four 
children. Two of these are living: Del- 
ma, the wife of Robert Dunlap, of Hun- 
newell, and Pearl, the wife of J. J. John- 
son, of Victoria, Texas. Mrs. Smith, 
whose maiden name was Susan Salmon, 
was bom and reared in Pennsylvania, 
where her ancestors were long resident, 
and in various ways contributed to the 
growth, development and general wel- 
fare of the commonwealth. 

Mr. Smith, by the products of his mills, 
has been of great service to the general 
improvement of the county and state in 
aiding in the work of constructing many 
public utilities of great value, chief 
among them, perhaps, the Hannibal & 
St. Joseph Railroad, for which he sawed 
a large part of the lumber required for 
cars, ties, bridges and turn tables. By 
the same means he has helped materially 
to promote the convenience, prosperity 
and comfort of the people, providing ma- 



terials for their dwellings and other 
structures of necessity, in the towns and 
on the farms. And by his sterling in- 
tegrity and elevated citizenship, he has 
also aided in the general advancement 
through his own activity the forces he 
has put in motion in others, and the in- 
fluence of his excellent example, which 
has been effective both as a stimulus and 
a restraint among this people. In times 
of peace his industry has been produc- 
tive. When war called men to arms in 
defense of their convictions he became a 
valiant soldier, and did his whole duty 
to the side he espoused, shirking no 
claim upon his services and shrinking 
from no danger. Wielding the sword 
effectually when duty placed it in his 
hands, he has still ever been a man of 
peace, and during the whole of his long 
life has never been a party to any law 
suit, complainant or defendant. He and 
his estimable wife stand high in the re- 
gard of the whole people and deserve the 
universal esteem in which they are held. 

ROBERT H. DUNLAP. 

Born, reared and educated in that hive 
of industry, Pennsylvania, in whose mul- 
tiform activities almost every occupa- 
tion that engages the energies of men is 
embraced, Robert H. Dunlap, of Hunne- 
well, has well illustrated on the soil of 
^Missouri the sterling qualities of enter- 
prise, resourcefulness and all command- 
ing potency that distinguish the people 
of that mighty commonwealth and have 
made it one of the leading states of the 
country. His life began in Butler coun- 
ty, of that state, on September 20, 1849, 
and he represents the third generation 



ITTSTOItY OF SHELBY COITXTY 



287 



of his family living in that section of the 
state. His grandfatlier, John Duulap, 
came over from Ireland and located 
there in his early manhood, and there 
the family has dwelt ever since, aiding 
in the development of the state's re- 
sources in various lines of life, living ac- 
ceptabh", working industriously and in 
every way doing the best thej' could to 
advance their own interests and promote 
those of the people dwelling around 
them. 

Robert H. Dunlap was reared in his 
native county and obtained his education 
in its district schools. His life as a boy 
and youth were passed on his father's 
farm, and after completing his education 
and assisting his father in the farm work 
until he was eighteen, he left his native 
heath and turned his face to the great 
West as the scene of his future activity 
and achievements. He arrived in Mis- 
souri in July, 1869, and during the next 
two years worked with his cousins on 
their farm in this county. On October 
10, 1871, he was married to Miss Delma 
C. Smith, of Hunnewell, a daughter of 
Andrew J. and Susan (Salmon) Smith, 
an account of whose lives will be found 
on other pages of this work. He then 
took up his residence in Hunnewell, and 
here he has been living ever since, except 
during two years, when he resided in 
Hannibal and worked in a saw mill. 

After locating in Hunnewell Mr. Dun- 
lap turned his attention to milling. This 
lias been his occupation during the whole 
of his subsequent years, and he has 
earned his success and ^irominence as a 
mill man by close attention to his busi- 
ness, a thorough knowledge of all its re- 
quirements and a masterful energy in 



conducting its operations. His contribu- 
tions to the industrial and commercial 
development of this section of the state 
have been extensive and are highly ap- 
preciated, and his aid in promoting the 
building of homes and other improve- 
ments for the enjoyment of domestic life 
has also been considerable and is valued 
by the people to whose welfare it has 
ministered. 

In the public affairs of the community 
he has long been one of the prime movers 
and most esteemed leaders, giving help- 
ful attention to every public need and 
directing provision for all with judicious 
liberality, wise coimsel and the stimulus 
of his excellent example. In religious 
faith he was reared as a Presbyterian, 
but for a number of years he has not 
taken a prominent part in the affairs of 
the church. His fraternal connection is 
with the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
lows. In this excellent benevolent so- 
ciety he has been very active and holds 
deserved eminence, having passed 
through all the offices in his lodge, shown 
earnestness and zeal in behalf of the 
higher bodies of the order, and looked 
after its welfare in every way. His off- 
spring numbers five, four of whom are 
living. They are: Charles Arthur, of 
Macon City, Missouri ; A. B., of Hunne- 
well (see sketch of him elsewhere in this 
volume) ; Ernest C, of Cameron Junc- 
tion, Missouri; and Goldie V., the wife 
of James Howe, of this county. In their 
several stations and localities they are 
all doing well and showing in their daily 
lives all the domestic, social and public 
virtues that digiiify and adorn American 
citizenship of the sterling and most serv- 
iceable kind. 



288 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



Robert H. Diinlap is a son of Robert 
and Isabella (Hutchinson) Dunlap, both 
born, reared and educated in Pennsyl- 
vania, and jjassing" the whole of their 
lives among its people. They were use- 
ful and esteemed citizens of the state, in- 
dustrious and frugal, and heljiful in all 
that aided in the promotion of the sub- 
stantial good of the community in which 
they lived. And when they passed over 
to the activities that know no weariness, 
their remains were laid to rest in the 
soil their labors had hallowed. The 
father was born and reared in Mercer 
county and followed farming all his life. 
He found a dejiosit of coal on his farm 
and became interested in coal mining in 
connection with his farming operations, 
making both ])rofitable by industry and 
good business capacity. He and his wife 
were the parents of six children, four of 
whom are living: William P., of Butler 
county, Pennsylvania; Martha Jane, the 
wife of J. W. Everett, of Parker's Land- 
ing, in that state; and Robert H., the 
widely popular subject of this memoir, 
and Lewis M., of Grove City, Pennsyl- 
vania. 

MATTHEW M. COX. 

For a full quarter of a century Mat- 
thew M. Cox, of Hunnewell, has been 
connected with the mercantile life of 
that city, and during that period has 
risen from a very subordinate position 
in his line of effort to one of leadership, 
making the ascent by sheer merit and 
business capacity. He was born in our 
sister county of Monroe on March 15, 
1861, and is a son of Samuel H. and 
Mary F. (Lasl^y) Cox, lioth of whom 
were born in Virginia, where their an- 



cestors had lived and contributed to the 
welfare of the commonwealth for gener- 
ations, the paternal grandfather, James 
A. Cox, having been an extensive planter 
and leading citizen in his part of the 
state, and later having followed the same 
pursuit and occupied a similar social and 
political rank of influence in Missouri. 

The father of Mr. Cox came with his 
parents to this state in 1834, when he was 
but eight years old. He took his place 
in the wild life of the frontier as it was 
then and grew to manhood on his fath- 
er's farm, which he helped to redeeiii 
from the wilderness and build up into 
fruitfulness and beauty, and secured 
what education he could in the district 
schools of the neighborhood. This was 
limited at the best, for the schools were 
]irimitive in appointments and course of 
instruction, and even such as they were 
he was able to attend them only during 
the winter months and then irregularly. 
After leaving school he turned his atten- 
tion to farming and raising stock, in 
which he was engaged until 1888. He 
then quit farming and entered mercan- 
tile life in Hunnewell in partnership 
with his son, the firm name being S. H. 
Cox & Son. As a member of this firm he 
continued mei-chandising iintil his death, 
on February 19, 1898. 

The father was married on November 
7, 1857, to Miss Mary F. Lasley. They 
had five children, all of whom are living: 
James AV., of Quincy, Illinois ; Willie C, 
the wife of the late W. C. Blackliurn, of 
Shelbina; Charles T. and Matthew M.,of 
TTiiiinewell; and Alwilda, (he wife of W. 
A. Vance, of Shelbina. In politics the 
father was a pronounced and unwaver- 
ing Democrat, and in church relations 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



289 



was allied with the Southern Methodists. 
He was serviceable to his party and took 
a warm and helpful interest in all the 
good works of his church. In all the re- 
lations of life he bore himself with man- 
liness and uprightness, and on all sides 
he was esteemed as an excellent citizen, 
a good business man and a worthy repre- 
sentative of the best elements of the pop- 
ulation of the county. 

Matthew M. Cox grew to manhood on 
his father's farm in Monroe county, and, 
like most of the offspring of the plains, 
obtained his education in the public 
schools. After leaving school he re- 
mained with his parents and assisted 
them in the work of the farm until 1884, 
when he took a position as a clerk in a 
Huunewell dry goods store belonging to 
an older brother. In November, 1885, 
he formed a jjartnership with W. C. 
Blackburn and together they started a 
grocery and grain business under the 
firm name of Blackburn & Cox. Mr. Cox 
has remained with this establishment 
thi'ough many changes in the firm and 
has at length become a stockholder in the 
co-operative concern known as the Hun- 
uewell Mercantile Company, with which 
he is still actively connected. 

From the dawn of his manhood he has 
taken an active and serviceable part in 
all matters of public improvement and 
helped to promote the usefulness of all 
moral and intellectual agencies at work 
in the community. He served as a mem- 
ber of the school board four years, and 
in many other ways has given the people 
around him the benefit of his enterprise 
and public sj^irit and tlie stimulus of his 
excellent example as a citizen. In poli- 
tics he is a firm and faithful Democrat, 



loyal to his party and serviceable in all 
its campaigns. For many years he has 
been a leading member of the Methodist 
Episcopal Church, South, and taken an 
active part in its work. 

Mr.. Cox was married in 1888 to Miss 
Anna M. Balliet, of Hunnewell. All of 
their six children are living. They are : 
Callie L., Pauline, Willie M., Henry Hol- 
lis, Pearl V. and Thomas Jay. They all 
live at home and contribute greatly 
toward making the household a popular 
resort for their hosts of friends and one 
of the social centers of the city. The 
father has helped to elevate and keep up 
the standard of the business life of the 
community by fair dealing and strict in- 
tegrity in all his transactions. He has 
given light, animation and proper stim- 
ulus to its social activities, and he has 
been one of the prime factors in pro- 
moting its public interests and giving 
the spirit of improvement among its 
people proper trend and restraint. He 
stands high in the esteem of the whole 
county and well deserves the regard and 
good will bestowed upon him by all 
classes of its citizens. 

CHARLES T. COX. 

This leading business man and emi- 
nent citizen of Hunnewell is a brother of 
Matthew M. Cox, a sketch of whom, con- 
taining the family history, will be found 
elsewhere in this work. He was born in 
Monroe county, Missouri, on June 20,. 
18.59, and is a son of Samuel H. and Mary 
F. (Lasley) Cox, natives of Virginia and 
early settlers in Missouri. His educa- 
tion was obtained in the public schools in 
the neighborhood of his father's farm in 



290 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



Monroe county, on which he lived until 
1879. He was then twenty years old, but 
felt impelled by a strong sense of duty 
to take up the battles of life for himself, 
and in obedience to this feeling he took 
up his residence in Hunuewell, deter- 
mined to make his own way in the world 
without waiting for fortune to smile on 
him or circumstances to favor his aspi- 
ration. 

For eight years thereafter he hauled 
lumber in connection with AV. C. Black- 
burn, encountering the rage of the ele- 
ments on many occasions and cheerfully 
enduring all the hardships incident to 
his occupation. He made the business 
pay and took good care of his earnings, 
showing then, as he has shown ever since, 
a commendable frugality and thrift in 
connection with his admirable industry. 
In 1887 he gave up the line of effort in 
which he had been successfully engaged 
for eight years and returned to the fam- 
ily homestead, on which he carried on ex- 
tensive operations in fanning and rais- 
ing live stock during the next nine years. 

Neither teaming nor farming was ex- 
actly suited to his taste, however, and so, 
in 1898, he gave the impulses within him 
free rein and followed their demands by 
moving to Hunnewell and engaging in 
mercantile life. To this end he bought 
the interest of C. L. Landrum in the gro- 
cery business of which his brother Mat- 
thew was a partner. They conducted the 
business together until 1902, when their 
establishment became a part of the co- 
operative concern known to the world 
as the Hunnewell ^lercantile Company, 
in which he is still one of the leading fac- 
tors. His business life among this peo- 
ple has been successful in a material way, 



but it has been more. It has helped to 
hold up the good name of the mercantile 
interests of the city to credit and high 
standing in the business world all around 
the town and throughout a large extent 
of the surroimding country, and has 
given an example in mercantile life 
worthy of all imitation because of its up- 
rightness, enterprise and real manliness 
without regard to circmustances. 

Mr. Cox has also been active and ser- 
viceable in the public affairs of the com- 
munity. He has ever shown a cordial 
and intelligent interest in the welfare of 
the community aod intense activity in 
promoting it. No move for the substan- 
tial and enduring good of the city has 
lacked the aid of his energetic mind or 
the directing force of his skillful hand, 
and the people aj^preeiate his services 
in their behalf as those of one of their 
leading and most intelligent citizens. He 
is now serving them well as one of the 
aldermen of the city, a position in which 
his loyalty to the communitj' and devo- I 
tion to its lasting good have full scope ' 
for exercise to the advantage of the 
municipality and all the people living 
within its limits. 

On December 20, 1879, Mr. Cox was 
joined in marriage with Miss Lillie Jane 
Davis, of Hunnewell. They have had six 
childi-en and all of them are living. They 
are: Nellie Leone, the wife of Thomas 
Hawkins, of Shelbina ; Ethel, the wife of 
Samuel Haskett, of this county ; Samuel 
C, a resident of Hunnewell; Elizabeth, i 
now ^Irs. J. C. ]\raupin, of Enterprise, 
Shelby county; John IT. and Edward, 
both living at home. In politics the 
father is a Democrat. In fraternal life 
he is connected with the ^fodern AVood- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



291 



men of America and iu religious affilia- 
tion he is allied with the IMethodist Epis- 
copal Church, South, in which he is an 
active and zealous worker. 

On the soil of Missouri and amid its 
mercantile interests Mr. Cox has exem- 
plified the traits of chax-acter and ele- 
ments of elevated manhood that gave his 
ancestors prominence and influence in the 
"Old Dominion" for generations. He 
has heeu sedulous iu industry, upright 
in conduct and enterprising in all per- 
sonal and puhlic affairs. And as no ex- 
amjale of worth and potency is ever lost 
on the American people, he is esteemed 
in the community which has witnessed 
and had the benefits of his earnestness 
and zeal as one of its best and most ser- 
viceable citizens. In business, in social 
relations and in domestic life he has met 
every requirement of upright and ser- 
viceable living, and in public affairs he 
has been both a stimulus and a sedative, 
inciting his fellow citizens to all good 
works for the advantage of the com- 
munity and restraining them from all 
excesses in the exercise of their enter- 
prise. The communify is indebted to him 
for wise counsel and productive energy, 
and also for prudent guidance and con- 
sei'vativo force, and it esteems him ac- 
cordingly. 

CHARLES A. HICKMAN. 

A scion of valiant ancestry and filled 
with the spirit of American patriotism, 
Charles A. Hickman, of Hunnewell, has 
exploited in the pursuits of peaceful in- 
dustry the attributes of exalted manhood 
that have distinguished other members 
of his family on the field of carnage and 
helped to give American citizenship its 



standing in the estimation of the world. 
His grandfather, "William A. Hickman, 
foiight under Andrew Jackson at New 
Orleans in one of the decisive battles of 
the world's history, where native cour- 
age and love of liberty were matched 
and won against splendid discipline and 
the heroism of ten thousand sanguinary 
conflicts. 

Mr. Hickman was born in Shelby 
county on December 7, 1873, and began 
his education in the i)ublic schools of 
Hunnewell, which he comjileted at the 
Christian University at Canton, Mis- 
souri, where he was a student in 1892 
and 1893. He is a son of Joseph H. and 
Fannie (Reid) Hickman, the former a 
native of Alabama and the latter of Shel- 
by county. A brief account of their lives 
will be found elsewhere in this volume. 
After leaving school the son entered the 
employ of W. Stoddard, a railway con- 
tractor of St. Paul, Minnesota, with 
whom he worked until 1905. He then 
passed one year in Chicago, and since 
that time has been continuously con- 
nected with the contracting firm of C. H. 
Sharp & Co. Construction work has en- 
gaged his attention from the dawn of his 
manhood until the present time except 
for two years, when he was engaged in 
farming in the Indian Territory. It will 
be easily inferred from the story of his 
life as outlined above that he has had a 
great variety of experiences and has 
mingled with men under vastly differing 
circumstances. His opportunities of ob- 
servation have been extensive and have 
presented a wide expanse in phases of 
human life. He has profited by them to 
his own advantage and that of the com- 
munity in which he has so long lived and 



292 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



labored, and in consequence his services 
to the city and its people have been of a 
high order of excellence and fruitful for 
their good. He has studied conditions 
and requirements iinder many circum- 
stances and is able to deduct the right 
measure of good from all for any partic- 
ular necessity at home. And being en- 
gaged in construction work, he has also 
been in touch with the genius of improve- 
ment and learned just how men feel 
toward it in any given case. He has 
therefore been able to apply his own 
energy and capacity in this regard intel- 
ligently and by it lead up to good results. 
He is regarded as one of the best and 
most useful citizens of Hunnewell, for he 
is always alert to its substantial and en- 
during welfare and eager in his efforts 
to promote it. 

In political faith Mr. Hicfkman is a 
firm Kepublican, standing by the princi- 
ples of his party with unquestioning loy- 
alty and supporting its candidates with 
all his |iower under all circumstances. 
In local affairs, however, his first consid- 
eration is the welfare of the community, 
whether the interests involved be those 
of the city or the county, and for their 
good he works incessantly without re- 
gard to jiartisan or personal claims. In 
fraternal life he is connected with the 
Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
the Ancient Order of United AVorkmen 
and Masons. In these organizations he 
finds latitude for the exercise of his pub- 
lic spirit, and he gives it free rein in 
them to the end that the people around 
him derive the benefit of his activity. 
His religious aflRliafinn is with the Chris- 
tian church, and in that also he has long 
been active and efTective as a worker and 



wise and judicious as a counselor. He is 
a stockholder in the Farmers & Mer- 
chants' Bank of Hunnewell and con- 
nected with other institutions of value in 
promoting the enduring welfare of Hun- 
newell and Shelby county, of which he is 
recognized as one of the leading and 
most influential citizens. 



THE COMMEECIAL BANK OF 
SHELBINA, MISSOURI. 

This bank, which is one of the historic 
financial institutions of Shelby count}', 
was foimded on October 28, 1888, with a 
capital stock of $30,000, all of which was 
paid in at once before the bank was 
opened for business. The officers at the 
beginning were: President, William H. 
Warren; vice-president, C. H. Lasley; 
cashier, John J. Bragg; directors, Wil- 
liam H. AYarren, C. H. Lasley, John J. 
Bragg, John J. Ellis, J. AV. Thompson, 
S. G. Parsons, John T. Frederick, F. D. 
Crow and Thomas M. Sparks. 

Mr. AVarreu served as president until 
July, 1890, when he was succeeded by S. 
G. Parsons, who served until February, 
1894. John R. Lyell was then elected 
president, but in September, 1895, he re- 
signed and was chosen cashier, J. W. 
Thompson succeeding him as president 
and serving as such until his death in 
1898. Soon after the death of Mr. 
Thomjison the bank went into liquida- 
tion. A reorganization was had in 1898, 
with J. William Towson as ])resident. 
Mr. Towson retired in 1900 and J. R. 
Lyell, the present incumbent of the presi- 
dency, was chosen to succeed him. 

The vice-)iresidents have also changed 
from time to time. Mr. Lasley served 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



293 



but a short time and then gave way to 
J. W. Thompson, who held the office 
imtil 1895. B. F. Dobyus was also vice- 
president for a short time. He was suc- 
ceeded by T. M. Sparks, wlio filled the 
office until his death in 1S96. Then Mar- 
tin S. Buckman was elected and he is 
still rendering valued service as vice- 
president. 

The next cashier after Mr. Bragg was 
Alonzo "\V. Combs, who resigned soon 
after his election and was followed by 
John R. Lyell. The present cashier, 
Arthur E. Jones, began his term of ser- 
vice in 1900, and has filled the position 
continuouslj' evei' since. The officers of 
the bank at the time of this writing are : 
President, John R. Lyell ; vice-president, 
Martin S. Biickman; cashier, Arthur E. 
Jones; directors, in addition to the 
above, J. R. Morgan, W. A. Maupin, W. 
B. Kendrick and Charles B. Martin. In 
1908 the institution imdferwent another 
reorganization, raising its capital stock 
to $40,000 in the new arrangement. 

JOSEPH H. HICKMAN. 

This venerable citizen of Shelby coun- 
ty, who has his home in Hunnewell, was 
born in the county on November 20, 1840, 
his life beginning in what is now Jack- 
son towusliip, and before the county was 
organized as a separate municipality in 
the state. It is easy to infer tluit if he 
came into being before Shelby county 
was organized his life began amidst the 
constant liazards, continual jirivations 
and ]uir(Lsliii)s and arduous rcciuircments 
of pioneer existence and liis luibits were 
formed and his faculties developed in 
accordance with the requirements of 



such a state of life. In fact, he has 
shown throughout his long and useful 
career the qualities of self reliance, re- 
sourcefulness and readiness for any 
emergency that is born of the frontier, 
and his early training has been of the 
greatest service to him under circum- 
stances far removed from the require- 
ments of the pioneer life. 

Mr. Hickmau is a worthy scion of a 
family of military renown, his grand- 
father, William A. Hickman, having 
taken part in the War of 1812 and fought 
valiantly under General Jackson in the 
decisive contest against the flower of the 
British army at New Orleans, which 
quieted all objection to the dominion of 
the United States over the territory they 
had purchased from Prance, and con- 
vinced all beholders of the power of this 
nation to defend with the sword every 
domain it might acquire by diplomacy or 
]uirchase. The grandfather was a na- 
tive of Alabama and became a resident 
of Missouri early in the 30 's, locating in 
Marion county, where he passed the re- 
mainder of his days in farming and rais- 
ing live stock. 

Joseph H. Hickman is a sou of David 
and Sinah (Davis) Hickman, the former 
born in Alabama in 1S08, and the latter a 
native of Kentucky. They were married 
in 1828 and moved to Missouri in 1829, 
making their first home in this state in 
what is now ]\Iarion county. In 1830 the 
father bought a farm of 160 acres within 
the present limits of Shelby county, but 
long before the county was organized, 
lie and liis young wife were among the 
first settlers of this portion of the state 
and shared with the few other hardy ad- 
venturers who started its redemption 



294 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



from the -svilderness all the hardships 
and privations, the perils and incon- 
veniences of its frontier period, steadilj- 
working their way onward to independ- 
ence and substantial comfort. They en- 
gaged actively in farming and raising 
stock until the death of the father on the 
farm he had made from the untrodden 
wilds, which occurred on Augiist 17, 
1844. On this farm also their nine chil- 
dren passed their early lives, taking 
their places in the work of building a 
home and risking the dangers through 
which their efforts had to pass to suc- 
cess. Of the nine children born on this 
farm only three are now living. They 
are: Hansford B., of Barry county, Mis- 
souri ; Jesse H., of Huuuewell, an ac- 
count of whose life will be found in this 
work ; and the immediate siibject of this 
brief memoir. In ]iolitics the father was 
a '\^'^lig and in religion a Baptist. 

His son, Joseph H. Hickman, was 
reared on the homestead and educated in 
the primtive frontier schools of his boy- 
hood and youth. They did not offer 
much in the extent of variety of their 
course of instruction, and their ap- 
pliances were of the crudest character. 
The school houses were built of logs 
fashioned according to the only avail- 
a1)le model of the time and furnished 
with slab benches of the coarsest and 
most unfinished kind. The schools there- 
fore provided neither much sustenance 
for the mind nor comfort for the body. 
But such as they were, Mr. Hickman 
made the best possible use of them, and 
thus laid the foundations for the fund of 
general information which he now pos- 
sesses, and which has been ripened and 
developed \u the stern school of experi- 



ence which he has subsequently attended. 
He remained on the farm with his 
mother until 1867, when he moved to 
Hannibal and took employment as a day 
laborer in a lumber yard. In 1870 he 
returned to Shelby county and again en- 
tered upon the occupation to which he 
had been reared, that of tilling the soil 
and raising live stock, in wliich he has 
ever since been actively and successfully 
engaged, except for a short time during 
which he was merchandising in Keokuk, 
Iowa, in sewing machines and musical 
instruments and supplies. He has also 
owned and operated in connection with 
his farming operations a saw mill at 
Huunewell. 

In politics Mr. Hickman has been a 
Repulilican from the organization of the 
party, and for many years he has been a 
consistent and zealous member of the 
Christian chui'ch, being now one of the 
elders of the congregation in which he 
holds memlicrship, and at all times ren- 
dering helpful .service in all its worthy 
undertakings. He is also active in the 
service of his political party, supporting- 
its principles and candidates loyally, al- 
though he has never himself sought or 
desired a political office of any kind. On 
iMarch 11, 1867, he was married to Miss 
Fannie Reed, a native of Clark county, 
Missouri. All of the four children born 
to them are living: Homer C. and 
Charles A., of Huunewell (see sketch of 
Charles A. in this volume) ; Mamie, wife 
of R. L. Yancy, of this county; and An- 
na, wife of Ennis D. Noland, of Chilli- 
cotlie, Illinois. Having lost his father 
when the son was but four years old, 
]\rr. Hickman has been obliged to make 
his own wav in the world from an early 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



295 



age, and he has so conducted his affairs 
that he has been successful in business, 
and in addition has won the lasting re- 
gard of all who know him. He is ac- 
counted one of the most sterling and 
worthy citizens of the county. 

JESSE H. HICKMAN. 

This esteemed farmer had been living 
retired from active pursuits for a num- 
ber of years in Hunnewell, after having 
passed the heat and burden of an active 
life of arduous labor in cultivating the 
soil, rendering good service to his coun- 
try in the Civil war and in other lines of 
etfort. He was a son of David and Sinah 
(Davis) Hickman, whose life story will 
be found recorded at some length in a 
sketch of his brother, Joseph H. Hick- 
man, also a resident of Hramewell, which 
appears on another page of this work. 

Mr. Hickman was born in Jackson 
township, Shelby county, Missouri, on 
March 11, 1838. His father died when 
the son was but six years old, and the 
care of the family then devolved on the 
mother. She was a resolute woman of 
the frontier, inured to its hardships and 
privations and familiar with its dangers 
from attacks of savage beasts and wild 
Indians, by whom the plains and forests 
of the un])eoj)led West were still claimed 
as their rightful domain, and the early 
settlers were considered as legitimate 
prey to satisfy the hunger of the one or 
glut the fury of the other. She knew the 
difficulties and the mag-nitude of the duty 
before her, but she entered ujion it with 
real heroism and performed it with abil- 
ity and fidelity. 

The son grew to maturity on the pa- 



rental homestead, remaining at home and 
assisting in the labors on the farm until 
1863. He then felt it his duty to offer his 
life in behalf of the integrity of the Un- 
ion and become a part of the army iight- 
ing in its defense. In April of the year 
last mentioned he enlisted for the re- 
mainder of the war in the Federal army, 
Company Gr, One Hundred and Eleventh 
Missouri Cavalry, in which he continued 
to serve until he was honorably dis- 
charged in 1865. His service was ren- 
dered in Arkansas, at Duvall's Bluff, 
Grand Prairie and Cross Roads, under 
the command of Col. William D. Wood. 
After the war Mr. Hickman returned to 
the farm and remained on it with the 
rest of the family until 1867. On Decem- 
ber 6 of that year he was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Emma Hubbard, a resi- 
dent at the time of Marion county, in this 
state, but a native of Ohio. 

Mr. Hickman then took a farm of his 
own and for many years thereafter 
passed the greater part of his time on it, 
pushing with all his enterprise his dual 
occupation of farming and raising live 
stock. He was successful in his under- 
takings and became one of the prosper- 
ous and substantial citizens of Jackson 
township, Shelby county, in which his 
operations were conducted. As time 
passed and he began to feel the weight 
of years upon him he determined to give 
up active work and enjoy for the re- 
mainder of his days a rest which he felt 
that he had richly deserved. He accord- 
ingly sold his farm and all that belonged 
to it and took up his residence in Hunne- 
well, where his death occurred April 15, 

I9in. 

He and liis wife became the ]inronts of 



296 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



six children, tlu'ee of wliom are living: 
George H.. of Edna, Missouri, and a twin 
son and daughter — Edward, who now 
lives in Manila, Philippine Islands, and 
Effie, the wife of H. M. Gould, of Hunne- 
well. In politics Mr. Hickman was a 
loyal and determined Republican, and as 
he did not hesitate to enforce his convic- 
tions on the field of carnage during the 
Civil war, so he never hid them in polit- 
ical affairs. He was always earnest and 
effective in the service of his party and 
his efforts in its behalf were highly ap- 
preciated by its leaders. He kept alive 
the memories of his military service by 
active and ardent membership in the 
Grand Army of the Republic. For many 
years he was a faithful and zealous mem- 
ber of the Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South, and took a leading part in its 
works of benevolence. He was also ener- 
getic in promoting the welfare of the 
community around him and was es- 
teemed as one of its best and most useful 
and representative citizens. 

JAMES A. SPALDING. 

Although born of a martial strain 
whose family name has been written in 
enduring phrase on the military annals 
of our country, James A. Spalding, of 
Hunnewell, has passed his life in the 
pursuits of peaceful and productive in- 
dustry, depending wholly on himself for 
his advancement and on his own merit 
to win the regard and good will of his 
fellow men, without counting on any 
family record or heroic traditions to help 
him in the effort. By steady adherence 
to his chosen lines of endeavor and by 
fidelitv to everv duty he has succeeded 



admirably in both, and now stands among 
the people who have witnessed his long 
years of effort and his upright and use- 
ful life a veritable patriarch of more 
than four-score years, venerated and be- 
loved by all who Icnow him. 

Mr. Spalding was born in Marion 
county, Kentucky, on October 17, 1828, 
and is a son of James A. and Sarah 
(Green) Spalding, natives of Maryland 
and early settlers in Kentucky, going to 
that then distant region while it was yet 
under the dominion of barbarism, with 
the wild denizens of the forest roaming 
freely over its wide domain and exacting 
tribute from the invading race that was 
to exterminate them and call the waste 
they had so long used fruitlessly from 
its sleep of ages and make it minister to 
the general welfare of mankind. The 
father was a son of John Aaron Spald- 
ing, who served in the Revolutionary 
war and rendered his name immortal by 
being one of the captors of Major Andre, 
the unfortunate tool of our historic 
traitor, Benedict Arnold. He came into 
being in 1788 and moved to Kentucky 
while yet a mere youth. There he en- 
gaged in farming and blacksmithing un- 
til his death on March 4, 1833, except for 
a short period during which he rendered 
his country valiant service as a soldier 
in the Black Hawk Indian war. He was 
married in 1820 to Miss Sarah Green, 
who, like himself, migrated fi'om the cul- 
tivated society and comfortable civiliza- 
tion of her native state at an early age, 
and found a new home with all its trials 
and privations in the wilds of the "West, 
locating in what is now Marion county, 
Kentucky, where the marriage occurred. 
They became the parents of eight chil- 



HTSTOEY OF SPIELBY COUNTY 



397 



dreu, all but two of whom have passed 
over to the activities that know no weari- 
ness, those living- being the venerable 
subject of this memoir and his sister, 
Sarah E., who is now the widow of A. B. 
Thiehoff, of Hunnewell. The father was 
a Democrat in political faith and a Cath- 
olic in religion, and was faithful and 
constant in his devotion to both his polit- 
ical party and his church. 

James A. Spalding was reared in his 
native county and educated mainly in 
private schools there. He also attended 
St. Mary's College in that county. In the 
spring of 1850, taking his parents' exam- 
ple as his guide and inspiration, he 
sought his fortune on his own hook and 
also in the farther wake of the setting- 
sun. He came to Missouri and located 
in Ealls count}', where he started an en- 
terprise in blacksmithing, having learned 
the trade under the instruction of his 
father and others. He also followed 
farming in connection with working at 
his trade. In 1859 he moved to Shelby 
county and opened a blacksmithing es- 
tablishment at Hunnewell. This he con- 
ducted until 1861, when he bought a farm 
about a half mile from Hunnewell, and 
on this he has ever since lived. He is 
now eighty-two years of age, but still 
manages his farm of 240 acres with vigor 
and progressiveness, although he has 
some of the land rented. But his activity 
remains despite his weight of years, and 
his faculties seem to be as keen and his 
enterprise as great as when he was a 
much younger man. It is given to few 
men to accomplish as much as Mr. 
Sjialding has, even with his length of 
life, and to still fewer to retain health 
and strength at his advanced age. It is 



probable that the toughening of tissue he 
received in his early years of outdoor 
toil has been one source of his long con- 
tinued vigor and uniform good health. 
And it is certain that the self reliance 
and need of readiness for emergencies, 
which began with him in his youth, have 
been of great benefit in all his subse- 
quent undertakings, both to himself and 
to those who have shared in the fruits of 
his industry, frugality and prudence. 

Mr. Spalding was married on Septem- 
ber 21, 1858, to Miss Mary Tsabelle 
Leake, of Monroe county, ^Missouri. They 
became the parents of fourteen children, 
.seven of whom are living: William B., 
of Monroe City; Martin J., of Venetia, 
Oklahoma; Sarah J., who is living at 
home ; John A., of Chelcia, Oklahoma ; 
Alice A., who is still a member of the 
parental household; Eva M., who is de- 
voting her life to religious work and is 
now Sister Mary Crescentia of the Lo- 
retta Order; and Rose, at Sapulpa, Okla- 
homa. Charles Albert died in Montana 
in 1909 and Joseph L. died at Sapulpa, 
Oklahoma, March, 1910. 

In political faith the father has been 
a lifelong Democrat, true and faithful to 
his convictions and strong and sedulous 
in the support of his party. In religion 
he is a devout and consistent Catholic, 
earnest for the welfare of his church and 
with an abiding reliance on its teachings. 
He has passed half a centuiy of useful- 
ness in Shelby county, contributing to 
its development and improvement by his 
useful labors and helping to give its fis- 
cal and political affairs ]iroper ti'end and 
guidance. No man among this people is 
more highly esteemed by them, and none 
has better deserved their regard, confi- 



298 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



denee and good will. They celebrated 
their golden wedding in 1908, going 
through the entire Catholic ceremonv. 



PETEE J. EEAEDON. 

In the life of this highly useful and es- 
teemed citizen of Jackson township, 
Shelby county, the pathetic is mingled 
with the sentimental, and eminent suc- 
cess has followed heavy trials, exacting 
privations and arduous industry. He 
came to this country when he was a 
young man, with no capital but his own 
energy, capacity and indomitable spirit. 
He confronted the difficulties of his sit- 
uation with calm Init determined courr 
age, met its requirements with intelli- 
gence and fidelity and compelled reluc- 
tant Fortune to give him tribute of her 
bounty by the persistency and skill with 
which he wooed her favor. 

Mr. Eeardon was born and reared in 
Ii'eland, where his ancestors for many 
generations lived and lal)ored and in the 
soil of which the mortal remains of his 
father, Eugene Eeardon, and his grand- 
father, John Eeardon, were laid to rest 
amid scenes of private grief and public 
lamentation, which he witnessed. On the 
death t)f his father the care of the family 
devolved upon the sorrowing mother, 
whose maiden name was Julia Curtis. 
She performed her duty to her offspring 
faithfully, meeting all difficulties with a 
resolute determination to yield to none, 
and giving the members of her household 
an excellent example as well as good 
counsel. She was the mother of eiglit 
children, of whom but two are living, her 
sons, Peter J., of Shelby county, and 
Daniel, now a resident of Kansas Citv, 



^lissouri. Feeling that this country of- 
fered her better opportunities for com- 
fort and further success in life, she came 
over in 1882, following her son Peter, 
who emigrated from his native land to 
this state in 1881. She took up her resi- 
dence in Shelby county, and here she 
passed the remainder of her days, dying 
in 190G respected and lamented by all 
who knew her. 

Peter J. Eeardon grew to manhood in 
his inhospitable native land and realized 
full)' that, while its inhospitality was not 
due to either the character or the habits 
of its own peoi)le, but to outside in- 
fluences, it was, nevertheless, cruel and 
oppressive to the toiling millions and 
prevented the business success and social 
standing to which many of them felt that 
they might properly aspire. He there- 
fore determined as soon as manhood 
"darkened on his downy cheek" to grat- 
ify a longing which had long stirred 
within him and seek his fortunes in the 
New AVorld, which seemed to beckon him 
to its shores with open hands and golden 
promises. Accordingly, in 1881, he dared 
the heaving bosom of the stormy Atlan- 
tic and soon afterward landed in the 
United States. He came at once to Mis- 
souri and found a new home in Ean- 
dolph county, where he engaged in tele- 
graph construction work for four years. 
Following that occupation he served as 
foreman of a section gang on tlie Hanni- 
bal & St. Joseph railroad, which is now 
a part of the Burlington system, for 
eighteen years. 

r^fr. Eeardon had received but a lim- 
ited education in his native land, but he 
had aspirations to better things than his 
service for the railroad company af- 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



299 



orded liim aud lie determined to go after 
them. In 1904 be bought what was 
known as the "Jerome Worlaud farm," 
which was one of tlie lirst cultivated 
farms in Shelby county. To the cultiva- 
tion of his laud he has since then dili- 
gently devoted himself, farming it with 
intelligence and spirit and improving it 
from time to time in accordance with the 
geuius of development of the section in 
which it is located. He now owns 370 
acres of land and has about 215 acres un- 
der skillful and productive cultivation. 
The place is improved with a good dwell- 
ing, barns and other necessary struc- 
tures, and is regarded as one of the best 
farms in this part of the state. 

In January, 1890, Mr. Reardon was 
united in marriage with Miss Ellen Mar- 
kin, who was born and reared in Marion 
county, Missouri. They have had seven 
children, six of whom are living: Daniel, 
Julia, Joseph, Katie, Agnes and John, 
all yet under the parental rooftree and 
assisting in the work of cultivating and 
improving the farm. The father is a 
Republican in politics and a Catholic in 
religion. He is earnestly devoted to the 
institutions of the land of his adoption 
and does his utmost to promote their 
welfare. His state and country have 
given him opportunity ; his own capacity, 
industry and good judgment have given 
him success ; and he returns the one and 
.iustifies the other by loyal devotion and 
service to both state and nation, showing 
his feelings in the matter by manly and 
effective efforts in l)ehalf of every 
worthy interest or undertaking of either. 
In local affairs he has been a potent in- 
fluence in building U]i his township and 
county and developing toward their 



highest power all the intellectual, moral 
and material forces at work for their bet- 
terment. His friends and neighbors liold 
him in cordial regard and the whole peo- 
ple admire his manhood and res])ect the 
elevated character of his citizenship. 

ROY JANES. 

Mr. Janes was for some years an es- 
timable citizen of Lakenan and is one 
of the enterprising merchants of Shelby 
county and has shown grit beyond his 
years and spirit worthy of a Spartan. 
He has been tried by several forms of 
disaster, among them the ordeal of fire, 
and has not flinched in the presence of 
any. 

He was born in Shelby county on Feb- 
ruary 18, 1888, and is a son of Joseph 
W. and Elizabeth (Montgomery) Janes, 
both, like himself, born and reared in 
Shelby county. The father's life began 
in 1862, and after reaching his maturity 
he followed farming profitably and also 
conducted a threshing outfit until his 
death, on March 25, 1908, at Lakenan, 
where he was then living. He was mar- 
ried in 1886 and by his marriage became 
the father of four children — Roy, Wal- 
ter, Bernice and Weldon — three of whom 
are living at home with their mother. In 
politics the father was a Republican, in 
fraternal life a Modern Woodman of 
America and in religious connection a 
member of the Baptist church. He was 
highly respected and his untimely death 
in the full vigor of his manhood and 
when ho seemed to have many years of 
usefulness remaining for him was uni- 
vovsally deplored. 

Roy Janes was left an or]ihan by the 



300 



HISTOEY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



death of his father when he was twenty 
years of age and was obliged to at once 
begin the battle of life for himself. His 
preparation for the struggle was in part 
a common school education obtained in 
the district schools of Shelby county, 
and in part the companionship and ex- 
ample of his father, with whom he 
worked three j^ears after leaving school 
on the farm from which he had drawn 
his stature and his strength. He was then 
employed for a time as a section hand 
and timekeeper in the service of the Chi- 
cago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad. He 
did not regard his sphere as too humble 
or his work as unworthy of him, for he 
had been imbued with the conviction that 
all useful labor is dignified and honor- 
able. But he felt that there was a des- 
tiny of more extensive opportunity be- 
fore him and that he could employ his 
faculties, to better advantage than the 
occupation in which he was engaged 
afforded. 

Yielding to this feeling, on June 1, 
1908, Mr. Janes entered into partnership 
with John McGlasson in a general mer- 
chandising enterprise, the success of 
which from the start gave him high hopes 
of rapidly increasing material acquisi- 
tions. But on November 7, following the 
opening of the store, it and all its con- 
tents were totally destroyed by fire, and 
this ended the partnership with the busi 
ness. ]\rr. Janes was not dismayed by 
his disaster. He at once began to look 
about him for a new connection with a 
view to undertaking a new enterprise. 
He formed another partnership, this 
time with C. W. Mcintosh, of Lentner, 
and on February 1. 1909, they opened 
their new store. Mr. Janes continued 



in this firm until the summer of 1910, 
when he disposed of his interest in the 
business and removed to Kansas City, 
Mo., where he is now employed. 

JOHN E. LYELL. 

.John E. Lyell, the president and con- 
trolling spirit of the Commercial Bank 
of Shelbina, the man who directs its pol- 
icy and looks closely and intelligently 
after all its alfairs, is a native of Shelby 
county, where he was born on November 
14, 186C. He is a son of Thomas P. and 
Sarah E. (Jones) Lyell, the former of 
whom was born and reared in Virginia 
and the latter in Missouri. The father 
came to this state at an early age and 
located in Marion county. Some time 
afterward he moved to Shelby county 
and took up his residence north of Hun- 
newell. There he became possessed of a 
tract of wild land which had never yet 
responded to the persuasive hand of sys- 
tematic cultivation, but lay buried in the 
sleep of ages waiting for the voice of its 
master to call it forth to frnitfulness and 
beauty. Mr. Lyell broke up the tract 
and improved it, making of it one of the 
best and most jiroductive farms in the 
county, and finally ending his days on it 
amid the monuments to his enterprise 
and progressiveness which he had 
reared around him. His widow survived 
him a few years, passing away at Shel- 
bina. They have three sons and one 
daughter living, and all contributing ac- 
tively and ]iractically to the welfare of 
the commmiitios in which they have their 
homes. The family is of Scotch ancestiy. 

John B. Lyell grew to manliood in this 
countv and obtained his education in the 




JOHN R. LYELL 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



301 



Shelbina schools and Collegiate Insti- 
tute. He began life for himself as a 
clerk and salesman in a grocery store, 
and during the short time he served the 
requirements of his position with indus- 
try and fidelity. But he felt within him 
an urgent call to fields of higher en- 
deavor and wider opportunity. Accord- 
ingly he engaged in the real estate, loan 
and insurance business, which he fol- 
lowed until he became president of the 
bank. Since then he has given the af- 
fairs of the bank his close personal at- 
tention, looking into all the details of its 
business with intelligent scrutiny and an 
earnest determination to secure the best 
possible results in every respect for its 
promoters and patrons. In addition he 
owns and operates a large farm. 

In political faith Mr. Lyell is allied 
with the Democratic party, but, although 
he is active in the support of its princi- 
ples and candidates, he has never sought 
or consented to accept an office for him- 
self except in the government of the 
town. Among the many fraternal and 
benevolent societies existent and active 
in the country he has- allied himself with 
but two, the Masonic order and the 
Knights of Pythias. In the former he 
holds the rank of Knight Templar. In 
religious affiliations he belongs to the M. 
E. Church, South, and is president of the 
board of stewards of the congregation in 
which he has his membership. On June 
28, 1890, he was united in marriage with 
Miss Idress Stephens, of Macon, Mis- 
souri. No man stands higher in the com- 
munity than Ml-. Lyell, and none better 
deserves the esteem in which he is held. 
To every interest of the town and county 



he has been attentive in the most practi- 
cal and beneficial way. 

THOMAS JANES. 

The interesting subject of this writ- 
ing, who is one of the venerable and 
venerated citizens of Shelby county and 
now has his home in Lakenau, was born 
in Washington county, Kentucky, on No- 
vember 2, 1832, and is a son of John H. 
and Henrietta (Gibbs) Janes, the for- 
mer a native of Kentucky and the latter 
born and reared in the same state. The 
father was born in 1800 and became a 
resident of Missouri in 1851. He took 
up land in Marion county, which he cul- 
tivated and improved, and on which he 
was extensively engaged in raising live 
stock, until 1865. In that year he re- 
tired from active work and moved to 
Shelby county, making his home with 
his son-in-law, Benjamin Green. He 
died in 1866. In 1819 he was married 
to Miss Henrietta Gibbs, and by this 
marriage became the father of eleven 
children, six of whom are living: James 
L. G., who has his home in Monroe 
county; Thomas, who is the theme of 
these paragraphs; John H., a resident 
of Nebraska; William P., of Ilunnewell; 
Kittie, the wife of Benjamin Green, now 
living in Monroe county; and Rebecca 
Ann, the widow of George Ruberson, de- 
ceased. In polities the father was a pro- 
nounced Democrat and in religion a firm 
and faithful Catholic. 

Thomas Janes lived to the age of nine- 
teen in his native state and was educated 
in the district schools near his home, 
supplementing their course of instruc- 



302 



HISTOKY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



tion as a student at St. Rosey Intinnary 
for a few terms. He came to Missouri 
with bis parents in 1851 and remained 
with them on the new farm they were 
cultivating in this state until 1853. His 
father then gave him fifty acres of land 
in Marion county, and to the develop- 
ment and improvement of this tract he 
devoted himself with skill and iudustrj^ 
until 1862. The storm of the Civil war 
having by that time developed into a 
hurricane of disaster, he felt it his duty 
to give his services to his state in the 
endeavor to save it to the Union and 
defend it against armed invasion. He 
therefore enlisted in the state military 
service and was connected with it until 
1864, when he joined the Federal army 
as first lieutenant of Company G, Thirty- 
ninth Missouri Volunteer Infantry, un- 
der Colonel Kutzner. He was present 
at the battles of Centralia and Jefferson 
City and rendered excellent service in 
helping to break up tlie numerous bands 
of guerrillas and bushwhackers whose 
predatory warfare terrorized the state. 
Mr. Janes was mustered out of the 
army on July 19, 1865, and at once lo- 
cated in Shelby county, where he has 
been living ever since, except for one 
year, during which lie lived in Phelps 
county for the benefit of his health, and 
for another, when he was farming and 
raising stock in St. Louis county. He 
continued farming and raising live stock 
until 1885, when he retired, a little later 
moving to Lakenan, where he has passed 
all his subsequent years, enjojang the 
comforts of the estate he has wrung 
from the soil by industry and thrift, and 
the rest his long and trying labors entitle 
him to. 



Two marriages have been the lot of 
Mr. Janes, his first wife being Miss 
Hulda Buzzard, whom he married in 
July, 1852. The fruits of this union 
were five children, three of whom are 
living: Mary Frances, widow of "Will- 
iam H. Howe, now living in Hunne- 
well; Sarah Katharine, the wife of 
Frank Hudson, of Morrill, Michigan; 
and John L., deceased. The second mar- 
riage was with Miss Lucretia A. Mayes, 
of Shelby county, and resulted in two 
children, Joseph W. and James T. Their 
mother is still living, revered by all who 
know her, as is Mr. James himself, who 
is well and favorably known all over 
the county, and is everj-where esteemed 
as an upright and lorogressive man and 
a high-toned and admirable citizen. In 
politics he is a Republican and in reli- 
gion a Baptist. 

ADOLPHUS G. WOOD, M. D. 

One of the honored and distinguished 
representatives of the medical profes- 
sion in Shelb}' county and a scion of 
one of the well known pioneer families 
of this section of the state. Dr. Wood 
has here maintained his home from the 
time of his childhood, and for many 
years he has been engaged in the suc- 
cessful practice of his profession in 
Shelby county. For more than thirty 
years he has been a resident of the thriv- 
ing little city of Leutner, and he is rec- 
ognized as one of its most prominent and 
influential citizens. He has various cap- 
italistic interests of importance and is 
one of the principal stockholders of the 
Bank of Lentner, of which he has been 
president from the time of its inception, 



HISTOI^Y OF SHELBY COUNTY 



303 



in 1906. A brief record conceruing this 
solid and popular financial institution is 
entered on other pages of this work, so 
that detailed reference to the same is 
not demanded' in this personal sketch of 
its president. 

Dr. Wood has the distinction of being 
a native of San Diego, Cuba, where he 
was born on the 18th of March, 1831, and 
the lineage of the family is traced back 
to staunch English stock. His paternal 
grandfather, Benjamin Wood, came from 
England to America prior to the war 
of the Revolution, was loyal to the pa- 
triot cause and continued liis residence 
in this country until his death. Dr. 
Adoli)hus E. Wood, father of him whose 
name initiates this sketch, was born in 
the city of Baltimore, Maryland, in the 
year 1805, and he received liberal edu- 
cational advantages, becoming a skilled 
physician and surgeon according to the 
standard of his time. He was engaged 
in the practice of his profession in San 
Diego, Cuba, for a period of about four 
years, and in 1834 he came to Missouri 
and located at Hannibal, which was then 
a mere village. There he followed the 
work of his profession about six months, 
at the expiration of which he came to 
Shelby county. He purchased a tract 
of 200 acres of land on Salt river, in this 
county, and leased the same, whereupon 
he established his home in the village of 
Oakdale, where he was engaged in the 
successful practice of his profession un- 
til his death, which occurred on the 20th 
of November, 1856. He was the first 
physician to make permanent location 
in Shelby county, and the history of this 
section of the state bears record of his 



able and faithful service iii the cause of 
suffering humanity — service rendered 
often at great personal discomfort and 
demanding the utmost self-abnegation. 
He was a man of fine intellectuality and 
of exalted character, so that he was well 
equipped for leadership in public thought 
and action in the pioneer community 
with whose interests he so thoroughly 
identified himself. He was a member of 
the first court convened in Shelby county, 
and he contributed generously to the 
civic and material development and 
progress of this now favored section of 
the state. He was a staunch Democrat 
in his political allegiance. The names 
of both he and wife merit an enduring- 
place on the roll of the honored pioneers 
of Shelby county. 

In the year 1828 was solemnized the 
marriage of Dr. Adolphus E. Wood to 
Miss Anna C. Florette, who was born 
in France and whose death occurred in 
the year 1894. They became the par- 
ents of ten children, of whom seven are 
now living, namely: Charles S., who is 
a representative citizen of Shelbyville, 
this county; Dr. Adolphus G., who is 
the immediate subject of this sketch; 
Matilda T., who is the widow of Anothy 
Gooch and who now maintains her home 
in Quincy, Illinois; Benjamin 0., who is 
a resident of Monroe City, Missouri; 
Arabella, who is the wife of John E. 
Davis, of Hunnewell, this state; Henry 
M., who still resides in Oakdale, Shelby 
county; and Mary E., whose home is in 
the city of Shelbyville, this county. 

Dr. Adolphus G. Wood, to whom this 
sketch is dedicated, was a child of about 
three years at the time when his par- 



304 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUXTY 



ents took up their abode at Oakdale, this 
county, and there he was reared to years 
of maturity, being afforded the advan- 
tages of the best schools of the locality, 
and also having the beneficent influences 
afforded by a home of distinctive culture 
and refinement. He began the study of 
medicine under the able preceptorship 
of his honored father and after making 
definite progress in his technical study 
he was finally matriculated in the med- 
ical department of the University of 
Iowa, which department of the state in- 
stitution was maintained in the city of 
Keokuk. He entered this medical school 
in 1856 and there completed the pre- 
scribed course, being graduated as a 
member of the class of 1859 and duly re- 
ceiving his well earned degree of Doctor 
of Medicine. 

After his graduation Dr. Wood as- 
sumed the practice of his father in Oak- 
dale, where he maintained his profes- 
sional headquarters until 1857, when he 
located at Walkers\-ille, this county, 
where he added much to the professional 
prestige of the name which he bears, 
haxing been most successful in his labors 
during the many years of his service as 
a physician and sui-geon, and having 
continued a close and appreciative stu- 
dent, so that he has kept in instant 
touch with the advances made in both 
branches of his profession. He was en- 
gaged in practice at "Walkersville until 
1876, when he removed to Lentner, where 
he has continued in the active work of 
his profession during the long interven- 
ing period of more than thirty years, 
and where he has an immutable hold 
upon popular confidence and esteem, both 
as a physician and as a loyal and gen- 



erous citizen. He is a member of the 
vVmerican Medical Association and is 
also identified with the Missouri State 
Medical Society and the Shelby Coimty 
^ledical Society. 

In politics Dr. Wood is aligned as a 
staunch advocate of the generic princi- 
ples for which the Democratic party has 
ever stood sponsor, but he has never de- 
sired public ofiice, though frequently im- 
portuned to accept nomination for posi- 
tions of distinctive trust. He has done 
much to further the civic and industrial 
progress of his home city and county 
and is one of the most iniiuential citizens 
of this section. He was one of the or- 
ganizers of the Bank of Lentner, in 1906, 
and, as already stated, has been its pres- 
ident from the time of its incorporation. 

On the 20th of January, 1863, was 
solemnized the marriage of Dr. "Wood 
to Miss Mary L. Mitchell, who was born 
in the state of Kentucky, whence her 
father, the late Thomas Mitchell, re- 
moved with his family to Missouri when 
she was a cliild. Dr. and Mrs. Wood be- 
came the parents of twelve children, and 
in conclusion of this brief sketch is en- 
tered the names of the nine children who 
are now living: Fernando is engaged in 
business at Houston, Texas; Ella M. is 
the wife of Henry EheinheLmer, of But- 
ler, Missouri; Amanda P., Anna Clu- 
nette, Gertrude and Zelma remain at the 
parental home; Adolphus M. is engaged 
in the practice of medicine at Lentner; 
Lamar M. is a resident of Monroe City ; 
Irene is the wife of Arthur Smith, of 
Shelbina, this coimtj-. The family has 
been prominent in the best social life of" 
the community and the attractive home 
is a center of cordial hospitality. 



HISTORY OF SHELBY COUNTY 



305 



BANK OF LENTNEK. 

There is no one factor that so well 
determines and designates the status and 
stability of a community as the extent 
and character of its banking institutions, 
and in this regard the financial and com- 
mercial prestige of Shelby county has 
been maintained by bans of ample cap- 
ital, reinforced by duly conservative 
management. The wdse policy that has 
dominated the management of the Bank 
of Lentner from the time of its found- 
ing to the present has made it one of the 
substantial and essentially representa- 
tive financial institutions of the county, 
and as such it is consonant that brief 
record concerning it be entered in this 
publication. 

The Bank of Lentner, incorporated 
under the laws of the state, received its 
charter on the 24th of September, 1906, 
and on the 22d of the following month it 
began practical operations by opening 
the doors of its well equipped banking 
rooms and inviting public patronage. 
The bank is incorporated with a capital 
stock of twelve thousand dollars, and 
said stock is represented in one hundred 
and twenty shares of a par value of one 
hundred dollars each. The original 
board of directors of the bank was as 
follows: Dr. Adolphus G. Wood, Will- 
iam Kraft, Henry Arnold, James H. 
Melsor, Hugo Boling, Robert T. Jackson, 
and Judge- John Byrum. At the meet- 
ing of the stockholders the following 
executive officers wei'e chosen: Presi- 
dent, Dr. Adolphus G. Wood; Judge 
John T. Perry, cashier; and James H. 
IMelson, secretary of the board of di- 
rectors. 



Dr. Wood has continued incimibent of 
the presidency of the institution from its 
initiation, and the other officers at the 
time of this writing, at the opening of 
the year 1910, are as here noted: Henry 
M. Eaton, vice-president; Thomas W. 
Xoel, cashier; and James H. Melson, sec- 
retary of the board of directors. The 
directorate is composed of the following 
well known and honored citizens : James 
H. Melson, Henry M. Eaton, George W. 
Stalays, Dr. A. G. Wood, Theodore 
Hinze, Harmon Van Thun, and Henry 
Arnold. The bank has met with most 
gratifying popular support, based upon 
public confidence in those who have its 
affairs in charge, and it is today one of 
the substantial and ably conducted finan- 
cial institutions of Shelby county, with 
a support of essentially representative 
order. 

JAMES H. MELSON. 

Mr. Melson is one of the representa- 
tive citizens of his native county, with 
whose business interests he has been long 
and prominently identified, and he served 
for a term of fully fifteen years as post- 
master in Lentner, where he still main- 
tains his home and where he is now en- 
gaged in the buying and shipping of live 
stock, with which line of enterprise he 
has been concerned for a decade and a 
half. 

James H. Melson was born on a farm 
in Shelby county, Missouri, on the 6th 
of February, 1860, and is a son of Ben- 
jamin N. and Mary J. (Carman) Mel- 
son, the former of whom was born in the 
state of Maryland, on the 6th of Janu- 
arv, 182.3, and the latter of whom was 



306 



HISTOHY OF SHELBY COUA'TY 



born and reared in Marion county, Mis- 
souri, where her parents took up their 
abode in the pioneer days. The Melson 
family was founded in America in the 
colonial era and Elijah Melson, grand- 
father of the subject of this sketch, was 
a native of Maryland, when he came to 
Missouri in 1837, settling in Shelby 
coimty, where he passed the remainder 
of his life, the major portion of his ac- 
tive career having been one of close iden- 
tification with the great basic industry 
of agriculture. 

Benjamin N. Melson passed his boy- 
hood and early youth in his native state 
and was about fourteen years of age at 
the time of the family removal to Mis- 
souri. He was reared to manhood in 
Shelby county, this state, and he eventu- 
ally became the owner of a well improved 
farm near the village of Clarence, this 
country. Much of the land was reclaimed 
by him and he became one of the sub- 
stantial farmers and honored citizens of 
the county, where he continued to be ac- 
tively engaged in diversified farming and 
stock-growing until his death, which oc- 
curred in August, 1905. His widow still 
resides in the old homestead, and of their 
eight children five are living. Concern- 
ing them the following brief data are 
entered: Emily A. is the wife of Will- 
iam Taylor, a prosperous farmer of 
Shelby county; James H. is the imme- 
diate subject of this sketch; Mollie J. is 
the wife of David E. Gray, who is en- 
gaged in farming in this county; Charles 
B. is a resident of Butte, Montana; and 
George A. is engaged in farming in 
Shelby county. In politics the father 
was a staunch Republican. 

James H. ]\Ielson was reared on the 



home farm and early bega